Preview Review

Next Review

Frigidaire Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Can't use it unless it's in air conditioned room. Any humidity disables system. Door won't stay shut, magnets weak. Lost 2 freezers of meat due to door opening on its own.

Replies
Advertisement
The Glass Door of My 2-Year Old Oven Exploded
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- This oven was new in July 2012. On August 31, 2014, we baked a pizza and then turned off the oven. A short time later, I heard a loud noise -- which was the center pane of glass exploding inside the oven door. The exterior and interior panes of glass were intact; but I don't understand how only the center panel could shatter like that. I didn't know it at the time, but tiny shards of glass were leaking out from the bottom of the door -- which I only realized after I had dug out a few glass shards from the bottom of my feet the next day.

When I contacted customer service and spoke to a "corporate manager," all she did was reiterate (like a parrot) that the oven was out of the one-year warranty period. When I pointed out to her that a quick check shows that this manufacturing defect has happened to Frigidaire ovens before, she repeated her script that the "item has not been recalled." Her lack of concern for the seriousness of exploding glass-- and the possibility of future victims-- was underwhelming.

Replies
Piece of Junk Frigidaire Dishwasher & Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KENTUCKY -- We bought a Frigidaire Gallery side by side Refrigerator in 2011. The tech has been to our house 5 times about this refrigerator. The ice maker has been exchanged 3 times, the "water tube" on back of refrigerator had to be replaced due to leaking all over and once the ice maker clicked all the time & he came out, put a little black rubber piece on the end of the arm of the ice maker (Luckily my husband insists on the extended warranty). Last night, there was the awful noise coming from the refrigerator. It did it twice & quit. This morning it started again & after 3 hours of this unnerving racket it started losing temperature on both sides.

We unplugged it & took all the food out to stand alone freezers (lucky to have room) and a spare fridge in a basement kitchen. I cleaned the thing from one end to the other, emptied all the ice & after about 3 hours we plugged it back up. It is running again & has cooled down. Just waiting for it to start groaning again. I don't trust it. Calling the tech first thing in the morning (this is Sunday). But we didn't learn our lesson since (read on).

In January 2013 we bought a Frigidaire Gallery dishwasher. By November 2013 the "board" had to be replaced since it kept running an "ER" message & the dishwasher would stall. That was replaced 2 weeks before Christmas. This is March 2014 & the same thing has happened twice more, with the tech changing out the board. This last board has been in since Tuesday of this week. This is Sunday & guess what "ER" is showing on the board again today.

I am so sick of fooling with these crappy pieces of junk. We do have extended warranty but was told the Mfgr wanted to replace the board one more time & then they would buy out the balance of our extended contract & issue a new dishwasher. I'd rather they just give me my money back & let me go to another brand. Will NEVER BUY FRIGIDAIRE EVER AGAIN.

Replies
Terrible
By -

JOSHUA, TEXAS -- I bought the Frigidaire Stove in October of 2007 for $898.00. It never worked correctly. In January the display went out, while the burners still worked the oven did not. We called Lowe's, of course they said we had to call the Manufacturer. We did and two weeks later an "Authorized" service tech showed up. He said they oven was wired incorrectly and that caused the outage. He ordered parts and had them sent directly to our home, 2 weeks later they showed up and we called him and waited another week for him to show up and do the repair. He did just that and realized he needed another part. Same story as above.

3 weeks later he had it fixed and we found out that it actually had a fan. We had never heard it before. It worked for 2 days and woke me up from a sound sleep with the fan going full blast. I had to turn it off at the Breaker to get it to stop. We called the Service guy and he showed up a week later. This time he told my wife (I was at work), that it was our electrical system that was causing it and it was out of his control.

I had a Master Electrician come out and check the circuit. He could not believe that the man told us that. He charged me $45.00 to tell me that nothing was wrong. I loaded the stove up and returned it to Lowe's. They would not return it unless I had an Return Authorization from the Manufacturer. I called Electrolux (apparently based in India where English is the third or fourth language), and they said they could not give a consumer an RA number. It had to be given to the Service Tech exclusively. It is all a system designed to stick it to the consumer.

I called another Service Company and told them the situation trying to get some help. They explained to me that the "Authorized Service" groups make their entire living on these terrible products. It is not in their best interests to tell the truth about the Manufacturer. They don't want to bite the hand that feeds them, so to speak. If they told the truth and were honest they would no longer be the "Authorized Service Company". They would be forced to do honest business and actually compete. I will update here as this process goes, In the meantime I suggest that everyone stay away from these companies. Disgusted in Joshua, TX.

Replies
Advertisement
Poorly Made Appliances and Terrible Customer Service!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONUMENT, COLORADO -- I bought 4 beautiful Frigidaire appliances to compliment my newly remodeled kitchen in 2010. Within the first year, the ice maker in the fridge quit working and the oven had to be serviced (apparently using the self-clean overheats the machine causing it to malfunction). Since then, the motor has gone out on the dishwasher and the ice maker has been repaired 3 more times, and, once again, is not working.

When I bought my appliances from this well-known company with a history of quality products, I never dreamed that they would last less than 4 years. The disappointment from these expensive appliances becomes even more frustrating because the customer service clearly doesn't care about its customers. I will NEVER own another Frigidaire or Electrolux product... ever.

Replies
Frigidaire Appliances Falling Apart
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased my Frigidaire appliances 4 years ago, and didn't install them in the home for another 6 months. I purchased a kitchen package that included the fridge, oven/range, B/I microwave, and dishwasher. As of today I know have all 4 piece broke. The try for the outside ice maker broken off just months after purchase, and the shelves in the freezer side don't actually fit and sometimes the slip and the rack falls and so does all the items on it.

The Dishwasher was next. The "control box/ panel" went out 18 months after purchase, the part and labor would of ran about 200 dollars. I said no thanks and to this day I have to reset the circuit every time I need to run it. The handle on the microwave just cracked off and to replace it 100 dollars and now the oven went out. Worked yesterday and now nothing. I have not every been so disappointed in a product let alone a brand. This was my first appliance purchase ever and I was putting these items into my first home.

I thought these items would of lasted at least 10 years. I know the appliances in my mom's home have lasted for years. I again cannot express how much these items suck. I will never purchase the Frigidaire brand or any other brand associated to them. Please take my advice and DON'T purchase this brand!!

Replies
Please Don't buy a Frigidaire product...ever!
By -

After remodeling my kitchen, I purchased a Frigidaire Gallery refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave and stove. Within the first 12 months, the dishwasher motor broke and had to be replaced. The brackets to the under the cabinet microwave stripped when we were installing it. Luckily we caught it before it came crashing to the floor. Now only 16 months after the purchase date, the refrigerator is broken. The ice maker no longer works and the freezer is as warm as the 4th of July! So 3 out of 4 appliances are "lemons". My advice is to stay away from this product. Stay far, far away!

Replies
Frigidaire does not honor dehumidifier warranties
By -

I just came across a review elsewhere in which the consumer has a 6-month old dehumidifier that stopped working. He contacted Frigidaire about service within his 5-year warranty and here is their reply: "I would like to offer you a 60% rebate towards a new unit." My response to that was, quoting the manual, "The unit has a FIVE YEAR WARRANTY period during which "Frigidaire will repair or replace any part in the Sealed Refrigeration System..." so why should I have to pay 40 percent?

Their reply: "We apologize we will not be able to arrange service for your dehumidifier. Regrettably, escalating service costs have rendered repairing dehumidifiers a thing of the past as these units are no longer serviced. Please let us know if you wish to accept the rebate offer so we may assist with issuing a rebate letter outlining details of the rebate as soon as possible. Please also note that not only will you receive the 60% rebate but as an added bonus when you receive the new dehumidifier, the warranty will start over again from day one."

I wrote them again requesting that they honor their written warranty. They replied "Thank you for contacting Frigidaire. We apologize that we are not able to assist." Flabbergasted, I looked elsewhere on the internet and found similar complaints. It's always a good idea to research appliances before purchase but if the warranty is virtually useless, it is even more so.

Replies
Advertisement
Outer Glass Shattered. Big Explosion and Lots of Glass Fragments.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- Purchased a set of Frigidaire appliances from RC Willey. From the inception, we experienced problems with grease trapped between the two glass doors. Reported to Frigidaire before the one year manufacturer's guaranty. We received a set of instructions on how to remove the outer door and clean. The appliances are on a vacation home and are not used regularly. We purchased them on 3/10 and on 4/13, the outer glass shatters. Big explosion. Luckily nobody was hurt.

Now we are stuck with an appliance that is 2 years old and we cannot use. The model has been discontinued. One of their reps offered a glass replacement at a cost of $130 with no guarantees that it will not shatter again. We prefer that they haul the appliance away and recondition it. They can resell it once they make it safe. The right thing for them to do is to give us a credit toward the purchase of a new appliance.

Replies
Frigidaire Top Mount Refrigerator Freezer 21 Cu. Ft.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- Very unfortunate experience with Electrolux Canada Corp / Frigidaire US in Augusta, Georgia on a Model No. GLHT214TJK0, Serial No. 4A83804334, 21 cu ft. top freezer Manuf. Date: 09-08 produced in Mexico. On June 20, 2012 P.M. all cooling capacity fails. All freezer and refrigerator contents that could not be placed in another operating unit spoiled. Upon inspection service indicates all freon coolant has leaked from the compressor - further evidenced by the green discoloration on rear of unit.

Unit was never abused, coils frequently cleaned, residential only use with median cooling setting. Calls to Frigidaire US phone 800-374-4432 today 6/29/2012. Technical support merely confirms out of warranty (of which I am aware); transfer to Specialist Consumer Service indicates: sorry, out of warranty, can't help you. I asked what the life expectancy of their units is - answer: they do not have one. How less than 4 years product service life can be considered 'typical' for such a product is beyond reason. And they would not offer to compensate even say $100.00 for purchase of a new Frigidaire microwave, etc. So my experience says stay away.

I am thankful I did not spend extra for a three year warranty; it would also have been out of warranty from that added expense as well. And I can only question whether the quality of other Electrolux brands may also have deteriorated. Thus, I have replaced the failed sub-standard inferior product with a better quality made by a competitor - and I will continue to use other brands. From my experience, I cannot recommend Electrolux /Frigidaire.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Frigidaire Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 20 ratings and
45 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Frigidaire
Electrolux Home Products
P.O. Box 212378
Martinez, GA 30917
1-800-374-4432 (ph)
www.frigidaire.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies