Preview Review

Next Review

Frigidaire Refrigerators Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Leaking Ice Maker
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY -- October 23, 2018. I bought the condo where the refrigerator is located on Feb 11, 2015. It was new construction, and the refrigerator was new - installed by the builder before I purchased property. I moved into the condo on Sept 6, 2015. Electrolux instructed me to use Universal Appliance for the repairs. I truly believe they did everything possible in their effort to stop the leak. Photos of the work orders are illegible, so I listed information below:

The first work order is dated 12/02/15. Comment: found TOP T/M not working. Must order. Note: purchase Ferguson 01/16/15. The second work order is dated 12/21/15. Comment: Replaced I/M and H20 valve. The third work order is dated 03/21/16. Comment: ice build up on fan due to seal. Ice box service bulletin. Installed I/M and seal kit. Turned I/M on Needs to reach temp to start. The fourth work order is dated 02/17/16. Comment: ice build up on fan due to seal. Ice box service bulletin.

The fifth work order is dated 10/24/17. Comment: Found unit needs pad and air haniker (?). Called TS. They are shipping both parts. Customer must thaw 24 hours before return. The sixth work order is dated 11/10/17. Comment: installed pad and air haniker (?). Per Frigidaire tech. Reset control. The seventh work order is dated 05/09/18. Comment: checked unit. Wasn't able to find where air could be getting into box. Gave customer file number and told her to call customer service.

One reason why there is so much time between service visits was because I do not live here 24/7. I have not been able to have ice, basically this whole time. The only way to stop the leak - and ruining the floor - was to empty and turn off ice maker. I have spoken to multiple people in multiple departments. All they do is read from their script. No one seemed to have any interest in helping me. The bottom line: I need to have the same part replaced 4 times in the same year in order for them to consider a new product. And since I had the icemaker replaced under the manufacturer warranty, that doesn't count, since it needs to all be under the same repair agreement. Really? So, I need to have the icemaker replaced 3 more times, allowing it to leak between every time!

Electrolux has now switched the a different repair company, I'm supposing, to achieve a different outcome? As of now, I have been instructed to turn the icemaker back on so that the repairman can see the leak! Yes, I need to ruin my floor further in hopes of having the refrigerator repaired. Evidently watermarks flowing down the front of the frig and warped flooring are not enough proof that the unit leaks! I am going crazy trying to deal with this. Any suggestions?

Replies
Advertisement
Junky Fridge
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- I purchased a refrigerator in 2016. It never worked right from the beginning. I had 7 different repairmen come and try to fix it but no one wanted to say it was unrepairable. I lost food because the freezer kept forming ice and the refrigerator part wouldn't stay cold. The repairman told me to use a blow dryer to get rid of the ice on the motor. I called Frigidaire and they wanted me to buy a extent warranty. They promised to send me certificates to replace my food but never did. So I contacted the Better Business Bureau to see what my next step is. The refrigerator is junk. Never buy any of their products.

Replies
Deadly Appliance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We bought a Frigidaire frig model FFHS2611LBC a couple years back. We did not know the fridge part was heating up then recooling. Bacteria was growing on the food and we did not know it. We got Salmonella! We almost died! And I have a compromised immune system from Lupus! I could have died from Salmonella or complications. We now know that it heated up the insulin for our baby girl Boston Terrier that caused her death.

She had zero issues for 4 yrs until we got this crap fridge!!! Had this happened over the holidays I could have killed my whole family! You have no way of knowing unless you catch it, it goes completely out, or you get terribly ill! Frigidaire's response: “So? What should we do?” Please get this out of your house! It could save you or your family's life!!!

Replies
If You Want Your House Flooded Buy a Frigidaire Refrigerator.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JUPITER -- I own several properties. Have 2 Frigidaire “Gallery” Refrigerators. The one I am complaining about is model DGUS2645LF4 Serial Number 4941904444 is in my home. I was sitting in my home living room when it appeared from the noise in the kitchen that the dishwasher started on its own?? When I went into the kitchen to investigate, I found water pouring out of the refrigerator water spout onto my floor. Had I not been home, the rate of flow out of that spout would have flooded my entire house in a just a few hours.

I tried to click the level that releases water out of the spout and the water would stop for about 10 seconds, then restart pouring out again on its own. This behavior clearly indicated the circuit board in the refrigerator had failed to detect whether the level causing water to be dispensed was pushed or not.

I buy ice instead of using the poor quality refrigerator generated ice so the ice bin was empty. When I switched to ice cube mode, the ice dispenser also repeatedly made noise trying to dispense ice that was not in the bin. This setting change at least gave me time to pull out the refrigerator and cut off the water to stop it from flooding my house. After cutting off the water, I went back to the dispense water setting, so the ice cube dispensing noise would stop.

At that point there was no further noise or water (because I cut off the water). However, the light stayed on the dispensing unit on the front of the refrigerator and could not be turned off. Again all of these factors indicated the controlling circuit board had failed. So, if you want a refrigerator that floods your house when it fails, Frigidaire is a great choice. I have no idea what moron designed this board or how many Frigidaire models use this circuit board.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Buy A Frigidaire. Worst Product Ever!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I will advertise this on my personal Facebook page as well as my business page (to call attention... - to practice of calling public attention to one's product). CAN I HAVE EVERYONE COPY AND PASTE THIS TO FRIGIDAIRE Facebook page - so Frigidaire thinks it's alright to take bad reviews down and delete the person who posted? We will make sure this review gets around cyber until something or someone calls this lady!

In August 2012 I bought a Frigidaire model # FPHN2899LF6 Serial# 4A22709539 paid $3000.00. Since that time it has failed 6+ times. I purchased an extended service (that is now expired). Had a service guy come out this weekend and was told there is a leak and it's internal. On top of it being internal it's a sealed unit and this has probably been the problem from the start. Refrigerator works fine for now until the rest of the Freon leaks out. Freezer is cold but not freezing. Called Frigidaire and explained to them what was going on and their response was "we stood by our agreement" (one year) and I was pretty much on my own...

After more complaining with them on the phone, agent Shawntel made an offer. She would give me 50% off on parts needed to fix the problem but I would have to pay for service. I thought this unacceptable as this is a sealed unit. I asked to speak to her supervisor. She put me on hold, came back and said her supervisor was busy and that she (Jennifer **) would call me back in 1 or 2 days. I asked if this was normal and she told me yes. (Wow) All I can say is DON'T BUY A FRIGIDAIRE. Go to a company that will stand by their product no matter what! Maytag here I come.

You see Mr. Shaw, I've done all I could do with making phone calls to Frigidaire. I even got a response from Melinda (on Facebook) asking me for all the invoices and that they would review them. She never gave me a fax number or an e-mail to send. I know you can pull my information from serial number. I would hope that you would have SOMEONE FROM YOUR OFFICE CALL ME SO THAT I CAN EXPLAIN WHAT'S BEEN GOING ON AND DO something about it!

Replies
Poor Quality and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- I had it delivered on 10/21/16, and I've already had 2 service calls on the ice maker. It will not make enough ice for 2 people to have 2 glasses is ice. The water melts the ice. All I've wanted to do is return the fridge and get my money back, but no one will take the responsibility.

Frigidaire is more than happy to send a service tech, but just be prepared to take a day off work. A service tech has to say the appliance cannot be fixed to have it returned. That doesn't work when it's just poor quality. Home Depot won't take it back because they special order all appliances. You can't try ice makers in the store so how are you suppose to know what you are getting? If I bought a car with quality/mechanical issues it would probably fall under the lemon law. Don't ever buy from this company unless you are willing to take a huge chance on their quality, and you have hours to commit to the run around when you call.

Replies
Do Not Buy Frigidaire Applicances
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALERT!!! DO NOT BUY A FRIGIDAIRE!!! My Frigidaire is only 3 years old and it started on fire! Within 30 seconds there was smoke and flames coming from inside the fridge out of nowhere. Luckily we were home AND in the kitchen when it started because our house would have went up in flames in a matter of minutes.

We called Frigidaire to report this and they didn't care. They said it is out of warranty and WE would need to pay for someone to come out and look at it to have it fixed and pay for parts. I wouldn't get this fixed or trust it EVER again. Wouldn't you think they would want to know why their appliance just started on fire? Out of NOWHERE! being only 3 years old? Nope. They said it was out of warranty so we would have to pay. Which I feel like I should not! And Frigidaire was ok with hanging up the phone, knowing their brand appliance started on fire, knowing that this could happen to someone else and burn someone else's house down, and they were ok with doing NOTHING about it.

DO NOT BUY FRIGIDAIRE ANYTHING! I plan on reporting this to every social media outlet, attorney general, news stations, because I do NOT want someone to lose their home or get hurt. That is how bad this fire was and Frigidaire didn't care. DO NOT BUY FRIGIDAIRE!!!

Replies
Frigidaire Refrigerator
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

PASCO, WASHINGTON -- Lowe's was great. Good price, quick delivery. The Frigidaire is a wonder! As in, "I wonder how exactly they engineered so many industrial sounds into their refrigerator?" It's like a symphony of a train wreck, only more distressing. My count is up to about 17 distinct sounds this thing makes. At first I thought the fridge was going to explode, or burst into flames, or just fall over and die. But then I realized these sounds were natural, all by design.

Everyday I wonder what sound I will hear that I haven't heard before. It's like having a living mystery sitting in the kitchen. Will I ever buy another Frigidaire? Not a chance. I'm hoping this one will continue to make noise forever. God bless those engineers.

Replies
Advertisement
Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This is by far the worst product I ever purchased. I bought six refrigerators in the last 6 years all with ice makers. This purchase for my summer home, DGHF2360PF2a, side by side new style combo, the ice maker leaked from the day we plugged it in. I contacted the company and within 10 months it has been serviced 4 times. The 5th time will be in a few days.

Their product is so bad, they extended the parts and labor for another 6 months free of charge. But actually, the whole refrigerator should be replaced. This will never stop. It is a flaw in this model. DO NOT BUY FRIGIDAIRE. They have the worst customer service. How about the supervisor was toooo busy to talk. Scott will get back to me in 48 hours. BEWARE, THEY ARE SO BAD.

Replies
Frigidaire Refrigerator Quality Issues
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEA CLIFF -- My wife and I recently purchased a new home, and the deal included relatively new kitchen appliances. Unfortunately, our Frigidaire refrigerator was of such bad quality, and our experience with the company was so poor, we felt obligated to document what we've encountered in hopes of informing others to avoid the brand. Our refrigerator was in reasonable shape upon moving into the house. Within 1 year of normal use by a family of 4, the plastic inside and outside the unit started showing fractures. Finally, random pieces of plastic, and then whole sections of shelves began breaking off.

We called Frigidaire, who informed us the unit had been purchased by the original owner in 2010, so none of what we experienced was under warranty -- We were informed that the replacement price for a SINGLE SHELF was $60! Amazingly, they refused to cover the near-total deterioration of most of the plastic shelving in the unit under any sort of "manufacturing defect" agreement. Instead, we'd be required to pay hundreds of dollars to replace the plastic shelves & moldings out of our own pocket.

Frigidaire: The right call would've been to stand by your products by offering an apology and replacement shelves, if not for free, then at a reasonable price. You've left a very bad taste in our mouths, and have certainly lost our trust and business.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Frigidaire Refrigerators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 39 ratings and
72 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Frigidaire
Electrolux Home Products
P.O. Box 212378
Martinez, GA 30917
1-800-374-4432 (ph)
www.frigidaire.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies