Kia Motors - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 19 ratings and
81 reviews & complaints.
www.kia.com
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Bad Service - Felt They Tried to Intimidate Me- Gender /Age
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARBONDALE, ILLINOIS -- Kia 2009 Sorento had new tires installed and back brakes 1-27-2014, & at that time the oil pan gasket and value gasket was replaced. Had been notified of the oil seepage in Dec. 2013 and since they said not urgent I had work done in Jan. 2014. In Feb. 2014, noticed what I thought was oil leaking on my carport; took car in to dealership and was told they had failed to reconnect a coolant hose. April 8 2014, took car in for regular maintenance, oil change and lube; checklist and computerized invoice was folded in half and handed to me with no comment made about any problems.

The next day (4-9-14) I reviewed the inspection checklist and saw the notation that there was an oil leak from the oil pan gasket and the value cover gasket; these had been replaced 1-27-14. On the computerized invoice it stated that work was recommended but not performed that I would have work performed later. This statement was untrue, I had not been notified of the problem. I talked with Ser. Dept. Mgr. 4-9-14. Made arrangement to get loaner car when work could be scheduled; the gaskets had to be ordered. I told him of the false statement on the invoice. He questioned the tech and was told "he thought he had mentioned it to me".

Finally got car in for repairs 4-14-14; drove loaner home, got call car was ready at 245p. When I got home, I compared the inspection sheet from 4-8-14 and 4-14-14... Tire tread depth and remaining brakes front and back were grossly off... From 4-8-14 to 4-14-14 I had only driven 154 miles (mileage is noted on the inspection sheets). I called again 4-15-14. Excuses were made but tech finally said the inspection 4-8-14 was correct. They had hurried to get my car finished and had not done measurements correctly. Things went down hill from there, was contacted by a Manager later that day and told him the entire problem.

On 4-16-14 was contacted by Public Relations who tried intimidation by asking several times "what would it take to make you happy". The third time, I said "pay off my car and give me a three year lease on a new Kia Sorento (no, I did not want or expect that at all but was really tired of this conversation). I was told let me see what I can do.
Long and short is, as of this date have heard no more from that Kia dealership.

Replies
Don't Ever Finance Through KIA!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA -- I have two 2011 leased Kia Sorentos, neither of which, by the way, has lived up to the low mileage promises. But the worst of my experience has been dealing with Kia Motors Finance. They have a process center that receives check payments. It's the only company I deal with that repeatedly fails to credit my account even though checks are mailed 10 or more days prior to due date.

I've had to stop payment on two checks to avoid being double-billed because Kia Finance's process center fails to credit my account. Adding insult to injury, their phone in "customer service" center has never once recognized my account number or the famous "last four of my SSN", requiring that I remain on hold for long periods before being transferred to at least 3 departments. Unbelievable!!

Thank the good Lord for online banking through my trustworthy and competent credit union. I would never trust KIA Finance to pay online either. The good from all this? I'll pay cash for my next vehicle and I can pretty much guarantee it won't be a Kia.

Replies
Kia Is a Great Car!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Well owning 2 Kias now and never having a problem with either one, I can honestly say that they're a great car. We have to remember anything made by man will fail at some point. Kias are like any other car. You must follow the service schedule. If Kias were a piece of junk why are they up double digits and the American cars are down. OH! let's not forget the bail out and that is why some of the American cars dealers are up because they can afford to cut the price of their cars. Kia didn't take a bail! So all you out there that haven't seen or looked at the Kia product in the last 5 years, wake up and take a look..

Replies
Very Bad Service, Bad Business Practices
By -

GREENSBORO, BATTLEGROUND AVENUE, NORTH CAROLINA -- Yes, My credit is less than perfect, but the Kia dealership in Greensboro, NC on Battleground Ave. put me in the car I wanted and let me drive off the lot with finance papers in hand. I was called back to the dealership less than a week later stating I had additional paperwork to fill out. But once I got there, I was informed they could not get me financed. I then decided that I would cut my losses, take back my trade-in and call it even.

I was informed that my trade in had been sold and I had no choice but to take a lesser value car... OK... I'm not a pro at this business so I took them at their word. I took a lesser value car but at the same payment amount and, what do you know, the same exact finance company. Two days later I lost my job and this past Monday 5/23/2011 I spoke with a representative at that finance company who informed me that they would not be able to finance me due to the jobless issue.

I then contact the general sales mgr and he advised me to come into the dealership to talk. Once I got there his attitude changed for the worse. He paraded up and down the showroom letting customers and agents alike know that he wasn't happy with me.

Now he is mad at me because he could not get me financed not once but twice. I explained to him that since my 2nd visit, I had lost my job and the best thing for us both is to call off the deal. After all, I had already been told by that same finance company that they are unable to buy the loan.... So give me back my trade-in and call it a day. He then told me that my trade-in was gone and he had indeed gotten me financed but would not tell me who that finance company is. He then informed me that he would no longer deal with me, walked away and left me standing in the dealership, no resolution what so ever.

He would not speak with me after that but did manage to yell across the entire dealership that he would not be intimidated by anyone.... How can you intimidate if you are asking fair & honest questions regarding the deal or the company in which you are supposed to have financing with? Why won't he speak to me? What is he hiding?
I have filed a complaint with the NC Attorney General's Office and have already spoken to one of their representatives who has confirmed that at best, there is something wrong here!!!! STAY AWAY FROM THE KIA DEALERSHIP in Greensboro, N. C. Battleground Avenue.

Replies
2004 KIA AMANTI... a Beautiful Fraud & The Perfect Scam!
By -

7777 KIA PARKWAY, WEST POINT, GEORGIA -- I fell for the beautiful reminders of the Mercedes and Jaguar. I really wanted and was sold by the price and the 10 year or 100,000 miles "Bumper to Bumper" warranty... As it turns out the warranty is a farce! I have spent so much money on this car. It's not funny at all. I kept bringing in the car for the same reason... over an over again there was always something wrong with the catalytic converter. I looked all over online and did not find any recalls. Does anyone out there know of any recalls for the 2004 Kia Amanti?

When I googled Kia complaints I couldn't find anything... Not until I began searching 20 pages into it. Clearly Kia Motors has a team of people burying complaints so they don't surface immediately, but once you are in 15 to 20 pages deep, all the Kia complaints begin to show up! Just on this site alone there are thousands of complaints! Here is mine:

  1. Kia does not honor a bumper to bumper warranty. That the catch to get you to buy, but then they tell you that it's actually a 30K 3 year warranty for some stuff and a 5-year or 60K warranty for the rest. Their dealerships' service departments won't let you even get as little as an oil change elsewhere before they accuse you of not been able to honor the warranty. I was supposed to get loaners during auto repair as well as roadside assistance... Well that's just before 30K miles. After 30K miles, you are screwed. At least that's what happened to me.

  2. Kia should recall many of their vehicles... They are worse than Toyota.. They are just really good at covering up all their vehicles flaws... I have had the same problem with my Kia since I bought it brand new...12 miles. Catalytic converter.

My Kia has well over 80K miles now. I just got finished spending 2K fixing the lack of acceleration and smoke coming out of the muffler problems in January 2010. The service guy told me I should junk my car and trade it in. The car is beautiful. I've never been in an accident and the body is intact. I can finally begin enjoying the car without a car payment, so I gracefully declined... particularly because he said they would only give me 4K for the trade.

I got my car towed back to the dealership for the same exact problem again on March 25, 2010... same symptoms. The service guy told me I needed to replace the timing belt before it broke and that replacing the water pump made sense because of where the work had to be done. He also fixed some other stuff... The cost for the repairs was $1500 plus. Since they did not have a belt in stock, I had to wait a week. They won't give me a loaner or pay for the rental because as they said... "that expired at 30K miles".

So last week the service guy calls me and says that the car was ready but when they took it for a test drive, the car was smoking and the acceleration was weak (note the reason I brought it in in the first place). He said "the catalytic converter needed to be replaced" and that would be another $800.00. My complaint is this: If I bring them the car with a problem and they misdiagnose and fix the wrong thing... how am I stuck with the bill? I feel I should pay for the replacement of the catalytic converter and not for the other stuff.

I am sure that the catalytic converter needed replacement since I purchase the car, but they just kept patching it until the warranty expired. I wrote to Kia and they have been extremely non responsive telling me I must work it out with the dealership... Why didn't I get the Honda in the first place? Screw Kia! They have fake warranties to lure you in with their poor quality product and crappy repair service! DON'T BUY KIA!

Replies
Faulty Design in Passenger Seat
By -

ILLINOIS -- I recently purchased a 2007 Kia Optima from a local dealer. The first week I had the car, what I noticed was that when my wife sat in the front passenger seat, the warning light on the dash would remain illuminated, indicating that the passenger airbags were "off". Mind you, she weighs 150 lbs., so certainly the sensors in her seat should be able to detect that a full-sized adult is sitting in the seat, and therefore the airbag system should be fully activated.

I phoned the dealer, and got a guy on the phone from the service dept. After telling him the problem, his answer was it was probably due to the way my wife was sitting in the seat. In other words, she has to sit exactly a certain way, and be very conscious of how she first sits in the car. Otherwise the sensors in the seat will not pick up the proper signal, and the airbag light will not turn off. This of course means, in the event of a crash, her airbags would not deploy!!

Yesterday, I brought my Optima in to the dealer to have this problem addressed by a mechanic to see if in fact there was anything defective with the seat. After nearly two hours of waiting, I was approached by the service manager, who showed me a bulletin he had recently received from the Kia corporation relating to the very issue that I was concerned about. This bulletin went on to say that the passenger body must be positioned in a very exacting way when they first sit in the passenger seat.

The proper positioning on the seat, especially the way they extend their legs, is vital in those first few moments. If the said passenger does not sit properly in the first few moments, the sensors in the seat will not recognize the individual as a full-sized person, therefore the air bags would not deploy in the event of a crash!! I then walked out into the service area, and personally spoke with the mechanic who had been checking my car. He was quite clear with his explanation, and he concurred with the bulletin about how an individual sits in the passenger depends on the way the sensors read the person, and how they then react.

In summation, this design of the sensors is clearly a flaw. Why should I, as the driver, or my front passenger, have to worry about how to sit their body in the front seat??? The airbag system in my wife's Honda, as a comparison, is always "on". The only time it is deactivated is if it recognizes something light on her passenger front seat, such as her handbag when she sets it on the seat. It is only then that the "passenger air bag off" light is illuminated. I love my Kia Optima otherwise, it is a well-built vehicle. But this airbag issue apparently has become an issue with other consumers besides me. It hopefully will be rectified in future models.

Replies
Kia Warranty Worthless
By -

GILBERT, ARIZONA -- I have a 2005 Kia Spectra with 32,000 miles on it that I bought brand new. The car just stopped running with no prior symptoms while driving down the freeway 6/11/2007 and the car was towed to the nearest Kia dealership, Desert Kia in Gilbert, AZ. They told me the car needed a new battery. I told them I had put a new one in after the car died and it still wouldn't start. Then they said I needed to use a Kia battery because aftermarket batteries won't work in some of their cars. My ex-husband just happens to be a battery expert, and he called and told them that was a load of crap. They changed their story while talking to him and said there was an electrical problem, but they were having difficulties diagnosing exactly what the problem was.

On 6/21/2007, they finally told me the car needed a brand new motor and they would not honor the warranty because I live in Arizona and did not have the severe weather maintenance done at 15,000 and 30,000 miles. They hadn't even asked me for those records (which I don't have because the owner's manual says they are "recommended"). All they asked me for was oil change receipts, which I provided to them.

After 10 days with no car and no word on what was wrong with it, now they're telling me I need to pay them $7,000 for a new motor. They're saying the flex plate cracked and went up into the motor and damaged the motor. But they're refusing to honor the warranty due to lack of maintenance records which they have never requested from me and don't even know if I have or not?!? And $7,000 seems like a lot for a car that was $11,000 brand new...?

I called Tempe Kia to see if I could have the car towed over there to have the warranty work done. Someone named ** told me not to bother because if the warranty was denied at one Kia dealership, another one cannot then do the work. He also said that if Kia is able to find a loophole in order to not have to honor the warranty, they will find it - whether it is related to the repairs needed or not. Oil changes and severe weather service would not have prevented my flex plate from cracking, but they are using that as an excuse not to honor the warranty and there's nothing I can do about it.

I have asked them repeatedly to provide me with something in writing showing exactly what is wrong with the car, what caused it, what it would take to fix it and if the warranty doesn't cover it then why not. They will not provide me with the info in writing. They will tell me over the phone what is wrong, and their story changes every time I talk to them and is completely different when my ex-husband calls. But they will give us nothing in writing.

Now I'm faced with filing bankruptcy because I am neither willing nor able to pay for a car that doesn't run while I find alternate forms of transportation and I can't afford an attorney to try to sue them. I am a single mother working 2 jobs and I bought the car because it was inexpensive and had a good warranty. And Tempe Kia told me if it broke down they would provide me with a loaner car until it was fixed.

It seemed like the perfect car for someone who can't afford to have unreliable transportation. Desert Kia wouldn't give me a loaner car for those 10 days because they say Kia dealerships each have their own loaner car programs and they don't honor each others' programs even though they are all Kia dealerships.

Please don't ever buy a Kia, and if you already have one, make sure you get all the maintenance work done at the Kia dealership at the proper times - otherwise your warranty will be worthless, regardless of the work that needs to be done.

Replies
Car Shot at 123,000 Kms
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANADA -- My elderly grandparent's KIA Rondo just threw the connecting rods at 123,000 kms. Garage said its the 7th KIA they have had in within a year with similar low kilometer shot engines. Contacted KIA customer relations to see if this is a known flaw and all they had to say (paraphrased) was you had a warranty for 100,000 kms, so we fulfilled our obligations. Has anyone else had a car that was essentially useless after only 120,000 kms? Looks like I am headed back to the domestics. I can't fathom wasting money on a new car that will be useless that fast. At least now I can understand why KIA received an F from the Better Business Bureau.

Replies
Kia Timing Chain
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KNOXVILLE, TENNESSEE -- I have a 2008 Kia Spectra setting in the drive at my house with what looks to be timing chain issue. After reading all the reviews here, I'm very concerned if it will be covered under the warranty. It just now has 60,000 miles on it. I'm curious as to why a recall has not been done on this issue. From everything I have been reading it appears that Kia's have a track record of timing chain problems.

I also researched what is considered the power train: it states anything that comes in contact with the motor oil. Well the timing chain most certainly comes in contact with the motor oil. So I'm very concerned as to what is going to happen when I have this car towed to the Kia dealership I bought if from. Are they going to stand behind there product.????

Replies
Warranty Is a Joke Unless You Keep Ever Receipt
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA -- The warranty 10 years and 100,000 miles is a joke. My rear end is roaring so loud you can't hear inside it. Called Kia and made appt. No one said if you don't have maintenance receipts and your warranty is no good. Drove over and the first thing they say, if you don't have receipts the warranty will not cover. 1500.00 to repair rear end that is bad. I was told I should have read my warranty book because without the receipts your warranty is no good. Needless to say, I will never buy from Kia again. Women do not read car manuals. I guess it will be OK with Kia if my rear end locks up and my family is hurt.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >