Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Freezers Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor service and refusal to repair or replace under warranty
By -

NEW HOPE, PHILADELPHIA AREA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I have had service contracts from Sears on all our appliances in the home (mostly Sears products) for around 10 years and spend around $2000. Per year. I have never had a claim except for an occasional refrigerator plastic drawer broken. Sometime in August this year our Sears chest freezer failed and I didn't realize it until I went to get some food out of it and found all the rotten food in the freezer. I called Sears and after several changed appointments and no shows the repair person arrived and replaced a small part and the freezer was running.

Prior to him coming I cleaned out the rotten food. When I made a claim for the spoiled food claim I was refused and had to spend lots of time complaining and offering proof of spoiled food and complaining to the executive offices and calling their press relations (I am a writer in the consumer electronics field) before they would authorize the claim. Furthermore a terrible smell was present in the freezer and again after several no shows and cancelled appointments a serviceman arrived and told me it would be impossible to eliminate the smell as the rotten food had penetrated the insulation and the freezer would have to be replaced.

I was told by the repair office that the serviceman was wrong and scheduled another appointment with the same delays and cancelled appointments that I had previously experienced. This serviceman had the same diagnosis. I have made many calls to different Sears service people and they refuse to replace the freezer or send anyone to try to correct the problem. They claim "We don't replace for smell". The freezer is useless as the smell is terrible. I tried to call Sears executive offices but they have a phone screening in place and when I give the machine my name and phone number no one calls back.

I have stopped paying on my Sears credit card which I now find out was bought by Citibank Visa and they care less about my Sears problem and are now dunning me by calling every 3 or 4 days demanding payment. Sears has been bought by Kmart and the employees I talk to blame Kmart for the recent terrible service. STAY AWAY FROM SEARS OR KMART.

I now plan to sue Sears for the cost of a new freezer and for damages due to my loss of time and use of the freezer and for the unused portion of my service contract. I will at a great expense have the freezer delivered to the court to smell and have news coverage of the event from local newspapers. I will videotape the event and put it up on Youtube. Perhaps Sears would like to comment on that. Let's hear from others who have had a similar experience with Sears. You can comment on this site or email me at **.

Replies
Advertisement
Lemon refrigerator
By -

FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA -- Just wanted to warn people to be aware that this particular brand of refrigerator (it's called a Kenmore but apparently it is a Whirlpool manufactured in Mexico) is a real lemon. We bought one from Sears in 2006 and immediately began to have problems with it. It would shut off for no particular reason, Sears would come and repair it, then it would happen again a month or two later. Finally, after documenting all the problems and repairs, Sears gave us a new one.

We bought the two year warranty and all was well until just after the two year mark, when the same problems began again. Unfortunately for us, the warranty had expired and we had not extended it again (the hundreds of dollars Sears wants for its warranties seem excessive). It died on us and, after Sears sent out a repair person (for free) to see if it was a compressor (in which case they would have repaired it for free), they determined it was the computer board, which was not covered under an extended manufacturer's warranty.

In sum, a very expensive and frustrating experience and one that you wouldn't think you'd have to undergo when you pay 1400 dollars for a major appliance. Sears said they couldn't refund any of our money, but offered to give us 30 percent off another refrigerator, to which we said "no thanks." We're done with Sears.

Replies
Avoid the 14' Kenmore Upright Freezer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLEVELAND, OHIO -- Freezer purchased 6/27/12 stopped freezing Wednesday, 8/19/12; Sears was called that day, earliest appointment offered 9/6/12. The customer service representative was very inept. After giving her the model number (the owner's manual contained two model numbers) and my purchase information, she was unable to locate any Kenmore Freezers meeting my specifications. Her advice: Keep the unit plug in, leave the meat in place for the repairman to see, and be patient.

A second call two days later to Sears offered this sage advice: Don't refreeze the meat. Over $700.00 worth of meat (beef, pork, & poultry) was disposed. Several further phones to Sears for an earlier repair appointment were unsuccessful. It will be two weeks this Wednesday (9/5) since I contacted Sears. I unplugged the unit; removed the freezer's contents, and am staring at a $500+ freezer that does not operate! I am requesting a full refund of the purchase price of the freezer and of the freezer's contents.

Sears stated they cannot guarantee the freezer will properly operate after the upcoming 9/6/12 repair appointment and will only compensate me up to $250.00 for the freezer's contents. I was further advised by Sears that under the Master Purchase Agreement only after 5 unsuccessful attempts to fix the freezer have occurred, will a replacement appliance be offered. I am certainly not going to trust that if the present freezer is fixed on 9/6/12, it will work correctly in the future; or be forced to dispose of more food if it stops working, while working two weeks for future service calls. This experience has been financially frustrating!

Replies
Loved my service
By -

EL CENTRO, CALIFORNIA -- I really enjoyed my latest visit at the Sears store. ** was awesome, and made my purchase painless, and happy to have been there, He is outstanding awe have been looking for a new type of refrigerator, and ** at the El Centro store, was helpful, and had seen customers very satisfied with this new Kenmore 25 cu ft French doors and sliding freezer so much more space, and it makes ice, I love the crush ice, and lordly the ice water in the door, is to die for, with the filter system it taste like spring water, I am very happy with this design, and hope anyone liking, stop!

You have to look no further, you will hit the jackpot on this one, it's so quiet I have to open to see the lights, and it's an energy saver you get 250 back from the stimulus plan and a 50.00 rebate from your electric company. Run, what are you waiting for?

Replies
Advertisement
Freezer Delivery
By -

STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased a freezer on 1/26/08 and was told that my delivery would be 1/28/08 9:30-11:30 I had to leave my house for a short while when I returned, I got a phone message saying that there was a computer err, but when I called Sears 800 number to find out what was the real problem I was told that it was a carrier err. But my freezer was not rescheduled for the next delivery on 1/29/08 when I called back I was told by a woman who answered the phone that she would put enter the information into the computer for delivery of my freezer on 1/29/08.

I believed that she was telling me the truth but when I did not received my delivery on 1/29/08 I called the delivery service and was told that I had to talk to a delivery tech, then I was told that my freezer was not rescheduled for delivery for 1/29/08 and this person would not even reschedule the delivery for 1/30/08 I had to make several phone calls to Sears to speak with the manager. I was told that I will get my freezer on 1/30/08 because the truck already went out.

I usually buy my appliance from Lowes, but after this experience with Sears I will say " Good luck to get me to buy anymore appliance for my home". It has been a very frustrating experience dealing with the Sears home delivery service people.

Replies
Never Purchase an Appliance From Sears
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MATTAWA, WASHINGTON -- We purchased a Sears freezer. The ice maker has not worked since purchase. We have had four service calls. Also, they installed the water line incorrectly and it leaked and ruined my wood floors. We made a claim on 12-3-12 and no one at Sears will call us back. Every time we talk with Sears it is a different story. Tried requesting a manager and was sent to voice mail. Do not know what to do to get Sears to respond, let alone fix the damage they caused.

Replies
Refunds
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- Purchased an appliance from Sears but unfortunately had to cancel... cancelled within two hours but had to make several different phone calls to cancel. Had used my bank debit card and $910 was immediately withdrawn from my checking account... but learned it would take 10 days to refund my money into my checking account. Easy to take out, but hard to refund. Moral of story is do not pay cash... Or buy elsewhere.

Replies
Failure of Sears to repair freezer door
By -

MT JULIET, TENNESSEE -- After some 5 visits by various Sears repairmen to fix the gasket on my freezer door, the problem has not been resolved. It is supposed to be a frost-free appliance, but frost continues to build up in the freezer. Sears national office says that this does not come under their "No Lemon Policy" In other words, Sears sold me a "Frost Free" refrigerator. It is not frost free. They have had ample opportunities to repair this appliance and have not done so and they say it does fall within their "criteria" to be considered a "Lemon" (Their terminology).

Replies
Advertisement
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Freezers Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 6 ratings and
18 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores