Preview Review

Next Review

Dish Network Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Canceling Service Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CINCINNATI, OHIO -- After 6 years of service I decided to switch providers. The Dish phone rep's speech was quite difficult to understand. After complimenting me on being a good dish customer she tried to upsell me on the Hopper, movie channels, etc. I replied I just wanted to discontinue service. She wanted to know why I was stopping the service and who I was going to use. I told her this was not her concern and that I just wanted to discontinue Dish. She kept asking why so I finally said I've had to replace 3 receivers and 4 remotes in 6 years, 300 channels of absolute nonsense wasn't a service I wanted to pay for anymore.

When I called in financial distress a year ago I was told there was nothing to be done about my bill other than going to basic service or canceling. In fact, that sales representative a year ago was snarky as hell as she said maybe I shouldn't have pay TV service. I also asked for a refund on the unused month of my service but was told no, they would not refund any money.

But here is the really good part. This nutcase told me I was responsible for returning the receivers, the remotes AND the satellite dish! She said I would be charged $10 to return each piece of equipment as well as penalized $299/month for every month the equipment wasn't sent back. She suggested I just ask a friend to go on the roof and remove the face of the satellite. I could keep the part that's bolted to the roof. She told me to send everything back FedEx within 10 days.

I got stuck on the satellite removal issue and kept asking, "You really want me to go on the roof and remove the dish?" She kept saying, "Yes, just ask a friend to do it". Then she hung up on me!! I called back and got another difficult to understand representative. She laughed when I told her about the satellite retrieval. I wonder how funny it would be when a wrongful death lawsuit is filed. She said, "We never ask customers to return the satellite dish, we don't want the responsibility." I said, "Well, I was just told to do just that thing, how do you explain that?" She thought it was hilarious and kept laughing.

After she tried half-heartedly to get me to re-up on the service, she asked for info to send return boxes to me. She said, "There are no charges as I was told by the first representative." She told me to mail a letter of waiver saying I cannot retrieve the dish. I said, "To who?" She said, "There would be a form in the box." "Ok, a form will be sent to me." "No," she said, "you have to mail a letter". "Ok, I have to mail a letter to whom?" "No letter," she said, "a form will come with the box."

It was like a Who's On First conversation. She also informed me I would not be getting any refund from the bill I just paid. If I had known my SO was ordering new service, I never would have paid the last bill for this shoddy, conniving, ill-trained reps company offering crappy reception (watch out for rain, clouds, a little snow or a whisper of wind). Oh, and as an aside, I had a repairman here 2 years ago who informed me the satellite was installed upside up which is why the receivers kept blowing out. He said it wouldn't happen again since he had the brains God gave him to re-install the damn thing.

Replies
Advertisement
Awful Customer Service. $460 Cancellation Fee Because I Can't Install DISH at New Residence in Boston!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WORD OF THE WISE…DON'T EVER USE DISH SERVICES!!! This is possibly the WORST customer service I have EVER experienced!! I chose to shop out different cable providers after my Comcast bill had proven to be too high. After talking to a DISH representative for over an hour and a half and expressing my concerns (my husband's job potentially relocating us to the city, breaking contract, etc.) it sounded like DISH was the right move. WRONG!! I have only had this cable provider for UNDER a month and found out we'd be moving our family from Michigan to Boston.

Yes, of course they can move your cable services for you to Boston…but not when you are living in a building that DOES NOT allow a DISH satellite. I called DISH to express my concerns. I spoke to Alex first who really couldn't help me, since this issue was beyond his scope. Next, I was transferred to Frank. Frank was an “account specialist.” He went on to tell me that regardless if the building doesn't allow DISH and these are extenuating circumstances he could not help me and that I'd be charged a $460.00 cancellation fee.

I was misled by the initial sales guy who sold me DISH services. I had expressed my concerns, but not once did he mention a HUGE cancellation fee!! All he wanted was the sale! Frank continued to tell me there was nothing he could do… Isn't he an account specialist?! He then went on to belittle me, acting as if I didn't know what a “contract” was. Yes, I understand a contract... And in this case, it's very similar to a lease. If you sign a 12 months lease and break it midway through, you forfeit your security deposit or one month's rent…not normally the entirety of the balance of the lease.

I went on to ask for someone above Frank, who may be able to help me. Transferred to a supervisor, CJ. I talked to CJ, expressed the same thing I had told both Alex and Frank, for him to tell me, “I'm sorry, you're in a contract and the cancellation fee is $460. There is nothing I can do.” How is it that there is nobody who can do anything in this entire company?? I feel as if I were tricked into this contract and that the initial sales guy never properly enlightened me on what would happen if I were to move to a place that did not allow a DISH satellite (or any satellite for that fact).

The worst part about this is....I did ask in the event if we had to move, what would happen? DISH TV will lose more than $460 out of this issue… Not only will I NEVER use DISH TV again but, I will never recommend it to anyone!!! This was some of the worst customer service, with not even a tad of empathy or support from the DISH TV representatives/staff. If you think you're saving yourself money by switching to DISH… do yourself a favor and don't switch! Awful, Awful. Oh, and did I mention… on Super Bowl Sunday when I had 60 people at our house for a party, one of our boxes was failing to work and not getting a signal?! Talk about an inconvenience!!

Replies
Dish TV - Deceptive, Manipulating and Conniving
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MADISON, WISCONSIN -- Please read this review in its entirety. Knowledge is power. Dish TV. Very bad reception. Just a drop of rain would cause my TV to go out. Dish simply tells you there's nothing to be done because that's the nature of satellite TV - typical of any satellite services (funny because I've not had a bit of trouble with my new service...). I got tired of having unpredictable reception and paying for it, so I canceled my service in September. Whoa! If I thought I was having problems with Dish before, I sure was kidding myself!

They, of course, tried endlessly when I called, to convince me not to cancel even when it got to the point that I would interrupt their pitches by sternly saying, "Just cancel my account!" Well, to make a long story a bit shorter, I waited forever for them to send their return boxes for their equipment, which they sent one at a time, weeks apart. Got slapped with an overdue fee. Because of the early cancellation I knew I would have to pay $320.

I didn't mind because: 1) I was so ready to get rid of Dish and get something different and 2) My new service (Charter) would pay me for the buyout - no prob, right? No, no, no. Dish has screwing "defectors" all figured out. I waited and waited for that final bill of $320 to arrive so I could show Charter in order to get my refund.

Well... next thing I know Dish had, unbeknownst to me, helped themselves to $320 from my bank account. Granted, I signed the contract that said they could withdraw funds from my account for billing purposes. To me that meant if I wasn't paying my bills they would be entitled to collect the amount of the unpaid bill. I'm very diligent about paying my bills on time so I didn't worry about that. I was furious when I saw $320 had been taken out of my checking account with no knowledge or some kind of a heads-up, plus they did the same thing for $17.00.

I immediately called Dish and, of course, they couldn't understand why I was so upset. I demanded they send me a written invoice showing that the $320 was paid in full. Oh they were extremely polite and yes, yes they would be happy to do that. Well, I'm sure you've already guessed what happened - nothing was sent. Therefore I missed out of being paid for the buy-out from Charter. Dish is well aware of time limits other services have for reimbursements of buy-outs and they take full advantage of that.

Okay, remember I said I closed my account in September. The money was taken from my bank account December 4. Now, here we are in January, Dish TV a thing of the past, and lo and behold I get a voicemail telling me to call Dish regarding my account. I don't have an account! When I called, of course, I got the automated voice system. None of the selection numbers pertained to me. No choice of talking to an agent. I tried other numbers getting the same response. I dropped the issue because I hadn't received any written communication from Dish (except advertising) since September and I no longer had an account, anyway.

Well... yesterday, January 22, I received a call from a collection agency telling me I owe Dish TV $18.50!!! What??? I told the agent I don't even have an account with Dish, haven't received any bills since September and furthermore I never pay anybody who's asking for money over the phone. Yea! Yet another way to screw the ex-customer. Go Dish. Because calling is worthless, I've emailed Dish twice now so I guess I'll see what happens. It's like they stalk people. Are they going to nickel and dime me for the rest of my life? Not if I can help it... yeah... I'm saying it again, Dish is deceiving, manipulative and conniving. Buyer beware!

Replies
Lying Thieves!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- So first I called about their packages and the woman gave me prices and told me the package price for America's top whatever and said yes it comes with AMC, Disney and all that plus I would get internet added on and my monthly amount would be $32 a month. Then I called back to find out if it would be possible to get just the Internet and they said no it wasn't possible, but that the package was a great deal. So I asked the guy putting in my package if I would be getting all the channels I wanted like AMC, Disney, Nick and etc. He lied and said yes. So I went about the whole process, said yes to the 2 year contract like a fool.

Next thing I know the installer comes out and installs our DVR thing and I even asked him, "Ok so it's $30 a month, correct?" And he said, "Correct." Then after he installed the DVR thing I asked, "Okay so what about the internet?" And he said that was through a different company. He pretended to know the package we had and channels I was going to get saying, "Oh man you guys got a great package and you'll be able to record 4 shows while watching something on TV at that moment." Then he looked at our guide and said, "Well it will take 30 mins for you to be able to access the rest of the shows."

Ok so then I call this EarthLink internet company and they tell me I'm in a 1 year contract with them through Dish and it will be $90 to cancel, on top of that the $14.99 for the internet was only that price for 3 months and then it goes to $40 a month (even though the salesman happened to forget to mention that and the manager went back and listened to the recording and admitted he didn't tell me that nifty little detail). So then I'm already pissed off and I go looking through to try to watch my show on AMC to calm down some and it says unauthorized, please call this number.

I call the number and tell them what's going on and nothing but apologies. Ok well apologies isn't going to solve my problem. I check my account to see how much I have really been charged and they charged me $19.99 and $1.00 2x's. When I asked the woman about it after being transferred to the billing department she tells me, "Oh it will go away. It's not a real charge." And I told her there was a telephone number next to it and then she tells me, "Oh that's the charge from the retail company we used to send out a technician to your house."

So then I told her, "I want to talk to the highest person on the totem pole," and that woman told me, "Well what do you want from me??" I said to cancel the service and refund my money, her reply was, "Okay pay me $400 and we will gladly cancel the service!" POS company if you ask me. Do not go through this company.

Replies
Advertisement
Dish Has Thieves Working for Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BULLARD, TEXAS -- I had a new Dish system put in and their technician stole my $400 wedding set out of my room that was in my jewelry box my husband bought me while overseas and then signed my name to a contract that I never got or seen but he signed it for me. I made a police report and some theft department I am supposed to deal with never calls me back and calls me a liar when I know I just took it off before he showed up to do some yard work and put it in my jewelry box. The president of Dish says despite of the fact I am not the one who signed it they will not be disputing the signature and the don't dispute signatures. I attached the picture of my ring that he stole to this.

Replies
Hard to Cancel - Even if You've Passed Away!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGFIELD, MISSOURI -- When my 80-year-old father passed away 4/16/15, I promptly called places he did business with to let them know. DISH was by far the most unsympathetic, most frustrating place I've ever dealt with. When I told them my dad had passed away and I needed to cancel his service and return the equipment (trying to do the right thing here!), the service person tried to sell me a BETTER package. I told her no one would be living at the residence and explained again my father had passed away. She continued to try to offer me more months, better pricing, etc. I finally screamed at her, "WHAT PART OF DEAD DO YOU NOT UNDERSTAND?"

I demanded to be dispatched to someone who could speak and understand English. The next person also tried to talk me into keeping the service. But after 30 minutes of arguing, they finally agreed to send me a box so that I could dismantle the equipment and ship it back. Wouldn't you think they'd send someone out to do this for you? Especially when you've had a death in the family and already dealing with so many things? Oh no. It is the customer's responsibility to send back the equipment. When the box finally arrived, we promptly packed up the DISH equipment and returned it. I kept up with the tracking to make double sure it returned to DISH.

A few months later, they started billing my deceased father for $13.01. I had to call and go through another thirty-minute hassle arguing about a bill we did not owe. DISH turned it over to collections after promising they'd write off the $13.01. Now I'm dealing with collections over a stinking $13.01 WE DO NOT OWE. I'd think TWICE about engaging services with this company. I'm hearing more and more horror stories from other people who've experienced the same thing when they try to cancel out of DISH. It doesn't matter if you're moving, if you die, if you're financially strapped, DISH DOES NOT CARE OR SYMPATHIZE WITH ANYONE.

Replies
Installer Put Holes in My Roof Causing a Leak
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am originally from Ohio and moved to the deep south (SEC country) 24 years ago. When the BTN (Big Ten Network) took over a lot of the football games, I was unable to see them and decided to get Dish since they advertised carrying it. When I called I had asked about BTN and several times made comment that BTN was the only reason I was ordering Dish.

After I signed up for a 2 year contract and it was installed, I was unable to find BTN. I called them and asked and they said that if I wanted to receive it, I would have to upgrade to a higher package and then buy a special sports package. So, I went from $49.99 per month to $89.99 per month just to get the one channel I wanted to start with. (Bait and Switch). I told them to come get it, that I don't want it. They told me I would owe them some ungodly number like $485.00 if I break the contract.

Once I started getting the bills I noticed an extra $14.00 per month on the bill. They said that was for service contract in case THEIR equipment goes bad, I will not have to pay full price for them to come and fix THEIR equipment. Again they hung that contract over my head threatening me with $485.00 if I cancelled.

So... Several years of this went by and I started having issues where it would come up "Complete Signal Loss" all the time even without a cloud in the sky. They sent out a guy to fix it and he ended up having to replace the cable from the Dish on the roof to where it connects in. He said the cable rubbed a hole in it causing the issue. After he left, the connection was working again, but I noticed that he screwed down the cable to my roof... Through the shingles into my roof all the way down. I am still trying to get them to fix the leaking roof after that issue.

Six months went by and it started having the same issue. They sent out a guy, he looked at it from the ground and said "sorry we don't repair anything on roofs anymore." I said "but you guys installed it there, I didn't". He said that he would have to leave that one up there and install a new one on the side of my house mounted to the new vinyl siding. Well, that's not going to happen so I cancelled my Dish network and had Mediacom install cable. Now I am saving a ton of money, it doesn't stop working when it rains and they even took down the old dish for me and trashed it. I will NEVER get Dish again!

Replies
Coax Cable Fire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LITTLETON, FLORIDA -- On April 7, 2014 my son went by my home only to discover that the back side of my house was on FIRE... He quickly started ripping off siding and put the fire out with a water hose. Now here is the bad part, usually he DOES NOT come by early, and my BLIND mother-in-law is home alone. Thank God he came by early or it could have been a terrible situation.

I called Dish @ 5:55 pm after approximately 89 minutes, in 5 calls to "customer service" to get someone out to the house to check the wiring. The best they could do was have someone out the next afternoon. I was not happy with this, was scared my house might burn down. The next day 4/8 I contacted another Dish contractor and they had a tech come out and inspect. He stated in his written report "cable shorted out causing the siding/mulch to catch fire." He did make sure the cable/receiver was disconnected. Charged $75.00 for house call. Later that afternoon a Area Business Manager came out, took pictures, spoke with my husband, never heard from him again.

On 4/10 the company that installed the system several years ago came by, same thing, took pictures. Received a letter from them on 4/18 stating that "an assessment has been completed, however, we were not able to determine that the issue was related to installation. Based on this, please be advised we have denied the claim." I called the company a total of 3 times to request a copy of their assessment. Still have not received.

Got a letter from Dish dated May 23, stating "Our engineering dept has performed a thorough investigation of this allegation and determined that the damage was not a result of any malfunction of your receiver or other Dish Network equipment. As a result, no reimbursement or payment will be made to you."

I spoke with the Corporate Field Resolutions Dept, and told them that the receiver was NOT was caught on fire, but to no avail. He stated that once the equipment was installed it became mine and my responsibility. I can claim with my homeowners insurance and if they feel they can pursue Dish. First of all I did not want to claim with my insurance, it was DISH FAULT.

They also stated that the damage was probably caused by "animal activity", so I responded with why aren't the coax placed in a protective (PVC) pipe? Again not their responsibility. As you can see from the pictures the damage was not extensive, but, still there was damage that needs to be repaired. So I will contact my insurance company and see.

Again Dish Network has the WORST customer service I have ever encountered. If you have Dish PLEASE check your coax lines. If you live in the country (like I do), you might want to "critter proof" your lines because Dish will NOT HELP YOU IN ANY WAY....

Replies
Advertisement
Dish Network Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ENGLEWOOD, COLORADO -- After cancelling my account with Comcast, I decided to look into Dish after I was mailed an ad stating that I would get free HD for life, a Hopper, and free installation. PERFECT! All for about half of what Comcast cost. I called the number on the ad and specified what channel I wanted and had the representative repeat that I was indeed going to get that channel with the package I ordered, free HD for life, and a Hopper. I paid the deposit and verbally agreed to a contract over the phone.

The AD also stated that we would get same day installation. I was then transferred to the installation scheduling department who told me that they do NOT offer same day installation and that they cannot control all the ads that go out. What?! OK, I let that one go. When the installer came to my house, I told him that I did not want the dish on my house but instead on a tripod to which he agreed. I stayed outside to work on the yard until he told me the installation was finished. I came inside to about 30 feet of cables running through my house. After expressing my frustration he then slid the cables under the wall to "hide" the cables.

I didn't care, at least he tried. He then turned on the box. I instantly noticed I did not have any HD service. He told me that his work order was for the basic package that did not include HD service or the channel I specifically requested or the Hopper and that he could not do anything about it so I would have to call. Fine. I called Dish and that was when they showed their true colors.

Dish informed me that in order to get HD for life I would have to pay an additional deposit and that their records show that I never requested HD or the channel I wanted. I told them that I honestly did not care about the Hopper as long as I got HD and the channel I signed up for in the first place. I was called a liar and told that I would have to talk to the executive resolution team. I talked to a woman who told me that she would pull the phone conversation and give me a call within 24 to 48 hours to resolve the issue. I waited 4 weeks and still no phone call.

I called Dish once again and they said that the phone call still hadn't been pulled and that the woman I talked to was too busy with other customers to help me anytime soon and that it would be additional 4 weeks. I voiced my frustration and was told I would get a call in 24 hours. Surprise, no call and the woman I talked to was never available to talk to me. I waited one more week and called again, the representative told me that there was nothing they could do and that the call still hadn't been pulled.

I let them know that if they did not give me the deal I was promised based on DISH'S OWN AD that I would cancel. I was threatened that if I did that I would have to pay even more money to break my contract. After threatening legal action all of a sudden I was allowed out of my contract with no further fees. The cancellation was explained to me...

I was told I would receive a box in 3-5 days with a prepaid UPS label to return the equipment and all I had to do was follow the instructions inside the box. I had 30 days to return the equipment. 3 weeks later, the box finally came. I boxed up the equipment and got it to UPS ASAP. Because of Thanksgiving, it got to DISH one day past their 30 day policy. They then deducted a ridiculous charge that I was never informed of right out of my checking account.

I called Dish again and was told that it was my fault for not getting the equipment to them on time. I explained that the box was not delivered to me in a timely fashion and if they go to UPS.com and look up the box they will see that. I was told by the representative, "That isn't my job ma'am." (I am a sir, and I had to correct her 5 times and she still called me ma'am.)

I told her that they overdrew my account and I needed to have a refund issued ASAP. I was told that a refund would take up to a month but if I held they would transfer me to a resolution team. Instead, I was hung up on. Called again and explained to a different representative, I was hung up on again. Called yet again and finally go through to a supervisor who told me that I was entitled to refund but they cannot do a refund instantly that it does take up to a month.

I disputed and informed them that they have no issue taking money out, why does it need to take so long to return? She said that she didn't know. After being on the phone with Dish for 5 hours, I finally got a refund that was guaranteed to be returned in 2 business days....

I waited 2 business days, still no refund to my account. I called yet again and was told that they did issue the refund but it was my bank that hadn't accepted it. Called my bank, there was no record of a refund. Called Dish who then stated that there was no refund coming as there was no information on my account. WHAT?!

After going through the process yet again and waiting 3 business days (while racking up overdraft charges at my bank for almost a week) I got my refund. Dish did not offer to cover my overdraft fees but they did tell me that I am responsible for shipping charges from their prepaid UPS label that can be anywhere from 16-40 dollars depending "on the day" as it changes daily. UGH! I asked about the actual dish and tripod that is still on my property. I was told to keep it and take it to The Dump. I asked them to pick it up, they informed me that it would be a $50 charge for one of their technicians to pick up anything. WHATEVER!

Do NOT ever deal with Dish. They entice you with great offers but then once you have a contract they lie, cheat, and steal until they can no longer get anymore out of you. Never once did I get an apology, a kind word, or compensation for any of my negative experiences. Keep in mind, this is a condensed review based on months of negative issues with Dish.

Replies
Verify EVERYTHING They Tell You!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ENGLEWOOD, COLORADO -- I recently decided to get cable/satellite television, and internet. It seemed it would be best to get the services “bundled”, to keep everything together with one company. In speaking with several companies, I had decided it would probably be best to go with one particular company. However, upon speaking with a GoDISH sales agent, I was led to believe that DISH was partnered with AT&T U-verse. His sales pitch was that I would be getting DISH AND AT&T internet. Only after I signed the contract did I learn that DISH was NOT partnered with AT&T. Not only that, but I can't even get AT&T at my residence.

Since my decision was based on the fact that I would be getting AT&T through their partnership, I felt I had been deceived. When I realized that I had been duped, I called DISH (June 3, 2016) and complained, stating that I was led to believe that they were partnered with AT&T, and I had made my decision on that basis. Since that was not the truth, the contract should not be binding. I spoke with Hector, who said he would review the transcript (recording).

Hector called back on June 16, 2016, and reported that he had listened to the recording, and the sales agent didn't indicate that it was a “bundled” service; that DISH and AT&T were individual companies. He didn't explain why the agent was touting AT&T as being a partner. Because the agent did nothing wrong, the contract stood “as is”. And I would have to pay the penalty fees if I were to break it. There was no discussion of my being misled, or that it had been agreed to under false pretenses.

I have always retained good credit. I pay what I owe. And when there is a difference of opinion, I am willing to try to find a solution (which I tried to do). But when I feel I have been scammed, and talk doesn't work, I see no alternative but to dispute the issue loudly and long. What occurred, should be interpreted as “bait and switch” tactics, which is illegal.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Dish Network Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 537 ratings and
1341 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Dish Network
9601 S. Meridian Blvd.
Englewood, CO 80112
1-888-624-3474 (ph)
1-720-514-5140 (fax)
www.dish.com
pedersenjason@echostar.com
Compare Cable/Satellite Services