Preview Review

Next Review

Bosch Dishwashers Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Mold on stainless steel and china
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

Very disappointed in the cleaning results of this Bosch series 500 dishwasher. I rinse my dishes thoroughly prior to loading because, living alone, I run the dishwasher 1-2 times per week. I've followed all instructions, used recommended soap. I run at night, unload in the morning. My glasses may still have mouth imprints on the rim. They don't sparkle. My stainless steel steak knives and flatware have mold on them, as do the good spatulas, and even the China bowls. Metal spatulas get rusted.

I had my previous Whirlpool for 20 years. It performed flawlessly until it died with none of these issues. This one was more than twice the price, highly recommended, 4+ stars everywhere. Only 2 years old so I'm stuck with this. But it IS quiet.

Replies
Advertisement
Works Poorly
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I bought a Bosch dishwasher six years ago because of a rebate program MassSave was having here in Massachusetts. The model I purchased was highly rated. I had to give my old dw to the deliverer as part of the deal. It is quiet, but it has never cleaned as well as my old dish washer. I pulled this plate out of the dw this am and decided that was it. I don't overload the dw, I scrape the dishes, I keep the rinse aid compartment full. This has been going on for the whole time, but I guess I have just had it.

Replies
Bosch Dishwasher Review
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

The Bosch dishwasher is designed very poorly as far as loading dishes. There is no good place to put bowls unless I want to use the top rack leaving less room for glasses. I have been frustrated with this dishwasher from the very 1st time I used it. It does not clean my dishes well. Was told to leave food on the dishes.

The food particles flying around during a wash cycle would help the washer clean better(!!!). When I did that, after a couple of days, the odor coming from the washer was horrible/sickening. There is no rinse cycle on this washer. I am looking forward to its demise so that I can get another washer. This is the VERY worst electric dishwasher I have ever owned. I have been using an electric dishwasher for 47 years.

Replies
Bosch Customer Service Is Absolutely Terrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EAST BRUNSWICK, NEW JERSEY -- Bosch Dishwasher I purchased a little more than a year ago broke. I made an appointment with Bosch Repair Service - just a visit will cost you more than $100.00. First technician who visited my house told me that I need to rewire power cables and they (Bosch) don't do it. I had it done but machine still didn't work. I called again.

Second person who came to fix my machine replaced few electronic parts but machine still didn't work. I was promised another appointment that was scheduled in a couple of weeks. First technician came again, replaced more parts but machine still didn't work. Once again I was promised an appointment. At this point, something went wrong in appointment scheduling process as I was never notified. I called and was told one day that was rescheduled and once again I learned about it only by calling customer service. It's unbelievable that the company is still in business really. Huge mess. Better to go with another manufacturer.

Replies
Advertisement
Piece of Junk!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TENNESSEE -- It has gone down twice and it isn't even 3 years old yet.

Replies
New Dishwasher That Absolutely Does Not Clean
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

If you are looking for a new dishwasher I hope you read this... Purchased a new Bosch dishwasher Feb 2015 for our newly remodeled kitchen. We had a Kitchenaid that was fine however it was approx.10 years old (still working fine). Considering everything else was new we decided to also purchase a new dishwasher. We went to a well known appliance dealer in Middletown, NY to purchase the dishwasher. They recommended a Bosch SS dishwasher that cost approx $1,100.00. Our salesperson was very knowledgeable and the product looked good and was rated highly (I would like to find the guy that rated this product...).

Well we had it installed and had nothing but problems from the first time we turned it on. After 4 visits from the service department (spread out over months) we still have the same problem we had the first day. The dishwasher does not clean and leaves a white cloudy film on everything. Every service representative that came in had an opinion on the soap that should be used to cleaning the new dishwasher with vinegar. Hard to believe. They can tell you every reason the product does not work properly.

I recommended early on that they replace the dishwasher however they always said we need to try this first. Right... At this point we would be better off having no dishwasher because we do the dishes by hand anyway and we wouldn't be aggravated. I know we are going to eat the $1,100.00. With that said, I'll chalk this one up to a bad investment with a company that truly gives the consumer the runaround.

Replies
Control Panel Recall - They Had Problems Early On
By -

ELLICOTT CITY, MARYLAND -- I purchased a Bosch dishwasher in June 1999 for $720. Almost 3 years later (April 2002) the control panel burned up and caused the dishwasher to empty water all over the floor. I was glad that I was home; as I had to turn the water off to the dishwasher to get it to stop filling up with water and emptying it onto the floor (dishwasher was stuck on fill). Called Bosch; you have to use one of their certified repair technicians for repairs; they said that I had to use Bray & Scarff for the repair. Bray & Scarff repaired the dishwasher on April 16, 2002. Dishwasher worked fine until June 19, 2002; when the same thing happened for the second time.

Called Bosch; Bray & Scarff came out to repair the dishwasher again. This time the repairman told me that the control panel on the Bosch dishwashers must have a defect because they have to be replaced a lot. The control panel short circuits itself and burns up causing the dishwasher to do strange things. Called Bosch; this time they replaced my dishwasher; Bray & Scarff installed it on July 2, 2002 (without a dishwasher for 2 weeks). I guess that we have been really lucky, because the control panel that is now being recalled has been working OK until March 3, 2009.

Called Bosch; spoke with ** on March 4, 2009. I explained that all the lights on the control panel were flashing on and off, smelled like burning rubber and would not cancel and drain. ** replied that I would have to have Towson Appliance Service or Wuerstlin Appliance Service out to repair the dishwasher as these 2 companies are Bosch certified repair companies and no other appliance repair companies can/or are allowed to repair their products. I Googled these companies and found bad customer reviews; decided to hire another more reliable company to fix the dishwasher.

Called Landers Appliance; they came to repair my dishwasher on March 6, 2009, were on time and very customer service oriented. Repairman checked dishwasher, stated that the control panel had burned up and they would have to order a new one. No problem, I already knew that they would have to order a part.

On Monday March 9, 2009 the parts manager from Landers called to say that the control panel was under a recall (why did Bosch not tell me when I called them that it was a recall problem) and that I would have to have a certified Bosch repair company order the part and repair the dishwasher as Bosch would not allow them to order or repair the dishwasher. Called Bosch; all of what Landers told me was true. Called Bosch's certified repair company Towson Appliance Service; spoke with **. They will not put me on their repair schedule until they have received the part from Bosch.

Called Bosch, spoke with **. Explained that Towson Appliance would not put me on their repair schedule until they have the part and requested the part be shipped overnight to me. ** said that Bosch had the part in stock and he would sent it to me overnight tomorrow Tuesday March 10, 2009 and I would receive it no later than 5 PM on Wednesday March 11, 2009. Did not receive control panel as promised on March 10, 2009. Called Bosch, spoke with **. ** states that the part was shipped to Towson Appliance not to me. I explained how upset I was that the part had not been shipped to me as promised (too late in day to call Towson Appliance).

Called Towson Appliance and spoke with **. ** stated that they did not receive the part and did not know why Bosch had told me they had it. Called Bosch, spoke with ** and asked to speak with a manager. She told me that a manager would have to call me back and took my name and number. ** calls me back (not a manager as I had requested) to let me know that the control panel is really on back order and that they expect to receive more at the end of April 2009 and she doesn't understand why ** told me they had them and would ship it to me.

Explained how angry I am after having to deal with this situation for over a week now; not to mention that I have to wash dishes everyday because I don't have a working dishwasher. I again request to speak with a manager and she says that managers don't speak with customers directly, but that she will try to get one for me. ** (the manager) comes on the line to regretfully inform me that in fact I do have to use one of their certified service repairmen or the control panel will never get installed.

MORAL OF THIS STORY - don't purchase Bosch appliances. Too many repair hassles. This dishwasher costs way too much money for the hassle you have to go through to get it repaired when Bosch really knew in 2002 that they had a problem with the control panel burning up.

Replies
What a Piece of Crap!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VICTORIA, B.C. CANADA -- I love my expensive Bosch dishwasher, it's at least 7 yrs old. Works so well, loads so great, holds a ton of dishes/glasses etc. So I tell my son and daughter-in-law to buy one. They buy the bottom of the line Ecosense model from Future Shop. What a piece of crap!!! Won't drain properly, dishes dirty, doesn't dry properly, etc etc. The control panel buttons don't seem to work. Future shop of course will not do anything even under warranty, they don't stand behind anything! Don't buy one of these!

Replies
Advertisement
Disappointed
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- I purchased a Bosch Ascenta dishwasher in February 2013 to replace a 12-year-old Maytag that worked just fine but was falling apart. I did a lot of research and Bosch came out on top with rave reviews from all the lead consumer boards. That said, I anxiously awaited the day the eyesore of a beat up Maytag would be replaced with a state of the art shiny new Bosch. What a let down I had when the first thing I noticed is that this dishwasher is so slim it doesn't fill out the space in my counter cabinets. Apparently the installer knows this because he came prepared with some cheap plastic strips that he placed in the space to fill out the gaps.

So, with the first blow of my new investment looking cheesy I kept my chin up and looked forward to new racks with no rust and sparkling clean dishes. Well, needless to say I was less than impressed with the cleaning power of this supposed super cleaning machine. In fact they are no cleaner than my 12-year-old Maytag. Not only are they marginally clean but they are always wet when I open the door. Where is the steam? Or even the heat for that matter? It's always damp inside and smells bad in between washings because apparently there are no ventilation holes.

Quiet? Not really, I can hear it. But honestly dishwasher noise was never an issue as I don't hang around my kitchen all night after I fire it up. I mean who really cares about noise? Aren't people sick of being in the kitchen after cooking, serving, eating, cleaning? I finally called to see maybe it was me, maybe I missed something or have to adjust something. What I was told is that, I need to empty it right away or the water that doesn't evaporate because there is no ventilation settles back on the dishes.

OK I tried that. I awaited anxiously for my wash to complete and eagerly opened the door hoping I would have a blast of sanitizing steam and dry dishes. Nope! All I had was soggy dishes. As far as saving money? Maybe, if I didn't have to buy the most expensive cleaning bricks and rinsing agents and run it every single day for fear of mold growing. I wish I bought something else. So I do NOT recommend this item.

Replies
Bosch Dishwasher SHE46C02UC/40 FIRE HAZARD, Bosch Refuses to Fix or Recall
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

1901 MAIN ST SUITE 60 IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- There is a "voluntary" recall on SHE46C02, as models Bosch / SHE46C, SHE56C / FD8501 - FD8505. My dishwasher is a Bosch SHE46C02UC/40 FD8610 00093, and is not part of the "voluntary" recall, so it will not be repaired as defective by Bosch. Based on quick review of internet searches, MANY or MOST of the SHE436C models appear defective, the defect being a burned control board. By being physically burned (electrically shorting out), this dishwasher SERIES is a FIRE HAZARD.

Although Bosch replaces boards for "voluntary" recall models, and the internet has people soldering the boards for temporary repair, neither of these "fixes" will repair the defect of the circuit design which is causing an electronic fault which continues to result in a FIRE HAZARD. The dishwasher is useless without a working control board and cannot run without a control board. Running the dishwasher with a defective board is running the dishwasher with a FIRE HAZARD.

Bosch refuses to fix and repair this KNOWN FIRE HAZARD model. Their "voluntary" recall was performed to limit the scope of recalls on the entire defective series. The entire series of dishwashers using these defective fire hazard boards should be recalled. The recall should be MANDATORY, not "voluntary." It is unknown if the repair of the defective and recalled Bosch models eliminates the known fire hazard. The board is expensive for consumers to replace, $150 USD or more just for the part. Replacing a burned burned with the same burned results in a CONTINUING FIRE HAZARD.

The Consumer Product Safety Commission is negligent in allowing a "voluntary" recall, when in fact, the defect and its proposed solution needed further evaluation and review. The CPSC will not act without further consumer complaints, but the CPSC website tries hard to hide where consumer complaints can even be submitted. I believe the recall should be MANDATORY. I of course, will never buy another Bosch product, as their products are defective, dangerous, and the company knows it, and refuses to address the known defects. You have been warned.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bosch Dishwashers Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 16 ratings and
47 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bosch
38000 Hills Tech Dr.
Farmington Hills, MI 48331
248-876-1000 (ph)
248-876-1116 (fax)
www.bosch.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies