Preview Review

Next Review

Maytag Corporation Refrigerators Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lack of Customer Service and Parts Support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a MSD2559XEB04 side by side refrigerator in July 2011 new for $825 from a local big name home supply store. Recently, the front fascia (p/n 10286928), which is part of the User Interface, peeled off on its own. The front fascia consists of two pieces, a thicker plastic backing plate that snaps into the UI and a laminated "sticker" that is stuck to the backing plate. The "sticker" portion is the piece that fell off on its own. Since the unit is out of warranty, I decided to replace the item at my cost, however soon learned that the part was discontinued and no longer available.

I contacted Maytag directly and was told that the part was discontinued and no longer available. As an alternative, I was offered a new equivalent refrigerator at a discount as a replacement. The replacement unit was offered at $832 + $70 shipping + $46 water connection fee + tax. I insisted that they provide a better resolution, especially considering that the refrigerator was only 4 years old and that they failed to stock replacement parts. I was told there was nothing better they could offer.

Be warned, when purchasing a Maytag unit, that parts may not be available for parts that fail nor will they provide a reasonable alternative. I will certainly never purchase another Maytag product again given their potential to not stock replacement parts nor provide reasonable alternatives to alleviate a clear manufacturing quality issue. Regardless of whether the unit is in warranty, a reasonable expectation would be that parts would be available for a number of years after a new purchase. This is clearly not the case with Maytag. In summary, Maytag does not stand behind its products nor is it willing to provide reasonable resolutions for product-related quality control issues.

Replies
Advertisement
Maytag Built With Defective Components And No Repair Parts Available
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- Purchased as a group of 6 MAYTAG appliances from Home Depot delivered 13 December 2004. NOVEMBER 30 2009 the Sol/Start RELAY shorted out--replace at a cost to me of $206.25. Maytag repairman said I was lucky a fire didn't start he also said that there could be other problems requiring a compressor system replacement.

February 2010--while I was not at home the DEFROST BOARD shorted out and so did the NEW RELAY causing the DEFROST to HEAT UP the inside of the FREEZER to the point that there was a PARTIAL COOKING of some of the meat I had. The kitchen was full of smoke and smelled like burning wiring. WHEN I checked the Refrig. THE inside of the freezer--side walls were SO HOT I could not hold my hand on them for a long time. I unplugged the unit and called the same repairman who came out and found that the entire system was junk.

AT first ONLY a parts replacement was authorized BUT that was later changed to a PARTS AND LABOR--100% whatever it took to FIX the unit--this came from YOUR PRODUCT SAFETY people in Washington State.

When the repairman came to fix this pile of junk. He spent 10.5 hours in my home. WE had a working unit. ONLY for about a half hour then IT stopped working. His idea is that the HEAT EXCHANGE/CAP TUBE needs to be replaced along with the EVAP unitTHIS CANNOT BE DONE as MAYTAG NEVER MADE these KEY REPAIR COMPONENTS-- in other words MAYTAG built for 6 months only and sold it for only one year a REFRIGERATOR knowing that it was defective. That's right the same components that are involved with the other recalls were used in this model too.

As has been suggested by your product safety department, "WE will PRO-RATE and REPLACE your REFRIG." This means an ADDITIONAL COST to me. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. NO consideration has been taken for the OUT OF POCKET DOLLARS at my end. Cost of prior repair, FOOD LOST --TWICEand the fact that it took almost a month and a half to get to the point that I will have to replace this refrigerator at my expense.

DOLLARS I have invested as of NOW$1500.00 WITHOUT BUYING another REFRIGERATOR at a cost of about $1500.00--for a total out of pocket of over $3000.00. UNACCEPTABLE!!!

AS I have informed your "PRODUCT SAFETY PERSON" I intend to post all of my information on every blog on the internet starting with FACEBOOK, MYSPACE, SODAHEAD and MSNBC. I intend to contact the local news stations--CBS and FOX both have a CONSUMER HOT LINE and will amend my complaint to the CONSUMER SAFETY COMMISSION and supply them with the components I have.

And contact a PRODUCT LAWYER for possible lawsuitsin addition to joining ANY CLASS ACTION SUITS I can find. CAN MAYTAG-WHIRLPOOL SURVIVE ANY MORE BAD PRESS? WE WILL SEE!!!

I may even place this junk MAYTAG REFRIGERATOR on my lawn with a 4x8 foot sign stating-- BUY MAYTAG-WHIRLPOOL AT YOUR OWN RISK--You could have your house burn down and family hurt. DEFECTIVE AND THE NAME WENT ON.

The only way MAYTAG can make this go away is to REPLACE FREE TO ME THIS JUNK. MAYTAG went out of business due to its laundry products. These defective refrigerators might just put WHIRLPOOL OUT OF BUSINESS! I'm on Social Security disability and am a DISABLED VETERAN--Vietnam--I can NOT afford this type of LOSS.

And another point I should make. I'm not a stupid person I hold an EPA FREON LIC. as I used to own AUTO REPAIR shops. I am VERY familiar with REFRIGERATION systems as your repairman found out. I also am very well versed in electronics. I also in February filed a complaint with the CONSUMER PROTECTION AGENCY about this.

Replies
Customer Service, Product Quality, Etc
By -

MICHIGAN -- After reading many of the complaints concerning Maytag I had to join the discussion. I don't usually join sites but we have had nothing but trouble with our Maytag refrigerator for the 6 1/2 years we have had it and I want one more voice warning people about Maytag's lack of reliability. We have had multiple problems with our refrigerator starting from just a few months after purchasing it.

In the first year alone we had 3 service calls just on the ice maker. The problem was finally resolved when a repairman bent the wire that stops the ice from being made when the bin is full. He said it was a faulty design. After his "fix" we had no more problems with ice overflowing and messing up the maker.

Over the 2 3-year extended warranty periods with Maytag Dependability Plus (we have been informed that they are not a subsidiary of Maytag) we have had an average of 3 -4 calls per year, generally concerning the defrost mechanism which caused 3 or 4 food loss claims and repairs that could only be made after the refrigerator failed to keep food cold, not when we first noticed the ice build up occurring each time.

Finally, we discovered that the defrost problem was the direct cause of water damage to our bathroom downstairs, below the refrigerator and dishwasher. It also ruined the wall beside the refrigerator, the floor in front and beneath the refrigerator (it now has the only squeak in our 12 year old home which we built), the ceiling and walls in the downstairs bathroom, caused carpenter ants because of wet wood which incurred drilling of holes in our entire house and multiple other problems.

The runaround we experienced between Maytag and Maytag Dependability Plus telling us to let the other company know of our dissatisfaction has been long and tedious. The repairmen have generally been very helpful, even telling us how to get Maytag to respond, ie, tell them you are contacting the Attorney General (that caused the company to discontinue the conversation).

One repairman told us that they lose money servicing Maytag products as they are one of the worst companies to have to service products for. An employee for the dealer we purchased our refrigerator just told us that we should not buy Maytag if we want good service. Our G.E. and Fisher & Paykel appliances have given us very few problems and we have had excellent service. A lawyer friend told us to write to the companies with a detailed list of our grievances.

Maytag called and left a number for my husband to call back (with our son) even though I was home and could have spoken with them. It took my husband (who was at work) almost 15 minutes to find out that no one knew who he should talk to. I then called them and spent 45 minutes talking to a rep who finally offered to give us a 10% discount on our next purchase of a Maytag refrigerator if we bought it before the end of Jan. 2008.

I asked her if she felt $200.00 would be just compensation for the problems our refrigerator had caused. She said it wasn't compensation but a goodwill offer. I told her we would continue to let everyone we know what a lousy company Maytag was and what lousy products and services they provided. Our next step is contacting our representatives, attorney general, and newspapers with our story. Hopefully, we will get some compensation for the multiple problems this Maytag refrigerator has caused.

Replies
Freon Leak in Refrigerator Less Than 7yrs Old
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Bought an upscale refrigerator model # MFI2568AES with all the bells & whistles. When the temperature dropped the alarm never let me know until it was too late. Repairman said the best thing to do was buy a new refrigerator because of the possibility of not being able to fix the leak. Need a new refrigerator, GUESS WHO IS NOT GETTING ANOTHER MAYTAG?

Replies
Advertisement
Freezer Fails to Defrost, Fridge Fails to Stay Cold, No Parts
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Since we purchased our refrigerator, we have had one problem after the other. First, the water dispenser went then the ice dispenser. We had repairmen come out while the warranty was applicable and as well as later. Each time, in hopes that the dispenser would work, instead, would short out, usually within days. The ice maker then failed to make ice properly. Instead, we found a large leak from the ceiling on the floor below that of the kitchen.

To remedy this problem, we turned off the water supply to the fridge, only turning it on for brief periods of time...just long enough to make some ice. Then, there were times that it failed to make ice altogether. Then, we had to go to the nearest convenience store to purchase several pounds of bagged ice. The inside of the door has failed to keep its shape and could no longer support any shelving. This has necessitated the need to solicit the use of duct tape as extra support, otherwise, there were times I would open the door only to have all the contents of the door to spill out on the floor.

Over the past two years, we have found it failing to keep the food cold and the frozen foods melting as frequently as monthly. This required emptying the entire freezer into picnic coolers with ice and manually defrosting the freezer. This problem has now been occurring about every three days during the last two or three weeks along with major puddles of water on our hard wood floors which has caused discoloration, warping and stained ceilings on the floor below that of the kitchen. We had located a repair shop and parts "again" but we are now told it will take until September for the parts to be available.

We have lost our patience and faith in Maytag. Both my husband and I grew up with Maytag as a reliable product. This is why we had invested such a considerable amount of monies for such in such a product in the first place. I'm sorry, but I would no longer recommend a Maytag product again. We have refrained from going away overnight in fear of the fridge failing and more damage occurring.

Because the parts that are necessary, in hopes of being able to repair it, will take into September to secure, we found no other alternative but to purchase another appliance today... $4,000 for a 32 cu foot Samsung... Something I had no intentions on doing, but food, floor and ceiling repair can get costly, as well as the aggravation of emptying out the freezer on too frequent an occasion. "Just where has that bored Maytag appliance repairman gone to?"

Replies
Side By Side Refrigerator Freezer
By -

We purchased a Maytag side-by side refrigerator freezer in November 2004. It lasted 5 years, with some maintenance in those years required. I recall two episodes of water line leakage that required repair. The second time, the repair was defective so I found parts and did it myself. The latest episode that was the death knell started by stepping in a puddle of water in front of the thing. Thinking water line - I looked. Nope. Seemed to be coming from ice dispenser. I emptied the ice tray, mopped up water, and checked the next morning. The freezer was defrosting. Total failure.

A&E repairman came out, diagnosed compressor failure, and ordered the part. He went through the paperwork we had and told my wife that we were covered parts and labor as failure occurred within the 5 year period. The compressor showed up a week later and a second A&E repairman a few days after that to install it. In the process of removing the old compressor, the repairman mumbled, went out to his truck, and came back several minutes later and said "I have bad news for you." He said the unit was not repairable as the refrigerant system was contaminated. Said I'd get a call from Maytag and gave me a 1-800 number to call them.

Eight days later I called Maytag (not hearing anything from them), and was told the system was NOT under warranty and they'd offer a 20% discount off the purchase price of a new system. So, what do you think a prudent man should do after reading the testimonials in my3cents? Run like the dickens from Maytag! Oh, by the way, we kept our previous refrigerator (not Maytag) in our garage. It looks horrible but runs great! It's 16 years old. Maytag dependability? Forget it!

Replies
2yr Old Fridge and Nothing but Problems
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- We moved into our first house just over two years ago and decided we needed to get a new refrigerator and did a ton of research online reading reviews etc. We found a few not so great complaints regarding Maytag, however, we took our chances (*Note - we live in a house built in the 40's, so the fridge space is small and we needed a fridge size that is smaller than normal, we didn't have many options).

Well...a little less than 12 months later (yes, luckily right before the warranty expired) our ice dispenser stopped working properly; the mini-ice door would not close properly, resulting in a lot frost in where the ice door was located (there was so much we couldn't open the freezer door, it would get stuck). So we called out the repair guy and he said he had never seen this issue before and basically had to replace the whole flap and parts. Sweet, it was fixed and cost was covered!

Well, then about 5 months later, it happened again!!!!! Ahh...got fixed yet again... Well another 6 months later and after the warranty expired (lucky us) the fridge completely STOP cooling (and just happened to be Halloween, not a great day for a house issue) So we had to remove all our perishable food and place it in a cooler (which works 100xs better than Maytag products), and move all frozen food to a family member's house 15 mins away (luckily!). We were also super lucky we found a repair company that could come out at 5 pm the next day, which happened to be a Friday!

Awesome company (Conner's Repair in Metro-Detroit). He concluded the defrost board was broken, meaning it was freezing and creating frost and then not defrosting; clogs the vents and not allowing and circulation to occur. He was SHOCKED, when he found out we only had this fridge for 2 years and said this is something that normally happens in 20 yr old fridges.

I than decided to call Maytag and nicely request a refund for the issue, and was told no due to the warranty expiring and we also didn't use a Maytag repair company; I didn't want to wait a week as I thought this was something that needed immediate attention. I also am not sure why it matters who you get to fixed your fridge. I have an invoice for proof of the issue and the repairman even said he'd call to verify the issue. I don't understand why I have to pay for something that was not properly produced, and not to mention the time out of my schedule to deal with Maytag's issues. I now know not to buy any Maytag products due to the lack quality. I guess I learned the hard way.

Replies
$1500 Maytag Fridge Fails Twice In Less Than 3 Years!
By -

SCOTTSDALE, ARIZONA -- In August of 2001 we purchased a Maytag washer/dryer and refrigerator direct from Maytag. The fridge cost about $1500, so I assumed it was a quality product. Man was I wrong! In August 2005 the fridge failed. It stopped cooling completely. We called Maytag out to fix it to the tune of about $350. I thought it was a little shady that a $1500 fridge would quit working in less than four years, but never the less it was still cheaper to have it fixed than shell out for a new one. It was crappy to have to fix a fridge that new, but not the end of the world. After it was fixed I also noted that the refrigerator side never again cooled as good as did before the initial failure.

By the way it was some type of micro-chip panel that went out. I have seen many other Maytag complaints related to computer and microchip type parts. It sounds like Maytag definitely has a problem in this area. Fast forward to August 2008, and the fridge has completely quit cooling again. Exact same problem as before. I have contacted both Maytag and the Company that fixed it the first time, A & E Factory Service, and both have pretty much told me to go pound sand. Am I being unreasonable to expect a $1500 fridge to work for more than 7 years? Or least least to not have the same problem twice within a 3 year period? I don't know. You tell me.

By the way, I also had the heating element on my Maytag dryer (purchased at the same time) go out. I was able to fix it with about 8 hours of my own time and a couple busted knuckles. That's 2 out of my 3 Maytag appliances failing within 7 years if you are keeping track. One obviously with multiple problems. I know it cliche to say, "they don't build 'em like they used to." But man is it true. My in-laws have appliances that are going on 20 years old with nary a problem. Quite a contrast to the crap they are putting out today.

Needless to say, I will not put another dime into this Maytag fridge, nor will I ever buy another Maytag/Whirlpool product. I will also make sure an tell everyone that will listen the same. Just remember if you buy a Maytag product you are rolling the dice. Please do some research on the web to see that I'm not a lone voice of discontent.

Replies
Advertisement
Fridge #MSF25C2EXW With Ice in the Door
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- Purchased this fridge October of 2011 and had three service calls for the same problem. The ice reservoir in the door freezes and no more ice. Can't even remove the ice reservoir because it is frozen to the door. It freezes up just hours after the service call. We were told by the repairman that this model thaws the ice reservoir whenever you get anything out of the freezer and the flap on the outer side sticks open so humidity gets in and contributes to the freezing of the dispenser.

Maytag is aware of the problem and apparently has been working on a solution for a year and a half but so far they are not able to fix them. They still keep selling this model knowing it has a problem. Now I want it replaced and they are giving me the runaround. If you want to keep your sanity, DON'T BUY MAYTAG!

Replies
Maytag Refrigerators - Do Not Buy One
By -

I purchased the French Door Maytag Refrigerator in June 2008. We spent 3 mos. in Florida & upon returning found the icemaker didn't work, bottle of water & some items frozen in refrigerator. Repairman tried to say it was because the refrigerator was on an outside wall. This was certainly not the case as there is 6" of insulation in the wall, an outside enclosed porch and the heat in the house left at 55 degrees. He finally removed the inside back panel to see that the water coils were frozen and could not explain why. Asked to borrow my hairdryer to thaw them out!!

There was nothing in the "User Instruction" book to address the problem. Letter to Maytag was futile and the store where it was bought no help. Technician told me not to leave the icemaker on when we went to FL. Just returned from FL (with the icemaker off) and the same problem. Waiting for a tech (which takes days) to hear what the diagnosis is this time. I will NEVER buy another product. Product support is nil.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Maytag Logo
Maytag Corporation Refrigerators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
73 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Maytag Corporation
403 W 4th St N
Newton, IA 50208-3026
1-800-688-9900 (ph)
515-787-8376 (fax)
www.maytag.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies