AT&T DSL

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 3 ratings and
26 reviews & complaints.
www.att.com

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The Worst EVER Service
By -

My name is Cheryl Anderson and on 8-4-10 I visited their online site to order a packaged bundle service. I was getting all three services, phone, DSL, and Direct TV. I thought the company would be less expensive than Cox Communications, the company I was currently dealing with. However what I thought would be an easy and simple process soon turned into the worst consumer service nightmare I've ever experienced in my life! On 8-11-10 AT&T telephone technicians came out to change my line from Cox to AT&T. Before they arrived I called AT&T to see what time they would be coming because no one told me the hour of their arrival, just the date. While I was on the phone trying to get this information, I discovered that my order for the DSL hadn't been received. I found that to be strange considering when I placed the order online it confirmed that my order had gone through for all 3 services. The representative on the line included the service and told me that I would receive the DSL hardware on Friday, 8-13-10. While I was on the phone with her, the phone technicians arrived. For the most part they did what they were supposed to do, however I was under the impression that they would take care of hooking up the phone service as well as the Direct TV. The telephone technicians informed me that they had nothing to do with Direct TV, they were strictly phone guys and they could not tell me anything about when the technicians for Direct TV would be out. Wow. I had taken that day off of work for the sole purpose of having ALL my services connected on that day because that was the impression I was given by AT&T. So I called AT&T again to inquire about when the Direct TV technicians would be out to install my service. Wouldn't you know it; AT&T had NO record of me ordering Direct TV. Isn't that something? I found it to be beyond something. Consequently I had to order the Direct TV service on 8-11-10, something I THOUGHT I had done on 8-4-10. After setting up the Direct TV installation date and time, I thought all was well. A few setbacks but as long as I was getting what I had ordered I was fine. However I was perturbed that I would have to take off another day for the technicians to install the Direct TV service. The telephone technicians went back and forth with a few phone jacks in my home and concluded that the jack in the kitchen worked and the jack in my loft worked. The ones that were in the bedrooms and the living room did not. That was fine because I was told by the Cox Communications technician when I'd first moved in that the only jack that worked was the one in the loft. HE suggested that I get a satellite type phone. I would plug the main/base phone into the jack in the loft and spread the other handsets throughout the house. That was a swell idea to me and I had been using that for the past three years without ONE problem with phone service. NEVER had a problem with the main phone being in the loft and using satellite handsets that is until AT&T came and messed it up! The technicians managed to get the kitchen jack to work (we were under the assumption that it didn't work) and they CLAIMED the jack in the loft work, something I already knew. They left. Later that evening though, I found that my phone was not ringing properly. Then the next day, 8-12-10, my mother called me and asked me to call the house because she was having problems with it not ringing. The only way she knew someone was calling was by the phone lighting up and the caller id appearing on the handset. I called the house and I got one ring and then some static and then a busy signal. I called several times and I continued to get the same thing. When I finally managed to get her back on the phone she told me how the phone didn't ring at all! As I'm sure you can imagine at this point I was not pleased, especially in light of the fact that they claimed to not have my DSL or Direct TV order. I was at work at this time and I had to take time out of my day to deal with this problem. I called AT&T to address this problem as well as address the fact that they never had record of my DSL order or Direct TV order. I had to call twice because I couldn't get the satisfaction I needed from the first call. Because I was very close to cancelling EVERYTHING, I was transferred to a supervisor. The supervisor listened to my problem and I will say, out of all the people that I had spoken to by that time and afterwards at ATT, she was the only one who seemed to be concerned about my issue SEEMED! I relayed my situation to her and she got on the phone with the repair department while she kept me on hold. However she would come back every few minutes to assure me that she was trying to take care of the problem. By the end of the call 40 minutes had passed. She did managed to have a technician to come out on 8-12-10 to look at my phone line and she made sure that my Direct TV order was correct and in order as well as the DSL. She made sure all of the stated prices that I'd received when I ordered it online were correct as well. I cannot remember her name, it may have been Ms. Johnson, but she did give me her email address in case I ever had any problems. She told me to contact her if I ever had any issues. Her email address is sj6110@att.com. With that I was somewhat satisfied that things would finally be working correctly with no problems. WRONG! Because I have to go to work everyday to pay for these services, I was not home when the technician came out on 8-12-10. My elderly mother was home and since she was aware of the problem, she allowed the technician to come and do what he was SUPPOSED to do. When I returned home and asked her about what happened, imagine my utmost contempt when she told me the technician told her that the jack/line in the loft did not work and that I would have to get it repaired and it would cost me $90!!! I was beside myself with anger because I was completely BAFFLED as to how a line that worked PERFECTLY on 8-10-10 and the early morning of 8-11-10 goes to NOT WORKING on 8-12-10 AFTER 3 AT&T technicians came out to work on it??? And I'M supposed to pay for it??? Livid is too mild a word to describe how I was feeling at that moment. Naturally I proceeded to call their fabulous customer service line to get someone to explain this madness to me. I proceeded to tell the representative the whole problem from the beginning to the end and she told me that she was going to make sure it gets to a supervisor and that the supervisor would call me back. That was on 8-12-10. As of TODAY, 8-27-10, I'm still waiting on that call!!!!!!(8-27-10 is the day that I actually wrote this letter to be sent to AT&T). She tells me a supervisor will call me back. Friday comes, no call. By the time 2 pm on 8-13-10 arrived, I felt that it was ridiculous that I wasn't getting anything from AT&T but a headache. I then called AT&T AGAIN to complain about this supervisor never calling me and again, reiterating my problem in complete detail. The representative told me that the supervisors are out in the field and that there was NO way she could tell me when he'd call me back. The best she could tell me was that he had until 6pm on 8-17-10 to call me. That was incomprehensible to me. I found it rather strange that every time I wanted to speak to someone in charge, I had to wait for THEM to call me back. It seems this is done at THEIR convenience and not the customers, the ones who are PAYING for these services. Since I could not get any satisfaction with that particular rep, I decided I would cancel all services but then I recalled the lady I spoke to on 8-12-10 who so politely gave me her email address so that I could contact her should I have any problems. I emailed her. It is attached to this letter. I explained in the email, in detail, everything that had happened in those last 3 days and I also expressed my complete dissatisfaction with AT&T. I included my home and cell phone number if she needed to contact me. This is where the "SEEMED" comes in. As of today, 8-27-10, I have YET to receive ANY kind of acknowledgement of my email!!! How naive I was to believe this was someone who really wanted to make sure I was a satisfied customer. How silly of me. By this point I was TOTALLY THROUGH with AT&T. I waited through the weekend up into the next week waiting for SOMEONE to get in touch with me about my so called broken line. NO ONE CONTACTED ME ABOUT ANYTHING! The Direct TV technician came out on 8-17-10 and did a wonderful job in hooking up my service. I could not believe the stark contrast in customer service I received from these two companies that are supposed to be working together. It was amazing. He was a great help to me. Unfortunately, before he began to hook the cable lines to the receiver and connect my television, he informed me that when he made this connection I would lose my internet service. It had something to do with the way the cable lines were run. I could not believe it. Here I had a complete DSL system waiting to go, ready to be used but no working phone line to connect it to. The only working line was in my kitchen. What a GREAT place to hook up my computer. GREAT place. Just where I would want a desktop, sitting next to my microwave oven!!! I was so beyond angry. I got on the phone immediately AGAIN with AT&T to find out when this phantom supervisor was going to contact me. AGAIN I had to go into detail with yet ANOTHER representative about my problem, who by the way wasn't too polite. I did not like his tone with me at all. He talked to me as though I was the one who was causing the trouble. I asked him several times about talking to someone in charge and he more or less brushed me off. He told me the same ridiculous story I'd been hearing since 8-12-10. At this point it was 8-17-10 and my phone line was STILL in disrepair with NO ONE on AT&T's end trying to find a solution or making an attempt to fix the problem. He told me, like I'd heard twice before already, that the supervisor would call me. Oh My GOD! Here we go again. However this was with a twist. The "Supervisor" would call me by 6pm that evening. Really? I hung up with him telling me that hogwash. I then attempted to call another number that I thought would connect me to some office or department other than the ones I kept getting because starting on 8-12 until 8-17 I kept getting the same lies from the representatives. I say lies because like I have stated before, I never received a call from a supervisor EVER! I found a number that seemed to be different and I was hoping it would connect me to a department that could REALLY help me. Again my naiveté got the best of me. I got yet ANOTHER representative telling me the same garbage I had been hearing the last week! "A supervisor will contact you by 6pm this evening." I was irate! I was so irate, I was near tears with frustration with how I could get absolutely NO ONE TO MAKE ANY EFFORT IN GETTING MY PROBLEM FIXED!!!!!! UNBELIEVABLE!!! NO ONE!!!!! On 8-17-10 at 6pm, no phone in my house rang. No cell phone in my house rang. 6:30 pm still no calls. NOTHING FROM THIS PHANTOM SUPERVISOR!!!! Like I've stated earlier, today is 8-27-10 and I am still waiting on that supposed supervisor to call me. By Tuesday evening I made up my mind to cancel all services with ATT. I kept the Direct TV ONLY because they are a separate entity from AT&T and I can deal with them directly and because the Direct TV technician's customer service skills was superb! I never opened the DSL package and it was delivered to UPS on 8-20-10 to be returned to sender. On 8-23-10 I cancelled ALL services I was remotely connected to through AT&T. I cannot believe the total inconsideration this company has shown me. I cannot believe the STRESS that I had to endure trying to get AT&T to do THEIR job!!! I cannot believe that AT&T would come into my house and ruin a phone line that had been working PERFECTLY WELL the last three years with COX COMMUNICATIONS and then have the nerve to say I have to pay for it to be repaired! I cannot believe with all the calls I made and all the representatives I spoke to (and not in my nice voice because I was HIGHLY UPSET) NO ONE TRIED TO REMEDY THIS PROBLEM!!! NO ONE! I can't get over that!!!! I was TOTALLY DISREGARDED!!! By 8-17-10, AT&T had to be quite aware of my issue and that I was far from happy about it. But no moves were made to rectify it. Oh, I'm sorry some moves were made eventually on 8-20-10. WOW! A call I was supposed to receive, or rather expecting to receive on 8-12-10 from a "supervisor" never materializes but somehow a technician shows up at 5pm on 8-20-10 wanting to know about my phone line problem. Really? Really. He was sent away without entering the home because by that time I was done with AT&T. DONE!!! I don't want anything from them EVER again!!! I don't want a phone book, I don't want junk mail, I don't even want to see their commercials on the television! Cox Communications can charge me $500 a month for services and I will gladly take that over anything AT&T can EVER offer me!!!! BEYOND awful service! BEYOND!!! I am getting angry about it again. I was so stressed out behind this. I was experiencing headaches on end. NO ONE should have to go through what I have been through with ANY service company!!! I don't know what kind of operation AT&T claims to be. It is quite obvious customer service falls very low on their list of priorities. Their customers mean absolutely NOTHING to them, as I have found out the hard way. They truly give a squat about the people who are paying out the nose for these services. New customers switching from their MAIN adversary in this region, AT&T could give two dead flies for. We mean absolutely nothing to you but a dollar but then again, no. Not my dollar.

     
Replies
Very poor service from AT&T
By -

AT&T
August 11, 2010

To whom it may concern,

This letter is to express my frustration and disgust with AT&T and the service that I was provided while trying to set up my business phone line, fax and DSL service.

I have been a residential customer of AT&T for the past 22 years with 16 years at my current address and phone number. I have a home phone line. I had a home fax line. I am also a wireless customer with AT&T. On the home fax line I had my DSL service, for about 3 years, with very few problems.

On July 9, 2010 I placed an order for two new business phone lines. A tech was dispatched to my home to set up my two new lines on July 12. He did his job, but, another tech was sent out on July 21 to add lines to the inside of my house and get my service up and running. While he was here, he asked if I would be keeping my home fax. I said that I would not need that line, but, my DSL ran on that line. He had me cancel the phone number and my DSL service (he used the existing line for the new fax line) and told me that when he had completed his job I needed to call AT&T and have my DSL service moved to the new fax line (that he had just installed.)

I set up an appointment to have my new DSL connected on July 23, 2010. The tech said that there was a problem but that his boss (John Houston 312-307-7572) would make sure that my service was up and running by 8pm. It was not. I spoke to John on the phone and was told that my DSL service would be up and running by the time I woke up Saturday morning. It was not. I left on vacation for a week and came home to no internet service. On August 4th a tech was to be dispatched to "fix the problem" and get my line up and running. On August 4th, I called AT&T to check on the status of my order and to see where the tech was. I was told that I had received a phone message that there was a problem with getting the DSL service that I had ordered. (The message was left with 815-836-8655 that is not my phone number I did not receive the message how ironic that AT&T, my phone service provider, can't get the number correct). AT&T said that they would send a tech out on August 5th. The tech came out. He noted that I did have DSL on my line, but, that it was running terribly slow. He checked my order and said that the order was for the lowest package that you offered. I know that I ordered the fastest DSL package that AT&T offered as it was important to my business. While the tech was working on my line, I called AT&T and upgraded to the "ELITE" package (I was told that the "ELITE" DSL would be up and running by close of business on August 9th.)

After more than 3 hours of working the tech came back to my house and said that AT&T could not provide me with the DSL that I had ordered. He said that he was told by his boss (Paul Zivat) that they are upgrading the DSL lines and that they are not setting up any new service in the area! Even though I had been an AT&T DSL customer in the past, they would not restore my service to the level that I once enjoyed.

Apparently, when I cancelled the DSL service on my home fax line I lost the ability to have a usable and dependable AT&T DSL line in my home. Although I had a usable and dependable DSL line for the past 3 or so years, provided by AT&T, cancelling my phone line left me out in the cold. NO ONE at AT&T informed me that I was grandfathered in and that had I not cancelled my line, I would still have my AT&T DSL service. Basically, AT&T has refused to service my family and business.

On August 6th, after many phone calls to AT&T, I was told that I could get AT&T DSL on my home phone line as the customer service representative felt the problem was with the fact that it was a business line YEAH! I ordered the "ELITE" package. The customer service representative set everything up (and even said that she would provide me with an AT&T Visa Gift Card for all of my trouble.) She tried to expedite the installation, but couldn't. I had an appointment for a tech to come out on August 9th. By mid afternoon on August 9th, I was having that familiar feeling no tech had called might there be a problem? I called AT&T. THE SERVICE WAS CANCELLED! Why, I asked? AT&T could not provide me with the "ELITE" package might I like the "PRO" package? I would need to place another new order and wait another 3 days to have it installed. An order was placed.

Again, this order was cancelled. I called AT&T. I was told that the orders were written up incorrectly and that I would have to call back and have a new order written. When I called back, I was to tell the representative that I needed to have them place my order NOT with the central office but with the remote terminal. I did this! The tech is set to come out on August 13, 2010.

Because I have been stuck at home for days, waiting for the AT&T tech, I have done some investigating and formed some opinions.

First, although I do have an order to have a tech visit my home to provide me with DSL, I believe that the service will, again, not be usable and dependable. The DSL that is running on my fax line is supposed to be running at a rate of 3.0 to 6.1 Mbps but is instead running at a rate of 0.20 Mpbs. Will it be any different when the DSL is installed on my home phone line? No one at AT&T can answer this question for me. I feel that I now have enough knowledge to answer the question NO! Clearly, this is not acceptable.

Secondly, my family and my business have suffered greatly because I have not had usable and dependable DSL service for over a month, even though I have been promised by EVERY ATT&T customer service representative that AT&T "knows that I have a choice in the product that I purchase and that they will solve my problem and provide me with excellent service." That is, of course, unless they won't.

Thirdly, AT&T employs very nice, polite people to man their phones. Unfortunately, they only "take orders" once the "order leaves their desk" they have "no control over what happens to it or if it actually gets processed" and they are "very sorry for my troubles" and that I should be aware that "orders can be cancelled at any time" they are also, always willing to transfer me to someone who can better help me (but, they never stay on the line, leaving me to explain my story to 5 different people) and I have yet to really be helped I still have no usable DSL service.

Lastly, thank you AT&T for the invaluable knowledge that I have gained into my computer, DSL service and the internet. I have used my newfound skills to come to the conclusion that I need to go elsewhere and seek out new internet service as AT&T refuses to provide my family and business this service.

     
Replies
Thieving liars!
By -

I signed up for a DSL line through AT&T because they told me they had this great special for $20 a month. I did not want to pay more than that so I signed up and I sent in for a $100 mail in rebate for my router. After the first month, I did not receive a bill. I waited until the next month, and still no bill so I went to the office nearby to make sure they had the right address, but they couldn't change or access my account without my account number which would only be on a bill.... which I did not get, then after being hung up on and on the phone for over an hour they said they had my billing address changed to the right one.

Worst part was the fact that my bill was $150, not the $20/mo rate they promised me.... saying it would kick in after the first three months. Next month came around, and NO BILL! So I called again to change the address, they still had the wrong address so they changed it again, then tried to sell me some extra stuff, no thank you...

After all this I received a bill yesterday of $171!!! Does that sound like $20/mo? NO they rape their customers for their money and lie in order to have customers. Oh yeah, and that $100 rebate for the router I was supposed to have gotten, never came, I'm sure they decided to keep that too.

     
Replies
Inefficient and infuriating!
By -

I had been having connectivity issues with Comcast and decided to give AT&T a shot. What a mistake.

I ordered service and eagerly awaited a new revolution of service and Internet. When I got the DSL modem, I hooked it up and did all that was instructed but it didn't work. The sticker said that it sometimes took 24 hours for the service to work so I waited. One day later - nothing.

After spending about 30 minutes on hold before getting a tech rep, we walked through everything I had already done and at the end, was informed to wait for 24 hours and everything "should work". Again, one day later - nothing.

I called again and after waiting 45 minutes on hold, I hung up because seriously - I had better things to do. At this point, I'm so thankful that I never cancelled Comcast even though the service was spotty. The following free evening I had, I called against and waited another 30 minutes on hold. Again the tech tried to walk me through everything that had already been done but when I said that it had already been done, he got really snotty with me. His next suggestion was a "tech visit" but it had a fee. At this point, I was pretty fed up and just hung up.

I packed the modem up, shipped it back and then called customer support to cancel. Again, it was about 30 minutes on hold before getting through but the guy who helped me cancel was actually the nicest representative I'd encountered. He set it up so that I shouldn't ever get billed and said it might take a couple billing cycles to reflect the credits but I was free and clear. Little did I know that wasn't the truth.

When I received the bills, I ignored them but checked to see if any credits were made. Finally about six weeks after shipping the modem back, the credit was made for the modem but the service was never credited. Today, I received a "final notice before collection" bill and so I called.

What a nightmare!!

After 20 minutes on hold, I got to billing. After explaining the situation, the billing representative said she couldn't do anything about it and needed to transfer me to tech support. After 10 more minutes on hold, the tech representative looked over everything and said she couldn't do anything, only billing could and transferred me. Only this time I was transferred to the cancellation department (on hold for about 10 more minutes) - which obviously couldn't do anything because I had already cancelled my service. Then after another 20 minutes on hold, I was given to accounts receivable to which I was expected to pay the bill. Seriously!?!!?

At this point, I lost it. I had tried to be civil and explain it but I totally lost my temper. And I don't have a temper. I guess it helped though because I was given to "management" and after ten more minutes, finally got to speak to someone. I told her everything and then finally, she transferred me to a billing representative who simply credited my account and made my balance zero.

While I feel bad about giving the AR representative an earful about being the most inept and inefficient customer service in the world, I hate to say that it was true. I spent a total of one hour and 32 minutes on the phone, the majority of which was spent being on hold and in departments that couldn't help. Not only does that make people NOT want to use AT&T products but what a wasteful way to run a business? Maybe this is why the hold time is so long!

Regardless, I'll never use an AT&T product, even if it's free. I wanted an iPhone but screw that - I'll stick with my Blackberry. If ever I gave any advice to listen to - do yourself a favor and stay far far far away from AT&T. I'm sure if everything works fine you'll be okay but God forbid if anything works badly.

     
Replies
U-Verse and DSL Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTH CAROLINA -- I recently moved (less than one mile) from my former address. Before moving, I had AT&T home phone with DSL service. I called to transfer my services - the representative told me that I am now eligible for U-verse. Okay, great! They scheduled my install date (2 weeks later). The technician comes out and tells me that I live "too far" from the main box to connect to U-Verse. He said an engineer would come out to take a look and a new tech would be out in another 2 weeks!

Finally... 2 weeks later the Tech arrived to install my DSL service... or so I thought! He tells me, I'm sorry but you are not eligible for U-Verse. I tell him, yes I realize that and all I want is DSL. He said, well I am from the U-Verse team and apparently they did not transfer over the ticket. He gave me a number to call and set up a transfer of my DSL service.

So I call only to find out there are no more open lines/ports and I can't get DSL service! AT&T had already shut off my previous DSL service from my old address so I wouldn't keep getting charged and because they said I am eligible for U-Verse. The engineer and tech says I am not eligible for U-Verse because I live to far from the main box, but when I call AT&T Customer Care, that's all I'm eligible for.

So now I am stuck in between with no internet service and AT&T won't do anything about it except say I'm sorry, I wish I could give you DSL but I can't. When I ask why they still show me as being eligible for U-Verse even though I live too far away, she says, I'm sorry, that sometimes happens to show that your eligible when in fact you live further away for services.

So basically new customers to the area, are out of luck unless you live within a certain mile radius. Had I known this from the beginning, I would have never agreed for them to shut off my DSL services from the old address, now I'm out of luck and AT&T doesn't seem to care. I have been bounced around from call to call and taken off early from work to have two tech's come out and basically say I'm sorry, I can't help you!

When I call and ask for a Supervisor, I get the same standard response "They are not available at the moment" or they put me on hold for 30 minutes! I expected more from AT&T, but apparently I was wrong! I have 3 wireless phones with AT&T, and I think it's time to look into other providers!

     
Replies
Impossible to Locate Online Bill Payment, Forcing Consumers to Pay Via 800 Number & Pay $5 Service Fee
By -

THE PLOT: From what I can tell, AT&T has a little scam going where they make it impossible to pay your DSL bill online, forcing customers to pay via 800 number where they're forced to pay $5 for "the pleasure" of paying with a live CSR.

I've searched EVERYWHERE on the AT&T DSL "Account Management" Website, and while I have an account management page where I can "manage my DSL accountm," I cannot for the life of me figure out where to pay my bill online. I have searched EVERYWHERE. I'm fairly tech savvy, I'm the king of google searching, and in instances where it appeared that I had located a web page where I "could potentially" pay online, the account login process would be riddled with errors that were impossible to correct without calling an 800 customer service number.

So I called the 800 number to inquire about paying my bill.

The following actually occurred today, but it's also typical of what occurs whenever I call AT&T:

I get the first CSR. I ask to pay half of my bill today and then half at a later time (I'm in college, stretching my financial aid).
The first customer service person read me this overly broad, useless script and then tells me "that she'd have to transfer me to another agent."
I get transferred to another CSR who tells me I can pay $50 today, and then $22 over the next two payments (I owed something in the $90 range). BUT THEN CSR #2 tells me "that she has to transfer me to yet another extension."
I get transferred to CSR #3 who starts to read me YET ANOTHER useless script... and then she tells me "that I have to pay $69 today or risk having my service interrupted..."
Feeling hustled, I just give up and pay the full amount. $69 vs. $96. It's not worth the hassle to spread out the payments.

AND THEN OF ALL THINGS, I ask about whether or not I'm being charged a fee for paying over the phone, AND SURE ENOUGH... I'm being charged FIVE DOLLARS for the hassle of paying with a live CSR. FIVE DOLLARS for listening to insulting, useless scripts... FIVE DOLLARS for being transferred THREE TIMES. FIVE DOLLARS for being hustled like I'm in a pawn shop.

MIND YOU, I tried like crazy to pay online with no luck.

BOTTOM LINE: From what I can tell, AT&T has a little scam going where they make it impossible OR VERY DIFFICULT to pay your bill online, forcing customers to pay via 800 number where they're forced to pay $5 for "the pleasure" of paying with a live CSR.

Would AT&T have told me of the $5 fee had I not specifically asked about it ??? Maybe someone else can fill us in on whether or not you have to actually ask or risk finding out when you check your bill at a later time.

     
Replies
Incorrect Disconnect Notice
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- Every year around the end of July I get to waste hours of my time dealing with AT&T trying to figure out what this stupid company is going to disconnect without justification.

Last year I spent over 10 hours of my time trying to explain to them that my billing is automatically paid from my business account for all my services, yet they were going to disconnect me for an upaid bill for service that no longer existed for over 1 year at an old address. Finally, they tried to tell me it was my fault for moving, transferring my service to my new address, continuing the service, BUT NEVER CANCELLING OR TERMINATING THE SERVICE. HOW DOES ONE TRANSFER SERVICE TO A NEW ADDRESS AND CANCEL THE SERVICE COMPLETELY?

Then they sent me an $80 "final bill". More wasted time from multiple calls explaining their mistake, disconnections, recalls, and transfers to wrong departments to get that straightened out so they realize finally that I do not owe them any money for the old address.

THE NEXT WEEK I GET A REFUND IN THE MAIL FOR THE BILL BALANCE FOR THE SERVICE THAT NEVER EXISTED BECAUSE IT WAS TRANSFERRED OVER A YEAR AGO.

Today's stupid waste of time was calling to find out why my DSL service MONTHLY STATEMENT shows "final bill" when I haven't cancelled any service. 3 people and multiple transfers later, "disregard that statement, a computer sent out a lot of them by mistake"

AT&T SUCKS.

     
Replies
They Just Don't Want to Sell DSL Service to One of Their Customers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This could be the longest it has ever take to get DSL service. I have been trying to get the service on my phone for for three weeks. They said my phone was disconnected and I was talking to them on that line. The sales person said I needed to have a separate line for DSL. How stupid is that. I kept saying I want the service on the line I have now. They still set a service representative to install the new line. I told him to leave the property. I called again they will find out the problem. During all this one of the service reps in the field is trying to get it straight, because I was HER referral. I hope some day to get DSL or I will go with cable folks. Too much red tape to get DSL. I hope that when I cancel it will not be this much trouble.

     
Replies
AT&T Internet Charge 'Error' On Your Current Statement
By -

I got a postcard today, announcing that I am eligible for a payment from the Settlement. AT&T's records showed the speed of the DSL service was limited to a rate below the maximum rate of the plan.

Settlement comes out to $2.90 per month of my service. OK...I filed my claim for a check to be sent to me when it all gets settled and done...I had the option to have it credited to my bill, but I want the check.

Anyway...here is the warning for those who have AT&T DSL Service....

I got that postcard in the mail today and I also got my Phone/Internet bill. I noticed my Internet service increased by $3.00 from last month's billing.

I called to find out why, the CSR said, "Oh, we had several customers call us about that ERROR, I will have it credited from your bill"...
Hmmmm...they have a proposed settlement for $2.90 a month and at the same time, my bill increases at $3.00? Could that POSSIBLY be the way they plan to make up the money they are losing in their settlement? How many people won't even notice the extra $3.00 increase? And for those who will notice, they will just say it was a error and deduct it?

READ YOUR BILL!!!

     
Replies
Bellsouth "WAS" on until AT&T came alone...
By -

I was a 14+ year user of Bellsouth.net DSL & Phone services. Several years ago I went self-employed. I decided to go the Yellow Pages route and did that. Like the subject heading says...Bellsouth was OK..sort of until AT&T came alone and then the SKY FELL!

If your bill is late with them, there is no e-mail, no complementary call...or anything. I called of course and told them I wouldn't tolerate this crap. Oh...I suppose I did use some RATHER nice Expletives. The Techie finally settled down and we got friendly. He told me on the phone that Bellsouth is no longer and that AT&T is the driving force and things have changed.

During July 2007 I did get an e-mail from them concerning a past due billing. I paid it in full. I had another balance that was NOT past due and three weeks later they turned off the DSL. BIG MISTAKE! They even bragged out that! I told them that's OK....!

I canceled the contract, went with another company, immediately. Since then they have tried to collect from me $900.00+ which I will not pay and have not to date. They have put three collection agencies on me. S0 What? They also have offered us $500.00 Visa Gift Cards to come back so many times I can't remember all the while being in "Collection" with them. When one of the collection agencies were told this, they dropped my AT&T account immediately. AT&T called me up to five time a week. I cussed then, I was nice to them and indifferent. Nothing worked!

I finally went to the NO CALL.com address and placed a complaint there....and guess what? The calls stopped....all of them. All of this has happened during the last 28 months.

I failed to mention that I am a computer repair facility. Clients have has NIGHTMARES with AT&T and I have tried to untangle their mess. I got hung up on, elevator misic + 30 minutes...disconnected....RAG HEADS....you name it!

Food for thought.....God Bless!

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >