Preview Review

Next Review

Kia Motors Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Astonishing How Kia Motors and Parent Company Hyundai Has Achieved Growth the Last 5 or 6 Years!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- My entire family has just finished converting all of our Ford, GM, Chrysler vehicles over to KIA and Hyundai cars and SUVs. Most of this was attributed to the poor customer service and warranty service we all experienced, and add that to the shoddy quality of the vehicles we had. Collectively we now have no issues with the Hyundai/KIA vehicles we have now... But the dealer experience was a breath of fresh air... No scamming, no lying or hidden agendas. Every buying experience was great.

The vehicles themselves are well-assembled, quality is obvious a real value with these cars, and the amenities and standard level of unexpected equipment is quite unusual in these price ranges. The paint is perfect... deep and rich and applied perfectly. Issues are non-existent as far as things we had to take the cars back to the dealer for corrections.

Over all, quite a good value, and 4 of these Hyundai and Kias are made in the USA! We are satisfied and pleased, and will continue to purchase these fine cars and SUVs into the future. The dealer we purchased at, is not high pressure. They are honest and above board, have a huge selection, will let you drive anything on the lot without showing an attitude, and really appear to know their cars very well. We live in Orange County, California.

Replies
Advertisement
Faulty Air Bags
By -

Our son was in an accident this afternoon. The entire front-end was demolished. The airbags did not deploy. The engine was twisted sideways and the car is a total loss and the AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY! We bought this car for the safety features and price. We now understand that to get the price we were shorted on quality and safety. My sister-in-law's friend also has a KIA and the AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY! I am very concerned and thank God no one was seriously injured. However, this safety problem needs corrected before someone dies.

Replies
Miserable Customer Service/Business Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I would give them zero stars if that were an option. They mistyped my address and my husband's name on some paperwork. When I called to get this fixed, I was able to get the address corrected but they refused to spell my husband's last name correctly unless they talked to him personally, even though they have the leasing paperwork right in front of them and can see that his last name and mine are the same. They absolutely refuse to fix their mistake.

The documents they sent me are something they filled out with an incorrect address and incorrect last name and expect me to get it notarized and send back to them. Otherwise, I will have to pay taxes on a leased vehicle. I honestly think they did this on purpose hoping that I would not notice, or that the time would be up and I would have to pay the $1500 for the taxes on the car. I can't believe anyone can be that ignorant when typing in names and addresses.

The customer service person and supervisor that I talked to just kept saying the same thing about how my husband would have to call and get his name corrected even though they knew it was incorrect and it was their fault. This is ridiculous and there is no reason they could not fix a simple misspelling and send me the correct paperwork.

Of course this is the just one of a number of problems I have had with the financing department and Kia motors. I absolutely will never get another Kia. And I advise anyone thinking of dealing with Kia to seriously investigate other options. I like the car I have but despise the customer service and how they do business. As soon as I can get rid of this leased vehicle, I will never do business with this company again.

Replies
Bad Service - Felt They Tried to Intimidate Me- Gender /Age
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARBONDALE, ILLINOIS -- Kia 2009 Sorento had new tires installed and back brakes 1-27-2014, & at that time the oil pan gasket and value gasket was replaced. Had been notified of the oil seepage in Dec. 2013 and since they said not urgent I had work done in Jan. 2014. In Feb. 2014, noticed what I thought was oil leaking on my carport; took car in to dealership and was told they had failed to reconnect a coolant hose. April 8 2014, took car in for regular maintenance, oil change and lube; checklist and computerized invoice was folded in half and handed to me with no comment made about any problems.

The next day (4-9-14) I reviewed the inspection checklist and saw the notation that there was an oil leak from the oil pan gasket and the value cover gasket; these had been replaced 1-27-14. On the computerized invoice it stated that work was recommended but not performed that I would have work performed later. This statement was untrue, I had not been notified of the problem. I talked with Ser. Dept. Mgr. 4-9-14. Made arrangement to get loaner car when work could be scheduled; the gaskets had to be ordered. I told him of the false statement on the invoice. He questioned the tech and was told "he thought he had mentioned it to me".

Finally got car in for repairs 4-14-14; drove loaner home, got call car was ready at 245p. When I got home, I compared the inspection sheet from 4-8-14 and 4-14-14... Tire tread depth and remaining brakes front and back were grossly off... From 4-8-14 to 4-14-14 I had only driven 154 miles (mileage is noted on the inspection sheets). I called again 4-15-14. Excuses were made but tech finally said the inspection 4-8-14 was correct. They had hurried to get my car finished and had not done measurements correctly. Things went downhill from there, was contacted by a Manager later that day and told him the entire problem.

On 4-16-14 was contacted by Public Relations who tried intimidation by asking several times "what would it take to make you happy." The third time, I said "pay off my car and give me a three year lease on a new Kia Sorento (no, I did not want or expect that at all but was really tired of this conversation)." I was told, "let me see what I can do."
Long and short is, as of this date have heard no more from that Kia dealership.

Replies
Advertisement
Bait and Switch
By -

NORTH BRUNSWICK, NEW JERSEY -- Watch out for this Kia dealer Gateway Kia 720 US 1 North North Brunswick NJ 08902 732-325-6100. I was looking for an orange Sportage with the orange and black inter. Called them Thursday, "Oh yea we have 3 on the lot. Call back Friday evening, "Oh ya still have 3 on lot." Got there Saturday before they opened - drove over 100 miles to get this truck. They open - "We don'T HAVE THEM" so we agreed on an slate gray as long as it had all the options I want. Upgraded sound system with the amp and sub woofer and navigation system. They said the truck was on their other lot in PA and would not release it from there until we signed all the paper work.

I keep telling them it better have all the options I want. They keep saying, "Don't worry we'll take good care of you." Did all the paper work. 4 1/2 hours later truck comes in they go, "Here you go. You been here long enough." Did not show us anything on the truck. Go home. Sent them a fast email thanking them. Then I was rushed to the hospital due to my health. Get home next day. Go out to the truck to set everything. Find out it don't have the navigation and the stereo with the amp and sub woofer. Now they are saying they showed use the invoice. THEY DID NOT. Only a picture of the car on one of their cell phones plus the one guy ** said to me call my lawyer. I was taken.

I call the BBB to make sure other people don't get screwed like I did by trusting this dealer. If they want to they can buy the radio I was promised that would be in the truck and navigation. WATCH OUT FOR THIS DEALER!!! If they can get over they will.

Replies
Kia: Worst First Car Experience
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- After much excitement of leasing my first vehicle as a college graduation present to myself, I quickly had buyers remorse. Two days after signing my lease for a '06 Kia Sportage, I received a faxed copy of the paperwork, which was incorrect and didn't match the hard copies I had walked away with. Kia Finance had inputted the wrong monthly payment amount. It may not seem like a lot but at $3.17+ more a month ($135.00+ over the total lease time frame) adds up. Thank goodness my dad caught their error. Moral: CHECK EVERYTHING and then DOUBLE CHECK AGAIN!

Things were OK for the first few months with the new car, but I learned that the paint on my car scratches off very easily. Something as small as a twig could chip the paint. Cost me $100.00 to fix. Also, beware of the stock tires on Kia compact SUVs. The tread wears very quickly. I am about 7,000 miles under the agreed 3 year mileage amount and my tires are barely keeping 1/8 inch tread, and I'm not a car mechanic, but that doesn't sit right with me. I'm sure Kia will make me pay for that too at turn in time...joy.

But here's the kicker. I'm 6 weeks away from freedom (my lease expires soon!) and looking at other vehicles. After 3 years of leasing, my credit report shows no record of me leasing from Kia. I call Kia Financing to question about this, and the customer service people are rude and unhelpful. Took 3 separate transfers to speak with someone who knew what they were talking about. (I was an account major, and it's really not this hard people!) Turns out, City Kia (Orlando Dealership) faxed a typed copy of my paperwork (not the originals) to Kia Financing with the incorrect SS#. So, joy to the world, now my credit report is screwed up.

Again, it took 3 separate days of phone calls, trips to the Social Security office, the dealership, and my personal bank, multiple faxes and a half dozen rude customer service reps before Kia recognized THEIR error. Correction of this issue is still pending, and my patience is just about up.

Final Thoughts: Buyers/Leasers beware. Perhaps I have just managed to have the worst luck ever with this company, but I will never recommend anyone to buy a Kia. Their cars don't hold up well and their customer service is terrible. I personally had to lease because of my financial status at the time, but I would strongly advise against buying for sure. My 2 cents... Thanks for listening. Good Luck! Never again Kia, never again.

Replies
Kia's 10-Year Warranty Isn't Worth It
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- We bought a brand new Kia Sorento 2014, which ended up giving us a huge problem within the first 30 days of purchase. We got the vehicle towed to the dealership. They sent photos of the vehicle to the corporate office in California, and then proceeded to tell us the deficiency in the vehicle wasn't covered under the 10-year warranty we had paid for, and that we would need to spend $3500 out of our own pockets to fix the car. An absolutely horrific experience with the Kia corporate offices.

For one thing, the customer service representatives were unprofessional and totally adamant in not being helpful. Purchasing the warranty is so not worth it. We bought a brand new car so we wouldn't have to worry about any major issues with the car. But we were proved wrong within the first 30 days. I will never buy a Kia ever again, and will recommend anyone looking at buying a Kia to reconsider their decision. Go with an auto manufacturer that actually values its customers and stands up to their word.

Replies
Don't Ever Finance Through KIA!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA -- I have two 2011 leased Kia Sorentos, neither of which, by the way, has lived up to the low mileage promises. But the worst of my experience has been dealing with Kia Motors Finance. They have a process center that receives check payments. It's the only company I deal with that repeatedly fails to credit my account even though checks are mailed 10 or more days prior to due date.

I've had to stop payment on two checks to avoid being double-billed because Kia Finance's process center fails to credit my account. Adding insult to injury, their phone in "customer service" center has never once recognized my account number or the famous "last four of my SSN", requiring that I remain on hold for long periods before being transferred to at least 3 departments. Unbelievable!!

Thank the good Lord for online banking through my trustworthy and competent credit union. I would never trust KIA Finance to pay online either. The good from all this? I'll pay cash for my next vehicle and I can pretty much guarantee it won't be a Kia.

Replies
Advertisement
Kia Is a Great Car!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Well owning 2 Kias now and never having a problem with either one, I can honestly say that they're a great car. We have to remember anything made by man will fail at some point. Kias are like any other car. You must follow the service schedule. If Kias were a piece of junk why are they up double digits and the American cars are down. OH! let's not forget the bail out and that is why some of the American cars dealers are up because they can afford to cut the price of their cars. Kia didn't take a bail! So all you out there that haven't seen or looked at the Kia product in the last 5 years, wake up and take a look...

Replies
Kia Has Dropped the Ball
By -

FT. PIERCE, FLORIDA -- Just wanted to let the world know what a rip off Kia's Powertrain 100,000 mile warranty is. They make that promise but then they find any technicality to be sure they don't have to honor it. Just a warning if you buy one... You better read the warranty cover to cover with a magnifying glass, tie your salesman to a chair and torture the info out of him because Kia will NEVER tell you what you have to do to avoid voiding your warranty. They were such a good company when I bought my Sephia and then my Spectra, but after what they did with the Rio... NEVER again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Kia Motors Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 21 ratings and
80 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Kia Motors
111 Peters Canyon Rd.
Irvine, CA 92606
800-333-4542 (ph)
949-468-4905 (fax)
www.kia.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Manufacturers