General Electric Company - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 58 ratings and
356 reviews & complaints.
www.ge.com
richard.wacker@corporate.ge.com
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
My GE experience with products
By -

TALLMADGE, OHIO -- This was my first experience with GE appliances and service. For a total kitchen remodel I bought a new Profile dishwasher, microwave and stove because they were attractive and a good price with the rebate. They were delivered in good order, my contractor installed them and they looked terrific. I have no problems with using the appliances themselves. The microwave and dishwasher are fabulous, simple and intuitive to use. The dishwasher cleans like a dream.

I only bought the ceramic top range for value added to the house. I still would rather be cooking with an old-fashioned burner system. The glass cooktop needs wiped off all the time to look clean. It took me a while to get over my fear of scratching it. It is much less fragile than I thought.

The control panel cover is what scratches way too easily. I'm the only one using it and I still don't know how some of those scratches got on there. Bits of food also get under the top edge of that panel and it is even harder to keep un-smudged looking than the cooktop. I also don't like how easy it is to accidentally hit an oven control button while the oven is in use. I've shut the thing off several times when cooking on the cooktop just by brushing against the touch panel.

My biggest complaint, however, is over the rebate offer. I've read that consumer rebates are often scams by manufacturers and stores - that they purposefully make them complicated or just never send the money. That has been my experience with GE's famous appliance rebate. I'd love to know how many people actually get their money.

Due to the time deadline for the rebate I ordered my appliances before the start of my remodel. To fill out all the numbers required on the form I had to cut open each box and perform acrobatics to find them. But I did it. I read the whole form and did exactly what they said. Unfortunately, I didn't think I should have to spend money on return receipt mail just to get the rebate. That was my big mistake.

The form said it would take many weeks for the rebate to arrive. Come the end of that period I went online as indicated to see the progress. I could find nothing about my rebate so I emailed them. This was well after the deadline for submitting the form.

The customer service person emailed me back asking for the registration number of my rebate request. There had been NO mention to expect a registration number on the form or online or anywhere. No registration number - no proof I'd sent the form - No rebate. I'm out $300.

I also had a part go bad right away in the microwave - a problem I read online that was chronic with this unit. I have no complaint with the scheduling of the repair although my cable repair company manages to narrow down the arrival time much better.

The repairman was surly. He had to remove the entire machine from the wall to replace a tiny part. He was prepared to do this with the unit sitting right on my ceramic cooktop. He acted unhappy when I brought out a towel to place over the glass. He left a metal screw bit inside the door of the unit that fell out onto the glass when I opened the door. (Accident or revenge, I don't know). He also left bits of lint behind the touch panel cover. It was under warranty so that was free at least.

After a while it became apparent that one of the burners on the stove was not heating up enough at the medium heat setting. It is easy to schedule a repair online and the timing is only about a week to wait. However, once again I have to take leave from work to wait for the scheduled repair.

Also, the email acknowledgment and registration for the repair said they would call me the day before. They never did. I called them just to make sure I wasn't wasting half a day. The repair was scheduled. I will also note here that after working my way through their touch phone v-mail choices that one choice didn't work correctly. Very frustrating. I mentioned it to the CS person I finally got but she seemed totally uninterested.

There was a place to specify online if I wanted him to show up earlier or later in the 8 to noon period and I'd said early as possible. They called at about 10AM to say I was the next stop. He showed up at about 11. I know that he has no way to know how long he'll spend on a problem, but an empty option is worse than none - something they have a chronic problem with, it appears. This repair man was friendlier than the first, but he also treated me like a moron. To "test" the burners he simply had me give him a pan of water to heat up. So much for modern technology.

I said that I thought each setting on the dials had a range or maximum heat that should be testable but he said that was impossible, that it all depended upon the pan and what was in it! I may be wrong but those heat settings must have some kind of maximum even if they do cycle off and on. I don't think they "sense" what is in the pan. Duh. In addition, I'd think there must be some kind of thermometer to test burners, no? He finally agreed that the triple burner was borderline but "might have a problem" and ordered the part. He said it would come to me FedEx and that he'd be back in a week to install it - no asking what was convenient for me!

That is my experience with GE and I don't think I will ever buy appliances from them again. They really need to work on their customer service as well as some product design features. Perhaps a test kitchen with real people using the machines who could offer suggestions.

Replies
GE Capital Consumer Card Co Fraud Conspiracy
By -

MASON, OHIO -- The purpose of this letter is to file a formal notification of complaint alleging numerous violations of the Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1601) on the part of CareCredit, in that CareCredit, aka GE Capital Cons Cardco aka GE Capital Consumer Card Company. GE Capital Consumer Card Co. is a "creditor" by definition of 15 U.S.C. 1601-§103-f (Consumer Credit Protection Act) and therefore falls under the federal jurisdiction of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC).

GE Capital Consumer Card Co. has knowingly and illegally: Made a promotional offer of "interest-free" or "deferred interest" which, by its actions as enumerated below, it had or has no intentions of fulfilling, said offer falling within the definition of Section 226.2 of CCPA; levied late fees and finance charges when payments were actually received - and deducted from my bank account - PRIOR to the due date;

Charged illegal and exorbitant "account security" fees without any form of legal disclosure or explanation as to what those charges may be, constituting a "surcharge" under sections 103 and section 167 of the Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1601), hereinafter referred to as CCPA; has instituted retroactive "terms and conditions" without proper notification, in violation of § 226.7 of the CCPA;

Has provided such "terms and conditions" in a format that appears to be a third- or fourth-generation unreadable photocopy consisting of print so small and faded as to be illegible, in violation of § 226.5; Has made it virtually impossible for customers (clients) to contact them in a timely manner by failing and/or refusing to answer telephone calls for periods of up to 7.5 hours (by placing the customer on hold for such lengths of time) and by failing and/or refusing to provide any means on its web site of contacting CareCredit by email or any other means than an unanswered telephone line;

Has acted to quash any meaningful payment inquiries by refusing to provide requested information to the bank upon which payments were drawn, in addition to failing to provide telephone-answering staff as alleged above.

DETAILS: Application for the above-referenced account was made under a "promotional offer" (Exhibit A - promotional offer), which provided for no interest if the account was paid in full within 48 months. This agreement was for the issuance of a "medical credit card" issued by GE Capital Consumer Card Co, 5300 Kings Island Drive, Mason, OH 45050, to cover dental (oral surgery) expenses in excess of that which were to be paid by the payee's dental insurance. The debt agreed upon was to be $1,500.00.

The first payment was due September 4, 2004 (Exhibit B - statement of payment due). Payment was received via electronic funds transfer on September 2, 3004 and was deducted from the payee's bank account prior to 2 pm the following business day, September 3, 2004 (Exhibit C - email from USBank, formerly and aka Firstar Bank). The minimum payment on the above account is $45 per month. The defendant states that "payment is due by 5 pm on the due date" to "avoid additional finance charges." Payment was received and cleared well before that time.

Electronic funds transfer payments through USBank is guaranteed to arrive on the date specified. This form of payment was chosen specifically to ensure timely receipt of payment, since US Postal Service delivery to and from payee's address is often very unreliable. In four years, I have had no problem with electronic funds transfers reaching their destination late.

The payee then received on Sept. 13, 2004 a "late notice" (which bore no postmark and was, in fact, bulk mailed - Exhibits D-1 and D-2 - envelope and late payment notice) claiming that no payment had been received, when in fact, it had. In addition, the payee was informed that a late fee of $35.00 and an "account security fee" of $23.25 had been charged additionally.

In a document received Sept. 13, 2004, after the contract was entered into, labelled "Account Security Debt Cancellation Agreement" (Exhibit E), there is no mention whatsoever of any "account security fee". Payee contends that this "account security fee" constitutes a hidden and therefore unlawful interest or finance charge, in violation of federal law.

On that date, Sept. 13, 2004, payee attempted to call the phone number provided (1-800-333-1071) and was informed by a voice recording that "due to a high volume of calls" there would be "a lengthy wait time". Payee kept the line open and was on hold for 3 hours 47 minutes before finally giving up, unable to speak to single human being during that time.

Additionally, the payee contacted the bank (Exhibit F - email) to notify them of the allegation by GE Capital Consumer Card Co that no payment had been received, even though existing bank records clearly documented otherwise.

USBank aka Firstar Bank responded to the payee on Sept. 14. 2004 (Exhibit G - email) that it was investigating the matter, then followed up with another communication - also Sept. 14, 2004 (Exhibit H - email) that "GE Capital Cons Cardco will not discuss customer accounts with third parties" and suggested that the payee call 1-800-333-1071 - the same phone number which GE Capital Cons Cardo will not answer. An additional payment of $55.00 was made by the payee and received September 17, 2004 and deducted from the payee's bank account on Sept. 18, 2004 for the payment of $45.00 due October 4, 2004.

No statement was received for a November payment, due Nov. 4, 2004; however electronic payment was made and received Sept. 29, 2004 in the amount of $100.00 (Exhibit I - details of USBank transaction printout), even though the payment due was $45.00. For the December payment, due Dec. 4, 2004, an electronic funds transfer in the amount of $100.00 was scheduled to be received Nov. 18, 2004, though the amount due was $45.00.

On November 12, 2004, payee received a statement from GE Capital Cons Cardco (Exhibit G - statement) claiming no payment was received for October and that a late fee of $35.00 had been assessed, as well as a "finance charge" of $106.64 and an "account security fee" of $22.38. The payee was also informed that the "promotional offer" had expired on an unstated expiration date, in violation of the agreement made and the promotional offer (Exhibit A).

Also on November 12, 2004, the payee again attempted to call both toll-free numbers provided and was informed by a recorded message that "due to a large volume of calls" there would be a "long wait time." After 2 hours and 17 minutes, the payee again gave up, and on November 13, 2004, sent this document with a certified letter to the defendant.

In summary, payee has so far paid $400 on a $1,500.00 debt and is informed the balance is $1,563.13. All payments have been made and received before the due date. The payee asks for full restitution of the unlawful and exorbitant fees in the amount of $463.13 charged by GE Capital Cons Cardco, as well as all attorney fees and costs pursuant to this matter, and for full reinstatement of the "promotional offer" terms which were, and are, part and parcel of the agreement between the payee and GE Capital Cons Cardco.

The payee hereby notifies you, under the requirements of the Consumer Credit Protection Act. [15 U.S.C. 1601], that the aforesaid charges of $463.13 are contested for the reasons outlined above and that no such charges will be paid in the future. Payments will be made to repay the original amount of $1500, as contracted, in the time length necessary to avoid interest fees, per your "promotional offer." It is my intent to file legal action - as a class action suit if possible - and to seek full restitution and double damages as provided for in the Consumer Credit Protection Act. [15 U.S.C. 1601].

Replies
GE Refrigerator Review / Complaint: Warranty not Honored
By -

FT LAUDERALE, FLORIDA -- It has been only two months since I have begun using my new GE Refrigerator Model PFCS1RKZA SS (Bottom Freezer Style) for which I paid approximately $2500. There is an annoying noise which can be heard from everywhere inside the house – the refrigerator emits the noise constantly and it seems to be coming from the motor-fan. I called GE to get it serviced through the warranty; however upon arrival the technician told me that "the noise is normal". I disagreed with because my son has the same model which does not make this noise. He confessed that he has never replaced that type of motor; that it was very complicated and it would take a lot of time and effort.

Then I asked him: ‘Do you mean I have to live with this noise?' – The technician promptly shrugged and left, which honestly upsets me. I later requested another service appointment to resolve the problem, but instead I got a phone call from the # 1.800.491.2737, a person that identified himself as a GE Engineer who “was trained by the same people who designed that refrigerator”. He told me that there was no problem with my refrigerator, and that if I wanted to get it serviced, he would have to bill me $79 for the second visit. So I asked him: ‘Why would I be billed $79 if you guys have not fixed the noise coming from my refrigerator and you say you will not fix it?'

He responded that he would then cancel the service appointment: So he did. Then I set another appointment through GE's website and was visited by another technician from the same repairing department. When he came into my house I noticed that he had a bit of an attitude problem: He was discourteous and aggressive. He only opened the refrigerator for what seemed like 2 seconds and told me that there was nothing wrong with it and then left without further instruction or explanation. In my opinion he didn't try to listen for the noise and was most likely already told that there was "no issue" so he did not look for one.

The same GE “engineer” called me later that day to inform that I was billed $79 dollar for the second servicing. I honestly rather they honor my warranty and fix the annoying buzzing sound that is coming from my refrigerator than I have to sit here and write these sort of reviews for the GE Appliance Service Department in Fort Lauderdale. However since they refuse to help me I find that this is the most effective way of warning other people about their quality of service. I recommend to anyone that would be serviced by this department to buy from a different brand.

Replies
GE faulty product quality, warranty service, lack of customer service
By -

Please note: Everything in this post is in regards to GE Canada, and the Canadian market. This is also a very brief summary of 10 pages of documents in my dispute with GE, and GE's authorized service contractors. April 1, 2007 purchased from Home Depot 3 Maytag appliances, (refrigerator, range and dishwasher) for delivery April 5, 2007. We donated our old appliances to Salvation Army and arranged for pickup on April 4, 2007. On evening of April 4, heard from Home Depot that Maytag had computer problems and the products could not be delivered until late the next week.

This was not satisfactory so Home Depot offered us comparable products from their in store inventory. Home Depot substituted the following GE products, side by side refrigerator (model GSS25XGPABB), free standing glass cooktop range (JCPB83HK2BB) and a dishwasher (GHD6310L15BB).

3 years, 6 months, and 17 days the problems started. Refrigerator started freezing produce, milk and other items, lowered cooling setting to lowest level and there wasn't any change. Checked our owner's manual and warranty to see if the repair was covered by GE (sealed system was covered for 5 years). Called Camco (GE Canada's service department) to get a clear explanation of what this meant. Informed the service tech would have to diagnosis the problem and he would determine if was cover by warranty.

November 3 - Direct Energy Tech (Camco authorized GE service) determined the main control board was defective, and was not covered by warranty - cost $374.62. He also advised me he put in a revised Main Control Module. He stated he used to carry 12 of the original boards in his truck at all times, but the new board was better and he only carried 6 currently.

November 7, our glass cooktop exploded for no apparent reason, (sent glass slivers up to 15 feet and shards of glass 4 feet. This is an extremely hazardous product and GE is aware of the problem, but instead it is the consumer's fault. Something must have fallen on the glass top and damaged it, or some other lame reason. November 10 - Refrigerator freezing produce and other products again, purchased refrigerator thermometer and the temperature was 22 degrees F (-5 degrees C). Call for service tech, unavailable until Nov 16.

November 15 - Received phone message from Home Depot store manager and GE customer care. I returned their calls but have been unable to contact either one to date. GE customer care on their message, stated she was sorry about our problems and the products were out of warranty, but she wanted to have a service tech look at the range to determine the if the range had something drop on it or if it was a thermal issue.

She advise us to have a authorized GE service tech look at it and file a report with her. We should initiate this. No discussion on who is paying for this. I called GE customer care person to clarify issues about charges and other things, as of yet she has not returned my call.

November 16 - GE authorized service replace the main control module in the refrigerator again, stating that he installed the wrong board. Checking other sites for this board to compare prices, I found the board he was installing and the one removed were no longer available in Canada. I showed him the exploded range, and told him GE Customer Care wanted a GE Tech to look at it and determine the cause of the problem and write a report. His response "Why did she say that, we can not determine the cause of the failure or what happened."

November 17 - Call GE Customer Care and left a message for the contact I have with them to call me to review where we are at regarding our issues. Went to Home Depot and spoke to store manager about problems and his response was "I will email the contact again and advise her you are heard and want to talk to her." No responses while I was there, so he sent her another email to let her know I was leaving and would be home in twenty minutes, to please contact me.

November 18 - No contact from GE. Just check produce drawer and again the produce is frozen. Call GE service again, and service manager advise me he would contact GE to see where we go from here.

Replies
GE Junk peddlers
By -

I agree about new GE crap. Not worth the risk unless you like having to replace it within a few years or less. Example: GE mini fluorescent under cabinet lighting bulb No. "GE F 21T5" in fixture "GE Order Code: UCF36/EBL", in which the bulb which is guaranteed on the packaging to last 9 years but only lasts 2-3 months. The fixture will no longer light a new bulb, only the bulb ends light slightly. GE's website "gelighting.com" does not recognize their own part number and will not allow email to be sent to them without a part number.

The 800-435-4448 customer assistance number put me on hold for 20 minutes then after explaining the problem and symptoms (with the bulb and fixture part numbers) to the customer service guy was told "Are you saying you can't buy a new bulb." I had just explained that I had two new bulbs in front of me and neither would light except for the ends. He said "GE still manufactures the bulbs". I repeated that I had two new bulbs in front of me and that neither light up. He said "You need another department, I only do light bulbs". He said "I will transfer you to the right department".

The person who answered at the next department (after I had explained the problem) said "You need a different department, we only do industrial and hazardous large commercial equipment and lighting". He then said "I might be able to find a number you can call". Home Depot where the fixture was purchased told me to call GE and that they will make it right, but don't bring it to us. That was when I was there to find a new bulb (which made two) to see if the previous one was bad.

To sum it up GE puts out inferior products from outsourced suppliers and will not act on their advertised guarantees. GE employees speak poor English, are unhelpful and in general don't know their '**' from a hole in the ground. I'm done with GE products (think China), so I won't tell the very lengthy story about my GE Profile range, it's a blood pressure thing. Buy American made, that means actually manufactured in the US.

Replies
Exploding glass stove door
By -

I bought a GE glass top stove a year ago. I loved this thing. It did everything I could ever want from a stove. I hate electric stoves as a rule, but this glass top is the next best thing to a gas stove. Tonight, my family and I were watching a title fight on TV when we heard an explosion from the kitchen. It sounded like a bomb had gone off! Then we heard popping sounds, as if popcorn was popping. We went into the kitchen and saw that the outer glass door on the oven had exploded. There was glass all over the kitchen and the glass on the floor was jumping up and down and making popping noises for almost 20 minutes after the explosion.

The stove top had been used for 20 minutes, 3 hours prior to the explosion. The oven had not been used for approx. 3 months before the explosion. What can I say? I don't do a lot of baking. Both were at room temperature. In other words, as cold as a stove can get. We weren't present in the room when the explosion happened, fortunately. If anyone had been in the kitchen, they would have been seriously injured.

Still trying to get hold of GE to see what they are going to do or not do. Contacted the lemon law folks to see if they can help us. Our state has a lemon law for appliances, so that may help us some. Well. As everyone knows, GE has extremely limited telephone hours. I see where this kind of thing happens a lot with GE stoves. If I had known that, I would have never purchased a GE. Unfortunately, it sounds like GE is going to sing the "It has never happened to anyone else before" song with us, as they have with all of the other people I have read about. I'll keep you posted on how we do with GE fixing or not fixing the stove.

Replies
Unacceptable Customer Service
By -

I had an appointment scheduled for both a GE washer and Dryer for Tuesday June 8. The technician did arrive within the scheduled appointment time. First, before even inspecting the units, the technician explained to me how GE management mistreated him and failed to trust him so he had to be extra careful to cover himself in case he was challenged on whether or not he actually made the service call. After a cursory inspection of both of the units, he proceeded to tell me that the dryer was cheap and that I should expect the noise it made. I found this response unacceptable and required to tech to keep looking. He then determined that the drum unit needed to be replaced – I am not sure if he made this diagnosis to shut me up or if he is correct because he did not have the dryer apart and simply made this call based on placing his hand flat against the rear of the dryer. Your tech then told me that he did not have the parts on his truck for either the washer or dryer and would have to order them When I pressed for more information he told me I was not in his area anyway and he was covering for someone else so it really was someone else's problem. I immediately called the customer relations department and talked to a very knowledgeable and caring individual who was able to calm me down. She told me that she could see in the system that the tech had ordered the parts and had rescheduled the appointment – unfortunately he had scheduled the repairs for 2 separate days and no one had bothered to ask me if either day was convenient – they also have both repairs scheduled for a full day so I am unable to plan anything for either day and must plan on being off work to accommodate GE. Today, June 14th, I received an unexpected delivery from Fedex – it turns out to be the drum unit for the dryer. Since I had not been told that this would come to my house I was concerned that the service group would not keep their appointment as they would be looking for the parts. I again called customer relations and talked to an individual who made me believe that I was an inconvenience and wasting her time by calling in. She told me that parts were normally delivered to customers homes and did not understand my concerns. I then asked her to try to get both appointments scheduled for the same day and was informed that this had already happened – the appointments had been changed and no one bothered to notify me! The customer service representative claimed that GE had no way to contact me. I find this response also unacceptable.
The service team has failed in almost every aspect of their job – from presenting GE in a good light, showing support for the products GE sells, and failing to ensure that the customer is satisfied. At this point, I believe that I should become anti-GE and make every effort to tell friends, relatives, and casual acquaintances about my bad experiences and make every effort to convince them to purchase different brands when they have a choice.

Replies
GE-THOMSON 52" TV FIRE HAZARD SHOULD BE RECALLED
By -

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- On Nov 5 2004 I purchased a GE 52" TV Model D52GW12 ORDER# BBY01-57154008470 amount paid $1190.74. In early Nov 2009 I started to notice that the screen went blank, I thought that it was the DVR, but on the evening of Nov 10 2009, in addition to the screen going blank, I heard a zapping sound and smelled a something burning coming from the rear of the TV. No other electrical disturbance was noticed at this time, the weather was normal, the TV was plugged into a surge protector. I immediately unplugged the TV fearing possible fire, luckily there was no damage to my house. Upon doing some research on the web I found out that this situation is prevalent in this model TV. Many people have experienced that exact same thing. Clearly this would indicate that there is an inherent defect built into this model TV that can be a potential safety hazard and reduces the life of the TV.

On Nov 12 I called GE service 1-800-447-1700 and spoke to Jed, I explained the situation and asked that GE be responsible for the cost of repair or replace the set due to unsafe nature of the TV, he declined my request. I asked for a supervisor. She was unavailable, but I was told that she would call me back later. She called back the wrong number and I did receive a call at 5:56 PM, she left a voice mail message, from a Sarah Towers who told me that GE would honor the "regular warranty", covering the TV for one year after purchase. and that I was responsible for any repairs which were estimated at $600. basically I'd pay for their mistake. I sent 2 emails to GE corporate:
directors@corporate. ge.com and Peter O'Toole Director of Public Relations peter. otoole@ge.com
asking for them to reevaluate their position. I have not had any reply.

I did receive a call from Mr. Ben Bierlerin After Sales Manager, 317-295-4348, he told me that "this thing happens to ALL rear projection TV's."
He also said that, "this is exactly what it was supposed to do in failure mode." I called him back to have him explain EXACTLY what the "failure mode" for a Model D52GW12 TV is. He has NOT returned my phone call. I would like to have it in writing the exact way in which this TV is supposed to fail.

I have tried to contact Mr. Jeffrey Immelt CEO GE, by he does not reply, email jeffrey. immelt@ge.com.

I have requested from GE-THOMSON the following:
1. the number of these model TV's sold domestically 2004-2006.
2. Of these number how many have experienced the problem that I have indicated.
I have NOT received a reply to these questions.

I called Nadra Maxwell Manager Operations Thomson, 317-587-4832 last week and apparently no one was there to take my call. I was told by the person that answered the phone that, "everyone was on vacation."

Presently I have filed complaints with:
The Better Business Bureau of Indianapolis
The Federal Trade Commission
US Consumer Product Safety Commission
State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection.
I urge others who are concerned about possible safety issues to do the same.

I believe that GE-THOMSON should stand behind their brand and their product. I believe that unless GE-THOMSON can prove otherwise and insure that this model TV is safe, they; GE-THOMSON, should repair or replace these TV's at no cost to the owner.

Replies
Appliance Repair Rip-off
By -

NORFOLK, VIRGINIA -- On June 9, 2009, I had service for my GE side-by-side refrigerator, model number ZISW36DTB. The problem was ice in the freezer section, running down the sides.

The technician came in, opened the door of the freezer and told me the unit needed an “ice kit”. After some discussion, he also added that it would be close to $900 for the repair. To say I was shocked is to put it mildly, and somewhat at a loss for words.

After I paid him $100 for this information, and he departed, I began to think about the situation and did some research on the web.

My first complaint is that the technician did no diagnostic testing at all. The extent of his diagnosis was to look in the freezer and see that it has ice in it. He did absolutely nothing to locate the failing part.

My second complaint is that it's unlikely all the parts in an “ice kit” are needed. In doing research on the web, I found that the ice tray heater (which seems like the most likely cause of the problem) is only about $60. Add $100 for labor to install it, and we're in the ball park of what I expected the repair to cost. Installing an “ice kit” is a scatter shot solution where you hope that if you change enough parts, one of them will be the failing part.

Now, GE may argue that it's “safer” to put a kit in because if one part failed, the others could also fail. But that's a choice for me to make, not for GE to force onto me. I may decide that if I can get another couple of years out of the refrigerator for $150, I'll do that and then buy a new one.

I am highly dissatisfied with the service I received. Essentially, the technician did absolutely nothing. I described the problem when I ordered the service and could have been told at that time about the “ice kit”. There was certainly no need for the technician to have to look into the freezer to confirm what I had reported.

To add insult to injury, after the technician left, I defrosted the freezer with a hair dryer and so far, the ice has not returned. So perhaps the drain was clogged, or the door had been left ajar. So I could have paid $1,000 for nothing.

It's clear the technician's focus was not in fixing my unit, but in maximizing the billing. Just a ripoff.

Replies
Absolutely Inexcusable...
By -

07442 -- My husband and I could not be less satisfied with the service we've received from General Electric over the past week. We are completely and utterly disgusted with the company.

On 5/22, we called General Electric because our GE fridge was not cold enough, and food was actually starting to spoil. Our fridge was only about seven months old and still under warranty, so I felt sure we'd be able to get someone to our house to fix it by the next day. Unfortunately, we were told the next available appointment would be 5/26, the following Tuesday (since Monday was Memorial Day) which meant that we would be without a fridge for at least three and a half days. I called GE again on Saturday morning, 5/23. I spoke to representatives and their supervisors, and was repeatedly told that there simply wasn't anyone working in our area until 5/26. At one point, I spoke to a representative who said she'd place us on a cancellation list so that we might be able to get a repairman over the weekend after all, if someone else cancelled an appointment. This turned out to be completely misleading, as this person's supervisor went on to inform me, a few minutes later, that there was no cancellation list (I'm not sure whether I was deliberately or unintentionally misled, but at this point neither would surprise me).

Desperate to have our fridge fixed, we called a local repairman who WAS working on Saturday. He told us that the defroster was broken, but he couldn't fix it that same day because he would need to order a new part. He advised us just to wait and have GE fix the fridge, and suggested calling GE right away so the repairman could bring the part on Tuesday when he came for our appointment. Of our limited options that seemed the best, so I called and spoke to yet another representative; she assured me she'd pass along the information, and told me that “90% of the time” the GE repairmen could fix a problem on the same day of the appointment.

On Tuesday, the repairman came WITHOUT the required parts. He diagnosed the problem (it was indeed the defroster) and informed us that the part we needed was on back order—which meant it would be at least a week before it even became available. To add insult to injury, the repairman then pushed the fridge back against the wall so hard that he broke the socket plate behind it. We discovered this the next day when we attempted to plug the fridge back into the wall (and took a few pictures for evidence).

So, to sum it all up, as of the evening of 5/27—nearly six days after first calling GE--we are still without a working fridge, and I really have no idea when it will be fixed (the representative at GE could not even guarantee us an immediate appointment when the part does eventually come in). I am in the process of seeking reimbursement for the spoiled food, but GE has already refused to compensate us for the repairman we hired on Saturday (although I intend to pursue that further). I also called to see if the refrigerator parts could possibly be delivered sooner, but with no luck. As of the time of this writing, I have not yet sought compensation for the broken socket plate (I discovered it after business hours on 5/27, so I was unable to contact the complaints department at GE that same day). Based on my our experience over the past few days, I wouldn't be shocked if GE told us there's nothing they can do about that.

The most anyone at GE was able to offer us for our trouble was an extension on our refrigerator's warranty. I accepted it at the time, but it struck me later that having a warranty from GE doesn't amount to much, given the length of time we have had to wait to get our appliance fixed.

I do not feel that GE has treated us well; quite honestly, I can't remember a time when I've been more disappointed in a company. Our fridge is seven months old. It's ridiculous enough that it already needs repair—I don't understand why GE hasn't been proactive in fixing it for us. GE may or may not be to blame for the broken defroster (that may have been damaged during delivery from Home Depot) but the service offered through GE has been remarkably poor. I don't know, at this point, that anything can be done to make up for the inconveniences GE has caused us, but I will state, unequivocally, that this is a company I will go out of my way not to do business with again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >