Samsung Electronics

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 25 ratings and
96 reviews & complaints.
www.sosimple.com

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Quality Product - Sudden Death, Appalling Customer “support” & “services”, Refused To Honor Warranty With Excuses...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONDON -- SAMSUNG: POOR QUALITY PRODUCT - SUDDEN DEATH, APPALLING CUSTOMER "SUPPORT" & "SERVICES", REFUSED TO HONOR WARRANTY WITH EXCUSES- DENY THE EXISTENCE OF 'PURCHASE DATE" SHOWN ON BIOS.

Purchased a brand new Samsung NP-RV520-A07UK laptop on November 2012. It suddenly stopped working - simply won't turn on (no power - battery & charger works fine).

It was still under warranty so took it to the Authorised Service Centre "Samuel King LTD UK" (19/06/2013) who refused to handle the laptop as I was unable to locate and therefore produce a receipt. Contacted Samsung Support (0330 7267864, dear_customer@contactus. Samsung. com) as advised who:

(1) Initially denied the existence of 'Purchase Date" shown on the BIOS which should have established WHEN the unit was purchased!

(2) Eventually, she acknowledged after consulting with someone else. But now she had another excuse claimed that it is inadequate as 'Purchase Date' can be changed!

(3) She then flogged me off by saying someone from Customer "Services" will call me as she simply cannot help despite the fact it is still under warranty if we go by the manufacturing date of the unit (November 2011) which she claimed that Samsung accept (I am referring to EU directive "1999/44/EC, page 7"). This was echoed by an android from the "Online Support Team": ' I can't assist you with a repair, your case has been escalated above tech support to customer services, I am afraid you will have to wait for their decision.'.

A presumptuous individual from "Customer Support Centre" (uk. help@Samsung. com) called back just after I sent another email on 21 June 2013 16:37:06, rehearsing the same trick as the Customer "Support":

(1) Again, she was unaware of the existence of 'Purchase Date" shown on the BIOS.

(2) But wanted to flog me to the Customer "Support "again as she claimed not being technical (I was pressing about the 'Purchase Date'). I did not accept so as not to exhaust my energy in an endless cycle!!! This was repeated again in a different tone by another android via email when I wanted them to explain purpose of 'Purchase Date" in writing.

Samsung never answered my questions (sent via samsung@kazoo. co. uk, samsungteam@redconsultancy. com - their press\corporate contacts):

(1) The purpose of 'Purchase Date' shown on the BIOS?

(2) Why conveniently disregard purpose of 'Purchase Date' shown on the BIOS even if it can be changed? If we apply the same logic, why even ask for receipt which can also be changed/forged, etc.? You have to check first and then claim whether it's changed, forged, etc.! In any case, if it is true, it simply demonstrate a design flaw by Samsung unfit for purpose. Having said this, I recall updating bios which did not change 'Purchase Date'.

Very disappointed with: (a) Samsung Product - a laptop failed within 7 months with light use it still looks practically new not even a spot. (b) Customer "Support" and "Service" knowledge of their own product that defies reality and logic. (c) Denials & endless cycle is to ensure you don't get the support\warranty you are entitled to. (d) Unlike other decent companies, I was unable to find any complaint procedures.

     
Replies
Capacitor problems causing power supply to shut down/dots on screen
By -

There is a common problem with power supply issues in many models of flat panel Samsung TVs. Capacitors that were used are either too low a voltage, or the capacitors were of poor quality (there doesn't seem to be a consensus), and they fail prematurely. This results in either a bulging of the top or side (shown here) or a "leak" - a dark colored substance will leak out somewhere around the component.

This is a failure that Samsung appears to usually not pay to repair once a set is out of warranty, though there are cases where they have. It is worth asking them. It is a straightforward low cost ($10-15) do-it-yourself fix for those with soldering skills and awareness of safety when working on electrical appliances and electronics. A novice should not attempt the repair. A partial list of affected sets (unverified) is shown. The fixes others have done can easily be found by Googling "Samsung capacitor fix".

Samsung LNS5296
Samsung LNS4051D
Samsung LE32R72BX
Samsung LNS4041
Samsung LE46M87BDX
Samsung LN-T##61F
Samsung LN40A630M1F
Samsung LN-T##65F
Samsung LN40A500
Samsung BN68-01024D
Samsung LN-52A550P
Samsung LE40R88BD
Samsung LN-T4065F
Samsung LN-4069F
Samsung LN-T4061F

     
Replies
2 Mos and still crap
By -

This is a follow up To my post below (Anonymous 1/15/10 7:39PM)

The T. V. has now had the entire screen replaced and the 3 internal cables inside. After the screen replacement today the T. V. is still not in working order. I now have to wait yet again for them to send out a replacement power board and then wait some more for the tech who is 2 hrs away to get back out here and install it.

I have since hired a lemon law attorney I am posting their name and # here in hopes that some of you will find some solution to your own issues with this horrible company.

Consumer Legal Services P. C.
1-888-435-1474

They Are located in L. A. Calif., and I hope that some of you will pursue your issues. There is no fees or out of pocket until they settle your case. I think that it is time for those of us who have made Samsung a brand to let these guys know that we will not be walked on by corporate America anymore. Good luck to you all and please pass this info along through other consumer web sites.

     
Replies
Poor Initial Quality and Warranty Support
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

RIDGEFIELD PARK, NEW JERSEY -- On January 6, 2013 I purchased a Samsung washer and dryer from
HH Gregg in Murfreesboro, TN. The washer and dryer were both delivered and installed on January 29th. The model number of the washer is
WF365BTBGWR. I do not have the serial number of the washer. From the onset the washer displayed the error “Hr” whenever a temperature setting other than “warm” was selected. I called Samsung and told me they would schedule a service technician to come out and repair it. As the washer was only 4 days old I went back to HH Gregg and they replaced with a new washer on February 7th.

The model number of the dryer is DV365ETBGWR. On or about March 4th, only 35 days after delivery, the dryer stopped working and a service call to Samsung initiated. Since it was over 30 days old, HH GRegg stated it could not be exchanged to a new dryer and it would have to be repaired. After 2 service calls and 10+ days later, the motor was replaced and the dryer was again working.

On or about April 10th, I noticed the markings on the washer’s control panel were smearing and disappearing. Whenever I simply moved my fingers or a soft cloth over the markings with little or no pressure, the markings became smeared similar to that of writing from a dry erase board. Enclosed are pictures of the washer’s control panel. I called Samsung and was told that “cosmetic” defects were NOT covered by the Samsung warranty and there was nothing Samsung could do to resolve the problem.

I then reviewed the warranty listed in the Washer User Manual. It states the Samsung Warranty will not apply to “cosmetic damage”. What is occurring is NOT a result of any damage. It is most attributed to a defect in the embossing of the markings on the control panel. Per cleaning instructions in the manual, no chemicals of any sort have been used to clean the panel, only a soft dry rag. The markings on the control panel of the dryer are secure and will not rub off or smear even with when pressure is applied.

On April 18th I again called Samsung repair and presented my case for this issue NOT being “cosmetic damage” but a defect and again was told it was not covered by the warranty. The washer was only 2 months old when the problem was first noted! The markings affected are essential to the operation of the washer as they identify washing cycles, water temperature, etc.

After all the initial problems I incurred with the washer and dryer, and lack of support I received concerning my current problem, I would not advise anyone purchasing a Samsung washer or dryer.

     
Replies
Warranty Service Denied
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PLANO, TEXAS -- My 7 month old Samsung Infuse Model SGH-I997 mobile phone started turning itself off after being attached to the charger and/or the computer. Once the plug was removed the phone would either power up on its own or I would have to turn the unit back on. The purchase date was May 28, 2012 through Amazon.com.
On January 3, 2013, I contacted Samsung customer service and sent the phone in for repair under repair ticket number 4117532029.
Samsung denied my warranty claim. Samsung claimed the phone suffered corrosion damage due to exposure to moisture. This claim was untrue since the phone has not been subjected to any moisture other than the humidity of the atmosphere.
The phone operates fine other than the charging problem. I just change batteries to continue use. I purchased a spare battery and a stand alone battery charger.
If the phone had true water damage then it would not operate at all.
I'm disappointed to find there is no appeal process to contest this decision by Samsung. It seems Samsung pays a guy in Texas to say all the phones have moisture problems to same millions of dollars in repairs.
Any moisture problem is actually caused by a design flaw from the manufacturer.
If this connection bay/port is subject to moisture damage from only exposure to the atmosphere then Samsung should have protected the bay/port in the design of the phone by having a rubber cover or door like many other phones.
The phone cost $300.00. That money is now wasted on a worthless phone since Samsung has refused to honor their warranty and has designed a defective phone from the start.
Samsung has made a false claim about moisture issues to avoid their responsibility. Buyer beware. Avoid Samsung products. You will not be treated fairly.

     
Replies
I was left in the dark and treated as if I was dumb.
By -

Here is the email that I sent to Samsungs exec's. This will explain the whole story and issue I am having. Lets see if they really do CARE about the customer!

Hello

I am sure your not the person to complain to but I found your email
online. I am haveing an issue with a Samsung product that I had sent
in for warranty repair. Can you please forward this to someone who can
give me some answers( not the executive office as I already sopoke to
them).

Here is my bad experience with Samsung

I purchased a Samsung NV40 camers in Sept of 2009. The camera stopped
working on June 14 2010 which would put it in the warranty status. I
called the customer service number and by the serial number they told
me it was no longer covered. They said it was purchased at the
beginning of 2008...The camera wasn't even manufactured then. So I
argued with the man and finally went in my email and got my receipt
which proved I bought in on Sept 2009. I called back and when given
proof, was finally told it would be covered as if they were doing me a
favor. They sent the prepaid label and I sent it off on the 14th of
June.

Samsung provided in the email a link so I could follow the status and
get updates, which is great from a consumer stand point. They received
the product on the 18th of June as stated on the updated page. When I
spoke to the customer service representative at Samsung he told me the turn
around was 5 days! I waited the 5 days and nothing.. I placed a
third call to the customer service number and now was told "oh its
7-10 days". At this point I as a customer was a bit annoyed but OK...

After the 10 days I call back, at this point I am very angry at the
business practise of the Samsung employees there. So I ask to be
transferred to the executive branch. I speak to a woman who seemed
nice, she then told me the turn around time BY SAMSUNG policy was now
lol 7-14 days. So I asked at this point why the web page that is there
for consumers wasn't being updated with the info like it was made for.
She said OK, I will call the contracted company in NJ and find out
some info for you. I said great, and waited for a call back. She
finally called me back and told me they didn't answer......and she
would call me back later that day as she would keep calling. Never
heard back from her, this is supposed to be an executive?

So today, Tuesday I come home expecting my camera and nothing was
there. I just called the executive office back and spoke to a
different woman. I am now very angry and want some information as to
what is going on and if this is normal procedure for Samsung. I
questioned her about Samsungs POLICY as to the 7-14 which I was told
by the other executive and she stated that is not the policy. She
placed a call for me and told me "yeah, its still there in the shop"
and that was it. hahahha at this point I feel as if Samsung could care
less about the customer. The woman then went on to tell me how they
cannot do anything and I just have to wait with no turn around policy
and no information as to "what the heck is going on".

To wrap this up, I am highly disappointed in the discrepancies between
executives and Samsung employees. And to be flat out honest I would
never purchase another Samsung product if this is how I am going to be
treated. They told me there was no one ABOVE to complain and voice my
opinion to but I know there is...there always is. So can you please
forward this email to someone if there is anyone there who cares
about the people who purchase Samsung products.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely
Joseph ********
1-***-***-****

Question is why do none of the customer service agents and the executive office not know their own policys?

Why, do I have to chase the information that should be supplied to me on the link they give to "check the status" that never was.

Why, do I get told 3 different turn around times by the executives?

And last...Why, Why should I ever buy a product from Samsung ever again?

     
Replies
Stay away from Samsung
By -

I own a stove, microwave, refrigerator, and blu-ray player from Samsuck.
The stove died first. It was one of those touch panel control deals. Well some buttons didn't work out of the box! So we got the retailer to swap it out, 2nd one worked for a little bit then buttons started to die. Had it repaired by Samsung...twice. When time had come for them to replace the button assembly again they said no. They've fixed it too many times in the warranty period and are just going to refund us the cost of the stove. A bunch of "we never got it" bs later I finally got a check for the stove. By the way the adhesive holding the buttons to the glass face plate is worthless. It comes apart from the heat produced by the burners right under it. Take that bad boy apart and replace the adhesive with something worth a damn and it works just fine!
The blu-ray player was always a little choppy on the blu-ray playback but I got it for the Netflix so I looked past that. Well until the new firmware for the device came out and Netflix stopped working. Turns out this is a pretty common problem for this model. Seems to be the firmware is incompatible with this out of production model player (oops). So I call Samsuck update firmware from network, usb, and disc. Oh well guess it's the player now here's the thing warranty covers 1yr parts & 90 days labor. So any parts that need replaced beyond 90 days of purchase will incur a labor charge. Well I got that BS sorted out right away and got my warranty extended to cover everything since it was an issue with Samsucks crappy firmware. Got the label shipped it off got the thing back and all the service center did was update the firmware. It still doesn't work. Waited till Monday and called. I have to send this stupid thing back again! Because I can't get a refund it's against policy. But what about my oven, it wasn't against policy to give me a refund on that. In fact Samsung insisted they tried to Dodge it saying lost paperwork yadda yadda but in the end I got a check. Will I have to send this blu-ray in for servicing 5 more times as well before I see a refund?
The microwave turntable motor won't turn any more. The door handle was the first to break on it but it seems everyone's door handle broke on that model. It's successor was recalled for a frame screw touching internal circuitry and shocking people. All appliances were purchased about 2 years ago. I just hope my fridge doesn't die.
Samsung America corporate offices number is 1-972-761-7000
They won't give you that number if you ask customer support for it. They'll tell you it's a write in only thing but in fact there are two guys that work there that handle customer complaints.
You can direct your complaints to
Greg Ext:4825 and Russell Ext:4802

     
Replies
The Worse Repair & Customer Service
By -

This is the 2nd time & 2nd Samsung television Model#LN32A that has broken a few months apart & they are giving me the serious run around. 1st broken 8/12/09 because it would not power on Samsung repaired it 8/26/09. 12/14/09 the TV has No sound & black screen. 12/14/09 called Samsung 800-726-7864 @ 8:09am s/w Kathy-Samsung could no longer help me with my t. v. & refused to TRANSFER CALL TO SUPERVISOR. Of course she was wrong & my television was still in warranty! 12/14 Rebecca ext.10556 who set me up with repair service with AT&T Connect Tech & extended the warranty until end of the month. AT&T ConnecTech 1stTechnician came out Monday explained parts Samsung sent were defected & they had to re-ship parts. 12/22 AT&T ConnecTech 1stTechnician scheduled to come & fix t. v. AT&T ConnecTech 1st Technician never came & could not be located (MIA) by the company who called him several times & he simply didn't respond to their calls or mine. AT&T ConnecTech 1stTechnician had the parts & the notes regarding the repair issues. AT&T ConnecTech nor Samsung could contact the 1st tech & had no clue what repair issues he discovered. I called AT&T ConnecTech about 8 times (Darren @2:25pm Dustin, Jennifer 76056, Anna 75060, Mark, David 75301) to find these guy try to set up another tech to come to my dismay. I called Samsung regarding the missing Tech I s/w Samsung's Ashley REFUSED TO TRANSFER TO SUPERVISOR stating that the missing parts & tech was not an issue for a Supervisor. S/w Toi-Samsung who tried to schedule incompetent AT&T ConnecTech Technician again. S/w Jasmine-Samsung set up service with SmartHelp new company. 12/26 5pm SmartHelp sends tech who says I need & he will order T-Con or Panel board &/or Main board.

SmartHelp could/would NOT use the parts from the other service company so they re-ordered parts. 12/23 Samsung's Rosie calls SmartHelp & they give her part need info she refused to check status of parts for me. Instead of the new company SmartHelp coming out Samsung sends AT&T ConnecTech 1st Technician again who could NOT fix the TV again. I called Samsung & they gave me the complete run around we have to give you a call back In 3-5 days & would not let me speak with a supervisor. 12/29 TimothyExecutive Customer Service hung up on me, s/w Julius-Executive Customer Service 800-522-7341 they all kept tryna make me wait again for 3rd time up to 3-5 business days to reschedule tech, 3-5days to speak with a supervisor, 3-5 business days to transfer to the "Back Office" department. I GOT THE RUN AROUND. I received a part in the mail 12/29 called 12/30 per RebeccaExecutive Customer Service I have to wait 3-5 days for a call back on this issue.

1/5/10 Samsung sends AT&T ConnecTech 2ndTechnician again who says I need the main board because the T-Con didn't work. I explained that the previous techs already knew this & both ordered parts already, the 1st tech was from his same company AT&T ConnecTech shouldn't the notes be in the system. He tells me that the t. v. needed a main board which I ALREADY KNEW FROM AT&T ConnecTech 1st Tech & SMARTHELP TECH THAT PREVIOUSLY CAME! He re-orders a main board now for the 4th time!

AT&T ConnecTech/Samsung changed my appointment number 3 times & their notes were mangled & they are extremely incompetent. 1/7/10 I s/w AT&T ConnecTech Eddie 67469 @3:40pm about the status of my repair - first he didn't know if parts were even ordered. Then he discovered that the ticket and parts order were CANCELED after the AT&T ConnecTech 2ndtech already placed the order & gave me the invoice stating he placed the part order on his visit 1/5/10. Eddie 67469 says he would have to re-order the part (main board) & reschedule a tech to come out in 5 more days!

How can they give a person the run around like this? How could my parts order be canceled? Why is it that Samsung refuses to accept my calls? Why do they continue to send AT&T ConnecTech the most incompetent company I've ever experienced? This issue has been ongoing for a 26 or so days almost a month I pay for cable & my t. v. that's under warranty & is less than a year old is broken for the 2nd time& the 2nd television with the SAME EXACT DEFECT!

     
Replies
7-14 Days Samsung Customer Service
By -

To whom it may concern,
I bought a Blue-Ray DVD player back in May, 2009. I just use it most 3 times. The first 2 times, I played it with regular DVDs.
Then the 3rd time I tried it with a Blue-Ray DVD. Then after that I tried to hook up with Netflix, when I got connect with the internet,
there was a message pop-up asking me to upgrade the firmware. I clicked "Yes". After upgrading it, my Blue-Ray DVD player did not work at all.

Then I called the Customer Service on 08/16/09. They told me to send to them for a repair. I sent it out on 08/18/09. I got an email on 08/25/09 that they received my Blue-Ray DVD player for repair with a tracking number and I should receive it back within 5 business days.
I waited for more than a week. Then I used the tracking number on the Service Tracking website to see what happened, nothing was shown.

I called the Customer Service, they said that the system just updated, and it should show something. They told me to check back the next day. The next day, still nothing was shown. I called again.... The same story was told, that the system was just updated and told me to check back tomorrow. They are such lame excuses. And I did check on the next day. Nothing was shown on the website. And the Service Tracking website is a useless website, because it shows only the Ticket Number, the Service Requested Date, the Customer's Unit Received Date, and the Current Status. After chatting, the Current Status was changed from Open to Close, nothing was actually updated. By the way, these phone calls were made on early September, 2009.

I called the Customer Service again they gave me the phone number (1-888-685-1349) to contact directly to the Repair Service department. They said that they could not find the part to replace it. They have to do the exchange for my Blue-Ray DVD player. That means they will send me a new one. I have to waited for 7-14 days for it. After 14 days, I decided to use the chat option they have to ask about the status of my Blue-Ray DVD player. The guy told me that he will put in for the approval for the exchange. That means 7-14 days I have been waiting for nothing to happen???

After that, Each time I called or chatted, I was told to wait for 7-14 days, but they did nothing. I don't believe them anymore.
And each time they told me that the exchange was approved on different dates??? 09/12/09, and then 09/14/09, and now 10/01/09.......?????
This time they gave me the phone number to speak to the ECR (Executive Customer Relation) (1-800-522-7341). I called them, they said that they will look in to it and give me a call back later. I have not received any calls back from them.... So DO NOT WAIT for their calls back, they DON'T.

Even with ECR, they do nothing. One of the ECR, telling me that she does not know what happen to my Blue-Ray DVD player why it takes so long.... That is her answer, after that nothing is happening. No one can give me a clear explanation.

On 10/01/09, I received an email telling me that they are in the process of the exchange, and I should receive the Blue-Ray DVD player in 7-14 days.... again.....

By now (10/09/09), it is more that 7 days, and I decided to call them every day until I receive my player.

I just called this morning.... She told me that I have wait for 7-14 days.... again.... and nothing happens on the shipping tracking number.

For me, I think if they do things in a timely fashion. They do not need CSR or ECR, because they do nothing. They just tell the customers to wait for 7-14 days, that's all they do to delay and collect paychecks. They are such a waste of time and money for Samsung and the consumers. Instead of reading the consumers' calls or complaints on their system and telling them to wait for 7-14 days, they should do something and follow up with it.

Now I'm still waiting and calling them every day.....

     
Replies
Shame on Samsung - Terrible Customer Service
By -

MT. ARLINGTON, NEW JERSEY -- I purchased a Samsung CLP-300 on 9/10/2008. On 1/7/09 the printer fuser malfunctioned so I sent it back to the Samsung service center in California. They sent it back to me 1/26/09. On 4/14/09 the printer fuser malfunctioned again. So I again sent it back to California to be repaired. I got it back and it worked OK for 2 weeks and malfunctioned yet again. I called the company yet again to inform them that the printer was malfunctioning again. They asked me to return it to California for service again. I am in Pennsylvania so each time I ship it back to California it takes a week out, time for repairs, and a week back. So they find me a service center that is 45 minutes from my home. I take the printer to the service center and they fix it for the third time. 6/15/09 the printer malfunctioned with the same error as the previous 3 times. I call Samsung who again wants me to send the unit in for repair. By this time it is obvious that this printer has more problems than the fuser - something else has to be making it do what it is doing. I should also mention that I use this printer for business purposes. It has been away being serviced the better part of the time since January.

By this time I am extremely frustrated and ask if there is something Samsung can do as I am extremely tired of dealing with this printer. So they tell me that they can talk to the Corporate Offices to see if they can get me another printer. Someone was supposed to call me back in 2-3 days. No one ever contacted me. I called back on the 22nd - and got a reply that the supervisor was on vacation so my request was not processed until the 19th. So I call back again on the 29th. The CSR tells me that an approval was received on the 23rd but no one bothered to call me.

So they tell me they will exchange my defective printer for a refurbished printer. But they need to put a $200 hold on a credit card to do so. So I give them the number. I received the refurbished printer 7/8/09. I open the box and was ready to put my toners into the new printer and when I opened the cover - there are no guts in this printer.

So I called Samsung and they tell me that it is standard practice - I need to move the 2 internal components myself!?! So I do this and hook the new printer up. It tells me there is no ink. I call Samsung again. They say oh yeah, those are demo cartridges and will only work with your other printer. We can exchange them but we need to put a $50 hold on your cc. WHAT??!!?? I have been without a printer since the beginning of June. It has been almost a month. So they say they can exchange the cartridges via the UPS Store - over 45 minutes away.

At this point - I've been on the phone for over an hour. No one is willing to work with me. The customer service is the worst service I have ever had. Why should I have to wait longer? The toners should have come with the new "refurb" unit. I am now looking at another week for a printer that is usable.

This printer has been defective since January and Samsung just does not care. They have been unwilling to really help me out with anything. If they really cared they would have just sent me new cartridges over night or 2 day as a courtesy for all of the hassle I have had with their defective product. Or really a new printer with a new warranty since the one I purchased has been broken way more that it has been used.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >