Preview Review

Next Review

Samsung Electronics Refrigerators Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Refrigerator - What A Piece Of Junk!
By -

This appliance was originally purchased in Sept 2005. 13 months later is when the problems started. Since the 12 month warranty expired, Samsung suggested I contact a technician. The problem with the piece of junk is the temperature in both the freezer and fridge compartment fluctuate and never are "normal". At a cost of $300 CDN sensors were replaced. Six months later, the same problem reappeared. The technicians warranty expired, I had to spend another $175 CDN to be told it would need another piece for it to work properly.

In a matter of 10 months since the repairs, the appliance has konked out on me five times. The same problem; over/under freezing, too warm in the fridge compartment, milk freezing, meat thawing. I'm at a complete loss except to perhaps throw this "appliance" to The Dump. NEVER WOULD I PURCHASE OR RECOMMEND SAMSUNG. A complete waste of time and money.

Replies
Advertisement
Will Never Purchase Another Samsung Product
By -

TEMECULA, CALIFORNIA -- Our side by side refrigerator did not even last one year. The defrost sensor had to be replaced and once it was it worked for about 3 days until the refrigerator broke down again. Then, the compressor was replaced and it still does not work. I have contacted Samsung repeatedly and all they do is hide behind "policy and procedure" which the customer service representative do not have written access to???? They use this excuse to not expedite my issues or transfer me to those with the power to do so. Not to mention the rudeness. My husband spoke to an Executive Customer Service tech who apathetically told my husband, "Yeah. Maybe."

It could be another two or more weeks before anything is resolved. My refrigerator broke down officially on August 4, 2008 and is still not working/cooling to this day September 10, 2008. I am still waiting for approval for an exchange from Samsung and my warranty expires on September 28, 2008. I know of other customers with similar issues with Samsung and I urge them all to file a complaint with the New Jersey office of Consumer Affairs.

Replies
Fridge product defect
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

REIDSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I purchased a Samsung fridge (french doors freezer at bottom) 2 1/2 years ago. My seals in the doors both top and bottom are pulling and ripping out. I called Samsung about the problem and they said that since it was so far out of warranty that they would not pay for repairs. They will send someone out but I am responsible for the repair bill. I think this is unfair, I could see it if it was a malfunction but it is not. It is a product defect. Needless to say I will not be purchasing another Samsung product.

Replies
Worst Company Complaint Resolution ANYWHERE
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NAPERVILLE, ILLINOIS -- I had the fridge fail in the first two weeks after purchase. They have a company call sometime within 3 days to just schedule a service appointment. When the repair company they use came out, they replaced a board and said it was working. It wasn't working and when I called again for service, they again said they would call within 3 days to schedule the appointment, not be there within 3 days but call to schedule. They came back again and thought they fixed it but yet again they were wrong. I called to talk to customer service and asked to talk to a manager. They have a special complaint department (they obviously have a lot of special complaints).

They offered to refund the purchase price. I explained I got it discounted and the refund would not pay for the same fridge. They did not care and would only offer the purchase price. They would NOT offer the same model as a replacement. I got in touch with Lowe's and they would offer a replacement even though I didn't buy it from them (the company I bought from went out of business). They even delivered the new and picked up the old at no charge. Lowe's was FANTASTIC. Samsung offered food replacement. I jumped through a ton of hoops to provide itemized list and individual cost yet they never issue a check. Just continue to get the run around.

By the way they were rude on every conversation, not even a hint of compassion that my $3,000+ fridge didn't work for two weeks and it took me over two weeks battling them and still got nothing.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Plastic Quality
By -

Plastic cracking all over inside the fridge - fridge 3 years old. Started to crack from first year, now it is falling apart.
Paid extra warranty of $340 on top of $3400 I paid initially. They stated this is aesthetic and physical damage... I never had or see in my life any fridge with so much breaking plastic inside. I do not even own big pots and my ketchup must move inside the fridge soon. The inside door attachments were for decoration and I did not know... really?!!!! I will never ever buy anything Samsung and I will never stop writing about their great products and special the service.

Replies
Samsung Refrigerator
By -

MT. ARLINGTON, NEW JERSEY -- Purchased Samsung Refrigerator 3/20/2010, (Model#RF2317AB) 3 months later the unit stopped working. All food was lost. Called Samsung customer service and this person had me unplug the unit for 3 minutes and plug it back in. Then had me push two buttons inside the refrigerator to reset the unit. This restarted the compressor and it appears to start working again. I also purchased an extended coverage that included food loss. Samsung would not reimburse me for the $81.18 of food loss.

They explained that the customer service person was new and should not have given me instructions to reset the unit. They indicated that a service personnel should have been scheduled. For this reason they would not reimburse for the food loss. Poor way of doing business.

Replies
RS2530BSH
By -

I purchased a Samsung Refrigeraton on May 14, 2007, about 12 months later the fridge started making these churning noises sporadically. Contacted two service companies and both said nothing wrong with the refrigerator. On Aug-Sep 2009, only two years after my 1k investment, the noises got louder and louder, the freezer stopped working, and couple of days later both fridge and freezer stopped working. The third repair man came to diagnose; only to find out, like some other reviews I read a little to late on this Samsung Refrigerator, the "computer in it" stopped working. Long story short, and 1600.00 dollars later. I hope my experience will help other consumers.

I spent hours dealing with "the Samsung Executive offices" spoke with **, **, and lastly with **, what pieces of work. They are definitely trained to provide no customer service assistance at all. So, buyer beware.

Replies
Side by Side Refrigerator - NEVER WORKED
By -

WEST HILLS, CALIFORNIA -- My Samsung refrigerator, model #RS2530BSH was delivered by Fry's Electronics on Saturday, 9/13. My refrigerated food was frozen solid by 9/14. I turned down the temperature, as instructed in the manual. My food remained frozen solid. By 9/16, the water line was also frozen. So, now I have a total loss of refrigerated food, and no filtered water because the bottles of water I bought as a back-up haven't yet defrosted. I called Samsung - they had me unplug the refrigerator for 9 minutes to "reset it," whatever that means. I did so. The food is still frozen.

I called Fry's - the earliest repair appointment is two days hence. I called Samsung to see if they could do better - their wait is a minimum of 3 days. I think that I will hire a truck and have this POS returned to Fry's. I hope this review is helpful to someone in advance of purchase since it is only in my frustration that I found that review sites are available.

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Service
By -

MOUNDS, OKLAHOMA -- I bought a bottom mount refrigerator in May 08. Three months later, it went out. It was a Saturday morning and I called Samsung to request a repair since it was still under manufacturer warranty. I was informed that since it was a "holiday weekend" ( Labor Day) no one could come look at it until Tuesday. I know that most repair companies are open the Saturday before a holiday such as Labor Day. In other words, after paying $900 for a new refrigerator I am now losing all the food in it and have no place to store food for the next three days.

With 2 small children in the home this is a major problem. Customer service was very unsympathetic and unhelpful. This will be the last Samsung product I will ever purchase!

Replies
Parts/Repair
By -

I purchased a Samsung stainless steel side by side refrigerator in Oct/2006. It stopped working on Apr 18th, 2008 the appliance is out of warranty. Not every service company repairs Samsung appliances, I was told by the service provider that the control board failed and that is a common problem with these refrigerators. I spoke with Samsung's customer service dept on numerous occasions to no avail, finally I was connected to a supervisor who told me I had cancelled the repair request (not true) he assured me that he would personally handle the request and call me back (I'm still waiting).

I called in 3 days later and got another supervisor she advised me the part was on order and she would get back with me for follow up, I never heard from her again. On May 27th I was connected to the executive customer service dept, I was told that I had cancelled the repair request and that someone tried to contact me on May 12th (who is someone?). I do have voice mail! She went on to tell me that there were no notes showing I had spoken to any supervisors nor were there any supervisors by the names I had given her (I always take the names of the person I speak with as well as the time and date we spoke).

And since I was not under warranty they could not replace the appliance and the part was on back order so there was nothing she could do but maybe email the parts dept regarding the back order. Here it is 41 days later and I am still without a working refrigerator or a call back. Maybe Mr. or Ms. Someone will get back to me eventually.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Samsung Electronics Refrigerators Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
24 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Samsung Electronics
105 Challenger Rd
Ridgefield Park, NJ 07660
201-229-4000 (ph)
201-229-4110 (fax)
www.sosimple.com
Product/Services
Compare Computer Companies