Preview Review

Next Review

Dish Network Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Being Charged for 2 Years When I Had to Move Out of Residence!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO -- On March 26, 2016, I moved into an apartment that was misrepresented to me as a nonsmoking unit. I noticed a slightly stale smell during the walk-through, but attributed it to the unit being closed up for a few months. It was not evident it was smoke, and I had no reason to assume it was, due to the unit being advertised as a nonsmoking unit. The smell was nothing. It thought wouldn't go away with some airing out. However, the smell persisted, and after a mere three days of living there, my towels, clothes, and even hair were starting to smell of it.

Upon my mentioning the smell to the maintenance man when he came to hook up the washer and dryer, he admitted that the previous tenant had indeed been smoking in the apartment. I cannot tolerate cigarette smoke, so I contacted the landlord and made arrangements to leave the property. I promptly cancelled all utilities, none of whom gave me any trouble whatsoever except for Dish Network, and moved out of the property on April 10, 2016.

I was recommended Dish Network as a cable provider when I started electric service with West Penn Power and they transferred me to First Energy. The woman I spoke to who scheduled me for installation never mentioned a contract, length of service agreement, or any kind of termination fee. She only mentioned the low price per month of roughly $32.

March 26, 2016 was also the day a representative from Dish Network came to the unit to install the satellite dish and hook everything up. Again, he never mentioned a contract, length of service agreement, or early termination fee. Once he was finished, he explained to me how to work everything and had me sign a few lines on an iPad, much like someone signs for a package. He scrolled through the iPad for me, simply showing me where to sign. He said I was signing acknowledging that he HOOKED UP MY SERVICE and EXPLAINED TO ME HOW TO WORK IT.

It was not explained or made obvious at all that this was a contract, which I fully believe was intentional. As he was holding the iPad and doing the scrolling, I had no reason to take it from him and do it myself – or assume that very conveniently and deceptively hidden in the corner of the screen was an outrageous early termination fee. As stated above, he scrolled through, only stopping where I needed to sign, and stated that I was signing acknowledging he hooked up my service and explained how to work the remote/TV.

I cancelled service with Dish Network on April 8, 2016, and got nowhere when speaking to a representative. After asking for a supervisor, whose name might have been Julie but I can't be certain, I got the same robotic, rehearsed monologue. Customer service was frustrating, to say the least. No one had any understanding or sympathy, or even deviated from their monotone script.

I explained my situation tirelessly, just as it is explained above, enforcing that I hadn't even used the service during my short stay at this apartment, and that my lease was only to be for a year, so there's no way I would have signed up for a two-year agreement. Nobody listened and they proceeded to charge my account the full amount. After this phone call, I did some research and stumbled upon the horrific reviews of this company. I am utterly shocked they are still in business.

On May 11, 2016, I called Visa/Bank of America to dispute this charge on my card, and I believe I spoke to a girl named Sarah from Maryland or Virginia. After explaining the story above, she removed the charge and I received a letter in the mail notifying me of the credit to my account. Then I found out Dish Network is disputing my complaint and trying to make me pay, and Visa has basically washed their hands of it. (So guess who will be changing card providers? Hello, MasterCard.)

My main dispute is the outrageous early termination fee. My main complaint is that I should not have to pay for a service I AM NOT GETTING AND WILL NEVER GET. I did not buy something and then refuse to pay for it. I am expected to pay for two years of a service I am not getting, through no fault of my own. I did not just decide I didn't want Dish Network or didn't like my new apartment. I was deceived about the apartment's condition and had to move out.

This was an unfortunate situation all the way around, and a financial burden for me already, with the cost of moving twice in two weeks, money that I paid in rent, etc. Dish Network has shown no human compassion, understanding, or appeasement to try to keep me as a future customer. All they have done is give me a massive headache and more problems to deal with.

Everyone avoid these liars, scammers, crooks, and thieves like the plague. If I wanted to waste $534.37 I'd just light it on fire. They deliberately deceive good people who work 2 jobs and 50+ hours a week (me) for their hard earned money. Everyone, warn everyone you know. If enough people hear and heed the warning, maybe these con artists will finally be out of business and actually working for a living like the rest of us.

Did not receive help with troubleshooting and bad customer service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVERETT, WASHINGTON -- I called Dish customer service about two days ago because my search options for my DVR was not working correctly. I couldn't browse through categories of movies to record at a later time as I have so many times before in the last year. Keep in mind this is a service that has never required internet service. I was told by the first Rep that it was because I needed internet service to operate. I said that wasn't true. I've had to call in 3 times before with this same issue and the first time they sent a tech out and he fixed it right away.

The second time it was a different tech and he could not fix it. Instead he thought maybe it was a box problem so he switched it out. I lost all the movies I ever recorded in a year and it still didn't work. I was quite upset. But, within a week it miraculously started working again. All these things I kept updating Dish about so they knew about this problem which seemed to happen every time they cancelled my cable due to a payment not being received. I would pay the bill, the service was turned back on and lo and behold I couldn't use my browsing options again.

Anyway she asked if I would like to speak to her supervisor. I said "if that's all you can help me with then yes." He got on the phone and keep calling me sir, I am a woman! He basically said the same thing that it's because it needed internet service. After I explained to him that I've been operating this option for over a year without internet he laughed as if I were a moron.

I begged him to send out a tech, that I would pay the 10 dollars if they would send one because obviously we we're not on the same page. He only answered with "we are on the same page" and "a tech could not fix something that needed internet to work." I asked him if he thought I was stupid not to know when something needed internet to work? I know for a fact that when it requires internet, it says this option requires internet! I am technically inclined! Plus I've had this service for over a year. I know what needs internet and what doesn't.

I couldn't talk to him anymore. I was about to start yelling so I handed the phone to my husband to talk to him. He told the supervisor the same thing I did and that he wasn't listening to me at all. The guy then tells my husband that I am a problematic customer and that I am irrational and frantic. My husband hangs up on him. Now the only reason another person would tell a customer that is to get them upset. I still got no help and my cable still isn't working right. I am paying full price for a service that I can't even operate and there is nothing I can do about it cause I am stuck in their contract for another year.

Oh and I'm a frantic problematic customer so I can't receive any help or respect. I feel like crying. As soon as my contract is up I am canceling this nightmare once and for all. My advice is to seek satellite cable from a different company. I've heard many negative issues with Dish and I have had Xfinity, Directv and now Dish and the only company I've had any problems with is Dish. No way will I ever refer a friend to them. Bad product and bad customer service.

Canceling Service Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CINCINNATI, OHIO -- After 6 years of service I decided to switch providers. The Dish phone rep's speech was quite difficult to understand. After complimenting me on being a good dish customer she tried to upsell me on the Hopper, movie channels, etc. I replied I just wanted to discontinue service. She wanted to know why I was stopping the service and who I was going to use. I told her this was not her concern and that I just wanted to discontinue Dish. She kept asking why so I finally said I've had to replace 3 receivers and 4 remotes in 6 years, 300 channels of absolute nonsense wasn't a service I wanted to pay for anymore.

When I called in financial distress a year ago I was told there was nothing to be done about my bill other than going to basic service or canceling. In fact, that sales representative a year ago was snarky as hell as she said maybe I shouldn't have pay TV service. I also asked for a refund on the unused month of my service but was told no, they would not refund any money.

But here is the really good part. This nutcase told me I was responsible for returning the receivers, the remotes AND the satellite dish! She said I would be charged $10 to return each piece of equipment as well as penalized $299/month for every month the equipment wasn't sent back. She suggested I just ask a friend to go on the roof and remove the face of the satellite. I could keep the part that's bolted to the roof. She told me to send everything back FedEx within 10 days.

I got stuck on the satellite removal issue and kept asking, "You really want me to go on the roof and remove the dish?" She kept saying, "Yes, just ask a friend to do it". Then she hung up on me!! I called back and got another difficult to understand representative. She laughed when I told her about the satellite retrieval. I wonder how funny it would be when a wrongful death lawsuit is filed. She said, "We never ask customers to return the satellite dish, we don't want the responsibility." I said, "Well, I was just told to do just that thing, how do you explain that?" She thought it was hilarious and kept laughing.

After she tried half-heartedly to get me to re-up on the service, she asked for info to send return boxes to me. She said, "There are no charges as I was told by the first representative." She told me to mail a letter of waiver saying I cannot retrieve the dish. I said, "To who?" She said, "There would be a form in the box." "Ok, a form will be sent to me." "No," she said, "you have to mail a letter". "Ok, I have to mail a letter to whom?" "No letter," she said, "a form will come with the box."

It was like a Who's On First conversation. She also informed me I would not be getting any refund from the bill I just paid. If I had known my SO was ordering new service, I never would have paid the last bill for this shoddy, conniving, ill-trained reps company offering crappy reception (watch out for rain, clouds, a little snow or a whisper of wind). Oh, and as an aside, I had a repairman here 2 years ago who informed me the satellite was installed upside up which is why the receivers kept blowing out. He said it wouldn't happen again since he had the brains God gave him to re-install the damn thing.

Dish Has Thieves Working for Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BULLARD, TEXAS -- I had a new Dish system put in and their technician stole my $400 wedding set out of my room that was in my jewelry box my husband bought me while overseas and then signed my name to a contract that I never got or seen but he signed it for me. I made a police report and some theft department I am supposed to deal with never calls me back and calls me a liar when I know I just took it off before he showed up to do some yard work and put it in my jewelry box. The president of Dish says despite of the fact I am not the one who signed it they will not be disputing the signature and the don't dispute signatures. I attached the picture of my ring that he stole to this.

Hard to Cancel - Even if You've Passed Away!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGFIELD, MISSOURI -- When my 80-year-old father passed away 4/16/15, I promptly called places he did business with to let them know. DISH was by far the most unsympathetic, most frustrating place I've ever dealt with. When I told them my dad had passed away and I needed to cancel his service and return the equipment (trying to do the right thing here!), the service person tried to sell me a BETTER package. I told her no one would be living at the residence and explained again my father had passed away. She continued to try to offer me more months, better pricing, etc. I finally screamed at her, "WHAT PART OF DEAD DO YOU NOT UNDERSTAND?"

I demanded to be dispatched to someone who could speak and understand English. The next person also tried to talk me into keeping the service. But after 30 minutes of arguing, they finally agreed to send me a box so that I could dismantle the equipment and ship it back. Wouldn't you think they'd send someone out to do this for you? Especially when you've had a death in the family and already dealing with so many things? Oh no. It is the customer's responsibility to send back the equipment. When the box finally arrived, we promptly packed up the DISH equipment and returned it. I kept up with the tracking to make double sure it returned to DISH.

A few months later, they started billing my deceased father for $13.01. I had to call and go through another thirty-minute hassle arguing about a bill we did not owe. DISH turned it over to collections after promising they'd write off the $13.01. Now I'm dealing with collections over a stinking $13.01 WE DO NOT OWE. I'd think TWICE about engaging services with this company. I'm hearing more and more horror stories from other people who've experienced the same thing when they try to cancel out of DISH. It doesn't matter if you're moving, if you die, if you're financially strapped, DISH DOES NOT CARE OR SYMPATHIZE WITH ANYONE.

Installer Put Holes in My Roof Causing a Leak
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am originally from Ohio and moved to the deep south (SEC country) 24 years ago. When the BTN (Big Ten Network) took over a lot of the football games, I was unable to see them and decided to get Dish since they advertised carrying it. When I called I had asked about BTN and several times made comment that BTN was the only reason I was ordering Dish.

After I signed up for a 2 year contract and it was installed, I was unable to find BTN. I called them and asked and they said that if I wanted to receive it, I would have to upgrade to a higher package and then buy a special sports package. So, I went from $49.99 per month to $89.99 per month just to get the one channel I wanted to start with. (Bait and Switch). I told them to come get it, that I don't want it. They told me I would owe them some ungodly number like $485.00 if I break the contract.

Once I started getting the bills I noticed an extra $14.00 per month on the bill. They said that was for service contract in case THEIR equipment goes bad, I will not have to pay full price for them to come and fix THEIR equipment. Again they hung that contract over my head threatening me with $485.00 if I cancelled.

So... Several years of this went by and I started having issues where it would come up "Complete Signal Loss" all the time even without a cloud in the sky. They sent out a guy to fix it and he ended up having to replace the cable from the Dish on the roof to where it connects in. He said the cable rubbed a hole in it causing the issue. After he left, the connection was working again, but I noticed that he screwed down the cable to my roof... Through the shingles into my roof all the way down. I am still trying to get them to fix the leaking roof after that issue.

Six months went by and it started having the same issue. They sent out a guy, he looked at it from the ground and said "sorry we don't repair anything on roofs anymore." I said "but you guys installed it there, I didn't". He said that he would have to leave that one up there and install a new one on the side of my house mounted to the new vinyl siding. Well, that's not going to happen so I cancelled my Dish network and had Mediacom install cable. Now I am saving a ton of money, it doesn't stop working when it rains and they even took down the old dish for me and trashed it. I will NEVER get Dish again!

Coax Cable Fire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LITTLETON, FLORIDA -- On April 7, 2014 my son went by my home only to discover that the back side of my house was on FIRE... He quickly started ripping off siding and put the fire out with a water hose. Now here is the bad part, usually he DOES NOT come by early, and my BLIND mother-in-law is home alone. Thank God he came by early or it could have been a terrible situation.

I called Dish @ 5:55 pm after approximately 89 minutes, in 5 calls to "customer service" to get someone out to the house to check the wiring. The best they could do was have someone out the next afternoon. I was not happy with this, was scared my house might burn down. The next day 4/8 I contacted another Dish contractor and they had a tech come out and inspect. He stated in his written report "cable shorted out causing the siding/mulch to catch fire." He did make sure the cable/receiver was disconnected. Charged $75.00 for house call. Later that afternoon a Area Business Manager came out, took pictures, spoke with my husband, never heard from him again.

On 4/10 the company that installed the system several years ago came by, same thing, took pictures. Received a letter from them on 4/18 stating that "an assessment has been completed, however, we were not able to determine that the issue was related to installation. Based on this, please be advised we have denied the claim." I called the company a total of 3 times to request a copy of their assessment. Still have not received.

Got a letter from Dish dated May 23, stating "Our engineering dept has performed a thorough investigation of this allegation and determined that the damage was not a result of any malfunction of your receiver or other Dish Network equipment. As a result, no reimbursement or payment will be made to you."

I spoke with the Corporate Field Resolutions Dept, and told them that the receiver was NOT was caught on fire, but to no avail. He stated that once the equipment was installed it became mine and my responsibility. I can claim with my homeowners insurance and if they feel they can pursue Dish. First of all I did not want to claim with my insurance, it was DISH FAULT.

They also stated that the damage was probably caused by "animal activity", so I responded with why aren't the coax placed in a protective (PVC) pipe? Again not their responsibility. As you can see from the pictures the damage was not extensive, but, still there was damage that needs to be repaired. So I will contact my insurance company and see.

Again Dish Network has the WORST customer service I have ever encountered. If you have Dish PLEASE check your coax lines. If you live in the country (like I do), you might want to "critter proof" your lines because Dish will NOT HELP YOU IN ANY WAY....

Dish Network Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ENGLEWOOD, COLORADO -- After cancelling my account with Comcast, I decided to look into Dish after I was mailed an ad stating that I would get free HD for life, a Hopper, and free installation. PERFECT! All for about half of what Comcast cost. I called the number on the ad and specified what channel I wanted and had the representative repeat that I was indeed going to get that channel with the package I ordered, free HD for life, and a Hopper. I paid the deposit and verbally agreed to a contract over the phone.

The AD also stated that we would get same day installation. I was then transferred to the installation scheduling department who told me that they do NOT offer same day installation and that they cannot control all the ads that go out. What?! OK, I let that one go. When the installer came to my house, I told him that I did not want the dish on my house but instead on a tripod to which he agreed. I stayed outside to work on the yard until he told me the installation was finished. I came inside to about 30 feet of cables running through my house. After expressing my frustration he then slid the cables under the wall to "hide" the cables.

I didn't care, at least he tried. He then turned on the box. I instantly noticed I did not have any HD service. He told me that his work order was for the basic package that did not include HD service or the channel I specifically requested or the Hopper and that he could not do anything about it so I would have to call. Fine. I called Dish and that was when they showed their true colors.

Dish informed me that in order to get HD for life I would have to pay an additional deposit and that their records show that I never requested HD or the channel I wanted. I told them that I honestly did not care about the Hopper as long as I got HD and the channel I signed up for in the first place. I was called a liar and told that I would have to talk to the executive resolution team. I talked to a woman who told me that she would pull the phone conversation and give me a call within 24 to 48 hours to resolve the issue. I waited 4 weeks and still no phone call.

I called Dish once again and they said that the phone call still hadn't been pulled and that the woman I talked to was too busy with other customers to help me anytime soon and that it would be additional 4 weeks. I voiced my frustration and was told I would get a call in 24 hours. Surprise, no call and the woman I talked to was never available to talk to me. I waited one more week and called again, the representative told me that there was nothing they could do and that the call still hadn't been pulled.

I let them know that if they did not give me the deal I was promised based on DISH'S OWN AD that I would cancel. I was threatened that if I did that I would have to pay even more money to break my contract. After threatening legal action all of a sudden I was allowed out of my contract with no further fees. The cancellation was explained to me...

I was told I would receive a box in 3-5 days with a prepaid UPS label to return the equipment and all I had to do was follow the instructions inside the box. I had 30 days to return the equipment. 3 weeks later, the box finally came. I boxed up the equipment and got it to UPS ASAP. Because of Thanksgiving, it got to DISH one day past their 30 day policy. They then deducted a ridiculous charge that I was never informed of right out of my checking account.

I called Dish again and was told that it was my fault for not getting the equipment to them on time. I explained that the box was not delivered to me in a timely fashion and if they go to and look up the box they will see that. I was told by the representative, "That isn't my job ma'am." (I am a sir, and I had to correct her 5 times and she still called me ma'am.)

I told her that they overdrew my account and I needed to have a refund issued ASAP. I was told that a refund would take up to a month but if I held they would transfer me to a resolution team. Instead, I was hung up on. Called again and explained to a different representative, I was hung up on again. Called yet again and finally go through to a supervisor who told me that I was entitled to refund but they cannot do a refund instantly that it does take up to a month.

I disputed and informed them that they have no issue taking money out, why does it need to take so long to return? She said that she didn't know. After being on the phone with Dish for 5 hours, I finally got a refund that was guaranteed to be returned in 2 business days....

I waited 2 business days, still no refund to my account. I called yet again and was told that they did issue the refund but it was my bank that hadn't accepted it. Called my bank, there was no record of a refund. Called Dish who then stated that there was no refund coming as there was no information on my account. WHAT?!

After going through the process yet again and waiting 3 business days (while racking up overdraft charges at my bank for almost a week) I got my refund. Dish did not offer to cover my overdraft fees but they did tell me that I am responsible for shipping charges from their prepaid UPS label that can be anywhere from 16-40 dollars depending "on the day" as it changes daily. UGH! I asked about the actual dish and tripod that is still on my property. I was told to keep it and take it to The Dump. I asked them to pick it up, they informed me that it would be a $50 charge for one of their technicians to pick up anything. WHATEVER!

Do NOT ever deal with Dish. They entice you with great offers but then once you have a contract they lie, cheat, and steal until they can no longer get anymore out of you. Never once did I get an apology, a kind word, or compensation for any of my negative experiences. Keep in mind, this is a condensed review based on months of negative issues with Dish.

Verify EVERYTHING They Tell You!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ENGLEWOOD, COLORADO -- I recently decided to get cable/satellite television, and internet. It seemed it would be best to get the services “bundled”, to keep everything together with one company. In speaking with several companies, I had decided it would probably be best to go with one particular company. However, upon speaking with a GoDISH sales agent, I was led to believe that DISH was partnered with AT&T U-verse. His sales pitch was that I would be getting DISH AND AT&T internet. Only after I signed the contract did I learn that DISH was NOT partnered with AT&T. Not only that, but I can't even get AT&T at my residence.

Since my decision was based on the fact that I would be getting AT&T through their partnership, I felt I had been deceived. When I realized that I had been duped, I called DISH (June 3, 2016) and complained, stating that I was led to believe that they were partnered with AT&T, and I had made my decision on that basis. Since that was not the truth, the contract should not be binding. I spoke with Hector, who said he would review the transcript (recording).

Hector called back on June 16, 2016, and reported that he had listened to the recording, and the sales agent didn't indicate that it was a “bundled” service; that DISH and AT&T were individual companies. He didn't explain why the agent was touting AT&T as being a partner. Because the agent did nothing wrong, the contract stood “as is”. And I would have to pay the penalty fees if I were to break it. There was no discussion of my being misled, or that it had been agreed to under false pretenses.

I have always retained good credit. I pay what I owe. And when there is a difference of opinion, I am willing to try to find a solution (which I tried to do). But when I feel I have been scammed, and talk doesn't work, I see no alternative but to dispute the issue loudly and long. What occurred, should be interpreted as “bait and switch” tactics, which is illegal.

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I've been an unhappy Dish customer for 9 years. Every few months I get a bill saying I owe more than our last agreement. I would then call them and go through same old song and dance... they would say the promotion, which I was told was good for a year, had ended. Even though that agreement was made only a few months earlier. I like a dummy not wanting to hassle with the alternative would agree to the few dollars increase and on we went... till last month and another increased bill arrived.

So this time, I canceled my service and Dish as agreed shut off my service and sent me their confirming cancellation email, with a sweet footnote saying they hoped I'd reconsider and come back. I called them and asked if they had reconsidered their price increase to my bill and they said NO. I replied... "I'm done."

The supervisor representative then said, "Do you want me to cancel your account?" I replied... "It's already canceled." He said, "No, it isn't you 'just' reactivated it. And if you cancel now, you will have to pay an early termination fee." I said, "I'm not going to continue playing your games. My service is off and I have your cancellation email that you sent to me two days earlier... we're done. Goodbye!"

Dish then reactivated my service; with fewer channels I might add and sent me a bill. Needless to say at this point I can't believe what has and is happening. I think Dish Corporate can't know this is how their customers are treated. So I called Dish corporate offices in Englewood, Colorado. Phone# 303-723-1000 ext. **... I left six (6) detailed 'short version' messages for Kathy Schneider, Sr. VP Customer Service asking her to call me and to date NO ONE has returned my call. So in closing... STAY AWAY FROM DISH!!! Life is too short to have this kind of BAD energy in your life.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Dish Network Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 545 ratings and
1349 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Dish Network
9601 S. Meridian Blvd.
Englewood, CO 80112
1-888-624-3474 (ph)
1-720-514-5140 (fax)
Compare Cable/Satellite Services