Preview Review

Next Review

General Electric Company Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Consumer Relations / Out of Warranty Appliance
By -

VIRGINIA -- I am a former employee of GE Consumer Relations and I would just like to give a little insight of what the representatives have to go through on every single call, and I do mean every call. You all call in extremely upset, sometimes abusive, because the representative can't give you what you demand. And yes, we do take it personally because some of you call us names, and act as if we made the appliance personally. GE has set forth guidelines that must be followed or that representative will be walked out the door.

I agree that a product should last more than a year, but the one year warranty is for repair only and not a replacement, after it expires it is the consumer's responsibility for repair. GE will not replace an in warranty unit unless a technician deems it non repairable and it still has to go through a review board for replacement. In some cases if the unit is out of the one year warranty and it is experiencing a safety issue then a service call can be set up and at the discretion of the service rep.

The service call can be waived, in other words, the tech can come to your home, diagnose the problem, let you know what the labor is, and then you can decide if you want to go forth with the repair. However, because the consumer is being very abusive and belligerent, the offer is not even discussed. We have been called the N word, trailer trash, the word that rhymes with itch, cursed out, "we hate your phone system," "I am going to get my attorney", "does any body speak English," "I want a tech to my house today," blah, blah, blah, you name it we have heard it.

Very seldom do calls come in from folks who are not yelling and screaming. It is a call center for goodness sakes, which means low pay and extremely stressful listening to folks screaming at you and making demands that can't be met. Do you all realize how stressful this can be. It is a nightmare.

When you call into consumer relations, regarding your of warranty appliance, your complaint is documented and then service is set up if you request. Otherwise there is nothing else that consumer relations can do, except assist with parts and waiving the home call charge, under no circumstances can labor be removed, not even by the supervisor on an out of warranty appliance. The rep does not have labor info, only the tech has that information.

So please, the next time you call GE regarding your out of warranty appliance, and due to the guidelines set in place, your demands can't be met, the next form of escalation is writing a letter to GE headquarters in Louisville, KY, the rep has the address.

From my experience the most hateful people that call in are the ones having trouble with their microwave and dishwashers. It is really sad how angry these people get because they can't "warm their soup" or wash dishes by hand. People call in who have a no cool fridge, or can't cook on their stove, and although still hateful, just not as hateful as the ones with the microwave and dishwasher problems.

Replies
Advertisement
GE Washing Machine fell apart after 3 weeks!
By -

ALABAMA -- On Dec. 5th, we purchased our washing machine, Model #WHDSR316G1WW. On Sunday, Dec. 23rd, it literally fell apart. When checking on a load we were washing, my husband found that the front of the machine was popped off, the metal frame around the tub on the top of the inside was popped out and bent down, which caused the tub to drop down, in turn breaking the plastic lining around the tub, and popping the back panel with the knobs up.

Immediately, I contacted GE, and spoke with "John", who was very nice, and advised that he entered a repair order, and that it normally takes 24-48 hours for an answer, but someone would definitely call me the next day, since the day after was Christmas. I made sure to give him our correct address, my home phone number, and my cellular phone number in case we were not at home when they called.

On Dec. 26th I still had heard nothing, so I called again. I first talked with a service tech, who said I needed to speak with Consumer Services and transferred me. After waiting for 45 minutes, I had to hang up, as I was at work. About an hour later, I called again, this time directly to Consumer Services. I spoke with "Tonya", who was very nice. She said that they did not have any service techs in our area, and they would have to submit a request to buy back our machine but it would take 24-48 hours for an answer.

Getting very upset at this point, I told her that time frame was unacceptable. I had already been without my machine for 4 days, I have a family of 4, and we live in a very rural area with no laundromats... I needed my machine. Within 30 minutes, Tonya called me back (**to date, she is the ONLY person at GE who has called me) she said that she escalated the issue to a supervisor, and someone at their corporate office.

The buy back had been approved, however, they did not have anyone near our area that could come and get the machine and bring us a check. So... now they tell me that I will have to mail to a PO box the cord and tag from the machine, wait for them to process the request, and then wait for the check to be mailed to me. Now, I am irate; this means that at a minimum I would have to wait at least 2 weeks, and that is ONLY IF they process it right away. For 2 more days, I constantly called, speaking with Consumer Services, supervisors, etc. At one point I was even asked if maybe my load of clothes that were washing got off balanced...

IS A WASHING MACHINE SUPPOSED TO FALL APART JUST BECAUSE A LOAD GETS OFF BALANCE??? Is it normal for a washing machine to break after 3 weeks of use??? I was told flat out by everyone I have spoken with that they have given me a resolution to the problem, and to them it is a reasonable time frame. I have constantly asked is there an address I can overnight the cord/tag to in order to speed up the process, is there a location I can take the machine to??? All I get is "Sorry."

Apparently it makes no difference that I have a family of 4 that includes 2 small children, and I can't wash clothes for them. Finally, Dec. 28th I contacted Home Depot. I was first told again that their company policy is once it leaves the store if there is a problem with a major appliance, you must contact the manufacturer.

The lady I spoke with was very helpful, even contacting GE to try to get a better resolution. Finally, she called the store I purchased the machine from. Within 1 hour, I received a call from the manager of the store, who himself had tried to talk with GE, and even looked for a GE tech around here to no avail. At this point he has offered to allow us to exchange the machine for a non-GE product. My husband and I both agree that after this experience, we will never again purchase a GE product.

Replies
GE Washer Nightmare
By -

CALIFORNIA -- My wife and I had our washing machine of many years breakdown and went to Sears outlet looking for a new one. We purchased a GE Front loader and had it delivered. We loaded it and found it would not spin. We called for service and after the repair person showed up the following Monday he told us it was not worth messing with and to return it. We went back to Sears and after arguing with them that we do not want more service calls and need a washer we were sold another washing machine that was a top loader and more expensive. We had it delivered and the other picked up.

Immediately when my wife tried to wash her first load the machine went into error mode and stopped. Again we called and were told we would need to go through the service calls. I went back to the store and finally got the supervisor to agree to pick up the washer and refund my money in full. Almost a month had gone by for the service call, deliveries, pick ups and phone calls. After many frustrating days and time spent staying home for deliveries, pick ups and service calls my wife and I headed out to Home Depot which were having a sale on washers. Here begins my GE nightmare.

My wife and I were directed to a front loader GE WHDVH626FWW by the sales person. She stated the machine was new but had been on display. After it was all said and done we would save a little over $200. Yes, again I was drawn to the discounted washer.

This time I called my brother to save about $60 in delivery charges and we took the heavy washer home. We at this point though there was no way possible we could get another broken washer. We were wrong. The washer would not fill with water. I tried to stay calm and immediately called for a GE service repair thinking it may be something minor. We were told by GE to be available on Monday between 9 and 5pm so I stayed home thinking it will just be this one time and probably a quick fix.

The service person came out and stated that he wasn't sure what was wrong but he was going to order a control board and inverter which should fix the problem. He also decided to replace the pressure switch while he was there just in case. He told me that it would take another week to get the part in or he would have fixed it sooner. Two days later the part arrives at the house.

I contacted the Service operator and was told she would update my information showing the part is on site and put me in for first available service. I told her of my past issues and that I had been waiting over a month to do my wash with a wife and three kids. She assured me they would see the call and respond sooner. I waited a day and called to check on my automated call status which still showed the original time. I waited another day and called the service operator but she stated I would have to wait for the first available call.

Monday came which was the date for the service call. I called in to verify my appointment again just in case. I began waiting and waiting but no repair person. I called the service operator and she advised me she would call the service department while I waited. She came back on the line and stated that they were not answering their phone and she could see that they had not responded to other service calls besides mine. She then casually advised me that I would have to make another service call.

I immediately advised her of all the time I had taken from work already for service calls and that they had cost me money and I wasn't free to stay at home everyday waiting for their service people. She again stated in an emotionless voice that I had to make another service call. I did.

The next day a service person called my phone while I was at work and told me he could come over and repair my washer. I told him the part had been delivered last Wednesday and he stated they weren't busy and why didn't someone tell them the part was in. I decided to forget he said that and immediately went home to meet him thinking this has got to be it

He replaced the control board and inverter. Again, nothing worked. He worked on the washer for over 2 hrs but again could not get it to work. He advised me that I should take it back and ask customer relations for a replacement. He gave me the number after printing a service ticket. He told me that he ordered a new motor on the ticket just in case but that I could just give it to the service person when he came to deliver the washer if I didn't need it.

At this point I'm thinking, OK just call customer relations now and they can order a new washer and what else could go wrong. The next day I call customer relations and they tell me the service person is the one who has to call them and order a replacement. She also states he has ordered a new motor and a new repair date and I will have to wait until he comes out. The repair date is 9 days away. She assures me that once he comes out he can call them and they will replace the washer for me. I argue until I turn blue and ask for different people I can call to make a complaint. I was told to go online and make a complaint but I have to wait.

While I'm waiting I go online and write out this long story. I submit and later that day receive a response. It's automated and states that I should call customer relations, who happen to be the ones who told me to call them. The email also states this is an automated reply please do not respond back.

Again the service date comes and I'm home from work. The service person comes in and tells me he must first install the motor before he does anything else. He puts the motor in and nothing works. He calls his service department and they tell him he must replace the door lock and it will be fixed. He does it and nothing. He calls them back for further instruction and they do not answer. He advised me that he must make another service call because he cannot do anything unless they tell him what to do next. I again advise him customer relations told me he would be able to call them for a replacement if this didn't work.

He advises me after we begin having a more casual conversation that GE never wants to give a replacement and they will try and replace part after part until I give up calling. He told me that he once spent over $2000 in service calls for a $49 microwave they wouldn't replace. He then told me what do you want me to do because he was supposed to start re-ordering the same parts again which was normal practice. I had him thoroughly document after some prodding all that was done and his suggestion that it should be replaced. He said he would then call me tomorrow with what their response is.

So this is where I stand. Although I still know I can call my brother back over load up the washer and hope Home Depot doesn't start screwing me around that isn't what is bothering me. What's bothering me is the fact a company like GE who puts decals on their service trucks stating call 1800 GE we care. We care about what!!!! They are a company who appears not to concern themselves with building reliable products or providing at the very least an honest service which leads to a quick resolution for their customers. I will never again purchase a GE product.

Replies
GE Refrigerator and GE Washing Machine
By -

GOSHEN, CONNECTICUT -- DO NOT PURCHASE GE appliances. They are nothing but aggravation. I purchased all new GE appliances when we built our house 5 years ago. The refrigerator was broken and 8 visits later from the service tech finally resolved the issue after I had researched the issue myself and found the part that needed to be replaced. The refrigerator froze all of the food in the refrigerator portion of the refrigerator several times. This left me with an empty refrigerator more than once. Several parts later the refrigerator is now operating.

The refrigerator was finally working the washing machine then ceased working. 3 trips from the approved GE service technician and a flooded laundry room (3 times) and a month and a half later the washing machine under a 10 year warranty was finally replaced. When the washing machine was replaced it was replaced with another washing machine of comparable value with a 1 yr. warranty. When I asked how this could be that I purchased a washing machine that had a 10 year warranty and now I am only receiving one with a 1 year warranty, I was told that there was nothing that could be done and that is how they operate now. I purchased the washer because it had a 10 year warranty. GE must have been losing money because their products do not last longer than a year.

Six months later the refrigerator ice maker has ceased working and the replacement washing machine is not working at all. As a matter of fact it runs and runs and runs and doesn't do anything. It won't fill with water and the timer is stuck on 8 mins.

Several hours of frustration and I still have no resolution. I spoke with a manager, Mrs. Adams, today after sitting on hold for 30 minutes, who was of no assistance whatsoever. She basically pulled the phone away from her ear and was not listening to me at all. At one point I even stopped talking and said “HELLO!”. She informed me that I am not being patient enough and allowing them enough time to work on the issue. I called Friday morning at 9:45 AM received a call back from the authorized service technician who says "Oh it's you again!" in a disgusted tone. As if this is my fault that the washer is broken. He says "I'll call GE and hangs up the phone". He did not say I will call GE and get back to you. I never heard from him all day Friday or all weekend or all day Monday.

At 4:50 PM I received a survey call in regards to the call I had placed. What kind of stupidity is this? 5 PM EST I called GE back to find out what was going on, since I haven't heard anything since Friday morning at 10:20 AM. After speaking to one representative and explaining the situation he says "Please hold". Ten minutes went by and another representative finally picks up and says they have no record of me ever calling and want all of my information all over again. "ARE YOU KIDDING ME!" After stating I had the authorization number I was told that they did have a record of it and that they needed to contact the authorized service technician. They got an answering machine and left him a message. "BIG DEAL!". I was told that there was nothing that could be done because the technician has accepted the authorization code and that I would have to wait for him to contact me back. Each time you call the GE number you are asked for your phone number and to confirm your name and address. I have confirmed my information with GE 8 times in the last two days. This couldn't be any more annoying. I just want the washing machine fixed! At this point I don't even want to think about dealing with the refrigerator. I do not have the time to sit around or be able to take off from work to wait for a service technician that gives you a window of 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM and then says I have to order a part and I'll be back in two weeks when the part comes in.

The kicker of it all is that GE has their own service representatives but they do not service my zip code but they do service 2 minutes down the road from me. Instead they use a service technician that is forty minutes away and he doesn't even want to service the machine.

I will never purchase another GE appliance and I will make damn sure that everyone I am acquainted with knows that their products are terrible and that their customer service is beyond pathetic.

Replies
Advertisement
GE faulty product quality, warranty service, lack of customer service
By -

Please note: Everything in this post is in regards to GE Canada, and the Canadian market. This is also a very brief summary of 10 pages of documents in my dispute with GE, and GE's authorized service contractors. April 1, 2007 purchased from Home Depot 3 Maytag appliances, (refrigerator, range and dishwasher) for delivery April 5, 2007. We donated our old appliances to Salvation Army and arranged for pickup on April 4, 2007. On evening of April 4, heard from Home Depot that Maytag had computer problems and the products could not be delivered until late the next week.

This was not satisfactory so Home Depot offered us comparable products from their in store inventory. Home Depot substituted the following GE products, side by side refrigerator (model GSS25XGPABB), free standing glass cooktop range (JCPB83HK2BB) and a dishwasher (GHD6310L15BB).

3 years, 6 months, and 17 days the problems started. Refrigerator started freezing produce, milk and other items, lowered cooling setting to lowest level and there wasn't any change. Checked our owner's manual and warranty to see if the repair was covered by GE (sealed system was covered for 5 years). Called Camco (GE Canada's service department) to get a clear explanation of what this meant. Informed the service tech would have to diagnosis the problem and he would determine if was cover by warranty.

November 3 - Direct Energy Tech (Camco authorized GE service) determined the main control board was defective, and was not covered by warranty - cost $374.62. He also advised me he put in a revised Main Control Module. He stated he used to carry 12 of the original boards in his truck at all times, but the new board was better and he only carried 6 currently.

November 7, our glass cooktop exploded for no apparent reason, (sent glass slivers up to 15 feet and shards of glass 4 feet. This is an extremely hazardous product and GE is aware of the problem, but instead it is the consumer's fault. Something must have fallen on the glass top and damaged it, or some other lame reason. November 10 - Refrigerator freezing produce and other products again, purchased refrigerator thermometer and the temperature was 22 degrees F (-5 degrees C). Call for service tech, unavailable until Nov 16.

November 15 - Received phone message from Home Depot store manager and GE customer care. I returned their calls but have been unable to contact either one to date. GE customer care on their message, stated she was sorry about our problems and the products were out of warranty, but she wanted to have a service tech look at the range to determine the if the range had something drop on it or if it was a thermal issue.

She advise us to have a authorized GE service tech look at it and file a report with her. We should initiate this. No discussion on who is paying for this. I called GE customer care person to clarify issues about charges and other things, as of yet she has not returned my call.

November 16 - GE authorized service replace the main control module in the refrigerator again, stating that he installed the wrong board. Checking other sites for this board to compare prices, I found the board he was installing and the one removed were no longer available in Canada. I showed him the exploded range, and told him GE Customer Care wanted a GE Tech to look at it and determine the cause of the problem and write a report. His response "Why did she say that, we can not determine the cause of the failure or what happened."

November 17 - Call GE Customer Care and left a message for the contact I have with them to call me to review where we are at regarding our issues. Went to Home Depot and spoke to store manager about problems and his response was "I will email the contact again and advise her you are heard and want to talk to her." No responses while I was there, so he sent her another email to let her know I was leaving and would be home in twenty minutes, to please contact me.

November 18 - No contact from GE. Just check produce drawer and again the produce is frozen. Call GE service again, and service manager advise me he would contact GE to see where we go from here.

Replies
Unacceptable Customer Service
By -

I had an appointment scheduled for both a GE washer and Dryer for Tuesday June 8. The technician did arrive within the scheduled appointment time. First, before even inspecting the units, the technician explained to me how GE management mistreated him and failed to trust him so he had to be extra careful to cover himself in case he was challenged on whether or not he actually made the service call. After a cursory inspection of both of the units, he proceeded to tell me that the dryer was cheap and that I should expect the noise it made. I found this response unacceptable and required to tech to keep looking.

He then determined that the drum unit needed to be replaced – I am not sure if he made this diagnosis to shut me up or if he is correct because he did not have the dryer apart and simply made this call based on placing his hand flat against the rear of the dryer. Your tech then told me that he did not have the parts on his truck for either the washer or dryer and would have to order them. When I pressed for more information he told me I was not in his area anyway and he was covering for someone else so it really was someone else's problem.

I immediately called the customer relations department and talked to a very knowledgeable and caring individual who was able to calm me down. She told me that she could see in the system that the tech had ordered the parts and had rescheduled the appointment – unfortunately he had scheduled the repairs for 2 separate days and no one had bothered to ask me if either day was convenient – they also have both repairs scheduled for a full day so I am unable to plan anything for either day and must plan on being off work to accommodate GE.

Today, June 14th, I received an unexpected delivery from Fedex – it turns out to be the drum unit for the dryer. Since I had not been told that this would come to my house I was concerned that the service group would not keep their appointment as they would be looking for the parts. I again called customer relations and talked to an individual who made me believe that I was an inconvenience and wasting her time by calling in. She told me that parts were normally delivered to customers homes and did not understand my concerns.

I then asked her to try to get both appointments scheduled for the same day and was informed that this had already happened – the appointments had been changed and no one bothered to notify me! The customer service representative claimed that GE had no way to contact me. I find this response also unacceptable.

The service team has failed in almost every aspect of their job – from presenting GE in a good light, showing support for the products GE sells, and failing to ensure that the customer is satisfied. At this point, I believe that I should become anti-GE and make every effort to tell friends, relatives, and casual acquaintances about my bad experiences and make every effort to convince them to purchase different brands when they have a choice.

Replies
GE Money & Loews Credit Collection Harassment
By -

NORTH WILKESBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- GE MONEY & LOEWS FINANCIAL have been harassing me for the past several weeks attempting to collect a debt for an account holder with the same first and last name as mine, but is not me, nor my debt. First of all, I have never applied for a LOEWS credit card, nor have I ever owned one. I am not even a home owner, so not much home improvement going on at my place by me. I originally received a letter attempting to collect a debt in the amount of $935.00. I was surprised to receive the letter knowing I had never owned or applied for services through GE, or LOEWS.

That day I ran my credit (and paid the credit site fees out of pocket) to see if someone had stolen my identity and was attempting to use my information to obtain services and credit. I was pleased to find that nothing was reporting to my credit from LOEWS or GE MONEY. I then called GE MONEY & LOEWS FINANCIAL at the number posted on the letter. I informed them that I didn't think they had the correct individual, and they asked to confirm my social security number. I gave them the last 4 digits, which DID NOT match the SS# they had in their collection records.

I then asked to confirm the additional information on the account to see if they had my phone number, or address. According to the rep, they additional information did not match mine either. She stated that it appeared to be a mix up, and that they most likely found my information through "skip tracing" and that she would remove my info and note on the account what she had found. I then wrote what she had advised me to on the letter and returned it as instructed. She stated I SHOULDN'T be getting any more mail or communication regarding the matter. I felt like matters had been addressed accordingly and gave it no more thought, until...

I received yet another letter, and another, and another in the same week. All four letters came after our conversation, so I assumed they were already in the mail, called GE MONEY to tell them that I was still getting mail and send the additional letters back as I did the first time exactly as they instructed me to. Again, the representative told me I shouldn't be getting any more letters, and that she had COMPLETELY removed my info from their system (which apparently didn't match what they had on record, that they magically denied having every time I called about the letters).

So, the next week I was happy to see that no more letters came from GE MONEY or LOEWS FINANCIAL. However, at this time they started in with the harassing phone calls. So, I had finally gotten the letter issue handled and they started calling me instead. The issue I have here is that I gave them my phone information so they wouldn't call me, and then I started getting calls, so it was easy to assume that they had started using the information I gave them to continue to harass me for a debt that isn't even owed by me, or anyone I know.

I nicely requested each time they called me that they review their notes on the account and that they kindly see that I stop getting these types of calls, and that it was getting pretty old after having received an average of 4 calls a day to my cell phone over the course of the week. Each time I got a new representative who called me, I told them the same thing, and was as polite as I could be (not my typical reaction to these mistakes, but I was trying to be nice).

Each time I was assured that my information was out of their system, and that they have no record of me in it, and that I wouldn't be receiving any more calls to my cell phone. At that time, I was under the impression that things were handled and that I wouldn't be getting any more calls. Not so lucky...

The next week, and weekend. I was again surprised (getting harder though since now nothing would surprise me from these people) to get another call, this time it was on my home phone, which I don't even give out or use for any reason. The other funny thing, is that my phone bill for my house isn't even in my name, it's in my roommates name. I was literally steaming as I was trying to spend Valentine's Day with my sweetheart and during our movie, the damn COMCAST caller id kept popping up saying it's GE MONEY calling. Arggg.

At this point I had had enough from these people, and felt like it was not borderline harassment anymore, but was now full-fledged harassment. I immediately phoned the number that was calling. I asked to speak with a supervisor, got a new person, asked to speak with their supervisor. When I finally got to the person who told me they were as high as I could go, I explained what was happening (basically everything I wrote above) and that I was not happy at this point about the way this matter was being dealt with.

I then told the representative that if I got even ONE MORE call, period, that I was going to write reviews and pursue the harassment by any means necessary including via my State's Attorney General (Rob McKenna), the Better Business Bureau (BBB), the FTC and Online through review sites, blogs, forums, Twitter, Youtube, etc. and any other way I could find. She nicely listened to my rant and assured me that AGAIN, FOR THE TENTH TIME, that I WOULDN'T receive any more calls, either on my cell or at home. And that after 30 minutes I FOR SURE wouldn't be getting any more calls to any of my numbers.

She also attempted to transfer me to the Fraud Dept. so that I could have them investigate the matter from their end. I am not sure why she suggested that, but figured anyone I could get to remove my information on their end would be better than taking their word for it. So, during the transfer I got cut off, had to phone back and wait forever to get back where I was. Finally got through and turns out the Fraud Dept isn't even open on weekends. I decided to give them one more chance at this point and went on with my Valentine's Day. Did not get any more calls thank heavens.

First thing on Monday, I phoned the Fraud Dept. to follow up with what the representative and I had spoken about on Sunday. I got on with a very nice gal at the Fraud Dept. that was nice and seemed very helpful. She informed me that it wasn't Fraud, that it was a mix up because that they skip trace for information that may or may not match information they have on record for their accounts. She kept using the word skip trace. To me this whole scenario seemed weird. And had never had anything like that happen before in my 28 years.

She also assured me that my info would be cleared on her end, and that I shouldn't be getting any more calls, unless they run another skip trace and end up with my information again. I told her that wasn't acceptable, and if they were going to use random information like that, that they needed to have a way of removing information that was deemed to be invalid for their actual account holder, that way, people like me wouldn't be getting harassed like I had been. She said she couldn't do anything and that she had removed my information and that I need not worry about calls.

Less than 30 minutes later, on Monday I got another call from GE MONEY and LOEWS FINANCIAL on my cell phone. "Are you kidding me?" I asked. Needless to say, I was not nice to the last person, I told them that this call was the straw that broke it for me, and that I was going to follow through with my promise to report them, review them, and plaster my story all over the Internet. So, that's what I'm doing. I usually don't even write reviews online, nor do I have time to do such things. I just really feel like this is all wrong and that if I don't speak up it might continue to happen to me, and others out there.

If you find yourself in a similar situation with GE MONEY and LOEWS FINANCIAL don't wait as long as I did to start speaking up. Seriously, I tried to be nice and it doesn't cut it with these collection people. If I were you, and had it to do over again, I would have reported it to my State's Attorney General, BBB, FTC and all over the Internet from the beginning. Take my work for it, the squeaky wheel tends to get the grease.

Replies
GE-THOMSON 52" TV FIRE HAZARD SHOULD BE RECALLED
By -

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- On Nov 5 2004 I purchased a GE 52" TV Model D52GW12 ORDER# ** amount paid $1190.74. In early Nov 2009 I started to notice that the screen went blank, I thought that it was the DVR, but on the evening of Nov 10 2009, in addition to the screen going blank, I heard a zapping sound and smelled a something burning coming from the rear of the TV. No other electrical disturbance was noticed at this time, the weather was normal, the TV was plugged into a surge protector. I immediately unplugged the TV fearing possible fire. Luckily there was no damage to my house.

Upon doing some research on the web I found out that this situation is prevalent in this model TV. Many people have experienced that exact same thing. Clearly this would indicate that there is an inherent defect built into this model TV that can be a potential safety hazard and reduces the life of the TV. On Nov 12 I called GE service 1-800-447-1700 and spoke to Jed. I explained the situation and asked that GE be responsible for the cost of repair or replace the set due to unsafe nature of the TV, he declined my request. I asked for a supervisor. She was unavailable, but I was told that she would call me back later.

She called back the wrong number and I did receive a call at 5:56 PM. She left a voicemail message, from a Sarah ** who told me that GE would honor the "regular warranty", covering the TV for one year after purchase. and that I was responsible for any repairs which were estimated at $600. Basically I'd pay for their mistake. I sent 2 emails to GE corporate: directors@corporate.ge.com and Peter O'Toole Director of Public Relations peter. otoole@ge.com - asking for them to re-evaluate their position. I have not had any reply.

I did receive a call from Mr. Ben ** After Sales Manager, **. He told me that €œthis "thing happens to ALL rear projection TV'€™s." He also said that "€œthis is exactly what it was supposed to do in failure mode." I called him back to have him explain EXACTLY what the "€œfailure mode"€ for a Model D52GW12 TV is. He has NOT returned my phone call. I would like to have it in writing the exact way in which this TV is supposed to fail.

I have tried to contact Mr. Jeffrey Immelt CEO GE, but he does not reply. Email: jeffrey.immelt@ge.com. I have requested from GE-THOMSON the following: 1. the number of these model TVs sold domestically 2004-2006.
2. Of these number how many have experienced the problem that I have indicated? I have NOT received a reply to these questions.

I called Nadra ** Manager Operations Thomson, ** last week and apparently no one was there to take my call. I was told by the person that answered the phone that, "everyone was on vacation." Presently I have filed complaints with: The Better Business Bureau of Indianapolis, The Federal Trade Commission, US Consumer Product Safety Commission, State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection. I urge others who are concerned about possible safety issues to do the same.

I believe that GE-THOMSON should stand behind their brand and their product. I believe that unless GE-THOMSON can prove otherwise and insure that this model TV is safe, they GE-THOMSON, should repair or replace these TVs at no cost to the owner.

Replies
Advertisement
Absolutely Inexcusable...
By -

07442 -- My husband and I could not be less satisfied with the service we've received from General Electric over the past week. We are completely and utterly disgusted with the company. On 5/22, we called General Electric because our GE fridge was not cold enough, and food was actually starting to spoil. Our fridge was only about seven months old and still under warranty, so I felt sure we'd be able to get someone to our house to fix it by the next day. Unfortunately, we were told the next available appointment would be 5/26, the following Tuesday (since Monday was Memorial Day) which meant that we would be without a fridge for at least three and a half days.

I called GE again on Saturday morning, 5/23. I spoke to representatives and their supervisors, and was repeatedly told that there simply wasn't anyone working in our area until 5/26. At one point, I spoke to a representative who said she'd place us on a cancellation list so that we might be able to get a repairman over the weekend after all, if someone else cancelled an appointment. This turned out to be completely misleading, as this person's supervisor went on to inform me, a few minutes later, that there was no cancellation list (I'm not sure whether I was deliberately or unintentionally misled, but at this point neither would surprise me).

Desperate to have our fridge fixed, we called a local repairman who WAS working on Saturday. He told us that the defroster was broken, but he couldn't fix it that same day because he would need to order a new part. He advised us just to wait and have GE fix the fridge, and suggested calling GE right away so the repairman could bring the part on Tuesday when he came for our appointment. Of our limited options that seemed the best, so I called and spoke to yet another representative; she assured me she'd pass along the information, and told me that “90% of the time” the GE repairmen could fix a problem on the same day of the appointment.

On Tuesday, the repairman came WITHOUT the required parts. He diagnosed the problem (it was indeed the defroster) and informed us that the part we needed was on back order — which meant it would be at least a week before it even became available. To add insult to injury, the repairman then pushed the fridge back against the wall so hard that he broke the socket plate behind it. We discovered this the next day when we attempted to plug the fridge back into the wall (and took a few pictures for evidence).

So, to sum it all up, as of the evening of 5/27 — nearly six days after first calling GE, we are still without a working fridge, and I really have no idea when it will be fixed (the representative at GE could not even guarantee us an immediate appointment when the part does eventually come in). I am in the process of seeking reimbursement for the spoiled food, but GE has already refused to compensate us for the repairman we hired on Saturday (although I intend to pursue that further). I also called to see if the refrigerator parts could possibly be delivered sooner, but with no luck.

As of the time of this writing, I have not yet sought compensation for the broken socket plate (I discovered it after business hours on 5/27, so I was unable to contact the complaints department at GE that same day). Based on our experience over the past few days, I wouldn't be shocked if GE told us there's nothing they can do about that.

The most anyone at GE was able to offer us for our trouble was an extension on our refrigerator's warranty. I accepted it at the time, but it struck me later that having a warranty from GE doesn't amount to much, given the length of time we have had to wait to get our appliance fixed.

I do not feel that GE has treated us well; quite honestly, I can't remember a time when I've been more disappointed in a company. Our fridge is seven months old. It's ridiculous enough that it already needs repair — I don't understand why GE hasn't been proactive in fixing it for us.

GE may or may not be to blame for the broken defroster (that may have been damaged during delivery from Home Depot) but the service offered through GE has been remarkably poor. I don't know, at this point, that anything can be done to make up for the inconveniences GE has caused us, but I will state, unequivocally, that this is a company I will go out of my way not to do business with again.

Replies
Customer Service
By -

MARLBOROUGH, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- My wife and I purchase a GE dishwasher less than a year ago. This last July it stopped working. My wife made a service call to the company. They had us call a service tech to come out and fix the machine. We were informed that this company is no longer in service. We called GE back to let them know, they gave us another company to call. We called left a message. 2 days went by no return call. We called again, an individual answered to tell us that they turned down the service call because they were too busy to come out. She went to say they called GE back immediately to tell them.

GE never called us to let us know the service call was turned down. We then called GE back again, to let them know that this company will not be able to help us. They gave us yet another company to come out and fix the machine. We called left a message with the receptionist. We were told that a tech would be in touch that day. No one called us that day. We called back again the next day. Spoke to Tech who came out that day, looked at the machine and told us it needed a part and he was going to order the part once he got back to the shop.

After two weeks of us constantly calling to find out where the part is and the tech telling us that GE has not been any help to him getting the part, or him wondering why it is taking so long for him to get a part; he suggested we call GE ourselves. My wife calls GE to find out why it is taking so long to get a part out to the tech. They tell her that they will be sending the part overnight to us. Now this is after my wife and I both tell them that this is ridiculous waiting this long for a part. This is now early August, we have filthy standing water in the machine.

The kitchen smells simply awful with all the hot weather we were having and us cancelling dinner dates with friends because it was embarrassing to have people come over with our kitchen smelling like it was. When the part arrives we call the tech. He comes out, installs the part, starts the machine, nothing happens. He checks all the connections, tries a few things, tries it again--nothing happens. It is decided they sent us a faulty part. He puts the old part in, it goes through a cycle, yet it will not restart. He tells us he will GE himself and ask a tech there if there was anything else he could've done. My wife also calls GE to tell them that the part was faulty.

At this point we are pretty much fed up with GE. After a long lengthy and somewhat heated discussion with their representative they gave us an extension of 6 months on our warranty. My wife went on to ask if this cannot be remedied she would like a refund of our money since we purchased a GE product and have a machine we simply cannot use. The response was a prompt, "we do not give refunds". My wife went on to ask what they are intending to do to rectify this problem and also she wanted to speak to someone above her. The response was "that can't be done, you will need to write a letter and wait for someone to respond".

Frustrated my wife went on to ask if this representative was at all willing to remedy this problem. The representative told her she would again overnight a part to us and also to our tech. This is now September we have been unable to use an appliance we purchased for almost 2 months and receiving no customer support through GE. My called a lawyer to get advice who suggested we call the store we bought the appliance at. We called the hardware store explained our problem. They got a hold of a manager who was very understanding, the manager told us that if this part does not work call him back and he will swap the machine out for a new one.

The part arrives, tech comes down, installs the part, machine goes through a cycle, then does not work. He also goes on to tell me that GE is trying to sell their appliance part of the business, yet no one has made a bid. This of course explains why they are not very helpful. I finally send an e-mail outlining my immense displeasure and overwhelming disappointment with how they handled this problem and how I can't believe how they do not stand behind their product. I receive a computer generated response. So no one in customer service even saw this complaint.

So I sent yet another e-mailing detailing my disbelief that my complaint was not important enough for them that they had a computer respond. I went to say that I wanted a personnel response by either e-mail or phone and that it must be by a manager. We got a phone call from a representative who basically was impersonal about the problem and it still is unresolved. My wife has in fact spoke with the same representative today whom has told us she would swap out our GE dishwasher with yet another GE dishwasher. My wife told her why would I want another GE dishwasher. She tried again to get our money back, and yet again we do not give refunds.

Needless to say we have decided that we will never buy another GE product again and I will make a point to investigate anything to see if GE is involved and avoid that item. I will also make it my objective to tell everyone how badly we were treated by GE.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

General Electric Company Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 56 ratings and
354 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
General Electric Company
3135 Easton Tpke
Fairfield, CT 06432-1008
203-373-2211 (ph)
GE (fax)
www.ge.com
richard.wacker@corporate.ge.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies