Preview Review

Next Review

Frigidaire Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The Glass Door of My 2-Year Old Oven Exploded
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- This oven was new in July 2012. On August 31, 2014, we baked a pizza and then turned off the oven. A short time later, I heard a loud noise -- which was the center pane of glass exploding inside the oven door. The exterior and interior panes of glass were intact; but I don't understand how only the center panel could shatter like that. I didn't know it at the time, but tiny shards of glass were leaking out from the bottom of the door -- which I only realized after I had dug out a few glass shards from the bottom of my feet the next day.

When I contacted customer service and spoke to a "corporate manager," all she did was reiterate (like a parrot) that the oven was out of the one-year warranty period. When I pointed out to her that a quick check shows that this manufacturing defect has happened to Frigidaire ovens before, she repeated her script that the "item has not been recalled." Her lack of concern for the seriousness of exploding glass-- and the possibility of future victims-- was underwhelming.

Replies
Advertisement
Piece of Junk Frigidaire Dishwasher & Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KENTUCKY -- We bought a Frigidaire Gallery side by side Refrigerator in 2011. The tech has been to our house 5 times about this refrigerator. The ice maker has been exchanged 3 times, the "water tube" on back of refrigerator had to be replaced due to leaking all over and once the ice maker clicked all the time & he came out, put a little black rubber piece on the end of the arm of the ice maker (Luckily my husband insists on the extended warranty). Last night, there was the awful noise coming from the refrigerator. It did it twice & quit. This morning it started again & after 3 hours of this unnerving racket it started losing temperature on both sides.

We unplugged it & took all the food out to stand alone freezers (lucky to have room) and a spare fridge in a basement kitchen. I cleaned the thing from one end to the other, emptied all the ice & after about 3 hours we plugged it back up. It is running again & has cooled down. Just waiting for it to start groaning again. I don't trust it. Calling the tech first thing in the morning (this is Sunday). But we didn't learn our lesson since (read on).

In January 2013 we bought a Frigidaire Gallery dishwasher. By November 2013 the "board" had to be replaced since it kept running an "ER" message & the dishwasher would stall. That was replaced 2 weeks before Christmas. This is March 2014 & the same thing has happened twice more, with the tech changing out the board. This last board has been in since Tuesday of this week. This is Sunday & guess what "ER" is showing on the board again today.

I am so sick of fooling with these crappy pieces of junk. We do have extended warranty but was told the Mfgr wanted to replace the board one more time & then they would buy out the balance of our extended contract & issue a new dishwasher. I'd rather they just give me my money back & let me go to another brand. Will NEVER BUY FRIGIDAIRE EVER AGAIN.

Replies
Crappy Products Sold at Top Dollar Fall Apart
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY -- As an individual living on disability, I was thrilled to purchase my first home 4 yrs. ago. I replaced my Maytag fridge with an Energy efficient Frigidaire model. Thought it was the "environmentally right thing to do". Shortly thereafter piece by plastic piece began breaking. Food freezing in fridge part, even on low temp. then water constantly in bottom of the unit floor. Darn me for being stupid. Then last year American Home Warranty Co. replaced my Maytag stackable laundry center with a "top of line" 1,299.00 unit. That was August 24ish of 2013.

And guess what, bracket holding barring up broke and whole dryer unit sounded like I had had a bowling ball in it. I was... ever sent or offered an extended warranty from Frigidaire. Now I know why. Just got quoted 214.49 for one year extra coverage from Sears that only covers up to 500.00 and I still have to pay call fee. WHAT the heck!!! After reading some of these posts about same brand name problems, I am furious! Feel taken advantage of for believing in the two companies that produce these items in Mexico! Anyone have suggestions for me?

Replies
Poorly Made Appliances and Terrible Customer Service!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONUMENT, COLORADO -- I bought 4 beautiful Frigidaire appliances to compliment my newly remodeled kitchen in 2010. Within the first year, the ice maker in the fridge quit working and the oven had to be serviced (apparently using the self-clean overheats the machine causing it to malfunction). Since then, the motor has gone out on the dishwasher and the ice maker has been repaired 3 more times, and, once again, is not working.

When I bought my appliances from this well-known company with a history of quality products, I never dreamed that they would last less than 4 years. The disappointment from these expensive appliances becomes even more frustrating because the customer service clearly doesn't care about its customers. I will NEVER own another Frigidaire or Electrolux product... ever.

Replies
Advertisement
Outer Glass Shattered. Big Explosion and Lots of Glass Fragments.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- Purchased a set of Frigidaire appliances from RC Willey. From the inception, we experienced problems with grease trapped between the two glass doors. Reported to Frigidaire before the one year manufacturer's guaranty. We received a set of instructions on how to remove the outer door and clean. The appliances are on a vacation home and are not used regularly. We purchased them on 3/10 and on 4/13, the outer glass shatters. Big explosion. Luckily nobody was hurt.

Now we are stuck with an appliance that is 2 years old and we cannot use. The model has been discontinued. One of their reps offered a glass replacement at a cost of $130 with no guarantees that it will not shatter again. We prefer that they haul the appliance away and recondition it. They can resell it once they make it safe. The right thing for them to do is to give us a credit toward the purchase of a new appliance.

Replies
Run Away Fast
By -

HANCEVILLE, ALABAMA -- In February 2007 we bought a Frigidaire Side By Side Refrigerator model number FRS6LR5EM6. The end of September, the 27 or 28, it quit freezing/cooling. I called the service center and was told they could get someone to come out and fix this on Oct 3. That was almost a week later but I thought hey I'll get it fixed. They came out and diagnosed the problem as a compressor that was faulty. They see it a lot he said. It will take a week for the part to come in. I had bought a 4. something cubic foot refrigerator to tide us over. Thursday Oct 11 I called the service repair center to see if the part was in and when they could fix the refrigerator.

"That part won't be in for 7-14 business days", the receptionist informs me. I told her that was 3 weeks without a refrigerator and she said "oh well". I called Electrolux and they said "we can overnight the part." I said "great." They said "we will call you back", they never did. Friday Oct 12 I called back and was a little more forceful in my frustrations of not having a refrigerator that worked in the last 2 weeks. "Call the repair place and tell them to send us a fax stating that it is unrepairable due to the part being on back order and not available until Oct 31."

I called and the receptionist was very rude and told me that she hardly called Oct 17 as the end of the month. I told her what Electrolux told me and they faxed it. Tuesday I called Electrolux and asked if they received the fax and they said they did. I called back Oct 17 and asked about the status of this they told me it was denied because they could overnight the part to me and I would receive it Thursday. I didn't get the part yesterday and the repairman can't come out and fix it until Tuesday Oct 23 almost 1 month since I called to start with.

My husband wants to buy another refrigerator and take the 8 months old one and light it on fire at Electrolux Headquarters in Georgia. I guess I will call in a little bit and ask them what DHL did with my part because it did not come here. I think all the people who have been burned should get together in a class action suit against this company and clean them out so they can't screw other people over. I will never buy anything from this manufacturer nor will anyone in my family.

Edit for update: The now is now supposed to be here today. I'm not holding my breath. I have also made a customer review at Lowe's and emailed the head of customer service department. More: DHL called today and asked for a house number because all they have is the street city sate and zip code. Now I can expect my compressor Monday, and magically their customer service centers are down this afternoon. Finally after 2 hours of waiting to them to call me back(they never do), I called and got someone who was droning on and on about how sorry he was. If he was truly being sorry I couldn't tell it from his tone sounded top scripted for me to be believable.

I guess I will see the shipping label for myself when/or if it gets here Monday. A whole freaking month without a working refrigerator. I almost think I should run an ad in the paper and sell it to cut my losses and buy a different brand. I just hate losing that much money. I have filed a complaint with the BBB, the Attorney General of my state, posted bad reviews on websites, sent an email to the head of customer service and going out Monday is a certified letter going out to the Vice President of Customer Service department.

Edited for update 10/23: After waiting until 4 pm on Monday for DHL to bring the alleged part, we once again called Electrolux to ask how much longer must we wait to get this part. The repairman is supposed to be here Tuesday between 1-5 pm to install this part that I have been repeatedly assured is arriving on Thursday, Friday, Monday and now Tuesday. We were told they don't know what the problem is as DHL has it in Birmingham which is 60 miles away from our town.

The repairman is coming today and I haven't called to cancel the appointment, just in case the part magically appears before the appointment time. We have once again been assured that this part will arrive in the morning. I guess Electrolux will pay for this service call also. This afternoon I am going to buy a new refrigerator and file a suit against them in small claims court for the price of the old one.

I received an email from the head of the customer service department and he said while he was very sorry for the wait and bad customer service from them and the repair place there was basically nothing he could do. Evidently his title hold no power whatsoever except to gain him more money than the average Customer service representative.

Replies
Don't Buy Frigidaire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- What a nightmare. I am staring at a beautifully remodeled kitchen with a space where our Electrolux/Frigidaire Gallery microwave was. After 2 years we had it taken out. It is on the garage floor and I am going to throw it away. I am sure the old magic chef would still be working. At least the Frigidaire Gallery dishwasher had the decency to die while it was still under warranty. The refrigerator is a noisy piece of junk with numerous issues. All we can do is let others know so they won't have to suffer like us.

Replies
If You No Longer Stock the Item, Don't Bill Me for It!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I ordered some replacement filters for the water dispenser in my refrigerator, and a wrench to go with them because the housing is impossible to get off by hand (and I didn't want to destroy it with a regular wrench). The shipping was fairly quick - within a week - and the ordering was OK though there was absolutely zero information about which filter my 'fridge uses (some Google searching later, I found it). I got an email with the billing information, items, the usual stuff. But when I got my package, two things were missing: a paper statement of the transaction (usually standard in online orders), and the wrench!

So I called customer service. After a couple of minutes trying to identify my order without a statement, and no order number in the email, the representative (who was lukewarm at best, but not rude) finally told me that they have not carried these wrenches in a good while. So I asked, why is it still on the website, and why was I charged for this item? No idea, of course. I'm not sure how much I will ever trust a company who charges for items they cannot give me. Now I'm waiting for a refund, which "will come in a couple days." I'll be keeping an eye for it, even if it was "just" $3.99.

Replies
Advertisement
Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PEABODY, MASSACHUSETTS -- Purchased this french door fridge in July 2011. November week before Thanksgiving was without a fridge for a week. Stockpile of food for the holiday's gone. Called company spoke to a rude lady got nowhere with that. Now February 2012 again service in my home 3 times in one week. Replaced circuit board, blower, another $2.00 part, 3 days later NOT working again. Lost all the food once again. So two weeks and still waiting.

We are a family of 5 and it is the worst thing to go through. Customer service stinks... Lowe's is giving us a new one (not the same brand) cause Lowe's is standing behind us. A Big thank-you to Lowe's. Don't get me wrong it was a beautiful looking fridge but that's about it. I just want everyone to know that Frigidaire/Electrolux don't stand behind their products. Their motto is if it's repairable they will keep on fixing it no matter if it's new or not. Buyer Beware!!!

Replies
Frigidaire Appliances Falling Apart
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased my Frigidaire appliances 4 years ago, and didn't install them in the home for another 6 months. I purchased a kitchen package that included the fridge, oven/range, B/I microwave, and dishwasher. As of today I know have all 4 piece broke.. The try for the outside ice maker broken off just months after purchase, and the shelves in the freezer side don't actually fit and sometimes the slip and the rack falls and so does all the items on it.

The Dishwasher was next the "control box/ panel" went out 18 months after purchase, the part and labor would of ran about 200 dollars, I said no thanks and to this day I have to reset the circuit every time I need to run it. The handle on the microwave just cracked off and to replace it 100 dollars and now the over went out. Worked yesterday and now nothing. I have not every been so disappointed in a product let alone a brand. This was my first appliance purchase ever and I was putting these items into my first home.

I thought these items would of lasted at least 10 years. I know the appliances in my mom's home have lasted for years. I again cannot express how much these items suck. I will never purchase the Frigidaire brand or any other brand associated to them. Please take my advice and DON'T purchase this brand!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Frigidaire Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 24 ratings and
52 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Frigidaire
Electrolux Home Products
P.O. Box 212378
Martinez, GA 30917
1-800-374-4432 (ph)
www.frigidaire.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies