Preview Review

Next Review

General Electric Company Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Washer fails to perform
By -

I bought the G. E. toploader infusor model washer in Sept 09. It was marketed as an energy saver. After four months of watching my clothes go through cycles of wash, rinse, spin and come out twisted, wrinkled, covered with lint and detergent residue and looking worse after washing than before, my energy is depleted. After acquiring skin rashes from detergent and probably soil retention, I'm out of patience.

I was skeptical from the start when I saw the amount of water versus the size of the load that supposedly could be accommodated by this machine, but I continued to try all the manufactures “remedies” for “problems”. I tried different combinations of water level, soil level, etc. Nothing made any difference. On January 24, 2010, I called GE to ask for a refund or different machine. I had explained that there was nothing malfunctioning in the controls, but the machine was not accomplishing what it purported to do, i.e., CLEAN CLOTHES. I was told a repairman would have to determine manufacturer's defect and then issue an authorization.

The repairman who came the following day, wasn't interested in the fact that the machine doesn't do what it's supposed to do. He disinterestedly explained that as the repairman, as far as he could see, everything was working properly. He took the load of clothes I saved to illustrate my problems with the machine and “arranged” them around the drum, explaining as he went, the process, as if I hadn't been doing exactly that for four months.. He was just running a demo, ignoring the crux of the matter. He opened the lid now and then pointing to an item of clothing that was floating around the surface of the water., to illustrate that the machine was indeed “cleaning”.

I disagreed and said so. The water barely covered the clothes. Again, he wasn't interested in the fact that no matter that the mechanics responded to commands, there were no good results coming from the actions. He did not wait for the load to finish. It took too much time. He simply advanced the program and declared his work finished.. He told me my complaints needed to go to customer service, not him. He wasn't interested in seeing the results of his “experiment”. The clothes were still wrinkled and covered with residue and lint, when I took them out.

The repairman also said the “large” and “super” water level designations gave about the same amount of water, so it didn't matter which you used. What??? Same thing for the fabric softener, either choice gives the same amt. So in other words, the “extras” on the dial are deceptive, giving the impression that there is an added advantage to this machine. Their true function, it seems, is to provide the repairman with something to point to as a remedy when you give him any particular complaint. One should not have to override or duplicate functions on a new machine, or extra rinse to get the basic results which the machine claims to get… clean clothes.

When I told the repairman there were many complaints similar to mine online, some even worse with destroyed flooring from overfilling machines, he insisted shaking his head no, that he hasn't heard of these things, indicating that I was wrong or lying. It was like talking to a robot. He was totally scripted from which he did not depart and his attitude was galling.

Finally when I insisted that he must, as a company representative, show at least some concern that there are inherent problems with the performance of this machine, he told me this machine does not have a deep rinse, but just a spray rinse. That was his defense. He had no concern for the very real situation, that I was stuck with a farce of a machine that does not produce. His standard response was to refer me to customer service, which did nothing but use his evaluation (no malfunction) as their rationale for refusing a refund or replacement.. So much for results.

But it wasn't lost on me that in spite of his dismissive attitude, he was well aware of every problem I presented.. He had heard it before.. For every problem I had, he pointed out an option. Residue? Use HE liquid. I never used anything but HE liquid. So that was no cure.. Skin rash from residue? Use second rinse.. No, I shouldn't have to use a second rinse to offset a brand new, inefficient product. In the end, he claimed that he was being abused. If not so egregiously insulting, it would have been hilarious. Surely, a customer stuck with a ‘lemon” of a machine because the manufacturer refuses to acknowledge its defects, has a far more legitimate claim to abuse.

I regret that I bought into the “energy saver” farce. I guess it all depends on what “energy” is. This washer uses more energy with all the extra steps, rinses, washes, etc. necessary just to get it to do what the agitator with a couple of dials did routinely. Then there is the “energy” used in the “aftercare” of the finished wash to remove lint, residue, etc from the clothes, and try to reduce the twisting and wrinkling.

This interaction with G. E. has been infuriating. I would never again do business with or buy a product of any kind from G. E. A company that feels no ethical responsibility towards its customers, reflected in the dismissive attitude on the part of the G. E. repairman deserves to fail.

Replies
Advertisement
New GE 40gal water heater bad/GE customer service HORRIBLE!
By -

Friday (10/30/2009) we woke up to no hot water. Our current water heater had gone the trip. No big deal - we've replaced a water heater before. So, we went out to Home Depot and picked up a new one to replace the old one. It was a GE 40gal with a 6-year warranty. Brought it home, installed it (we've done this a few other times throughout the years); filled it, and heated a tank of water. Turned on the hot water faucets to get the air out of the lines and get the water running again, and the water ran brown. Assumed that with the change, had to run the water out (flush the pipes). No big deal.

We ran the full 40 gallons of hot water out and the water was STILL running brown. Getting concerned. Kept the hot water faucets open for the next hour to try to clear the water. No success. Called my relatives who are/have been plumbers and told them what was going on. They immediately said it sounded like a bad liner. All this time, the cold water is running clear.

Called Home Depot told them of the issue (it's now the evening of 10/30/09) and were told to bring the water heater back in the morning. Saturday 10/31/2009, 7:00am, disconnected, drained (saving a bottle of the water so we could show them what was happening), and hauled the water heater back to HD. Started talking to the service desk and the department associate that we had spoken to the evening before. After reiterating the situation, a couple more HD employees become involved in the conversation.

We are then informed that we need to contact GE directly ourselves, because it is a warranty issue and HD needs a return authorization number directly from GE to complete the exchange. We got a bit upset because all we wanted to do was exchange the darn thing for a different one.

Home Depot is required to get a return authorization directly from GE so they can be reimbursed for the return otherwise they get stuck. Okay, we really don't want to stick anyone with the return, including ourselves because it is obviously a faulty product. HD called GE for us so we could do it all there. Great! No big deal, right! Enter GE "customer service" and the worst customer service experience we have ever had in our lives!

After Home Depot got the GE representative on the phone for us, we explained the simple situation and that we simply wanted to exchange for one that wasn't broken as this one obviously was. Once the details had once again been reiterated, we were informed by the GE representative that there was no way that it could be the water heater. It had to be our water. We explained that we were on city water and that we had never experienced anything like this before, including the night before prior to the old water heater going out and that the new water heater that we had installed was the ONLY point of variance in the entire situation - it had to be the water heater.

We argued our point, to no avail, for 10 minutes ourselves over the Home Depot phone lines and then the GE representative said that if it is a warranty issue, then it is between us and Home Depot. With that comment from the GE rep, the HD service desk associate got back on the line with them and asked for an authorization number because it did look like a faulty issue and should be warranty. The argument started again with the GE representative and the HD service desk associate, with the GE representative saying it was our water and that they would need to send one of their water tester "specialists" to our house to verify the issue.

With this idiotic development, the HD gal put the HD store manager on the phone and he resumed the argument. In the meantime, the Rainsoft independent contractor walks in to HD and is updated on the situation. He pulls out his water testing equipment and verifies that through his experience and years of working in the area along with the results of the water that came directly from the water heater, that it was definitely NOT normal and that there was way that it was our water if we are on city water.

So, HE got on the phone with the GE representative and was also told by the GE representative that GE would need to send people out to test our water. The Rainsoft rep, after another 15 minute argument by the GE rep, told the GE representative that he already had tested the water, and this is what he does for a living. He gave the GE representative the results and told him the results were conclusive. After all of this, and the GE representative couldn't argue anything further, he finally, hesitantly authorized the exchange.

All in all, it took a total of 4 Home Depot employees, one independent contractor of Rainsoft products, and our own full history and detailed experiences and an hour and 20 minutes to get a GE "customer service" representative to EXCHANGE their faulty $354.00 water heater! The unfortunate part is that we had no choice but to go with another GE water heater! Our compliments go out to Home Depot for their employees going to bat for us. If they hadn't, we would have simply been stuck.

As for GE, it is very safe to say that if we EVER need another appliance (extremely likely), GE will NEVER be one of the brands we consider! It's sad that GE believes it to be acceptable business practice to train "customer service" representatives to argue until the customer gives up, all for the sake of a dollar. It's ethically disappointing.

Replies
Deserted in the Desert
By -

Deserted in the desert. I have enjoyed a wonderful relationship with Chevron for over 27 years and from time to time have used their stations exclusively. I have enjoyed an ever escalating credit increase from them and have never come close to using my credit limit. I have mostly paid the balance in full each month. Sometimes I paid over a few months if I had financed a road trip on the card.

My account has been current and clean for every one of the 27+ years, using the card only once every three months for my scheduled service and a detailed cleaning of my car. I confirmed my high open to buy limit online and decided to finance the gas on my upcoming road trip with Chevron.

I decided upon a nice road trip vacation last fall that would take three weeks to cover all of the Southwestern states from Texas to California. I used my Chevron card to service the car and get it road worthy. I made it all the way to the mid Arizona desert before I needed to fill up for the third time.

In the past, Chevron would lock my card from use for security reasons because of being used more than three times in one day. When the pump refused to accept my card, I assumed that, once again, I locked out my account by not giving Chevron the heads up that I was on a road trip. I was very familiar with this security process after using their card for over 20 years.

I went into the station to have the clerk run the card and again, it was declined. I asked to use the phone so that I could call Chevron and unlock the card. Normally after a few questions, they would agree that the card was not stolen and release the card for me to continue using on my trip. This was not the case this time. The associate on the other end of the phone advised me that I had reached my limit and in fact was over my limit by $29.00. I was advised that I could no longer use my card until the limit was paid down.

This was more of a shock than anything that I could have taken at that time. I was stuck in the desert with no gas in my tank, at a small road side gas pump with no credit on my Chevron card. I was not in a town or settlement. I was in the desert, pure deserted desert.

OK, I have money to take along on this trip but the gas budget was on the Chevron card. Using my debit card everyday for $50.00 towards gas was not within the plan. I was on a three week road trip and this was only the second day!

I got Chevron on the phone to find that it was not Chevron at all, but GE Moneybank to my shock. I know that GEMB finances private labels (even for my company) but I actually never read the fine print to realize that GEMB financed my Chevron account. Nevertheless, the reason for my credit limit being reached was that the company reduced limits "across the board" and that it was nothing personal towards me. This was more than I could take. It was over 100 degrees outside, I was sweating bullets, I had no patience with hearing that "There is nothing we can do about it"€.

I asked many questions like: "€˜When was I going to find out about the credit decrease?" She said that they mailed a letter. "When was it mailed?"€™ Friday, the day I left on the trip. Remember, I checked my balance online on Friday morning.

Needless to say, the conversation ended with no favorable resolution for me. The supervisor actually said "I don'€™t know what you want me to say."€ I want you to reinstate my credit limit so I can get back home! That's what I want you to say! Nope. The rest of the vacation was on debit. At least I know that it is all paid for.

I got home three weeks later to find three notices in my mail. One stated that my Chevron credit limit was being decreased by 75% ($1500.00). One said that one Wal-Mart card was being decreased by a couple of hundred dollars and the third was an increase in the credit limit on my second Wal-Mart card. Yep, they gave me a second Wal-Mart card instead of increasing the limit on the first card several months back. What an idiotic thing to do.

Well, I am paying off what few GEMB accounts that I have and boycotting the companies who use them. Even my loyal friend Chevron, who gave me a gas card over 27 years ago, has lost my patronage. The garage that took Chevron for all those years of scheduled services no longer accepts Chevron. Good for them. I like Chevron. I would go back to Chevron if they would drop GEMB.

I mentioned above that my company even offers financing through GEMB. I do not promote it and I encourage anyone who applies for credit anywhere to know who they are getting financing through. When you apply, or receive, a store's private label credit card, it could be GEMB and the worst financial experience of your life.

Look at the interest rates. Reminds me of the Gangster movies of the 30'€™s when the gangsters offered 20% credit rates and broke your legs if you did not pay on time. Nowadays, GEMB and any other credit facility have a license to break your legs. But then again DOES IT REALLY MATTER!

Replies
Customer Service (Or Lack Thereof)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UNKNOWN -- 4/21/13: Got declined at a vending machine to buy a $1.50 soda. Had $2000 of credit limit available to purchase. 4/22/13: Spent 1 hour and 32 minutes on telephone trying to speak to a credit card representative at GE/Paypal Extras MasterCard regarding issue. 1:45pm - Called "customer service" number on the back of my card, got stuck in endless IVR loop with no ability to opt out to a customer service live person.

1:55pm - Called "customer service" number on Paypal site along with an assigned 6-digit randomly generated code issued on website to use for better/faster routing of my call. Once again got stuck in endless loop with no ability to opt out to a customer service live person.

2:05pm - Called PayPal'™s main number after a third venture through an automated system, finally was able to get to a live person. They looked up my account and said "they could only help me with my PayPal account, not my PayPal MasterCard. They nicely (or as I thought) transferred me to the "correct department".

2:15pm - Transferred to 2nd person. Not sure whom I got transferred to but they immediately said I was in the wrong place and transferred me to the "correct department" (or so I thought". 2:20pm - Transferred to 3rd person ("**"). ** looked up my credit card number twice only to tell me, guess what, I'm in the wrong department. I am now in the "Prepaid MasterCard" department for Paypal. She further tells me that "she cannot help me", that I should "hang up, call back and start from the beginning" as I called the wrong number.

I informed her that I didn't call the "wrong number" but was in fact transferred by another Paypal employee, she restated that "she cannot help me, that I should hang up and call back"??? After a multitude of going back and forth, I of course asked for a supervisor only to be told that "there isn't a supervisor". I said okay a manager then, she said "there is no manager"???

I then tried another approach and asked "who do you report to", she replied "nobody". I challenged that and her final response was "I report to the company". I repeated that back to her to be clear I heard correctly and said "you don't have a supervisor or a manager and only report to the company?". She said that is correct and reminded me that "she cannot help me". I then asked to be transferred to any person in a management position and she replied "they cannot help you"??? Astounded I said okay let me hear them tell me that. (of course they wouldn't tell me that right?...let's see).

2:47pm - Transferred to 4th person (**). A female who when asked identified herself as a manager. At this point to be safe I asked her for her name and ID number before proceeding to have to explain my customer service issue and the path I went to get to her. I also requested the ID number of the previous employee (**) who was terribly rude, short and inconsiderate. She tells me "I doesn't know, you should have asked her that before she transferred you to me"...HUH?

I asked "Aren't you her supervisor or manager?" She said "No". I asked "Are you a member of management?" She said "Yes, I am a Manager." I'm thinking great, I'm going to be helped finally, I've reached someone in management and they'll make sure I'm taking care of. Wrong. ** now begins to tell me that she "cannot help me". Also said that I should hang up and call another number to try again"? Huh? This is a manager?

I ask if she can directly transfer me to the "correct person"...reply is "No". I ask if she can directly help me...reply is "No". I ask if she thinks it's okay to treat a customer like this, especially after what the customer has clearly been through with 3 other agents? She said "well you're calling the wrong department"...seriously didn't she listen to any of my story about how I got to her? Now for the height of the call...The "MANAGER" - ** - ** apparently decided she had enough of me (the customer asking for help) and just hung up on me, disconnected the call.

Wow! After the long career in customer service if I were monitoring these calls on the phone system for quality assurance or training purposes this call would serve me several purposes: The ability to protect my customers from poor customer service from some obviously uncaring customer service employee and manager. The need to walk down the hall to Human Resources to initiate an immediate termination of these employees and removal from the call center floor. A great training for new employees and retraining of existing employees on how never to ever handle a customer.

Still unsure as to how to resolve my credit card issue. After I take some blood pressure medication, go for a long walk and ask God for forgiveness for my thoughts I might try back in a week or two. Until then, what was my "Primary Card" is now removed from my wallet and placed in a desk drawer at home for some future consideration. The card was a fine card, the associated customer service or lack thereof if ever needed is the determining factor for the discontinued use of this card, inability to recommend GE or Paypal and need to find assistance in resolving my issues.

Company Response 04/23/2013:

**To expedite a response, please provide Reference code DM 042313_m3c_rockysacco**

I'm sorry you have experienced issues with your GE Capital Retail Bank account. We would like to try and resolve your concerns. Please email me at gecapitalcares@ge.com with your name and phone number. A member of our consumer advocacy team will call you to assist.

For your security, please do not include your account number in your email.

Regards,
Nicole
GE Capital

Replies
Advertisement
GE faulty product quality, warranty service, lack of customer service
By -

Please note: Everything in this post is in regards to GE Canada, and the Canadian market. This is also a very brief summary of 10 pages of documents in my dispute with GE, and GE's authorized service contractors. April 1, 2007 purchased from Home Depot 3 Maytag appliances, (refrigerator, range and dishwasher) for delivery April 5, 2007. We donated our old appliances to Salvation Army and arranged for pickup on April 4, 2007. On evening of April 4, heard from Home Depot that Maytag had computer problems and the products could not be delivered until late the next week.

This was not satisfactory so Home Depot offered us comparable products from their in store inventory. Home Depot substituted the following GE products, side by side refrigerator (model GSS25XGPABB), free standing glass cooktop range (JCPB83HK2BB) and a dishwasher (GHD6310L15BB).

3 years, 6 months, and 17 days the problems started. Refrigerator started freezing produce, milk and other items, lowered cooling setting to lowest level and there wasn't any change. Checked our owner's manual and warranty to see if the repair was covered by GE (sealed system was covered for 5 years). Called Camco (GE Canada's service department) to get a clear explanation of what this meant. Informed the service tech would have to diagnosis the problem and he would determine if was cover by warranty.

November 3 - Direct Energy Tech (Camco authorized GE service) determined the main control board was defective, and was not covered by warranty - cost $374.62. He also advised me he put in a revised Main Control Module. He stated he used to carry 12 of the original boards in his truck at all times, but the new board was better and he only carried 6 currently.

November 7, our glass cooktop exploded for no apparent reason, (sent glass slivers up to 15 feet and shards of glass 4 feet. This is an extremely hazardous product and GE is aware of the problem, but instead it is the consumer's fault. Something must have fallen on the glass top and damaged it, or some other lame reason. November 10 - Refrigerator freezing produce and other products again, purchased refrigerator thermometer and the temperature was 22 degrees F (-5 degrees C). Call for service tech, unavailable until Nov 16.

November 15 - Received phone message from Home Depot store manager and GE customer care. I returned their calls but have been unable to contact either one to date. GE customer care on their message, stated she was sorry about our problems and the products were out of warranty, but she wanted to have a service tech look at the range to determine the if the range had something drop on it or if it was a thermal issue.

She advise us to have a authorized GE service tech look at it and file a report with her. We should initiate this. No discussion on who is paying for this. I called GE customer care person to clarify issues about charges and other things, as of yet she has not returned my call.

November 16 - GE authorized service replace the main control module in the refrigerator again, stating that he installed the wrong board. Checking other sites for this board to compare prices, I found the board he was installing and the one removed were no longer available in Canada. I showed him the exploded range, and told him GE Customer Care wanted a GE Tech to look at it and determine the cause of the problem and write a report. His response "Why did she say that, we can not determine the cause of the failure or what happened."

November 17 - Call GE Customer Care and left a message for the contact I have with them to call me to review where we are at regarding our issues. Went to Home Depot and spoke to store manager about problems and his response was "I will email the contact again and advise her you are heard and want to talk to her." No responses while I was there, so he sent her another email to let her know I was leaving and would be home in twenty minutes, to please contact me.

November 18 - No contact from GE. Just check produce drawer and again the produce is frozen. Call GE service again, and service manager advise me he would contact GE to see where we go from here.

Replies
Unacceptable Customer Service
By -

I had an appointment scheduled for both a GE washer and Dryer for Tuesday June 8. The technician did arrive within the scheduled appointment time. First, before even inspecting the units, the technician explained to me how GE management mistreated him and failed to trust him so he had to be extra careful to cover himself in case he was challenged on whether or not he actually made the service call. After a cursory inspection of both of the units, he proceeded to tell me that the dryer was cheap and that I should expect the noise it made. I found this response unacceptable and required to tech to keep looking.

He then determined that the drum unit needed to be replaced – I am not sure if he made this diagnosis to shut me up or if he is correct because he did not have the dryer apart and simply made this call based on placing his hand flat against the rear of the dryer. Your tech then told me that he did not have the parts on his truck for either the washer or dryer and would have to order them. When I pressed for more information he told me I was not in his area anyway and he was covering for someone else so it really was someone else's problem.

I immediately called the customer relations department and talked to a very knowledgeable and caring individual who was able to calm me down. She told me that she could see in the system that the tech had ordered the parts and had rescheduled the appointment – unfortunately he had scheduled the repairs for 2 separate days and no one had bothered to ask me if either day was convenient – they also have both repairs scheduled for a full day so I am unable to plan anything for either day and must plan on being off work to accommodate GE.

Today, June 14th, I received an unexpected delivery from Fedex – it turns out to be the drum unit for the dryer. Since I had not been told that this would come to my house I was concerned that the service group would not keep their appointment as they would be looking for the parts. I again called customer relations and talked to an individual who made me believe that I was an inconvenience and wasting her time by calling in. She told me that parts were normally delivered to customers homes and did not understand my concerns.

I then asked her to try to get both appointments scheduled for the same day and was informed that this had already happened – the appointments had been changed and no one bothered to notify me! The customer service representative claimed that GE had no way to contact me. I find this response also unacceptable.

The service team has failed in almost every aspect of their job – from presenting GE in a good light, showing support for the products GE sells, and failing to ensure that the customer is satisfied. At this point, I believe that I should become anti-GE and make every effort to tell friends, relatives, and casual acquaintances about my bad experiences and make every effort to convince them to purchase different brands when they have a choice.

Replies
GE Money & Loews Credit Collection Harassment
By -

NORTH WILKESBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- GE MONEY & LOEWS FINANCIAL have been harassing me for the past several weeks attempting to collect a debt for an account holder with the same first and last name as mine, but is not me, nor my debt. First of all, I have never applied for a LOEWS credit card, nor have I ever owned one. I am not even a home owner, so not much home improvement going on at my place by me. I originally received a letter attempting to collect a debt in the amount of $935.00. I was surprised to receive the letter knowing I had never owned or applied for services through GE, or LOEWS.

That day I ran my credit (and paid the credit site fees out of pocket) to see if someone had stolen my identity and was attempting to use my information to obtain services and credit. I was pleased to find that nothing was reporting to my credit from LOEWS or GE MONEY. I then called GE MONEY & LOEWS FINANCIAL at the number posted on the letter. I informed them that I didn't think they had the correct individual, and they asked to confirm my social security number. I gave them the last 4 digits, which DID NOT match the SS# they had in their collection records.

I then asked to confirm the additional information on the account to see if they had my phone number, or address. According to the rep, they additional information did not match mine either. She stated that it appeared to be a mix up, and that they most likely found my information through "skip tracing" and that she would remove my info and note on the account what she had found. I then wrote what she had advised me to on the letter and returned it as instructed. She stated I SHOULDN'T be getting any more mail or communication regarding the matter. I felt like matters had been addressed accordingly and gave it no more thought, until...

I received yet another letter, and another, and another in the same week. All four letters came after our conversation, so I assumed they were already in the mail, called GE MONEY to tell them that I was still getting mail and send the additional letters back as I did the first time exactly as they instructed me to. Again, the representative told me I shouldn't be getting any more letters, and that she had COMPLETELY removed my info from their system (which apparently didn't match what they had on record, that they magically denied having every time I called about the letters).

So, the next week I was happy to see that no more letters came from GE MONEY or LOEWS FINANCIAL. However, at this time they started in with the harassing phone calls. So, I had finally gotten the letter issue handled and they started calling me instead. The issue I have here is that I gave them my phone information so they wouldn't call me, and then I started getting calls, so it was easy to assume that they had started using the information I gave them to continue to harass me for a debt that isn't even owed by me, or anyone I know.

I nicely requested each time they called me that they review their notes on the account and that they kindly see that I stop getting these types of calls, and that it was getting pretty old after having received an average of 4 calls a day to my cell phone over the course of the week. Each time I got a new representative who called me, I told them the same thing, and was as polite as I could be (not my typical reaction to these mistakes, but I was trying to be nice).

Each time I was assured that my information was out of their system, and that they have no record of me in it, and that I wouldn't be receiving any more calls to my cell phone. At that time, I was under the impression that things were handled and that I wouldn't be getting any more calls. Not so lucky...

The next week, and weekend. I was again surprised (getting harder though since now nothing would surprise me from these people) to get another call, this time it was on my home phone, which I don't even give out or use for any reason. The other funny thing, is that my phone bill for my house isn't even in my name, it's in my roommates name. I was literally steaming as I was trying to spend Valentine's Day with my sweetheart and during our movie, the damn COMCAST caller id kept popping up saying it's GE MONEY calling. Arggg.

At this point I had had enough from these people, and felt like it was not borderline harassment anymore, but was now full-fledged harassment. I immediately phoned the number that was calling. I asked to speak with a supervisor, got a new person, asked to speak with their supervisor. When I finally got to the person who told me they were as high as I could go, I explained what was happening (basically everything I wrote above) and that I was not happy at this point about the way this matter was being dealt with.

I then told the representative that if I got even ONE MORE call, period, that I was going to write reviews and pursue the harassment by any means necessary including via my State's Attorney General (Rob McKenna), the Better Business Bureau (BBB), the FTC and Online through review sites, blogs, forums, Twitter, Youtube, etc. and any other way I could find. She nicely listened to my rant and assured me that AGAIN, FOR THE TENTH TIME, that I WOULDN'T receive any more calls, either on my cell or at home. And that after 30 minutes I FOR SURE wouldn't be getting any more calls to any of my numbers.

She also attempted to transfer me to the Fraud Dept. so that I could have them investigate the matter from their end. I am not sure why she suggested that, but figured anyone I could get to remove my information on their end would be better than taking their word for it. So, during the transfer I got cut off, had to phone back and wait forever to get back where I was. Finally got through and turns out the Fraud Dept isn't even open on weekends. I decided to give them one more chance at this point and went on with my Valentine's Day. Did not get any more calls thank heavens.

First thing on Monday, I phoned the Fraud Dept. to follow up with what the representative and I had spoken about on Sunday. I got on with a very nice gal at the Fraud Dept. that was nice and seemed very helpful. She informed me that it wasn't Fraud, that it was a mix up because that they skip trace for information that may or may not match information they have on record for their accounts. She kept using the word skip trace. To me this whole scenario seemed weird. And had never had anything like that happen before in my 28 years.

She also assured me that my info would be cleared on her end, and that I shouldn't be getting any more calls, unless they run another skip trace and end up with my information again. I told her that wasn't acceptable, and if they were going to use random information like that, that they needed to have a way of removing information that was deemed to be invalid for their actual account holder, that way, people like me wouldn't be getting harassed like I had been. She said she couldn't do anything and that she had removed my information and that I need not worry about calls.

Less than 30 minutes later, on Monday I got another call from GE MONEY and LOEWS FINANCIAL on my cell phone. "Are you kidding me?" I asked. Needless to say, I was not nice to the last person, I told them that this call was the straw that broke it for me, and that I was going to follow through with my promise to report them, review them, and plaster my story all over the Internet. So, that's what I'm doing. I usually don't even write reviews online, nor do I have time to do such things. I just really feel like this is all wrong and that if I don't speak up it might continue to happen to me, and others out there.

If you find yourself in a similar situation with GE MONEY and LOEWS FINANCIAL don't wait as long as I did to start speaking up. Seriously, I tried to be nice and it doesn't cut it with these collection people. If I were you, and had it to do over again, I would have reported it to my State's Attorney General, BBB, FTC and all over the Internet from the beginning. Take my work for it, the squeaky wheel tends to get the grease.

Replies
GE-THOMSON 52" TV FIRE HAZARD SHOULD BE RECALLED
By -

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- On Nov 5 2004 I purchased a GE 52" TV Model D52GW12 ORDER# ** amount paid $1190.74. In early Nov 2009 I started to notice that the screen went blank, I thought that it was the DVR, but on the evening of Nov 10 2009, in addition to the screen going blank, I heard a zapping sound and smelled a something burning coming from the rear of the TV. No other electrical disturbance was noticed at this time, the weather was normal, the TV was plugged into a surge protector. I immediately unplugged the TV fearing possible fire. Luckily there was no damage to my house.

Upon doing some research on the web I found out that this situation is prevalent in this model TV. Many people have experienced that exact same thing. Clearly this would indicate that there is an inherent defect built into this model TV that can be a potential safety hazard and reduces the life of the TV. On Nov 12 I called GE service 1-800-447-1700 and spoke to Jed. I explained the situation and asked that GE be responsible for the cost of repair or replace the set due to unsafe nature of the TV, he declined my request. I asked for a supervisor. She was unavailable, but I was told that she would call me back later.

She called back the wrong number and I did receive a call at 5:56 PM. She left a voicemail message, from a Sarah ** who told me that GE would honor the "regular warranty", covering the TV for one year after purchase. and that I was responsible for any repairs which were estimated at $600. Basically I'd pay for their mistake. I sent 2 emails to GE corporate: directors@corporate.ge.com and Peter O'Toole Director of Public Relations peter. otoole@ge.com - asking for them to re-evaluate their position. I have not had any reply.

I did receive a call from Mr. Ben ** After Sales Manager, **. He told me that €œthis "thing happens to ALL rear projection TV'€™s." He also said that "€œthis is exactly what it was supposed to do in failure mode." I called him back to have him explain EXACTLY what the "€œfailure mode"€ for a Model D52GW12 TV is. He has NOT returned my phone call. I would like to have it in writing the exact way in which this TV is supposed to fail.

I have tried to contact Mr. Jeffrey Immelt CEO GE, but he does not reply. Email: jeffrey.immelt@ge.com. I have requested from GE-THOMSON the following: 1. the number of these model TVs sold domestically 2004-2006.
2. Of these number how many have experienced the problem that I have indicated? I have NOT received a reply to these questions.

I called Nadra ** Manager Operations Thomson, ** last week and apparently no one was there to take my call. I was told by the person that answered the phone that, "everyone was on vacation." Presently I have filed complaints with: The Better Business Bureau of Indianapolis, The Federal Trade Commission, US Consumer Product Safety Commission, State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection. I urge others who are concerned about possible safety issues to do the same.

I believe that GE-THOMSON should stand behind their brand and their product. I believe that unless GE-THOMSON can prove otherwise and insure that this model TV is safe, they GE-THOMSON, should repair or replace these TVs at no cost to the owner.

Replies
Advertisement
Absolutely Inexcusable...
By -

07442 -- My husband and I could not be less satisfied with the service we've received from General Electric over the past week. We are completely and utterly disgusted with the company. On 5/22, we called General Electric because our GE fridge was not cold enough, and food was actually starting to spoil. Our fridge was only about seven months old and still under warranty, so I felt sure we'd be able to get someone to our house to fix it by the next day. Unfortunately, we were told the next available appointment would be 5/26, the following Tuesday (since Monday was Memorial Day) which meant that we would be without a fridge for at least three and a half days.

I called GE again on Saturday morning, 5/23. I spoke to representatives and their supervisors, and was repeatedly told that there simply wasn't anyone working in our area until 5/26. At one point, I spoke to a representative who said she'd place us on a cancellation list so that we might be able to get a repairman over the weekend after all, if someone else cancelled an appointment. This turned out to be completely misleading, as this person's supervisor went on to inform me, a few minutes later, that there was no cancellation list (I'm not sure whether I was deliberately or unintentionally misled, but at this point neither would surprise me).

Desperate to have our fridge fixed, we called a local repairman who WAS working on Saturday. He told us that the defroster was broken, but he couldn't fix it that same day because he would need to order a new part. He advised us just to wait and have GE fix the fridge, and suggested calling GE right away so the repairman could bring the part on Tuesday when he came for our appointment. Of our limited options that seemed the best, so I called and spoke to yet another representative; she assured me she'd pass along the information, and told me that “90% of the time” the GE repairmen could fix a problem on the same day of the appointment.

On Tuesday, the repairman came WITHOUT the required parts. He diagnosed the problem (it was indeed the defroster) and informed us that the part we needed was on back order — which meant it would be at least a week before it even became available. To add insult to injury, the repairman then pushed the fridge back against the wall so hard that he broke the socket plate behind it. We discovered this the next day when we attempted to plug the fridge back into the wall (and took a few pictures for evidence).

So, to sum it all up, as of the evening of 5/27 — nearly six days after first calling GE, we are still without a working fridge, and I really have no idea when it will be fixed (the representative at GE could not even guarantee us an immediate appointment when the part does eventually come in). I am in the process of seeking reimbursement for the spoiled food, but GE has already refused to compensate us for the repairman we hired on Saturday (although I intend to pursue that further). I also called to see if the refrigerator parts could possibly be delivered sooner, but with no luck.

As of the time of this writing, I have not yet sought compensation for the broken socket plate (I discovered it after business hours on 5/27, so I was unable to contact the complaints department at GE that same day). Based on our experience over the past few days, I wouldn't be shocked if GE told us there's nothing they can do about that.

The most anyone at GE was able to offer us for our trouble was an extension on our refrigerator's warranty. I accepted it at the time, but it struck me later that having a warranty from GE doesn't amount to much, given the length of time we have had to wait to get our appliance fixed.

I do not feel that GE has treated us well; quite honestly, I can't remember a time when I've been more disappointed in a company. Our fridge is seven months old. It's ridiculous enough that it already needs repair — I don't understand why GE hasn't been proactive in fixing it for us.

GE may or may not be to blame for the broken defroster (that may have been damaged during delivery from Home Depot) but the service offered through GE has been remarkably poor. I don't know, at this point, that anything can be done to make up for the inconveniences GE has caused us, but I will state, unequivocally, that this is a company I will go out of my way not to do business with again.

Replies
Customer Service
By -

MARLBOROUGH, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- My wife and I purchase a GE dishwasher less than a year ago. This last July it stopped working. My wife made a service call to the company. They had us call a service tech to come out and fix the machine. We were informed that this company is no longer in service. We called GE back to let them know, they gave us another company to call. We called left a message. 2 days went by no return call. We called again, an individual answered to tell us that they turned down the service call because they were too busy to come out. She went to say they called GE back immediately to tell them.

GE never called us to let us know the service call was turned down. We then called GE back again, to let them know that this company will not be able to help us. They gave us yet another company to come out and fix the machine. We called left a message with the receptionist. We were told that a tech would be in touch that day. No one called us that day. We called back again the next day. Spoke to Tech who came out that day, looked at the machine and told us it needed a part and he was going to order the part once he got back to the shop.

After two weeks of us constantly calling to find out where the part is and the tech telling us that GE has not been any help to him getting the part, or him wondering why it is taking so long for him to get a part; he suggested we call GE ourselves. My wife calls GE to find out why it is taking so long to get a part out to the tech. They tell her that they will be sending the part overnight to us. Now this is after my wife and I both tell them that this is ridiculous waiting this long for a part. This is now early August, we have filthy standing water in the machine.

The kitchen smells simply awful with all the hot weather we were having and us cancelling dinner dates with friends because it was embarrassing to have people come over with our kitchen smelling like it was. When the part arrives we call the tech. He comes out, installs the part, starts the machine, nothing happens. He checks all the connections, tries a few things, tries it again--nothing happens. It is decided they sent us a faulty part. He puts the old part in, it goes through a cycle, yet it will not restart. He tells us he will GE himself and ask a tech there if there was anything else he could've done. My wife also calls GE to tell them that the part was faulty.

At this point we are pretty much fed up with GE. After a long lengthy and somewhat heated discussion with their representative they gave us an extension of 6 months on our warranty. My wife went on to ask if this cannot be remedied she would like a refund of our money since we purchased a GE product and have a machine we simply cannot use. The response was a prompt, "we do not give refunds". My wife went on to ask what they are intending to do to rectify this problem and also she wanted to speak to someone above her. The response was "that can't be done, you will need to write a letter and wait for someone to respond".

Frustrated my wife went on to ask if this representative was at all willing to remedy this problem. The representative told her she would again overnight a part to us and also to our tech. This is now September we have been unable to use an appliance we purchased for almost 2 months and receiving no customer support through GE. My called a lawyer to get advice who suggested we call the store we bought the appliance at. We called the hardware store explained our problem. They got a hold of a manager who was very understanding, the manager told us that if this part does not work call him back and he will swap the machine out for a new one.

The part arrives, tech comes down, installs the part, machine goes through a cycle, then does not work. He also goes on to tell me that GE is trying to sell their appliance part of the business, yet no one has made a bid. This of course explains why they are not very helpful. I finally send an e-mail outlining my immense displeasure and overwhelming disappointment with how they handled this problem and how I can't believe how they do not stand behind their product. I receive a computer generated response. So no one in customer service even saw this complaint.

So I sent yet another e-mailing detailing my disbelief that my complaint was not important enough for them that they had a computer respond. I went to say that I wanted a personnel response by either e-mail or phone and that it must be by a manager. We got a phone call from a representative who basically was impersonal about the problem and it still is unresolved. My wife has in fact spoke with the same representative today whom has told us she would swap out our GE dishwasher with yet another GE dishwasher. My wife told her why would I want another GE dishwasher. She tried again to get our money back, and yet again we do not give refunds.

Needless to say we have decided that we will never buy another GE product again and I will make a point to investigate anything to see if GE is involved and avoid that item. I will also make it my objective to tell everyone how badly we were treated by GE.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

General Electric Company Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 60 ratings and
355 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
General Electric Company
3135 Easton Tpke
Fairfield, CT 06432-1008
203-373-2211 (ph)
GE (fax)
www.ge.com
richard.wacker@corporate.ge.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies