Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Refrigerator Warranty and Repair Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Bought a Sears Kenmore Elite 18 months ago, warranty was over after 12 months. Freezer stopped working. Followed the instructions in the manual about calling their number for trouble shooting. They have a system in the fridge where it will send signals to their computer by your phone giving any problems the fridge is having.

Naturally being over the warranty they would not help me, so I made a repair appointment. They gave me a 1pm to 5pm window 4 or 5 days later. Waited till 4 and then checked online. They changed the window till 545 and 745. At 6 I called and cancelled. Online they give you your phone number if there is problem, but good luck if you get a call. Lousy fridge, bad customer service and lousy repair custom service.

Replies
Advertisement
Kenmore Elite (LG) Fridge Broken
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

YORKTOWN, VIRGINIA -- Fridge is 2 years old. Was told no warranty so called a local repairman. He told me bad compressor and it is covered for 10 years. Called Sears back and had to wait 8 days for technician. Was promised he would have part to fix fridge. Sears just lies and passes the buck. Without Fridge for another 3-4 weeks. Will never buy Kenmore or LG again. Terrible customer service and product.

Replies
Low-Balling and Deceit on Cost of Installng a Kenmore Range
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Consumer Reports highly rated a stand-alone electric range. I went to the store to see it. The sales person, when I asked, said that the delivery/installation charge (waived if sale over x$ or on a Sears charge) included taking out my old built-in range. That evening, I showed the range to my bf online and discovered it was @ $60 cheaper with the same free installation. Over a couple of days of discussion, between my bf and I we talked or chatted with 5 Sears.com employees who confirmed that the delivery/install charge included taking out my old range. (There would be an addition charge for taking it away.)

I ordered the range. Sub-contractors delivered it on time but said they could not take out the old range and left it in my kitchen. They gave me a customer service number. Over the course of 2 hours, I called 5 phone #'s the various Sears people told me to contact, talked to 7-8 people and they were not at all helpful, saying dumb things like I hadn't paid for installation, that it wasn't included (despite my protestations that I had been told repeatedly that it was).

My bf and I finally went to the store, asked to see the manager, got the store manager. At first he said he couldn't help because Sears.com and the store were not the same company, then he informed me that the sales person who told me the removal was included was uninformed because she usually sold mattresses. Then he decided that for a $160 non-standard installation, he could arrange to have it installed. We adamantly refused to pay.

When my bf and I began talking about returning the stove to Sears.com and contesting the charge on my charge card, he decided that he would pick up that charge. First we had to agree to the $160 charge so the (more sub-contracted) installers could be scheduled but he would cancel it after the installation - he refused to put this in writing but I said I could challenge the charge after if he didn't cancel. (In fact, we were able to cancel the charge after the installation.)

When the installer called the night before, he informed me that to take out the built-in would cost about $100 more than the non-standard installation. That's when my bf and I decided we would do that ourselves, which we did before the installer arrived. So for the $160 all the installer did was shove the range into place, level it, and make sure the burners/oven worked. He took away the old range but there was a $25 charge (also credited in the "deal" with the manager) for the take away.

All in all, I would say that Sears.com and Sears stores and their customer service personnel are not up to the task of being dependable retailers anymore. Don't know how the range will work. My bf has lots of Sears shop and yard equipment and hand tools and has been satisfied BUT I intend to never buy from Sears.com again (notice also that they are a "marketplace" online and that some of the stuff they sell comes from other companies, just like Amazon) and to let people know that Sears.com in their online materials and in what their staff say do not tell the truth (or maybe they justify what they say by using some other definition for the word "install"). Whatever, be very wary!!!

Replies
Oasis HE Kenmore Elite Washer - Awful Machine!
By -

3333 BEVERLY RD., HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- We purchased an Oasis HE Kenmore Elite Washer from our local Sears store in 2006. At the time of our purchase we also purchased the extended warranty for both the washer and matching dryer. We had done loads of homework prior to our purchase and were convinced that this was the pair that would meet our needs.

Over the past several years we have had service calls for both the washer and dryer. I unfortunately did not call as often as I should have called for service as I am not a complainer and just try to make things work even if not all parts are doing as needed. The final straw concerning our washer happen on June 21, 2011. The washer did its normal beeping noises and my son said, "Mom your washer is at it again". So I tried to make magic happen once again and force the machine to complete the load of laundry but my efforts did not work.

So reluctantly I called Sears service at 1-800-469-4663, to my amazement they were able to offer service on the following day. I was sure that luck was with us on this issue with the washer and we would be back-up and running in no time. My son arranged to be off work so that he could meet the service man sometime between 1:00 and 4:00. The service technician did come to the house around 1:30 and supposedly replaced the defective part (the washer's brain) and assured my son that the washer was as good as new. When he called to report the news I was thrilled and looked forward to getting my laundry caught-up as soon as I got home after 6:00 pm.

I started a load of whites (bleach added of course) and thought all was good until the dreaded beeping sounds started again. I tried my magic yet again but nothing worked. I immediately called Sears service to request that the technician return to correct the issue. After several calls, request to speak with a manager, more calls to Sears's service and messages left for a manager I was still out of luck until Wednesday, June 29th.

Please remember that I have good white clothes sitting in bleach in a washer that will not work that was serviced and pronounce good as new. I also want to mention that the Sears Manager has yet to call me back. Not good Customer Service. I was also hung-up on during one of my calls. I never used profanity or even got nasty. I was only insistent that I needed help.

On Thursday, June 23rd I called Sears Service yet again and still got lots of run around from everyone. I spoke with a gentleman named Gerald at 9:03 am in the complaints escalation department. I repeatedly asked to speak with a manager but he said, "A manager cannot do any more than I have done" he refused my request. He finally gave me the address for the corporate office but refused to give me a number. He stated that there was no number to give me. This is funny as I looked one up on the internet while I was on the phone with him. Lied too again!

I then proceeded to call the corporate number and talked with **. Her number is **. Please call and ask to hear the taped conversation. You will find it very interesting. I was informed that a washer is not an essential appliance and I would have to wait. She did offer however to force a new service time of Monday, June 27th. Still no one is willing to own my problem of poor service and washer that will not work. My husband and I discussed the issue and finally decided that a new washer was our only option. We purchased a new washer from Lowe's on Thursday, June 23rd. I have washed multiple loads and am now finally caught-up on my laundry.

My next concern is that when my husband and son removed the Kenmore Elite Oasis HE washer that was pronounced "good as new" only the day before from our home it literally fell apart. I have pictures that I will attach (unable to attach my pictures). Please email me and I will be happy to send them your way. I am appalled at how we have been treated as once loyal Sears Customers. My home is full of all Sears sold appliances and has been for more than 25 years. I am no longer able to give my hard earned dollars to Sears! What a sad day.

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Trust Sears Ads or Phone Sales People, You Will Be Sorry.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

CLAWSON, MICHIGAN -- Today I had the unpleasant misfortune of purchasing a water heater from Sears. On the website, they ask you to take a photo of your existing water heater, and to provide the model number along with your phone number and email address. There is a 5% discount for doing this online. They were supposed to get back to me within 20 minutes. Several hours later, I decided to call the number I found for Sears and order it over the phone.

After talking with a sales representative the total amount was supposed to be $840.47, while in the process of completing the order I received an email response from the original site I posted. Their price was $818.20... after telling the phone representative of the difference she was able to give me the price from the online quote. She proceeded to complete the order, she was polite and nice. After getting my credit information, she told me she had to read me a long list of potential items. Remember, I have already given her my credit card information. I listened to what she said. Later in the day I got a call from the installer to set up a time frame, once he got here.

I was told there would be an additional $230 charge to switch from a 3 inch vent to a 4 inch vent. Sears had the photo I sent and was aware that, the vent would have to be changed and that an additional expense was needed, however they did not mention this to me. I called them again, frustrated and angry of course, they told me there was nothing they could do about the price. My energy company DTE could have installed a similar water heater for $795 out the door costs, no add ons. I have been a loyal Sears customer for a long time... I can no longer say that.

Company Response :

Ronlives,
We thank for taking the time to let us know about this situation regarding your water heater purchase. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team. We would be happy to connect you with one of our dedicated case managers to contact you and address your concerns. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (ronlives), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you and look forward to speaking with you.
Thank you,

Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Sears Won't Honor Lifetime Warranty on Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OCEANSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- *Please note my UPDATE above indicating successful resolution to this problem. Sears replaced my tub and swapped out all parts from my old tub to the new one at ABSOLUTELY NO CHARGE to me! Many thanks for the assistance from California Department of Consumer Affairs within the California Attorney General Office which helped me force Sears to honor their warranty. Here is my complaint concerning my Kenmore Ultra Wash Dishwasher, Model No. 665.16039400, Serial No. FR4704571, purchased 01/08/2005.

The tub developed a small crack and leak on the inside where a screw on the outside of the tub attaches a metal bracket to the tub. This leak allowed water to accumulate on the floor under the dishwasher, eventually soaking and ruining the toe kick portion of one of our kitchen cabinets. My owner's manual shows the dishwasher tub has a FULL (not limited) WARRANTY for the life of the dishwasher against leaks. The owner's manual states the following:

"FULL WARRANTY FOR THE LIFE OF THE DISHWASHER, ON ULTRA LIFE TUB MODELS, AGAINST LEAKS IN THE TUB AND INNER DOOR PANEL. For the life of the dishwasher, if a leak should occur as a result of failure of the polypropylene tub or inner door panel due to cracking, chipping or peeling, Sears will replace free of charge the tub or inner door panel."

I called the Sears 1-800-4-MY HOME customer service department and talked to two representatives. The first told me that the dishwasher was only covered by a one year warranty. I explained to her that my owner'€™s manual stated the dishwasher had a lifetime warranty on the tub. After checking with her manager, I was told that if the tub is defective, they will replace it for a $129 charge. This charge is for the Technician Service Call to diagnose the problem.

At first, I scheduled a technician, but called back immediately after hanging up because I was confused. I wanted to know if the $129 service charge would be waived when the technician verifies the tub is defective and under warranty. The second representative also said the $129 service charge would apply even if the tub is under warranty. Since I was not satisfied, I canceled the service call. I then went to my local Sears store where I bought the dishwasher and talked to the appliance manager. He could not help me, but did give me the 1-800-549-4505 corporate number to discuss the problem.

I called this corporate number and talked to a representative. She again told me that the $129 service fee would apply. Again, I tried to explain that the tub had a full lifetime warranty, so she put me on hold to check. While on hold for an extended period, I was hung up on.

So I called back again (now a fourth time) and talked to another representative. She understood my problem and frustration, and looked up the warranty information on my dishwasher. She verified that the tub was covered with a lifetime warranty. When I asked why I would be charged $129 for a service fee, she tried to explain to me that the PARTS were covered by the warranty, but the LABOR was not. She said the $129 service fee was a flat rate labor fee to install the free parts.

At this point I became quite frustrated and explained to her that she was incorrect. I quoted the actual FULL (not limited) WARRANTY language (a copy of which she had in front of her), stressing that it said "€œSears will replace FREE OF CHARGE the tub or inner door panel"€. She insisted that this was "œpoorly worded"€ and that it only covered PARTS, not LABOR. I disagreed and told her that this is a legal contract AS WRITTEN for a FULL (not limited) WARRANTY between the manufacturer and the customer. As such, it is not limited to parts only. I also told her that nowhere in the tub warranty paragraph does it stipulate ONLY PARTS, NOT LABOR is covered.

She sympathized with me, but said "€œmy hands are tied"€. She said she could only offer a technician to replace the tub for a flat $129 labor fee regardless if it took 30 minutes or 30 hours to fix. Realizing I was getting no satisfaction, I asked to speak to a manager that could offer me something that would be beneficial to both of us. She responded that she was a supervisor and has the ability to authorize action, and there was no higher authority.

My response was that she was not offering any solution different from what the other customer service representatives were offering. She then provided the contact information to me for the Executive Customer Relations department. So I wrote a letter, took pictures, scanned the owner's manual, and emailed all of this to the Customer Solutions Department at Sears Holdings Executive Customer Relations Department at the following email address: shc@customerservice. Sears.com

The first email response I received said the dishwasher was not under warranty. So I replied that they were wrong, and stated that their own customer service representatives on 3 occasions had verified that the dishwasher was under warranty.

Their second email response to me said they verified that the dishwasher did have an "exceptional parts" warranty, but that a technician would be required to examine the dishwasher and the claim to verify that it is covered by the warranty. The email also said that Labor would not be included for this service. I responded again and said this was a FULL LIFETIME WARRANTY, and as such Parts and Labor should be included. There was no response to this.

At present, the dishwasher has been out of service for over 2 weeks, and I have heard nothing back from Sears Holding. So I forwarded this complaint to the California Department of Consumer Affairs, and the Illinois Attorney General Consumer Fraud Bureau for their investigation and assistance. In the meantime, I am posting this to various online consumer protection websites to share my negative experience with Sears, and to declare that I will never purchase another Sears branded product ever again.

Resolution Update 04/14/2012:

UPDATE -Success via CA Attorney General 4/9/2012

On 3/14/2012, since I live in CA, I entered my complaint with the California Department of Consumer Affairs, which is a department within the California Attorney General Office. I also sent a copy to the Illinois Attorney General Office, since Sears HQ is in Illinois. On 3/15/2012, the CA Dept of Consumer Affairs sent me a letter saying they were investigating the complaint and asked me to send additional information. On 3/27/2012 I emailed them a copy of my original complaint letter I wrote to Sears (similar to this complaint I documented here), plus copies of my emails back and forth with Sears, plus a scanned copy of my warranty and original purchase receipt.

On 3/29/2012, I received a call from Sears. A customer service representative told me that the CA Attorney General Office had sent my complaint to the Sears Legal Office. The Sears Legal Office then instructed the customer service department to contact me to offer to replace my leaking dishwasher tub "free of charge". This customer service rep was VERY accommodating and offered to send a technician the next day to inspect my dishwasher so the proper parts could be ordered. Since Sears was now willing to honor their warranty, I scheduled the technician.

On 3/30/2012, the technician arrived and immediately opened the dishwasher and knew exactly where to look for the leak. He then pulled up his pc, found the parts, and ordered a new tub. When I asked him if he had ever seen this problem before, he said yes and showed me a service bulletin on his pc from the manufacturer that documented my issue EXACTLY, and how to correct it. The root cause was an improperly designed heating element for this machine. My machine has a somewhat rectangular heating element that runs essentially around the bottom perimeter of the tub, where as the redesign has a smaller round heating element that only runs around the center drain console. The technician said the problem is the heating element weakened the plastic tub where the support bracket is screwed into the tub, causing a crack to develop over time. The technician said that the heating element is used to heat the water for washing and rinsing, as well as to dry the dishes, so even though we never used the heated dry, the tub still failed.

The parts were ordered, and a second technician scheduled to do the repair. I received the parts and the technician arrived on 4/9/2012 and worked on the dishwasher for about 2 hours. Everything seems to be working fine. I ended up needing a new tub which included a new heating element, and a new door seal. All this was provided to me under warranty at "No Charge". All other parts were swapped from my old tub to the new one.

I am sharing this so that others might consider contacting your State Attorney General Office when all other attempts to work with the manufacturer fail, and you feel that your legal warranty is not being honored. This also shows the value in keeping your owners manual, warranty, and original purchase receipt.

One last note. I had to sign a receipt for the work done. On the receipt the labor cost was $147, and the retail parts cost was $424.70, for a total of $571.70. Even if the wholesale cost of the parts were only 1/2 what the retail cost is, the cost to Sears is over $350. In my original complaint letter to Sears, I suggested that they provide me a $200 voucher towards the purchase of the new dishwasher at Sears, provided it was not a Sears branded model. My reasoning is that a dishwasher should last at least 10 years, and since mine was 7 years old, I thought a 30% prorated discount was fair. A new dishwasher with similar features retails for about $600-700, so 30% works out to about a $200 discount. But Sears never took me up on my offer, even though one customer service rep and one of the technicians said they have done this before, even up to as much as $500. So I guess Sears just wanted to pay more money than was needed to throw away a loyal customer. No wonder Sears Holdings is in financial difficulty. So sad what an iconic American brand has sunk to.

Replies
Terrible Product and Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have spent 100's of $'s on repairs for my Kenmore Elite Dishwasher Model # 665.13963 K010. The first problem started with the dishwasher leaking around the door seal. The seal was replaced 3 times. The problem never went away. Water on the floor after every wash cycle.

We finally got Sears to send a repairman that was smart enough to know the problem was not the seal. After spending the time to adjust the door correctly, the problem went away. The next never ending issue is the cheap plastic parts. I have had two lower rack wheel sets break this week! Sears at least was smart enough to use metal on the replacement upper rack rollers. I am fast approaching parts and repair costs equal to what I paid for the dishwasher new. Terrible product!

Replies
24 Days to Repair a Kenmore Elite Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA -- My Kenmore Elite refrigerator started having trouble maintaining temperatures. It was just over 2 1/2 years old. I called for service and it took 10 days to get them out for the first call. The service technician determined it was a bad compressor and order the parts which arrived 3 days later. But Sears won't send out a technician to install it for another 12 days. Assuming it gets repaired then it will have taken 24 days from the time I called to fix a 2 1/2 year old, $3000+ Kenmore "Elite" refrigerator. Good news: covered by warranty. Bad news: Compressor goes out in <3 years, service takes forever and I have to deal with food out of a cooler for a month.

Replies
Advertisement
Kenmore Elite Dishwasher - Junk as Is Their Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- Purchased Dec 27, 2013. Paid top $. Worked for 32 days. Then had to wait a week for them to send parts (come on, Amazon can get anything on my doorstep overnight). Worked for another month. Broken again. Parts back ordered. 3:45 into 4 hour appt window for repair, and they call to say they are not coming. Finally fixed (if you believe that, I have a bridge) and it did not make it through its first wash cycle. At this point, I just want my money back so I can go somewhere else. Less than 4 months old, under warranty, and only worked 75% of the time.

Company Response 06/29/2014:

Eric,
Our records show you worked with one of our member experience managers about this issue in April and we just want to double check that your Kenmore Elite issues have been resolved and that you're completely stratified with the process. Thanks.

Replies
Re: Exchange of Kenmore Fridge for Similar Waterpool
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BLAISDEL, NEW YORK -- Bought new Kenmore top mount fridge 10/ 24/ 2013, delivered promptly with no issues, installed. After a few days, I didn't like the drawer space, shelf spacing just wasn't right for me, and the thing ran loudly, and still does. I asked for an exchange within the timeframe, and my salesperson said it would be fine, so I chose a Waterpool 9821 549. The sales representative gave me a # to call, so I did. They gave me a 2 week timeframe. So I waited patiently.I went back to the Sears store to talk to the representative whom I purchased the thing to find out a delivery date, because the 800 number couldn't help. This was in November.

Again I went to the store in December. No help. January, no help. Any phone calls went out of state, (India?). So, here in February they promised delivery of the replacement fridge today, but because of 'weather' they had to reschedule for another 2 weeks! After I cleaned it out, moved all my items in preparation, had the driveway plowed, made ready in anticipation, they canceled delivery.

So, I canceled my order completely. I called the floor manager and said, "Please Cancel delivery, order of exchange, Now! Cancel." I'll keep the noisy one, continue to shove veggies into the small drawers, and shop elsewhere. They lost a good customer. I'll shop elsewhere. I'll donate this lemon to Goodwill.

Company Response :

lois.scherman,
We're sorry that your recent purchase experience has not met expectations. My name is David with our Sears Social Media Support team. I can understand your frustration regarding the exchange and if you would like, we would be happy to have a case manager contact you directly to discuss your experience and assist in addressing any concerns you may have. If you would like to discuss this situation further, please send the following information to smadvisor@searshc.com – contact number and phone number used at time of purchase. Also please provide this screen name (lois.scherman) for reference to this issue.
Thanks,
David W.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 68 ratings and
235 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Department Stores