Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Refrigerators Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unacceptable Repair Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA CRUZ, CALIFORNIA -- The following is an ongoing account regarding a Whirlpool refrigerator purchased from Sears on 8-10-2014. It is a 21 cu.ft. top freezer model. Purchase price was $757.48. This replaced a previous refrigerator also purchased from Sears which was deemed unrepairable after 5 different visits from Sears repair technicians. It is important to note that both refrigerators became problematic within less than 2 years' time.

5-05-2016, I noticed the back panel of the freezer (top) had formed a thick blanket of ice and refrigerator (bottom) was no longer cold. I called Sears Home Services and scheduled an appointment for 5-9-2016. 5-09-2016, Sears Home Service tech diagnosed the heater harness was loose which caused the freezer to not defrost and refrigerator to get warm. Technician manually defrosted the freezer portion by removing 2” of ice buildup on both sides of the freezer compartment's back panel. My out-of-pocket charge for the visit was $239.99.

On or about 5-24-2016, same symptoms were occurring. Excessive ice buildup in freezer, refrigerator portion getting warm. Meanwhile, I had to toss a large amount of food. I scheduled a return visit for 5-26-16. 5-26-2016, during this visit I was advised the refrigerator needed a “control board.” The tech said he didn't have one in his truck and one needed to be ordered. I requested that the control board be ordered and Sears Home Service confirmed that a board would be delivered on 5-31-2016. There was no charge for this visit.

5-31-2016, technician arrived without a control board and told me that records show I had refused control board on 5-26-2016. I explained that I did not refuse a board and was expecting it to be installed during this visit. I asked what the process was in obtaining a control board.

The tech said he could order one and the cost for visit would be $299.74 ($204.74 for board and $95 for service call.) He said the board would be sent in the mail to me and technician would do an install on 6-9-2016. My out-of-pocket charge for the visit was $299.74. (Keep in mind the appliance cost only $757.48 and I am now out of pocket in repairs for a refrigerator that is less than 2 years old, and still not working properly.)

6-09-2016, technician installed the control board, but did not defrost the freezer manually, whereas the last two technicians did. He said the control board should kick in and freezer should start to defrost within the next 24 to 48 hours. He applied caulk around the opening of the freezer so the cold air would not escape. Cold air escaping from freezer was the least of my concerns since it was producing blankets of ice. The bigger issue was the refrigerator not getting cold.

Additionally, the caulk job was terrible. It not only left the freezer opening looking unsightly, but the door would stick each time it was opened. When I asked the tech what guarantee did I have that the control board would not fail. He replied that he could not guarantee anything and offered me a Sears Protection Agreement for $49.09. The agreement would free me from paying any added repairs for the next 12-months. My out of pocket charge for the visit was $49.09. Meanwhile, I still had my debts and purchasing food was limited for fear the refrigerator would get warm again.

6-10-2016, refrigerator seemed to be working OK, but I noticed that a loud sound was coming from the freezer compartment and the ice buildup on back panel had not defrosted. 6-11-2016 early morning, I noticed that refrigerator compartment was no longer cold. I called Sears Home Service in a panic and told them I needed a tech now because I was having company from 6-11 to 6-14 and needed a functioning refrigerator. I was informed that no one could come out until 6-22-16.

Now, I was faced with a refrigerator that had been limping along since 5-9-16, and having company for the next 4 days. I told the associate this was unacceptable and I wanted to speak to a supervisor. I was advised that a supervisor would only tell me the same. Needless to say, I was beyond upset and ended the conversation. Later that day, I received a call from Sears Home Service supervisor and was told the soonest a technician could be out would be 6-15-16 between 10am and 2pm. I had no choice but to accept.

From 6-11 to 6-14, I accommodate my out-of-town company the best I could while dealing with a broken refrigerator. I had to purchase bags of ice, placed them in coolers to help keep food cold. I noticed that an irritating noise had developed in the freezer compartment. It had gotten so loud that it was necessary to turn up the volume on the TV and close the bedroom doors at night in order to get any sleep.

6-15-2016 technician informed me the reason it was not defrosting was because he did not defrost the freezer manually during his visit on 6-09-16 and admit he was at fault. The loud noise was due to a fan hitting against the ice buildup. I told him that due to his negligence in not properly fixing the refrigerator, it created a big inconvenience and totally had dampen my visiting with out-of-town company.

During this visit, the tech proceeded to remove the back panel of the freezer compartment. In the process, I noticed he was bending the panel and putting a dent in it. I questioned his process. He said he had to remove the back panel to remove the ice buildup. I asked, aside from causing added damage to the unit, what other alternative did I have? He said he could replace the damaged back panel in 2 weeks or he could discontinue the process and that I could unplug the unit and have it defrost on its own.

This would mean me having to totally be out a refrigerator for at least another 2-days if not longer. I asked what would happen if I unplugged the unit and it didn't fix the problem? Would I need to schedule another appointment and be put on a waiting list and not be seen for another two weeks? He nodded and confirmed I most likely would need to wait another two weeks. At this point, I was so upset that I requested he button up the unit and to please leave my home.

I called Sears Home Service the following day and explain what had happened. They said the best they could do was to send out another technician on 6-29-2016. 6-29-2016, the technician diagnosed the refrigerator and determined that a thermistor needed to be replaced. The part would be sent by mail and a tech would install it on July 13, 2016. This brings us up to date. The thermistor was installed and I was reassured this would fix my refrigerator. Meanwhile, I am still out the $538.74 and $300, if not more in food lost since May 5, 2019.

On June 16, 2016, I contacted the local Sears Store and provided the store manager a letter explaining what had been through and requested that I be reimbursed for the $538.74, plus $300 in food loss. She said there was nothing she could do at the store level and would make some calls to see if my problem could be resolved at a higher level. She later returned my call and provided me with a number for Customers Solutions at the Corporate level.

I initially spoke to Customer Solutions Claims Department on or about June 18, 2016. There were several conversations regarding my claim since. Today, I was on the phone with Customer Solutions and after being on the phone for 45 minutes with an associate reviewing my claim, I was told that the Claims Adjuster denied my request because they were charges made prior to me purchasing the Protective Agreement.

I said this was so wrong and totally unacceptable. These were charges paid for repairs on a less than 2-year old refrigerator. Having to pay this kind of money and to be left with the uncertainty of the refrigerator of not being completely fixed is criminal!

Today, marks approximately 10 weeks that I have been dealing with a refrigerator not working properly. What household goes for 10 weeks with bummed out refrigerator??? I won't know for another 24 to 48 hours if replacing the thermistor has once and for all fixed the refrigerator.

I again asked the Customer Solutions associate if I could possibly speak to anyone in getting the $538.74 back. The answer was "no." The associate did suggested I contact the credit card company I had used to pay for the repairs and to file a dispute since I had been charged for repairs that were not done properly. My dispute is in process. At this point, I am hoping I get refunded the $538.74, plus $300 in food lost, and that the part that was installed today will fix my refrigerator once and for all.

In spite of how helpful and sincere the front line associates were at Customer Solutions, it appeared that once my issue left their hands and forwarded to an "Adjuster," my efforts were all in vain. They would promise that I would be hear from them within the next 48-hours. No one contacted me. I continually had to initiate follow-up calls to find out the status of my claim. I take that back, twice since May 9, 2016, I did receive two e-mails; once to let me know that my Fax had been received and another telling me that I was not entitled to a reimbursement with no explanation as to why.

My advice, "Do not purchase anything from Sears." If you do, it's fine as long as the unit is working. If something goes wrong and need repairs, get ready with the popcorn, because you will be watching a horror movie and you will be the main character jumping through hoops of flaming fire.

Sears Master Protection Agreement on Wine Refrigerator proved to be worthless!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONLINE PURCHASE FROM SEARS.COM, PENNSYLVANIA -- I purchased close to $6,000 of kitchen appliances in September 2011 — from your store in Greensburg, PA, and a wine refrigerator online at The wine refrigerator was a built-in EdgeStar CWR460DZ (serial 1106910067) with a Sears Master Protection Agreement filed under my cell number. The warranty was good to 8/14/2016.

The wine cooler stopped working in November 2013. I scheduled an appointment for December 17, 2013, 1-5 pm and took ½ a vacation day. The tech from AE said there was a problem with the compressor/some related part. He called it in and his office claimed that my Sears Protection Agreement had been improperly processed by Sears. He told me my agreement was thus canceled and that I would be rebated the $89 I originally paid for the wine cooler. He left with my wine cooler sitting in the middle of my kitchen and departed.

I then called the Sears Protection Warranty Office, back and was told that my original agreement was only good until December 17, 2013 (what a coincidence) and not 8/14/2016. She said the technician should not have left and should have completed his work. She suggested that I buy a one-year extension of my protection agreement to make sure there were no problems. I did for $74.51 and charged it to my Visa card. She also said that she would arrange for another technician to come back to my house and that she would call me by 3:30 pm. No one called or came; so, I called back at 3:50 pm.

The new person told me that since the wine cooler was not a Kenmore, they would not honor the agreement that Sears sold me and that I would be paid back my $89 original agreement cost plus the $74.51 I had just paid. I asked to talk to her superior. That person said that they would make good on the original agreement for five years and refund my $74 and understood my frustration. She asked for the model number of the EdgeStar and then told me that they would not honor the agreement.

I asked to talk to someone who resolves conflicts. That person told me that she would review my case and call me back within one hour (before 6:00pm). She did not call back. I called again, and was told that my agreement would be honored. We rescheduled an appointment for January 8. December 27, I received a check for $89 from Sears, which I paid for the original protection plan. I did not cash the check, I wanted warranty that I paid for.

January 8, 2014, the Sears Tech was scheduled to fix Wine Refrigerator between 8 am-12:00 noon. The tech called and refused to service my Wine Refrigerator. I lost another ½ vacation day. I called back and Spoke to **. He told me that it would cost more to service my wine cooler than it cost. I told him that the new version of my wine cooler cost $799; so, I found it hard to believe that a compressor replacement would be that expensive and the warranty did not mention anything about Sears being able to back out of their responsibilities because the warranty office views the cost of fixing the wine cooler to be too high.

He suggested that perhaps Sears would pay for the parts and that they would charge me for the labor. I requested a name of someone to appeal my case to. He told me to write a letter of complaint to Executive Customer Relations, 333 Beverly Rd, Mailstop RR, Hoffman Estates, IL 60179. I mailed the letter on January 9, 2014. ** mailed me a $65 Sears gift card. January 23, 2014, I called Sears Warranty and talked to ** to check on the status of my claim. ** said that ** was working on my case and was scheduled to contact me that day.

January 24, 2014, the Senior Case Manager with Sears Executive Office, emailed me to let me know that the brand of refrigerator that I purchased from Sears was not eligible for warranty coverage from Sears. I emailed her back to remind her that they not only sold me a warranty on 07/27/2011 but a renewal for one additional year on 07/17/2013 for $74.51. She said that the tech person had informed me initially that the warranty was not valid and inferred that I should have known better than to purchase the additional year.

My contract (i.e. Certificate Number **) states that I am covered to 12/17/2014. The Product is a wine cooler, model number CWR460DZ. Under Sears Protection Agreement Terms and Conditions: “This Sears Protection (“Agreement”) is a legal contract that describes the terms and conditions of the Protection Plan that you have purchased. Obligations under this Agreement are backed by the full faith and credit of the Obligor.” Under 2. Coverage for Repairs. “We will pay on your behalf the cost of parts and services that are needed to maintain the proper operating condition of your Covered Product.”

Under 3. Coverage for Replacement. “We have the sole right to determine whether a Covered Product will be repaired or replaced.” Nowhere in the agreement is there a suggestion or statement that Sears may just unilaterally cancel this agreement.

Sears did not honor their Sears Master Protection Agreement with me. The EdgeStar wine refrigerator (new model number CWR461DZ, but identical to mine) sells for approximately $799. Sears still sells EdgeStar at the online site where I bought my original wine refrigerator. I would bet that they will still sell you a warranty. I talked to a judge about taking this to small claims court. The odds of collecting are slim and more expensive than the original cost of the wine cooler and my time. I give!!! No more Sears for me!

Food Loss Reimbursement Warranty - Sears
By -

FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA -- Wow, Sears really sucks the big dog. We had NO FRIDGE for the entire month of May -- have you ever been "Amish" before, livin' like that without a FRIDGE?! It ain't fun, let me tell ya. They sent some schmuck to fix the dang thing FOUR DIFFERENT TIMES, but he never did fix it. The first time, he just cancelled the appointment a half hour AFTER it was supposed to happen, "due to an emergency" he said. I sat home the whole friggin' DAY waiting for his sorry butt, and he cancelled on us. GRRRRR.

The 2nd time, he showed up but said he had to order a couple of parts. So he did nothing but leave behind 2 screwdrivers. The 3rd time, he showed up on the wrong date, and hey guess what, nobody was home, so we had to reschedule. The 4th time, he showed up, the parts had arrived, but he said he couldn't fix it because 'it had to be unplugged, turned off, and sit for 24 hours.' Why the heck didn't he tell us that the FIRST time?? And why didn't HE unplug it and shut it off?? Friggin' moron.

After that 4th time, I called Sears and lodged a formal complaint. After 4 unsuccessful attempts at repairing an appliance, they are supposed to replace it with a brand new one under the warranty, so that's what I demanded. A few days later, they brought us the new fridge. However, we are also entitled to food loss reimbursement under the warranty, and they've been jerking me around for the past 3 weeks, telling me they'll call me back, etc., putting me on hold for 45 minutes (that was just this morning, I never did get to a human being). So, I decided, "that's it, I'm going to raise a ruckus now."

And honey, you'd better believe this feisty girl did just that. I logged on to, which is the Better Business Bureau web site. I lodged an official complaint, asking them to resolve it. They emailed me a confirmation number for my complaint, which I then subsequently forwarded to Sears via email, telling them that I am fed up with their lack of service, stalling, and BS games. We just want the $250 bucks for our food that we lost, (which I might add, doesn't even cover the eating at McDonald's and other restaurants the whole damned month of May because we had no food storage), and we simply want them to honor our warranty.

It's a simple concept. But you can't win a battle of wits with an unarmed corporation apparently. They claimed that the idiot repairman schmuck was supposed to take down an itemized list of all the food items in the fridge the first time he came out, but he "forgot" and didn't even log in his cancellation due to an "emergency," so they had no record of him even coming out to the house all four times... so they say there WAS no food in our fridge. Ummm, yeah, OK, like we complained and tried to fix an EMPTY fridge FOUR TIMES?? Oh, but they did have it logged on the automated repair schedule for us, all 4 times.

So I said, "Ya know what? Just because you hired a moron who didn't do his job right, does NOT mean I'm going to get screwed out of my warranty food loss reimbursement, so you tell me exactly how you're going to resolve this situation, and I want it done IMMEDIATELY."

"Well ma'am, we'll have to talk to the repair guy about this and get back to you." I said, "Jog his memory by telling him he had some "emergency" come up and didn't even bother to come to our house the first time, making me waste the entire day waiting for him. That would explain why he didn't log in any information into your system, he was off doing other MORE IMPORTANT things apparently." (I know by telling them this, he got his butt into trouble).

That's as far as it got, until just a few minutes ago -- only a few short hours after I sent them my complaint to the Better Business Bureau -- my phone rang, and it was a nice man saying, "Yes ma'am, we'll honor the warranty, send us the itemized list and we'll cut you a check immediately." I have just come back from the fax machine smiling. It just sucks that a customer has to FIGHT for something on a warranty that was PAID for when the first appliance was purchased. I remember when 'the customer was always RIGHT,' and "customer SERVICE" was a way of life. But not anymore.

So, for all the world to see, I say to the cosmos and the universe: NEVER BUY AN APPLIANCE FROM SEARS. And unless you get somebody's BLOOD alongside a signature on any warranty you sign, prepare to have to fight to get it honored from them later on.

NOTE: I just got another email a few minutes ago from the Sears Service Center stating that "they cannot locate any information about our refrigerator repair." The right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing apparently, so I wrote back and said, "Well that's funny because a guy named ** just called me to say he's cutting me a check and I faxed him my itemized list of food items just now. I guess HE has access to the information that YOU claim doesn't exist. How is THAT possible I wonder?" GRRRRRRRRRRRRRR. If that check doesn't get here by next week, I'll have to bite somebody's face off, and trust me, it won't be pretty.

Horrible Repair Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK -- We have tried for 3 months to have 2 issues with our refrigerator fixed. First the repairman refused to fix the broken thermostat because he said it could be fixed at the same time as the leak in the water dispenser. He said Sears could just reimburse us for the spoiled food. Three months later the door came. Imagine living with no refrigeration for 3 months! Twenty plus phone calls including one to the corporate office later and many promises of calls to be returned which never were, we still have leaks.

Today we had an appointment to install new freezer door. My husband took the day off. We received two appointment confirmation calls. No one came. When I called they said the appointment was cancelled, they said - "we don't know who cancelled it, we don't know the code used to cancel it, You have to reschedule."

No one had the authority/willingness to reinstate the original appointment. The attitude of the manager was: "we can't do anything." I am appalled at the horrendous level of customer service that Sears expects people to accept. I have purchased many Sears appliances and products my entire life and have used their repair service in the past.
WHAT HAPPENED TO THEM??? I will NEVER buy another Sears product again.

Ordered and Paid for a French Door Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

N COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO -- I paid on 8.1.2014 over 1600.00$ for the above refrigerator, this should be delivered (date on ticket) on 8.8.2014; 2-hr window between 1 and 3 pm. I was waiting, 4 pm no item and no call. I called again and then I be told they will still deliver on Friday. 1 hr later no call, no item. The next call I made at 8.30 pm, the person said I do still get for sure the item. Nothing.

On 9.50 pm I called back (before they close the store). I get again the answer no refrigerator on the 8.8. I be on the list for the 8.15 (I made 6 calls, one of them hang up on me). Where is here the customer service? I'll go to the store this morning and ask for my money back. I'll never buy anything from Sears anymore. I'm very disappointed. Now friends told me Sears cannot be too long anymore in business with a service like this.

Service nightmare
By -

I'd like to share my ongoing nightmare of circumstances surrounding the repair of a refrigerator I purchased through Sears. I have been attempting for several weeks to have this refrigerator, which is warranted, serviced. I've provided a timeline which includes my several, albeit, unsuccessful attempts to remedy this ongoing situation.

July 5, 2011, 1300-1700 hours: Pursuant to my calling and making an appointment, a Sear's service repairman was scheduled to come to my house between 1300 – 1700 hours, to evaluate my refrigerator. At 2000 hours, the serviceman arrived and stated he needed to order some parts. He arranged for the parts to be sent directly to my house, and scheduled an installation appointment for July 15, 2011, between the hours of 0800-1200 hours.

July 13, 2011: In anticipation of the July 15, 2011 appointment, and per the serviceman's instructions, I emptied and unplugged my refrigerator.

July 15, 2011, 0800-1200 hours: I arranged to be, and was, at my house between the hours of 8:00 AM and 12:00 PM. 1400 hours: I called the general Sears repair number and inquired as to where the repairman was and what time I might expect his arrival. I was notified that a message was being sent to the repairman and he would call me within a few minutes. 1500 hours: Once again, I called the general Sears repair number. This time I was informed that the serviceman was running late and would arrive by 1730 hours.

1545 hours: The serviceman called me and stated he an emergency, was not coming out, and that he rescheduled the appointment to July 23, between the hours of 1300-1700 hours. I told him I that would not work and needed someone out immediately. He stated I needed to call the general number to reschedule.

1550: I called the general number, explained the situation and asked to reschedule the appointment the repairman made for me on July 23, 2011 between 1300-1700 hours. I was told they could not reschedule the appointment as I have an “active” appointment scheduled for today between 0800-1200 hours.

I stated that time had already passed and that the repairman told me he rescheduled me for July 23, 2011, between 1300-1700 hours and that I needed an earlier appointment as I currently have house guests (with more arriving). I asked to speak to the supervisor and was told she was busy. I asked to have her call back and was told she would return my call within an hour.

1850: Once again, I called and explained the situation and that the supervisor who was to call me within an hour, had not returned my call. This time I was told that I qualify for “emergency service” and a message was sent to routing. I could expect a return call by early the next morning (July 16, 2011).

July 16, 2011, 0930 hours: I called to follow up on my “emergency service” and was told there were no technicians (repairmen) available today and they don't work on Sunday. I was told someone would call me within 12 hours and that I was still scheduled for service on July 23, 2011. I told them I needed someone immediately and was told there were no servicemen available and they didn't work on Sunday (July 17, 2011).

*No one returned my call. I placed another call and was told someone should call me back sometime within the next two days. Again, I stated that was unacceptable as I have a party of 30-40 people arriving on July 22, 2011. Again I was told no one worked on Sunday and if July 23, 2011 didn't work, they could come out on July 25, 2011 or later.

July 18, 2011, 0940 hours: I again called as no one had returned my calls and was told the earliest someone could come out would be July 23, 2011. Again, I asked to speak to a supervisor, who actually did return my call. The supervisor, **, told me that within two hours, he would have someone from the “Blue Ribbon Customer Service” call me. I also indicated I lost a lot of food due to this situation and he told me I was entitled to a “food loss protection” up to $200.

1035 hours: ** from “Blue Ribbon Customer Service” called. She assigned me a Case Number and told me she would get someone out as soon as possible. She did call back and told me a repairman was scheduled to arrive on July 21, 2011, between 1300-1700 hours. I asked her about the “food loss protection” and was told my specific warranty did not cover it. She also stated that she put in the notes that no one was to change/modify or cancel the July 21, 2011 appointment without her being notified directly.

July 21, 2011, 0600 hours: In preparation for the serviceman, I again unplugged my refrigerator and stored my perishables in an ice chest. (More food as I'm preparing for 30-40 guests.) 1537 hours: The repairman called and said he was about 15 minutes out. Again, I waited. 1635 hours: The repairman called and stated he was not coming out and sent a routing for another serviceman to come out.

1657 hours: I called the “Blue Ribbon Customer Service” representative, ** and left a message. The call was after her normal work hours, so I called their alternative number and explained the situation. They stated that someone should call me by close of business tomorrow (July 22, 2011). I again stated I needed someone out immediately. Once again my food is thawing out and this time it's enough to feed 30-40 people.

1700 hours (approximate): I made several calls and was finally able to get a private repair company that sent someone out to put the parts in the refrigerator. He arrived around 1830 hours, put the parts in and expressed concern that the original problem may have been misdiagnosed.

IN CONCLUSION: After three weeks of numerous attempts to have, what one might refer to as a “simple” repair, the situation remains unresolved. I have taken time off work, lost a substantial amount of perishable foods, had overnight guests whom I've had to entertain in a third-world modality and to boot, have 30-40 people coming over tomorrow for a major celebration. Additionally, I've taken time off from work, sat around the house for hours on end, in anticipation of the repairman's arrival.

It boggles my mind that a company (Sears) with a supposed good and reliable reputation has taken me on the chase of my life. I'm at wit's end. I'm afraid Sears will not reimburse me for my time, my lost food and the private repairman whom I hired in a last-minute desperation.

Company Response 7/22/2011:

Dear Ms. DogPatchLair2:

We found this post and I wanted to reach out and express our concern and our deepest apologies for this situation. When we set up a service call, we anticipate that we can get the service tech to your home and the service completed within the time frame we give you. The issue with your service was most likely because a technician was held on service appointments that took longer than expected or as the tech told you he had an emergency and couldn't get another tech to your home. We can't ask a tech to leave a job partially done in order to make the next appointment(s). We wouldn't do that to you or any of our customers. We also can't know how long a particular job is going to take until the technician gets to the job and diagnoses the issue. Many times it takes longer because we are not going to cut corners for the sake of time. This does cause delays on occasion, but sacrificing quality for time is simply not an option for us. Of course, this is not an excuse, just an explanation. I can understand your frustration and inconvenience while waiting so many different dates for the tech to arrive. I can only imagine the hassel and frustration you are feeling. We would like to talk with you to see how we can make this right for you and make sure that everything that can be done for you is being done.

My name is Susan and I'm part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at so we can get this resolved for you. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the refrigerator was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (DogPatchLair2) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,
Susan R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Ridiculous About Serving Customer
By -

ILLINOIS -- Sears repair service is the worst in the world. I first called Sears on 2/21 to come out for my refrigerator. Freezer side of my refrigerator stopped working. The tech comes out and sees that one of the sensor for the ice maker is not working and that's why the freezer side is not working. So he orders the part and according to him “he put a rush on it". Mind you, we are talking about a refrigerator here and all my groceries are going bad and I can't buy more groceries because of the freezer. I called them on 2/25 to find out the status on the part. People at Sears have no clue about the part, they have no tracking # whatsoever.

So finally one guy tells me if the part doesn't arrive by Monday 2/28, call us. Sure enough, Monday comes by and we still don't have the part. So I call Sears again and wondering what's going on. Again no one has any clue. After being on the phone with different reps for couple of hours, I get a chance to speak with a so called supervisor. He assures me that my refrigerator will be fixed on Tuesday. I told him, more power to him if you can have the part and a technician out here tomorrow.

He said if I want to bet him. I said, I don't want to bet him but if he wants to take this challenge, be my guest. All I wanted was, my refrigerator fixed. He said, if he can't get this fixed, I can have his job (like I need his pathetic job with the ridiculous company) He said to call back Tuesday and speak to him if this thing is not resolved (he even gave me his Employee ID# and his extension#, which God only knows, even exist). I knew that he was full of hot air, so I took it upon myself and sent out a nasty gram to the following Sears executives: **

I didn't know if it's going to work on but it was worth the shot. After that, I did little more research and found a number for their "Executive customer service". I spoke with them and explain to them that it has been a week and no one has any clue on the part. The representative there, assured me that the part should arrive tomorrow BLAH BLAH BLAH. Well on Tuesday 3/1, the tech shows up and asks us for the part.

We are like, how the heck we know, you are the one who ordered it. He said, OK, he will reschedule his appointment for 3/3 and the part should arrive by then. I also received a call from the Executive customer service stating that they are responding to my email. So I was happy that my nasty gram wasn't a waste of time and energy. Couple hours after the tech leaves, the part shows up.

So I called and scheduled an appointment for 3/2. Now the interesting thing is, I am in IL, and Sears sends out a part from California VIA UPS Ground. Grounds takes 5 business day from California to IL. Now, one day for them to come take a look, 5 days for part to get here and one additional day for them to come out and install part. We are into 9 days of not having our freezer. It gets better. The tech that came out was the same tech that came out the first day. I had told him that the water had stopped working too but he apparently ignored me.

So when he comes in on 3/2 (funny, he doesn't even ring a bell and puts a "sorry we missed you" sticky on the door and was about to leave, I happened to see him and ran out to stop him, he claims that he rang the bell and tried calling on my cell, what a bull crap). So when he comes in to install the ice maker, he just installs the ice maker and about to walk out. I asked him, how long will it take for it work? "He said 8 hours". I said fine but what about the water? He was like "what about the water"?

I told him that I informed him on the first day that the water was not working. So he goes behind the refrigerator and says "Oh it needs a valve and he will order it". So my wife asks him, "what, another week for the part"? He goes "yeah" without any worries. Fine, it's only water, I can live with it. 12 hours go by and the freezer still not working and it's Thursday 3/3 now. So I reach out to the "executive customer service" and told her the tech was piece of work. He didn't do crap. So she apologized and said that she will send out another tech to come out on Friday between 8-12 on 3/4. Very frustrating but I had no other choice.

We waited till about 12:15 on 3/4 and no one shows up. I called Sears and they said that tech was running little late and he will call us. I called them back again at 12:45 pm and the person there said that he will be there in 30 minutes. I got little busy and didn't get a chance to call them until 2:30 to find out where the heck the tech was. They said, the tech took it upon himself and cancelled the appointment because we had the parts coming on 3/8. I am like what??? Parts were for the water and not for the freezer side.

I was on the phone with at least 12 different rude people until 5:00 pm (I am not exaggerating) who had no clue what's going on and reading off the freaking scripts. I finally was able to get a hold of another executive customer service person and she said that she's going to have the tech call you. So the tech finally calls me and I explain to him that the parts that other moron tech ordered were for the water and not the freezer. I know this because, he told us that it's going to work in 8 hours, so why would he order other freezer parts (may be lying so won't get into trouble? Humn... interesting).

He was really apologetic and said that he's going to have a senior tech come out on Monday 3/7. I was fuming at this point, now we are going into 3rd week and the freezer still not working. So I sent out another nasty gram to the following executives: **

So this morning on 3/7, I received another call from the customer service saying that, we will have to cancel the appointment because the parts are on order and no point of tech coming out. At that point, I wanted to reach out to the person on the other side of the phone and choke them. I explain to her that the parts were for the water and not the freezer and I begged her not to cancel the appointment. So she was nice enough to not cancel the appointment. I also reached out the tech who called me on Friday and asked him for help. He was really nice and reached out the tech supposed to come out and ensured that he was still coming out.

So finally today the senior tech came out, was nice and professional and knew what he was doing. He checked several things and told us what to do and said that someone has to come out and install the parts are coming and it should work. This guy seems to know what he's doing so I trust that it will be fixed in next couple of days. But shame on Sears for letting it go this far. I didn't ask to repair a rocket, it's a freaking refrigerator. It's ridiculous that it takes 3 weeks to service a refrigerator. I wouldn't recommend their service to anyone.

Had my wife been working, either her or I had to miss out 4 work days and not to mention, that we have to go out to Walmart to get some water throw away some groceries. PLEASE DON'T USE SEARS unless you REALLY want to take some blood pressure medication...

Very Very bad service
By -

In Feb, 2009, we bought a side by side refrigerator/freezer with a dual cooling system from Sears. In May of 2010 our water dispenser quit, and we noticed the fridge was not as cool. The problem got worse so we called Sears Repair and scheduled a repair appointment.

I took time off work in order to be at the house between 8 am and 12 pm. The repairman came out on June 9 and diagnosed the problem - the fridge cooling system had frozen up - there was no problem with the freezer. He ordered some parts and on June 15th I again took time off work and the repairman returned, installed the parts and the fridge was once again working. He determined the work and the parts were not covered under our warranty and charged us $281.

Three weeks later the fridge again quit cooling & again, no problem with the freezer. We contacted Sears Repair on July 11th via the internet. Sears Repair responded that they would schedule us for July 20. I responded that Sears had already been out once and “fixed the problem” and that I now had a non-working fridge and according to their schedule, would continue to have a non-working fridge for another nine days. Sears Repair then decided to schedule me for an “emergency repair” and set up the appointment between 1 and 5 pm on July 13. I again took time off work to be at home when the repairman arrived.

The repairman did not show up. I did receive a call a little after 4 pm advising me that the repairman was running late and would arrive between 5 and 6 - Nobody showed up. At 7:20 pm, we were called and told that the repairman would not be able to make it out that night and that Sears would call us to reschedule.

On July 14, I again talked with Sears Repair, and we started the process of scheduling all over again. This time they said they could schedule me for July 20 -- leaving us ten days without a fridge. I explained my situation to them -- a non-working fridge, and advised them that the appointment they missed was an “emergency repair”. Sears then decided that they could schedule yet another “emergency appointment” and set it up for Friday, July 16 between 1 and 5 pm -- now only 6 days without a fridge.

I again made arrangements to take time off work to be at the house when the repairman arrived. He showed up a little after 4 pm and proceeded to go to work on the Fridge. The freezer was still working just fine. The repairman pulled a circuit board out of the back of the fridge and performed some tests, and then got into the fridge and saw that our cooling system was once again frozen up. He thawed the cooling system (removed a bunch of ice) and then determined that a heating element on the cooling system (keeps the cooling system from forming ice) was not working -- it had a split in it.

He then determined that the repairs the previous repairman had undertaken were not necessary and that our cooling system was still under warranty. He reversed the previous $281 charge and ordered the parts he felt we would need. He explained that while we just needed the heating element it could only be ordered as one unit that was a combination of heating element and evaporator.

He then determined that because he had cleared the ice that the fridge would function until a repairman could return and install the heating element. He turned the fridge on and waited to confirm that the blower was working that the fridge and freezer were cooling correctly. Feeling confident the fridge would run for a few more weeks, he offered me a Saturday appointment on July 31, so that I would not have to take any more time off work, which I gladly accepted.

Later on that night, I tried to use the ice dispenser in the freezer and learned that it was no longer working. I figured that when the repairman pulled and tested the circuit board that he did not correctly reinstall it as the ice dispenser was working just fine prior to his repair appointment. The next morning I noticed that the fridge was once again not cooling. In fact, it was sitting at 53 degrees. So, once again I called Sears Repair. And once again we started all over again with setting up an appointment over a week out.

I once again explained the problem - how many times the repairman had been there; the fact that I had been scheduled twice for an emergency repair, etc, etc, and in addition, now the ice maker and dispenser were not working. The Sears Representative that I was talking to then referred me to a “technical consultant” and we started all over again. Once again I explained my situation, the emergency repair, etc, and as a result, was referred to what I believe was called “customer solutions”, and we stared all over again. Once again I explained the situation, and asked if someone could stop by that day and look at the fridge.

I explained about the circuit board, and told Sears Repair that I suspected that it had not been correctly reinstalled. I got lots of apologies, acknowledgement that I did indeed sound frustrated, but the soonest they could get someone back out to the house would be July 28. That would leave us without a fridge for 14 days and there was no guarantees that the fridge would be successfully repaired on the 28th I explained again that I didn't have a working fridge, and according to their repair schedule, that I would be without a fridge for almost three weeks, I again requested that someone stop by the house and look at the fridge that day.

Again with apologies, I was told that Sears Repair would not be able to stop by that day, and the earliest time would be July 28. We went back and forth for a while, and I expressed my frustration at their inability to properly diagnose and fix the problem - and their lack of customer service. It got me nowhere. I was told repeatedly that there was nothing else they could do for me. I ended it by hanging up. Shortly after that, I was unpleasantly provided with the reality of why my Ice Maker and Dispenser were not working. It was because my freezer was no longer working. It was rapidly thawing!

How did it all end? That day, we went Refrigerator shopping, we had no choice! Sears left us high and dry without a functioning fridge and freezer and would do nothing about it until July 28. Bad, very bad, repair and customer service! Unbelievable, uncaring, unconscionable customer service! In addition, during this whole two month issue, I also stopped by the Sears store to talk with the appliance manager to express my dismay that I had a fridge that was not working (at that time) just 15 months after I purchased it.

He explained that if it had been a Kenmore product maybe he could help me. However he did agree to make some inquiries on my behalf and took my contact information. We never heard from him again. I also called and asked to speak with the store manager, explaining that I felt that he might be able to weigh in and help me move the process along to. I was assured he would get the message and would call me back after 1:00 pm that day. I never heard from him! This was not the Sears store or service department that we have been accustomed to more than 37 years as Sears customers. Satisfaction Guaranteed? Not anymore.

There's more to this, with regard to repeatedly being asked if I had an extended warranty, did I want to buy an extended warranty, - you know, you wouldn't have this problem if only you had bought an extended warranty. Does that mean that if I did have an extended warranty, the repairman would have shown up with the problem diagnosed correctly with the parts on hand and the fridge have been repaired the first time? Would the problem have been prevented if I had the extended warranty? I don't think so.

I also had a discussion with Sears Repair twice, regarding my hope that based on the history of this problem, the repairman would show up with the correct parts to make the repair, rather than looking at the fridge and determining that parts would have to be ordered, thus turning one repair appointment into many, depending on a correct diagnosis and my continued need to take time off work to be at home during the “four” hour window that Sears scheduled. And, there was the issue about the cooling failure being a common problem with the brand I had purchased, notwithstanding a new fridge only lasting 15 months.

Then there was a customer service representative who wanted to diagnose and deliver an opinion over the phone, based on the parts the repairman ordered. Point is, that person was not present when the repairman was at my house, and the repairman explained to me what the problem was, and why he took the action that he did to order the part. Then there is the combined 12 hours of personal time I had to take from work in order to be at the house to meet the repairman. And of course, the no show appointment. Very very bad repair and customer service by a company who used to bend over backwards to ensure the customer was satisfied!

And, there is the company I bought the new fridge from. Upon learning that the fridge we decided to purchase would be on backorder for a few weeks, they delivered a loaner fridge to me, free of charge. Their idea, not mine. That's the kind of customer service we would have received from Sears not too long ago... Finally, after all of this, why would I ever do business with Sears again?

Sears will not honor warranty due to my pets!
By -

HOFFMAN ESTATES -- I purchased a refrig. in 2006 from Sears with a 5 year Warranty on Sealed Refrig System. On Feb 4 a tech came out to repair a freon leak (SEALED SYSTEM ISSUE) & add more freon. I have the same problem again, but they refuse to come back out to my house citing "unsanitary work conditions" because I have pet rats (they are in cages, these are fancy rats, pets). The second time they were supposed to come out, someone noted my account that a tech was at my house & rats were running all around & it was unsanitary, ONLY PROBLEM IS, NOBODY ACTUALLY CAME TO MY HOUSE THAT DAY.

From then on, I've spoken to Teleservice Customer Solution Dept. as well as the International Customer Service Dept. every time someone has made me another appt, the service unit down in Lakewood, NJ cancels it. They don't even call me when they cancel it, so each day customer service is scheduled, I sit & wait at my house (my daughters have missed preschool, dance & gymnastics on these days). They don't even call me to tell me they cancelled! Nobody in customer service will send out a second person to check out my house even to see that the first tech lied.

I even had a sales tech at my house today from Sears to discuss installing central air. When I told him about what was going on w/ them refusing to come to my house because of my pets, he couldn't believe it. Nothing about my house is unsanitary/unclean! The rats are our pets! This is discrimination & I've been without my refrigerator for 3 weeks now & NOBODY FROM SEARS WILL HELP ME! I've been a LOYAL customer buying my tractor, hot water heater, water tank, oil furnace, dishwasher, refrig, stove, microwave & THEY PUT THE SIDING ON MY HOUSE & put in a sliding glass door & this is how they treat a loyal customer???

I even spoke to a manager at The Phillipsburg, NJ store, thinking that since this is where a lot of our recent purchases were made she'd do something to help me... even if it was driving to my house to see it's not what the technician said it is. She refused & said there's nothing she could do about it. Apparently there's nothing anyone at Sears can do to help me. This tells me now that I've been blacklisted from service, all of my appliances that came with warranties (oil furnace, hot water heater, etc.) or if we have trouble with anything we bought from them they're not going to provide service.

This is so unfair & it's discrimination based on the pets I have! And they called my house unsanitary work environment! It's far from that! I have dinner parties at my house, I have play groups here with the moms' club where they bring their children here, we have parties here! And they insult me like this. I cannot believe nobody I have spoken to and by now it's been like 30 people can do anything to help me! My case number with them is ** & I hope this complaint goes to a director level within the corporate office... otherwise nothing is going to ever get resolved. This has been going on for THREE WEEKS now I've been without my refrigerator.

The latest conversation with a woman in Teleservice Customer Solution Dept. was that The Lakewood service unit has permanently taken me out of their system due to my "RAT INFESTATION." How's that for customer service?

Sears Did Not Honor Refrigerator Warranty
By -

My 2-year old Kenmore refrigerator quit running on August 12, 2007 due to a defective compressor, which is covered under the 5-year warranty for sealed components. When you call Sears, you get the usual options to select and questions to answer. Then you are put on hold awaiting a live person. This person will be the next person available and could be in any city or state. You can't get the same person you talked to last time. You can give the employee ID number and they still don't know who it is. You must start over with the entire story after you repeat your phone number, name and address.

Several times I was disconnected after telling my story and had to start over with someone else. I frequently got conflicting answers, like “no, they don't do warranty repairs” to “yes, they do warranty repairs.” This is the worst customer service experience I have ever had. Below is a summary of my stressful experience. Following that is the unbelievable details. You will see that Sears continuously changed their story. I got the impression that they were trying to wear me down and drop the issue.


  1. My first phone call for service, Sears said the refrigerator was no longer under warranty and it would take a week before Sears could service it.

  2. I said I would call someone else for service because I needed it repaired sooner.

  3. When I called back and explained that a local non-Sears repair service said the problem was the compressor, Sears did not tell me that the warranty was now void. In fact, my warranty description in my manual did not say the warranty would be voided if someone else worked on the refrigerator. Sears proceeded to sell me the service agreement saying that the compressor would be covered under warranty and the service agreement would cover the labor. They did not say that the service agreement would not cover the repair since some else worked on the refrigerator. I asked them to fax the terms of the Service Smart agreement. They said they did not have faxing capabilities. I asked them to email it; they said they could not, that I would have to wait until it arrived in the mail about 10 days after paying for it.

  4. They proceeded to schedule an appt. A week went by, and then the service tech arrived and said he would not replace the compressor because someone else worked on it. He proceeded to write a report that was inaccurate and made it look like the repairperson had damaged the refrigerator.

  5. I called Sears back and explained that the compressor is covered under the 5-yr warranty. They say the “agreement” is void because someone worked on the refrigerator. I can't get them to consider the factory warranty and forget about the service agreement. My manual does not state the warranty is void if someone other than Sears works on the unit.

  6. 9/5/07: Received the service agreement contract. If says this agreement does not cover service required as a result of a repair by someone not authorized by Sears. The compressor failed before the repair tech arrived. I called him because the refrigerator quit running. The failed compressor was not caused by the repair tech.

  7. I asked multiple Sears personnel if I could fax them the write-up from the local repair tech, which indicates the compressor, was not working upon his arrival. They said they could not receive faxes. The non-Sears repair tech has agreed to appear in Small Claim court if it comes to this.

  8. I filed a claim with the Better Business Bureau. Sears said my warranty was void because the non-Sears repair tech damaged the refrigerator. This is not true. I will file with Small Claims.

  9. I did Win in small claims court because Sears did not show up.

Below is the detail:

  1. My 2-year old Kenmore refrigerator stopped running on 8/13.

  2. 8/13: Called Sears, Service Tech could not come until 8/21.

  3. I could not go w/o a refrigerator for that long, so I called a local service. Only the sealed units were still under warranty. He replaced the start/run switch for $190. It did not help. He said was a faulty compressor and he would not touch it since it was under warranty.

  4. Made the appt. And asked them to have the service tech bring a compressor when he comes so it could be repaired right away.

  5. Cannot bring compressor at first visit. Must come, charge $65, diagnose, and then order the part. Takes a few days to get in. Then they will set up the next appt to install.

  6. Cannot have 2 appointments on the books, so they cannot set up the second appt now.

  7. Compressor is under warranty, but the labor is not.

  8. We stocked food into coolers and purchased many bags of ice. Eventually we bought a small refrigerator for $140. We had already lost about $125 in food.

  9. After I made the appt. I spoke to Employee x. He said I have to select and pay for the plan prior to making the appt.

  10. Must cancel my appt if I want to take the plan, and then reschedule.

  11. Can't provide an est. cost. so we cannot decide in advance if we want the plan.

  12. Called to get service plan. Went through all the automated questions again, a person put me on hold for at least 5 min., and then we were disconnected.

  13. I called back and got the plan. She confirmed that the plan was accepted even though I had an appt.

  14. 8/21: The service tech said he would not repair the compressor and that it was no longer under warranty because someone other than Sears worked on the refrigerator. A new compressor would be $452 and the labor $177. He didn't give us the $500 per the Service plan agreement.

  15. 8/21: I called Sears and spoke with Employee y of the Dept of Repairs. She said the warranty was voided when the other repair service replaced the switch even though they did not touch the compressor. The unit was still sealed.

  16. 8/21: I requested to speak with her supervisor. She said she was the “top” and there was no one above her to talk to. She said that even if I talked to the CEO, he would say the compressor was not covered under the warranty. I persisted and she left a message with the NCR Dept. who must respond within 24 hours.

  17. 8/22: The NCR Dept. did not respond. I called them. They were unfamiliar with the situation and I started from scratch. She said that I needed to call the mfg. for the warranty. I said it was Sears, She said “no, it is Kenmore.” She said that the service tech could not do the mfg warranty work. Then why did they send him? I asked for the $65 service charge to be refunded and to cancel the service agreement. She gave me the Cancellation dept. Gave all my info again. They don't handle the Service Smart cancellations. They will transfer me to 1-877-469-5663. Employee z cancelled the agreement. He said the service tech can do warranty work.

  18. 8/22: I called the Kenmore number. It was Sears. Selected repairs and was transferred to warranty, but got the Tech Line who handles Service Smart disputes. He reviewed my info. The mesa service tech had reported that the wires were hanging loose and shorted the compressor. That is false. I explained what happened and offered to fax my receipt and description of the repair. Employee A “they” have been looking at this as not being covered by the Service Smart agreement. He feels it should still be covered under mfg warranty and there is no need to fax the repair slip. He was the first person who actually “listened” to me and had any empathy. He will have Employee B call the Mesa Service Unit tomorrow morning and get this resolved.

  19. 8/23/07: Employee B has not called me. Called 1-800-767-2000, Opt 1 and asked for Employee B. No such person. They suggested I call Nat'l Customer Relations at 800-927-7836 or Protection Services Resolution Center at 1-888-528-6326. I asked them to connect me to the Service Smart Tech Line in High Point, NC (800-827-6655). They did and someone took a message for Employee B since she was out to lunch.

  20. 8/23: Employee B called me. We became disconnected and she called me right back. The Tech Mgr from Mesa has not returned her call. However, she said the compressor should be covered under the warranty and the motherboard, if needed, is most likely covered as well. She will order the parts and schedule service from Mesa. The next avail appt is Wednesday, Aug 29, between 8 and noon. She will tell them not to send the same service tech. He should have at a minimum given us $500 towards a new appliance per the Service Smart agreement. Employee B will reactivate the Service Smart agreement I cancelled. We can cancel after the appt if it is not needed. Can confirm the appt by calling Tech Line again at l 800-775-2023. I can also reach her at that number. She will be out until next Wed, but will in during our service call in case we have a problem and need to contact her.

  21. 8/23: I called 800-775-2023 and asked for Employee B. She was gone or away from her desk. I left a message. Perhaps the motherboard should be ordered right away in case it is needed. I don't want to wait another week for a second service appt.

  22. 8/28/07: Sears left VM at 6 PM to cancel tomorrow repair appt.

  23. 8/28/07 11:00 AM: Called 800-775-2023. Employee A and Employee B are out. Employee C confirmed that the Service Smart agreement has not been reactivated. I explained that Employee B was going to do 3 things for me last Thursday. 1) Order a compressor, 2) reactivate my Service Smart, 3) schedule a service appt for Wed. Aug 29 between 8 and noon. We have yet received the compressor. I asked Employee C to leave a message for Employee B so she sees it first thing in the morning in case we need to reschedule the service appt.

  24. 8/29/07: Talked with Employee B. She said they cancelled the appt. For the same reason they did not repair the refrigerator the first time (they determined the compressor was not under warranty). Why did they make this appt in the first place if they were going to refuse to honor it? Why wait until the night before the appt. That adds 6 more days w/o a refrigerator. Employee B will call them. She said Sears must legally replace the compressor.

  25. 8/29/07: Sears Repair in Mesa called to set up appt. for Fri or Sat. Set it up for Fri, Aug 31, 8-noon.

  26. 8/29/07, 12: 45 PM: I called the Tech Line. The gal confirmed that the compressor is covered because I did not have Service Smart “before” the other company worked on the refrigerator. She confirmed my Service Smart was reactivated to cover the cost of the labor to replace the compressor. She will have Employee B check on the status of the compressor and get back to me.

  27. 8/30/07: I called Employee B to confirm part was ordered. She did not respond to that question, but said that Service Smart could not cover the repair because someone else worked on the refrigerator. I explained again that the compressor is covered under the “factory” warranty. She said “You have a good point, I'll look into that and get back to you.

  28. 8/30/07, 2PM: Employee B called to say that the warranty is void because someone worked on the refrigerator. She cited their service tech notes that say the previous repairman damaged the refrigerator. I told her, as I had told her before, that I would fax her the repair slip for the previous tech that states that the compressor was weak and maybe bad before he even finished his repair. After all, I called repair service because the refrigerator was not running. So, something was wrong BEFORE the repairman came. She said I could get $500 from Sears (my $240 that I paid for the service plan plus their $260) but it must be spent at Sears. I told her I would never buy an appliance from Sears again. I then told her I would contact an atty. She said she could no longer talk to me and gave me the number of Nat'l Customer Relations (800-927-7836).

  29. Called Nat'l Customer Relations and explained briefly what is going on to **. She said they handle service agreements, not warranty. I should call the Mesa service unit regarding warranty 480-497-7733. I have talked with them in the past and they refuse service because they say the warranty is void.

  30. 9/13/07: Retrieved Small Claims form to complete.

  31. 9/13/07: Called Sears Repair number, selected warranty. Explained the situation to **. She said she could not determine where we bought our refrigerator, just when. But she said if I would cancel my Service agreement, then make a repair appt., the compressor will be covered under warranty. She said to call 888-528-6326.

  32. 9/13/07: Called 888-528-6326, spoke with Employee D and said I wanted to cancel my agreement. She put me on hold and Employee E answered, a Sears Tech Support. I said I wanted to cancel the agreement. He started to read the notes. I summarized it. He said the compressor would not be covered if someone else worked on it. But they would refund my $240 for the agreement. Then he said there were a lot of notes and he better speak with his supv first (He said “she,” I suspect it was Employee B). He said someone would call me back tomorrow. His dep'ts direct line is 800-775-2023. That is the number for Employee B's dept.

  33. 9/14/07: Called 800-549-4505 (customer service). Spoke with the regulator compliance specialist. She is working on my claim with the BBB and plans to respond soon. Her number is 800-762-3049, ext **. I explained that I had not been given a chance to provide the local service tech's findings and accurate description of repairs. She gave me her fax number **.

  34. 9/18/08: Sears responded to the BBB claim saying they would not pay the claim. They said to call for a full refund of the service agreement plan. I had to call two or 3 phone numbers and speak with multiple people to get the refund. They tried to charge me for the service visit in which the service tech did nothing. I refused to pay that. After being on put on hold, they came back and agreed on a full refund.

  35. 10/5/07: Sears replied to the BBB complaint stating that they believe the repair tech damaged the refrigerator and therefore they would not honor the warranty.

  36. I will file with small claims on 10/9/07.

  37. I won in small claims court because Sears did not show up.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Refrigerators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 28 ratings and
103 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
Compare Department Stores