Preview Review

Next Review

Samsung Electronics Refrigerators Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Will Never Purchase Another Samsung Product
By -

TEMECULA, CALIFORNIA -- Our side by side refrigerator did not even last one year. The defrost sensor had to be replaced and once it was it worked for about 3 days until the refrigerator broke down again. Then, the compressor was replaced and it still does not work. I have contacted Samsung repeatedly and all they do is hide behind "policy and procedure" which the customer service representative do not have written access to???? They use this excuse to not expedite my issues or transfer me to those with the power to do so. Not to mention the rudeness. My husband spoke to an Executive Customer Service tech who apathetically told my husband, "Yeah. Maybe."

It could be another two or more weeks before anything is resolved. My refrigerator broke down officially on August 4, 2008 and is still not working/cooling to this day September 10, 2008. I am still waiting for approval for an exchange from Samsung and my warranty expires on September 28, 2008. I know of other customers with similar issues with Samsung and I urge them all to file a complaint with the New Jersey office of Consumer Affairs.

Replies
Advertisement
Samsung Refrigerator Door Bins
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROCKY POINT, NORTH CAROLINA -- We have had to replace the door bins in our Samsung French door refrigerator numerous times. The bins are fragile and just seem to fall apart. We've tried limiting the weight of items placed in the bins but it does not help. Even with the smallest items they continue to fall apart. They are poorly designed and made from very thin plastic. Each replacement bin costs about $20.00 and we are now on our 4th one. We don't have children who are slamming the door and we are very careful in using the doors. I would never recommend this refrigerator to anyone!!

Replies
Beeping
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT. ARLINGTON, NEW JERSEY -- This is to register a complaint with your company about the problem we continue to have with the Samsung refrigerator we purchased June, 2010 from H. H. Gregg here in Augusta, GA. Three months ago we experienced the beeping/ringing that would indicate the door is ajar or the seal is not secure. The door is not ajar and the seal appears secure; however, the temp registers the refrigerator at 60 degrees; the freezer seems to be working properly and registers at 12 degrees.

We contacted Samsung previously about this problem and were told that a service technician would come from Columbia, South Carolina (which is one hour from our residence) and the service fee would be $175 just to come look at it, parts and labor would be additional. This service fee of $175 is outrageous and I told them not to come. It stopped the noise and now, here we are three months later, and are having the same problem with the same beeping/ringing sound... which I might add is quite annoying and such an inconvenience, as we continue to buy ice and keep items in a cooler.

We have contacted an appliance company here and they have ordered a part that should fix this problem, hopefully. And, that part was ordered 2 weeks ago - I am curious why it should take 2 weeks for a part to sent to repair an appliance. I don't mind telling you we are thoroughly disappointed with your product and have no intention of any further purchase in the future.

Replies
Fridge product defect
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

REIDSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I purchased a Samsung fridge (french doors freezer at bottom) 2 1/2 years ago. My seals in the doors both top and bottom are pulling and ripping out. I called Samsung about the problem and they said that since it was so far out of warranty that they would not pay for repairs. They will send someone out but I am responsible for the repair bill. I think this is unfair, I could see it if it was a malfunction but it is not. It is a product defect. Needless to say I will not be purchasing another Samsung product.

Replies
Advertisement
Samsung Refrigerator
By -

MT. ARLINGTON, NEW JERSEY -- Purchased Samsung Refrigerator 3/20/2010, (Model#RF2317AB) 3 months later the unit stopped working. All food was lost. Called Samsung customer service and this person had me unplug the unit for 3 minutes and plug it back in. Then had me push two buttons inside the refrigerator to reset the unit. This restarted the compressor and it appears to start working again. I also purchased an extended coverage that included food loss. Samsung would not reimburse me for the $81.18 of food loss.

They explained that the customer service person was new and should not have given me instructions to reset the unit. They indicated that a service personnel should have been scheduled. For this reason they would not reimburse for the food loss. Poor way of doing business.

Replies
RS2530BSH
By -

I purchased a Samsung Refrigeraton on May 14, 2007, about 12 months later the fridge started making these churning noises sporadically. Contacted two service companies and both said nothing wrong with the refrigerator. On Aug-Sep 2009, only two years after my 1k investment, the noises got louder and louder, the freezer stopped working, and couple of days later both fridge and freezer stopped working. The third repair man came to diagnose; only to find out, like some other reviews I read a little to late on this Samsung Refrigerator, the "computer in it" stopped working. Long story short, and 1600.00 dollars later. I hope my experience will help other consumers.

I spent hours dealing with "the Samsung Executive offices" spoke with **, **, and lastly with **, what pieces of work. They are definitely trained to provide no customer service assistance at all. So, buyer beware.

Replies
Side by Side Refrigerator - NEVER WORKED
By -

WEST HILLS, CALIFORNIA -- My Samsung refrigerator, model #RS2530BSH was delivered by Fry's Electronics on Saturday, 9/13. My refrigerated food was frozen solid by 9/14. I turned down the temperature, as instructed in the manual. My food remained frozen solid. By 9/16, the water line was also frozen. So, now I have a total loss of refrigerated food, and no filtered water because the bottles of water I bought as a back-up haven't yet defrosted. I called Samsung - they had me unplug the refrigerator for 9 minutes to "reset it," whatever that means. I did so. The food is still frozen.

I called Fry's - the earliest repair appointment is two days hence. I called Samsung to see if they could do better - their wait is a minimum of 3 days. I think that I will hire a truck and have this POS returned to Fry's. I hope this review is helpful to someone in advance of purchase since it is only in my frustration that I found that review sites are available.

Replies
Customer Service
By -

MOUNDS, OKLAHOMA -- I bought a bottom mount refrigerator in May 08. Three months later, it went out. It was a Saturday morning and I called Samsung to request a repair since it was still under manufacturer warranty. I was informed that since it was a "holiday weekend" ( Labor Day) no one could come look at it until Tuesday. I know that most repair companies are open the Saturday before a holiday such as Labor Day. In other words, after paying $900 for a new refrigerator I am now losing all the food in it and have no place to store food for the next three days.

With 2 small children in the home this is a major problem. Customer service was very unsympathetic and unhelpful. This will be the last Samsung product I will ever purchase!

Replies
Advertisement
Parts/Repair
By -

I purchased a Samsung stainless steel side by side refrigerator in Oct/2006. It stopped working on Apr 18th, 2008 the appliance is out of warranty. Not every service company repairs Samsung appliances, I was told by the service provider that the control board failed and that is a common problem with these refrigerators. I spoke with Samsung's customer service dept on numerous occasions to no avail, finally I was connected to a supervisor who told me I had cancelled the repair request (not true) he assured me that he would personally handle the request and call me back (I'm still waiting).

I called in 3 days later and got another supervisor she advised me the part was on order and she would get back with me for follow up, I never heard from her again. On May 27th I was connected to the executive customer service dept, I was told that I had cancelled the repair request and that someone tried to contact me on May 12th (who is someone?). I do have voice mail! She went on to tell me that there were no notes showing I had spoken to any supervisors nor were there any supervisors by the names I had given her (I always take the names of the person I speak with as well as the time and date we spoke).

And since I was not under warranty they could not replace the appliance and the part was on back order so there was nothing she could do but maybe email the parts dept regarding the back order. Here it is 41 days later and I am still without a working refrigerator or a call back. Maybe Mr. or Ms. Someone will get back to me eventually.

Replies
Poor Customer Service and Lies
By -

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- We purchased a Samsung RS2577BB refrigerator on 1/18/04 from Best Buy. We did not have it delivered until approx. August 2004 because our house was being built and we did not close on it until the end of August. The fridge worked until approximately 3/23/07 when refrigerator side stopped cooling correctly. We contacted Samsung which told us it was out of warranty, but they provided us with the contact info for a "preferred" authorized repair company that was local.

The repair company came out on 3/28/07. Once they arrived they said that they were not sure what the problem was & called Samsung to see how to proceed. They were told to replace the sensor and did so. This only helped for about 4 hours so we had to call them back again. For weeks the tech at the repair shop talked to Samsung via phone and email to try to find the problem and finally they were told that it may be the thermal fuse in mid-April. We went over 2 weeks without a working refrigerator.

Finally on 4/16/07 the repair company came back out and replaced the thermal fuse. Within an hour of the tech leaving we had the same problem and in addition the freezer also stopped working properly. I called the repair shop again and they expressed their concerns with Samsung because they said they were not getting return calls or emails. They said that Samsung was being very vague when they did get someone and they were being told that they (Samsung) really had no idea why the refrigerator was not working properly. They suggested that I call Samsung directly.

Samsung confirmed that the repair shop had called several times and their technical support and customer service stated that they could only think of those 2 things as potential problems with the refrigerator and that they were at a loss. They suggested using another repair company even though they admitted the other repair shop would also call them with questions so it made no sense to do this. It would also mean an additional service fee on top of the $236.88 we had paid the repair shop we were currently using. I said I would just replace the refrigerator and they said it was fixable and they would work with the repair company so I waited.

Over the next month things continued to get worse and when we called Samsung they said they would replace the refrigerator. They worked with the repair shop to issue us a SAW number which was supposed to be what was needed for a replacement since nothing was now working properly. By this time, I had bought a small little refrigerator from Home Depot just to have some refrigerator space for milk and other essentials. Melissa in customer service said that the issue was being sent to Executive Customer Service and we would not have to do anything else because we would get a replacement.

When we didn't hear anything else after a week or so, we called back only to be told that they had decided not to replace the refrigerator and they would continue to work with the repair company to try to fix it. Finally we did get some support from Samsung and the repair shop came out again on 6/26/07 AND 7/9/07 based on info provided by Samsung to do more "repairs". They replaced the main board and then the freezer sensor and something else, yet they still could not get the refrigerator to work correctly. Finally a new Central Regional Service Manager stepped in and we were told that we would get a replacement.

After sending over our receipt as requested, we were told by a CSR that they no longer did exchanges through Best Buy so we would have to get a refund. We were not totally happy about that, but we just wanted to get a new refrigerator. However, they later told us that they would only give us a little over $400 even though we paid $1441.11. This just covered the costs we had already paid in repairs and didn't even cover the $320 we lost in food. Now no one is responding.

Buyers beware. We have been treated so poorly that it sickens me. I understand that the fridge may not be under warranty any longer, but do not make promises then back out. Also, they badmouth even their "preferred" authorized repair shops. Lastly, it has taken 4 months to even get this far. We are disgusted with the service and the lies. We will never buy from Samsung again and we are techies that buy a lot of electronic items. They need to stand behind their products and what they say. To drag this on for months has really left a bad taste in my mouth.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Samsung Electronics Refrigerators Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
25 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Samsung Electronics
105 Challenger Rd
Ridgefield Park, NJ 07660
201-229-4000 (ph)
201-229-4110 (fax)
www.sosimple.com
Product/Services
Compare Computer Companies