Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Air Conditioners Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Extended Warranty , Two Weeks to Do Repairs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ILLINOIS -- I have a window A/C unit that was purchased in 2012 along with the extended service warranty. This past weekend the A/C unit stopped working so I called on Monday 5/18/15 to get someone to look at it. They told me someone would be there that day to look at it between the hours of 8:00 am and 5:00 pm. At 4:00 pm no one had been here or called so I called the warranty number to see if someone was still going to come. I was told "no" that the appointment had to be changed.

No one called me to tell me and I took the day off from work because they said someone had to be here. The next soonest appointment wasn't until May 30th. Really? That is too long to wait. Explained that I have health problems that I need my air to be working. Also that I took off work and cannot do that again... Can't afford to. They told me that was the soonest they could have anyone here. That is totally unacceptable and asked to speak to a supervisor. He came on the phone and told me I could call a number to get a rental.

So I called this number and was told I have to find my own rental place, pick up and install my own rental A/C unit, keep my receipts and they would reimburse me my costs. I explained that I don't know of any place that rents window A/C units and if I did, I certainly am unable to install it myself. She then told me they could allow me $50.00 for a fan... I have fans. They don't help when the humidity is 90% and you can't breathe. There was nothing more she could do. So I called the service dept. back and they again told me that there is nothing they can do that the 30th was the soonest they could be here.

I called a local repair man who came out today to look at it. It cannot be fixed, the compressor isn't working and it is leaking oil all over the ground. It would cost less to replace it than it would be to fix it. I called the warranty dept. again, this time to tell them that the air can not be fixed that I was told it had to be replaced... Trying to explain that I cannot go without air... I live alone and have no one to help me, have breathing problems and that is why I bought the extended warranty to avoid this problem to begin with.

Still cannot have anyone here before May 30th. I have to go almost two weeks without air. I have already missed two days of work trying to get this resolved with no results. I am so upset at this point... I will never buy another thing from Sears ever. I don't recommend anyone else to buy from them either and the extended warranty... What a joke that is.

Replies
Advertisement
Incorrect Installation and Repairs
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased Carrier central air units from Sears Home Improvement, and they were installed by Sears on Aug. 19, 2006. Along with that, I was sold a 5 yr master protection plan and 5 yr repair protection plan. I paid $9000.00, including $715.00 for the protection plan only. In May of 2010, I went to turn my units on and found that the outside unit fan kept stopping every 3-4 seconds, so the a/c unit was not putting out cold air.

I called Sears, and one technician came. He said that the thermostat was no good - he said that it was a "cheap one", and replaced it. But even after he switched out the thermostat, there was no difference. He then replaced the PCB assembly. Again, there was NO difference. The outside fan still stopped every 3-4 seconds, and there still was no cold air. Eventually, he gave up and he called his office for help and two other technicians came. Clearly, the first technician did not know what he was doing, and just kept making useless changes that added more charges to my final bill.

The other two technicians checked the units and quickly determined that the unit was leaking, so it was low on Freon. They were upset at what the first technician did, who had already disappeared without a word while the other technicians were working. After they filled it with more Freon, the units and fans started to work and cold air came out. They gave me a service description receipt, including $84.68 for thermostat, which had nothing to do with low Freon problem. I was also charged $149.78 for the PCB assembly, which did NOT aid in fixing the leak.

While handing me the receipt, they added "You're lucky that you don't need to pay this $572.35, because you have a 5 yr protection plan." On the receipt, which I still have, it showed they performed repairing leak problem, but they did not tell me what they did to specifically repair the leak. All they did was refill the Freon. THERE WAS NO DISCUSSION ABOUT HOW TO FIND, MONITOR OR REPAIR THE LEAK. If there was a leak, it means that the whole unit was not installed correctly from the beginning. Why else would brand new central air units leak after only a couple of years?

On July 09, 2012, the first day I went to use the unit since the summer of 2011, the exact same symptom happened. The outside unit kept stopping every 3-4 seconds, and there was no cold air. I called Sears, and the technician that came out said Freon level is low, and that there was a leak. I told him, “Sears technicians ‘repaired' it two years ago,” but since the same issue occurred, it meant it was not repaired correctly.

He said, “I have to fill the Freon and use a dye in the Freon to find the leak,” and that they would be able to find the leak the NEXT YEAR, and because my protection plan was expired, the cost would be $700. I told him this problem started in 2010 when my units were covered by the protection plan, and if those technicians had fixed it correctly in 2010, this problem wouldn't have happened again this year.

I talked to his office personnel, explaining the same thing I told the technician. I couldn't believe what she said to me. "Didn't you use the unit for the last two years? Were there no problems for last two years?" Even if the units had been working, it doesn't mean that there WASN'T a leak present. The symptoms of the leak only appear AFTER the Freon levels are sufficiently low, so how would I have known that there was still a leak after the technicians had supposedly "repaired" it?

Also, if the only way to determine the location of the leak is to use a dye in the Freon gas, why is it that all THREE DIFFERENT TECHNICIANS that came out to fix the units in 2010 did not do this? Why was I billed for $572.35 for the thermostat, PCB assembly and leak repair in 2010 when the SAME leaking problem occurs again just 1.5 years later? Do you expect me to call a technician every couple years to refill a Freon tank for $247.00?

If the dye had been used in 2010, the leak would have been found the next year in 2011, and the repairs for the leak could have been made while the units were still under the 5 year protection plan. Why do I have to pay $700 for a repair that SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE IN 2011? IN FACT, WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY FOR A LEAKING PROBLEM THAT CAME FROM INCORRECT INSTALLATION?

If the installation had been done correctly in 2006, then there would not have been a leaking issue in 2010, and there wouldn't been ANOTHER leaking problem in 2012, and I wouldn't have had to waste my time with all the unqualified technicians and customer representatives during these past 6 years. At the very least, if the repairs had just been done correctly in 2010, then I wouldn't be dealing with the SAME PROBLEM AGAIN TODAY.

This is not the only issue I've had with the services that Sears provided. I had a water heater tank replaced in 1999 and I bought the new tank from Sears. The technicians from a construction company Sears had hired to install the unit did a horrendous job of the installation, causing the water tank to fail the inspection, and I received a notice from the city with a long list of issues they found with the water heater tank. I took the notice to Sears, and showed them the list and explained how inconvenient this whole process had been. Only then did Sears send competent technicians to come and fix the problems with the tank.

Why is it that Sears continues to hire inept companies and technicians for installations and repairs, which only create more problems and inconveniences to their customers? If the technicians had done the job correctly from the beginning, with the water heater and the air condition units, I wouldn't have had to waste my time and energy trying to solve all these problems.

For 18 years, I have been a loyal customer to Sears, and despite all the problems and issues that have come up during those years, I stayed with Sears hoping that their services would improve. However, because of the horrible service I dealt with over the past several years for the a/c units, I AM COMPLETELY DISAPPOINTED AND UNSATISFIED WITH SEARS.

Replies
Central Air Installation
By -

In May 2007 my husband and I accepted a bid from Sears for a new install of a central air system in our home. We had done our research and asked a lot of questions. We asked if it would be Sears employees doing the actual work in our home, because it was important to us that we were dealing with Sears and not a sub-contractor. His answer was yes. We asked when they would be working and he said the great thing about Sears employees was that they worked Monday through Saturday 9:00 to 5:00.

We had a lot of questions about where our thermostat would go, what size of vents we would use and where they would be placed. We thought it was working out great everything we wanted he said would be attainable. It was not our first estimate and it was not our lowest estimate, but he was giving us all the right answers and really talked us into it because we would be dealing with Sears and that was a name we could stand behind. Our salesman John left us and said they would be contacting us in 24-48 hours to schedule a start date probably the next week.

Unfortunately we later realized that our sales person John was more interested in giving us a quick appealing answer than a honest answer he had checked out. Subcontractors for Sears, not Sears employees showed up much more than a week later as promised. They worked Monday through Friday from about 10:00 to 3:00, which doubled the amount of days it should have taken.

They told us there was no way we could have the size of ducts or vents we were quoted. We also could not have the thermostat where we had agreed and that the vents would not be able to be placed where we were promised. The subcontractors fell through our bed-room ceiling and placed a whole in our kitchen wall. They tried to talk us into accepting that they would have the wholes plastered and we would take $50.00 and the paint to do it ourselves. The repairs were eventually done after dealing with three more subcontractors of their choice in and out of our home over the course of the next week.

Calls into weren'€™t returned and we eventually had to work with a separate department at Sears that handles dissatisfied customers. When I finally did receive a call from ** and asked him why when we asked if would be Sears employees in our home he said yes, when after talking to the other Sears representative he was very clear that they never have Sears employees do installs, but always sub-contractors. I was expecting an apology or some remorse instead I got an defense and argument that technically they receive a 1099 tax form and Sears does pay them so that makes them employees.

The more questions I asked the more arguments I got. It felt to me that ** knew the difference between a lie and a very calculated manipulation of the truth that he could argue. We started dealing with ** from Sears to help us correct some of our obvious dissatisfaction. At first it was promising and he seamed genuinely surprised and apologetic about our situation. We came to an agreement of two separate credit amounts that we would receive for compensation.

My husband and I signed both agreements and were told to look for the credits on our bill that may take two cycles to show up. It has now been seven billing cycles and we are still due our second credit. Each month when we receive our statement without the credit we have e-mailed **. If he responds, we are told he'€™ll take care of it and it will be on the next statement. The last two months after our statement have arrived with no credit we have asked for contact information for a supervisor but our requests have been ignored.

We went into this situation thinking that we would be dealing with a company that would take care of us, after all that is why our salesman ** had convinced us to pay a little more. After all we had bought appliances, riding mowers and a countless tools from Sears and never had a problem. We left the situation feeling like they may be too big to deal with things like customer service and satisfaction and when it came time for us to purchase a new refrigerator last month we skipped Sears when we shopped around. At the very minimum I would like to see the second refund we were guaranteed in writing from Sears.

Replies
Still no air since June, Master Protection Agreement
By -

LIBERTY, MISSOURI -- ON June 25th, My air conditioner started not cooling our home. So I called the repair center. They told me to call back on the 26, to be put a sooner list, in case they have any cancellations. The Tech came out on July 2nd,and ordered the part.. The part came in on July 6th, I called ASAP. I was told that July 7th they could get someone out on an emergency basis. My son has asthma. The did not show on the 7th. I called and they said they could get out here on the 9th because all dept. are closed. So on the 9th was another no show.

The 10th a different Tech came out, that part was wrong, he rechecked everything, and ordered a part. That part came in on July 11th, I called and was told they could get a tech out on July 13th. Today is July 13th, The Tech came out this morning. He said that the part which was shipped is not what was ordered, in other words that part won't work. He was very nice, and went to a local parts store, and got the right part.

He came back and put it on, and said that's not the problem. He now thinks it may be the motor. He told me that he may have a motor on his truck, if not he can go back to the part store and get me that motor, and put it in tomorrow. He came back up to the door, and apologized he told me that he spoke to his manager, and was told the he is booked in routing tomorrow and can not come out till Monday to put in the part. He was told he is not to go buy the part tonight either, and the part store will now be closed through the weekend.

The other issue: I spoke to the lemon dept. on the 11th and was told I can rent 3 window units. They gave me some phone numbers who do rentals in my area. I called, and I was told nobody rents window units in my area. So I called back to the Lemon Dept. and was told to call my local Sears and see what they can do. I called, and upon leaving the hospital, I went to Sears before coming home. The manager had no idea what I was talking about, she was on the phone with the lemon dept. , she handed me the phone. That lady was very rude. I explained to her I was just getting out of the hospital, and could not do much.

I am supposed to be bed bound. She approved 2 units to buy, when the lady at Sears said that both units are for small rooms, I asked her if it would cool down a floor, like 1000 sq ft. she said no, do not get that unit for that, it will not work, she told me what will work. We went through all this and the total came to 250.00 to get 2 units. One for the room, and one for the floor, that left one floor with no air. I said great, I made some calls, was told I could borrow the money. Got ready to buy it, and the lady on the phone, said, wait. I got a hold of a rental place, that can order the window units in, I said OH, OK.

So I asked her, can this be taken care of on the phone, and delivered. She said yes, she had it taken care of with ** at rent a center. I asked again, are you sure, cause once I leave here, I'm back down in bed. Yes, not a problem. So I went home and called rent a center. I spoke to **. He told me he could get the units. It would be 30 day per unit. I said OK, He said they do not put them in, but he would see what they can do. I was happy, then he said, I have to get there, fill out paperwork, and if everything goes through, he could get them in the next day. I had no way to get there, I still have no way to get there. I am home in bed!
I am so sick of all this.

I have spoke to every dept, and been passed on here and there all day. Till about 6pm tonight. Then I started writing this letter. I spoke to National Customer Relations, Recovery team, ** with 800-549-4504, I was given the service manager over my local routing, who refused to speak to me, stating he is not in routing and he does not have anything to do within home services at all, he only works in parts. Executive Repair I spoke to Mel, who put me on hold and gave me to ** in the Lemon Law dept. who told me to call back tomorrow.

Everyone was gone now. I spoke to someone early today when I called the recovery team, I was told if my air does not get fixed today to call him back, and he will try to get me a new unit, this has been long enough, and I have gone through enough. That was before they decided it might be the motor? I have been very disappointed with the service I am receiving from you. The Tech are nice, but to get someone to take care of the problems, I go through people treating me like crap from you company. Some are very nice, most are very rude.

On July 14, I spoke to ** with No Lemon Law 1-800-927-7836. I explained everything to her. She called the service dept. and told me even that it does not show in the computer they will have someone out on Mon. She said she got a approval for replacement, if they can not fix it on MON. She has authorized me a new unit. Thank You **, hope I can talk to you again, if my air is still out on Mon.

On July 16, MON. I am waiting for Sears to get here. At 9:30 I call Sears and ask what time the tech is coming out? I was told that I was not home so they took me off their routing today. I have been up since 7am waiting on a tech. Nobody came by, nobody called either phone (which I have had in my hand, or next to me all morning), this was another lie, to no-show me. I called the NO Lemon Law 800-927-7836, I spoke to a different lady, who called routing and they are coming back out, I'€™m their next apt.

The Tech came out and fixed the air, so I thought. About 5pm I called and asked how long it takes to feel a change in the house. They told me it takes up to 24 hours. I said, OK. He offered to call the tech back out, but it can take up to 24 hours. So I said I will wait to see. I called about 8pm and told the office it is 4 degrees hotter. It was 85, now it's 89 degrees in the home.

I pulled all the fans out (3) and put them back in the windows. It is a lot cooler outside than it is in the home. I called back to let you know that the air conditioner is not on. I went outside to see what the problem was. The problem is that it is still not running. I was told they can not get back out here till Next week. I told them thank you, I will call back tomorrow. July 17th at 8am I called the no lemon law dept. and repeated what ** had told me. They told me I had to speak back to **, a ** came on the line. But they told me to call back at 11am and speak to **.

I called the executive repair complaint line 800-690-5650. Spoke to ** to add to my complaint, Instead of writing this long complaint, she is giving me to someone in the No Lemon Law Dept., she is trying to find someone who will take care of this for me, ** said their dept. can not say that they can replace anything, the only ** I spoke with is in. I tried to explain that ** is not in instill 11am, the other ** is the one who told me to call back at 11am, she put me on hold. ** came back, and said ** will call me back today.

She also stated, that they can not replace the unit on the first work order! But she will have ** call me back anyway. ** stayed on the line with me the whole time, then she took the time to write some of the complaint out, and told me I will have this address no later than tomorrow. Thank You **!

Dates on Air. Called - June 25th. Tech came out - July 2nd. Part came in - July 6th. Tech came out - July 10th. Part came in - July 12th. Tech came out - July 13th. NO show - 7th July. NO show - 9th July. NO show - 10th July. NO show - 16th July - came out because I called, they said I was not home! Again!

Dates in the hospital - July 9th due to not breathing, I was put on heart monitors, they thought I either had a stroke, or was going to have heart attack. I am to stay away from all stress!! Dates called for reimbursement for window units - 11th of July. Date out of the hospital - 11th of July. Dates spoke to reimbursement unit - July 11th. Canceled my Dr. Apt on July 16, the tech tired to no-show me again, now I have to wait for him to get here.

Replies
Advertisement
Save Yourself the Headache, Hell and Inconvenience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Sears salesman came out to our house, did an evaluation and sold us a Propane furnace and Electric AC unit and scheduled an installation time. The contractors that were sent left (2) 2 ft x 1 ft holes where old return vents were, cut registers in wrong rooms, and stepped through the ceiling. Within 2 weeks we were having problems.

We found a HUGE water stain underneath where the furnace/blower was up in the attic and the AC not turning on at all. The contractors were sent back out and fixed it (blamed it on us for not changing the filter even though it had only been on 2 weeks). Within a week we had another water stain in the same place. They fixed it. Next day ANOTHER Water stain and more workers to fix it. This has been going on/off for last 6 months.

The other night we came home and the AC/furnace not working AGAIN. The contractors came back out and said that the furnace was set up for natural gas and not propane and it burnt out a switch and "shut off" the whole system. They converted it to propane and it's working for the moment. The contractors say that Sears didn't tell them that we were on propane. We had been using the furnace on the wrong fuel source for over 6 months!

In the 6 months we've had the system there have been over 9 problems and I've had to call them over 25 times. They put out entire family and home at risk with installing the furnace for the wrong fuel type. The safeties that are in the furnace didn't stop it from being used. This is a major fire hazard and we are lucky our house and family wasn't injured and damaged.

Sears finally agreed to a HVAC tech coming out but won't agree to pay for anything until they have a bill and speak to that tech. They refuse to discount the furnace/ac because it's "working right now". Nothing to make up for the 6 months of rearranging schedules, broken ac/furnace, frustration, 25+ phone calls, 9 service calls to fix it.

That in the 6 months we've had the system we have had problems EVERY SINGLE MONTH! Their defense was that whenever we call to have them come fix it is that they sent someone. (Its under manufacturer warranty, Sear's warranty and we bought a 2 year protection plan with them --so they have no choice to come out and fix it). My husband and I paid out of pocket for a licensed HVAC technician (not Sears affiliated) to come out and make sure it was working properly - we were afraid to use it.

After paying that much for something I had expected better quality and service and not constant inconveniences and frustrations for the last 6 months. I don't feel they advertised their services correctly or their product. I spent $12K for something that I had expected to last and work for years, and it hasn't even worked properly for 1 month without issues.

We asked that the price be discounted to a more reasonable amount for the inconveniences and problems as well as the gross negligence and irresponsible carelessness of not installing it correctly which put my family and property at risk. They came back with a measly 5% discount ($600) which is what they apparently believe our family's safety and property are worth.

Replies
Central A/C run around
By -

I purchased 2 Kenmore central air units that were installed by Sears in Feb. of 2004. Along with that I was sold a 10 yr parts and labor, warranty. In June of 2008 I went to put my units on and found that the upstairs unit was not putting out cold air. note: test your A/C before the 1st hot day you need it. When I called Sears to make an appointment they gave me a date for 5 days later. I remind you I have a service contract with them. I also have a service contract with my oil company who is there within hrs. of being notified when I have no heat or hot water and fix the problem.

Well after showing up and determining that the unit was low on freon, they filled it and made no other checks. When I went to use the unit a few days later there still was no cold air. After taking a panel off on the condenser unit that houses wiring I found an old mice nest that was preventing the unit from performing properly. The low freon level has been an issue every yr. since and the wait period to get an appointment to have a serviceman look at it, can take up to a month. It wasn't until April of this yr. when I turned the unit on and there was no cold air again that I insisted this time they look to see why it is always low on freon.

When they came they found a leak in the evaporator coil. SURPRISE!! They put a product in called RX11PLUS that they said would seal the leak. When I went to use the unit a month later in May, guess what? No cold air. So I call Sears again about the problem and got an appointment for June21st. On that day the serviceman finally called it into whatever dept. he does to tell them that the evaporator coil needs to be replaced. However, they do not have the coil replacement for this unit anymore. The system will need to be replaced.

On June 22nd, I was called by a case manager from Sears, who informed me that a contractor would be in touch with me within 48 hrs. to schedule a site inspection. Well, on June 29th, after waiting a week, I called the case manager to tell him that 48 hrs. had passed days ago and I've heard nothing. His response was, that's 48 business hrs. That's 6 days if you count lunch and coffee breaks. I didn't ask if they did. I never heard of such a thing. The case mgr. said he would call to see what was going on and call me back at 2pm to make sure that the contractor had called. Guess what? Oh he did call back but no call from a contractor.

Finally, a contractor called and showed up to do the inspection, only after being notified that day for 1st time by Sears as he told me. The contractor said he would be notifying Sears that day that the system would need to be replaced. Now it is July 6th and once again I'm calling the case manager to get an update. He tells me that he has received no paperwork as of today on the inspection. I asked him being a Sears Premier Customer as they continually thank me for, when I've spoken to most of the cast at Sears, that may be he should call the contractor and try to expedite this. It is 100 degrees here on Long Island don't you know?

Well, he informs me that he doesn't have to look into it till 7 days from the inspection. HAVE TO. Also, he's got 50 other Sears customers that have issues. Sounds like Sears has issues. When I went to write this review and selected Sears as the company, a window came up asking me to give Sears 1 more chance to resolve this. Well I gave them a deadline that they did not meet so I am posting this review. I have been in touch with another case manager through the email I sent them, who has given me another case number and another 24 to 48 hrs. to get back in touch with me again.

I forgot to ask if that was business hrs. and if it included lunch and coffee breaks. Regardless of how this turns out I recommend that you really think hard before purchasing anything from Sears. I will post a follow up to let you know if Sears did honor their warranty, however, I still will no longer shop at Sears. Check your contracts and receipts from Sears because they should have in the biggest letters, "SATISFACTION GUARANTEED OR YOUR MONEY BACK". I'm not and if your not start demanding your money back.

Replies
Heatwaves! Sears Central Air/Heat Unit
By -

My parent's home has suffered from severe water damage in the walls and wood floors of their home. The source of the problem is the central A/C and Heating unit installed by Sears. Sears had placed the wrong type of valve in our system, which caused an overflow of water. About three weeks ago we saw puddles of water shooting up from our wood floors as we attempted to walk through our home. After recognizing the damage, we contacted Sears to get a repairman out to fix the problem. A Sears's representative told us to simply cut the unit off so that the water could stop spilling.

No A/C in a 100 degree (100 plus with humidity considered) south Louisiana climate was not an option. The unit continued to spill for about 2.5 weeks and we were left with bare concrete floors. Our insurance company sent a restoration company out to help with the drying of the floors. We had to sleep with about five small industrial fans blowing very loudly and a humidifier (added to the heat). Sears has been very slow in their response to our damaged home. They eventually sent out a repairman and he replaced the valve. Now the unit does not cool our home at all. Our thermostat reads at about 86 degrees all day and night.

Sleeping has been miserable because of the unit's inability to cool off our home. To this day we still have bare floors and industrial fans in our home. My family and I have been dealing with busted floors and we are still waiting on a Sears's repairmen to come out and fix the problem. I would not advise anyone to use the services that Sears provides. This has been financially and emotionally straining for my family. Being a Louisiana resident, I feel as if we are without lights in the midst of hurricane season. Please don't choose Sears, if you would like to have great customer service and functioning appliances.

Replies
Moorestown Mall
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHERRY HILL, NEW JERSEY -- Two men working for Sears came into my home to clean out my ducts. They wouldn't allow me to stay in each room for fear the unit they were using to suck the debris would suck up my dog (bichon 14 lbs on a leash, also very loud). I felt very uncomfortable leaving these two Sears employees in each room of my home unsupervised. When they were done there was debris from vacuuming the ducts all over each room, what a mess! Sears is not what it used to be. Unsatisfied Customer!

Company Response :

Hi Celicanj,

Thank you for taking time to post expressing your concerns with your duct cleaning services, we can see the points you expressed are of great concern to you. We are determined to ensure that our member's homes and everyone inside, including any small children and pets are safe from all possible harm while providing this type of service. My name is Brian and I am a member of the Sears Cares Social Media Support team. After reading your post, I'd like to extend an offer to provide further assistance to see what options are available to meet your satisfaction. At your earliest convenience, please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name I have assigned to reference your post (celicanj), to smadvisor@searshc.com and a case manager will contact you directly. Again, we appreciate your post and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank you,

Brian L.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Advertisement
Sears Lack Of Resolution
By -

LONGWOOD, FLORIDA -- Hello. I am beyond DISSATISFACTION with SEARS and the people working in their "customer relations" that I decided to Google and see what comes up and my family is obviously not the first they have come into contact with. On December 17, 2010, SEARS installed a new "energy efficient" HVAC unit in my home that we are residing in.

On January 27, 2011, we received a utility bill in excess of $1,000.00 (YES, ONE THOUSAND). We promptly called SEARS about the issue and they tried to tell us that this is "normal". After phone calls and phone calls, I filed a BBB complaint and then finally someone contacted me. This complaint was officially filed 2/24/11.

A R. ** contacted me to tell us that someone would come out to check the installation of the unit. Nothing happened for weeks. Now all of a sudden, he is no longer on our case and it has been assigned to R ** and T **. As of today, 3/31/2011 NO ONE has come out and we have been forced to turn our heat completely off because we have $1,900 in utility bills for only 2 months. We have 4 children and this is absurd. R ** had the audacity to tell me that has "been a rough Winter for everyone".

Excuse my language, but I don't give a damn because no one else has the spiked usage we have had ONLY after installation of this unit. We live in a simple ranch style home with only 3 bedrooms and 2 baths. Last winter, our usage was nothing of the amount, so this Winter would be no different. I am fed up with SEARS and their lack of action and nonchalant attitude. I even went as far as to contact the Operations Manager of our City and have him email them about our average usage and the apparent spike that occurred.

All R ** does is send out stupid emails and not act on a damn thing. I will continue to file with the BBB until an actual resolution is reached and not empty promises to even START on the issue over a FREAKIN month later. I see now that we are dealing with a person who has not done anything in the past for other people except "see what she can do". How about "seeing" an ACTUAL RESOLUTION?

Replies
Unacceptable Service From Sears Home Central
By -

PAWTUCKET, RHODE ISLAND -- I had a part fail on my central ac unit that was installed by Sears. It released all the freon refrigerant gas into our duct work and house. On June 14 2008 I had a Sears technician come out to fix the problem, however they could not do anything. The technician stated he would have to order the parts then they would be back to fix the unit.

Today is July 7th 2008 and on three separate occasions the technicians have come to fix the unit but still do not have the right parts. I have been mailed 3 different shipments of parts in the last 3 weeks an each time I get the same exact parts. Not to mention some of them have nothing to do with the original problem. I have called their customer relations departments on several occasions and only get transferred around to departments that have nothing to do with the service.

When I finally speak to someone they tell me they are still waiting for the part to come in. Being a HVAC service company wouldn't you think they would have the part in the truck. Or at least know what they need to order. I originally paid 9700.00 to have this system installed, so I decided to get a second opinion from an outside company at my own expense.

What I found out was that the original company that installed the system went out of business a while ago and that they installed the wrong parts to start with. Even the airhandler isn't sized correctly for the condenser unit. As of today I am still getting the run around and I even contacted their national customer relations dept., but still get the same answers. My advise is do not ever purchase any type of service from Sears.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Air Conditioners Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
33 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores