Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Low-Balling and Deceit on Cost of Installng a Kenmore Range
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Consumer Reports highly rated a stand-alone electric range. I went to the store to see it. The sales person, when I asked, said that the delivery/installation charge (waived if sale over x$ or on a Sears charge) included taking out my old built-in range. That evening, I showed the range to my bf online and discovered it was @ $60 cheaper with the same free installation. Over a couple of days of discussion, between my bf and I we talked or chatted with 5 Sears.com employees who confirmed that the delivery/install charge included taking out my old range. (There would be an addition charge for taking it away.)

I ordered the range. Sub-contractors delivered it on time but said they could not take out the old range and left it in my kitchen. They gave me a customer service number. Over the course of 2 hours, I called 5 phone #'s the various Sears people told me to contact, talked to 7-8 people and they were not at all helpful, saying dumb things like I hadn't paid for installation, that it wasn't included (despite my protestations that I had been told repeatedly that it was).

My bf and I finally went to the store, asked to see the manager, got the store manager. At first he said he couldn't help because Sears.com and the store were not the same company, then he informed me that the sales person who told me the removal was included was uninformed because she usually sold mattresses. Then he decided that for a $160 non-standard installation, he could arrange to have it installed. We adamantly refused to pay.

When my bf and I began talking about returning the stove to Sears.com and contesting the charge on my charge card, he decided that he would pick up that charge. First we had to agree to the $160 charge so the (more sub-contracted) installers could be scheduled but he would cancel it after the installation - he refused to put this in writing but I said I could challenge the charge after if he didn't cancel. (In fact, we were able to cancel the charge after the installation.)

When the installer called the night before, he informed me that to take out the built-in would cost about $100 more than the non-standard installation. That's when my bf and I decided we would do that ourselves, which we did before the installer arrived. So for the $160 all the installer did was shove the range into place, level it, and make sure the burners/oven worked. He took away the old range but there was a $25 charge (also credited in the "deal" with the manager) for the take away.

All in all, I would say that Sears.com and Sears stores and their customer service personnel are not up to the task of being dependable retailers anymore. Don't know how the range will work. My bf has lots of Sears shop and yard equipment and hand tools and has been satisfied BUT I intend to never buy from Sears.com again (notice also that they are a "marketplace" online and that some of the stuff they sell comes from other companies, just like Amazon) and to let people know that Sears.com in their online materials and in what their staff say do not tell the truth (or maybe they justify what they say by using some other definition for the word "install"). Whatever, be very wary!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Product and Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have spent 100's of $'s on repairs for my Kenmore Elite Dishwasher Model # 665.13963 K010. The first problem started with the dishwasher leaking around the door seal. The seal was replaced 3 times. The problem never went away. Water on the floor after every wash cycle.

We finally got Sears to send a repairman that was smart enough to know the problem was not the seal. After spending the time to adjust the door correctly, the problem went away. The next never ending issue is the cheap plastic parts. I have had two lower rack wheel sets break this week! Sears at least was smart enough to use metal on the replacement upper rack rollers. I am fast approaching parts and repair costs equal to what I paid for the dishwasher new. Terrible product!

Replies
Kenmore Elite Washer/Dryer Bad Investment
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- We purchased a Kenmore elite washer and dryer, top-of-the-line series that retail for almost $3000. It was purchased in December 2012 and in doing so we asked the salesperson if it was acceptable to hold off on delivery of that until our new home was completed approximately June or July and she indicated that it was acceptable and that I should call two weeks in advance and they will order both the washer and dryer and have it available for delivery. She indicated that should there be a model change we will receive the newest model that would be available.

As it turned out there was in fact a new model of washer and dryer and we contacted them in July to have the items delivered and the salesperson who sold them to us no longer worked for Sears. Imagine that! Upon speaking with the manager and upon speaking with the department we were told that we would get the one we ordered and that they did not know why that salesperson told us that but they would not honor her commitment.

We accepted that and they delivered the washer and dryer. As soon as was delivered, they delivered the wrong dryer that had the wrong plug and was unable to set it up. They did not have the door to the dryer reversed as was ask for and the driver told us we would have to call service to have that done

The washer that was delivered that day had a failure immediately on set up and would not pump any water into the washer tub. They replaced the washer which I commend them for doing and this time we Receiving an unbalanced error and could never wash anything without the load being unbalanced and the computer system shutting down. Sears replaced the washer again at their choosing rather than to send out a technician which they should be applauded. That unit has the exact same problem.

It took one other call to get the door adjusted on the dryer. The dryer cuts off unattended. We will put a load of close in the dryer, walk away and come back and find out that the display is blank, the power is off, and the closer sitting in their wet. The new replacement washer continues to have the same problematic issues with unbalanced load and we have a service technician scheduled to come out to look at both of them.

Prior to this we had contacted Sears and indicated that we wanted to return the Kenmore elite product and purchase either a Maytag or a Whirlpool product or at least something different if not simply give us back our money because it appears that there were problems with these units. They seem to have no problem with replacing the units because I suspect the busted once went back to the factories.

They however, would not give us our money back as they said 60 days had passed since we purchased it on I said no, we had it installed in July and it was far less than 60 days but we were told by their customer service people which I suspect with their accents were not in the United States that we purchased it in December and I indicated yes, we did purchase it in December but it was not installed until July and that we wanted to return the items and I was again told no.

We escalated it to the corporate offices in Hoffman Estates and talk to what was to have been the office of the president escalating customer service issues we were treated rudely, we were talked down to, and we were told simply sit down, shut up you have purchased the unit and were not going to replace it, were not going to return it, call service if you have a problem.

I am a long time user of Sears as my mother worked for Sears and Roebuck in the 60s when Sears is owned coincidentally with Allstate insurance. So I go back a long way both with Allstate insurance as well as with purchasing my three pairs of jeans and my five shirts that all matched from Sears so that I can head off to grade school. Sears has always stood behind their products at least until now and the last time that we purchased a product at least before this purchase was in 2000 with a washer dryer in refrigerator. Those worked flawlessly.

We now have invested a substantial amount of money and my wife has to regularly babysit the washer because we will get an unbalanced error and it will continue to fill the washer with water trying to rebounds the load and we have had some instances where the washer has run for three hours and we simply had to stop and take the wet clothes out and start over again.

We continue to have the problem with the dryer where it simply turns off on its own and unless we babysit it we will end up having three hours gone by and wet close sitting in a dryer that has no power no display and is not working. My judgment is that Sears does not care and since they were purchased by Kmart, their attitude is that every consumer is dumb, ignorant, and they are doing them a favor to give them something from their stores.

I must say, this is the worst experience I've ever had with a product or a service in my life and the people that I dealt within the Hoffman Estates escalation department should be fired and they should rehire people and train them on at least how to be respectful. I am open to have my mind to change but those are the facts and that is where it stands right now.

Company Response :

Trobert66,
We truly apologize for the frustrating experience you have encountered with your appliances and the lack of customer service you have received. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. We can truly understand how important it is to have a working washer/dryer and we would like to provide you with some available options that may assist in correcting the problems you are experiencing. We have received your contact information and one of our case managers will be contacting you to address your concerns. . Again, we're sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Kenmore
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OHIO -- In 2006 we did an $85,000 renovation of our kitchen and chose to use all Kenmore Pro appliances. Our kitchen won NARI remodeling awards in northeast Ohio after its completion. Unfortunately, choosing Kenmore appliances has turned out to be a nightmare and that is an understatement. Shortly after installation the problems began.

We have had our dishwasher fixed approximately six times for leaking. If my memory serves me right we had it fixed three times in one year. As I write this today the dishwasher is leaking all over the kitchen. The Sears technicians have replaced the door seal multiple times and it obviously still leaks. We have paid repeatedly for subsequent repairs because Sears will only stand behind their repair 90 days, if at all. Even if it has been fixed five times for the same problem if the sixth event happens on day 91 Sears employs the “gotcha” and we have to pay again.

I contacted a chat agent at Sears today. They told me to fix it myself by going to managemylife.com! They would be happy to send another technician and charge me again but other than that I have been told to fix it myself. The agent then went on to say that Sears appreciates my business. That is not true. In addition to the dishwasher problems we just had our Kenmore Pro refrigerator “serviced” because the inside rusted. Yes, you read that right, a Pro refrigerator rusted on the inside. The technician said it was defective workmanship but since it is no longer covered by warranty I have to pay for it.

Now we have our freezer scheduled for repair on Friday 8/9/13. We think the technician did something to the freezer when he repaired the refrigerator but do not anticipate Sears owning up to that. Additionally, the numbers for the heat settings on our cooktop knobs all wore off. My wife used a Sharpie to write the numbers back on because Sears said it is normal wear and tear and that replacement knobs will cost us $50 each. That is a nice addition to an $85,000 kitchen. A dream kitchen that in reality is a nightmare kitchen. Buyer beware. Sears will not stand behind their products. It is not the same company it once was.

Update: Sears sent me an email in regard to this post. They offered to "assist" with another repair of the dishwasher. "Assist" means they will offer me a discount on parts. Unreal. Insulting. Why would I pay any amount of money to have the dishwasher "fixed" again? Their technicians have not been able to fix it and they are now suggesting I should buy parts. If I don't laugh I will cry.

Alternatively they offered a discount on a new Kenmore dishwasher. Again, this makes no sense. Given their track record why would I purchase another Kenmore dishwasher? That is nuts. They have proven repeatedly that they don't stand behind their products. However, they repeatedly say they value my business. They value an unending stream of revenue for repairs that are the result of poor quality. They don't care that their substandard appliances are an Amityville horror for the homeowner. Message to Sears: Divest of Kmart and not loyal customers.

Company Response :

Ejraudins,
My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalation Team. I came across your post and wanted to express our apologies for the difficulties you have experienced with your dishwasher repair. At Sears, we pride ourselves on making sure our valued customers are satisfied with our products and services and it appears we have not met that goal here. If you would allow us the opportunity, we would very much like to connect you with a dedicated case manager to further discuss your experience and see what can be done to restore your faith in Sears. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that I have assigned to reference your post (ejraudins), to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you and look forward to speaking with you.

Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Oasis HE Kenmore Elite Washer - Awful Machine!
By -

3333 BEVERLY RD., HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- We purchased an Oasis HE Kenmore Elite Washer from our local Sears store in 2006. At the time of our purchase we also purchased the extended warranty for both the washer and matching dryer. We had done loads of homework prior to our purchase and were convinced that this was the pair that would meet our needs.

Over the past several years we have had service calls for both the washer and dryer. I unfortunately did not call as often as I should have called for service as I am not a complainer and just try to make things work even if not all parts are doing as needed. The final straw concerning our washer happen on June 21, 2011. The washer did its normal beeping noises and my son said, "Mom your washer is at it again". So I tried to make magic happen once again and force the machine to complete the load of laundry but my efforts did not work.

So reluctantly I called Sears service at 1-800-469-4663, to my amazement they were able to offer service on the following day. I was sure that luck was with us on this issue with the washer and we would be back-up and running in no time. My son arranged to be off work so that he could meet the service man sometime between 1:00 and 4:00. The service technician did come to the house around 1:30 and supposedly replaced the defective part (the washer's brain) and assured my son that the washer was as good as new. When he called to report the news I was thrilled and looked forward to getting my laundry caught-up as soon as I got home after 6:00 pm.

I started a load of whites (bleach added of course) and thought all was good until the dreaded beeping sounds started again. I tried my magic yet again but nothing worked. I immediately called Sears service to request that the technician return to correct the issue. After several calls, request to speak with a manager, more calls to Sears's service and messages left for a manager I was still out of luck until Wednesday, June 29th.

Please remember that I have good white clothes sitting in bleach in a washer that will not work that was serviced and pronounce good as new. I also want to mention that the Sears Manager has yet to call me back. Not good Customer Service. I was also hung-up on during one of my calls. I never used profanity or even got nasty. I was only insistent that I needed help.

On Thursday, June 23rd I called Sears Service yet again and still got lots of run around from everyone. I spoke with a gentleman named Gerald at 9:03 am in the complaints escalation department. I repeatedly asked to speak with a manager but he said, "A manager cannot do any more than I have done" he refused my request. He finally gave me the address for the corporate office but refused to give me a number. He stated that there was no number to give me. This is funny as I looked one up on the internet while I was on the phone with him. Lied too again!

I then proceeded to call the corporate number and talked with **. Her number is **. Please call and ask to hear the taped conversation. You will find it very interesting. I was informed that a washer is not an essential appliance and I would have to wait. She did offer however to force a new service time of Monday, June 27th. Still no one is willing to own my problem of poor service and washer that will not work. My husband and I discussed the issue and finally decided that a new washer was our only option. We purchased a new washer from Lowe's on Thursday, June 23rd. I have washed multiple loads and am now finally caught-up on my laundry.

My next concern is that when my husband and son removed the Kenmore Elite Oasis HE washer that was pronounced "good as new" only the day before from our home it literally fell apart. I have pictures that I will attach (unable to attach my pictures). Please email me and I will be happy to send them your way. I am appalled at how we have been treated as once loyal Sears Customers. My home is full of all Sears sold appliances and has been for more than 25 years. I am no longer able to give my hard earned dollars to Sears! What a sad day.

Replies
Do Not Trust Sears Ads or Phone Sales People, You Will Be Sorry.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

CLAWSON, MICHIGAN -- Today I had the unpleasant misfortune of purchasing a water heater from Sears. On the website, they ask you to take a photo of your existing water heater, and to provide the model number along with your phone number and email address. There is a 5% discount for doing this online. They were supposed to get back to me within 20 minutes. Several hours later, I decided to call the number I found for Sears and order it over the phone.

After talking with a sales representative the total amount was supposed to be $840.47, while in the process of completing the order I received an email response from the original site I posted. Their price was $818.20... after telling the phone representative of the difference she was able to give me the price from the online quote. She proceeded to complete the order, she was polite and nice. After getting my credit information, she told me she had to read me a long list of potential items. Remember, I have already given her my credit card information. I listened to what she said. Later in the day I got a call from the installer to set up a time frame, once he got here.

I was told there would be an additional $230 charge to switch from a 3 inch vent to a 4 inch vent. Sears had the photo I sent and was aware that, the vent would have to be changed and that an additional expense was needed, however they did not mention this to me. I called them again, frustrated and angry of course, they told me there was nothing they could do about the price. My energy company DTE could have installed a similar water heater for $795 out the door costs, no add ons. I have been a loyal Sears customer for a long time... I can no longer say that.

Company Response :

Ronlives,
We thank for taking the time to let us know about this situation regarding your water heater purchase. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team. We would be happy to connect you with one of our dedicated case managers to contact you and address your concerns. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (ronlives), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you and look forward to speaking with you.
Thank you,

Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Terrible Online Purchasing and Even WORSE Customer Service!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONLINE, NEW YORK -- I was trying to make an online purchase from 11:30am until 5pm. I contacted multiple people in customer service, customer relations, and customer service in the executive office. They had technical difficulties online and changed their original prices of a washer and dryer I was trying to purchase. I was trying to purchase a washer and dryer online from 11:30am-5pm!

The price online stated it was $549.99 and the delivery, installation, and services charges are free. I added some installation accessories to the total along with the haul away fee. When the computer refreshed the total... the price went up to $599.98 and the delivery and service fees were both $69.99. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make sure to check your totals and any tricky additional fees they are adding online, especially when making an expensive purchase. I spoke with customer service, customer relations, and the executive office.

They were extremely unhelpful, and only offered me the price of the washer and dryer for the $599.98 price along with the $69.99 delivery fee for WAITING and speaking on the phone with them for 5 and 1/2 HOURS! This is the worst customer service I have EVER had to experience. They had technical difficulties, could not assist me, did not even address the issue that it was THEIR FAULT.

They are showing the INCORRECT prices online and were not willing to grant me the original price of what was up on the screen. I even offered to take a screen shot of my screen to show them that I was not lying and to email or fax it to them and they said it was not necessary. After that entire experience, I will NEVER purchase ANY type of product nor do I recommend others to purchase anything.

I would much rather pay more money to receive customer service and products the correct way, and if there is a mistake on your part, I suggest the company fixes it instead of saying there are technical difficulties and adding on prices to the total at the end. Overall terrible experience with their online department and customer service. I am taking my business elsewhere and appalled by the long wait and extremely terrible customer service.

Company Response :

Karina_t89,

I saw your post today and wanted to reach out to you. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. We are sorry for the troubles you have encountered with your online order. We see that you have been working with one of our case managers and would be happy to forward this post to your case manager for attention. If you have any questions or concerns, please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that you have been assigned to reference your post (karina_t89), to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced.

Thank you,

Liz R
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Appliances Not Built To Last
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT -- Growing up my moms appliances lasted longer than she was willing to keep them. 10 years and then she wanted to upgrade to a newer model. Sell the old one in the Yankee flier. She never bought extended warranties. If something broke, call the local repair guy. My last Kenmore Elite Washing machine failed a bit after the warranty expired (of course).

Sears tried to sell me another extended warranty when I called to report it failed until I told them what was wrong and then said, if I pay Sears to repair it, they would be willing to sell me another extended warranty after I paid for the repair. Well, that wasn't exactly what I expected to hear after my expensive Washing Machine failed after a couple years. So I went with a local repairman and he couldn't fix it.

So I called another with over 20 yrs experience in my area. He couldn't accurately diagnose or fix the problem either even though he had the technical skill and the error codes etc. After buying nearly 350 dollars in parts and paying over a hundred dollars in labor fees, nothing working and only next step was to try replacing another part that Sears charged 472.00 for.

After losing all that money and going through two licensed experienced repairmen, I had to buy a new one. I asked the technician if he might be able to contact the manufacturer for some product or troubleshooting support. He said if it was a Whirlpool or any other brand yes but not Sears. They will not provide any product support because they want all the repair business on their machines.

Well, I am out a lot of money and called Sears to advise that part I spent 289 dollars on didn't repair problem... they said can't return and would not offer any product support to explain why the part didn't work when the error code F 70 indicated problem with control board/switch. Hell, if it was the part that was faulty and you have to install to see if it works but can't return if it doesn't, that is a Win lose in the manufactures favor.

When you spend a lot of money on an appliance, you expect it will last and if by chance it breaks, that you will be able to hire whoever you choose to fix it. Not the case. Sears doesn't stand behind their products, they don't care about customer satisfaction, they want to sell products that don't last so they can keep making money on the warranties, parts, and repairs. Think of Kenmore appliances as disposable and save yourself some money.

Don't fall for all the gimmicks... pretty colors, electronic features you don't need, and false promises that come with big price tags. Buying fancy and paying more won't get you a longer lasting product. Buy the cheapest, skip the warranties, and buy a new one when it breaks!!!

Company Response :

Hello, cdean68 Thank you for posting about your experience with your washer repair. My name is Mina and I am a member of the Sears Cares Social Media Support Team. We can see how important it is with the quality expectations are met and it is clearly that we failed. We're sorry with the multiple repairs and control board installed has not resolved your issue. We have received your contact information. If you have any questions or concerns, please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as your screen name to reference this post (cdean68), to smadvisor@searshc.com. We look forward to speaking with you soon to discuss this matter. Thank you, Mina H. Social Media Moderator Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
No Delivery, No Installation.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAPLACE, LOUISIANA -- On Aug 2, 2013 we purchased a Kenmore dishwasher for 549.99. We were offered and paid for the install 139.99 and haul away 10.00. We were told that it would be delivered and installed on Aug 7. On Aug 6 Sears called and said the installer was booked and could not make it until Aug 14 between 8:00 am and 12 noon. On Aug 13 the installer called and confirmed everything was good to go on the 14th.

On Aug 14 (I take a day off work) at 9:30 am the installer called and said he would be there at 10:00 am. At 10:00 am the installer called and said the store doesn't have the dishwasher and it was on backorder till Aug 26. After hearing this we call the store and they say they have it there with our name on it. They say that due to where we live the dishwasher should have been sent to another store (I live 15 minutes in each direction from a Sears store) and that we can come get it. I tell them I paid for delivery and installation and this is not my problem, they knew where I lived when I gave them my money.

On Aug 16 Sears customer service calls and says they are going to make this right and asked when did we want it delivered and installed, we tell them since we were out of town we would get back and would like it delivered and installed on the 19th after noon. They said we would get a call from the installer on the 18th to confirm, never did get a call. Aug 19th no one showed up.

We call customer service AGAIN, and were promised they would make it right, they tried to call the installer but got no answer. They told me I would receive a call the next day. Well here it is Aug 20 8:30 pm and I haven't heard from anyone, nor do I have what I paid for. This is not the first bad experience we have had with Sears but it will be my last. I will never but anything from Sears again, and I will do my best to see that everyone I know never buys from them also!! Buyer beware!

Company Response :

Johgonor,
My name is Liz and I am with the Sears Cares escalations team. We are terribly sorry for the mishaps you have been experienced with your dishwasher installation. We can truly understand how important it is to have your dishwasher installed in a timely manner. From your post we can see that we certainly have let you down and would like to offer some assistance. We would like the opportunity to speak with you to address your concerns. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that you have been assigned to reference your post (johngonor), to smadvisor@searshc.com. We look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you,

Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Sears Won't Honor Lifetime Warranty on Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OCEANSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- *Please note my UPDATE above indicating successful resolution to this problem. Sears replaced my tub and swapped out all parts from my old tub to the new one at ABSOLUTELY NO CHARGE to me! Many thanks for the assistance from California Department of Consumer Affairs within the California Attorney General Office which helped me force Sears to honor their warranty. Here is my complaint concerning my Kenmore Ultra Wash Dishwasher, Model No. 665.16039400, Serial No. FR4704571, purchased 01/08/2005.

The tub developed a small crack and leak on the inside where a screw on the outside of the tub attaches a metal bracket to the tub. This leak allowed water to accumulate on the floor under the dishwasher, eventually soaking and ruining the toe kick portion of one of our kitchen cabinets. My owner's manual shows the dishwasher tub has a FULL (not limited) WARRANTY for the life of the dishwasher against leaks. The owner's manual states the following:

"FULL WARRANTY FOR THE LIFE OF THE DISHWASHER, ON ULTRA LIFE TUB MODELS, AGAINST LEAKS IN THE TUB AND INNER DOOR PANEL. For the life of the dishwasher, if a leak should occur as a result of failure of the polypropylene tub or inner door panel due to cracking, chipping or peeling, Sears will replace free of charge the tub or inner door panel."

I called the Sears 1-800-4-MY HOME customer service department and talked to two representatives. The first told me that the dishwasher was only covered by a one year warranty. I explained to her that my owner'€™s manual stated the dishwasher had a lifetime warranty on the tub. After checking with her manager, I was told that if the tub is defective, they will replace it for a $129 charge. This charge is for the Technician Service Call to diagnose the problem.

At first, I scheduled a technician, but called back immediately after hanging up because I was confused. I wanted to know if the $129 service charge would be waived when the technician verifies the tub is defective and under warranty. The second representative also said the $129 service charge would apply even if the tub is under warranty. Since I was not satisfied, I canceled the service call. I then went to my local Sears store where I bought the dishwasher and talked to the appliance manager. He could not help me, but did give me the 1-800-549-4505 corporate number to discuss the problem.

I called this corporate number and talked to a representative. She again told me that the $129 service fee would apply. Again, I tried to explain that the tub had a full lifetime warranty, so she put me on hold to check. While on hold for an extended period, I was hung up on.

So I called back again (now a fourth time) and talked to another representative. She understood my problem and frustration, and looked up the warranty information on my dishwasher. She verified that the tub was covered with a lifetime warranty. When I asked why I would be charged $129 for a service fee, she tried to explain to me that the PARTS were covered by the warranty, but the LABOR was not. She said the $129 service fee was a flat rate labor fee to install the free parts.

At this point I became quite frustrated and explained to her that she was incorrect. I quoted the actual FULL (not limited) WARRANTY language (a copy of which she had in front of her), stressing that it said "€œSears will replace FREE OF CHARGE the tub or inner door panel"€. She insisted that this was "œpoorly worded"€ and that it only covered PARTS, not LABOR. I disagreed and told her that this is a legal contract AS WRITTEN for a FULL (not limited) WARRANTY between the manufacturer and the customer. As such, it is not limited to parts only. I also told her that nowhere in the tub warranty paragraph does it stipulate ONLY PARTS, NOT LABOR is covered.

She sympathized with me, but said "€œmy hands are tied"€. She said she could only offer a technician to replace the tub for a flat $129 labor fee regardless if it took 30 minutes or 30 hours to fix. Realizing I was getting no satisfaction, I asked to speak to a manager that could offer me something that would be beneficial to both of us. She responded that she was a supervisor and has the ability to authorize action, and there was no higher authority.

My response was that she was not offering any solution different from what the other customer service representatives were offering. She then provided the contact information to me for the Executive Customer Relations department. So I wrote a letter, took pictures, scanned the owner's manual, and emailed all of this to the Customer Solutions Department at Sears Holdings Executive Customer Relations Department at the following email address: shc@customerservice. Sears.com

The first email response I received said the dishwasher was not under warranty. So I replied that they were wrong, and stated that their own customer service representatives on 3 occasions had verified that the dishwasher was under warranty.

Their second email response to me said they verified that the dishwasher did have an "exceptional parts" warranty, but that a technician would be required to examine the dishwasher and the claim to verify that it is covered by the warranty. The email also said that Labor would not be included for this service. I responded again and said this was a FULL LIFETIME WARRANTY, and as such Parts and Labor should be included. There was no response to this.

At present, the dishwasher has been out of service for over 2 weeks, and I have heard nothing back from Sears Holding. So I forwarded this complaint to the California Department of Consumer Affairs, and the Illinois Attorney General Consumer Fraud Bureau for their investigation and assistance. In the meantime, I am posting this to various online consumer protection websites to share my negative experience with Sears, and to declare that I will never purchase another Sears branded product ever again.

Resolution Update 04/14/2012:

UPDATE -Success via CA Attorney General 4/9/2012

On 3/14/2012, since I live in CA, I entered my complaint with the California Department of Consumer Affairs, which is a department within the California Attorney General Office. I also sent a copy to the Illinois Attorney General Office, since Sears HQ is in Illinois. On 3/15/2012, the CA Dept of Consumer Affairs sent me a letter saying they were investigating the complaint and asked me to send additional information. On 3/27/2012 I emailed them a copy of my original complaint letter I wrote to Sears (similar to this complaint I documented here), plus copies of my emails back and forth with Sears, plus a scanned copy of my warranty and original purchase receipt.

On 3/29/2012, I received a call from Sears. A customer service representative told me that the CA Attorney General Office had sent my complaint to the Sears Legal Office. The Sears Legal Office then instructed the customer service department to contact me to offer to replace my leaking dishwasher tub "free of charge". This customer service rep was VERY accommodating and offered to send a technician the next day to inspect my dishwasher so the proper parts could be ordered. Since Sears was now willing to honor their warranty, I scheduled the technician.

On 3/30/2012, the technician arrived and immediately opened the dishwasher and knew exactly where to look for the leak. He then pulled up his pc, found the parts, and ordered a new tub. When I asked him if he had ever seen this problem before, he said yes and showed me a service bulletin on his pc from the manufacturer that documented my issue EXACTLY, and how to correct it. The root cause was an improperly designed heating element for this machine. My machine has a somewhat rectangular heating element that runs essentially around the bottom perimeter of the tub, where as the redesign has a smaller round heating element that only runs around the center drain console. The technician said the problem is the heating element weakened the plastic tub where the support bracket is screwed into the tub, causing a crack to develop over time. The technician said that the heating element is used to heat the water for washing and rinsing, as well as to dry the dishes, so even though we never used the heated dry, the tub still failed.

The parts were ordered, and a second technician scheduled to do the repair. I received the parts and the technician arrived on 4/9/2012 and worked on the dishwasher for about 2 hours. Everything seems to be working fine. I ended up needing a new tub which included a new heating element, and a new door seal. All this was provided to me under warranty at "No Charge". All other parts were swapped from my old tub to the new one.

I am sharing this so that others might consider contacting your State Attorney General Office when all other attempts to work with the manufacturer fail, and you feel that your legal warranty is not being honored. This also shows the value in keeping your owners manual, warranty, and original purchase receipt.

One last note. I had to sign a receipt for the work done. On the receipt the labor cost was $147, and the retail parts cost was $424.70, for a total of $571.70. Even if the wholesale cost of the parts were only 1/2 what the retail cost is, the cost to Sears is over $350. In my original complaint letter to Sears, I suggested that they provide me a $200 voucher towards the purchase of the new dishwasher at Sears, provided it was not a Sears branded model. My reasoning is that a dishwasher should last at least 10 years, and since mine was 7 years old, I thought a 30% prorated discount was fair. A new dishwasher with similar features retails for about $600-700, so 30% works out to about a $200 discount. But Sears never took me up on my offer, even though one customer service rep and one of the technicians said they have done this before, even up to as much as $500. So I guess Sears just wanted to pay more money than was needed to throw away a loyal customer. No wonder Sears Holdings is in financial difficulty. So sad what an iconic American brand has sunk to.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 66 ratings and
233 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Department Stores