Preview Review

Next Review

Dell Computer Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Bait & Switch Sales Tactics
By -

I purchased a Dell Computer System via a phone conversation with a Dell Sales Rep. named ** and was told that I would have 6 months of no interest and no payments and that prior to the end of the 6 months period, I could pay off my original balance with my MasterCard. I also ordered a wireless mouse which I have never received. Shortly after receiving my computer, I received an invoice indicating accrued interest and a payment due. I was not alarmed as I had been confirmed as NO INTEREST and NO PAYMENTS for 6 months. On my next couple of invoices, I was accessed late fees as well as interest.

I have called numerous times to resolve this with no cooperation. I finally made a large payment and did pay off my entire purchase balance prior to the 6 months. I completed my purchase according to my agreement with ** and verified the terms with her several times. Now Dell says that I owe more money and I refuse to pay it as it is only bogus late fees and interest on the late fees. Has anyone else experienced this?

Most of the people that I talk with are in India, Kuwait, the Philippines or some other foreign country, and I can never talk with anyone who understands and no one can find ** to verify what I was told or even allow me to review or hear my original conversation as I know it was recorded for training purposes. BAD DELL - BAIT AND SWITCH!!!!!! Some of these data is new and may be helpful to me in resolving my situation, but I do not place much faith in it or Dell. I have sent numerous emails, faxes, and made numerous calls to Dell including the Dell Financial in Austin, Texas.

It appears they all have a 1 track mind, 1 track answers and cannot think or resolve issues by themselves. They all treat me the same, like I am a bum not paying my bills, and have even been called that by one of their employees. I am steadfast in that I do not owe the money, as it is only bogus charges derived from the late fees and interest assessed as a result of their changing our agreement after the purchase was made.

Dell tells me to call Dell Financial and Dell Financial tells me to call Dell or the Pentagroup Financial Collection Agency (which is also a part of Dell.) They in turn say they cannot do nothing unless Dell says so and Dell says it is out of their hands as it is now in collections, etc. It is a vicious circle and I am caught in the middle. I do not owe the money, will not be paying it, and may take my case to a small claims court if the charges are not removed and my credit file cleared.

I am a 63 years old Vietnam Combat Wounded Purple Heart Veteran, retired after 32 years in the Marine Corps, and retired 18 year Federal Employee and do not appreciate this type of service or insinuations. I am honest and would not try to get something that I had not agreed to.

All I can say is if Dell wants to pursue this, then I will let the world know of their deceptive practices with all the resources within my power, friends, websites, blogs, etc. I paid 100% of my purchase within my allotted time and do not owe them any more and will not be purchasing any more Dells in my lifetime!!!!! Again, thanks for your reply and data. HOW about a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT on DECEPTIVE SALES and COLLECTIONS PRACTICES?????

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Service from Hell!
By -

ROUND ROCK, TEXAS -- Where do I start, as I sit here on the phone with Dell? I have had 4 Dell computers and when I had a repair issue, I called technical support. They sent the box to my address (in Georgia) and I shipped the computer back. Since this was an easy fix, I called 3 weeks later and they said it left Dell 13 days ago! When they looked into it further, they said that DHL couldn't deliver it to my address. Why you ask? Because... they delivered it to the address I lived at when I bought the computer (in TEXAS!)

Well that really made me angry because Dell assigns you a new customer number every time you order a computer--and I have asked them NUMEROUS times to make sure all my computers and customer numbers have my current address--but it was like I was asking them to create a book! So the girl I was on the phone with said she would fill out a logistics ticket with the correct address so it could be shipped here. So she called DHL and told them to hold it until they received the ticket. OK, fine, it would be delivered within the week. Now I tell her this would not have happened if she would update my address.

She agreed to do it and sent me an email with the Case number. 9 days go by (today) and I call Dell, (so far I have talked with 9 people and have been on the phone almost 3 hours!) I talk to one person who asks for my info, looks into it, puts me on hold, and then tells me they need to transfer me... I find out the computer is still in Texas at DHL and my address was NOT updated on my file, and no one sent DHL this damn logistics ticket!

I get a couple more people and then I demand to talk to a supervisor! Angelo tells me they are very busy and they would tell me the same thing that he would, so why don't I talk to him! That really pisses me off now and I tell him I want to talk to one anyway. And he said that I will probably be on hold for a while. I SAY FINE!!! So then I get a supervisor who listens to my story and puts me on hold on and off for over an hour--then my phone dies while I am on hold.

So I call back and ask to speak to Heather who works in Customer care and is a supervisor of Angelo. OMG! The lady had to talk to her supervisor to see if she could transfer me. Her supervisor says "no", she will email Angelo to tell his supervisor to call me! Now I am tired and no further along than when I started! I asked why she did not call and she said quote "it is not protocol to call each other in the company, the proper way to contact each other was through email!" WHAT DO I SAY TO THIS???

So, I call DHL and they said the computer is in Texas and yes they see they picked it up in Georgia, and yes it is the same person (ME)--but they cannot do anything I have to call Dell. So, I call Dell again--don't even try to find this Heather person and I start over with someone new. This is the 9th person I have talked with and he finds out that HEATHER did not send the logistics ticket, my phone number wasn't updated, and he calls DHL who says they are sending the computer back to DELL! So this 9th person says he will check with so and so and see if he can still have it shipped to me.

In the meantime, I find this site and start typing! OK this is not over--but 9th person can't find anyone to help--so he will try to send out a logistics ticket (even though it takes at least 48 hrs and then 24 hrs for DHL to act on it) anyway, and see if it makes it before it gets sent back to Dell! BUT if it reaches Dell, he will make sure it gets shipped to the Georgia address. I ask him--does anyone at Dell care that this happens to people? Does anyone care there is no follow through? What can I do about this? I ask him to call Heather and he repeats that he can only email.

I tell him who I work for and asked him if he ever heard of the company and he says "YES"! (think Texas, rich, well-known). €”I told him that if we treated our customers that way, we would not have any and it would never be tolerated. (I think he feels I am telling him this to get him to help me). So €“my 9th person says--he then says he will take care of this and not to worry, he will call on Monday. By this time, I am exhausted, my shoulder hurts, I have gone through 3 cordless phones and I can't even say--at least it was taken care of! NO! The saga with Dell continues... I AM NOT BUYING ANOTHER DELL!!!

Replies
Dell Corporate
By -

POCATELLO, IDAHO -- Final Step January 18: I received a call from Dell Corporate office who put me in touch with one of their corporate technicians who assisted me with the issues of Vista and wireless along with showing me locations on the internet to correct problems if they arise again. I can honestly state Dell is willing to go the extra mile and help out an individual as that is what happened to me today. The frustration of buying a computer and having it not work along with other issues that occurred was truly frustrating, but the corporate help in stepping in and taking part was not something I expected.

The system has been operating successfully for several hours as of this posting with zero issues. If you purchase a Dell, there may be issues, but if you have my success, Dell will find a solution - it just may take some frustration along the way until you get to the right person.

January 17 - Let me tell you the issues and frustration with the XPS420. The original computer delivered 1-5-08 was determined to have serious issues and another computer was sent. The original service tag was 26TYCF1. The new computer arrived today with basically the same issues of not connecting.

Steps I have taken: 1. Original computer arrived 1-5-08. Verified router had up to date drivers. Verified other pc's could connect wireless from the same location using XP and not Vista. Was sent external wireless connectors for the Vista system by customer service to try which would only work sporadically - if the system went to sleep mode it would be necessary to uninstall the external router and reinstall before it would work. Hard drive was reformatted through a hard line connection with technical support.

Spent 7 hours on the telephone with technical support using a cell telephone as I did not have a home telephone at the time. Internal diagnostic showed there was a problem at 98 percent that could not be corrected. Technician sent to replace the internal wireless only to have the system truly crash and fail -- technician told the tech service the computer needed to be replaced. New system ordered but told could not be changed to XP.

  1. Changed wireless router to Arris and obtained a home telephone line. Connected the two older computers to the system - one direct and one wireless. 3. New system arrived 1-17-08. No connection - verified with the wireless company that it was not their problem - diagnostic showed media service was an issue - diagnostic indicated it was a problem in the XPS420 and not the router.

  2. Called Dell Technical support and spoke with a technician. He was able to trouble shoot the system and get it running correctly by shutting off, disabling and reinstalling a variety of things in the computer. When this was completed it seemed to be functioning, but updates were obtained on systems installed by Dell and would require restarting the computer in order for the safety to take effect. When I restarted the computer I did not have internet service again. I recalled Dell Technical support and obtained an idiot with a mouth who would not listen to the problem or take the steps the last tech had when the system was repaired and working.

As I spoke with the tech - the system came on line for about twenty (20) minutes with an internet connection before failing again and showing local access only. This tech felt it was not the computer, but the router even when the trouble shooting showed the media system kept disabling itself.

  1. I asked for a supervisor and was placed on hold. I was on hold for 35 minutes when the tech came on the line and stated; he could not get my phone connected to the supervisor.

I have an XPS 420 Vista system that does not function. I have purchased a 4 year warranty package including in-home service and I cannot get satisfaction. I truly believe the problem is the Vista system. The service individual who came to the house felt it was the Vista system. I have proven that it is not the router using basic checks, such as: the other Dell computers can connect wireless, this system will connect when settings are changed in it, the router service has been called and verified their system is working correctly, and the other technician was able to get this system functioning. The problem is it failed once the system was rebooted.

I have spent close to 11 hours on the telephone with Dell Technical service and learned that you have quite a few who do not know what they are doing. I kept being placed on hold for up to 10 minutes in some cases while they went to talk with a supervisor.

I finally got a return call from the supervisor and was basically told to send the computer back. I was told to call customer service. After spending an additional 45 minutes on the telephone with Customer Service, they will send me the labels to ship the system and components back. I was told if I want an XP system, I will have to reorder including the peripherals. It truly is a waste to not just change the tower and keep my funds rather than sending everything back which will be processed as used and requiring me to order another computer.

SO - I did get my money back, but I still do not have a functioning computer.

Replies
Dell PC + Customer Service. MUST Vent!
By -

I just stumbled onto this site while googling for info relevant to my Dell pc, ironically, since I needed the info to make sure the tech support I was talking to had their facts correct while working out yet *another* problem. And what do I find? Wow. You all inspired me to vent. It can't be helped now. I bought the computer in question about 1.5 yrs ago, and was not very current with the "tech beat" at the time, and I guess I missed the memo when Dell went from an excellent company to complete crap. 3 onsite visits, 2 fans, 2 motherboards, a power supply, a hard drive, and a stick of ram later, I get the point.

I still look longingly at my old dual p3 800mhz Dell that worked flawlessly for... well it still works, it just got too outdated for my needs. What happened Dell? To Dell's credit - after going through the motions of talking to "tech support" and letting them read their scripts, I inevitably managed to get them to schedule a tech to come replace the necessary part(s) on each occasion. Also, the 2 motherboards were not broken up front, but were being fried by a failing power supply (very difficult to diagnose, trust me), which was finally fixed. Also, the stick (1gig) of RAM was a casualty of war - somehow the tech killed it while replacing the hard disk.

Don't ask me how, he seemed a capable enough guy - always called the next working day, not 10 days later... worked fast and efficiently despite hardly speaking a word of English (Ukrainian maybe?) but I've had similar mishaps in my career, and nobody's perfect. OK, so in reality, I got a bad power supply (failed after ~1 yr) and a cheap hard drive that failed.

So not as bad as it sounded, but frankly, I expect better brand name parts than what I found inside (I got Samsung, not Kingston RAM. Maxtor, not Seagate hard drive, etc. - though I noticed the replacement drive was Seagate, maybe they're learning) on a $3500 system, especially when I could swear, albeit a long time ago, they listed the good brand names on the website when I was customizing it... With that out of my system - to Dell's DIScredit.

I used to work for a company that handled outsourced phone support for a ton of companies - AT&T Worldnet, AOL, Compuserve, UPS, and a handful of airlines, and unsolved mysteries phone-in tips, just to name a few. I was a floor supervisor and it disgusted me daily the way the system worked. The scripted crap, the lies (never say the network is done, it's being "upgraded") and knowing that, being completely separate from the actual company (and not allowed to admit such), there wasn't a thing I could do to help people unless it was a problem on their end - and even then, minimally.

BUT - we were located in the same country as the people using the services we supported and we ALL spoke ENGLISH, and most of the phone reps really did *try* to help and/or be kind and understanding, knowing the service we supported was... unstable on a good day. It wasn't the reps' fault, it was a job - we all got to eat. People screamed at me daily when a rep would send up a flare for "they want a manager/supervisor."

I never hung up on them, insulted them, berated them, or left them on hold for years, and tried real hard to talk around the subject rather than lie like I was supposed to. (And no, I'm not telling you what company this was for, nor what service we were supporting). I didn't last long in tech support, even as a supervisor. Stupid morals and stuff. I got moved to corporate, so I supported the company I worked for. My soul was put to rest. At least I could fix things, and if not, it was my own fault. SOOO... anyway, New Dell Computer runs happily along.

One day, we (me and my significant other who actually uses the machine in question) wake to find the dreaded blue screen. Reboot, bad/missing file trying to start Windows. Check this and that... determine disk has bad sectors that have crept into the Windows critical file area. (Did I mention I was a bench tech and fixed PC's previous to above mentioned tech support? OK, I'm a little out of date, but a disk is a disk. This isn't rocket science.)

But really, and I know this from experience, if you tell the person on the phone you know what you're doing, it instantly translates (I don't care what language they speak) to "I'm an idiot end user that's just going to make this call more difficult by thinking I know far more than I really do," and yes, that is often the case - those people were *quite* adamant that it *was* a cup holder, and "why didn't the internet come installed on my computer?" and "I ordered a 486 Pentium damn you!" - it really makes it difficult when you DO know what you're doing. *sigh*

When a disk goes bad, it can go *CLANK* (or a number of other unpleasant noises), or it can slowly deteriorate over time, which can take awhile when you're talking well over a hundred gigs. I've seen it many, many times, ever since it happened on my first, beloved, 20MB (yes M not G) drive. I call tech support to get it replaced, via my shiny warranty. I tell the tech what the problem is (note, tell, not ask). He says it's software configuration. Windows "randomly marks sectors as bad sometimes and causes this" he says in extremely broken English.

He has me go through a slew of steps; removing and reinserting the bios battery (nearly impossible due to its placement among other parts). Using a jumper to short the bios and cause it to reset. Reseating the RAM and graphics(?!) card. Then boot to the utility partition, and reinstall Windows. Voila! The computer is up and running, and he is proud to have shown me how ignorant I am. I tell him "Thanks, we'll call back when it happens again", which it will, in due time. Time passes... Wake up one morning (this computer ONLY dies during the night - or day if I stay up all night, I swear!) and the screen doesn't come on when the mouse is moved.

Finally the screen produces "no input device." This means nothing is come out through the graphics card. This is bad. Again, I go through my personal troubleshooting system and determine that the motherboard and/or processor is dead. I call tech support. I tell them the problem, which is this time backed up by the diagnostic lights on the back of the computer, and the fact that the cpu fan isn't working. Again, I'm to open the case, reseat the ram and graphics card, and I flat out refused to take out the battery again stating that whatever their screen said it WASN'T causing a problem and the last cuts were still healing.

OK, so I was right and wrong. The motherboard WAS dead, I just didn't realize that it wasn't suicide, but murder by a 3rd party. Either way, after much to-do, I was granted my on-site tech with a new motherboard. Hurray! A few weeks later, the exact scenario happens again. Wake up, dead machine. Laugh, cry, and scream all at once. Call tech support. Same problem. Explain to foreigner what a "no lemon law" is, he doesn't get it. We finally get somebody to get a manager to authorize that if it happens again, we get a new machine. Tech guy comes, and brings new power supply, and new motherboard.

I'm still not sure who or how they figured it out, the guy on the phone hadn't let on if he had... but whatever, if it works, I'll be happy. OK, so yay! It's working again - the only caveat being that after attaching and detaching the monitor cable a few times, the vga to digital adapter literally just fell apart, so I have to give the male MY 21" Sony flat panel for his 19", since my graphics card has a vga port, and his didn't. I suggested swapping cards, but he didn't buy it. Time passes... it's the male's birthday. He wakes up (don't ask why) at 30 min past midnight. It's JUST turned his birthday. He turns on the monitor. Blue screen. He nearly starts to cry.

I, being just about to go to sleep, realize I've just had a change of plans. (He does not "do" computers, he just uses them.) Reboot. Missing Windows file. Boot to Dell utility thing, run hard drive diagnostics, get error code 7. Google for info on my (working) computer (which isn't a Dell), truckloads of posts on message boards and such about it. Always a bad disk, support always ended up having to replace. Surprise surprise. I call tech support. I TELL them the problem, and tell them to read the notes that I KNOW they're supposed to keep for each customer ticket/problem, and explain that I'm more than a tad annoyed.

I (he) will be yet again without his computer when I explicitly said this was going to happen. The only thing they hate more than an irate know-it-all is an irate female telling them they're wrong. Only men use computers, duh. In broken English we wade through the problem. He makes me run the disk diagnostics - again. I tell him the error - again. He runs some other diagnostic thing Dell had hidden somewhere on the disk, it fails when it gets to the cd drive, so the test stops prematurely.

He says it'd have said there was a problem, "disk is checked before cd drive." "Don't these programs usually report a summary of errors when they COMPLETE?" I ask ever so innocently... He mumbles some irritated sounding gibberish and starts in about how we're going to reinstall Windows, then check the disk, "and disk will be fine. This is software configuration error, disk is fine. We reinstall Windows and you see when we run test." Can't we just fix the installation? You get that option on the Windows install. No.. Windows is installed on special partition.

No fix, only reinstall. (Thank you Microsoft for deciding customers no longer needed real Windows installation disks anymore, and "system restore" disks would cure your piracy problems!) So I reinstall, losing all hope of recovering the non-corrupt data from the disk. Why? Because I can't afford new parts for this system and if I go through their "troubleshooting" I don't get the tech and replacement part that I paid for via that god-send of a warranty. (What if I hadn't bought it? I usually never do. Why would I? Dells are [were] reliable that I knew. Woman's intuition. Must be.)

OK so Windows reinstalls, his tone changes to something resembling gloating, even through the accent. OK, now we run hard disk diagnostics again. I do. Fail - error code 7. You can hear his ego fall through the chair and *splat* on the floor. He will not be defeated! We go back to Dell's util partition and run a custom test and tell it to check the disk sector by sector. Lo and behold, at 20% I get an error. Then another. Then another. Wow, bad sectors abound! Read failures! No additional sense data! He grunts and puts me on hold. I realize he's only gone to so much trouble to diagnose the problem because he was determined to prove me wrong.

I believe this is where they hang up on most people. He comes back, creates the order for the on-site tech and admits defeat. We will get a new hard disk, but they won't install Windows. They only do that in the first few months. "But this disk WAS defective then, you just didn't believe me." No go. Just a blank disk. And some restore cds. We argue, he digs in his heels, finally we give up. Fine. A disk. A working disk is good. Don't give up on me now, dear reader, this is where it gets good. Next morning the on-site guy calls. We get the same one every time.

I guess people around here don't have many Dell problems, because he's always here in 24-48 hrs, and he seems to be the only tech. My boyfriend just says his name and the guy says he'll be right over, he knows the directions by heart by now. He replaces the disk, closes the box, and is gone in 10 mins or less. We plug in the computer preparing for the grueling installation of Windows, drivers, updates, and a crapload of personal software. But hark? I know that sound, those beeps. Bios error codes. No. Hard drives don't cause beeps. A system will boot fine with no hard drive, it's not a critical error. Something ELSE is wrong.

You all know what happened if you've been paying attention so far. I look up bios codes on the net, on Dell's website, in the computer's owner's manual. I look at the lights on the back and compare. Yes. They all agree. I reseat the RAM, and even the graphics card, just so I don't have to give them the joy of hearing my pain during the inevitable call. I take out chip #2. No beeps. I remove chip #1 and put #2 in #1's slot. Beeps. Again, not rocket science. I put #1 back into #1's slot and proceed to start the install-fest 1 gig short. The male calls tech support. He explains what happened.

They go back and forth, and armed with the beep/no beep pure simple logic, he is able to dupe them into actually admitting we seem to have a dead RAM stick without going through 3 hrs of "troubleshooting." OK, but customer care needs to handle this. "I'll transfer you." *click*... "If you'd like to make a call, please hang up and..." He calls back, and gets another "tech." He re-explains the issue, then looks over at my vexed expression and his computer - which is not installing Windows - and starts to say something about it and ... *click* this time the guy just hung up. No hold, No transfer.

Truly, I'm fighting with the computer. I won't go into details (this is long enough eh?) but suffice it to say, the thing was being purely possessed. By now we have a 3rd guy on the line, and he's been filled in, he says to give me the phone and he'll "walk me through installing windows." He tells me to turn off the computer. I do. Then turn on and hit f2. I do, and am back at the bios screen I was looking at when handed the phone... he asks me if I can locate the arrow keys on my keyboard. "Would I know what a bios screen was if I didn't know what ** arrow keys are?!" I held my tongue. I just thought that. Really loud.

He goes through the most obvious steps that I've already done at least 5 times each. He relents, mumbles, I give the phone back, and my dear beloved actually gets successfully transferred to customer care.. who quickly inform him that tech support needs to handle this. OK. He asks for a manager. The customer care lady tries to convince him otherwise, and that he should talk to tech support. Because of his refusal, she asserts that she can't help him if he refuses to try to troubleshoot the issue with tech support. His eyes turned crimson and fire licked out from his nostrils. In moments she was apologizing and said she would get a manager.

He waited on hold for over 30 mins. The music wasn't even that good. Finally, an answer. "Wait a minute, are you a manager? This is TECH SUPPORT?" He demands again to speak to a manager. He's transferred back to customer care where he informs them of this latest transaction and says He. Will. Speak. To. A. Manager. NOW. Eventually, somebody comes on the line. He starts to go through the re-explaining and stops... the man says all the calls are recorded and archived as part of your account history and he's just listened to them, hence the 2nd long hold time.

Please, don't explain, he's already writing up the paperwork to have a new machine sent out to us right away! Refurbished? No, brand new. Promise? Yes. With ALL the upgrades I ordered that came with this one? "Yes, I have the original order details right here." Says it'll be 7-10 days to assemble the new machine. This sounds promising as it indicates a real, new machine. We'll get a box, we put the old machine back in, flip on the airbill, and at no cost our lemon is gone and replaced. So far, I don't see any activity denoting this on the "my account" page on Dell's website. I was happy till I started reading this site, now I'm seriously worried. It sounded genuine.

Will the new machine come? Will it WORK? To be continued... Seriously folks. This isn't a problem with Dell being a crappy company. I mean, it is, but it's just a symptom of a much greater one. I'm a highly trained, experienced professional in the IT industry. I've been more unemployed than not since the tech crash. I've watched friends lose jobs as call centers closed as they were outsourced to India and others. I've seen much more than tech support outsourced.

They send out contracts to have software written - the quality of which has never disappointed my expectations - complete crap that somebody usually has to put in extra hours to fix, or just re-write, on salary with no overtime. WHY are we paying people in another country to NOT do what we're paying them to do at the expense of our own economy and workforce? Can anybody please explain? Sure, they're cheap - but when it comes down to time, misordered parts, hell - the long distance charges for the 100s of hours we sit on the phone with them overseas! Can it *really* be cost effective?

Even if it is, is it SO much that it's worth *THE* #1 rated computer company only a few years ago is now the #1 complained about computer company?! I am a geek, not an economist. Somebody explain this to me, please. Then tell me how the economy is looking up, only half the large companies had lay offs this year as last! And the government sees no reason to stem the influx of foreign workers - never mind the outflux of jobs. I don't get it. I'm done. Thank you if you read all that. It doesn't work to vent unless somebody hears you, or I'd write a letter to Dell Corp.

Replies
Advertisement
Dell Service and Support
By -

I'm a Computer Science professor at a large Midwestern university. I have been recommending Dell computers to my students for years. In fact, I own two Dell laptops and a Dell desktop, and I recommended the Dell computer that my daughter bought last year. I would like to start this letter from a quote of the first sentence of your “About Dell” web page: “Dell listens to customers…” Right.

My experiences with Dell service in the last three years have finally put me over the edge, and I now actively recommend that my friends, my family, and my students avoid Dell. Your service people don't understand vernacular English (one of your techs insisted that I should "boot" from a blank floppy disk, for example). They are compelled to follow a script that often has nothing whatsoever to with the problem at hand, akin to my physician recommending a brain scan if I were complaining of an ingrown toenail.

Then there was your inability or unwillingness to sell me a replacement fan and power supply when mine died. It's not that the part wasn't available; when you wouldn't supply it, I found it out on the web. You should have helped me keep that computer going, rather than just cavalierly assuming that I should replace a computer that was adequate for my purposes.

And another thing... your failure to support the software that is factory-installed on your new computers is huge mistake. Now, I understand how you might not want to support the software a year down the road. But when factory-installed Norton products (unrequested, by the way) were wrecking havoc with all of the software on my daughter's new computer, all within a month of purchase, you should have been responsible for resolving the issue. I did finally diagnose the problem (after investing many hours of time) and remove Norton, and now all is well.

But a customer without my computer experience would have had a dickens of a time stabilizing that computer. Even your hardware is less reliable these days. I've replaced the video card in a five-year-old desktop three times. Each time, I chose a top-of-the-line video card. Each time the card failed in a little over a year. I bought different brands each time, so we can't blame a particular brand of card. The only thing those video cards had in common was the Dell computer in which they were installed. That leads me to believe there are some electrical issues in the computer itself.

In my dealings with Dell over the last three years or so, I have almost never gotten an effective diagnosis, much less resolution, to any of my problems. Instead, I've replaced parts such as under-warranty network cards and video cards at my own expense, because it was easier than spending ineffectual hours on the phone with your tech support folks.

You want to know why your company is struggling? Because your service stinks and your hardware seems to be heading that direction as well. Your reputation has suffered mightily over the last couple of years. Forget servers and AMD chips and all of the other tactics you've been pursuing. Deliver a great product at a reasonable price, with acceptable service, and you'd do fine. Just like you did fine just a few short years ago. All I can say is that I'm glad I didn't buy your stock a few years ago, when I was considering it.

Replies
Dell. Horrible Product and Worst Support
By -

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased a Dell Inspirion e1705 less than a month ago. In large part the decision to make my first Dell computer purchase was based on Dell's reputation of having high quality products and a good customer support department. Based on a recent technical problem with my computer, however, I have virtually no faith in either Dell's product quality or the premise that when technical problems do arise Dell's customer support staff has either the technical know how or desire to work out an effective solution for their customer.

As difficult as it soon may seem to believe, none of details in this report have been exaggerated in any way (I hope I wrote the names and ID number down correctly). Therefore, if you are in the market for a new computer, and Dell is on your short list of options, I strongly recommend being cautious in believing in Dell's claim to a 'persistent focus on delivering the best possible customer service'. Read below and learn from my hardship. As I stated above, I purchased a Dell Inspirion e1705 less than a month ago along with a 1 yr In-Home Extended Warranty. Dell's claim on this computer was that it is a great all-around computer.

I was even told by the Dell manager I worked with (**) that the e1705 was a very strong gaming computer (although I was disappointed to find out later it did not have guts strong enough to play Call of Duty II, one of the most popular PC games in the market today). Of course I was also surprised to find out that he did not know what multi-monitor workspace (extending the computer to two monitors concurrently) was and had to ask someone to verify the e1705 has this capability (it does).

Lastly, ** sold me on an in-home warranty program. His claim was that it was very worthwhile since it meant that if repairs were necessary within the warranty period I would not need to mail my computer in to their service department and that my repairs would be done by a certified service technician. Two days ago I wanted to take my laptop into my living room to work. I unplugging my computer and after moving I opened the computer to see the message, 'Preparing to Standby'. The computer froze on this screen for about 10 minutes before I finally powdered down the computer. Immediately after I powered the computer back up.

During boot up a text error message appeared. The message read 'c:\windows\system32\config\system'. I am by no means a highly knowledgeable computer user and after a few attempts at rebooting only to find the same error, this error seemed both unfamiliar and serious. Since it was after 10 pm I decided to call the service department. My first interaction with a Dell CSR - Time: 10:30, Service Rep Name: **, Service Rep Number: **, Service Rep Location: Calcutta.

Result: I was on the phone with this CSR for over two hours. For the first 45 minutes he tried to diagnose the problem. During our interaction, however, there would be periods of 5-10 minutes when he did not speak, requiring me to ask if he was still there. Although I am confident that he was trying to find a solution, the fact remains that during those times I did not know if he was still on the phone or if we had become disconnected. Although his demeanor was pleasant when we did talk, I did not get the sense that was particularly strong at his job or that he was interested in finding a solution.

After trying about three methods to solve the problem, he told me that my hard drive was corrupt and that Dell would send me a new one that I would need to install. At this point I was not only angry that my three-week old computer was seemingly broken and that it looked like I would lose all of my files, but that I would need to install the new hard drive. Even if ** was correct that the hard drive replacement was simple to do, I felt cheated since I had an in-home service technician warranty, the operative words being "in-home" and "service technician". At this point I asked to be given to a manager. The time was 11:30.

Although ** tried to tell me none were available I told him I would wait as long as necessary to speak to a manager. After about 25 minutes, I finally spoke to a manager. My second interaction with a Dell CSR - Time: 12:10, Service Rep Name: **, Service Rep Number: ** Service, Rep Location: Calcutta.

Result: The manager also had a generally pleasant demeanor. He also tried a few different solutions. ** seemed much more well-informed, but his proposed solutions also came up short. In fact, at around 1:45 am he had me try a new solution that required a computer check that took about 45 minutes. He said that he would call back at this time even though I asked to remain on the line, he insisted that they call back (certainly to save money, a point that I will bring up later). Oddly, I was pleased that at around 2:30 he did call back.

The news was not good. He claimed that based on the error and the result to the diagnostic check, my computer was broken, my files were lost and he also said that he could have a hard drive sent out to me for me to replace on my own. After considerable complaint by me he tried one last check. Although this last check seemed simple (I forget what it was) he said that now he thought it was a software problem and that for a fee I could be helped by the software support department. I wondered at the time how he was now so confident and if he was just giving me the run around.

At my request ** said that he would send a hard drive to my home so that if software department failed to solve my problem I make my fix as quickly as possible (I can only assume the hard drive is on its way). Once again I was not happy, but being that this is a new computer and that there may have been a glimmer of hope in getting my work back I decided to accept the transfer and fee (and that the fee was guaranteed if they did not fix the problem it would be reimbursed). Third Interaction with a Dell CSR - Time: 3:15 am, Service Rep Name: **,
Service Rep Number: ** Service Rep Location: The Philippines.

Result: This was by far my shortest conversation, partially because by this time I had been on the phone for five hours and partially because I had come to accept the computer that held the files that I used to run my two business was shot. ** tried a few diagnostic fixes. None worked. I saw the same exact error message I had seen all night. She then said, definitively, that it was a hardware problem and that she could send me to the hardware department. I said no, that I had already worked with them for over four hours with no success.

She said that she was sorry and that if a rep did not call in four to five days to process my refund for the service contract ($250 by the way) I should call in. I was dumbfounded. Not only did I get the hardware department telling me it was definitely the software and the software department telling me it was the hardware, but I was left with an in-home service agreement that forces me to tinker with the guts of a laptop (I've never even seen the inside of a laptop) for a three-week old computer that was supposed to be 'a great reliable computer' and as a blow, I needed to call back to ensure my refund was done appropriately.

To say the least I was angry, disenchanted with Dell, and completely regretting I did not buy a different product. The Kicker - Time 9:00 am, Service Rep Name: **, Service Rep Number: My Social Security Number
Service Rep Location: Southern California and the Internet Result: I had little hope left and I was still reeling that my computer was busted and that I was without a computer for three days, not counting the time it would take to get recover old files from my old computer, set up my programs, business network... I decided for as little hope as there seemed to be I would check the Internet myself for a solution. I went to a library with my laptop in hand.

Doing a general google search on the term 'c:\windows\system32\config\system' (the error message I had seen so often the night before) I found many, many hits. I opened up a few recommended solutions. Within the first two pages I found a solution that, while somewhat complex, worked. My computer booted up and I was able to quickly save all of my files on disk. I swear on all that is good, what three Dell service technicians could not fix in five hours and they claimed was a problem that would certainly result in the loss of my files I was able to find a solution that at least for the time being got me back to my files.

I have no idea if my computer is fully functional. As I said, I have fairly basic computer skills. So far I have not seen any glitches, yet I feel very suspicious that the underlying problem that caused this error in the first place is still lurking. Who knows when this time bomb will go off again. When it or something else does go wrong, and I feel safe in saying it probably will one day, I have little to no confidence it will be recoverable and I will lose precious work. In the end I feel cheated. My In-Home service warranty for which I paid extra money requires me to do the service myself (as opposed to the promised service technician).

My great all-around computer that could play PC games as well as support my two home businesses is not strong enough to play one of the most popular games on the market nor make it to its one month-old birthday without a significant error. I have a ticking time bomb of a platform and I have no idea when it will go off again.
When I called the service department I felt that everyone had only a partial interest in solving the problem.

Although everyone was kind and personable, none seemed terribly knowledgeable. This assumption is somewhat supported by the fact that I eventually found the solutions off the web on page one of the google search using the exact language of the error. Allowing myself a moment of informed speculation (I managed analysis for Capital One'€™s operations including call centers).

I sense Dell knew it would be less expensive for them to send me a part and make me responsible for fixing this problem than work with me to really find a solution and bear the phone/CSR costs (even though doing so would result in me losing my data and use of my computer for many days). And although small, my backspace button squeaks. Petty until you need to write a complaint letter on planet feedback and hit it a few hundred times.
So my final word to Dell. I am a highly educated (MBA from Berkeley) 33-year old male.

I don't know the exact number, but if I had to wager a guess I would say that I will make dozens of computer purchases in my life, whether they be for personal use, family use or for by businesses. I have many friends who will be told this experience and I will continue to tell as many people as possible until I feel the experience has been remedied. I granted you an opportunity to show me the quality of your product, to make me a loyal Dell customer. So far you have fallen well short. However, you still have the opportunity make right, but at this point in time you need to do go above and beyond a simple fix to restore the faith I once had in your company. Regards.

Replies
Dell - Worst Customer Service in my Life
By -

I'm at the end of my rope. Let me give you an excellent example of why so many end-users are fed-up with Dell:
2 years ago, March 21, 2009, I bought an XPS M1330 for my son's high school graduation. From the first, every time he opened the laptop, we would see odd marks on the screen. By May, it was clear that the marks were an imprint of the keyboard, and this had gotten so bad that it was hard for him to decipher what was on the screen. We had purchased a 2 year warranty, so called tech support, and a very nice young man came out and replaced the screen.

Within a few months, the same thing happened again, and this time the tech replaced the bezel and the screen. My son went off to college, and the next year when he came home for the summer, he showed me that the screen was badly marked again. Again, the tech came, replaced the bezel, screen, and I believe the hinge that time as well.

Finally, on 2/14 of this year, when I knew that the warranty was about to run out, I called my son and asked how the screen was. All marked-up again, he said. So I called tech support and told them it was clearly an unfixable problem and that we needed a replacement laptop, as this one would never work correctly.

After an hour-and-a-half on the phone with tech and customer support, all in India (and let me assure you, language was a problem, attitude was a problem, lack of knowledge was a bad, bad problem), I agreed to try to have it fixed once more, this time replacing screen, bezel, hinge and keyboard. I was told by at least 5 individuals, including the tech who did this last work, that even if the warranty ran out, as long as the ticket was open, Dell would fix the problem for free. So the tech went to my son's dorm and did the work. I called my son yesterday, and he mentioned that the screen was getting marked-up again, after only 6 weeks.

That day, March 29, 2011, I spent 3 hours on the phone, went to 12 different departments, spoke with 17 different customer “support” reps, was told again and again that though they “didn't replace this model” (I was given many different reasons for this, none of which made any sense. I'm sure Dell had already spent more on tech support with this issue than a replacement would have cost), since the ticket was still open, they would replace everything again. This, of course, was not an adequate response, as it had already been well proven that this would not fix the problem.

Today, I was the unlucky recipient of a call from **, a member of the Executive Customer Support Team, a unpleasant and arrogant man, who told me that, not only wouldn't they replace the computer, they wouldn't even repair it again since it was now 8 days out of warranty, despite the ticket still being open. Did the many Dell reps who'd told me an open ticket would assure the problem would be fixed, lie? **, not at all a sunny man, would have me believe so, and told me that the problems with the screen were nothing but normal wear-and-tear, not a design problem or anything that deserved Dell's attention.

By the way, I was told by 2 techs that this has been a common problem across the model. Obviously, this model should have been recalled, but I guess if Dell won't pay Americans (10 percent unemployment in the US, and they sent thousands of jobs overseas) to work for them, they'll be too cheap to properly support their products. He told me that Dell would do nothing to fix the problem. Nothing at all. My son now has an expensive laptop that will be good for nothing but a door stop within 6 months, and Dell has refused to support this product.

Replies
Dell horror story, yet another
By -

I purchased a Dell xpsm2010 for around $3,000 in June of 2007. The ship date was 6/2/2007. The service tag is 5k0zmc1. I cannot find the exact purchase price on the Dell site. This was supposed to be the top of the line Dell laptop. The computer is still under warranty with around 450 days left. Out of the box windows did not work. I had too reinstall. No problem. The computer has never worked correctly for more than a couple of months. I have had 16 and am now on my 17th repair of the computer from Dell. I have had too reinstall windows probable ten times. I have probably spent over 24 hours of my time on the phone with them.

I asked for refund or a replacement they just keep sending parts too try and fix it. I have a email from Dell with all the dates and parts replaced. If you would like a copy let me know. I will list at the bottom of this anyway. I really can't even use the computer, even if I do it doesn't last long til it breaks down. It is currently broken and starts up but once in windows cannot run anything without taking ten years. They keyboard doesn't charge as well unless you stick a pencil or something under it. I eventually gave up and bought a desktop. I now need a laptop again for work and was using this but it is broken again. I would like a refund. It is costing me money not being able to be mobile and work.

I would like a full refund of the purchase price.

Replies
Advertisement
Dell = Horrible Customer, Dissatisfaction and Frustration
By -

ROUND ROCK, TEXAS -- It all started when I purchased a Dell Inspiron 1525 in 2007 or so from Best Buy. Within months of purchase the hard drive died. It happened 2 more times after that only months apart as well. I took it to Best Buy to have it replaced since I was covered. Then shortly after that it started overheating and shutting off. By then the Best Buy warranty was expired but the Dell warranty was active. I went through Dell and they replaced the heat sink but then it happened again just a few months later. The 1525 I bought was defective and Dell refused to admit it. I contacted the BBB to try to have Dell replace the laptop and they put up a fight.

They were also very rude and the customer service transferred me from person to person. They tried to blame Best Buy for my problems as well. Finally I spoke to someone willing to replace it but they tried to tell me I had to get a refurbished laptop. I fought that only because with all the trouble I had, I felt it was fair to get a brand new one. Finally they agreed. I got that replacement laptop but found they sent me the wrong charger. The replacement laptop was a Studio 1555 that needed a 90-watt charger and they sent me a 60-watt. After my bad experience with Dell I chose to buy the charger on my own. Shortly after that the battery died.

I called Dell Inc. and all they did was transfer me for 2 hours from person to person. No one wanted to help at all. It's like they don't care about their customers at all. They were rude and I didn't appreciate as a customer to be treated that way. One person told me that I did not buy anything from Dell and therefore they can't help me. I BOUGHT the original laptop from Best Buy but it was their product. Dell refuses to stand behind their product and take responsibility. All they know how to do is rude and disrespect their customers. The man said that I didn't buy directly from Dell and all Dell has been doing is helping me. Well duh! It's THEIR product. They should help.

Out of all the laptops I could've bought, I chose Dell. Isn't that enough for them to want to satisfy the customer? It's disgraceful and unacceptable. Something needs to be done because I am not the only one who has suffered with bad customer service. Why should we as customers stay loyal to a company that obviously can care less if they have unsatisfied customers? Now I have to shell out a lot of money to replace a battery that's defective after only 6 months. It's not acceptable at all. Something has to be done to fix this because all I see are bad reviews of Dell with bad customer service. Shouldn't happy customers matter to a company? We deserve better.

Replies
Dell - after you buy - hope you don't have any problem....
By -

I have a Dell laptop, approximately 3 months old, hardly used it as I have an Dell (5 yrs old) ready to die - just bought the new one in case this goes at least I won't have to wait as I have my business websites I need to use all the time. Now I also decided to get a mini, so I could take it with me. The salesman gave me the idea of remote access. Here my story starts. When I got the computer, I called Dell to activate my remote access, they told me I would be better off with file sharing, so I did - 6 hours later, done. The next morning something wasn't working, 2 hours later, OK again.

The next day I decided to open Musicmatch, I just wanted to download a song. As it did not open and sent me a non-compatible message, I called Dell again. 2 or 3 hours later, after opening and closing many things on my computer, nothing but error messages came up so he told me I need a new computer. I have too many issues. He would call the hardware department and let them know and he disconnected me. I called back as I needed to know what is going on I can't use my computer and the next technician said he would help me fix it. After about an hour he asked me if I had XP I said "No I have windows 7".

He informed me that Musicmatch shouldn't even be on my computer and would download another one for me. After he thought he was done, it had no sound, after another hour or so he backed up my files so he could reinstall the operating system, now another couple of hours and nothing opened. He also told me to call in the morning and ask for a new computer.

In the morning I spent approximately 5 hours trying to get a new computer, the only thing I got finally was that they would send a new hard drive. I was not happy with that and I finally got someone in the Customer service department that said they could send a replacement but it is refurbished. I did not want refurbished as my computer was new and they ruined it. He told me that I would be better off with a hard drive and if it did not fix the problem then get the refurbished. Now I get the hard drive, the programs are on it. By the way I thought I was set. Well the files they saved no one knew where they could by found.

Again after another 5 hours, "Sorry about that" I'm told. Every time I want to do something I would have to call Dell. I wanted to open a youtube, the picture wouldn't come on, they fixed it. I wanted to open a file, couldn't, they had to download Adobe. I wanted to print, couldn't, they work - "They do must have changed the settings", they say. They have a Dell dock, which are icons on top - it wouldn't stay. Approximately 3 phone calls for that, finally someone tells me the spyware one of the technician put on my computer is incompatible with the Dell dock, so they took it off. Now my email doesn't save, that gets solved.

O.K. do you get the idea? By the way it is still not working properly. My salesmen must have emailed the someone, I got a call from the Tech Dept. saying they would look at the records and let me know what they would do for me. I felt maybe someone would see what I am going through, I now have spent 56 hours on the phone with Dell in a one-week period, lost 3 days work, my family is ready to disown me and throw the computers out, so let's see what happens.

This is what happens, the corporate office calls me, doesn't really want to hear anything because he has the records, but I tell my story. He actually says "I see you have had a couple of instances", he corrected that quick with "quite a few instances", "but I can't send you a new computer, is it alright if I call you in 3 or 4 days to see if your computer is working?" Well what do you think about that? Not even the corporate office in a company as large as Dell can or will do anything to make it better. Now mind you each and everyone, almost, there were a couple of exceptions were polite and wanted to be helpful.

Every time you call Dell it takes about 10 minutes to get someone. Their system is "Tag number please, name, what is your problem, I'll get you someone, now here we go again", same, maybe 3 times before you get to where you have to. Now a couple of hours, then some other department because they can't do it. Every time they put you on hold you get disconnected and have to start all over again, same questions, everyone sends you to their manager who can make a decision, who then sends you to their manager who can make a decision. Guess what? No one can make a decision.

Well, this is the end of my story. I think the final straw was when the corporate office tells me knowing that I still do not have a properly working computer that was so obviously ruined by Dell technicians and my records show how many calls and issues I have had, with stress and disconnects and all those hours on the phone and still does nothing, something is really wrong with this picture. Thanks for listening, that's more than Dell did.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Dell Computer Corporation Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 15 ratings and
674 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Dell Computer Corporation
1 Dell Way
Round Rock, TX 78682-0001
800-289-3355 (ph)
512-728-4238 (fax)
www.dell.com
Product/Services
Compare Computer Companies