Preview Review

Next Review

Dish Network Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Canceling Service Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CINCINNATI, OHIO -- After 6 years of service I decided to switch providers. The Dish phone rep's speech was quite difficult to understand. After complimenting me on being a good dish customer she tried to upsell me on the Hopper, movie channels, etc. I replied I just wanted to discontinue service. She wanted to know why I was stopping the service and who I was going to use. I told her this was not her concern and that I just wanted to discontinue Dish. She kept asking why so I finally said I've had to replace 3 receivers and 4 remotes in 6 years, 300 channels of absolute nonsense wasn't a service I wanted to pay for anymore.

When I called in financial distress a year ago I was told there was nothing to be done about my bill other than going to basic service or canceling. In fact, that sales representative a year ago was snarky as hell as she said maybe I shouldn't have pay TV service. I also asked for a refund on the unused month of my service but was told no, they would not refund any money.

But here is the really good part. This nutcase told me I was responsible for returning the receivers, the remotes AND the satellite dish! She said I would be charged $10 to return each piece of equipment as well as penalized $299/month for every month the equipment wasn't sent back. She suggested I just ask a friend to go on the roof and remove the face of the satellite. I could keep the part that's bolted to the roof. She told me to send everything back FedEx within 10 days.

I got stuck on the satellite removal issue and kept asking, "You really want me to go on the roof and remove the dish?" She kept saying, "Yes, just ask a friend to do it". Then she hung up on me!! I called back and got another difficult to understand representative. She laughed when I told her about the satellite retrieval. I wonder how funny it would be when a wrongful death lawsuit is filed. She said, "We never ask customers to return the satellite dish, we don't want the responsibility." I said, "Well, I was just told to do just that thing, how do you explain that?" She thought it was hilarious and kept laughing.

After she tried half-heartedly to get me to re-up on the service, she asked for info to send return boxes to me. She said, "There are no charges as I was told by the first representative." She told me to mail a letter of waiver saying I cannot retrieve the dish. I said, "To who?" She said, "There would be a form in the box." "Ok, a form will be sent to me." "No," she said, "you have to mail a letter". "Ok, I have to mail a letter to whom?" "No letter," she said, "a form will come with the box."

It was like a Who's On First conversation. She also informed me I would not be getting any refund from the bill I just paid. If I had known my SO was ordering new service, I never would have paid the last bill for this shoddy, conniving, ill-trained reps company offering crappy reception (watch out for rain, clouds, a little snow or a whisper of wind). Oh, and as an aside, I had a repairman here 2 years ago who informed me the satellite was installed upside up which is why the receivers kept blowing out. He said it wouldn't happen again since he had the brains God gave him to re-install the damn thing.

Replies
Advertisement
The Worst, Most Disorganized Corporate Entity I've Ever Dealt With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- I had left Time Warner after 5 years of their service because prices just kept increasing. Meanwhile, Dish Network was offering satellite packages with tons of channels, high speed internet, and home phone for literally 60% off the Time Warner price. "How could I go wrong?" I thought. I wish I had never gone further than the thought.

When I signed up, I was told "Your first month will be free. You'll pay nothing for 60 days (except the signup fee which was relatively cheap). And when your first bill comes in, it should be approximately $60 since you've signed up as a part of this promo. All subsequent bills will be $60 as well. It's that simple!" Apparently it wasn't that simple. First bill arrived within 14 days to the tune of $280. Needless to say, I called to inquire and lodge a complaint if need be. This is where Dish Network TRIES to excel.

You don't get pushed around from faceless representative to faceless representative with each call. Instead, the person you speak to gives you his/her name, their direct phone number, they act like your buddy, and tell you "If you ever have ANY problems, you call me directly. I'm your guy/girl! I'll be here to help you." That, to me, sounded great. Personalized service. And should anything go wrong (again), I have a name and a direct line of a person to either fix it OR hold accountable.

Well, ** was the first name. She signed me up. I suppose it should have struck me a bit odd that the person who signed me up was also volunteering to be my customer service/tech support person but it didn't. I called ** when I got my bill, one month early and $220 higher than I was told it would be. ** never answered. She never returned calls either. This went on for a week or two before finally, after pressing a number of different menu options, I got someone on the phone. ** apologized profusely but told me the problem was, ** incorrectly coded everything on my account. Thus, the overcharge. "I see" I said. "Can you just go ahead and fix that for me?"

"I can't" said **. "Once it's in the system, there's no way to change it. But what I can do is throw a number of credits and promo codes on there to get us down to around $60." This is just downright laughable. A major cable/ISP company is running off computer systems that don't allow for changes to customer accounts?! Whatever. As long as my bill goes back to where it should be. The "credit / coding" issue is theirs to deal with. Not mine.

Now mind you, I'm still on the phone with ** every week because the wireless they promise is not only slower than advertised, it drops virtually once every hour. In the first 6 months, I went through at least 4 modems and routers. Had visits from 2 or 3 techs to examine the wiring into the wall. Nothing seemed to work. The wireless was just terrible. And ** told me that it was likely going to remain that way because I was on the very edge of their service area. And since it's DSL nothing they could really do.

"Well, why wasn't I told about this when I signed up **?" He apologized. Gave me more credits and got my bill down to $0 for the next 2-3 months. Which was great except I still couldn't use the wireless and, if there was even a slight breeze, the satellite signal was disrupted.

Two months later... Bill arrives for $190. I call **. I call ** again because he doesn't answer. ** never answers and never returns calls anymore. At this point, I'm not only livid from billing issues. I'm also pissed because my wireless is half the speed promised AND drops constantly. Also, my satellite picture not only goes out in the rain, it gets disrupted with even the slightest breeze. I walked outside and saw the dish actually shaking with each tiny gust. So they sent a tech.

The tech discovered it was put too close to the edge of the roof and thus, half of the mount was fastened to nothing but shingles. As dumb as that is, his solution was just as dumb. He added a brace to the base essentially bracing it to OTHER loose shingles too close to the edge of the roof. NO ONE could figure out the wireless problem. AT ALL.

After never hearing from ** again, I got ** (what was with this company and hiring people who's names only start with 'C'?). ** sent a new tech out to the house to fix the dish. And this guy was smarter. He removed the dish and remounted it to actual roof. Not just shingles. But the wireless was beyond him. Couldn't figure that one out at all. So now I had halfway decent TV (it still sucked in the rain but at least on a sunny day I was able to watch), the wireless still sucked, but at least, thanks to ** I was paying nothing. For about 2-3 months.

Then I got another bill. Another ridiculous amount. At the same time, I have someone from Dish in my house trying to figure out what the issue is with the wireless (which, at this point) is useless. Finally, I called Dish, told them I was breaking the contract early and frankly, I didn't care how much they had wanted to charge me for it. They'd never see the money from me anyway. I had endured 11 months of terrible customer service and horrific wireless service. I was done and moving on. Didn't matter the cost and nothing they could say would keep me behind.

Finally, they agreed to let me go at no cost. The upside was... for the 11 months I was a customer, I paid next to nothing. The downside was... I paid next to nothing because I actually got nothing but headaches and occasional TV. Oh, and the landline that I never used. I went back to Time Warner and, within 10 minutes of the setup with Time Warner, the tech they had sent to install everything found the wiring problem that created the crap internet. I've been good at Time Warner ever since.

Replies
Awful Customer Service. $460 Cancellation Fee Because I Can't Install DISH at New Residence in Boston!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WORD OF THE WISE…DON'T EVER USE DISH SERVICES!!! This is possibly the WORST customer service I have EVER experienced!! I chose to shop out different cable providers after my Comcast bill had proven to be too high. After talking to a DISH representative for over an hour and a half and expressing my concerns (my husband's job potentially relocating us to the city, breaking contract, etc.) it sounded like DISH was the right move. WRONG!! I have only had this cable provider for UNDER a month and found out we'd be moving our family from Michigan to Boston.

Yes, of course they can move your cable services for you to Boston…but not when you are living in a building that DOES NOT allow a DISH satellite. I called DISH to express my concerns. I spoke to Alex first who really couldn't help me, since this issue was beyond his scope. Next, I was transferred to Frank. Frank was an “account specialist.” He went on to tell me that regardless if the building doesn't allow DISH and these are extenuating circumstances he could not help me and that I'd be charged a $460.00 cancellation fee.

I was misled by the initial sales guy who sold me DISH services. I had expressed my concerns, but not once did he mention a HUGE cancellation fee!! All he wanted was the sale! Frank continued to tell me there was nothing he could do… Isn't he an account specialist?! He then went on to belittle me, acting as if I didn't know what a “contract” was. Yes, I understand a contract... And in this case, it's very similar to a lease. If you sign a 12 months lease and break it midway through, you forfeit your security deposit or one month's rent…not normally the entirety of the balance of the lease.

I went on to ask for someone above Frank, who may be able to help me. Transferred to a supervisor, CJ. I talked to CJ, expressed the same thing I had told both Alex and Frank, for him to tell me, “I'm sorry, you're in a contract and the cancellation fee is $460. There is nothing I can do.” How is it that there is nobody who can do anything in this entire company?? I feel as if I were tricked into this contract and that the initial sales guy never properly enlightened me on what would happen if I were to move to a place that did not allow a DISH satellite (or any satellite for that fact).

The worst part about this is....I did ask in the event if we had to move, what would happen? DISH TV will lose more than $460 out of this issue… Not only will I NEVER use DISH TV again but, I will never recommend it to anyone!!! This was some of the worst customer service, with not even a tad of empathy or support from the DISH TV representatives/staff. If you think you're saving yourself money by switching to DISH… do yourself a favor and don't switch! Awful, Awful. Oh, and did I mention… on Super Bowl Sunday when I had 60 people at our house for a party, one of our boxes was failing to work and not getting a signal?! Talk about an inconvenience!!

Replies
Dish TV - Deceptive, Manipulating and Conniving
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MADISON, WISCONSIN -- Please read this review in its entirety. Knowledge is power. Dish TV. Very bad reception. Just a drop of rain would cause my TV to go out. Dish simply tells you there's nothing to be done because that's the nature of satellite TV - typical of any satellite services (funny because I've not had a bit of trouble with my new service...). I got tired of having unpredictable reception and paying for it, so I canceled my service in September. Whoa! If I thought I was having problems with Dish before, I sure was kidding myself!

They, of course, tried endlessly when I called, to convince me not to cancel even when it got to the point that I would interrupt their pitches by sternly saying, "Just cancel my account!" Well, to make a long story a bit shorter, I waited forever for them to send their return boxes for their equipment, which they sent one at a time, weeks apart. Got slapped with an overdue fee. Because of the early cancellation I knew I would have to pay $320.

I didn't mind because: 1) I was so ready to get rid of Dish and get something different and 2) My new service (Charter) would pay me for the buyout - no prob, right? No, no, no. Dish has screwing "defectors" all figured out. I waited and waited for that final bill of $320 to arrive so I could show Charter in order to get my refund.

Well... next thing I know Dish had, unbeknownst to me, helped themselves to $320 from my bank account. Granted, I signed the contract that said they could withdraw funds from my account for billing purposes. To me that meant if I wasn't paying my bills they would be entitled to collect the amount of the unpaid bill. I'm very diligent about paying my bills on time so I didn't worry about that. I was furious when I saw $320 had been taken out of my checking account with no knowledge or some kind of a heads-up, plus they did the same thing for $17.00.

I immediately called Dish and, of course, they couldn't understand why I was so upset. I demanded they send me a written invoice showing that the $320 was paid in full. Oh they were extremely polite and yes, yes they would be happy to do that. Well, I'm sure you've already guessed what happened - nothing was sent. Therefore I missed out of being paid for the buy-out from Charter. Dish is well aware of time limits other services have for reimbursements of buy-outs and they take full advantage of that.

Okay, remember I said I closed my account in September. The money was taken from my bank account December 4. Now, here we are in January, Dish TV a thing of the past, and lo and behold I get a voicemail telling me to call Dish regarding my account. I don't have an account! When I called, of course, I got the automated voice system. None of the selection numbers pertained to me. No choice of talking to an agent. I tried other numbers getting the same response. I dropped the issue because I hadn't received any written communication from Dish (except advertising) since September and I no longer had an account, anyway.

Well... yesterday, January 22, I received a call from a collection agency telling me I owe Dish TV $18.50!!! What??? I told the agent I don't even have an account with Dish, haven't received any bills since September and furthermore I never pay anybody who's asking for money over the phone. Yea! Yet another way to screw the ex-customer. Go Dish. Because calling is worthless, I've emailed Dish twice now so I guess I'll see what happens. It's like they stalk people. Are they going to nickel and dime me for the rest of my life? Not if I can help it... yeah... I'm saying it again, Dish is deceiving, manipulative and conniving. Buyer beware!

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Dish Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEBBERS FALLS, OKLAHOMA -- I had been with Dish in Grayslake in Illinois for over 17 years when I moved to Oklahoma. I called Dish and took a leave of absence from their service till I could buy a house here. Once I found a house I called Dish for new service. They first sent out a female contractor who set the dish on the eve of the home and found she could not get a signal. She had trees in the way. She told me and that four trees needed to be removed. I called a handyman and he came over and cut the trees but still no signal. After almost 12 hours she gave up and said she would have someone come back the following week.

The office then sent out a tech who got out of the truck and said there were too many trees, I would never have tried to hook up service for you. Let me walk around with my scanner and see if you have a better spot. He then told me he could get me a signal if I would allow a couple of post to be placed in my front yard. After I agreed he said "I will call Okie dig and get them out early next week to look at the yard before we can dig." I understood and agreed to wait. The next week I had a third tech come out who said that Okie dig had never been called but he had notified them and they would be next week and the office would have to send out someone again.

The next week **, a tech came and complained he was only given 15 minutes to do the job, and that the contractor had used the wrong line to install and it all needed to be replaced. He then called his office and started to work. After about two hours he came outside and said "Well bad news". I asked him what was wrong and he showed me in his haste he had pulled my TV off the TV stand and it had broken plus it put a hole in my wall. He was real upset and kept saying he hoped he would not get fired over it or at least written up.

I called his boss the next day and was assured they would pay for the set. After 7 months I did get a check for about half of it's cost. If I had to charge them for my phone time it would have been six times that much. All the time I had been waiting to be paid. I complained the Internet was slow and horrible. Dish finally sent out a tech, ** again. He told me he had been written up but he guess he deserved it. He then went outside to look at the system. After five minutes he came back inside and told me he had repaired the slow Internet. He said he had to cut a ground for the phone which was not used anyway but was too close to the Dish install.

A few months later their was a lightning storm a few miles away. I went to bed because my signal was gone. When I woke up the next morning all three TV's were dead. I called Dish and they said for $10 they would send out another tech. I asked them to send someone other than **. I wanted another set of eyes on this problem.

** came out that Saturday and after about two minutes found that ** had cut the wrong ground. He had cut the one for the Dish system. He told me he had it in his report and that Dish would have to replace the TV's. He took photos and checked everything including the TV's. He also installed new Hopper as well as the Joy boxes. I boxed up the old units when he was here and called Dish to request the labels to send back the old equipment. I was told to write Attention ** on the boxes.

The following week ** the lead technician came over to look at the boxes and look at the system. I told him that ** from Colorado Corporate was assigned to me as a claims adjuster. After a half hour or so ** said he had moved the direction of my Internet dish because it was pointed in the wrong direction. And that sometimes even if the Hopper systems are UL listed they give you problems and can not be grounded. He also told me that I had a reversed wire in the master bedroom which could account for the one TV blowing out.

After he left I called my electrician ** who has been licensed for over 40 years. He came over and checked the line. He told me he could not find a problem. I told him ** had showed me his tester and it said it was bad. He pulled out the tester he carried and it showed good. He then took the outlet out and examined it and put it back. Shook his hand and said they are trying to pull a flimflam on me. He did not charge me because he had checked the electric out for me before and installed a new 200 amp breaker box a few weeks earlier.

I made several calls over the next weeks to ** and to the local office. Just before the two month date of losing my TV's the manager, ** told me that he could offer me $450 for the sets. This is again close to half of the price I paid for the three new TV's all purchased in the last year. I told him you do know these were all three TV/DVD combo units. He said I know but you do not have to agree. Finally I told him "Fine send me my money and we are done". I am tired of fighting for this money which is due me. If it were reversed and I owed Dish you would have been paid the full amount quickly.

He then sent me a form to fill out that reads: "By your signature, you agree that you are completely satisfied with the resolution of this damage claim. You understand that Dish Network Services and affiliate consider this claim to be closed and will not accept further liabilities regarding this claim. You agree that the existence of this claim and it's terms and conditions are to be kept strictly confidential by all parties involved."

I refuse to sign this agreement because it is a hush order and there are several litigations that could happen if it were signed. He agreed to call corporate legal and ask to have the document changed to read from this day forward. Today 9/26/2014 we talked and he told me that the legal team refused to change the form at all. And that the ball was in my court. If I want paid I will have to sign it.

Well the form as I told him says signed on this date so in a couple of days I will sign it but not till I have let the world know what a horrible service I have received and the way they treat customers. I could not even get a call back from ** so I am writing this for all to see before I sign.

Replies
Lying Thieves!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- So first I called about their packages and the woman gave me prices and told me the package price for America's top whatever and said yes it comes with AMC, Disney and all that plus I would get internet added on and my monthly amount would be $32 a month. Then I called back to find out if it would be possible to get just the Internet and they said no it wasn't possible, but that the package was a great deal. So I asked the guy putting in my package if I would be getting all the channels I wanted like AMC, Disney, Nick and etc. He lied and said yes. So I went about the whole process, said yes to the 2 year contract like a fool.

Next thing I know the installer comes out and installs our DVR thing and I even asked him, "Ok so it's $30 a month, correct?" And he said, "Correct." Then after he installed the DVR thing I asked, "Okay so what about the internet?" And he said that was through a different company. He pretended to know the package we had and channels I was going to get saying, "Oh man you guys got a great package and you'll be able to record 4 shows while watching something on TV at that moment." Then he looked at our guide and said, "Well it will take 30 mins for you to be able to access the rest of the shows."

Ok so then I call this EarthLink internet company and they tell me I'm in a 1 year contract with them through Dish and it will be $90 to cancel, on top of that the $14.99 for the internet was only that price for 3 months and then it goes to $40 a month (even though the salesman happened to forget to mention that and the manager went back and listened to the recording and admitted he didn't tell me that nifty little detail). So then I'm already pissed off and I go looking through to try to watch my show on AMC to calm down some and it says unauthorized, please call this number.

I call the number and tell them what's going on and nothing but apologies. Ok well apologies isn't going to solve my problem. I check my account to see how much I have really been charged and they charged me $19.99 and $1.00 2x's. When I asked the woman about it after being transferred to the billing department she tells me, "Oh it will go away. It's not a real charge." And I told her there was a telephone number next to it and then she tells me, "Oh that's the charge from the retail company we used to send out a technician to your house."

So then I told her, "I want to talk to the highest person on the totem pole," and that woman told me, "Well what do you want from me??" I said to cancel the service and refund my money, her reply was, "Okay pay me $400 and we will gladly cancel the service!" POS company if you ask me. Do not go through this company.

Replies
Billing FRAUD
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORTING, WASHINGTON -- On 09/03/14 I called to order Dish cable and internet services. After receiving a flier in the mail saying that we could get internet service for $19 and some change per month, and the cable package that we wanted for $29 and some change per month. I was on the phone for approximately an hour and 45 minutes to get this process going. While on that call, I was told that the $19 internet service was not offered in my area, and it would be around $34 per month. I was also told that the cable package that we wanted would be $36 per month (later finding out from another person there that the additional $7 was for a DVR that I never once asked for!).

I was told by the guy that I talked to that he was charging us $174 and some change for setup costs and our first month of service. I agreed to this, and when I thought that I was finally done with the phone call he told me that he then had to transfer me to someone else to hook up the internet service. Once I was transferred I found out that the $174 and change that had been charged to my account did not include the setup and that the billing would also be separate for the internet service.

At this point after well over 2 hours on the phone I told them that I just wanted to cancel everything and have our card refunded. The guy I was talking to told me he could not do that and that I would have to hold, and then hung up on me. After calling back and talking to 2 more people I finally was told that she would refund the charges and cancel our setup. However, she told me we would only be refunded $124 and some change and that that was all we had been charged. I said "are you sure, because I was told it was $174" and she said "yes, it was only $124 and change."

Today, I went to the bank. On the bank statement, it shows charges as follows: 9/5/14 Dish Network-on 800 894 9131 Co (pending) $124.36, 9/5/14 Dish Network-on 800 894 9131 Co (pending) $1.00, 9/5/14 Dish Network-cr Englewood Co (pending) $1.00, 9/4/14 Check Crd Purchase 09/04 Infinity Dish 3 866-659-3474 Fl ** (processed) $49.95.

After seeing these I called to speak with a supervisor. The first call that I made was transferred to a supervisor. He told me that he did not see a charge for $49.95 but only a charge of $124.36, and that was what was going to be refunded. I explained to him everything on the statement above and he told me he would have to put me on hold, and he hung up on me.

I called again. The guy that answered the phone, not a supervisor, told me that in order for this to be researched that I have to fax my bank statement in to be reviewed. He said he also did not see this charge. I have had ENOUGH of sitting on the phone for hours on end and being hung up on. It is not my responsibility to go find a fax machine to send a company a bank statement that I absolutely do not trust them with after the fact that there is a charge that absolutely no one I have talked to with DISH can see. This is absolutely ridiculous!

Replies
DISH Network Is Evil
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EUGENE, OREGON -- Since signing up with DISH Network we have had a slew of issues. They have improperly billed us left and right and it takes hours on the phone to have them correct it. The service itself performs poorly and often is very spotty. The internet will stop working for days at a time.

When we moved we were assured we would have our services transferred promptly and according to our wishes. The satellite installation tech arrived promptly but blatantly ignored my requests that he do NOT install the satellite directly onto our house and in doing so, caused damage to the new expensive vinyl side paneling. We have only just purchased this home and now it already has damages as a result of their negligence. Worse still, it voided the warranty on our entire house for the vinyl siding.

I requested the service tech install on the wood portions of the house in the back and out of sheer laziness, it was slapped on the front instead. We have since issued several complaints on the issue and requested DISH be liable for the repairs. Our complaints have gone completely ignored.

It had been 38 days since we moved and DISH network had failed to install our internet services, but has still been charging us for them. They insisted it can take up to ten business days to install (which has been far exceeded) and that they still charge for services during that time. I called and was on the phone for almost three hours trying to settle the matter.

I was transferred repeatedly and forced to explain my issue seven times. Near the end of the call DISH finally assured me that we would be receiving internet service the very next day. Not only did this not happen, but they failed to even do us the courtesy of a phone call to let us know they would not be coming, wasting one of my days off.

I promptly contacted them after that and was again assured they would be out very shortly. Another week passed with no word. I called with my final phone call insisting that they either have a service tech out to install our internet by the following day or we would be contacting the BBB and demanding a termination of our contract. They blew us off again.

DISH network had not been providing the services for which they were charging us and refused to allow us to break our contract agreement and seek services elsewhere. After a huge number of complaints we had been completely ignored, treated with disregard and made victim by DISH Network.

I contacted the BBB and after that DISH contacted me to cancel my contract. I was assured that the early termination fee would be waived. I later received an email that our return of equipment kit is on its way in the mail. Meanwhile, checking my online banking, found that a month later they have charged us our monthly bill again. When I called to get it reversed first they said they have no record of the payment, and then said it's an early termination fee. BULL. This is the very worst company I have ever dealt with!

Replies
Advertisement
DISH Horrible to Long-Time Customer!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PASO ROBLES, CALIFORNIA -- We had been dishNET customers for 10 years!! We paid $160 a month!! We only got basic HDTV, Starz and Encore, and Showtime. NO HBO, Cinemax or Movie Channel. HD sucked, and Free On Demand is the WORST!! DirecTV on Demand is much better and U-verse and Cable On Demand blow it out of the water.

We own a vacation home on a lake less than 1/2 hour from our home and an RV. We were told it was OK and for years would take our DVR's on vacation with us. We weren't particularly happy with dishNET, but we weren't unhappy. We did think they were getting VERY expensive and we need internet and they have no internet and the internet they do offer through a third party SUCKS and is WAY expensive even with their BIG-whoop bundle discount of $10 bucks, which btw they didn't give my friend, who is the reason I know it sucks!

DirecTV offers a great package with 15 mpbs internet HughesNet Gen4, cheaper and better than DISH, but U-verse and Cable offer even better bundles for cheaper prices. I only know all this because after 10 years of loyal service, dishNET CUT off two of my receivers because I used them once in a blue moon at my lake house and RV. They insisted on coming out and doing some update. I think now it was only because two of the receivers were not plugged into phone lines, which they almost always are. We had left them at the lake, we only used then in the gazebo and garage, so they were extras we would take on our trips.

We told the tech they were at our vacation home and explained everything. He said that was no problem, and to just call them in when I got them. And I brought them down a couple of weeks later, they didn't work. I called DISH to get them turned back on. They were back at the house and I was told they couldn't turn them back on, they would have to set up an account. I told them I didn't want to do that, they told me it would be alright for us to take them on vacation and since we only do it maybe 20 days out of the year, we didn't want service up there and that we used them down here at the house, but I didn't want to pay additional service at the same home.

They refused to work with me and refused to turn them back on, so I said "thanks for treating your long-time loyal customers so badly and say goodbye to my $160 a month..." I got a great package from Charter Cable: internet, HD TV with HD recording for 4 TVs, HBO, Showtime, Cinemax and the Movie Channel and phone, for an overall savings of $40 bucks a month!! So I'm very pleased!! They don't have U-verse in my area or I may have gone with them, but I'm very pleased with Charter!!

Replies
Hopper Issues; Freezing and 250 + Recordings and Conflicts
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- I was a customer for 10+ years and was totally happy until I got the Hopper in July of 2013. We had issues of freezing and then it got worst and worst. January 2014 we started to have freezing issues and had (3) Hoppers and replaced Joey's, most of the time we could not watch any of our (4) TVs because they would all freeze. Finally in February 2014 it appeared that the senior tech got everything resolved and we could watch TV with little issues. However, on March 7th the nightmare became, we had numerous recordings with conflicts and we called DISH.

The techs said nothing was wrong and they could help us delete the recordings… One day we had 250+ recordings and conflicts, every recording was doubled and all the representatives said they were not aware of the problem. On March 9th a tech came out and stated that we were programmed the same as another home and he resolved the issues. Meanwhile I called numerous phone numbers in Colorado to the corporate office to try to speak to the President; finally I spoke with this person in the resolution department. He asked me to call him back once the problem was fixed.

On Tuesday, March 11th we started with the same issues… Numerous recording, conflicts and freezing of different channels on the 4 TVs. I called him back on the 11th and he stated he would speak with the tech department. I spoke with him on the 12th and the 13th, he again stated that he hadn't heard back from the tech department but would call them again. On the morning of the 13th, my husband spoke with a tech, who said maybe we need another Hopper to fix the issues.

On the 13th after we were not able to watch TV without deleting and resolving the recordings, conflicts and the freezing… I told my husband I could not take it any longer, I called and spoke with Alex. 1) He told the TRUTH, that my issues were known by the company and that they were working on the issue. 2) The person from the resolution dept did not document that I called him on 12th or the 13th and he stated in the notes that he told me of the ongoing issues with the system. THIS WAS NOT TRUE.

After numerous phone calls to Dish, the only one person that told me the TRUTH was Alex and he told me he would let me out of my contract if I wanted. The TRUTH should have been told to us in January, not (3) months later. I am very disappointed with your company for not telling us the TRUTH…The stress that this has put on our family for the last (3) months is horrible. I cannot even express how frustrating this has been for our family. I should have been told the TRUTH back in 2013; I have been paying every month except for a 2 month credit from that was given from the freezing issue.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Dish Network Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 516 ratings and
1320 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Dish Network
9601 S. Meridian Blvd.
Englewood, CO 80112
1-888-624-3474 (ph)
1-720-514-5140 (fax)
www.dish.com
pedersenjason@echostar.com
Compare Cable/Satellite Services