Preview Review

Next Review

Maytag Corporation Washers Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Only 8 Months Old-Piece of Junk - Lowe's and Maytag Don't Care!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

POTSDAM, NEW YORK -- Bought Maytag water saver washing machine from Lowe's in Potsdam and the machine is only 8 months old and never worked well from the beginning (fabric softener won't dispense, problems from the beginning - noise like the house is being broken - clanks crashes, dry clothes, lid won't unlock, won't drain won't spin and so much more. Lowe's appliance manager said after 30 days you can't return it or anything else. Even though we spent $119 on a 5 year service contract they recommended - it doesn't matter!

This is not the first time Lowe's has been terrible - they sold my lawnmower when it was there for service on my warranty! Called Maytag - someone is supposed to call - they say a "trained technician". After reading all these reviews I doubt they will do anything to stand behind this piece of junk. There is so much wrong with it now that I've been told it's a lemon - but the tech has to say it is (will my prayers be answered?) We are old and bought this as our last machine.

We had a Maytag Centennial and it was great. Maytag said the best I might get is the what I paid for it plus tax. The money I paid for the warranty disappears and it can't be applied to another machine. I can't go through months of fighting with Maytag - I'm having major surgery in three weeks and my wife is disabled and requires total care - I don't even have a way to take care of her when I am in recovery for three months. I think I have to start writing to Maytag now because I don't think any good will come of this.

I am also going to write to Lowe's corporate office - don't be intimidated by how it sounds - they really are the only ones who may care - not the telephone robot monkeys. We had to do this when Sears in Potsdam kept sending the wrong refrigerator to us, overcharged us (I found out). These business' here may not like hearing this but, we are not rich nor is most of the area. I expect decent people when I shop in their stores who do not lie and abuse senior citizens. Never buy Maytag ever, ever again! Please! God doesn't want you to be hurt.

Replies
Advertisement
Maytag Washer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAINT CLOUD, FLORIDA -- Back in March 2017 I went to Best Buy and purchased a Maytag Washer and Dryer. 3 months later the washer start making a awful noise like the belt was crashing something and was not draining properly. I called Best Buy. They referred me to Whirlpool customer services. Whirlpool open a ticket for me with a third party company call Alliance (service my area). The worst company ever!!! Long story short! Alliance went to my house 3 times. Reset the washer and that's it. We told them like that noise wasn't normal and all they asked was what detergent I was using. Finally they admit we need a new part and they will order it.

Sure after the Whirlpool warranty expired they didn't want to honor the time we have been trying to fix the problem. That company Alliance have and employee name Paula really unprofessional by the way. We tried to make the appointments for the afternoon 3 times already and for some reason the tech shows every time in the mornings. When we called to complain about it they said is nothing they can do. I told Paula that we have been waiting for the washer to be fix for a year already and she said. They have clients waiting for Refrigerator parts for 7 months and that was normal. WHAATTT??? How is that acceptable???

Replies
Maytag 9000 Series Washer and Dryer - GARBAGE
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- Save yourself a huge headache and a ton of money - stay away from Maytag's washers and dryers. I have had nothing but issues with my 9000 series units almost from the very start. When they were under the extended warranty it was more of a nuisance than anything but once we that expired and it didn't seem to make sense to renew on machines over 5 years old we dropped the contract and assumed that since all the issues had been already repaired what else could possibly go wrong?? Plenty.

We were able to replace the washer's pump on our own, driving 1 hour each way to pick up the part and spending over $100. Now the dryer's hinge snapped which makes it next to impossible to get the dryer to run, so we spent another $65 on the hinge, only to find out that the dryer still won't run and now we have an F01 code! We do some research and come to find that it's the control board. Sears can have it shipped to us! Great... for $250. Oh, wait, they'll drop the price to $200!

Well, unless they want to drop it another $200 I'm not wasting another dime. What a shame that I spent over $700 on each machine and another couple of hundred for extended warranty and now I'm out nearly another $200 for parts. (Thank goodness I didn't have to pay for labor!!) HUGE pieces of junk, never again will I buy a Maytag and at this point I'm a bit PO'd at Sears for selling me this junk, and even angrier at myself for getting rid of my plain old no bells no whistles Kenmore. P.S. - wish I could give this a "0" star rating instead of a "1" which is the lowest.

Replies
Washer Bearings Parts Not Available Until 2/2/2016 (Over 4 Years From Now!)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI -- The bearing is broken in my front load washer model MHWE300VW00. Initial estimate is $900 to repair BUT the bearing part is not available until 2/2/2016 (in another 4 plus years!) per the Marcone Parts Company which is the official Maytag partner. So my machine is only 6 years old, cost over $900, and a main component is not available to repair. I spoke to customer service representative and supervisor. Even though the expected life is supposedly 14-16 years (ha!) and my machine only lasted 6 and there is no part available to repair, the best they can do is give me discount to buy another machine.

Pretty sure I don't want to spend any more dollars with Maytag, which it seems is a popular result. I would like to see their advertising "bored" repairman challenged and be forced to remove. It seems the repairman is bored because either the repairs are cost prohibitive or in my case, not even available. No one wants to continually repair their equipment at additional costs! Too bad customers are forced to purchase a new machine, but it does not seem they are looking to use Maytag again. Eventually the bad reputation will catch up and the "commercial" image will not be possible to fool the customers.

Replies
Advertisement
Buyer Beware - Product is Junk, Terrible Warranty
By -

I purchased a commercial grade washer/dryer set from Tom's Maytag that was delivered on 5/12/09. I specifically asked for a commercial grade because I wanted to make sure it would last and was told these ones were the best. Not even 3 months later, the washer started to act up, not properly laundering the clothes, and on 7/31/09 stopped supplying water to the cycle. Called the repairman and he came on 8/5/09 but wasn't able to fix it because the part needed was not available for another 10 days. I complained to Tom's Maytag and got them to rush the part.

Repairman returned a week later on 8/13/09, it was the wrong part, and the machine still wasn't working. He was supposed to call Maytag's techline support from the site but didn't have the number on him and instead of waiting for the shop to get him the number, he left. He told us w/o the tech support to guide him, his hands were tied - nothing he could do, don't know when he was to return. I went back to TM and complained again and was given a bunch of excuses for the repairman uselessness so I asked for my money back or a replacement. I was told the 2 yr warranty on the product was for repair only not replacement.

In order for TM to take the machine back, we had to go through Maytag's different channels and the tech support before the repairman could label it unrepairable and even so, who knows when I would get it. In the meantime the pile of laundry is growing exponentially and I have to deal with it w/o a machine, not their problem - nothing they can do until they contact tech support. The repairman came back on 8/17/09. Called tech support and was told another part was needed, he didn't have it but he'll come back tomorrow by 11:00 am. Today 8/18/09, he was a no show so we called and were told the part is on backorder - another 48 hrs or more until they get it.

I called Maytag this time and sure enough, was given a bunch of excuses and reasons for delay. I argued that we'd already wasted 8 days the first time waiting on a part that wasn't broke, nothing guarantees me that this new part we are waiting on will fix it, yet Maytag still refused to replace it. Instead they are offering an extra year warranty, now I asked: "What good does this do when the product is crap, the repairman is inept, and their customer service sucks?" The way I see it, their solution is just an extra year of timeless aggravation having to deal with them and the lemon washer, no thanks!

All I want is a machine that WORKS!! Had I known Maytag's warranties and policies were not worth a darn, I could've gone to Menards, bought a cheap korean made washer with a 1 yr mfg. warranty that had probably lasted longer than this commercial piece of crap Maytag washer and being ahead of the game.

Tom's Maytag and Maytag Corporation are inconsiderate and unprofessional. I don't understand why they can't take the washer back, replace it, and take their sweet time waiting for the parts to repair it and resale it used later or take the part out one of the floor models to fix mine. Instead they rather me, the consumer, go without it for as long as it takes - THEY DON'T CARE!

I had it with them, I don't even want a replacement anymore, I want my money back. After this, I don't want to deal with them EVER. They have lost my business, my family, friends, and all those I would come across warning them about doing business with them.

Replies
Poor quality
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

Nothing but issues since first purchased brand new. Once an F21 error code kept coming up, we googled the fix since our warranty had run out and was too costly to renew. Purchased a new pump for $100+ and it seems to have fixed the problem since all other quick fixes didn't help (cleaning filter, flushing hose, making sure the end wasn't too far into waste pipe etc), and found out pump has been updated by Maytag many times. I believe it should have been a recall.

Replies
Loud Washer Signals
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

LOUISIANA -- If you hate the obnoxious chimes and beeps on your Maytag Maxima front loader washer just take the front cover off and disconnect the speaker. Boom!

Replies
Centennial Laundry washer
By -

I bought this machine in July of 2009 and live alone. I do two loads of laundry a week every week. The machine timer just broke and will not drain water out of the washer. I am out of warranty a few months and I bought this unit because of the long history of quality. This is not a quality machine and I can't imagine the trouble I would have if I had a large family. I tried to look the machine up for parts on the Maytag site by the model number and they have removed it from the data base.

I need to know if there is a lawsuit pending for this machine. I will never shop Home Depot again for representing such a piece of poor quality merchandise. Buyer beware of Maytag and Home Depot and avoid buying from either of them because at the end of the day you are on your own waiting for bulk trash day to get rid of this. Total waste of money.

Replies
Advertisement
Maytag High Efficiency Top Load Washer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLEVELAND, TENNESSEE -- In March 2012 I purchased a brand new Maytag High Efficiency Top Load Washer. I have been complaining about this piece of junk since I received. The machine has no fabric softener dispenser so I was told to use the Downy Ball. This is a joke. The Downy Ball does not work with High Efficiency washers. Too bad Maytag doesn't admit to this, it is on the Downy website. I have been complaining via phone calls and letters for over two months now. I hate doing laundry as the Downy Ball does not dilute with water just spill on the clothing causing damage to many fabrics. No one at Maytag seems to care that this is happening.

I was told to not put as many clothes in washer and use more water which defeats the purpose of a high efficiency washer. This washer had been used only a few times since March. I would rather go to a laundromat than use this machine. I have done everything Maytag has suggested, such as making smaller load, again defeating the purpose of the machine and nothing helps. I am becoming so tired of no cooperation whatsoever from Maytag. Please do yourself a favor and stay away from Maytag or be prepared to deal with people who don't care one bit if you are having a problem with their products.

How they ever got a good reputation is beyond me because their washer is a big chunk of garbage. I will never purchase a Maytag item again and I will tell everyone what I am going through. I have never been treated so poorly. One would think that a large corporation like Maytag would solve a small, inexpensive item problem than to have someone like me destroy or at least to my best to, ruin their reputation. I am fed up with Maytag and their product. I own an expensive chunk of junk.

Replies
Stay Away, Far Away From Anything Maytag
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I purchased a Maytag washer, the 9000 Series, model MHWE950WW, in October of 2010. The washing machine seemed to work fine until about 1 month ago, when the washer became loud in the spin cycle. Finally, last week the noise and vibration became intolerable. We called Maytag service, (we have a service contract) and they sent a service man a couple of days ago. He was in the house five minutes, when he spun the tub by hand and stated that the bearings were shot. He said that it would take about ten days before the new parts would be installed. The bearings in a 16 month old machine were SHOT? How can that be?

According to the service man, "it happens." Oh Really? It happens if the product is DEFECTIVE AND POORLY MADE. Wait! It gets better. Two days later I received a call from Maytag's service people, and was told that the machine would cost $689.00 to repair with new bearings, and that the prorated value of the machine was $629.00, therefore they were not going to replace the bearings, but would instead reimburse me $629.00 instead, since the value of the machine was now less than the cost to repair it with new bearings.

The cost for the washer was $899.00; the cost for the washer's service contract was $186.31, for three years. Maytag is sending me $629.00 for all my troubles, on a machine that is 16 months old. Get this!!! They will not reimburse me for the remaining 3 years on my service contract. They claim that it is part of the claim total. So here is how it breaks down: $899.00 (excluding taxes and delivery) for the washer, $186.31 for the service contract until 2014. That brings my out of pocket total to $1085.31. I am getting back only $629.00. You do the math!

I lost $456.32 in the whole process in less than 16 months and do not have a working washing machine to boot. WAY TO GO MAYTAG! You will not see one cent of my money ever again, and I make will it my life's work to bad mouth you and your products, every time I pass by a sellers appliance section. I will tell everyone in my development, in my city, in my state, and anyone who will listen, to avoid your products like the plague that you and they are.

Your products, business model and your customer service, are the world's worst. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice? Well, you will never get that chance again. Personally, I will work toward making your company and its products extinct. It is what you deserve for shoddy products and bad business practices. I wish you nothing, because that is what you deserve. NOTHING!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Maytag Logo
Maytag Corporation Washers Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 35 ratings and
91 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Maytag Corporation
403 W 4th St N
Newton, IA 50208-3026
1-800-688-9900 (ph)
515-787-8376 (fax)
www.maytag.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies