Sears Lawn Mowers

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
107 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Sears / Craftsman YTS3000 - brand new - major vibration - cannot get service for two weeks - horrible product!
Posted by on
Hello -

I bought a Craftsman YT 3000 46" Briggs & Stratton 21 HP Gas Powered Riding Lawn Tractor on 2/9/2011. I bought it from the Bath, NY store.

I live in NY and the weather has been horrible. Today, 4/22/2011, I pulled my tractor out of the garage for the first time, put gas in the tank, checked the oil, tire pressure, etc all was looking good. I started up the tractor and it started right up with a little roughness for about 30 seconds and then smoothed out. It never had gas or was started until today. I started it up with the intent to use my Craftsman lawn sweeper and roll the lawn later this weekend. I engaged the blades to make sure everything was working OK as I checked out all the features on my first new tractor and the entire tractor started to shake violently! I unengaged the mowing deck and it stopped. I re-engage the mower deck and the entire tractor shakes, especially the steering wheel. This tractor is literally 2 minutes old even though it was purchased on 2/9/2011. I called the 1-800 number and they cannot get a tech out until 5/5/2011 - two weeks. I called the store I got it from and they asked me to check under the mowing deck to look for a bent mandrel - cannot really tell. They were supposed to check and see if they could get me an earlier appointment, no follow up. I usually only buy from the Hornell, NY because Mike stands behind his customers, but this time he did not have this model in stock so I had to buy it from Bath, NY.

Here's my issue - a brand new $1349 tractor that is useless to me. I can sweep and maybe roll but will not be able to mow. Why do I have to wait for service for two weeks? Why is this tractor not being replaced since it is so new? I have bought a lot from Sears in the past few months. I should not have to take time off work to have this fixed; it is brand new and has not cut a single blade of grass - I have the pictures to prove it, the underside of the mowing deck is showroom floor new as well as the blades. I was supposed to get free delivery with this tractor as a promotion that was going on when I bought it, but the store does not deliver so I had to pay a guy I work within my office to go pick it up with a trailer.

I also noticed that there are others that have this same issue now that I started looking - one on this same site: http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=78747

To say I am disappointed is an understatement. If I would have bought one at Lowes - I could have a service guy much sooner or replaced due to the age of the tractor; I called.

I do not think that waiting two weeks is acceptable when this is brand new.

What are my options? I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Scott from Wayland
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Sears Won't Honor Warranty And Craftsman Is Junk
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
FAYETTEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- My name is Justin and this is my story, as well as my review of my Craftsman model number 358.341950 serial number 12208N200682 chainsaw, and Sears in general. After returning from a combat tour in Afghanistan my property was a mess to say the least. The grass was as tall as my truck and the bushes had grown out of control, as well as the many trees. After struggling to get it under control with my handed down, 20+ year old equipment, I decided to treat myself with the money I had earned overseas and buy myself some new equipment, all of which ended up being great investments… all but one.

From the start the one piece of equipment that I had bought from Sears, also being the only Craftsman brand equipment, proved to be more trouble than it was worth. I purchased the chainsaw brand new, as well as some Craftsman brand pre-mixed fuel and Craftsman chain oil, both of which the sales associate recommended I used to avoid warranty complications down the line. Through the short lived life of the chainsaw, I had the nonstop issue of the chain loosening, as well as the engine being difficult to start and dying constantly during use. I was very disappointed in the chainsaw which had so many good reviews on the Sears website, which I later noticed was very shady..

After going outside the website, and doing a broad search of reviews, I noticed that there were very many negative reviews coming up in my search results that were posted on the website, but when I would click them, would lead me to a Sears error page saying the page no longer existed. This leads me to believe that Sears goes through the reviews of its products and removes negative reviews to boost the appeal of the product. That possibly incorrect assumption aside though, I’ll continue on with my story...

After less than a year and maybe around 5 to 10 uses of the chainsaw, it seized up while cutting down a tree on my property. I immediately walked over to its carrying case, placed it neatly inside, along with its unopened extra bar and all other parts and pieces that it came with, and headed to Sears. Once at Sears the associates working at the repair desk were very polite as they had me talk them through what had happened. They informed me that the Craftsman engines are notorious for overheating and seizing, especially in the hot summer months, but it was still under warranty and it would be fixed for no charge and I would have it back in a couple weeks. I headed home very pleased. That is the last moment I would be pleased with the customer service of Sears.

A couple weeks after dropping off my chainsaw, I receive a call from a Sears associate asking me how I would like to pay for the repair, which was higher than the price of the chainsaw when I bought it new. I informed the woman that I was told the chainsaw was still under warranty and it would be a no-charge repair. She told me that the chainsaw was damaged because an improper fuel/oil mixture was used, leading to an overheated engine, and that I should have used the right fuel and oil. I informed her that was not possibly the case because the only fuel used in the chainsaw was the Craftsman brand pre-mixed fuel designed for their 2-cycle yard equipment, and that the chainsaw had been purchased right after my deployment and barely used. She replied stating that, even if that was the case, she can’t change the remarks from the repair technicians, and she was not there to hear my “soldier stories” or argue, and told me that I could either pay the bill or not. I asked for her name and extension, and to speak to a manager. She refused to give me her name or extension, and claimed that there was no managers working there at the time, but she would have one call me in a day or two. After a week, I still had no call from Sears. I called again, getting a very similar conversation, and again, at the end of it told that I would be receiving a call from a manager, a call that yet again, I never received.

After another week or so, I decided to attempt to call Sears again. This time speaking to a woman that ended up being very polite, unlike the others. I told her I understood that at her level she probably couldn’t get my bill waved or give me store credit to buy a new chainsaw or anything of that nature, but I did request the damaged parts of my chainsaw sent to me, along with a written memo stating why Sears refused to honor my warranty so that I could provide it to my attorney here at the military post. She said that would not be a problem, and she also apologized for a manager not contacted me in a timely manner and claimed that nowhere in the system was a “manager call-back” placed for me, or any notes at all, but that she would place one and a manager would be calling me within 24 hours.

After 2 or 3 days, a manager finally calls me back. I start to explain the whole situation, which I can tell she already knows. I ask if she already knows what is going on with my situation and she replies saying yes, and that Sears is not legally obligated to give me any proof of the damage of the chainsaw that they claimed, any documentation showing why they aren’t going to cover my item with the claimed warranty, or any other documentation for that matter, and that the only thing she would provide me was a bill, so I could either take it or walk away. I asked for her name and extension, which she would only give me the first name Ashley, which I’m sure there are many working for the Sears corporation.

I’ve devoted my entire adult life to serving the citizens of the United States, as well as all of my friends, multiple who have lost limbs in the course of battle and still to this day not complained once. It disappoints me very much that with the money I made doing it I chose to spend on what turned out to be junk equipment, with a warranty that some of those same citizens refuse to help me with, and instead give me rude remarks and claims. Even aside from the failure to honor the warranty, the attitude in some of the associates that I talked to was enough to turn me away from Sears for good, especially with the remarks regarding opinions toward the military. Sears is just another company that when Veterans or Independence Day comes around boasts their support to the armed forces, but then turns around and treats them poorly, as well as all their other customers. So my recommendation will stand from now on to anybody considering buying anything from Sears, specifically a Craftsman product. Don’t do it. Give your money to some other company, one that is going to stand behind you, and buy a product that builds its reputation off of quality, not flashy commercials. I bought the chainsaw thinking I was going to save a few bucks and in the end lost a couple hundred and have spent more time being stressed out and trying to get the chainsaw replaced than I did actually using the chainsaw.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Disappointed in Sears
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ONLINE AND CORPORATE SERVICES -- This is an email I sent off to another department at Sears. Hopefully they will have a competent employee who understands customer service. I sent it yesterday and still no response. I will never give that place another dime. I am sick of fighting them for my $250.

It all started on Sunday afternoon. I placed a Craftsman 2700 PSI Pressure Washer in my cart at Sears.com. I used my Sears rewards points and a coupon code and got the price down to $249.17. I ran up to my local grocery store and bought $250 worth of gift cards so that I would not have to use my credit card online for security purposes. I left the screen pulled up (I live 1 minute from the grocery store) and when I returned, the site had me log in again and it changed the price. Apparently at 5:00 a 5-15% off sale went into effect and it must have kicked out my coupon code. Instead of lowering the price (like one would expect from a sale), it raised my price. I called the 1-800 number to see if anyone could figure it out and help me place my order over the phone. I did not get the customer service rep's name. She was very nice and placed the order for me to pick up in my local store. I was told that I would receive a confirmation email shortly. I did not receive an email by the next day and called my local store to see if they had the order. They did not have any order for me. So, I called the 1-800 number and spoke with "Linda". She said my order had been cancelled because the store did not have it in stock. The reason I did not receive an order confirmation email or cancellation email is because they had misspelled my email address (even though I did spell it twice for the original rep). Linda said she would send the cancellation to my email-it never arrived. I once again called my local store to see if it was in stock or not because the night before online, it showed they had one. After a few calls to my local store, I spoke with a lady named Jo every time, she finally determined they did not have the one I needed in stock but they had the California version of it, which was the same price. She did not know why she had the CA only version in an Indiana store. I then called the 1-800 number again to see if my order could just be switched to the CA only one and spoke with a lady named Luna, once again having to repeat the whole story. She said nothing could be done and that I would have to wait a week or so for the gift cards to have their balance restored. She said my only option was to go to my local store, pay the full price for a new one and wait for the gift cards to have their balance restored and then I could use them for something else. I needed the pressure washer this week because of a company party being held at my house this Saturday but do not feel I should have to shell out another $300 in order to have one. I finally asked to speak to a manager. Instead of transferring me to a manager, she sent me back to the main menu where I was forced to wait and explain the whole story again to "Stacy". Stacy finally gave me to her manager Stephanie who said the only thing she could do was sent me a $30 gift card for my inconvenience and knock off 10% but I would still have to wait for at least 3 days to have the gift card balance restored before I could purchase the other one available locally. I asked her why the balance couldn't be restored immediately because they were able to drain the balance in less than a minute. She said I should talk to someone on the "executive team" at corporate. So once again, I had to call a different person and explain the whole story. I spoke with John Kelly who said all the right things that a customer would want to hear. He sympathized, apologized and yada yada. He ended it by saying he understood that I needed this as soon as possible and that he would call my local store to get something resolved. By 4:45 the next day, I still had not heard from him. I called my local store to see if he had contacted them and perhaps just forgot to call me back. They said no one had called them that day about it. They are a small store and the same lady answers the phone every time so she would know. She also said the store manager was out that day and that is who John claimed he was going to talk to. I received a call from John about 25 min later and he said that he had talked to the local store manager and that they did not have one in stock. Which he already knew because I told him that the day before and said I would be willing to take the CA version. So he obviously did not call and talk to anyone there. He then proceeded to tell me that nothing could be done about the gift cards, I would just have to wait several days for them to be restored. He also said they wouldn't have the pressure washer in for 10-12 days (that info was available on the Sears.com website). Why couldn't Sears just ship one to me? Or have me go to the next closest store which shows 3 in stock and is only 40 min away? I would have even driven there just to get my pressure washer asap. So not only did John not help, he actually quoted me a longer time and offered less of a discount/compensation than the manager at the 1-800 number. I am not asking for a free pressure washer or anything insane, I am just asking that I get my gift card restored today and get a pressure washer today, I don't care if it is the CA version from my local store or driving 40 min to pick up the 49 state version. I just need one. I do not think that is an unreasonable request.

What has happened to the wonderful company that Sears used to be? My husband and I bought all of our appliances there 20 years ago and they still work fine with the exception of the dryer. It is messing up and we will need to replace it within the next month. We have always been happy with Sears and been loyal customers. My grandparents always shopped there, my parents still shop there and all 6 of my siblings shop there. Sears used to stand for quality and service. I am disappointed. They have just lost my entire family as customers.

I would not recommend shopping at Sears/Kmart/Land's End to anyone. If I could give them negative stars, I would.

     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poorly Handled Complaint by Sears Store Manager
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
KATY, TEXAS -- I have a 30 gal. upright Craftsman air compressor. I had this compressor for a long time, but it wasn't used daily. However, just recently I started to inflate small truck wheels. I wasn't getting enough pressure 15-20 PS. while the motor kept running forever, still extremely low pressure.

This past Nov. 11th, 2012 I took said Compressor to Sears Repair Shop at Park 10 just off I-10 fwy, Katy, TX. to see what's going on with this compressor. The store worker said to me this will take two weeks before they can get to it. I agreed. He also said it takes $43+ for shipping. I said to him you have repair section in this location what happened to it? He said they closed it. After paying him the requested fee of $43.00 with assistance of another person, which pointed out the fliers on the store bulletin board, which said a recall items and after checking the serial number on my compressor it matched on of the posted serial numbers in the flier on the bulletin. board. So, I was told by the same sales person usually the repair bill should not exceed the amount of $110.00 on this type of compressor, we will apply the $43.00 and you pay only the difference between 110 and 43 dollars. On that recall list it displayed Sears customer relation Tel. number. The following day I contacted the people who were in charge of the recalled items/product and gave them all the required info. serial number, date..etc. At the same time I asked them the following question: If this item was on a recall list, then why do I have to pay for shipping fees? The person on the other end of the phone replied no they should not have to charge you for shipping said compressor. Then I brought up the question of what applies to to the recall as far as the case of this compressor, their answer was, it includes the plastic housing (cover)which is located on top of the motor. My question was why? Their answer was the old plastic cover which, it came with the compressor when it was sold was unsafe, it will make the motor overheat which cause great damage to the unit, it even can cause fire.

I was not aware of any of this and have not been informed by Sears Roebuck People. Two weeks after Sears Repair Shop received my compressor I had a call from them informing me that the repair charges for this compressor is going to be around $227.00. My next question was why so high? She said the cylinder and the piston are messed up. Then I said this compressor is a recalled one. Her reply was No it isn't. I said to her check the serial on the compressor with that on the recall list. After putting on hold she came back telling me I was right, they are going to follow the recall procedure, and the they update me on that matter which they never did. I said to myself may be it will take care of itself since it is on recall.

On 12/26/2012 I went back to Sears store park 10 in Katy, TX. and I asked if they have any information on my compressor. They told me it will be here on the 12/28/2012. At the same time and at this store I asked for the store manager I needed to get a clear picture, whether, this over heating of this poorly designed motor, had anything to do with the damage which has done to this compressor. I have listen to his nonsense analysis, then I explained to him that I work on air cooled engines, which runs the old Beetles, if the on top of the cylinder not sufficient it overheat the surroundings components, it cause a serious damage. and for me there was no way to be able to tell if that compressor was overheating, without some kind of warning light or temp gauge.

He got his opinion and I got true experience. However, On 12/28/2012, again I received a 2nd call from the recall dept. at Sears, on this day telling me the bill for repairing you compressor is going to be $227.00.

With all due respect to you folks I am not confident of the way these people are handling this simple case. These people gives me the impression that they believe that money grows on trees.

Finally, this what I want Sears Roebucks to do for me in putting this case to bed: A: refund for the amount of $43.30 which I paid for nonsense service, wasting my time. B: Give me back my compressor, which it will remind of what a great product which backed by great service. Or you can do better yet and that in order to keep your customer coming back give some credit on the old compressor in trade in with 33 gal. which your company has now on special. I will pay the difference. The final option is, to have the old compressor repaired free of charge. Good luck

Frank Hussain
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Unfriendly Procedure
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
FAIRHAVEN, MASSACHUSETTS -- I recently purchased a Model 247.25000 Mower from Sears Hardware Store in Fairhaven Mass. The sale price was $999.XX with an original price of $12xx.xx with a savings of about $250.00. Since the sale was ending the next day I asked them if they would hold the mower for me for a few days if I gave them a $50.00 or $100.00 as a deposit. I was told that they could not do this (take a deposit). I then elected to place the mower on lay-away which cost a fee of about $10.00. When I returned 2 days later the mower was priced at $991.xx some $8.00 cheaper than my purchase price. When asked they said that I made a deal at $999.xx and I could not get the cheaper price.

What has happened to the friendly policies and service that Sears once had?? I feel that any any reasonable store would (1) take a deposit to hold an item for several days and (2) give the store price of $991.xx. (Please note that my cost was the lay-away fee plus the price difference or about $18.00

After reading several of your comments about this complaint I still feel that I should have been given the lower price of $991.xx. If I had an item on lay-away at Wal-Mart and in the meantime the price went lower I would be given the lower price. After all I could pay the higher price, return the item then re-buy at the sales price.
I also feel that withI was given a bum-stear by the store for stating that the sale was going to end on a date when in fact the sale didn't end, the price went even lower.
Also had Sears taken a deposit there could have been a cut-off date set up but the store would not take a deposit.
I have been buying at Sears since about 1948, that's 64 years. Their policies were buyer friendly and the service excellent. Not any more!!! Small wander the shape Sears is in today!!!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Terrible Product, Even Worse Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MAHOPAC, NEW YORK -- I spent about $4000 on a lawn tractor, snowthrower attachment and service contract at Sears. The delivery guys that showed up were more concerned with staying in the truck out of the rain than they were with unloading my tractor and equipment, then I started up the tractor and the carburetor was messed up. I called to have it serviced and Sears told me it would be two weeks before someone would come look at it. I returned everything and bought from a local equipment supply place, much better product and service, same prices.

To try to keep me as a customer Sears Holdings Corporation called and said they would give me a coupon for %10 off, what a joke. I would never do business with Sears again if my life depended on it. Ironically enough about 2 months later someone gave me a Craftsman (aka Craps-man) zip up work shirt as a gift, the 1st day I wore the thing the zipper broke!!! I returned it exchanged it for a Dickies work shirt, a real brand.

I would avoid Sears at all cost, they sell junk, and do not value their customers, they are living on the reputation of what was once a great American Business, now they are just
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Sears doesn't honor warranty
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
My mower broke after 1 season. The welding on the front guard failed and the guard got chewed up in the mower blades. If you do a google search, you will find that this is a very common occurrence with Sears mowers.

When I took it to the Sears repair center, they said it wouldn't be covered b/c it was my fault for hitting a rock. Mind you, I waited to take it until 2 days after the warranty expired, but they assured me that even if my warranty was not expired and still valid, they assured me this still would not be covered by the warranty. They pointed to a nick in the blade as so-called "evidence." That is utter nonsense. I never hit anything with that mower. If there is a nick in the blade, then it was from the metal guard being chewed up in the blades after the welding failed!

They gave me a 20% off coupon with restrictions on it as compensation. I tried to buy an identical one, but it was discontinued. One was located at a store far away and for more than I paid for my original, and I purchased it. They even refused to have it shipped to a store closer to me.

Then I realized I was a chump for buying another mower from Sears, so I never picked it up and asked for a refund. Then Sears refused to give me a refund b/c they said it was picked up by someone using my credit card. I said that was impossible, b/c I had been out of the country for over a month on the date they claimed I picked it up! I was livid. I disputed the charge with my credit card company, and guess what? Sears could not prove that my credit card was used by anyone, and they could not prove it was picked up. Imagine that. Sears is struggling as a company, and it's not hard to imagine why. If you have your own issue with Sears and are thinking of writing a review, you will get a message from Sears asking to try to resolve it first by contacting one of their social media support people before writing a review. Don't bother. I did that, and look where I am. They are useless and condescending and will accuse you of being a liar and a thief like they did with me. Thank goodness I have a good credit card company that investigated the issue for me.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Lawn Tractor Service Appointment Disaster
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- My story begins with the scheduling online for a service call on my Craftsman lawn tractor. I supplied the model number and the part number that I needed installed. On the 29th of June a really nice tech showed up and announced he didn't bring the part and would have to reschedule for the 3rd of July. Then fun begins. On the 1st of July I get a computer call saying I need to reschedule my appointment. I call and they ask if I have the part. I didn't know it was coming to me. I was told to call back when I got the part.

On July 2 the computer calls me again to reschedule my appointmnet. I call again and am told that they will forward the info to the parts group and they will call me, never happened. On July 3 the computer called again telling me to reschedule.

Later that day I get the part. And yes it came before the original appointment time and would have been available to be installed. On July 4 I call and was told the tech will be there on July 6 between 1-6. So I take off work and sit. At 6:30 I figure no one is coming. Now the fun really begins. I call and after several transfers the customer service agent checks and informs me that the appointment has been scheduled for July 13th. None the less this is a surprise to me. She said I should have received a courteous call. Didn't happen. When I asked if the appointment could be moved up she said no.

When I asked to speak to a supervisor she put me on hold for 2-3 minutes and when she came back she said the suppervisor said there was a shortage of techs that work on tractors and it was a busy time of the year. When I asked to speak to the supervisor I was told no.
While I was on the phone I told the agent that I was going to go on line and see what appointments I could get. Miracles of miracles the online system gave me an appointment for Monday the July 9th from 8-12. The only catch is that I would have to agree to another $99 service fee. I made the appointment and the agent informed me the only way to avoid the additionl cost was for her to file a payment dispute. We'll see.

I asked if there was a manager I could speak to and she said she would put in a request. When I asked when I might hear from him she said "could be twenty minutes or two hours" she had no idea. Well it's been almost three days. You're right nothing. Well it's 1:45, Nothing. Maybe the tech will be here by Friday. This will be the last time I deal with Sears. Purchases or service.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Refused to Send in My Mower for Repair
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LOGANSPORT, INDIANA -- This spring my electric start mower would not start. I took it in with 3 weeks left on the warranty and they never sent it in. When I gave up and picked it up after 5 weeks it had never left their store. I was told that it was my attitude, I wasn't happy when I took it in, as to why they wouldn't send it in. John in customer service told me that " just because I have a warranty doesn't mean they have to fix anything". Real good attitude on his part. Well I did buy a new mower, and it did not come from Sears. Will I ever shop any of your stores again, Not till they fix my mower.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Warranty service on riding mower
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
I have a Craftsman YTS 3000 riding mower/lawn tractor that's two seasons old. This season, it would not start. I charged the battery (after buying a battery charger/maintainer) and got it going, hoping that running for a few hours would finish charging the battery, but a day or two later it wouldn't start again. When I purchased the mower, I purchased the extended warranty/service plan for 3 years of protection, so I called and explained the problem. I was told that a technician would be sent out in a little over two weeks. When I asked if it was possible to get someone sooner, I was told that was the first time a technician would be in my area. This is unacceptable for a plan I paid over $300 for. I don't necessarily expect next-day service, but surely a national company like Sears can do better than *two weeks*! I now consider all extended warranties from Sears to be essentially worthless for anything time-sensitive. I'd rather pay more over the life of my equipment to get *timely* service. I guess that's what happens when the company already has your money.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >