Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Sears Kenmore the Worst Refrigerator and Service Anyone Could Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NOVI, MICHIGAN -- I bought a refrigerator and it had to be replaced due to it being received damaged and had to wait a week for the replacement. I've owned the appliance for 1 year and it is the absolute worst appliance I have ever purchased. I have had 4 service calls within one year, not including the first one to replace the damaged unit that was delivered. I have had to completely toss out 2 full refrigerators worth of food due to everything freezing in the refrigeration section of the unit.

The LED board continues to claim that the water filter needs to be replaced (I changed it twice in one month) before I figured out that the issue was not the filter, but the computer board was not correct. Yesterday everything on the top shelf was frozen again tossed out everything on the top shelf, then today my kitchen and basement were flooded when I came home due to another malfunction with this appliance. I had to completely turn off the water in the house to get the leak to stop as it appears the technician who connected the water line put in a faulty gate valve so the water cannot just be shut down to the fridge.

I then proceeded to waste 3 hours of my life that I will never get back (I was on hold for 55 minutes only to be told by service that my appointment could not be moved forward). I tried to get a service technician scheduled to fix the multiple problems only to be informed that I had to wait 2 weeks (I did pony up over $500 dollars for a 5 year extended warranty and service agreement).

This has been the absolute worst service experience I have ever had on a big ticket item ever. I also purchased a matching dishwasher and oven/range and I asked that Sears get these worthless appliances out of my home. Only to be told I could return them but will be charged a 15% restocking fee and pick up fee for returning the appliances. Plus I had to wait another 30 minutes on hold while they set up a date to come get these appliances. The date was less than 48 hours from the time of my call. I found it equally dissatisfying that they could arrange to come get the appliances in under 48 hours, but it would take 2 weeks for a repair.

Do not buy appliances from Sears if you are looking for ones that work and a service team that will respond in a timely manner. The worst buying experience ever. No wonder Sears is struggling if this is the best they can provide for quality and service.

Company Response :

Pknnichols,

We're terribly sorry for the troubles you have been experiencing with your fridge. It sounds like you've been having a very frustrating time trying to deal with these issues. We would like the opportunity to discuss this situation and assist in any way we can. If you would like to discuss this situation further, please send the following information – contact #, screen name (pknnichols), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we're sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

David W.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Sears Won't Honor Lifetime Warranty on Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OCEANSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- *Please note my UPDATE above indicating successful resolution to this problem. Sears replaced my tub and swapped out all parts from my old tub to the new one at ABSOLUTELY NO CHARGE to me! Many thanks for the assistance from California Department of Consumer Affairs within the California Attorney General Office which helped me force Sears to honor their warranty. Here is my complaint concerning my Kenmore Ultra Wash Dishwasher, Model No. 665.16039400, Serial No. FR4704571, purchased 01/08/2005.

The tub developed a small crack and leak on the inside where a screw on the outside of the tub attaches a metal bracket to the tub. This leak allowed water to accumulate on the floor under the dishwasher, eventually soaking and ruining the toe kick portion of one of our kitchen cabinets. My owner's manual shows the dishwasher tub has a FULL (not limited) WARRANTY for the life of the dishwasher against leaks. The owner's manual states the following:

"FULL WARRANTY FOR THE LIFE OF THE DISHWASHER, ON ULTRA LIFE TUB MODELS, AGAINST LEAKS IN THE TUB AND INNER DOOR PANEL. For the life of the dishwasher, if a leak should occur as a result of failure of the polypropylene tub or inner door panel due to cracking, chipping or peeling, Sears will replace free of charge the tub or inner door panel."

I called the Sears 1-800-4-MY HOME customer service department and talked to two representatives. The first told me that the dishwasher was only covered by a one year warranty. I explained to her that my owner'€™s manual stated the dishwasher had a lifetime warranty on the tub. After checking with her manager, I was told that if the tub is defective, they will replace it for a $129 charge. This charge is for the Technician Service Call to diagnose the problem.

At first, I scheduled a technician, but called back immediately after hanging up because I was confused. I wanted to know if the $129 service charge would be waived when the technician verifies the tub is defective and under warranty. The second representative also said the $129 service charge would apply even if the tub is under warranty. Since I was not satisfied, I canceled the service call. I then went to my local Sears store where I bought the dishwasher and talked to the appliance manager. He could not help me, but did give me the 1-800-549-4505 corporate number to discuss the problem.

I called this corporate number and talked to a representative. She again told me that the $129 service fee would apply. Again, I tried to explain that the tub had a full lifetime warranty, so she put me on hold to check. While on hold for an extended period, I was hung up on.

So I called back again (now a fourth time) and talked to another representative. She understood my problem and frustration, and looked up the warranty information on my dishwasher. She verified that the tub was covered with a lifetime warranty. When I asked why I would be charged $129 for a service fee, she tried to explain to me that the PARTS were covered by the warranty, but the LABOR was not. She said the $129 service fee was a flat rate labor fee to install the free parts.

At this point I became quite frustrated and explained to her that she was incorrect. I quoted the actual FULL (not limited) WARRANTY language (a copy of which she had in front of her), stressing that it said "€œSears will replace FREE OF CHARGE the tub or inner door panel"€. She insisted that this was "œpoorly worded"€ and that it only covered PARTS, not LABOR. I disagreed and told her that this is a legal contract AS WRITTEN for a FULL (not limited) WARRANTY between the manufacturer and the customer. As such, it is not limited to parts only. I also told her that nowhere in the tub warranty paragraph does it stipulate ONLY PARTS, NOT LABOR is covered.

She sympathized with me, but said "€œmy hands are tied"€. She said she could only offer a technician to replace the tub for a flat $129 labor fee regardless if it took 30 minutes or 30 hours to fix. Realizing I was getting no satisfaction, I asked to speak to a manager that could offer me something that would be beneficial to both of us. She responded that she was a supervisor and has the ability to authorize action, and there was no higher authority.

My response was that she was not offering any solution different from what the other customer service representatives were offering. She then provided the contact information to me for the Executive Customer Relations department. So I wrote a letter, took pictures, scanned the owner's manual, and emailed all of this to the Customer Solutions Department at Sears Holdings Executive Customer Relations Department at the following email address: shc@customerservice. Sears.com

The first email response I received said the dishwasher was not under warranty. So I replied that they were wrong, and stated that their own customer service representatives on 3 occasions had verified that the dishwasher was under warranty.

Their second email response to me said they verified that the dishwasher did have an "exceptional parts" warranty, but that a technician would be required to examine the dishwasher and the claim to verify that it is covered by the warranty. The email also said that Labor would not be included for this service. I responded again and said this was a FULL LIFETIME WARRANTY, and as such Parts and Labor should be included. There was no response to this.

At present, the dishwasher has been out of service for over 2 weeks, and I have heard nothing back from Sears Holding. So I forwarded this complaint to the California Department of Consumer Affairs, and the Illinois Attorney General Consumer Fraud Bureau for their investigation and assistance. In the meantime, I am posting this to various online consumer protection websites to share my negative experience with Sears, and to declare that I will never purchase another Sears branded product ever again.

Resolution Update 04/14/2012:

UPDATE -Success via CA Attorney General 4/9/2012

On 3/14/2012, since I live in CA, I entered my complaint with the California Department of Consumer Affairs, which is a department within the California Attorney General Office. I also sent a copy to the Illinois Attorney General Office, since Sears HQ is in Illinois. On 3/15/2012, the CA Dept of Consumer Affairs sent me a letter saying they were investigating the complaint and asked me to send additional information. On 3/27/2012 I emailed them a copy of my original complaint letter I wrote to Sears (similar to this complaint I documented here), plus copies of my emails back and forth with Sears, plus a scanned copy of my warranty and original purchase receipt.

On 3/29/2012, I received a call from Sears. A customer service representative told me that the CA Attorney General Office had sent my complaint to the Sears Legal Office. The Sears Legal Office then instructed the customer service department to contact me to offer to replace my leaking dishwasher tub "free of charge". This customer service rep was VERY accommodating and offered to send a technician the next day to inspect my dishwasher so the proper parts could be ordered. Since Sears was now willing to honor their warranty, I scheduled the technician.

On 3/30/2012, the technician arrived and immediately opened the dishwasher and knew exactly where to look for the leak. He then pulled up his pc, found the parts, and ordered a new tub. When I asked him if he had ever seen this problem before, he said yes and showed me a service bulletin on his pc from the manufacturer that documented my issue EXACTLY, and how to correct it. The root cause was an improperly designed heating element for this machine. My machine has a somewhat rectangular heating element that runs essentially around the bottom perimeter of the tub, where as the redesign has a smaller round heating element that only runs around the center drain console. The technician said the problem is the heating element weakened the plastic tub where the support bracket is screwed into the tub, causing a crack to develop over time. The technician said that the heating element is used to heat the water for washing and rinsing, as well as to dry the dishes, so even though we never used the heated dry, the tub still failed.

The parts were ordered, and a second technician scheduled to do the repair. I received the parts and the technician arrived on 4/9/2012 and worked on the dishwasher for about 2 hours. Everything seems to be working fine. I ended up needing a new tub which included a new heating element, and a new door seal. All this was provided to me under warranty at "No Charge". All other parts were swapped from my old tub to the new one.

I am sharing this so that others might consider contacting your State Attorney General Office when all other attempts to work with the manufacturer fail, and you feel that your legal warranty is not being honored. This also shows the value in keeping your owners manual, warranty, and original purchase receipt.

One last note. I had to sign a receipt for the work done. On the receipt the labor cost was $147, and the retail parts cost was $424.70, for a total of $571.70. Even if the wholesale cost of the parts were only 1/2 what the retail cost is, the cost to Sears is over $350. In my original complaint letter to Sears, I suggested that they provide me a $200 voucher towards the purchase of the new dishwasher at Sears, provided it was not a Sears branded model. My reasoning is that a dishwasher should last at least 10 years, and since mine was 7 years old, I thought a 30% prorated discount was fair. A new dishwasher with similar features retails for about $600-700, so 30% works out to about a $200 discount. But Sears never took me up on my offer, even though one customer service rep and one of the technicians said they have done this before, even up to as much as $500. So I guess Sears just wanted to pay more money than was needed to throw away a loyal customer. No wonder Sears Holdings is in financial difficulty. So sad what an iconic American brand has sunk to.

Replies
Kenmore Elite Dishwasher - Junk as Is Their Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- Purchased Dec 27, 2013. Paid top $. Worked for 32 days. Then had to wait a week for them to send parts (come on, Amazon can get anything on my doorstep overnight). Worked for another month. Broken again. Parts back ordered. 3:45 into 4 hour appt window for repair, and they call to say they are not coming. Finally fixed (if you believe that, I have a bridge) and it did not make it through its first wash cycle. At this point, I just want my money back so I can go somewhere else. Less than 4 months old, under warranty, and only worked 75% of the time.

Company Response 06/29/2014:

Eric,
Our records show you worked with one of our member experience managers about this issue in April and we just want to double check that your Kenmore Elite issues have been resolved and that you're completely stratified with the process. Thanks.

Replies
Re: Exchange of Kenmore Fridge for Similar Waterpool
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BLAISDEL, NEW YORK -- Bought new Kenmore top mount fridge 10/ 24/ 2013, delivered promptly with no issues, installed. After a few days, I didn't like the drawer space, shelf spacing just wasn't right for me, and the thing ran loudly, and still does. I asked for an exchange within the timeframe, and my salesperson said it would be fine, so I chose a Waterpool 9821 549. The sales representative gave me a # to call, so I did. They gave me a 2 week timeframe. So I waited patiently.I went back to the Sears store to talk to the representative whom I purchased the thing to find out a delivery date, because the 800 number couldn't help. This was in November.

Again I went to the store in December. No help. January, no help. Any phone calls went out of state, (India?). So, here in February they promised delivery of the replacement fridge today, but because of 'weather' they had to reschedule for another 2 weeks! After I cleaned it out, moved all my items in preparation, had the driveway plowed, made ready in anticipation, they canceled delivery.

So, I canceled my order completely. I called the floor manager and said, "Please Cancel delivery, order of exchange, Now! Cancel." I'll keep the noisy one, continue to shove veggies into the small drawers, and shop elsewhere. They lost a good customer. I'll shop elsewhere. I'll donate this lemon to Goodwill.

Company Response :

lois.scherman,
We're sorry that your recent purchase experience has not met expectations. My name is David with our Sears Social Media Support team. I can understand your frustration regarding the exchange and if you would like, we would be happy to have a case manager contact you directly to discuss your experience and assist in addressing any concerns you may have. If you would like to discuss this situation further, please send the following information to smadvisor@searshc.com – contact number and phone number used at time of purchase. Also please provide this screen name (lois.scherman) for reference to this issue.
Thanks,
David W.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Experience with Kenmore Range Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA -- Worst experience with a Kenmore Oven/Range ever. It lasted 12 ½ months and then cost us $300 to have a Sears guy fix it. Remember when Kenmore and Sears meant quality? Not anymore. What a joke. It was less than 30 days after the original guarantee expired. A $1,000 Kenmore range last one year before it needs a major repair. I will never shop them again and suggest you stay away as well. Too many bad reviews that I should have read before I purchased this nightmare called Kenmore.

The best thing I can say about them is that they are consistent, as the service was just as undependable as their product. One last thing: I have never posted a negative review for any company before in my life, but this is more than unacceptable.

Company Response :

Hi davgar09,

Thank you for taking time to post about your Kenmore range/oven repair needs. We understand having had the unit for just a little over one year when it began to have functional failures is discouraging and upsetting. We do appreciate your business and would like to address your concerns. My name is Brian and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. I am taking this time to offer our assistance. We would like to put you in contact with a case manager who will research any available repair options to satisfy this need. Please send the following information – your contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name (davgar09), to reference your post to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, thank you for taking time to post about your appliance repair and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Brian R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Repairs on My New Kenmore Elite Washing Machine
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- I called for a repair on my Kenmore Elite washing machine and was told that the next appointment would be a month from now. My washing machine is two months old and the inlet valve needs replacing. I think that a month is a long time to wait for a repair on a new machine. Maybe Sears needs to hire more service employees so that customers don't have to wait for repairs.

So I have to wait until someone orders the part and then fits me in, a month from now, maybe. What if the part is delayed? Maybe it will be two months on a new washer. That is bad business. I was a good customer of Sears and did not believe the bad reviews, now I understand. Sears can't keep their good customers and will never get new ones with such bad reviews. I will never purchase another Sears appliance and that is a shame because I just picked out the refrigerator I was buying next month. Too bad.

Company Response :

Hi donna3447,

We appreciate your post providing feedback of your experiences while trying to set repair service for your Kenmore Elite washing machine. What you have described clearly explains your level of frustration and disappointment. We have always made our best efforts to provide quality products and superior member services and we can see how we have let you down. My name is Brian and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we do appreciate your business and to this end we would like to offer our assistance. At your earliest convenience, please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name (donna3447), to reference your post to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, thank you for taking time to bring your washer repair issues to our attention; we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,
Brian R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Kenmore Oven and Refrigerator
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- We have both the ceramic stove top and the refrigerator. They are only 4 yrs old. The ice maker has now been replaced for the 3rd time. Then, on Thanksgiving morning, we set the oven to preheat and it failed. My Thanksgiving plans changed at 6:30 am on Thanksgiving morning as I was left holding a 22 lb turkey. We were lucky that we got an appt for repair on the 6th... only 8 days out. Of course, it was the display unit. It had evidence that it shorted out. Of course the part had to be ordered!

Next appt was for today and we still have no oven. The part came in - incomplete. Go figure - the rest of it was on backorder. Makes sense. After reading all these reviews it seems this is a common issue. Next appt is set for the 20th. Now my only Christmas wish is that our oven is fixed. I will be unable to do any of my usual holiday baking this year. I understand remanufactured parts - maybe. But a 4 yr old unit failing? No!

Company Response :

Dear Kenmore Oven and Refridgerator,

My name is Susan with Sears Cares Escalations team. We are truly sorry that your oven required repair over the Thanksgiving holiday. We see that you are still awaiting parts to repair your oven and would like to speak with you about possible options to resolve this issue. We value your business very much and want to make sure that everything that can be done to help you is being done. At your convenience please contact our office via email at SMAdvisor@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the oven was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name ( Kenmore Oven and Refridgerator) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Kenmore Elite Wheels Fall Off Annually - No Real Fix Available
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FRAMINGHAM, MASSACHUSETTS -- We were happy with the Kenmore Elite super quiet dishwasher, But about nine months in, the top sliders started making a loud squeaking noise. At about a year, the entire top rack fell off. The brackets that hold the wheels disintegrated, both sides. We had a warranty and they replaced both sides with the same sub-par parts. The service tech actually admitted that he would be back in a year based on the number of service calls he's had replacing the same thing. It's been about one more year and guess what happened today... Crash! The top rack is off again. I'm guessing I'm out of warranty now too. I'll find out tomorrow.

If I have to keep a warranty just to replace a plastic part that keeps breaking, I'll have to purchase a different washer from someone else since Sears doesn't seem to think it's a real problem. I guess it keeps them in service. Very disappointed as this washer wasn't cheap.

Company Response :

Kevinjhunter,
We thank for taking the time to let us know about this situation regarding your dishwasher. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team. We can certainly understand why you are disappointed with what has occurred with your racks. We would be happy to connect you with one of our dedicated case managers to assist you and address your concerns. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (kevinjhunter), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused your daughter and look forward to speaking with her.
Thank you,

Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Kenmore Elite Refrigerator Sears Customer Service SUCKS!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT WAYNE, INDIANA -- We purchased a Kenmore Elite Grab-N-Go about 18 months ago and purchased the extended warranty and service agreement. In July 2013, we noticed that the freezer was not working like it should and then the ice maker quit. In August, they were scheduled to come and repair it and they called that day and cancelled. Rescheduled 2 weeks later, they came and repaired it. 2 hrs after he left, we got a error code. Long story short they came 4 times to repair it.

Finally, they said they would replace it. 2 weeks later, we were supposed to receive it. They delivered it and it was damaged! We refused it. Sears had the guts to offer my wife up to $500 to keep a damaged refrigerator. On Dec. 3rd, we are supposed to receive our 6th fridge. Yes, 6th!!! Every single one has been damaged!!! It is very hard for me to be nice on here. But this is BS!!! So, we have been without a freezer, ice, & water since August! And, between my wife and I, we have missed almost 5 days of work because of repairs and scheduled deliveries. Been buying ice since August also.

What is sad about the whole thing is we have been very patient and the only thing we were offered was gift cards to keep the damaged product! I will never buy another product from Sears!! The only person that really gave a crap about us was the delivery guy and he is subcontracted to Sears. So actually nobody from Sears really cares!

Company Response :

Balefever,
My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalation Team. We thank you for posting about this situation regarding your refrigerator. It sounds as if we have let you down on just about every level imaginable and would like to offer our assistance. We would like the opportunity to assist you and address your concerns. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that I have assigned to reference your post (balefever), to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you and look forward to speaking with you.
Thank you,
Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Rusting Bleach Dispenser
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BILLINGS, MONTANTA -- I bought my Kenmore Oasis Elite washer less than 2 years ago. The hot water setting won't allow the temperature to get above 95 degrees even though my hot water heater is putting out water at over 130 degrees. The service technician manual says that hot water should be at least 120 degrees. The spin cycle knots up the pants and shirts into rat's nest like balls. And now the lid under the bleach dispenser is rusting.

Of course warranty (even extended warranty) does not cover any of these items. I was told the water temperature was within tolerable range. They did a software update for the spin cycle. It was to stop the machine from shutting down on an unbalanced load. It did nothing about my rat's nest problem.

Today I was told that any machine that deals with water will rust. Really? There is no chipped paint, the area is designed to accept bleach and the machine is less than 2 years old. I will never buy another product from Sears and will dance in the street the day they go under!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 66 ratings and
233 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores