United States Postal Service - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 15 ratings and
103 reviews & complaints.
www.usps.com
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
USPS - Its Own Victim
By -

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- I have the misfortune to live in Henrico County, VA just outside Richmond, Va. Of course, in their wisdom, the USPS assigned my community a Richmond Zip Code forcing us to deal with the East End Richmond Post Office, better known because of its plastic shields at the counter and locked areas, the "War Zone".

For 12 years I have suffered and complained to the Post Master General and the local post office by telephone (try to use their online complaint e-mail forms and you will probably find as I do that they do not work - broken links, locked fields, etc.) about: (1) mis-delivered mail, i.e. all mail in my cul de sac delivered to my mailbox, my correctly addressed mail delivered to a person in Richmond with a totally different name and zip code, etc. (2) delivery of my mail consistently after 6:30PM (3) packages not delivered requiring me to pay a cab (I do not drive and there is no bus service) to go to the "War Zone".

The excuses they give me are numerous - can't hire enough people because they, "can't find enough employees to pass the legal requirements and drug testing" (actual quote). They are afraid someone will steal the package if they leave it (UPS and FedEx have no such problem and I have never missed receiving a package), my neighborhood is the last on the route, etc.

I have a family in France and right now I am waiting to call a cab to pick up the package they sent. As usual, it was delivered after 6:30PM and although I was home either the carrier did not use the doorbell or simply knocked once and left. So, I am going to tell my family in Europe to not attempt to send packages and to rely on IM and e-mail for our correspondence.

I will choose the more expensive method of sending my packages by FedEX or UPS. I have already switched to almost exclusively electronic cards and correspondence. It appears to me that if the Post Office wants to become financially viable they might consider providing decent service.

Replies
Extremely slow package delivery!
-

My husband had a package shipped to him on 10/28/11 via USPS (Ebay purchase). It is now 11/22/11 and the package has not be delivered yet. Tracking information shows: Detailed Results:Processed through USPS Sort Facility, November 12, 2011, 7:57 pm, RICHMOND, CA 94804. Electronic Shipping Info Received, October 28, 2011. Acceptance, October 28, 2011, 12:39 pm, FREEPORT, IL 61032.

Richmond, Ca is 110 miles north of our location. The package arrived in Richmond 10 days ago so why hasn't it at least reached our local post office? I'm beginning to think that, in an effort to save money, the USPS has strapped this package to the back of a turtle instead of placing it on a mail truck for the mailman to deliver! Seriously USPS? You've had this package for 3 weeks now. We could have had the package shipped media mail and it should have been here by now! It's also frustrating to know that at least as far as the USPS is concerned, a tracking number means nothing to them. If I take the tracking info down to the local post office, there is nothing they can do to locate this package. You would think that the USPS would have a more sophisticated way of tracking mail but they don't. This is seriously disappointing USPS. You have been my preferred method of shipping for a long time.

Replies
If you plan on delivering any packages, don't use the self serve kiosk machine
-

OK so I'm sort of a newbie to the site, but get the gist of the reviews and complaints. This is a slight complaint, more of an informative to people since you really can't prevent yourself from using the USPS besides mailing packages. Anyway here's my story.

I sell things on Ebay, especially video games that I am finish playing. I normally make most of my money back from the game when I sell them on Ebay. So I sold a game, the buyer paid via Paypal. Paypal always suggests you mail getting some sort of tracking info as proof to prevent a buyer saying they never got your package. So I stick the game in a large envelope I have, and off to the USPS I go.

Of course, due to the holidays, the post office I went to is swamped with people and the line almost going out the post office door. I noticed no one at the self service kiosk, where you can buy your own stamps, and mail your packages out. Being somewhat computer savvy, I thought I would give it a try. It was pretty self explanatory and easy, I got through weighing the item, and the cost The game is light. $1.44. I wanted to add certified mail to it, which was another $2.80. okay no biggie.

I pay for the certified mail, and all that came out was the sticker for the envelope.....it gave no instructions on how to go about getting a number for certified mail. I went over to a desk next to it where the little certified mail stickers were, I stuck the sticker on the package and kept the other piece since it was the sender's copy. It's now day 2, and I still cannot track the order.... so I don't know whether my package is going to be delivered or if the USPS did not scan the barcode to put it in the system....ugh.. Anyway all I have to say is do NOT use their self serving kiosk other than getting stamps. It's confusing and difficult.

Replies
Nancy B Jefferson Location
By -

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- I agree 100% with the other reviewer here commenting on the Nancy B. Jefferson location. I've lived at this address for 15 years, and have rarely received reliable mail. About 4 years ago I called because myself and my tenant were missing mail, which we still regularly do. The supervisor took my complaint, and then TOLD MY CARRIER, mentioning my name and address. So that, the next time I saw her, she accused me of complaining about her. Nice management skills in evidence, here!

My mail delivery got worse after that -- which was shocking to me. Just kidding. It just makes sense. I was too frightened at that point to ever say anything again. I think I have a different carrier at this time, but they seem to change regularly now, also, so sometimes I get mail, and sometimes/mostly I don't. There's at least one piece (bill) missing each month. I make sure to specify delivery confirmation or insurance on anything being shipped to me, which does seem to help.

They've removed ALL post boxes in my neighborhood so that the nearest one is 8 blocks away, which, in the winter, isn't fun. It's become SUCH a giant hassle for me to mail anything at this point (I work from my home). So to mail anything I need to drive to the post office, about 2 miles away.

I called to have the mailbox that was until recently two blocks from my house replaced, and they said they'd done a study and found it wasn't being used enough and would not be replaced. I'M about to go postal, it's such a hassle for me to get anything in to the mail these days. And they wonder why they're doing so poorly, fiscally? They used to actually be quite profitable.... I wonder what patronage job took over as the CEO or whatever the top Postal job is. Yes, I'm cynical, in a Chicago kind of way.

Replies
Mis-Delivered And Lost Mail
By -

BEREA, OHIO -- Lately I have been having problems with lost and/or mis-delivered mail to my residence in Berea, OH. On many occasions I have found my mail in my downstairs neighbor's mailbox (he is good at giving me my mail, though). And on a few occasions, I never received certain pieces of mail, including my gas and telephone bills for February and three Netflix DVD's that were supposedly mailed from the Cleveland distribution center on the 11th, and had not arrived as of today, the 17th. (I reported the three DVD's to Netflix as missing, and replacements are supposed to be mailed tomorrow, the 18th.)

Apparently my mail carrier isn't doing a very good job sorting the mail, so I wonder if the missing mail was delivered to other neighbors' houses and not returned. As far as I know, I doubt it if anybody is stealing mail from my mailbox, since I have received other bills and mail.

I had to pay the telephone and gas bills by phone, so I don't fall behind on them. And some days, the mailman is so lazy that he puts the mail for both me and my other neighbor in the third neighbor's mailbox (my building has 3 apartments). I am getting concerned because of the mistakes this mailman is making, since I am missing some mail I receive regularly. I don't want to fall behind on my bills because of the mailman's mistakes.

I'm also debating on whether I should get a post office box and have my mail delivered there instead. This would mean submitting a change of address, though. This is getting ridiculous. These problems usually occur when there is a substitute mailman on my route. The regular mailman rarely makes these mistakes, but more often than not, my mail does end up getting mis-delivered or missing. Whatever mailman who is on my route needs to take his time and make sure the mail is properly separated and delivered. Thank you.

Replies
Money Stolen!
By -

I understand that you should never send cash through the mail. I never have and never will, however it's not always easy to break someone else's ways: My grandmother called me on 1/14/09 and told me she was sending my birthday money ($50) in the mail with a card as she has done every year for the past 20 years. I received the card today, 1/16/09, and found that the envelope had been opened and re-taped, and there was a handwritten note on the back with "sorry opened by mistake delivered to wrong address". Of course, the $50 was missing. On the front of the card, my zip code written by my grandmother as part of my address had been scribbled out, someone else re-wrote my zip code then scribbled it out again, then wrote it a third time on the front of the envelope.

Again, my grandmother has been sending my birthday cards to this same address for the past 10 out of 20 years. She know my correct zip code and prints legibly. I can see through the scribble enough to see that the correct zip code was written originally. In addition, the postal barcode at the bottom clearly reads "18018". I have no reason to believe that this card was delivered to someone's home, opened, and then handed back to the postman for re-delivery for several reasons:

1) If someone is going to steal money after a card was delivered at the wrong residential address, why would the thief bother to give the card back to the postman to redeliver? It would be easier to just throw away the card as though it never existed.

2) The card is postmarked 1/14/09. It has always taken exactly 2 days for mail to come from my grandmother's address to mine. If the card was truly delivered "accidentally" to the wrong zip code, it is not likely that I would have received it until at least the 17th when the postman was able to redeliver it. This gives me reason to believe that the crime was committed by a U.S. postal worker.

Replies
Folding and banding personal mail
By -

MITCHELL, GEORGIA -- For most of my life (62 years) my mail was delivered with care, especially magazines, catalogs, and oversize envelopes. I had the most caring and friendly mail carriers for the great majority of my years. The mailman even knew all of the children on my block by name and watched out for them while making his deliveries.

About 10 years ago I moved to the rural part of Georgia to enjoy the quiet life after a long carrier in law enforcement. From the first week that I lived at the new address I started having problems with misdelivered mail and missing bills but that is an every day occurrence at the USPS.

My aggravation is the way the large items are delivered. I have to ask this question to those here. Am I the only person that does not like to have magazines, catalogs, and large envelopes folded in half and banded with a rubber band? That is how all of these pieces of mail are delivered to my "oversize" mailbox. This includes the folding of large envelopes containing photographs and clearly marked "Do Not Bend", "Important Documents Do Not Bend", and "Photographs - Do Not Bend".

Anyone can understand the aggravation of receiving folded photographs and important documents but I am really aggravated when the expensive magazines and favorite catalogs arrive folded in half and banded. Have you ever tried to flip through a magazine or catalog that is folded in half? It's flip one page and 20 or 30 pages follow. More fun is trying to flip through them backwards or even try to read a folded page as it returns to its folded position.

I have respectfully complained to my local Postmaster numerous time with no results. The Postmaster says that the carrier folds mail to make it more convenient for him to stack mail in his delivery boxes. On each complaint the Postmaster said that he would see what he could do and for about a week after each complaint the mail was delivered unfolded and unbanded. But the inevitable always happened, the folding and banding would start again.

I made 3 online complaints at the USPS website that would always result in a telephone call from the local Postmaster who had handled all of my previous complaints. Each of these times my mail would have a short life of not being folded and banded but the procedure would always restart.

Is there a real complaint process for the USPS? A USPS Consumer Advocate? I would like to take the complaint higher than my local Postmaster so that it can be resolved on a permanent bases if such a process even exists. I have been unable to locate physical addresses or e-mail addresses where one can file a complaint and have it resolved.

I am willing to take the time to go through the proper complaint process and have been trying to do so with my local Postmaster without lasting results for years. Any help or sound suggestions would be most appreciated.

Replies
How And When To Use Insurance
By -

I worked for the Postal Service for 7 years and left before going completely mad. Line employees (the ones that handle or managed the handling of the mail) have such a hard time that "Going Postal" became part of the American lexicon.
Packages and mail have to be sorted and delivered in time and I had supervisors who explicitly told us to throw them. It takes much longer to carry a package to its place than it takes to throw them. Worse than that, it was commonplace for employees to throw packages as hard as possible when they were upset. I have seen packages kicked out of the building, through a window.
Having said that, if you decide to buy insurance for your package, have these points in mind:
1 - Unless you have the original receipt for the product, your insurance claim will not even be considered.
2 - If the product broke, but there is no visible, obvious damage to the box, you will have a very hard time (practically impossible) getting your insurance claim. i.e. - When I quit the Post Office, I moved and shipped a lot of my stuff. One of the things was a subwoofer (too heavy for the airplane). The subwoofer arrived with its speaker cone ripped off the box. It was obvious that the package had been thrown, but landed flat on its side. Not enough to cause any damage to the box, but more than enough to destroy the speaker. I never got my money back.
3 - If it is a used electronic product, unless you are selling it, they will take the price of the item from the original receipt and devalue it according to some obscure formula that I have never seen.
- All insurance claims are processed at the Distribution Center level, not your local delivery office -
4 - One of my supervisors explicitly told us to stamp any box that was damaged (either by our office or coming from the distribution center) with a "received damaged" stamp. In a sneer he explained that this would reduce the number of insurance claims our particular station was getting (this particular supervisor wanted to make a name for himself, by reducing the hours. So he actually told us to throw things harder and faster, or he would short staff us and force the remainder of the workers sorting to work faster -by throwing the packages -). The result was that too many insurance claims were being filed, and that also looks bad for the station.
So, use insurance with care. It is not always worth it. Rather, you should get a bigger box and properly package it. Many customers who sold expensive goods and shipped through us used gravity packs inside their boxes (if the g-force exceeds a certain number, you are able to find out and prove it even if there is no damage to the box.
Of course, this can become expensive and not worth it.

Replies
USPS Disappoints Once Again
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- A package shipped priority from Florida to New Jersey was delivered completely mangled, not to mention late, as it was out for delivery in the wrong town, TWICE. The package was wedding invitations and they were tossed all about the box, some with torn/bent corners, some completely not even usable. So thank you USPS, for making me spend more money to order more invites to replace the ones that were destroyed - to which I will spend even more money shipping them through another service since you have proved time and time again how careless you are.

Replies
Extremely Disappointed - Never Using Again
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALLENDALE, MICHIGAN -- Sent a package on Monday, February 8th. It was supposed to be received by Wednesday, February 10th. It was finally dropped in the "parcel locker" at my apartment complex on Saturday. BUT, the mail person was supposed to leave a key to the parcel locker in my mailbox, and they did not. I called the post office and explained the situation, and the woman said that she would get back to me, took my phone number and said the situation would be resolved. It has not been resolved, she has not called, I am furious.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >