Preview Review

Next Review

Electrolux Refrigerators Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- I remodeled my kitchen in 2015. I wish I had read these reviews before. They were considered high end appliances. I had to call for service on the ice maker on the Electrolux refrigerator in March 2017. Then I had to call this month of November 2017 because it was not making ice again. They sent someone out and they want me to pay for the service call. I asked why didn't they fix it correctly in March. I am so disappointed that I purchased these products. Customer service is terrible. I owned a KitchenAid refrigerator for over twenty years and never had a problem. I can't keep taking off work to wait for a repair person.

Replies
Advertisement
Electrolux Refrigerator So Called Top Of The Line
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BECKLEYWV, WEST VIRGINIA -- Paid for extra warranty. Have had dishwasher and refrigerator worked on multiple times. Ask when I bought extended warranty if it was additional to original 1 year warranty. Was told yes. Bought 2013. Should been 4 year with options to extend, fridge is junk. Not worth repair. Paid over 5000. For fridge over 3000. Now worthless. Can't fix. Had to replace and take loss. Company should have had to replace their mistake. Never buy Electrolux, will not last long enough for the price you pay.

Replies
Bad Experience With Electrolux Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- Never buy an Electrolux side-by-side refrigerator with a water dispenser and ice maker. We bought one in 2011. After the first year, the water dispenser began to function erratically (the water wouldn't stop running). Over time, this problem cascaded into a myriad of problems that caused the entire unit to fail. We had paid for the extended warranty, so Electrolux replaced it. But now, the replacement unit has the same problems!

We're reluctant to start the repair process, fearing this unit may also self-destruct. Our only option is to again pay $800 for the extended warranty; but a good product should not require customers to endlessly invest in warranties. This product seems to have an inherent defect that the company has failed to fix. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Replies
Terrible Appliances
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Beautiful hunk of junk! Paid big bucks for a sleek state of the art all Electrolux appliances in new home. The sales pitch was that Electrolux has a long history of appliances all over Europe and not just vacuum cleaners. Electrolux also is the same company of Frigidaire, commonly seen in U. S. markets. So, we believed that we were getting the best products.

Not long after moving in, the first problem was with the wall oven. It was beeping with display instructions to remove meat probe and I was not using the darn thing. Customer services walked me through a series of steps to remedy the problem. So, I never used the meat probe. The oven would sometimes randomly have to be reset. The dishwasher stopped working after having it for 7-8 months. The authorized Electrolux service repairman has worked on this junk three separate occasions.

The refrigerator has had many problems. The light display panel stopped working, the circuit panel has been replaced twice, water dripped from the filter, the side by side doors do not seal properly especially on the freezer side, and the ice maker is constantly jammed and very noisy. I hate this refrigerator. Electrolux customer service are polite and offer repairs but these products are not of any quality. I will never buy Electrolux again including their vacuum cleaners just because.

Replies
Advertisement
Fridge Cannot Be Repaired. It Is a Lemon! Horrible Disrespectful Customer Service. Tricked Me Into Buying Extended Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MAPLE VALLEY, WASHINGTON -- I am in the same shoes as other people on this site. I have never been treated worse by anyone than the customer service reps at Electrolux. NEVER! Except for one person, whose name is **, everyone treated me disrespectfully. They raised their voices at me and made me stupid. I feel punished for spending three thousand dollars on an Electrolux refrigerator. I just don't know what I had done to deserve this punishment. But, let me start my story at the beginning.

I purchased the fridge in July of 2011. It is model # EW28BS71IS. This refrigerator has the same exact issues everyone is describing and complaining about. The ice maker has not been working from day one. Earlier in the summer, the panels (temperatures) went haywire. My fridge heated up including the freezer.

Unfortunately, I did not buy extended warranty and the one year warranty expired. I called Customer Service at Electrolux. The person I talked to made me buy extended warranty for $441 plus tax that would start in one month. Until my warranty would go in effect, she set up a concession so someone could come out and try to repair the fridge. She assured me that if the fridge cannot be repaired, the extended warranty will take care of it. They would give me a new fridge.

I had four repairs done on this fridge. After replacing seven (7) parts and final verdict came. The fridge cannot be fixed. It is a lemon. A big rotten lemon. Bad, faulty design. It is all over the Internet. Everyone knows about it. Certainly, Electrolux is aware of it. Up to this process, I cannot even count how many times I called Electrolux. I can tell you, however that I was treated so badly that I actually cried. They kept telling me that once the extended warranty would be in effect they would replace my fridge with a new one. In the meantime, my extended warranty arrived in the mail with an effective date of August 21st, 2013.

I called Electrolux again and asked them to replace my fridge under the extended warranty. They dared to tell me that my warranty (the one they mailed to me as a legal contract), would not be effective until September 22nd. When I told them that not what the document says they sent, they did not believe me. I had never been in a situation like this before. This was insane. Insane, I tell you.

So, I called the # on the extended warranty, where I talked to **. I asked her what she was showing in the system for the effective date of my warranty. She said September 21st. I told her that the original I received was showing 8/21. She said, the effective date was entered into the system incorrectly. She said, I could fax her the original and she would fix it. I faxed it to her and she fixed it. I called again to start the process of getting the fridge replace. ** took the information and said someone would be contacting me from Electrolux and the replacement process. Five days later, I received a call from ** that my claim for a replacement under the extended warranty was denied.

I was told that the problems started with my fridge before the extended warranty went into effect. I was offered 60% refund of my purchase price. First of all, Electrolux manufactured a faulty refrigerator. I had nothing to do with it. It broke because it was a bad design. Giving me a partial refund is ridiculous. Second of all, Electrolux is obviously does not have a trust in its own products if they believe that the fridge would depreciate 20% in a year. So, this is where I am at currently. The fridge will never work. Even if I were to take 60% (which I will not), I could not afford buying another fridge.

The warranty was a sham. They made me pay for something that they knew I would never be able to use. Does not it sound like a scam? This is the WORST, the WORST purchase I have ever made. Electrolux has the WORST, the WORST customer service I have ever encountered. EVER! I know there are many of us out there that have gone through this. Has any one of you have been able to positively resolve this issue?

I need your advice. What about the class action lawsuit? Has that gone anywhere? Are there any attorneys that took these cases on? I would like to hear from Mr **, the CEO of the North America Division, what he thinks about this widespread problem. If Mr. ** is a proud CEO of Electrolux and believes in the company and its products, he will do something about it.

Replies
Electrolux Appliances
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- I wish I had read these reviews before I purchased an Electrolux refrigerator and microwave. The refrigerator needs a part to prevent the ice maker from freezing in the back. The microwave turned black inside. I remodeled my kitchen and purchased a package. The customer service is horrible. I tried to write to the headquarters but cannot find an address. I am terribly disappointed in these products.

Replies
Let's Initiate Class Action Suit!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Here we go! After reading all of your complaints, I felt as if it is a page out of my book. We purchased a 4000$ "top of the line" french door Electrolux refrigerator in 2009. We were so happy! What a beautiful unit. Well, our happiness did not last but 24 hrs when we woke up to a puddle of water in the kitchen. The water was flowing out of the ice maker and the ice was already clumped up into a block. We thought how could this be? A $4000 fridge that doesn't work!

We called Warehouse Discount Center where we purchased this boat anchor, and told them about it and they sent a service guy to look at it. Skip ahead three weeks and they replaced the unit. Approximately 6 weeks later, same problem so I decided to call Electrolux directly and the customer representative argued that she had never heard of such a problem. Only after I spoke with her supervisor was I told that it was a major problem with 80% of the units sold. I guess the other 20% were sold in Alaska!

So, here we are 4 years later and 3 refrigerators they now replaced the unit with a side by side (of lesser value), which we had no choice because that Electrolux would not refund our money but they were kind enough to offer us a discount on a purchase of another model of refrigerator. They delivered the unit and to our dismay, due to the design of the new model, the drawers would not open unless the door swung completely out of the way which is impossible in our kitchen.

So, now we have a $3000 unit that we cannot use and after speaking with ** (customer representative at Electrolux), we were told that they cannot do anything for us and that we would have to live with it. Is anybody reading this and if so, LET'S GET SOMETHING GOING HERE! How can we let this company take advantage of so many honest hard working people?

Replies
Beware of Electrolux Appliances
By -

In April 2010 we installed a new kitchen and upgraded to Electrolux Stainless appliances. We thought the "look" and design was superior to our previous appliances, so we invested in paying the higher cost, thinking they were superior products. BIG MISTAKE! The refrigerator is a side by side, with the freezer on the bottom, and a built in ice maker. After only having the refrigerator only 10 months, we have had to have the ice maker serviced 4 times, and are awaiting a 5th board. In addition to all the noises it makes, the constant water leaking out of the ice make onto our floor, and the lack of ice for weeks.

The service representative has even told us these are new appliances in the US market and new technology, so they are having a difficult time fixing the appliances. In addition, the service representative disclosed that the owner of the Appliance Store has the same refrigerator as we have, and they can't seem to fix that one either. That was a warm and fuzzy thought. The microwave has only had to be serviced once, the metal tray was arching causing sparks and near fires in the microwave. This was an easy fix by simply replacing the bottom metal tray, but seriously, less than 10 months old and the micro is arching?

The gas range has worked pretty well, with the exception of the right front burner that takes approximately 30 seconds to ignite. Electolux is aware of the problem, but has yet to figure out a solution. You just have to be patient with the gas on that it will ignite before the explosion. We have only had to replace one of the great ball bearing shelves so far. I love the way they slide, but apparently they aren't all so smooth. The dishwasher, well, we luckily took the advice of another representative and bought a Bosch.... thank goodness. That is the ONLY appliance that we have not had to have service on, must be the manufacture.

I consider myself reasonably intelligent with a boat load of common sense who does his homework before making a purchase. Boy did I get fooled on the Electrolux brand. They look fantastic but the reliability is the poorest I have ever experienced. Save yourself money and headaches and go with another brand.

Replies
Advertisement
Electrolux Refrigerator/Worst Product I Have Ever Purchased
By -

NORTH CAROLINA -- I purchased this refrigerator and it was installed in February 2009. By August 2009 I had my first service call for a bad control panel. The control panel was replaced and the refrigerator worked OK until the evaporator motor failed on August 3, 2010. This caused the refrigerator to overheat. I lost over $300 in food. The repair was completed seven days later. On September 20, 2010 the same problem occurred again, the new evaporator motor failed. I lost all of my food again. When the technician came (3 days later) to analyze the problem, he said the problem was caused by the control panel going bad which caused the evaporator motor to fail.

Now we have again a bad control panel and a bad evaporator motor. The parts were ordered from Electrolux on Sept. 23, 2010. I was told on Sept. 29, 2010 that the control panel was back ordered and they didn't know when they would receive it. I was also told by the Electrolux Parts Dept. that they had sixteen (16) control panels on back order. Do you think they have a problem with this refrigerator? Electrolux is refusing to replace the refrigerator even though the problems started to occur when it was under warranty and they are reoccurring problems.

When I asked for a replacement under the Lemon Law I was told that the Lemon Law does not apply to Electrolux. Now they are above the law??? Anyone who buys this product or deals with this supposed high end company should have their head examined. Their Customer Support is useless, their Platinum Star Service is useless, and their Warranty Customer Service is useless. They all put their heads in the sand and try and pass you off to the next person. We have four Electrolux appliances and we have had repeated service calls on all of them except the dishwasher. Not a very high end product as far as I'm concerned. I would never buy one of their appliances again.

Replies
Side by Side Refrigerator
By -

MISSISSAUGA ON CANADA L5R1Y4 -- I bought this new side by side refrigerator with all the amenities. The problem started right away! The water filter inside the frigerator started leaking after one month, since 4,01,2009 we have bought 6 filters from different sources, so 6 multiply it by $40.00 per water filter = $240.00 we have spent on water filters and I need another one. Service rep say this is a problem with all refrigerators that use this filter! One even put a reducer in line, didn't work. Leaks when ice maker fills puts water inside of door storage area on shelfing. We have a lot of money tied up in this refrigerator to just go out and dump this one and buy something else.

I called the manufacturer, oh this is not a problem they said but I could buy a water filter from them again. Every service guy says this is a problem and isn't fixed for the consumer. Do not purchase a refrigerator with water unit in front top right side filter located unless you want to waste good money, out the window. I did fill a complaint to attorney generals office so noted. Good luck getting this fixed a little over a year old and I will buy again, but not from them. They stated the filter for water should last up to 6 months, not a month or six weeks. Putting towels inside to collect water leaking from water filter again.

They call this a consumables product water filter number is fc-100 puresource2 states changing water filter every 6-9 months normally ensures the highest water quality. This is in the 17 months I have owned this product, we have bought 6 and number seven is next. We live in a big city and the water is monitored all the time no wellwater/city water. It might be tested water filter, yes. Oh white Westinghouse uses the name crystalclear instead of puresource are same filter. States in manual.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Electrolux Refrigerators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
50 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Electrolux
10200 David Taylor Drive
Charlotte, NC 28262
706-651-1751 (ph)
www.electrolux.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies