Preview Review

Next Review

General Electric Company Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
GE Refrigerator and GE Washing Machine
By -

GOSHEN, CONNECTICUT -- DO NOT PURCHASE GE appliances. They are nothing but aggravation. I purchased all new GE appliances when we built our house 5 years ago. The refrigerator was broken and 8 visits later from the service tech finally resolved the issue after I had researched the issue myself and found the part that needed to be replaced. The refrigerator froze all of the food in the refrigerator portion of the refrigerator several times. This left me with an empty refrigerator more than once. Several parts later the refrigerator is now operating.

The refrigerator was finally working. The washing machine then ceased working. 3 trips from the approved GE service technician and a flooded laundry room (3 times) and a month and a half later the washing machine under a 10 year warranty was finally replaced.

When the washing machine was replaced it was replaced with another washing machine of comparable value with a 1 yr. warranty. When I asked how this could be that I purchased a washing machine that had a 10 year warranty and now I am only receiving one with a 1 year warranty, I was told that there was nothing that could be done and that is how they operate now. I purchased the washer because it had a 10 year warranty. GE must have been losing money because their products do not last longer than a year.

Six months later the refrigerator ice maker has ceased working and the replacement washing machine is not working at all. As a matter of fact it runs and runs and runs and doesn't do anything. It won't fill with water and the timer is stuck on 8 mins.

Several hours of frustration and I still have no resolution. I spoke with a manager, Mrs. **, today after sitting on hold for 30 minutes, who was of no assistance whatsoever. She basically pulled the phone away from her ear and was not listening to me at all. At one point I even stopped talking and said “HELLO!”. She informed me that I am not being patient enough and allowing them enough time to work on the issue.

I called Friday morning at 9:45 AM received a call back from the authorized service technician who says "Oh it's you again!" in a disgusted tone. As if this is my fault that the washer is broken. He says "I'll call GE" and hangs up the phone. He did not say I will call GE and get back to you. I never heard from him all day Friday or all weekend or all day Monday.

At 4:50 PM I received a survey call in regards to the call I had placed. What kind of stupidity is this? 5 PM EST I called GE back to find out what was going on, since I haven't heard anything since Friday morning at 10:20 AM. After speaking to one representative and explaining the situation he says "Please hold". Ten minutes went by and another representative finally picks up and says they have no record of me ever calling and want all of my information all over again. "ARE YOU KIDDING ME!"

After stating I had the authorization number I was told that they did have a record of it and that they needed to contact the authorized service technician. They got an answering machine and left him a message. "BIG DEAL!". I was told that there was nothing that could be done because the technician has accepted the authorization code and that I would have to wait for him to contact me back.

Each time you call the GE number you are asked for your phone number and to confirm your name and address. I have confirmed my information with GE 8 times in the last two days. This couldn't be any more annoying. I just want the washing machine fixed! At this point I don't even want to think about dealing with the refrigerator. I do not have the time to sit around or be able to take off from work to wait for a service technician that gives you a window of 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM and then says "I have to order a part and I'll be back in two weeks when the part comes in."

The kicker of it all is that GE has their own service representatives but they do not service my zip code but they do service 2 minutes down the road from me. Instead they use a service technician that is forty minutes away and he doesn't even want to service the machine. I will never purchase another GE appliance and I will make damn sure that everyone I am acquainted with knows that their products are terrible and that their customer service is beyond pathetic.

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Service (Or Lack Thereof)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

UNKNOWN -- 4/21/13: Got declined at a vending machine to buy a $1.50 soda. Had $2000 of credit limit available to purchase. 4/22/13: Spent 1 hour and 32 minutes on telephone trying to speak to a credit card representative at GE/Paypal Extras MasterCard regarding issue. 1:45pm - Called "customer service" number on the back of my card, got stuck in endless IVR loop with no ability to opt out to a customer service live person.

1:55pm - Called "customer service" number on Paypal site along with an assigned 6-digit randomly generated code issued on website to use for better/faster routing of my call. Once again got stuck in endless loop with no ability to opt out to a customer service live person.

2:05pm - Called PayPal'™s main number after a third venture through an automated system, finally was able to get to a live person. They looked up my account and said "they could only help me with my PayPal account, not my PayPal MasterCard. They nicely (or as I thought) transferred me to the "correct department".

2:15pm - Transferred to 2nd person. Not sure whom I got transferred to but they immediately said I was in the wrong place and transferred me to the "correct department" (or so I thought". 2:20pm - Transferred to 3rd person ("**"). ** looked up my credit card number twice only to tell me, guess what, I'm in the wrong department. I am now in the "Prepaid MasterCard" department for Paypal. She further tells me that "she cannot help me", that I should "hang up, call back and start from the beginning" as I called the wrong number.

I informed her that I didn't call the "wrong number" but was in fact transferred by another Paypal employee, she restated that "she cannot help me, that I should hang up and call back"??? After a multitude of going back and forth, I of course asked for a supervisor only to be told that "there isn't a supervisor". I said okay a manager then, she said "there is no manager"???

I then tried another approach and asked "who do you report to", she replied "nobody". I challenged that and her final response was "I report to the company". I repeated that back to her to be clear I heard correctly and said "you don't have a supervisor or a manager and only report to the company?". She said that is correct and reminded me that "she cannot help me". I then asked to be transferred to any person in a management position and she replied "they cannot help you"??? Astounded I said okay let me hear them tell me that. (of course they wouldn't tell me that right?...let's see).

2:47pm - Transferred to 4th person (**). A female who when asked identified herself as a manager. At this point to be safe I asked her for her name and ID number before proceeding to have to explain my customer service issue and the path I went to get to her. I also requested the ID number of the previous employee (**) who was terribly rude, short and inconsiderate. She tells me "I doesn't know, you should have asked her that before she transferred you to me"...HUH?

I asked "Aren't you her supervisor or manager?" She said "No". I asked "Are you a member of management?" She said "Yes, I am a Manager." I'm thinking great, I'm going to be helped finally, I've reached someone in management and they'll make sure I'm taking care of. Wrong. ** now begins to tell me that she "cannot help me". Also said that I should hang up and call another number to try again"? Huh? This is a manager?

I ask if she can directly transfer me to the "correct person"...reply is "No". I ask if she can directly help me...reply is "No". I ask if she thinks it's okay to treat a customer like this, especially after what the customer has clearly been through with 3 other agents? She said "well you're calling the wrong department"...seriously didn't she listen to any of my story about how I got to her? Now for the height of the call...The "MANAGER" - ** - ** apparently decided she had enough of me (the customer asking for help) and just hung up on me, disconnected the call.

Wow! After the long career in customer service if I were monitoring these calls on the phone system for quality assurance or training purposes this call would serve me several purposes: The ability to protect my customers from poor customer service from some obviously uncaring customer service employee and manager. The need to walk down the hall to Human Resources to initiate an immediate termination of these employees and removal from the call center floor. A great training for new employees and retraining of existing employees on how never to ever handle a customer.

Still unsure as to how to resolve my credit card issue. After I take some blood pressure medication, go for a long walk and ask God for forgiveness for my thoughts I might try back in a week or two. Until then, what was my "Primary Card" is now removed from my wallet and placed in a desk drawer at home for some future consideration. The card was a fine card, the associated customer service or lack thereof if ever needed is the determining factor for the discontinued use of this card, inability to recommend GE or Paypal and need to find assistance in resolving my issues.

Company Response 04/23/2013:

**To expedite a response, please provide Reference code DM 042313_m3c_rockysacco**

I'm sorry you have experienced issues with your GE Capital Retail Bank account. We would like to try and resolve your concerns. Please email me at gecapitalcares@ge.com with your name and phone number. A member of our consumer advocacy team will call you to assist.

For your security, please do not include your account number in your email.

Regards,
Nicole
GE Capital

Replies
GE faulty product quality, warranty service, lack of customer service
By -

Please note: Everything in this post is in regards to GE Canada, and the Canadian market. This is also a very brief summary of 10 pages of documents in my dispute with GE, and GE's authorized service contractors. April 1, 2007 purchased from Home Depot 3 Maytag appliances, (refrigerator, range and dishwasher) for delivery April 5, 2007. We donated our old appliances to Salvation Army and arranged for pickup on April 4, 2007. On evening of April 4, heard from Home Depot that Maytag had computer problems and the products could not be delivered until late the next week.

This was not satisfactory so Home Depot offered us comparable products from their in store inventory. Home Depot substituted the following GE products, side by side refrigerator (model GSS25XGPABB), free standing glass cooktop range (JCPB83HK2BB) and a dishwasher (GHD6310L15BB).

3 years, 6 months, and 17 days the problems started. Refrigerator started freezing produce, milk and other items, lowered cooling setting to lowest level and there wasn't any change. Checked our owner's manual and warranty to see if the repair was covered by GE (sealed system was covered for 5 years). Called Camco (GE Canada's service department) to get a clear explanation of what this meant. Informed the service tech would have to diagnosis the problem and he would determine if was cover by warranty.

November 3 - Direct Energy Tech (Camco authorized GE service) determined the main control board was defective, and was not covered by warranty - cost $374.62. He also advised me he put in a revised Main Control Module. He stated he used to carry 12 of the original boards in his truck at all times, but the new board was better and he only carried 6 currently.

November 7, our glass cooktop exploded for no apparent reason, (sent glass slivers up to 15 feet and shards of glass 4 feet. This is an extremely hazardous product and GE is aware of the problem, but instead it is the consumer's fault. Something must have fallen on the glass top and damaged it, or some other lame reason. November 10 - Refrigerator freezing produce and other products again, purchased refrigerator thermometer and the temperature was 22 degrees F (-5 degrees C). Call for service tech, unavailable until Nov 16.

November 15 - Received phone message from Home Depot store manager and GE customer care. I returned their calls but have been unable to contact either one to date. GE customer care on their message, stated she was sorry about our problems and the products were out of warranty, but she wanted to have a service tech look at the range to determine the if the range had something drop on it or if it was a thermal issue.

She advise us to have a authorized GE service tech look at it and file a report with her. We should initiate this. No discussion on who is paying for this. I called GE customer care person to clarify issues about charges and other things, as of yet she has not returned my call.

November 16 - GE authorized service replace the main control module in the refrigerator again, stating that he installed the wrong board. Checking other sites for this board to compare prices, I found the board he was installing and the one removed were no longer available in Canada. I showed him the exploded range, and told him GE Customer Care wanted a GE Tech to look at it and determine the cause of the problem and write a report. His response "Why did she say that, we can not determine the cause of the failure or what happened."

November 17 - Call GE Customer Care and left a message for the contact I have with them to call me to review where we are at regarding our issues. Went to Home Depot and spoke to store manager about problems and his response was "I will email the contact again and advise her you are heard and want to talk to her." No responses while I was there, so he sent her another email to let her know I was leaving and would be home in twenty minutes, to please contact me.

November 18 - No contact from GE. Just check produce drawer and again the produce is frozen. Call GE service again, and service manager advise me he would contact GE to see where we go from here.

Replies
Unacceptable Customer Service
By -

I had an appointment scheduled for both a GE washer and Dryer for Tuesday June 8. The technician did arrive within the scheduled appointment time. First, before even inspecting the units, the technician explained to me how GE management mistreated him and failed to trust him so he had to be extra careful to cover himself in case he was challenged on whether or not he actually made the service call. After a cursory inspection of both of the units, he proceeded to tell me that the dryer was cheap and that I should expect the noise it made. I found this response unacceptable and required to tech to keep looking.

He then determined that the drum unit needed to be replaced – I am not sure if he made this diagnosis to shut me up or if he is correct because he did not have the dryer apart and simply made this call based on placing his hand flat against the rear of the dryer. Your tech then told me that he did not have the parts on his truck for either the washer or dryer and would have to order them. When I pressed for more information he told me I was not in his area anyway and he was covering for someone else so it really was someone else's problem.

I immediately called the customer relations department and talked to a very knowledgeable and caring individual who was able to calm me down. She told me that she could see in the system that the tech had ordered the parts and had rescheduled the appointment – unfortunately he had scheduled the repairs for 2 separate days and no one had bothered to ask me if either day was convenient – they also have both repairs scheduled for a full day so I am unable to plan anything for either day and must plan on being off work to accommodate GE.

Today, June 14th, I received an unexpected delivery from Fedex – it turns out to be the drum unit for the dryer. Since I had not been told that this would come to my house I was concerned that the service group would not keep their appointment as they would be looking for the parts. I again called customer relations and talked to an individual who made me believe that I was an inconvenience and wasting her time by calling in. She told me that parts were normally delivered to customers homes and did not understand my concerns.

I then asked her to try to get both appointments scheduled for the same day and was informed that this had already happened – the appointments had been changed and no one bothered to notify me! The customer service representative claimed that GE had no way to contact me. I find this response also unacceptable.

The service team has failed in almost every aspect of their job – from presenting GE in a good light, showing support for the products GE sells, and failing to ensure that the customer is satisfied. At this point, I believe that I should become anti-GE and make every effort to tell friends, relatives, and casual acquaintances about my bad experiences and make every effort to convince them to purchase different brands when they have a choice.

Replies
Advertisement
GE Money & Loews Credit Collection Harassment
By -

NORTH WILKESBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- GE MONEY & LOEWS FINANCIAL have been harassing me for the past several weeks attempting to collect a debt for an account holder with the same first and last name as mine, but is not me, nor my debt. First of all, I have never applied for a LOEWS credit card, nor have I ever owned one. I am not even a home owner, so not much home improvement going on at my place by me. I originally received a letter attempting to collect a debt in the amount of $935.00. I was surprised to receive the letter knowing I had never owned or applied for services through GE, or LOEWS.

That day I ran my credit (and paid the credit site fees out of pocket) to see if someone had stolen my identity and was attempting to use my information to obtain services and credit. I was pleased to find that nothing was reporting to my credit from LOEWS or GE MONEY. I then called GE MONEY & LOEWS FINANCIAL at the number posted on the letter. I informed them that I didn't think they had the correct individual, and they asked to confirm my social security number. I gave them the last 4 digits, which DID NOT match the SS# they had in their collection records.

I then asked to confirm the additional information on the account to see if they had my phone number, or address. According to the rep, they additional information did not match mine either. She stated that it appeared to be a mix up, and that they most likely found my information through "skip tracing" and that she would remove my info and note on the account what she had found. I then wrote what she had advised me to on the letter and returned it as instructed. She stated I SHOULDN'T be getting any more mail or communication regarding the matter. I felt like matters had been addressed accordingly and gave it no more thought, until...

I received yet another letter, and another, and another in the same week. All four letters came after our conversation, so I assumed they were already in the mail, called GE MONEY to tell them that I was still getting mail and send the additional letters back as I did the first time exactly as they instructed me to. Again, the representative told me I shouldn't be getting any more letters, and that she had COMPLETELY removed my info from their system (which apparently didn't match what they had on record, that they magically denied having every time I called about the letters).

So, the next week I was happy to see that no more letters came from GE MONEY or LOEWS FINANCIAL. However, at this time they started in with the harassing phone calls. So, I had finally gotten the letter issue handled and they started calling me instead. The issue I have here is that I gave them my phone information so they wouldn't call me, and then I started getting calls, so it was easy to assume that they had started using the information I gave them to continue to harass me for a debt that isn't even owed by me, or anyone I know.

I nicely requested each time they called me that they review their notes on the account and that they kindly see that I stop getting these types of calls, and that it was getting pretty old after having received an average of 4 calls a day to my cell phone over the course of the week. Each time I got a new representative who called me, I told them the same thing, and was as polite as I could be (not my typical reaction to these mistakes, but I was trying to be nice).

Each time I was assured that my information was out of their system, and that they have no record of me in it, and that I wouldn't be receiving any more calls to my cell phone. At that time, I was under the impression that things were handled and that I wouldn't be getting any more calls. Not so lucky...

The next week, and weekend. I was again surprised (getting harder though since now nothing would surprise me from these people) to get another call, this time it was on my home phone, which I don't even give out or use for any reason. The other funny thing, is that my phone bill for my house isn't even in my name, it's in my roommates name. I was literally steaming as I was trying to spend Valentine's Day with my sweetheart and during our movie, the damn COMCAST caller id kept popping up saying it's GE MONEY calling. Arggg.

At this point I had had enough from these people, and felt like it was not borderline harassment anymore, but was now full-fledged harassment. I immediately phoned the number that was calling. I asked to speak with a supervisor, got a new person, asked to speak with their supervisor. When I finally got to the person who told me they were as high as I could go, I explained what was happening (basically everything I wrote above) and that I was not happy at this point about the way this matter was being dealt with.

I then told the representative that if I got even ONE MORE call, period, that I was going to write reviews and pursue the harassment by any means necessary including via my State's Attorney General (Rob McKenna), the Better Business Bureau (BBB), the FTC and Online through review sites, blogs, forums, Twitter, Youtube, etc. and any other way I could find. She nicely listened to my rant and assured me that AGAIN, FOR THE TENTH TIME, that I WOULDN'T receive any more calls, either on my cell or at home. And that after 30 minutes I FOR SURE wouldn't be getting any more calls to any of my numbers.

She also attempted to transfer me to the Fraud Dept. so that I could have them investigate the matter from their end. I am not sure why she suggested that, but figured anyone I could get to remove my information on their end would be better than taking their word for it. So, during the transfer I got cut off, had to phone back and wait forever to get back where I was. Finally got through and turns out the Fraud Dept isn't even open on weekends. I decided to give them one more chance at this point and went on with my Valentine's Day. Did not get any more calls thank heavens.

First thing on Monday, I phoned the Fraud Dept. to follow up with what the representative and I had spoken about on Sunday. I got on with a very nice gal at the Fraud Dept. that was nice and seemed very helpful. She informed me that it wasn't Fraud, that it was a mix up because that they skip trace for information that may or may not match information they have on record for their accounts. She kept using the word skip trace. To me this whole scenario seemed weird. And had never had anything like that happen before in my 28 years.

She also assured me that my info would be cleared on her end, and that I shouldn't be getting any more calls, unless they run another skip trace and end up with my information again. I told her that wasn't acceptable, and if they were going to use random information like that, that they needed to have a way of removing information that was deemed to be invalid for their actual account holder, that way, people like me wouldn't be getting harassed like I had been. She said she couldn't do anything and that she had removed my information and that I need not worry about calls.

Less than 30 minutes later, on Monday I got another call from GE MONEY and LOEWS FINANCIAL on my cell phone. "Are you kidding me?" I asked. Needless to say, I was not nice to the last person, I told them that this call was the straw that broke it for me, and that I was going to follow through with my promise to report them, review them, and plaster my story all over the Internet. So, that's what I'm doing. I usually don't even write reviews online, nor do I have time to do such things. I just really feel like this is all wrong and that if I don't speak up it might continue to happen to me, and others out there.

If you find yourself in a similar situation with GE MONEY and LOEWS FINANCIAL don't wait as long as I did to start speaking up. Seriously, I tried to be nice and it doesn't cut it with these collection people. If I were you, and had it to do over again, I would have reported it to my State's Attorney General, BBB, FTC and all over the Internet from the beginning. Take my work for it, the squeaky wheel tends to get the grease.

Replies
GE-THOMSON 52" TV FIRE HAZARD SHOULD BE RECALLED
By -

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- On Nov 5 2004 I purchased a GE 52" TV Model D52GW12 ORDER# ** amount paid $1190.74. In early Nov 2009 I started to notice that the screen went blank, I thought that it was the DVR, but on the evening of Nov 10 2009, in addition to the screen going blank, I heard a zapping sound and smelled a something burning coming from the rear of the TV. No other electrical disturbance was noticed at this time, the weather was normal, the TV was plugged into a surge protector. I immediately unplugged the TV fearing possible fire. Luckily there was no damage to my house.

Upon doing some research on the web I found out that this situation is prevalent in this model TV. Many people have experienced that exact same thing. Clearly this would indicate that there is an inherent defect built into this model TV that can be a potential safety hazard and reduces the life of the TV. On Nov 12 I called GE service 1-800-447-1700 and spoke to Jed. I explained the situation and asked that GE be responsible for the cost of repair or replace the set due to unsafe nature of the TV, he declined my request. I asked for a supervisor. She was unavailable, but I was told that she would call me back later.

She called back the wrong number and I did receive a call at 5:56 PM. She left a voicemail message, from a Sarah ** who told me that GE would honor the "regular warranty", covering the TV for one year after purchase. and that I was responsible for any repairs which were estimated at $600. Basically I'd pay for their mistake. I sent 2 emails to GE corporate: directors@corporate.ge.com and Peter O'Toole Director of Public Relations peter. otoole@ge.com - asking for them to re-evaluate their position. I have not had any reply.

I did receive a call from Mr. Ben ** After Sales Manager, **. He told me that €œthis "thing happens to ALL rear projection TV'€™s." He also said that "€œthis is exactly what it was supposed to do in failure mode." I called him back to have him explain EXACTLY what the "€œfailure mode"€ for a Model D52GW12 TV is. He has NOT returned my phone call. I would like to have it in writing the exact way in which this TV is supposed to fail.

I have tried to contact Mr. Jeffrey Immelt CEO GE, but he does not reply. Email: jeffrey.immelt@ge.com. I have requested from GE-THOMSON the following: 1. the number of these model TVs sold domestically 2004-2006.
2. Of these number how many have experienced the problem that I have indicated? I have NOT received a reply to these questions.

I called Nadra ** Manager Operations Thomson, ** last week and apparently no one was there to take my call. I was told by the person that answered the phone that, "everyone was on vacation." Presently I have filed complaints with: The Better Business Bureau of Indianapolis, The Federal Trade Commission, US Consumer Product Safety Commission, State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection. I urge others who are concerned about possible safety issues to do the same.

I believe that GE-THOMSON should stand behind their brand and their product. I believe that unless GE-THOMSON can prove otherwise and insure that this model TV is safe, they GE-THOMSON, should repair or replace these TVs at no cost to the owner.

Replies
Absolutely Inexcusable...
By -

07442 -- My husband and I could not be less satisfied with the service we've received from General Electric over the past week. We are completely and utterly disgusted with the company. On 5/22, we called General Electric because our GE fridge was not cold enough, and food was actually starting to spoil. Our fridge was only about seven months old and still under warranty, so I felt sure we'd be able to get someone to our house to fix it by the next day. Unfortunately, we were told the next available appointment would be 5/26, the following Tuesday (since Monday was Memorial Day) which meant that we would be without a fridge for at least three and a half days.

I called GE again on Saturday morning, 5/23. I spoke to representatives and their supervisors, and was repeatedly told that there simply wasn't anyone working in our area until 5/26. At one point, I spoke to a representative who said she'd place us on a cancellation list so that we might be able to get a repairman over the weekend after all, if someone else cancelled an appointment. This turned out to be completely misleading, as this person's supervisor went on to inform me, a few minutes later, that there was no cancellation list (I'm not sure whether I was deliberately or unintentionally misled, but at this point neither would surprise me).

Desperate to have our fridge fixed, we called a local repairman who WAS working on Saturday. He told us that the defroster was broken, but he couldn't fix it that same day because he would need to order a new part. He advised us just to wait and have GE fix the fridge, and suggested calling GE right away so the repairman could bring the part on Tuesday when he came for our appointment. Of our limited options that seemed the best, so I called and spoke to yet another representative; she assured me she'd pass along the information, and told me that “90% of the time” the GE repairmen could fix a problem on the same day of the appointment.

On Tuesday, the repairman came WITHOUT the required parts. He diagnosed the problem (it was indeed the defroster) and informed us that the part we needed was on back order — which meant it would be at least a week before it even became available. To add insult to injury, the repairman then pushed the fridge back against the wall so hard that he broke the socket plate behind it. We discovered this the next day when we attempted to plug the fridge back into the wall (and took a few pictures for evidence).

So, to sum it all up, as of the evening of 5/27 — nearly six days after first calling GE, we are still without a working fridge, and I really have no idea when it will be fixed (the representative at GE could not even guarantee us an immediate appointment when the part does eventually come in). I am in the process of seeking reimbursement for the spoiled food, but GE has already refused to compensate us for the repairman we hired on Saturday (although I intend to pursue that further). I also called to see if the refrigerator parts could possibly be delivered sooner, but with no luck.

As of the time of this writing, I have not yet sought compensation for the broken socket plate (I discovered it after business hours on 5/27, so I was unable to contact the complaints department at GE that same day). Based on our experience over the past few days, I wouldn't be shocked if GE told us there's nothing they can do about that.

The most anyone at GE was able to offer us for our trouble was an extension on our refrigerator's warranty. I accepted it at the time, but it struck me later that having a warranty from GE doesn't amount to much, given the length of time we have had to wait to get our appliance fixed.

I do not feel that GE has treated us well; quite honestly, I can't remember a time when I've been more disappointed in a company. Our fridge is seven months old. It's ridiculous enough that it already needs repair — I don't understand why GE hasn't been proactive in fixing it for us.

GE may or may not be to blame for the broken defroster (that may have been damaged during delivery from Home Depot) but the service offered through GE has been remarkably poor. I don't know, at this point, that anything can be done to make up for the inconveniences GE has caused us, but I will state, unequivocally, that this is a company I will go out of my way not to do business with again.

Replies
Customer Service
By -

MARLBOROUGH, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- My wife and I purchase a GE dishwasher less than a year ago. This last July it stopped working. My wife made a service call to the company. They had us call a service tech to come out and fix the machine. We were informed that this company is no longer in service. We called GE back to let them know, they gave us another company to call. We called left a message. 2 days went by no return call. We called again, an individual answered to tell us that they turned down the service call because they were too busy to come out. She went to say they called GE back immediately to tell them.

GE never called us to let us know the service call was turned down. We then called GE back again, to let them know that this company will not be able to help us. They gave us yet another company to come out and fix the machine. We called left a message with the receptionist. We were told that a tech would be in touch that day. No one called us that day. We called back again the next day. Spoke to Tech who came out that day, looked at the machine and told us it needed a part and he was going to order the part once he got back to the shop.

After two weeks of us constantly calling to find out where the part is and the tech telling us that GE has not been any help to him getting the part, or him wondering why it is taking so long for him to get a part; he suggested we call GE ourselves. My wife calls GE to find out why it is taking so long to get a part out to the tech. They tell her that they will be sending the part overnight to us. Now this is after my wife and I both tell them that this is ridiculous waiting this long for a part. This is now early August, we have filthy standing water in the machine.

The kitchen smells simply awful with all the hot weather we were having and us cancelling dinner dates with friends because it was embarrassing to have people come over with our kitchen smelling like it was. When the part arrives we call the tech. He comes out, installs the part, starts the machine, nothing happens. He checks all the connections, tries a few things, tries it again--nothing happens. It is decided they sent us a faulty part. He puts the old part in, it goes through a cycle, yet it will not restart. He tells us he will GE himself and ask a tech there if there was anything else he could've done. My wife also calls GE to tell them that the part was faulty.

At this point we are pretty much fed up with GE. After a long lengthy and somewhat heated discussion with their representative they gave us an extension of 6 months on our warranty. My wife went on to ask if this cannot be remedied she would like a refund of our money since we purchased a GE product and have a machine we simply cannot use. The response was a prompt, "we do not give refunds". My wife went on to ask what they are intending to do to rectify this problem and also she wanted to speak to someone above her. The response was "that can't be done, you will need to write a letter and wait for someone to respond".

Frustrated my wife went on to ask if this representative was at all willing to remedy this problem. The representative told her she would again overnight a part to us and also to our tech. This is now September we have been unable to use an appliance we purchased for almost 2 months and receiving no customer support through GE. My called a lawyer to get advice who suggested we call the store we bought the appliance at. We called the hardware store explained our problem. They got a hold of a manager who was very understanding, the manager told us that if this part does not work call him back and he will swap the machine out for a new one.

The part arrives, tech comes down, installs the part, machine goes through a cycle, then does not work. He also goes on to tell me that GE is trying to sell their appliance part of the business, yet no one has made a bid. This of course explains why they are not very helpful. I finally send an e-mail outlining my immense displeasure and overwhelming disappointment with how they handled this problem and how I can't believe how they do not stand behind their product. I receive a computer generated response. So no one in customer service even saw this complaint.

So I sent yet another e-mailing detailing my disbelief that my complaint was not important enough for them that they had a computer respond. I went to say that I wanted a personnel response by either e-mail or phone and that it must be by a manager. We got a phone call from a representative who basically was impersonal about the problem and it still is unresolved. My wife has in fact spoke with the same representative today whom has told us she would swap out our GE dishwasher with yet another GE dishwasher. My wife told her why would I want another GE dishwasher. She tried again to get our money back, and yet again we do not give refunds.

Needless to say we have decided that we will never buy another GE product again and I will make a point to investigate anything to see if GE is involved and avoid that item. I will also make it my objective to tell everyone how badly we were treated by GE.

Replies
Advertisement
My GE experience with products
By -

TALLMADGE, OHIO -- This was my first experience with GE appliances and service. For a total kitchen remodel I bought a new Profile dishwasher, microwave and stove because they were attractive and a good price with the rebate. They were delivered in good order, my contractor installed them and they looked terrific. I have no problems with using the appliances themselves. The microwave and dishwasher are fabulous, simple and intuitive to use. The dishwasher cleans like a dream.

I only bought the ceramic top range for value added to the house. I still would rather be cooking with an old-fashioned burner system. The glass cooktop needs wiped off all the time to look clean. It took me a while to get over my fear of scratching it. It is much less fragile than I thought.

The control panel cover is what scratches way too easily. I'm the only one using it and I still don't know how some of those scratches got on there. Bits of food also get under the top edge of that panel and it is even harder to keep un-smudged looking than the cooktop. I also don't like how easy it is to accidentally hit an oven control button while the oven is in use. I've shut the thing off several times when cooking on the cooktop just by brushing against the touch panel.

My biggest complaint, however, is over the rebate offer. I've read that consumer rebates are often scams by manufacturers and stores - that they purposefully make them complicated or just never send the money. That has been my experience with GE's famous appliance rebate. I'd love to know how many people actually get their money.

Due to the time deadline for the rebate I ordered my appliances before the start of my remodel. To fill out all the numbers required on the form I had to cut open each box and perform acrobatics to find them. But I did it. I read the whole form and did exactly what they said. Unfortunately, I didn't think I should have to spend money on return receipt mail just to get the rebate. That was my big mistake.

The form said it would take many weeks for the rebate to arrive. Come the end of that period I went online as indicated to see the progress. I could find nothing about my rebate so I emailed them. This was well after the deadline for submitting the form.

The customer service person emailed me back asking for the registration number of my rebate request. There had been NO mention to expect a registration number on the form or online or anywhere. No registration number - no proof I'd sent the form - No rebate. I'm out $300.

I also had a part go bad right away in the microwave - a problem I read online that was chronic with this unit. I have no complaint with the scheduling of the repair although my cable repair company manages to narrow down the arrival time much better.

The repairman was surly. He had to remove the entire machine from the wall to replace a tiny part. He was prepared to do this with the unit sitting right on my ceramic cooktop. He acted unhappy when I brought out a towel to place over the glass. He left a metal screw bit inside the door of the unit that fell out onto the glass when I opened the door. (Accident or revenge, I don't know). He also left bits of lint behind the touch panel cover. It was under warranty so that was free at least.

After a while it became apparent that one of the burners on the stove was not heating up enough at the medium heat setting. It is easy to schedule a repair online and the timing is only about a week to wait. However, once again I have to take leave from work to wait for the scheduled repair.

Also, the email acknowledgment and registration for the repair said they would call me the day before. They never did. I called them just to make sure I wasn't wasting half a day. The repair was scheduled. I will also note here that after working my way through their touch phone v-mail choices that one choice didn't work correctly. Very frustrating. I mentioned it to the CS person I finally got but she seemed totally uninterested.

There was a place to specify online if I wanted him to show up earlier or later in the 8 to noon period and I'd said early as possible. They called at about 10AM to say I was the next stop. He showed up at about 11. I know that he has no way to know how long he'll spend on a problem, but an empty option is worse than none - something they have a chronic problem with, it appears. This repair man was friendlier than the first, but he also treated me like a moron. To "test" the burners he simply had me give him a pan of water to heat up. So much for modern technology.

I said that I thought each setting on the dials had a range or maximum heat that should be testable but he said that was impossible, that it all depended upon the pan and what was in it! I may be wrong but those heat settings must have some kind of maximum even if they do cycle off and on. I don't think they "sense" what is in the pan. Duh. In addition, I'd think there must be some kind of thermometer to test burners, no? He finally agreed that the triple burner was borderline but "might have a problem" and ordered the part. He said it would come to me FedEx and that he'd be back in a week to install it - no asking what was convenient for me!

That is my experience with GE and I don't think I will ever buy appliances from them again. They really need to work on their customer service as well as some product design features. Perhaps a test kitchen with real people using the machines who could offer suggestions.

Replies
Baking element
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This oven is junk! I see that besides mine, there are MANY reviews complaining about the faulty oven baking element that catches fire. I can't see where GE has done anything about it at all. I'm sure they'll try to claim that if your oven is out of warranty that they can't help you, but "out of warranty" doesn't excuse a part that is dangerous! GE, you can bet if your stupid oven had caused damage to my home I would be suing the pants off you right now! >:( I will NEVER own one of your products again!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

General Electric Company Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 54 ratings and
349 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
General Electric Company
3135 Easton Tpke
Fairfield, CT 06432-1008
203-373-2211 (ph)
GE (fax)
www.ge.com
richard.wacker@corporate.ge.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies