Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Credit Cards Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Credit and Billing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HERON, MONTANTA -- I ran into a problem with my job in 2014 so I closed my Sears account and Citibank set up a payment plan to pay... $80 something per month. For the past 10 months I paid $100 or more per month on time even though my statements from Sears said the amount due was $79.99 per month.

In July of 2015, I paid $80.00 on a statement that said $79.99 was due. I promptly (within 10 days) received a letter from Citibank saying my payment arrangement agreement had been terminated and I was no longer eligible for the program. After several phone call attempts to discuss the fact that this one month I had paid the statement amount, I have been told "too bad... refer back to the letter from Citibank dated Sept 2014... you must pay the $86 or lose the arrangement".

I wanted to talk to a supervisor. They said supervisors will call you within 24 to 48 hours. They are not available when you call. 48 hours later... no call. Oddly they never said I paid too much and never put the correct amount due on the statement. I would avoid doing business with Sears and Citibank!

Replies
Advertisement
Late Fees Changed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA -- Sears credit card told my wife "No problem" and they would remove late fee that should not have been there in the first place. But they didn't. Next bill the late fee doubled because the balance was paid in full, but the previous late fee was not removed. Citibank card for Sears said they could remove one late fee but not both. Paid them the forty dollar and canceled my account. Many years a Sears customer, but no more. And I don't think they care.

Replies
Beware of Sears Credit Cards!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVERY CITY, CALIFORNIA -- To all my former Sears customers, I would like to start off this New Year with a sincere apology. I estimate that there are thousands of you. I am a very attractive and tall woman with spiky hair and beautiful green eyes. As a cancer survivor, and recently being diagnosed with other pre-cancerous conditions, I wish to make this apology. It is weighing down on my soul.

It was a job requirement and demanded by Sears for employees to sign up as many Sears credit card customers as possible on a daily basis. There was a small financial incentive to the employee that secured each new credit card – but a tremendous incentive to Sears for us to acquire each one. In fact, it was so important for Sears to sign up new credit cards, that district managers and their supervisors called every day to see what the new credit card numbers were.

Long time employees were brought to the manager's office to review their monthly credit card stats. The employee was sometimes told they must get their numbers up – credit card applications, product “protection” warranties, and merchandise replacement agreements – or be fired. Some of my co-workers were brought to tears during these one-on-one meetings.

I am sure that so many of you left Sears unaware that you had just opened a credit card because of the sneaky, manipulative way that this was done. I hope you have looked at your bill and see the way the $15 you saved (when opening the card) is now costing you 25% interest. I was also affected as a Sears customer; when Sears tried to convert me from a Sears card to a Sears Mastercard without my permission. This was supposed to be a convenience for me… what a surprise that Sears would try and get 25% interest on all my purchases outside of SEARS!

What a shame that Sears cannot make money on their products and craftsmanship that once had them as a leading retailer… back in the day. I hope by providing this information, you can decide for yourself whether you and your family should remain as Sears credit card holders.

Replies
Credit Card Screw Up
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO -- On June 29, 2013 I purchased a refrigerator from Sears. The salesman convinced me to open a Sears account to give me a discount and pay over 12 months without interest. I gave him my name, address, etc., and showed legal documentation, my driver's license, confirming my information. I received many advertisements from Sears at my address, but no bill or card. I called Sears to find out when I would receive a bill.

I finally spoke to an individual with the credit department, to whom I explained the situation. He started by asking me for my credit card number! Obviously, he was not listening to me. I again explained the issue and therefore did not have a credit card #, and he asked for my SS #. He then asked my name. When I gave him my name he proceeded to tell me that I gave a WRONG name. I confirmed that the SS # was correct, and explained that I had given my correct name. After some hinting, I realized that Sears had changed my name from my correct maiden name to the last name of my EX-husband, whom I had divorced 12 years ago.

Then I find out that a credit card with my ex-husband's last name on it was mailed to my ex-husband, at an address at which I have NEVER EVEN been to, much less lived. (Apparently, he had moved there 3-4 years after the divorce.) Oh, and by the way, there was a late fee!!!! I do not know why someone would take it upon themselves to change my correct information to incorrect information and mail a credit card, which I signed for, to a man who has not only filed bankruptcy, but had moved to evade making payments on loans and credit cards in his name.

The individual on the phone did not have a grasp as to the seriousness of the situation. He said he would remove the "late charge" and mail me another statement and card. I have yet to receive either! I then proceeded to e-mail my situation to what I thought was a Sears' complaint site. I received an e-mail saying, "Thank you for contacting Sears.com regarding your credit card. I am sorry to hear that you have not received the credit card. It's perfectly understandable that you're very upset about what's happened. I appreciate the opportunity to assist you." Again, I do not think this person read what I wrote.

WHY WAS MY NAME AND ADDRESS CHANGED WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION FROM ME? And people worry about identity theft, by criminals. I want the bill. I will pay it off. I will close my account. I will not do business with Sears again!!!!

Company Response :

Billiemarseilles,

We're truly sorry for the frustration and confusion over your Sears account. We can help get you in touch with a supervisor with CitiBank if you'd like. Please understand that our stores do not outline the credit rules and guidelines and may not have even been aware of the account details. If you'd like our assistance with CitiBank, who handles all of Sears' credit and financial matters, please send the following information – contact #, screen name (billiemarseilles), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we're sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.
Thank you,
Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Goodbye Sears
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- As per last customer's review - He will cancel out his credit card after twenty years usage. I am doing exactly that - after many years usage of Sears MasterCard to pay for an insurance policy. I was surprised to find the monthly payment had risen in an amount equal to 41% more than the actual monthly payment rates. Due to "overdue payment charges" even though all my payments for years, have been on time.

I called, was turned over to a "specialist" who refused to listen to my questions, but simply kept on talking over my remarks, demanding that I go to my bank, have them verify that the last check written (paid on time - but in this man's mind had been never been received at their end) - be certified by the bank who would have to make a certificated copy of the cancelled check which was to be sent to Sears, but would be considered unpaid until that time and I would be facing more excessive charges if new check were not received at his end before the normal due date, that I was trying to cheat Sears.

He then proceeded to read me an ominous statement telling me of the dire consequences which would occur should I chose to cancel the card. Even though he was no longer listening, but simply repeating the consequences of my actions. Over his voice, I stated that I would send them their demanded amount - even though already paid and cancel my account rather than submit to this kind of disgusting treatment.

I am 81 years old - a media coach and I still work hard at my craft - part of which calls for training of service personnel. If this man had been one of my client's employees, I would have recommended that he be terminated as he obviously was not destined to help anyone, merely play the role of terminator. The fact that he DOES hold his position, tells me that I do not want to be a part of the company who would keep such an individual on their payroll.

Replies
Beware Of Using A Credit Card
By -

TORONTO, OHIO -- On Dec. 21st, 2008 I purchased a Christmas gift. I paid by Visa. I asked for a 'gift receipt' and was told that they would have to void my transaction and put it through again if I wanted a gift receipt. I said please do that. They voided my transaction; put it through again, but, this time the sales clerk forgot to input for a gift receipt. They had to void a 2nd time and put it through the 3rd time. So at this point we have 3 sales and 2 voids.

Looking at my credit card balance (on-line) about a week later it showed 3 sales and only 1 void. I called the credit card company and they temporarily removed one of those transactions. They got in touch with Sears and told them the issue. Sears verified that those sales were correct and even sent in the sales vouchers without sending in the corresponding voids. So the temporary void I received from the credit card company has been removed.

I contacted the store and one of the supervisors went through the receipts. She verified that yes there were 3 sales and 2 voids. She asked me to bring in my credit card statement so they could verify that I had indeed been charged for the same product twice. I did this. I also brought in the documentation from the credit card company showing how Sears had supplied them with 2 sales vouchers but no voids.

Now they are saying they want my next credit card statement. I asked them to tally the receipts they sent to Visa on Dec. 21. A simple audit of that day should show they are out of balance by my exact amount. The supervisor said “I can't do that”. I'm well aware that she probably can't do it; but surely their billing department can.

I have to say this is beyond frustrating. Not only was the initial transaction a big hassle but ever since as well. I've been kept on hold, dealt with numerous people - was told to bring in my credit card statement (which I did) and that is still not enough. I assumed that this simple clerical error could be corrected easily and efficiently.... Instead it's resulted in me paying for the same outfit twice and Sears losing a long term customer.

Replies
Sears is a mess
By -

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- Against my better judgment, I recently purchased a range and dishwasher from Sears for a rental house I have. I had some bad experiences with Sears in the past, but they had the best prices on the appliances I needed, so I thought I would give them another shot. Big mistake.

They told me they would call me the night before the scheduled delivery to confirm the delivery time. By 9 pm the night before I had not heard from them, so I called. I was told that my order was still processing and was not actually on their delivery schedule for the next day. I explained that I had a confirmation email from them giving me the delivery date, but they could not tell me why the order was not scheduled properly or when it would be delivered.

I told them I wanted to cancel the entire order because I needed the appliances and could not wait for an indefinite date. The lady I spoke with told me she had cancelled the order. I asked her for a confirmation number for the cancellation, and she told me their system does not provide them, but she gave me her name and location.

I noticed a few days later that the charge was still on my credit card, so I called back and was told that the order was still processing in the system. I explained to the Sears rep that I had cancelled the order. He did not show that in the system, but told me he would cancel it and the credit should appear on my credit card within 3-5 business days.

After another 10 days, I noticed the charge was still on my card. Before I called Sears back, I contacted my credit card to open a dispute so at least I would not have to pay the charge. I then called Sears back and was told by yet another rep that the order was still in the system as processing and had never been cancelled. I explained to her that two previous people told me they had cancelled the order, and she asked me for the confirmation number. When I told her that they said the Sears system did not issue confirmation numbers, she said that was wrong.

She then cancelled the order again and gave me a cancellation number. She again told me the charge would come off my card in 3-5 days. We will see if that happens since that last phone call took place last night. It is simply unacceptable the number of calls and amount of time it took for Sears handle this properly. I have learned my lesson this time, no more Sears for me!

Replies
Getting Credit Ruined By Sears!!!
By -

MARTINSVILLE, INDIANA -- I paid off my Sears Credit Card at Kmart on July 13, 2006 (which you can do now - but I don't recommend it). It was a balance of $40, which I paid 9 days early of the due date with cash. The receipt, as I have discovered after all this, shows a different account number than the last 4 digits of my account. I thought it was done and finished and the balance should have been $0.

The following month, I received a statement saying that I had not only not paid my balance, but that now I had a $15.00 late fee added on. At this point, we just laughed and thought it was a mistake, but called the customer service number to straighten it out. I spoke with **, a supervisor, who explained that I would have to make a copy of the receipt and statement, write a letter, and send it off to Sears Payment Disputes in South Dakota. I did that, and the letter was sent August 4, 2006, requesting that matter be cleared up and our credit restored, and our credit history returned to normal - in writing.

August 15, 2006, I received a letter from Citi stating that I owed $40.00 and requesting that I pay $27.00 of that total. They also raised the rate on the card. Of course that wasn't going to happen and it was like adding insult to injury. I called again, and again, and again, and after many, many people and phone calls, they finally told me that my account was the subject of an internal investigation that would end on September 25, 2006.

I received another letter today, September 22, 2006, stating that I now owe $55.00 plus a late payment of $15.00. I called again today, and after 5 people, they finally told us that there was, in fact, no internal investigation, and that we would need to go back to Kmart and get a copy of their register receipts (hello? I already sent a copy of the original receipt). We did, and Kmart says that we need to go to a Sears store and clear it up (yeah, right). Basically, they blame each other for the mistake, but not one of them will fix it.

I'm at the end of my rope on this one. I am in the process of opening a business, but this thing is adding a serious blemish to my record. Not to mention the fact that my head is about to explode with fury at the runaround. I need help bad! This matter will NOT resolve itself, and I am just getting deeper and deeper into the BS pile. I am through trying to talk to either one of these companies. All I get is lies and blame throwing - no help whatsoever. What can I do??? Please help me!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Sears Sucks
By -

I can't believe an American company like Sears has chosen to vigorously screw their clients; I bought 4 new tires at Sears, within less than a year the tires were worn out. They would not stand behind their warranty because they said I didn't have a front end alignment. At the same time the tires were installed and didn't rotate them to their time schedule.

That's not even the screwing; I bought the tires 6 months same as cash and paid off the amount. Because I had a previous amount on the card they said that I should have requested the payment be applied to that purchase then hit me with over $700 in interest fees, for 6 months on $1000 purchase. Louie the Loan Shark doesn't charge that kind of extortion fee!!!!! Well guess what Sears/Citibank, I'm not paying you filthy scumbags one more American cent. No more Kmart no more Sears.

Replies
Sears Credit Card and their fee scams
By -

Well, I've heard all the horror stories about Sears and have to say I was skeptical of them; man, was I wrong. I just got my Sears CC bill and the only thing on there was a $39 fee for a late payment. I went back and found that I'd paid from my bank the week before the bill was due and they said that Sears accepted the electronic transfer the day they had sent it.

So, I called Sears to straighten out the misunderstanding and found that when they apply the payment is the key. They held the payment for 4 days before applying it. 4 days. Now just how is that legal? Oh, they then proceeded to blame my bank for the problem. WTF? How is my bank responsible for Sears holding my payment??? I've stopped buying anything at Sears a while back and I'll never step foot in one of their stores again. Oh, and I'm posting this on every consumer site I can find. It's the least I can do for the scumbags.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Credit Cards Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
39 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores