Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Experience with Kenmore Range Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA -- Worst experience with a Kenmore Oven/Range ever. It lasted 12 ½ months and then cost us $300 to have a Sears guy fix it. Remember when Kenmore and Sears meant quality? Not anymore. What a joke. It was less than 30 days after the original guarantee expired. A $1,000 Kenmore range last one year before it needs a major repair. I will never shop them again and suggest you stay away as well. Too many bad reviews that I should have read before I purchased this nightmare called Kenmore.

The best thing I can say about them is that they are consistent, as the service was just as undependable as their product. One last thing: I have never posted a negative review for any company before in my life, but this is more than unacceptable.

Company Response :

Hi davgar09,

Thank you for taking time to post about your Kenmore range/oven repair needs. We understand having had the unit for just a little over one year when it began to have functional failures is discouraging and upsetting. We do appreciate your business and would like to address your concerns. My name is Brian and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. I am taking this time to offer our assistance. We would like to put you in contact with a case manager who will research any available repair options to satisfy this need. Please send the following information – your contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name (davgar09), to reference your post to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, thank you for taking time to post about your appliance repair and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Brian R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Repairs on My New Kenmore Elite Washing Machine
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- I called for a repair on my Kenmore Elite washing machine and was told that the next appointment would be a month from now. My washing machine is two months old and the inlet valve needs replacing. I think that a month is a long time to wait for a repair on a new machine. Maybe Sears needs to hire more service employees so that customers don't have to wait for repairs.

So I have to wait until someone orders the part and then fits me in, a month from now, maybe. What if the part is delayed? Maybe it will be two months on a new washer. That is bad business. I was a good customer of Sears and did not believe the bad reviews, now I understand. Sears can't keep their good customers and will never get new ones with such bad reviews. I will never purchase another Sears appliance and that is a shame because I just picked out the refrigerator I was buying next month. Too bad.

Company Response :

Hi donna3447,

We appreciate your post providing feedback of your experiences while trying to set repair service for your Kenmore Elite washing machine. What you have described clearly explains your level of frustration and disappointment. We have always made our best efforts to provide quality products and superior member services and we can see how we have let you down. My name is Brian and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we do appreciate your business and to this end we would like to offer our assistance. At your earliest convenience, please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name (donna3447), to reference your post to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, thank you for taking time to bring your washer repair issues to our attention; we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,
Brian R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Kenmore Oven and Refrigerator
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- We have both the ceramic stove top and the refrigerator. They are only 4 yrs old. The ice maker has now been replaced for the 3rd time. Then, on Thanksgiving morning, we set the oven to preheat and it failed. My Thanksgiving plans changed at 6:30 am on Thanksgiving morning as I was left holding a 22 lb turkey. We were lucky that we got an appt for repair on the 6th... only 8 days out. Of course, it was the display unit. It had evidence that it shorted out. Of course the part had to be ordered!

Next appt was for today and we still have no oven. The part came in - incomplete. Go figure - the rest of it was on backorder. Makes sense. After reading all these reviews it seems this is a common issue. Next appt is set for the 20th. Now my only Christmas wish is that our oven is fixed. I will be unable to do any of my usual holiday baking this year. I understand remanufactured parts - maybe. But a 4 yr old unit failing? No!

Company Response :

Dear Kenmore Oven and Refridgerator,

My name is Susan with Sears Cares Escalations team. We are truly sorry that your oven required repair over the Thanksgiving holiday. We see that you are still awaiting parts to repair your oven and would like to speak with you about possible options to resolve this issue. We value your business very much and want to make sure that everything that can be done to help you is being done. At your convenience please contact our office via email at SMAdvisor@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the oven was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name ( Kenmore Oven and Refridgerator) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Kenmore Elite Wheels Fall Off Annually - No Real Fix Available
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FRAMINGHAM, MASSACHUSETTS -- We were happy with the Kenmore Elite super quiet dishwasher, But about nine months in, the top sliders started making a loud squeaking noise. At about a year, the entire top rack fell off. The brackets that hold the wheels disintegrated, both sides. We had a warranty and they replaced both sides with the same sub-par parts. The service tech actually admitted that he would be back in a year based on the number of service calls he's had replacing the same thing. It's been about one more year and guess what happened today... Crash! The top rack is off again. I'm guessing I'm out of warranty now too. I'll find out tomorrow.

If I have to keep a warranty just to replace a plastic part that keeps breaking, I'll have to purchase a different washer from someone else since Sears doesn't seem to think it's a real problem. I guess it keeps them in service. Very disappointed as this washer wasn't cheap.

Company Response :

Kevinjhunter,
We thank for taking the time to let us know about this situation regarding your dishwasher. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team. We can certainly understand why you are disappointed with what has occurred with your racks. We would be happy to connect you with one of our dedicated case managers to assist you and address your concerns. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (kevinjhunter), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused your daughter and look forward to speaking with her.
Thank you,

Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Kenmore Elite Refrigerator Sears Customer Service SUCKS!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT WAYNE, INDIANA -- We purchased a Kenmore Elite Grab-N-Go about 18 months ago and purchased the extended warranty and service agreement. In July 2013, we noticed that the freezer was not working like it should and then the ice maker quit. In August, they were scheduled to come and repair it and they called that day and cancelled. Rescheduled 2 weeks later, they came and repaired it. 2 hrs after he left, we got a error code. Long story short they came 4 times to repair it.

Finally, they said they would replace it. 2 weeks later, we were supposed to receive it. They delivered it and it was damaged! We refused it. Sears had the guts to offer my wife up to $500 to keep a damaged refrigerator. On Dec. 3rd, we are supposed to receive our 6th fridge. Yes, 6th!!! Every single one has been damaged!!! It is very hard for me to be nice on here. But this is BS!!! So, we have been without a freezer, ice, & water since August! And, between my wife and I, we have missed almost 5 days of work because of repairs and scheduled deliveries. Been buying ice since August also.

What is sad about the whole thing is we have been very patient and the only thing we were offered was gift cards to keep the damaged product! I will never buy another product from Sears!! The only person that really gave a crap about us was the delivery guy and he is subcontracted to Sears. So actually nobody from Sears really cares!

Company Response :

Balefever,
My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalation Team. We thank you for posting about this situation regarding your refrigerator. It sounds as if we have let you down on just about every level imaginable and would like to offer our assistance. We would like the opportunity to assist you and address your concerns. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that I have assigned to reference your post (balefever), to smadvisor@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you and look forward to speaking with you.
Thank you,
Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Rusting Bleach Dispenser
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BILLINGS, MONTANTA -- I bought my Kenmore Oasis Elite washer less than 2 years ago. The hot water setting won't allow the temperature to get above 95 degrees even though my hot water heater is putting out water at over 130 degrees. The service technician manual says that hot water should be at least 120 degrees. The spin cycle knots up the pants and shirts into rat's nest like balls. And now the lid under the bleach dispenser is rusting.

Of course warranty (even extended warranty) does not cover any of these items. I was told the water temperature was within tolerable range. They did a software update for the spin cycle. It was to stop the machine from shutting down on an unbalanced load. It did nothing about my rat's nest problem.

Today I was told that any machine that deals with water will rust. Really? There is no chipped paint, the area is designed to accept bleach and the machine is less than 2 years old. I will never buy another product from Sears and will dance in the street the day they go under!

Replies
Kenmore Model 795.5137 refrigerator
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Purchased a Kenmore elite refrigerator freezer side by side model number 795.5137. Took delivery on a Wednesday. The doors were taken off for entrance into the house. Plugged it in about 3pm after putting the water line on and taking off the tons of tape used in shipping. Four hours later still as warm in the fridge as outside. Called tech service after being transferred three times to an expert on this fridge I was told I must wait 24-36 hours. I explained I had food sitting in ice chests and on my counter, he said do not put food in. I waited 24 hours and did not open the doors at all.

When I checked the fridge was still warm, the fan was blowing warm air. I called the tech service transferred three times to the EXPERT this guy had me press a few buttons and asked that I hold my phone up to a small speaker on the door. The speaker let out what sounded like a fax machine. The expert said from that sound he could tell the fridge was in fact cooling down and that the inside temperature was 74. I explained that in my house and outside the temperature was 70 so I would be better off leaving my food outside. I then was told wait a few more hours which I did.

At somewhere after 11:30 pm I had had it I called again and was told to call delivery service and have the fridge exchanged. I had to wait until the morning. I called delivery service and was told I could not get a new fridge delivered for three days. I raised hell and got a next day delivery. Next day new fridge arrived at 3pm delivery guys took off doors brought it in and took the old one. I asked delivery guy if taking the doors off may have had something to do with the problem he said no way. So I hooked up the water line peeled off the tape and plugged it in.

Four hours later nothing fan blowing warm air. Called tech same transfer three times finally got tech said I must wait 24 hours do not open doors. I tied a string on the handles so nobody would open this thing up. 24 hours later untied the doors expected to find a fridge waiting to cool my food and guess what yep warmer than outside, called tech service again told I should check outlet voltage which I did and it was perfect, I even ran a heavy duty extension cord to an air condition outlet in the living room and no difference.

Tech said I need to schedule a repair man, was told 10/24 first available I explained to tech on phone that that is over a week away she said nothing she could do. She then said if you have medication in the fridge it will be considered an emergency. I said I do have medication in the fridge and she made the appointment for three days out. As I write this my wife is on the phone getting nowhere with Sears. I will not be waiting for a tech I will be getting this back to Sears and purchasing a reliable fridge from somewhere else. I'm done with Sears if I could I would drive this fridge to the CEO doorstep and leave it there. I have been a lifelong Sears customer no more

Replies
To the County DUMP!! Worthless wine cooler & Master Protection Agreement
By -

You be the judge. I want your feedback before I file a claim in County court next Monday. I stupidly made the ASSumption the Master Protection Agreement was for the customer. In reality it is the, "€œSEARS Master Protection Agreement"€, NOT the "Customer Master Protection Agreement."€ The MPA is pure profit for Sears and they throw enough hurdles in the way it is worthless insurance. 28 years as a customer purchasing appliances for rental houses, 14 refrigerators, 6 washer/dryers, and 3 vacuums, big screen TV:

And beginning in March 2008, I finally began 2 1/2 years of buying high end appliances and squirreling them away into storage for my own kitchen remodel. The remodel took us forever doing it ourselves for cash. 1st appliance we installed on a hot August day in 2009- since it was a simple plug-in was the wine cooler. 16 months old by the receipt date, but never used by us- it won't work. On 8/15/09 out comes the service technician under the $190 Master Protection Agreement who puts a big ugly fluorescent green sticker on the $515 wine cooler as "Scrap product, not repairable."

The techie says the cooler still has a "test piece"€ on the end of a missing copper pipe and never should have been sold to us. He also tells us he knows we didn't do it because we can't buy the "test piece" he's looking at. The tech told us to take it to the Thurston County dump. (Sears owes me $10 for that too.) A few days later, I received a phone call suspiciously chastising me for waiting more than a year to use the product, then grudgingly telling me I have a $500 credit toward another cooler.

I kept buying other appliances as they became available and when I was paying, I was told by Sears' staff I could ONLY use my postcard to buy another wine cooler. Knowing we still have at least another year on the remodel and not wanting to get chastised twice, I waited patiently until the kitchen was done (hallelujah) in August 2010 to go buy another cooler with the $500 credit (and prayed during those long remodel months the new appliances in storage would work when the time came.)

Guess what? When I went to buy in July 2010 a much more expensive GE Profile wine cooler and presented the postcard for the $500 credit, the Lacey Sears store wouldn't honor it. Sales staff told me I needed a "œPA #". The staff called a phone number, 800-479-6351 handed the phone to me, whereupon ** gave me PA # **, but told me it was useless because I had had only 90 days to use it. First I'd heard of that, especially after getting chastised for buying too early the last time and getting rejected multiple times to use it on other appliances!

** offered to send a 2nd techie out to verify the wine cooler was indeed broken. (Now what good would that do? The 1st tech sent to me was incompetent? I found this was a "€œred herring" to side track me as Sears corporate and I, both had the 1st tech'™s laptop print out that said the unit was defective.) I explained the cooler had gone to The Dump under the 1st tech'™s instructions. I tried explaining that denying me the credit toward purchase was a stupid decision since the $500 credit was against a $1055.99 item and I would be paying them an additional $600 for the GE Profile cooler.

So Sears has my money for the very last kitchen I will ever buy from them. Over 2 1/2 years I bought a Kitchen Aid frig, Jenn Air double ovens, a Kenmore range, a Kenmore Elite gas cook top, a Kitchen Aid warming drawer, 2 Maytag & Kenmore Elite dishwashers, 2 Kenmore Elite washers & 2 dryers.

I have just gathered all of the receipts, notes, 1st tech computer print out, green Replacement Audit Tag, and post card for proof of every word of this and next Monday I am going to file in small claims court for the wine cooler, dump fee, and Master Protection Agreement fee. We'll see what a judge thinks is equitable. At the very least, I want refunded the $515.93 wine cooler, 8.8% sales tax, $10 dump fee, and the $190.43 MPA fee. P.S. In August 2010 we bought a Danby 2-door combination wine cooler and beverage center from Walmart for $990 and are very pleased with it!

P. S.S. 10/24/2010 I received a response from Sears Cares- another mockery of a phrase. Their offer is re-issue the authorization code to shop Sears for a new wine cooler: "While I would encourage you to keep your Sears wine cooler and perhaps return the purchase made elsewhere, you would not be required to keep the wine cooler obtained with the re-issued authorization code. You would be welcome to give it as a gift, or perhaps sell it for profit."

No thanks Sears Cares, I have a set of values & morals. In this poor economy, I would sooner gift $500 worth of food. Furthermore, Walmart earned their sale with a good Danby product that worked. Why would I stick it to their profit margin with a return of a perfectly good product 4 months later?

I am fleeing the Corporate relentless pursuit to the bottom by thrashing and abusing an excellent, long term customer- me. I have found a reason Sears/Kmart went bankrupt. My mission and sport now will be to use every avenue available to me to tell future customers the ailing Goliath has suicidal depression and will abuse them too without regard or regret.

Replies
Advertisement
Dissatisfied with product and service
By -

On October 6, 2009, we purchased a Kenmore Elite stove/oven. In the 8 months that we have owned the appliance it has broken twice. With both instances a part needed to be ordered and we were without the full use of the appliance. All together, in the 8 months we have owned the appliance, we were without full use of the appliance for approximately 30 days. When we purchased the oven, we also purchased a refrigerator and a dishwasher. We purchased all 3 appliances and had faith in the brand and the products. Since the oven has now needed repair twice we have since lost faith in the product.

When we contacted Sears Customer Solutions they were no help. My husband spent 2 hours on the phone with customer solutions, talked to at least 5 different people and still received no resolution. All he wanted was to speak to someone that had authority to either give us a replacement unit or a free 5 year warranty. 2 people flat out refused to give him their supervisor's name and contact information. My husband was asking for reasonable information.

Once he found out the initial person could not help him, he wanted to talk to their manager. After being transferred to that person and it became apparent that they could not help him, he asked to speak to their manager. At this point ** refused to give us the name of his supervisor, corporate address or phone number.

Initially we were asking for a new stove to replace our appliance; no upgrades, no compensation for the 30 days we did not have full use of it. After spending $1600.00 on an appliance, you do not expect to have it break 2 times in 8 months. Our reasoning is that if we continue with this track record, in 4 months when the oven breaks again, it will be out of warranty and we will need to pay out of pocket. Both repairs involved electrical parts and we feel that there is something wrong with this unit's electrical system. It's like replacing your tires because of uneven wear.

The tires may be new but the alignment is still out causing the same tire wear. During our conversation, ** our case worker, put my husband on hold to write down some notes. He asked ** to have a copy of his notes to make sure he was writing down the correct information. He flat out refused to fax or email us a copy. Then my husband politely asked ** to read his notes to him and again his request was denied. At this point my husband's frustration level was on the rise. He had been on the phone for 2 plus hours and been placed on hold several times.

He couldn't figure out why ** would spend so much time on the phone so he asked him if he was allowed to hang up on him, again he refused to answer my husband's question. He tried to explain to ** that if they had pride in their work and believed they were selling a good product that there shouldn't be any problems with giving us an extended warranty.

He also explained to ** that we would be without an oven for a week and how would we cook. He suggested for us to rent an oven and he could send us a $25.00 voucher. My husband asked ** for our case number so we would have a reference number; again ** refused to give it to him and then hung up on my husband as he was in mid sentence.

This has been a very frustrating and eye opening experience for us as consumers. Our old GE oven was over 15 years old and we had never needed service on it. We are truly regretful that we did not buy a new GE oven instead of the Kenmore brand. Furthermore, it is absolutely ridiculous to spend 2 hours on the phone with customer solutions and not receive a SOLUTION! In closing, you have lost us as Sears consumers and we will be telling our family, friends, neighbors, business associates and internet contacts about the unpleasant customer service we received from Sears.

Replies
Defective Washers totally unfair, demand a recall or free repair!
By -

There are thousands of peoplehaving the issue of accelerated corrosion on these machines. The corrosion seems to be the result of sabotage. These washers have aluminum bearings which are attached to the steel drums. This is a no-no that is well known to anyone who makes machinery. The galvanized action between the aluminum and steel will lead to severe and rapid corrosion. The replacement of the bearing is too costly to make it worthwhile. Sears will not sell the bearing alone so once you pay for parts and labor, you will probably spend more than the cost of a new washer.

The corrosion of this bearing is guaranteed and Sears has deliberately sold these faulty washers. The corrosion will probably begin to occur within a few months, but will progress at varying rates depending on other factors. It seems that the average life of these bearings is 5 years from what I've read so far. One person replaced his bearing near the 6 month mark and it corroded severely again approximately 6 months later. I am sure there are many more cases like his that are not heard about.

The reason I am here is to ask for a fair resolution to this matter. Instead of pushing for recall, I propose a less expensive solution for Sears. I think Sears should start a program to cover the repairs of bearing corrosion for 15 years from the purchase date of each machine OR offer each affected person a fair, partial refund on their washing machine (a pro-rated amount based on the expected appliance life of 15 years plus a fair amount toward installation fees, etc).

I also think a website and phone hotline needs to be set up for the owners of these machines so that everyone has access to this program and the refund amounts or promise to repair are written in plain English (or whatever language is suitable) on the webpage. I'm tired of this company pushing little people around and I want to see that everyone is treated fairly. If you are with me, please leave a comment. Sears, your Kenmore/Frigidaire washer is a piece of junk.

Not only did it fall apart after less than 4 years of use, but it badly damaged my tenant's clothing and bedding causing hundreds of dollars in losses for me. Are you prepared to reimburse me for my damages? Don't contact me until you are. I will be adding up my losses and contemplating what I think is a fair compensation before I file a case with the local small claims court. I have alerted a class action lawsuit specialist to this issue and they are eager to take the case as we already have over a dozen people on board.

I only began research on this 3 days ago and can imagine how many thousands of people would come forward if I did a little advertising to find victims. I'm ready to settle this. If you have something to offer me, put your terms in plain writing on this site. If you do not post your intentions, I will assume you plan to manipulate me, and I'm not interested.

Exposing your company for the selfish entity that it is, is somewhat rewarding, so make your offer a good one, if you want me to be happy. Keep in mind that I paid $649 for the washer plus $199 to "setup" which included connecting two hoses and plugging it it. In addition I paid for delivery and purchased the top mount dryer which I have no use for without the washer. I hope you have a reasonable and fair offer to put on the table.

Confidentiality Notice: You should not retain, copy or use this posting or for any purpose, nor disclose all or any part of the contents to any other person. The information contained in this posting is legally privileged and confidential. You are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution, or copying of this posting without consent from the author is strictly prohibited.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Kenmore Elite Appliances Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 66 ratings and
233 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores