Preview Review

Next Review

Maytag Corporation Neptune Series Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
I Had A Good Experience With My 17+ Yr Old Neptune Washer
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

LEAGUE CITY, TEXAS -- I was given a set of Maytag Neptune washer and dryer for Mother's day probably 18 maybe 19 years ago. The first year, the motherboard went out and then the problem with the molding on the rubber rim and one time it leaked because the filter was clogged... That's it...the only problems I had with it ever in its lifetime. To me, that is a good washer... Now its bearings are worn out after sounding like a freight train in my utility room for about 6 months now. Something else is broken, but my warranty company insists on replacing it with a similar model rather than repair it due to lack of parts on this old baby...

So sad, this machine was part of the family. Good news, the dryer had its first problem a month ago and they were able to replace the motherboard and she works great... I just had to say these are great products and the first efficiencies of their class! Job well done Maytag!

Replies
Advertisement
Great Experience With Maytag Neptune Washer/Dryer
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

MESA, ARIZONA -- We bought our Maytag Neptune washer and dryer in 2000 or 2001. We had an issue with the spinning dry of the washer. It didn't seem to get much of the water out prior to putting in the dryer. Called the Maytag service people and they came out pronto.

I was pretty forceful since I never thought I would be spending close to $2K on a washer and dryer. I was sold on the water and energy savings I would get and the cleaner and faster the clothes would get dryer. Again, I was pretty upset because of the price I paid. I almost expected them to take the clothes out of the hamper itself. I was forceful, but very respectful because this service guy didn't make the problem. He was out to fix it.

Service guy came out and pulled the machine out and the problem was actually in the water line. The installers bent it and water wouldn't flow properly. He was very professional and didn't make me feel like a dunce. I was pretty handy at fixing things, but this never crossed my mind and it should have.

16 or 17 years later we now need to replace that washer. Having problems with the rinse cycle, but this time you can hear the spinning. It is louder than our landscape tools and my woodworking tools. Our son can't sneak a load in later at night because it will wake us all up.

I am not sure I want a new front loader because of all the computer buttons that can go wrong. Our current one has heat, size and delay. We don't need stream, microwave or oven, just a washer. If they still sold the old Neptune, I would buy it in a heartbeat.

Replies
Terrible Experience With Maytag Washer, Warranty, Repairman, and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GALLIPOLIS, OHIO -- I purchased my first and last Maytag appliance in June 2006 - a washer. After 2 years I started noticing brownish gray spots on some of my clothes just every once in a while. Over the course of the next year I tried different detergents, quit using HE detergents, would mix detergent with water prior to putting in the machine, quit using fabric softener, etc....many of these recommendations by Maytag. Nothing seemed to help and the spots began to appear more frequently and crazy as it may sound they were always on our good clothes, never on my husband's work clothes or the kid's play clothes.

I called Maytag explained the situation, they sent an A&E repairman ($60). He told me that my washer had build up down under the LG drum-looking things and gave me an est. for $141 to clean it. Can you believe that crap? It's a washing machine, you don't put clean clothes in it - it's going to have dirty crap in it! After speaking with Maytag and expressing my views on it being a major design flaw, they backed the repairman. I declined the offer, took the whole washer apart to clean it - did find some crud (of which I took pics because at the time I was furious at such a horrible design flaw in a washer that has to be taken apart and cleaned < 3 yrs...cleaned it all.

Few loads of laundry later more spots. Just so happens that I'm ranting about the situation at a family gathering and my aunt speaks up and says it's leaking oil. She then explains that my good clothes get washed in cold water so the oil isn't dissolving, but that the work/play clothes get thrown in hot water and the oil is dissolved so it doesn't leave spots - made perfect since. Called Maytag - A&E repairman returned ($60), I explained that it was cleaned and asked about oil leaking and was told no, that it had a "sealed" transmission that didn't have oil. He still felt there was built up that was missed.

Again I took the washer apart, but this time I took everything out - and guess what I found? A transmission with a bunch of oil that wasn't "sealed" enough to keep it from leaving oil on my counter every time I moved it. I called Maytag (asked for different repairman), same repairman returned. I showed him, he was all nicey nice - gave me an est for $717.90 to repair.

After throwing an ever loving fit over the phone with Maytag (and highlighting the warranty page showing the sealed transmission was under warranty for 10 years), Maytag finally decided it wouldn't cost me anything (good thing since I'd already lost a small fortune in good clothes over the last year, not to mention my time taking apart and reassembling their washer - with three small children to tend to. My time is very valuable). Finally..."the part will be in within 2 days, but we can't get back here to put it in for 2 weeks". A family of five, do you know how much laundry we go through in 2 weeks?

Hardly acceptable - I had them mail me the part, I installed it and fixed the spots problem. That has been the worst part so far - we still have the washer, but there's always something screwing up with it...locks won't engage so washer won't run, often it gets stuck on spin cycle and when I go to get my laundry out they're still sopping wet, and today I started a load and it started operating as usual, but kept beeping it beeped through the whole cycle (called Maytag, as usual they don't know why, but offered to SEND REPAIRMAN - $60 lol) - good thing my washer is in the basement. Stay away from Maytag!

Every time I call customer service I hear "CHA-CHING$$$" in my head. Last but not least, the saddest part of this story is that when this washer is working properly it cleans clothes amazingly and I love it that small part of the time; However, I will never never own another Maytag, and I will tell anyone who asks about this experience. By the way this is the only time I've ever put a complaint online, I'm usually very easy to satisfy/work with.

Replies
Do not buy from Maytag/Whirlpool
By -

BENTON HARBOR, KENTUCKY -- I will no longer be a valued Maytag/Whirlpool customer. My issue was not resolved to my satisfaction. A control board on as expensive a washer as this Maytag Neptune Washer Front Loader HE should not go out after 3 years of use. You have definitely lost my business for life, and I will tell everyone I know about my horrible experience with your product and customer service in this regard. I will never purchase another of your products or any product in your family of brand names. As a consumer, I too have a bottom line and at some point that has to matter also. As a corporation I understand you have a bottom line, financial profitability goals etc...

You should be ashamed of yourselves for selling a product for 1000-1300$ and banking on the purported reliability of the Maytag brand name. You should be ashamed that after only 3 years of use this product failed in the most expensive way it could and you failed to make that situation right by me. You could have sent the part to me at no cost to me and maybe a 40$ cost to you for a washer I spent so much money on, and maintained me as a loyal and hypothetically valued customer.

Think about it... That part probably cost you about $40 to have made (Control Board Part # 34001498 which number I now have memorized after trying to find one at an affordable price). Maybe more, but not really too much more. So rather than send me the part, which should not have gone out after only 3 years in the first place, and keep me and my household as current and future customers earning you thousands over my lifetime and the lifetimes of my children, family, and friends etc. You have lost me and any future business I will need to do in the range of your products.

And know this... I am only 38. I will need to buy another washer, dryer, refrigerator, stove, microwave, stereo, blender, (insert type of appliance here) over the course of the rest of my life, as will my children, family and friends. YOU and YOUR company will NOT get a dime of my business. It doesn't seem like good consumer relations on your part, not smart future financial planning, but hey... I don't own a multi-million dollar corporation.

I'm just a housewife and I have to take the fact that you will not stand honorably by your products brand, nor reliability and accept that you received thousands of my dollars and I am not receiving the dependability that you claim in your advertisements. When I calculate how many hours I had to work to pay for that washer.

Hours of my life that were bargained in exchange for the dependable use of a product you sell, I am sickened. You have commercials that tout that Maytag service men never have anything to do because your product is so reliable! False advertising! I am no fool. I will research your family line of products and I will not buy from you again. Take that to your bottom line!

Replies
Advertisement
Washer Shakes Violently And Walks Across The Room
By -

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- We thought we did the right thing when we spent the extra money on a "high quality" washing machine in July of 2005. What a mistake! This machine is a piece of junk. It shakes so violently during the spin cycle that it literally walks 2 to 3 feet across the room. We can't start a load of laundry and leave the house for fear the hose will come loose and we will end up with water all over the floor. The fun part is when I get to push this huge machine back into place after each load. We too have been told that the problem is our floor (Ceramic tile on a plywood sub floor).

I even did the silly "test" the repair people wanted me to do - Place a bowl of water on the floor in front of the washer or on top of the dryer. If the water shakes, your floor is the problem. In my "test" the water did not shake. My floor is NOT the problem! They replaced the control board with a new one that has a motion sensor. This did not fix the problem. When I called back to tell them the new control board did not fix the problem the repair guy told me they get these complaints "every day" about the Maytag Neptune. He said the only thing they can tell people is that their floor is the problem because that's what Maytag tells them when they call for help.

The customer service person I talked to at Maytag told me the machines were designed to be placed on a solid concrete floor. Funny! No one told me that when I bought it and the installation guide only says it has to be a "solid floor". How much more solid does it have to be? How many other people bought these machines for a first floor laundry only to be told "sorry the problem is your floor"? How can Maytag possibly think that telling people to reinforce their floor is an answer to fix their DEFECTIVE MACHINES. There are simply too many complaints about the vibration problem for them to deny they have a huge problem. Do NOT buy a Maytag front load machine!

Replies
The Most Expensive Washer I Have Ever Bought!!
By -

07860, NEW JERSEY -- We made the decision to purchase a Maytag Neptune Front Loader Washer and Dryer 3 years ago. The price of the washer alone was $1100. It was a lot, but we THOUGHT we were purchasing a quality appliance that would last for a very long time. What fools were we!! After about 1 year our washer starting clanging and spinning extremely loud every time we used it. It was so loud that you cannot be in the same room when it is running. Also there was such a strong "septic" odor in the laundry room every time I used the machine that it made me want to literally throw-up.

Last year it got even worse. At this point we were used to the loudness, smell and moving of the machine, but it started smoking while it was washing. Fortunately we purchased the extended warranty and contacted Maytag Dependability Plus and scheduled a repair. To make a long story very short everything had to be replaced in my machine...motor, drum, gasket, pump, spindle and boot..to the tune of $900. Thank God we purchased the extended coverage because it was covered. However I told Maytag that I did not want it repaired because this machine was a nightmare. I wanted a replacement or refund of sort. They stated it HAD to be repaired.

3 weeks and countless trips to the laundromat later it was repaired. One month later we had to have them come back out because it was literally loud and moving across the floor again. We were concerned that this was the beginning of the end again. Ironically I again stated to the repairman that when it ran there was a horrid smell. He knew exactly what I was talking about. They now sell tablets that you have to put in an empty cycle weekly to help with the odor. It was common with this machine!! He also stated there was nothing that can be done with the machine since this is how this machine is.

He had been on numerous calls for the same thing and nothing can be done. One month later he had to come back again because the machine stopped in cycle, with wet clothes in it and the door LOCKED. Nothing would open it.. on/off, etc. At this point the repairman could not come out for 3 days..and I was livid because my clothes would have been molded. After many calls the repairman agreed to walk my husband through dismantling the machine to unlock the door. Okay we did it!! But when we turned the machine on.. nothing happened. 3 days later the repairman again came out and was able to get the machine working for now.

It turned out a quarter got into the pump (another problem he said he has seen with this machine). I have made numerous calls to Maytag and they just don't care!! I am covered for another 3 years and will call them each and every time there is a problem, but at this point they will NOT replace the machine for me. They are now stating that because I CHOSE to have the machine repaired if at all I would only get the difference between the total repair costs and purchase price. They have spent more $ to repair this machine then we paid for it already. Even the repairman stated he knew I did not CHOSE to have the machine repaired. They did not care.

Now I will call them each and every time ANYTHING goes wrong and hope to get it classified as a lemon. Whatever that will mean. It is obvious though that they DO NOT stand behind their product and couldn't care less about the consumer. Most likely we will have to buy a new washer soon because I cannot depend on this one and it kills me because it is only 3 years old. RUN... STAY FAR AWAY FROM A MAYTAG MACHINE. I WISH SOMEONE TOLD ME THAT 3 YEARS AGO!!

Replies
Maytag Neptune Dryer
By -

In May of 2006, we purchased a Maytag Neptune Front Load Washer & Dryer. We purchased a 5-year warranty and then of course 4 months after the warranty was up, the dryer started making this terrible squeaking noise and a big banging noise. My husband took the back off and found that there was a bad part, so he took it to a Maytag service store and they told us that in 7-10 days we would have the part. Well it has now been 5 weeks and they have not gotten the part and have no idea when it will be in as it is on a nationwide back order.

We emailed the Maytag Company and they responded and asked for model number, the serial number, Dealer's name, Maytag service store name and phone number. We emailed all this to the Maytag Company and they responded by phone and left a message that they had no way to get the part that we needed and they had no idea when it would be in because it was on a nationwide backorder. Now that 5 weeks has gone by and we have spent extra money to go the laundromat to dry our clothes every week for 5 weeks we really would like the part or to be compensated for not being to use our Maytag Neptune Dryer.

What good is it to have a product if you can not get a part for and the Company has no idea when the part will be available? What kind of Company sells a product and has no part available or stands behind their products? We should not have to spend the extra money to have to dry our clothes when we were told what a good and dependable washer and dryer we were buying. We believe that a washer and dryer should last a lot more than 5 years.

We are very disgusted and are tired of washing our clothes at home and having to run to the laundromat to dry our clothes when we should be able to get the part and do our washing and drying in the convenience of our home and not have to spend the extra money every week at the laundromat.

Replies
Never Trust a Maytag
By -

I purchased a matching Neptune Set in January 2006. Junk from day one. Two days after getting the set, I had to call repair - washer wouldn't unlock. I was good for a few months, then pump sprung a leak. New pump and away we went. In 2007 washer wouldn't unlock again. Had a load of brand new baby clothes in it, they rotted because it took 3 weeks for the repairman to come fix the problem. New door, and believe it or not a full refund on the purchase of all the clothing in the washer. We were good until 2008. Then the dryer starts having problems, thunk thunk horrible noise, then I notice the drum is separating. Repair guy comes out. There's no repairing this mess.

Thank God for extended warranty. They send me a gift card for the original purchase price of Dryer. And believe me I didn't use it to buy a Maytag. Now I have a mismatched set. End of 2008 washer won't drain. OK repair guy comes out again. Replaces pump again. By now I think I'm on a first name basis with the Maytag repairman. 2009 pump goes out again.. hmm.. now this is the third time. We either have faulty pumps or the washer is just a piece of junk. Decemer 2009 washer starts to sound like an airplane taking off, water leaking everywhere. Repair guy comes out again. Washer behaves while he is here, he sees no problem. Nice!!

Washer stops making sounds washes clothes nicely.. no problems until end of January 2010, Airplane mode again, won't drain, makes lots of noise, motor error code and is smoking during spin cycle. Repair guy comes out. Spends about five minutes looking at washer, stands up and says "it's still under the extended warranty and you will be getting a gift card for the original puchase price in 7 to 10 days." The problem.. the motor went, the bearings went, the pump went and the controller board is fried. To repair would of cost way more than the original purchase price. Gift card comes and no I didn't buy a Maytag.

I bought the matching washer to the Frigidaire Dryer I got two years ago. I will never ever buy a Maytag appliance again. This was only my experience with the washer and Dryer. I don't have the energy to complain about the Dishwasher (I had for two months before a gift card for original purchase price was sent).

Replies
Advertisement
Vibration on Maytag Neptune washer Model MAH8700
By -

We purchased a new Neptune washer at Sears in Jax, FL in Jan 05. As retirees we travel a lot - maybe gone six months a year. After about the first six months the machine began to vibrate on the extraction spin cycle. We set it on low extraction to ease off on the vibration. Anything higher was like a bucking bronco. A private technician stated that we might have the problem with it being on a wooden floor. We went back to Sears to inquire about the feasibility of using a machine on a wooden floor. Sales rep said "No problem, we've never had a complaint about that." I told him "You do now - and a big one."

Another tech told us that the machine needed new damper shocks and a new vibration sensor - to the tune of $300 plus to solve the problem. He would not guarantee that it would totally solve as he thought the wooden floor was the culprit. As of this day I have found out that there is a vibration issue with my particular model. I also called and am getting a recall on the machine for a GFCI plug to use. If you have this model - go online and get a phone number to call. Without the plug water can get on the plug and electrocute a person. We unplug after each use now though I hardly see how it is safe to use it either. Go figure.

This is the last of several Maytag products that I will own. In the future Nada, Zip, nothing more with a Maytag, Samsung or Whirlpool name on them. Would do laundry by hand rather than have one of these despicable products. I urge anyone with their products to boycott by not purchasing future products from them. In my opinion - they are real dirtball organizations.

Replies
Don't buy a Maytag washer
By -

SARATOGA, CALIFORNIA -- As you all know out there, Maytag is not a cheap product so therefore I assumed the quality would be good. Guess what? My Neptune washer needed a new bearing after about five years and it would have cost over $600 to fix it. So I'm going to replace it with a trusted Sears Kenmore brand that I had previously for over 20 years with no issues.
I called Maytag and asked if they knew about any design issues and of course they didn't. They told me it was out of warranty and all costs would be mine and did I really expect the washer to last more than five years.

Well I guess I did expect the expensive Maytag to last a lot longer than five years, my Sears Kenmore did with a lot heavier use. There must be a design issue for it to fail in this short of a time because it doesn't get used that much and is never used full of clothes and become overloaded or out-of-balance. Be warned!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Maytag Logo
Maytag Corporation Neptune Series Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
75 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Maytag Corporation
403 W 4th St N
Newton, IA 50208-3026
1-800-688-9900 (ph)
515-787-8376 (fax)
www.maytag.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies