Preview Review

Next Review

Samsung Electronics Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Trouble With Tax-Free and Tracking
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GEORGIA -- Run around on Order - Ordered Galaxy Tab S2 online 10 AM Saturday morning of the tax-free weekend. Before submitting order showed tax so-called customer service (cs) and they said to place an order and call back and they can then confirm the order, state, and tax-free eligible and would refund tax. Followed instructions and when called back cs told no have to go through tax exemption dept - explained I have no tax exemption but insisted needed to call number - so did - not a valid number! Called cs again and this time told had to wait for goods and then take invoice in box and fax to tax exemption dept.

Told them no fax need a way to email. Told they are unable to accept that Fax only acceptable method (this is an electronics company!?!). Meanwhile sent email as per "Contact Us" on the website and got a reply they cannot help have to call cs. Next day called cs again and this time told they do not acknowledge tax free weekends in ANY state and will have to pay tax. Contacted again via chat line, that kept popping up on my screen when started to try and track order which was not showing on my account (cc has been charged as of day purchased), and told could not assist -- contact cs!

Called cs again and was told the order in the system but can take several days to show on my account on the website and possible out of stock and will take awhile to restock so can ship. If out of stock why on website to order?? By now (Monday) I had already received some goods ordered after tablet online (no tax charged) and they were in use!!

When asked about tax told they are a Federal (total USA) site and nothing to do with state law. Funny is it not the state that is taxing me?!? They transferred me to their supervisor who confirmed no tax-free weekends honored. Federal law supersedes state law so they do not follow the state tax-free weekends anywhere!

Have allowed another 24 hours and still no sign of my order on the website so called cs again and this time told need to allow 72 hours for order to process and should update overnight - like told yesterday. Told them told that yesterday and they just repeated what they said and was told I needed to wait till tomorrow. I have no confidence that I will ever receive this order as get a different story each time on same questions - so do not trust anything told.

We have been a Samsung Family for years and have couple Galaxy S6 phones and previous phones all Samsung and when called with issues in past they were quickly resolved. First time ordering direct from them and NEVER again.

Tomorrow I will go to a store and see if they have restocked (local stores out of this exact model on Saturday and Sunday) and can assist. Hopefully, I can find and cancel the order with Samsung. I have missed tax-free weekend but as charged tax on cc anyway nothing I can do now. I have no idea when, or if, will receive the tablet and need it by the end of this week so can set up and it is useable as schools start back!

Replies
Advertisement
Samsung Dishwasher Model DW80F600UTS/AA Purchased on June 22, 2014 From Best Buy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RIDGEFIELD PARK, NEW JERSEY -- I purchased a Samsung Dishwasher Model Number: DW80F600UTS/AA on June 22, 2014. Everything seemed to be working fine until November 30, 2014. We had issues with the Dishwasher, Product Symptoms: Operation/Doesn't work/Doesn't dry. This was covered under Samsung's warranty within a year.

It is now August 2015 and we're already having another issue with this Dishwasher - we had an appliance repair person come to the house and he tells me we now need a computer board for this dishwasher. One hundred something dollars and that's just for the part, that's not covering labor to install the part. The technician is telling me if you have any sort of voltage issues these dishwashers will need parts replaced.

What is getting me angry is that we have a whole house surge protector protecting our main breaker and we're still having issues. I would expect issues after several years say 4 or 5 not within the first year to year and 1/2. I contacted Samsung Customer Service and explained to them the latest issue. I also explained to them there was another issue several months after we bought this Dishwasher. Samsung's reply was it's over the warranty, period.

You used to buy appliances from Sears no less that would last years, now you pay good money thinking you're getting a good product - Samsung no less - and this is the way they treat you. It is not right. I did not realize it be this issue seems to be years in the making and it appears that Samsung ignores the issue and leaves all who purchased this Dishwasher hanging high and dry! I pray a lawyer sees this and we start a Class Action lawsuit against Samsung. It's amazing - Google this dishwasher model and see for yourself how long this has been going on and Samsung has done squat about it. I am not a happy camper!

Replies
Rotten Customer Service. the Y Have No Respect for the Customers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

On May 23rd, 2014 I received and with Verizon's tech support set up what was supposed to be my new Samsung Galaxy 4 phone. My nightmare began when I realized that contacts transferred to the phone were missing. Thank heavens I still had most of them on my computer. However, I was missing some and had to retrieve them from the persons involved. I later learned that the backup was not happening and per Samsung customer service I had a bad data connection. They required me to send it back to them, they would test it and return a new one to me. I would have no way of charging my phone for more than a week.

I then contacted Verizon who processed an exchange. On Saturday September 20 I spent 2 plus hours on the phone with Verizon tech trying to determine what was wrong with the phone. The final decision was a HARD RESET which annoyed me very much since I now had to redo everything I had done previously. This phone has dropped my email account four (4) times. I am still missing the lost contacts and Samsung's answer is I should return it and they will test and repair. So, this senior citizen should do without a phone until Samsung repairs the piece of JUNK it originally sold.

Tell me, if I fall and I cannot get an emergency service should I sue Samsung? I can assure you my son would. This kind of poor service tells me Samsung does not give a damn about the consumer. I paid for a new phone I only want one that works properly. My advice to everyone leave this company alone.

Replies
They Just Want Your Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Samsung does not care about their customers or the investment their customers make in their technology. They just want your money, more money. My Galaxy Note 10.1 is less than 10 months old but I cannot fully use it because I am stuck on an outdated operating system. I have called Customer support no less than 10 times asking when the KitKat 4.4.4. OS will be release for my device and today I was told it may not be. Why? Because Samsung is so busy pushing out new $500.00 devices to new customers they fail to keep current customers updated.

Now if this were the worst, it would be digestible. But when I ask how much of a trade in value they will give me for my less than 10 month old device, in perfect condition, I am told $40.00! Really? It sounds like they just want my (your) money! Beware with your money if you are considering Samsung as your technology device provider. I will post this on every website I find to warn everyone of the horrible customer service I have received by a company that is collecting big American dollars. Thank you very much.

Replies
Advertisement
Samsung Galaxy Tablet 2 - 10.1 Is So Slow
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

SOUTH KOREA, NEW YORK -- I have a Samsung Galaxy 2-10.1 GT-P5113 and my problem is that it takes a full two (2) minutes to turn on and be activated. By contrast my Apple iPad2 takes a nano-second to activate. No problem at all with the Apple iPad2. I have e-mailed and complained on their Facebook page in addition to calling their support phone Nbr 18552786363 (WiFi). Nobody at support can explain why it takes so long and my emails and Facebook inquiries amount to zilch. I will say that Samsung is 98% of the time very professional. I never have any problems with them except the long activation waiting on my Samsung Tablet. Why the hell can't they make their Tablet activate faster?

I have been told that their Samsung phones activate instantly. Why can't the Tablets? Why the hell do users have to wait 2 full minutes to get on the Web? They cannot give one satisfactory explanation and I and millions of other users are just SICK & TIRED OF WAITING TWO (2) MINUTES TO GET ACTIVATED. I want to rectify this deficiency regarding their Tablets.

Replies
New Cell Phone Is Crap
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

FORT MYERS, FLORIDA -- For over 10 years I've been a faithful consumer of this product, until now, when I had bought the Samsung gal sg4 on Aug 30, 2013 because my previous sg2 kept malfunctioning. I had it replaced twice and didn't want another sg2 due to possible duplicate future problems. So I felt forced to upgrade to the sg4. I heard such good things about through commercials & ads, (& without any “expected” discounted help from Sprint or Samsung), I had to pay full price. The phone freezes all the time and is much slower than the sg2.

I expected it to be so much better as I read it was in articles and reviews. I think it's worse. The battery doesn't last long at all either and with "no flash support" I can barely get popular videos or animated cartoons that many others get on their phones. I got more with the sg2! I've talked to others who have the same complaints about their sg4 also and wish they never upgraded. Are we supposed to be having all these problems with this phone??? Is there anything that can be done while "waiting 2 years" for our contract to be up??? :( Thanks.

Replies
Cannot Get Warranty Service for Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEWPORT NEWS, VIRGINIA -- I have call 5 times because my dishwasher does not work - the past (3) three times I have been given a work order number and told that a factory service company would call me within two (2) days - it is now three (3) days after getting my third work order number and NO CALL! I also own three (3) flat screen Samsung TVs and luckily I have not needed any service. In a very few minutes, I will be calling them again. BASED ON MY CURRENT EXPERIENCE -- I RECOMMEND THAT YOU DO NOT BUY ANYTHING WITH SAMSUNG'S NAME ON IT.

Replies
Poor Quality Product - Sudden Death, Appalling Customer “support” & “services”, Refused To Honor Warranty With Excuses...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONDON -- SAMSUNG: POOR QUALITY PRODUCT - SUDDEN DEATH, APPALLING CUSTOMER “SUPPORT” & “SERVICES,” REFUSED TO HONOR WARRANTY WITH EXCUSES- DENY THE EXISTENCE OF “PURCHASE DATE” SHOWN ON BIOS.

Purchased a brand new Samsung NP-RV520-A07UK laptop on November 2012. It suddenly stopped working - simply won't turn on (no power - battery & charger works fine). It was still under warranty so took it to the Authorized Service Centre, Samuel King LTD UK (19/06/2013) who refused to handle the laptop as I was unable to locate and therefore produce a receipt. Contacted Samsung Support (0330 7267864, dear_customer@contactus.samsung.com) as advised who:

  1. Initially denied the existence of “Purchase Date” shown on the BIOS which should have established WHEN the unit was purchased!

  2. Eventually, she acknowledged after consulting with someone else. But now she had another excuse - claimed that it is inadequate as “Purchase Date” can be changed!

  3. She then flogged me off by saying someone from Customer “Services” will call me as she simply cannot help despite the fact it is still under warranty if we go by the manufacturing date of the unit (November 2011), which she claimed that Samsung accept (I am referring to EU directive 1999/44/EC, page 7). This was echoed by an android from the Online Support Team: “I can't assist you with a repair, your case has been escalated above tech support to customer services, I am afraid you will have to wait for their decision.”

A presumptuous individual from “Customer Support Centre” (uk.help@samsung.com) called back just after I sent another email on 21 June 2013 16:37:06, rehearsing the same trick as the Customer “Support”:

  1. Again, she was unaware of the existence of “Purchase Date” shown on the BIOS.

  2. But wanted to flog me to the Customer “Support” again as she claimed not being technical (I was pressing about the “Purchase Date”). I did not accept so as not to exhaust my energy in an endless cycle!!! This was repeated again in a different tone by another android via email when I wanted them to explain purpose of “Purchase Date” in writing.

Samsung never answered my questions (sent via samsung@kazoo.co.uk, samsungteam@redconsultancy.Com - their press\corporate contacts):

  1. The purpose of “Purchase Date” shown on the BIOS?

  2. Why conveniently disregard purpose of “Purchase Date” shown on the BIOS even if it can be changed? If we apply the same logic, why even ask for receipt which can also be changed/forged, etc.? You have to check first and then claim whether it's changed, forged, etc.! In any case, if it is true, it simply demonstrate a design flaw by Samsung unfit for purpose. Having said this, I recall updating bios which did not change “Purchase Date”.

Very disappointed with: (a) Samsung Product - a laptop failed within 7 months with light use - it still looks practically new - not even a spot. (b) Customer “Support” and “Service” knowledge of their own product that defies reality and logic. (c) Denials & endless cycle is to ensure you don't get the support/warranty you are entitled to. (d) Unlike other decent companies, I was unable to find any complaint procedures.

Replies
Advertisement
I was left in the dark and treated as if I was dumb.
By -

I am sure you're not the person to complain to but I found your email online. I am having an issue with a Samsung product that I had sent in for warranty repair. Can you please forward this to someone who can? Give me some answers (not the executive office as I already spoke to them).

Here is my bad experience with Samsung. I purchased a Samsung NV40 camera in Sept of 2009. The camera stopped working on June 14 2010 which would put it in the warranty status. I called the customer service number and by the serial number they told me it was no longer covered. They said it was purchased at the beginning of 2008... The camera wasn't even manufactured then. So I argued with the man and finally went in my email and got my receipt which proved I bought in on Sept 2009.

I called back and when given proof, was finally told it would be covered as if they were doing me a favor. They sent the prepaid label and I sent it off on the 14th of June. Samsung provided in the email a link so I could follow the status and get updates, which is great from a consumer stand point. They received the product on the 18th of June as stated on the updated page. When I spoke to the customer service representative at Samsung he told me the turnaround was 5 days! I waited the 5 days and nothing... I placed a third call to the customer service number and now was told "oh its 7-10 days". At this point I as a customer was a bit annoyed but OK...

After the 10 days I call back, at this point I am very angry at the business practice of the Samsung employees there. So I ask to be transferred to the executive branch. I speak to a woman who seemed nice, she then told me the turnaround time BY SAMSUNG policy was now, Lol, 7-14 days. So I asked at this point why the web page that is there for consumers wasn't being updated with the info like it was made for. She said OK, I will call the contracted company in NJ and find out some info for you. I said great, and waited for a call back.

She finally called me back and told me they didn't answer... and she would call me back later that day as she would keep calling. Never heard back from her, this is supposed to be an executive? So today, Tuesday I come home expecting my camera and nothing was there. I just called the executive office back and spoke to a different woman. I am now very angry and want some information as to what is going on and if this is normal procedure for Samsung. I questioned her about Samsung's POLICY as to the 7-14 which I was told by the other executive and she stated that is not the policy.

She placed a call for me and told me "yeah, it's still there in the shop" and that was it. Hahahha! At this point I feel as if Samsung could care less about the customer. The woman then went on to tell me how they cannot do anything and I just have to wait with no turn around policy and no information as to "what the heck is going on".

To wrap this up, I am highly disappointed in the discrepancies between executives and Samsung employees and to be flat out honest I would never purchase another Samsung product if this is how I am going to be treated. They told me there was no one ABOVE to complain and voice my opinion to but I know there is... there always is. So can you please forward this email to someone if there is anyone there who cares? About the people who purchase Samsung products, thank you for your time.

Question is why do none of the customer service agents and the executive office not know their own policies? Why, do I have to chase the information that should be supplied to me on the link they give to "check the status" that never was. Why, do I get told 3 different turnaround times by the executives? And last... why, why should I ever buy a product from Samsung ever again?

Replies
Stay away from Samsung
By -

I own a stove, microwave, refrigerator, and blu-ray player from Samsuck. The stove died first. It was one of those touch panel control deals. Well some buttons didn't work out of the box! So we got the retailer to swap it out, 2nd one worked for a little bit then buttons started to die. Had it repaired by Samsung... twice. When time had come for them to replace the button assembly again they said no. They've fixed it too many times in the warranty period and are just going to refund us the cost of the stove. A bunch of "we never got it" bs. Later, I finally got a check for the stove.

By the way the adhesive holding the buttons to the glass face plate is worthless. It comes apart from the heat produced by the burners right under it. Take that bad boy apart and replace the adhesive with something worth a damn and it works just fine!

The blu-ray player was always a little choppy on the blu-ray playback but I got it for the Netflix so I looked past that. Well until the new firmware for the device came out and Netflix stopped working. Turns out this is a pretty common problem for this model. Seems to be the firmware is incompatible with this out of production model player (oops). So I call Samsuck update firmware from network, usb, and disc. Oh well guess it's the player.

Now here's the thing, warranty covers 1 yr. parts & 90 days labor. So any parts that need replaced beyond 90 days of purchase will incur a labor charge. Well I got that BS sorted out right away and got my warranty extended to cover everything since it was an issue with Samsuck's crappy firmware. Got the label, shipped it off, got the thing back and all the service center did was update the firmware. It still doesn't work.

Waited till Monday and called. I have to send this stupid thing back again! Because I can't get a refund, it's against policy. But what about my oven, it wasn't against policy to give me a refund on that. In fact Samsung insisted they tried to Dodge it saying lost paperwork yadda yadda but in the end I got a check. Will I have to send this blu-ray in for servicing 5 more times as well before I see a refund?

The microwave turntable motor won't turn any more. The door handle was the first to break on it but it seems everyone's door handle broke on that model. Its successor was recalled for a frame screw touching internal circuitry and shocking people. All appliances were purchased about 2 years ago. I just hope my fridge doesn't die.

Samsung America corporate offices number is 1-972-761-7000. They won't give you that number if you ask customer support for it. They'll tell you it's a write in only thing but in fact there are two guys that work there that handle customer complaints. You can direct your complaints to ** Ext:** and ** Ext:**.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Samsung Electronics Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 24 ratings and
93 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Samsung Electronics
105 Challenger Rd
Ridgefield Park, NJ 07660
201-229-4000 (ph)
201-229-4110 (fax)
www.sosimple.com
Product/Services
Compare Computer Companies