Preview Review

Next Review

Maytag Corporation Washers Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Maytag 9000 Series Washer and Dryer - GARBAGE
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- Save yourself a huge headache and a ton of money - stay away from Maytag's washers and dryers. I have had nothing but issues with my 9000 series units almost from the very start. When they were under the extended warranty it was more of a nuisance than anything but once we that expired and it didn't seem to make sense to renew on machines over 5 years old we dropped the contract and assumed that since all the issues had been already repaired what else could possibly go wrong?? Plenty.

We were able to replace the washer's pump on our own, driving 1 hour each way to pick up the part and spending over $100. Now the dryer's hinge snapped which makes it next to impossible to get the dryer to run, so we spent another $65 on the hinge, only to find out that the dryer still won't run and now we have an F01 code! We do some research and come to find that it's the control board. Sears can have it shipped to us! Great... for $250. Oh, wait, they'll drop the price to $200!

Well, unless they want to drop it another $200 I'm not wasting another dime. What a shame that I spent over $700 on each machine and another couple of hundred for extended warranty and now I'm out nearly another $200 for parts. (Thank goodness I didn't have to pay for labor!!) HUGE pieces of junk, never again will I buy a Maytag and at this point I'm a bit PO'd at Sears for selling me this junk, and even angrier at myself for getting rid of my plain old no bells no whistles Kenmore. P.S. - wish I could give this a "0" star rating instead of a "1" which is the lowest.

Replies
Advertisement
Washer Bearings Parts Not Available Until 2/2/2016 (Over 4 Years From Now!)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI -- The bearing is broken in my front load washer model MHWE300VW00. Initial estimate is $900 to repair BUT the bearing part is not available until 2/2/2016 (in another 4 plus years!) per the Marcone Parts Company which is the official Maytag partner. So my machine is only 6 years old, cost over $900, and a main component is not available to repair. I spoke to customer service representative and supervisor. Even though the expected life is supposedly 14-16 years (ha!) and my machine only lasted 6 and there is no part available to repair, the best they can do is give me discount to buy another machine.

Pretty sure I don't want to spend any more dollars with Maytag, which it seems is a popular result. I would like to see their advertising "bored" repairman challenged and be forced to remove. It seems the repairman is bored because either the repairs are cost prohibitive or in my case, not even available. No one wants to continually repair their equipment at additional costs! Too bad customers are forced to purchase a new machine, but it does not seem they are looking to use Maytag again. Eventually the bad reputation will catch up and the "commercial" image will not be possible to fool the customers.

Replies
Horrible Overpriced With Crappy Service!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAINT PETERSBURG, FLORIDA -- Bought the beautiful set for $1700.00 and all they offered was a 1 year warranty!!! Now I know why! They should be ashamed of themselves! I am single and live alone. Do light loads maybe two or three times a week. I will never own another Maytag product again! Had washer repaired multiple times within that first year and now three years later the bearings have gone out on the washer requiring a repair more expensive that the washer cost new! Why would they sell something so crappy? NEVER AGAIN! Any washer or dryer you charge over $800 for you should have more confidence in than to only warranty for a year!

Replies
Maytag 4000 series Washer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA -- Maytag model mhwe450ww01 - Bought machine in 201.1 Six months into the operation, had to have Maytag replace the drum and again 4 or 5 months later. It's now 2014 and guess what, it's down again for the third drum and bearing replacement. Called Maytag and e-mailed and found that they could care less. Good news is I bought service contract with machine only to find out that a three week wait is good service from A&E service (Sears). Try a laundromat with clothes from 7 kids for three weeks could have bought another machine. Need to be recalled from Maytag.

Replies
Advertisement
Product Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MODESTO, CALIFORNIA -- Control panel went out on 8 month old Maytag Washer model MHWE950WW01. Parts are no longer available. Washer has been discontinued. (Maybe because it sucks. They replaced the entire drum/tub at 2 months) After 3 months of waiting on hold and for them to call back, Maytag finally agreed to send a free replacement washer under warranty. I wanted a matching dryer, so I had to pay for it. They will not let me keep the dryer purchased with the broken washer. So I had to pay for 2 dryers. Have been waiting 6 months for the replacement washer.

They charged my credit card and sent the matching dryer at 5 months. Have made more than 10 phone calls with waits of 30-70 minutes before talking with someone. The department I need to talk with is never available and they will not give me direct line or email. They are not calling me back or sending the washer.

Replies
Buyer Beware - Product is Junk, Terrible Warranty
By -

I purchased a commercial grade washer/dryer set from Tom's Maytag that was delivered on 5/12/09. I specifically asked for a commercial grade because I wanted to make sure it would last and was told these ones were the best. Not even 3 months later, the washer started to act up, not properly laundering the clothes, and on 7/31/09 stopped supplying water to the cycle. Called the repairman and he came on 8/5/09 but wasn't able to fix it because the part needed was not available for another 10 days. I complained to Tom's Maytag and got them to rush the part.

Repairman returned a week later on 8/13/09, it was the wrong part, and the machine still wasn't working. He was supposed to call Maytag's techline support from the site but didn't have the number on him and instead of waiting for the shop to get him the number, he left. He told us w/o the tech support to guide him, his hands were tied - nothing he could do, don't know when he was to return. I went back to TM and complained again and was given a bunch of excuses for the repairman uselessness so I asked for my money back or a replacement. I was told the 2 yr warranty on the product was for repair only not replacement.

In order for TM to take the machine back, we had to go through Maytag's different channels and the tech support before the repairman could label it unrepairable and even so, who knows when I would get it. In the meantime the pile of laundry is growing exponentially and I have to deal with it w/o a machine, not their problem - nothing they can do until they contact tech support. The repairman came back on 8/17/09. Called tech support and was told another part was needed, he didn't have it but he'll come back tomorrow by 11:00 am. Today 8/18/09, he was a no show so we called and were told the part is on backorder - another 48 hrs or more until they get it.

I called Maytag this time and sure enough, was given a bunch of excuses and reasons for delay. I argued that we'd already wasted 8 days the first time waiting on a part that wasn't broke, nothing guarantees me that this new part we are waiting on will fix it, yet Maytag still refused to replace it. Instead they are offering an extra year warranty, now I asked: "What good does this do when the product is crap, the repairman is inept, and their customer service sucks?" The way I see it, their solution is just an extra year of timeless aggravation having to deal with them and the lemon washer, no thanks!

All I want is a machine that WORKS!! Had I known Maytag's warranties and policies were not worth a darn, I could've gone to Menards, bought a cheap korean made washer with a 1 yr mfg. warranty that had probably lasted longer than this commercial piece of crap Maytag washer and being ahead of the game.

Tom's Maytag and Maytag Corporation are inconsiderate and unprofessional. I don't understand why they can't take the washer back, replace it, and take their sweet time waiting for the parts to repair it and resale it used later or take the part out one of the floor models to fix mine. Instead they rather me, the consumer, go without it for as long as it takes - THEY DON'T CARE!

I had it with them, I don't even want a replacement anymore, I want my money back. After this, I don't want to deal with them EVER. They have lost my business, my family, friends, and all those I would come across warning them about doing business with them.

Replies
Poor quality
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

Nothing but issues since first purchased brand new. Once an F21 error code kept coming up, we googled the fix since our warranty had run out and was too costly to renew. Purchased a new pump for $100+ and it seems to have fixed the problem since all other quick fixes didn't help (cleaning filter, flushing hose, making sure the end wasn't too far into waste pipe etc), and found out pump has been updated by Maytag many times. I believe it should have been a recall.

Replies
Loud Washer Signals
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

LOUISIANA -- If you hate the obnoxious chimes and beeps on your Maytag Maxima front loader washer just take the front cover off and disconnect the speaker. Boom!

Replies
Advertisement
Centennial Laundry washer
By -

I bought this machine in July of 2009 and live alone. I do two loads of laundry a week every week. The machine timer just broke and will not drain water out of the washer. I am out of warranty a few months and I bought this unit because of the long history of quality. This is not a quality machine and I can't imagine the trouble I would have if I had a large family. I tried to look the machine up for parts on the Maytag site by the model number and they have removed it from the data base.

I need to know if there is a lawsuit pending for this machine. I will never shop Home Depot again for representing such a piece of poor quality merchandise. Buyer beware of Maytag and Home Depot and avoid buying from either of them because at the end of the day you are on your own waiting for bulk trash day to get rid of this. Total waste of money.

Replies
Maytag Front Load Washer Premature Bearing Failure
By -

Three years ago I purchased a Maytag MFW9600SQ1 Front load washer, along with a Maytag refrigerator and gas dryer. In Canada this washer cost $1243 including taxes. I was told by the dealer that this machine was one of Maytag's better products. This washer does approx 3 loads per week (for two people) and the tub bearing is prematurely failing. On checking the internet and with a used appliance dealer, I have found that premature bearing failure is a fairly common problem for Maytag front load washing machines. It appears that they do not use sealed bearings.

The bearing is an integral part of of the rear tub assembly and costs $550 in Canada, $350 in the US. With labor the cost of repairs is basically the cost of a new machine. A $20 bearing replacement is not an option. Though the machine is past its 1 year warranty I contacted Maytag to see if they could help in anyway! A goodwill gesture on their part could go a long way towards customer loyalty and positive word of mouth advertising. I was basically told to pound salt.

Maytag's own website states that "We know that you depend on your appliances to get the job done day in and day out. That's why we use durable and long-lasting parts in our machines... All to give you confidence that your Maytag appliance will last year after year".

What a load of crap. These front load washing machines have a lot of plastic and light duty parts in them. They are heavy only because of the concrete counterweights in them. Our previous washer was a Kenmore top loader (made by the old Inglis manufacturing) and gave us 22 years of trouble-free service. It was built like a tank. 3 years out of a Maytag?? Come on!!

I will never again purchase any Maytag or Whirlpool products and would recommend that potential customers buy from another manufacturer. Stay away from Maytag/Whirlpool products. They do not last. Please share this with anyone you know that is shopping for appliances.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Maytag Logo
Maytag Corporation Washers Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 33 ratings and
89 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Maytag Corporation
403 W 4th St N
Newton, IA 50208-3026
1-800-688-9900 (ph)
515-787-8376 (fax)
www.maytag.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies