Preview Review

Next Review

Kenmore Dishwashers Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Very Cheaply Made and Ineffective Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We purchased a Kenmore 665.132631K110 dishwasher and after a couple months, it started not cleaning dishes properly, and not just on the top rack. After six months, the cheap plastic end cap to the right rail on the top rack kept falling off after use and was finally lost. At 9 months, it wouldn't clean any particle of cereal or oatmeal left on bowls or sauce stains on plates. It was my fault, but I never called while it was under warranty, we just lived with it due to very busy lives.

After it became ridiculous (it won't even wash the soap out of the soap dispenser), I called Sears but it was just out of warranty by a couple months. They stated that there was nothing they could do except send a technician and I would have to pay $229 parts and labor. I asked them how they could charge for parts without looking at it but the representative didn't have a good answer, just that it was their policy. I called the local store where I purchased it and they said there was nothing they could do either.

We've tried using many different types of soaps (powder, liquid, the new "packs") and an oxyclean boosting agent. We put the dishwasher on different cycles, turn on the High Temp, Pots and Pans scrubber, Sani-rinse, and it makes no difference. I've tried all of the basic maintenance fixes that are recommended numerous times (cleaning the two filters, checking clogged jets and proper seating of seals) to no avail.

Now after just under two years, the wheel that attaches the top rack to the rail has broken off (it's made of very cheap plastic) and the top rack is hanging on by the remaining wheel and is unusable). This was not a cheap model, with a stainless steel tub and exterior and upgraded options. We paid over $600 for this dishwasher and I expect it to last for years. If this is what Kenmore and whoever makes this for them has become, I will avoid all Kenmore products in the future.

Replies
Advertisement
Kenmore Dishwasher Flooded My Kitchen
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LIMA, OHIO -- I purchased a Kenmore Elite in November 2012 and installed it the first of December. In early February 2014 the measly clamp holding the hose to the pump popped off and the input hose to the pump came off. This allowed water to go EVERYWHERE. The unit ran at night and water was throughout my kitchen and also went to my basement. The water also sprayed all over the dishwasher electrical components and caused them to fail.

The ultimate problem is that the morons at Kenmore didn't create a mechanism (like a zip tie) to secure the pump to the frame of the unit. An error code resulted and I was unable to repair it. (He did put a new hose on and the same "recipe for disaster" clamps.) Sears repair came out and wasn't able to resolve the issue. Various new parts were installed and parts were ordered with the hope they would be in in 2 weeks.

Sears then handed us a 150$ repair bill… for a problem their POS dishwasher caused. I complained to Sears customer service and was offered $65 to the repair. What an insult. I complained to the store manager and he shrugged his shoulder and looked sheepish. He offered to 50% off a new unit. I won't back down. I'd be interested in filing class action against SEARS. Anyone else that views this and has the same problem should contact me.

Replies
Kenmore Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- I bought a Kenmore Ultra Dishwasher Model # 665.13843K601 Serial # FW1712755 on 05/02/2008 from Sears. It stopped working in 2012 and I replaced the control panel on 08/18/2012. Again on 01/20/2014 it stopped working. I replaced the thermal fuse. Still it doesn't work. I have to replace the control panel again. I have already spent $160 on a $500 appliance. I am wondering if I should spend another $130 for a new control panel or go for a new brand of dishwasher! I used to have another brand of dishwasher for 16 years without any problem... I regret buying Kenmore product. I will never buy or recommend Kenmore products.

Replies
Kenmore Elite Dishwasher Is Anything But
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

LOMBARD, ILLINOIS -- We used the former Sears subsidiary The Great Escape to completely remodel our kitchen 4 years ago, including all new stainless appliances, and are overall very pleased. The only Kenmore appliance we got was the Elite Dishwasher model 13183K (rest all GE) at a price of over $1,000. It cleans well and has been very quiet. But after 2.5 years, it started leaking. After Sears couldn't get a repairman out for several days, we used Maytag repairs. A new water diverter cost us over $350. That was 15 months ago and it has now failed again.

We need yet another diverter, which the repair place says is the only one they have replaced and has failed again. I hate to buy a new DW for $900+, but why should I spend another $275 (plus the $75 for the service call, which I have to pay anyway) and risk being in the same boat in another year or two. A dishwasher that was a promoted as a high end model and cost that much should be good for 10 years at least.

I'm probably crazy hoping to get any response from them. Sears used to have great appliances and we have owned plenty of them. But if they can't get their act together in one of their stronger perception categories (Kenmore appliances), it's no wonder they are sliding into oblivion.

Company Response :

Dlafave,
We apologize for failing to meet your expectations with your dishwasher. We truly understand the inconvenience this situation has caused you with your time and money. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. I saw your post and wanted to offer our assistance. If you would allow us the opportunity, we would very much like to connect you with a dedicated case manager to further discuss options and see what can be done to make things right. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don't have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the dishwasher was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (dlafave) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we're sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Kenmore Dishwasher - Poor Quality, Terrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONTREAL -- Stopped working just over a year after being purchased. Huge runaround when trying to get it repaired under five year extended warranty. So far, many calls to "service center," two visits by repairmen, both times without the right parts, dishwasher still not working, parts "may be available" in another week or so. Poor quality machine (our last one ran for 15-plus years) and appalling customer service. Will never buy another Kenmore product.

Replies
Cheaply Made Parts
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

We have owned our beloved stainless, ultra quiet, Sears Kenmore dishwasher (model 66513973K010) for just over 1 year and absolutely love it… until three days ago when I pulled out the upper rack to empty dishes and the rack fell onto the dishes below! The prongs used to hold the side adjusters to the wheel (therefore, keeping the wheels in the wheel glide) had become brittle from use and suddenly broke off - on all 4 wheels!

Now, this dishwasher is considered to be top of the line and is used only by my husband and myself approximately 4 times a week. Why are the most important parts that hold up a whole rack of glasses made of cheap plastic? Parts should last far longer than 1 year. The plastic molded part cost $24 - per side! Oh, did I mention, Sears shipping for these lightweight parts cost me $10.99? Outrageous! This experience has made us re-think our loyalty to Kenmore appliances.

Replies
Is a Kenmore Elite Dishwasher 665.1392 Control Panel Dysfunction Common
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a Kenmore Elite Dishwasher model #66513923K010 Serial #F04205465 in November of 2010 with the extended warranties. Since June of 2011 I have had a service man at my house 7 times (will be 8 times in 3 weeks when they come again). Every time it is the same problem. The control board goes out.

I have called EVERY number Kenmore and Sears has and have talked to countless people. Meaning that it will only be the 4th control board and all the other call outs were pertaining to the same calls. Oh and the last woman mentioned that I had to have 4 call outs in 1 calendar year. So since January this will be my 2nd control board and 3rd call out!

What should be my next step to getting help changing out this unit meaning that Sears/ Kenmore looks like they have me on a merry go round?? I have only gotten to wash 1 load of dishes in 3 months!! I think I should get a little more help from them meaning that I even went out my way to buy all Kenmore and all from Sears... even squeezed extra money out for the "better" models!!! PLEASE any help would be highly appreciated!!

Replies
Kenmore Ultra Wash Dishwasher Motor Burned Out at 16 Months
By -

As you can see from many other reviews, Kenmore appliances don't fare well. We moved into a new home in Jan 2009. The builder had installed all Kenmore Elite appliances including a Ultra Wash Dishwasher model 665.13573K700. Within 14 months the water reservoir in the fridge had sprung a leak flooding the bottom of the fridge. Two months later the motor on our dishwasher burned out. Replacement cost was $350 including diagnostic fee.

I called the Sears 1-800-4MY-HOME warranty number and was told, like so many others, "sorry you had problems with your appliances but there is only a 12-month warranty," which by the way, started when the builder registered the appliances in April 2008. They actually tried to sell me an extended warranty for the remaining appliances, but wouldn't cover the dishwasher since it wasn't currently in "good working order." Thank you for nothing.

The repair technician said most dishwasher motors should last five to six years and this is the first time he'd seen one burn out so quickly. He also said his company received many calls regarding leaks in the water reservoirs on the Kenmore Elite refrigerators. Come on Kenmore, get your act together. These appliances aren't cheap and we consumers expect them to last at least five years. The Kenmore name used to mean something. Maybe we are better off buying cheaper brands like Haier. They will probably last as long as the Kenmore products for half the cost.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Dishwasher Ever!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ILLINOIS -- I am 51 years old. I have owned 4 dishwashers in my life. All purchased new for a new home. They have never been the top of the line, just basic for cleaning. This is my first Kenmore. I bought it on the recommendation of the sales guy who said it had the best rating in its price category. In all my years, contrary to recommendations, I have never rinsed or pre-washed my dishes… ever! I put crusted anything in and it comes out clean. Now, I have never had a dishwasher do such a poor job cleaning dishes in my life. I rinse the dishes now and still have to check them all and hand wash at least 20%. What is the point? I want to do less work as I get older. What a disappointment!

Replies
Dangerous Product Poor Support
By -

CEDAR LAKE, INDIANA -- Our 2 year old Kenmore dishwasher started leaking and flooded the basement under the kitchen. The heating element melted a hole in the plastic on the bottom of the tub. Sears said they can't help us because it is out of warranty. They then sent out a rude servicer at 8:00 in the morning with no advance notice who told me he was not going to help me if I was not willing to pay for it. I was told if a servicer concluded the product wore out before its time Sears would offer me a 10% discount on a new one. Why on earth would I ever purchase a product with such poor workmanship. I will never purchase any Kenmore product again and advise everyone I know to do the same.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Kenmore Dishwashers Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
13 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Kenmore
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60179
1-888-536-6673 (ph)
www.kenmore.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies