Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
No Delivery, No Installation.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAPLACE, LOUISIANA -- On Aug 2, 2013 we purchased a Kenmore dishwasher for 549.99. We were offered and paid for the install 139.99 and haul away 10.00. We were told that it would be delivered and installed on Aug 7. On Aug 6 Sears called and said the installer was booked and could not make it until Aug 14 between 8:00 am and 12 noon. On Aug 13 the installer called and confirmed everything was good to go on the 14th.

On Aug 14 (I take a day off work) at 9:30 am the installer called and said he would be there at 10:00 am. At 10:00 am the installer called and said the store doesn't have the dishwasher and it was on backorder till Aug 26. After hearing this we call the store and they say they have it there with our name on it. They say that due to where we live the dishwasher should have been sent to another store (I live 15 minutes in each direction from a Sears store) and that we can come get it. I tell them I paid for delivery and installation and this is not my problem, they knew where I lived when I gave them my money.

On Aug 16 Sears customer service calls and says they are going to make this right and asked when did we want it delivered and installed, we tell them since we were out of town we would get back and would like it delivered and installed on the 19th after noon. They said we would get a call from the installer on the 18th to confirm, never did get a call. Aug 19th no one showed up.

We call customer service AGAIN, and were promised they would make it right, they tried to call the installer but got no answer. They told me I would receive a call the next day. Well here it is Aug 20 8:30 pm and I haven't heard from anyone, nor do I have what I paid for. This is not the first bad experience we have had with Sears but it will be my last. I will never but anything from Sears again, and I will do my best to see that everyone I know never buys from them also!! Buyer beware!

Company Response :

Johgonor,
My name is Liz and I am with the Sears Cares escalations team. We are terribly sorry for the mishaps you have been experienced with your dishwasher installation. We can truly understand how important it is to have your dishwasher installed in a timely manner. From your post we can see that we certainly have let you down and would like to offer some assistance. We would like the opportunity to speak with you to address your concerns. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that you have been assigned to reference your post (johngonor), to smadvisor@searshc.com. We look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you,

Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Sears Kenmore the Worst Refrigerator and Service Anyone Could Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NOVI, MICHIGAN -- I bought a refrigerator and it had to be replaced due to it being received damaged and had to wait a week for the replacement. I've owned the appliance for 1 year and it is the absolute worst appliance I have ever purchased. I have had 4 service calls within one year, not including the first one to replace the damaged unit that was delivered. I have had to completely toss out 2 full refrigerators worth of food due to everything freezing in the refrigeration section of the unit.

The LED board continues to claim that the water filter needs to be replaced (I changed it twice in one month) before I figured out that the issue was not the filter, but the computer board was not correct. Yesterday everything on the top shelf was frozen again tossed out everything on the top shelf, then today my kitchen and basement were flooded when I came home due to another malfunction with this appliance. I had to completely turn off the water in the house to get the leak to stop as it appears the technician who connected the water line put in a faulty gate valve so the water cannot just be shut down to the fridge.

I then proceeded to waste 3 hours of my life that I will never get back (I was on hold for 55 minutes only to be told by service that my appointment could not be moved forward). I tried to get a service technician scheduled to fix the multiple problems only to be informed that I had to wait 2 weeks (I did pony up over $500 dollars for a 5 year extended warranty and service agreement).

This has been the absolute worst service experience I have ever had on a big ticket item ever. I also purchased a matching dishwasher and oven/range and I asked that Sears get these worthless appliances out of my home. Only to be told I could return them but will be charged a 15% restocking fee and pick up fee for returning the appliances. Plus I had to wait another 30 minutes on hold while they set up a date to come get these appliances. The date was less than 48 hours from the time of my call. I found it equally dissatisfying that they could arrange to come get the appliances in under 48 hours, but it would take 2 weeks for a repair.

Do not buy appliances from Sears if you are looking for ones that work and a service team that will respond in a timely manner. The worst buying experience ever. No wonder Sears is struggling if this is the best they can provide for quality and service.

Company Response :

Pknnichols,

We're terribly sorry for the troubles you have been experiencing with your fridge. It sounds like you've been having a very frustrating time trying to deal with these issues. We would like the opportunity to discuss this situation and assist in any way we can. If you would like to discuss this situation further, please send the following information – contact #, screen name (pknnichols), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we're sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

David W.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Sears Has Bad Customer Service and Their Technicians Don't Know What They Are Doing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VAUGHAN - ON, CANADA -- Sears customer service and their technicians suck. Try to avoid purchasing appliances from them. My Kenmore washer which I purchased 5 years ago suddenly stopped working. We called Sears Customer Service and booked us a technician to come and see what the problem was. A week after the technician came to our house and after he checked the washer, told us that there are 3 parts which need to be replaced and if we decide to fix the washer, these parts would be covered by the manufacturer warranty, but we still had to pay for labour costs plus the diagnostic fee of $85.00.

So he ordered the parts, which we had to wait for another week to come. After the week goes by, he came back and as he started to work on the washer, noticed that one of the parts he ordered was missing. It turns out we had to wait another week for that part to come.

So after another week without washer (with 2 kids at home and another one on the way any day now) he came back with the missing part. Starts to work on the washer, puts everything apart and suddenly this time noticed that this time the spinning basket he ordered wasn't the right size. So now every single part of the washer is laying down on the basement floor and he says: "I am leaving, there is nothing I can do, call Customer Service and complaint to them for not sending the right part."

I call Customer Service that same day, being very upset and disappointed and after 30 min of putting me on hold, the guy tells me they are investigating why was the part sent the wrong size and they have to contact the manufacturer to find out if they still have this part on stock or they don't make it anymore as according to them, it's an old model washer. But he assured me that it will take maybe a few more days, no more than that. A few hours later my husband called them and they told him a different story. They ordered the part but we have to wait another 3 weeks.

Replies
Installation Error takes 3 years to be resolved!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BELLEVUE, WASHINGTON -- I am writing to let you know, that finally after almost 3 years a Sears Technician came to my home and confirmed what I had been saying to Sears all along... That the last Techs that came to replace the Washer that was broken by the previous tech who turned it upside to install the pedestal, would not listen to me when I told them that my plumbing in the laundry room was set up backwards - Hot on the Cold side and Cold on the Hot side. No, they told me over and over, that they knew what they were doing, and that these new high tech machines have a built-in sensor that would over-ride something like that.

So for the past 3 years I have had to do my laundry by trying to reverse cycles!! I have had to reset each load to a cold wash just to get a cold rinse!! BUT... No matter how many calls I made to Sears, your Service Techs reminded me over and over, that they know what they are doing, that it wasn't possible that the hoses were switched, and if they were, the automatic sensor would kick in and over-ride it!? WRONG!!!

So, after being forced to pay $308.76 to set up a Basic Protection Agreement (there was supposed to be a 5 yr one that was purchased originally with the Samsung W/D that I bought, that wound up defective and then not replaceable, so Sears made me return them instead of doing an exchange, and then re-purchase another pair of Kenmore Elites... But much later told me that the 5 yr Extended Warranties weren't transferable, so I didn't have anything but the basic Manufacturers Warranty on them!?), I requested repeatedly to just have them send someone out to switch the water hoses...

But was refused for the past 3 years, saying what I was complaining about couldn't be possible, and that without a Extended Warranty, they would have to charge me $150 for a service call!? Finally I broke down and paid for the 1 yr Basic Protection Agreement, waited the 30 days for it to become effective, and then was told that they didn't cover any type of maintenance call!? So unless I had a repair issue, they wouldn't cover anyone coming out!? THIS IS RIDICULOUS!! Today the Tech came out, set up his diagnostics, asked me how long this has been going on - I told him since the 3 time the Techs came out to replace the original machine...

Replies
Advertisement
Avoid Sears Kenmore Elite Refrigerator
By -

DANVERS -- We bought a Kenmore Elite Refrigerator about 6 months ago and have had a total of 4 service calls to date to try to fix the ice making components. Each time they sent a new mother board and replaced and each time it has failed. The latest service call and motherboard replacement was yesterday and the next day (today) discovered that both the refrigerator and freezer did not hold its temperature causing us to throw away all of our food. We have scheduled another service call for this Friday (they could not do it earlier). Do not buy this product. Nothing but problems since the start. Avoid, Avoid!!

Replies
Sears Won't Honor Lifetime Warranty on Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OCEANSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- *Please note my UPDATE above indicating successful resolution to this problem. Sears replaced my tub and swapped out all parts from my old tub to the new one at ABSOLUTELY NO CHARGE to me! Many thanks for the assistance from California Department of Consumer Affairs within the California Attorney General Office which helped me force Sears to honor their warranty. Here is my complaint concerning my Kenmore Ultra Wash Dishwasher, Model No. 665.16039400, Serial No. FR4704571, purchased 01/08/2005.

The tub developed a small crack and leak on the inside where a screw on the outside of the tub attaches a metal bracket to the tub. This leak allowed water to accumulate on the floor under the dishwasher, eventually soaking and ruining the toe kick portion of one of our kitchen cabinets. My owner's manual shows the dishwasher tub has a FULL (not limited) WARRANTY for the life of the dishwasher against leaks. The owner's manual states the following:

"FULL WARRANTY FOR THE LIFE OF THE DISHWASHER, ON ULTRA LIFE TUB MODELS, AGAINST LEAKS IN THE TUB AND INNER DOOR PANEL. For the life of the dishwasher, if a leak should occur as a result of failure of the polypropylene tub or inner door panel due to cracking, chipping or peeling, Sears will replace free of charge the tub or inner door panel."

I called the Sears 1-800-4-MY HOME customer service department and talked to two representatives. The first told me that the dishwasher was only covered by a one year warranty. I explained to her that my owner'€™s manual stated the dishwasher had a lifetime warranty on the tub. After checking with her manager, I was told that if the tub is defective, they will replace it for a $129 charge. This charge is for the Technician Service Call to diagnose the problem.

At first, I scheduled a technician, but called back immediately after hanging up because I was confused. I wanted to know if the $129 service charge would be waived when the technician verifies the tub is defective and under warranty. The second representative also said the $129 service charge would apply even if the tub is under warranty. Since I was not satisfied, I canceled the service call. I then went to my local Sears store where I bought the dishwasher and talked to the appliance manager. He could not help me, but did give me the 1-800-549-4505 corporate number to discuss the problem.

I called this corporate number and talked to a representative. She again told me that the $129 service fee would apply. Again, I tried to explain that the tub had a full lifetime warranty, so she put me on hold to check. While on hold for an extended period, I was hung up on.

So I called back again (now a fourth time) and talked to another representative. She understood my problem and frustration, and looked up the warranty information on my dishwasher. She verified that the tub was covered with a lifetime warranty. When I asked why I would be charged $129 for a service fee, she tried to explain to me that the PARTS were covered by the warranty, but the LABOR was not. She said the $129 service fee was a flat rate labor fee to install the free parts.

At this point I became quite frustrated and explained to her that she was incorrect. I quoted the actual FULL (not limited) WARRANTY language (a copy of which she had in front of her), stressing that it said "€œSears will replace FREE OF CHARGE the tub or inner door panel"€. She insisted that this was "œpoorly worded"€ and that it only covered PARTS, not LABOR. I disagreed and told her that this is a legal contract AS WRITTEN for a FULL (not limited) WARRANTY between the manufacturer and the customer. As such, it is not limited to parts only. I also told her that no where in the tub warranty paragraph does it stipulate ONLY PARTS, NOT LABOR is covered.

She sympathized with me, but said "€œmy hands are tied"€. She said she could only offer a technician to replace the tub for a flat $129 labor fee regardless if it took 30 minutes or 30 hours to fix. Realizing I was getting no satisfaction, I asked to speak to a manager that could offer me something that would be beneficial to both of us. She responded that she was a supervisor and has the ability to authorize action, and there was no higher authority.

My response was that she was not offering any solution different from what the other customer service representatives were offering. She then provided the contact information to me for the Executive Customer Relations department. So I wrote a letter, took pictures, scanned the owner's manual, and emailed all of this to the Customer Solutions Department at Sears Holdings Executive Customer Relations Department at the following email address: shc@customerservice. Sears.com

The first email response I received said the dishwasher was not under warranty. So I replied that they were wrong, and stated that their own customer service representatives on 3 occasions had verified that the dishwasher was under warranty.

Their second email response to me said they verified that the dishwasher did have an "exceptional parts" warranty, but that a technician would be required to examine the dishwasher and the claim to verify that it is covered by the warranty. The email also said that Labor would not be included for this service. I responded again and said this was a FULL LIFETIME WARRANTY, and as such Parts and Labor should be included. There was no response to this.

At present, the dishwasher has been out of service for over 2 weeks, and I have heard nothing back from Sears Holding. So I forwarded this complaint to the California Department of Consumer Affairs, and the Illinois Attorney General Consumer Fraud Bureau for their investigation and assistance. In the meantime, I am posting this to various online consumer protection websites to share my negative experience with Sears, and to declare that I will never purchase another Sears branded product ever again.

Resolution Update 04/14/2012:

UPDATE -Success via CA Attorney General 4/9/2012

On 3/14/2012, since I live in CA, I entered my complaint with the California Department of Consumer Affairs, which is a department within the California Attorney General Office. I also sent a copy to the Illinois Attorney General Office, since Sears HQ is in Illinois. On 3/15/2012, the CA Dept of Consumer Affairs sent me a letter saying they were investigating the complaint and asked me to send additional information. On 3/27/2012 I emailed them a copy of my original complaint letter I wrote to Sears (similar to this complaint I documented here), plus copies of my emails back and forth with Sears, plus a scanned copy of my warranty and original purchase receipt.

On 3/29/2012, I received a call from Sears. A customer service representative told me that the CA Attorney General Office had sent my complaint to the Sears Legal Office. The Sears Legal Office then instructed the customer service department to contact me to offer to replace my leaking dishwasher tub "free of charge". This customer service rep was VERY accommodating and offered to send a technician the next day to inspect my dishwasher so the proper parts could be ordered. Since Sears was now willing to honor their warranty, I scheduled the technician.

On 3/30/2012, the technician arrived and immediately opened the dishwasher and knew exactly where to look for the leak. He then pulled up his pc, found the parts, and ordered a new tub. When I asked him if he had ever seen this problem before, he said yes and showed me a service bulletin on his pc from the manufacturer that documented my issue EXACTLY, and how to correct it. The root cause was an improperly designed heating element for this machine. My machine has a somewhat rectangular heating element that runs essentially around the bottom perimeter of the tub, where as the redesign has a smaller round heating element that only runs around the center drain console. The technician said the problem is the heating element weakened the plastic tub where the support bracket is screwed into the tub, causing a crack to develop over time. The technician said that the heating element is used to heat the water for washing and rinsing, as well as to dry the dishes, so even though we never used the heated dry, the tub still failed.

The parts were ordered, and a second technician scheduled to do the repair. I received the parts and the technician arrived on 4/9/2012 and worked on the dishwasher for about 2 hours. Everything seems to be working fine. I ended up needing a new tub which included a new heating element, and a new door seal. All this was provided to me under warranty at "No Charge". All other parts were swapped from my old tub to the new one.

I am sharing this so that others might consider contacting your State Attorney General Office when all other attempts to work with the manufacturer fail, and you feel that your legal warranty is not being honored. This also shows the value in keeping your owners manual, warranty, and original purchase receipt.

One last note. I had to sign a receipt for the work done. On the receipt the labor cost was $147, and the retail parts cost was $424.70, for a total of $571.70. Even if the wholesale cost of the parts were only 1/2 what the retail cost is, the cost to Sears is over $350. In my original complaint letter to Sears, I suggested that they provide me a $200 voucher towards the purchase of the new dishwasher at Sears, provided it was not a Sears branded model. My reasoning is that a dishwasher should last at least 10 years, and since mine was 7 years old, I thought a 30% prorated discount was fair. A new dishwasher with similar features retails for about $600-700, so 30% works out to about a $200 discount. But Sears never took me up on my offer, even though one customer service rep and one of the technicians said they have done this before, even up to as much as $500. So I guess Sears just wanted to pay more money than was needed to throw away a loyal customer. No wonder Sears Holdings is in financial difficulty. So sad what an iconic American brand has sunk to.

Replies
Kenmore Elite Dishwasher - Junk as Is Their Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- Purchased Dec 27, 2013. Paid top $. Worked for 32 days. Then had to wait a week for them to send parts (come on, Amazon can get anything on my doorstep overnight). Worked for another month. Broken again. Parts back ordered. 3:45 into 4 hour appt window for repair, and they call to say they are not coming. Finally fixed (if you believe that, I have a bridge) and it did not make it through its first wash cycle. At this point, I just want my money back so I can go somewhere else. Less than 4 months old, under warranty, and only worked 75% of the time.

Company Response 06/29/2014:

Eric,
Our records show you worked with one of our member experience managers about this issue in April and we just want to double check that your Kenmore Elite issues have been resolved and that you're completely stratified with the process. Thanks.

Replies
Re: Exchange of Kenmore Fridge for Similar Waterpool
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BLAISDEL, NEW YORK -- Bought new Kenmore top mount fridge 10/ 24/ 2013, delivered promptly with no issues, installed. After a few days, I didn't like the drawer space, shelf spacing just wasn't right for me, and the thing ran loudly, and still does. I asked for an exchange within the timeframe, and my salesperson said it would be fine, so I chose a Waterpool 9821 549. The sales representative gave me a # to call, so I did. They gave me a 2 week timeframe. So I waited patiently.I went back to the Sears store to talk to the representative whom I purchased the thing to find out a delivery date, because the 800 number couldn't help. This was in November.

Again I went to the store in December. No help. January, no help. Any phone calls went out of state, (India?). So, here in February they promised delivery of the replacement fridge today, but because of 'weather' they had to reschedule for another 2 weeks! After I cleaned it out, moved all my items in preparation, had the driveway plowed, made ready in anticipation, they canceled delivery.

So, I canceled my order completely. I called the floor manager and said, "Please Cancel delivery, order of exchange, Now! Cancel." I'll keep the noisy one, continue to shove veggies into the small drawers, and shop elsewhere. They lost a good customer. I'll shop elsewhere. I'll donate this lemon to Goodwill.

Company Response :

lois.scherman,
We're sorry that your recent purchase experience has not met expectations. My name is David with our Sears Social Media Support team. I can understand your frustration regarding the exchange and if you would like, we would be happy to have a case manager contact you directly to discuss your experience and assist in addressing any concerns you may have. If you would like to discuss this situation further, please send the following information to smadvisor@searshc.com – contact number and phone number used at time of purchase. Also please provide this screen name (lois.scherman) for reference to this issue.
Thanks,
David W.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Experience with Kenmore Range Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA -- Worst experience with a Kenmore Oven/Range ever. It lasted 12 ½ months and then cost us $300 to have a Sears guy fix it. Remember when Kenmore and Sears meant quality? Not anymore. What a joke. It was less than 30 days after the original guarantee expired. A $1,000 Kenmore range last one year before it needs a major repair. I will never shop them again and suggest you stay away as well. Too many bad reviews that I should have read before I purchased this nightmare called Kenmore.

The best thing I can say about them is that they are consistent, as the service was just as undependable as their product. One last thing: I have never posted a negative review for any company before in my life, but this is more than unacceptable.

Company Response :

Hi davgar09,

Thank you for taking time to post about your Kenmore range/oven repair needs. We understand having had the unit for just a little over one year when it began to have functional failures is discouraging and upsetting. We do appreciate your business and would like to address your concerns. My name is Brian and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. I am taking this time to offer our assistance. We would like to put you in contact with a case manager who will research any available repair options to satisfy this need. Please send the following information – your contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name (davgar09), to reference your post to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, thank you for taking time to post about your appliance repair and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Brian R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Repairs on My New Kenmore Elite Washing Machine
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- I called for a repair on my Kenmore Elite washing machine and was told that the next appointment would be a month from now. My washing machine is two months old and the inlet valve needs replacing. I think that a month is a long time to wait for a repair on a new machine. Maybe Sears needs to hire more service employees so that customers don't have to wait for repairs.

So I have to wait until someone orders the part and then fits me in, a month from now, maybe. What if the part is delayed? Maybe it will be two months on a new washer. That is bad business. I was a good customer of Sears and did not believe the bad reviews, now I understand. Sears can't keep their good customers and will never get new ones with such bad reviews. I will never purchase another Sears appliance and that is a shame because I just picked out the refrigerator I was buying next month. Too bad.

Company Response :

Hi donna3447,

We appreciate your post providing feedback of your experiences while trying to set repair service for your Kenmore Elite washing machine. What you have described clearly explains your level of frustration and disappointment. We have always made our best efforts to provide quality products and superior member services and we can see how we have let you down. My name is Brian and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we do appreciate your business and to this end we would like to offer our assistance. At your earliest convenience, please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name (donna3447), to reference your post to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, thank you for taking time to bring your washer repair issues to our attention; we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,
Brian R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 67 ratings and
237 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores