Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Lawn Mowers Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Product and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI -- On April 24, 2016, I purchased a Craftsman Rider Mower, 46” 19H, Model #917.255830, Serial #120915A001041 from the South County (250 S. County Center Way, St. Louis, Missouri 63129) Sears store from sales representative **.

Mower was delivered on April 26 and used for first time. Mower was backfiring and blade was making noise. I contacted the manager, **, at the Sears store where the mower was purchased. ** indicated I would need to call the delivery center for return of the mower and provided the number, 1-800-341-2517. The representative at the delivery center informed me I needed to talk to Customer Service and transferred me accordingly. Customer Service then provided another number for me to call, 1-800-827-8655.

When I call the number provided, I was informed I would need to contact the store where I purchased the product. When I called the manager of the store, **, he indicated that he would contact the Delivery Center and they would contact me for pickup arrangements, and provide the necessary paperwork for reimbursement. After two days and no correspondence, I replied to the original email to request acknowledgement of receipt and an update on the situation.

On May 11, I received an email from ** indicating I would have to contact the Delivery Center. I immediately contacted them and the representative provided a case number for pickup: #** and her ID number: **. She indicated the mower will be picked up on Friday, May 13 and all but the delivery fee would be reimbursed to my Sears credit card within 7-10 days.

On May 12, I received a call that the mower would be picked up between 12:30 and 2 pm on Friday, May 13. Delivery personnel arrived at 11:36 (1 hr before scheduled time) the following day to pick up the mower at my house. When asked for a copy of the manifest, they had none. Personnel was extremely rude and stated he could not provide proof of pickup. He had been doing this for 18 years. I had no intentions of giving anyone a $1,500 mower without paperwork indicating the mower was picked up. That is not business savvy. The delivery personnel became angry, slammed the door to the delivery van, and took off.

I contacted the Delivery Center and the representative, ** verified the delivery personnel should indeed have a manifest to which I should have received a copy. She indicated the delivery personnel's attitude would be reported and she would call me back with another pickup date, and ensure the personnel had the manifest.

On May 13, I received an email from ** from Granite City MDO - Unit 8730. She was the only person out of seven people that could make the proper arrangements to get the mower picked up. She was professional, courteous, apologetic, and a god-send. I finally received credit for the returned lawn mower, however, the delivery charge at time of purchase was agreed upon to be $59 with the military discount. I realize the delivery charge cannot be reimbursed and was told there would be no charge for pickup. Sears still charged me a total of $101.98. After still yet another phone call, I was able to get the charge down to $79.

Sears / Craftsman YTS3000 - brand new - major vibration - cannot get service for two weeks - horrible product!
By -

I bought a Craftsman YT 3000 46" Briggs & Stratton 21 HP Gas Powered Riding Lawn Tractor on 2/9/2011. I bought it from the Bath, NY store. I live in NY and the weather has been horrible. Today, 4/22/2011, I pulled my tractor out of the garage for the first time, put gas in the tank, checked the oil, tire pressure, etc all was looking good. I started up the tractor and it started right up with a little roughness for about 30 seconds and then smoothed out. It never had gas or was started until today. I started it up with the intent to use my Craftsman lawn sweeper and roll the lawn later this weekend.

I engaged the blades to make sure everything was working OK as I checked out all the features on my first new tractor and the entire tractor started to shake violently! I unengaged the mowing deck and it stopped. I re-engage the mower deck and the entire tractor shakes, especially the steering wheel. This tractor is literally 2 minutes old even though it was purchased on 2/9/2011.

I called the 1-800 number and they cannot get a tech out until 5/5/2011 - two weeks. I called the store I got it from and they asked me to check under the mowing deck to look for a bent mandrel - cannot really tell. They were supposed to check and see if they could get me an earlier appointment, no follow up. I usually only buy from the Hornell, NY because Mike stands behind his customers, but this time he did not have this model in stock so I had to buy it from Bath, NY.

Here's my issue - a brand new $1349 tractor that is useless to me. I can sweep and maybe roll but will not be able to mow. Why do I have to wait for service for two weeks? Why is this tractor not being replaced since it is so new? I have bought a lot from Sears in the past few months. I should not have to take time off work to have this fixed; it is brand new and has not cut a single blade of grass - I have the pictures to prove it, the underside of the mowing deck is showroom floor new as well as the blades.

I was supposed to get free delivery with this tractor as a promotion that was going on when I bought it, but the store does not deliver so I had to pay a guy I work within my office to go pick it up with a trailer. I also noticed that there are others that have this same issue now that I started looking - one on this same site.

To say I am disappointed is an understatement. If I would have bought one at Lowe's - I could have a service guy much sooner or replaced due to the age of the tractor; I called. I do not think that waiting two weeks is acceptable when this is brand new. What are my options? I look forward to hearing from you.

Poor home service and customer service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA -- Sears has the worst product and customer support that I have ever encountered. I have a Craftsman riding mower and needed repairs. I called to schedule a home visit, but was told next available appointment was 5 weeks out. I decided to accept it and was told a service person would arrive between 1:00 and 5:00 pm and the minimum cost would be $135. I took off work and waited between 1:00 and 5:00 and no one showed up or called me. I called Sears at 5:00 and was told the service person was running late but would be there. At 6:30 pm, I received a call from a serviceman and he said he was not going to make it.

I called Sears the next day and told them what happened. I asked them to schedule someone in the next couple of days because I needed my mower fixed. I was told I would just have to schedule a new appointment and it would again be over 1 month before someone was available. I spent over 1 hour on the phone trying to contact a manager to resolve the problem. I never got to speak to a manager, and was simply “bounced” from one department to another.

Every single person I spoke with was rude and condescending. In spite of the fact that the entire problem was that Sears never showed up or contacted me during the 4-hour repair window, everyone I talked to was incredibly unprofessional. These people were actually being antagonistic towards me. It is by far the worst customer service I have ever encountered. I will never purchase another Sears product.

By the way, after giving up on Sears, I contacted a local lawnmower repair service. They picked up the mower, fixed it and dropped it off for $90. They could not have been any nicer or more professional. Shop local and stay away from Sears. They are horrible.

Do Not Buy Anything From Sears
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST JORDAN, UTAH -- Do not buy anything from Sears!!! They lie to people and hide things about the warranty of their products. They do not respond when you need to use the warranty. The repair department in Utah is fraudulent, they lie about the problem of the products to avoid having to replace something with warranty!! For those people who do not know, Sears owns the brand "Craftsman". Do not buy that brand because they do not respect the manufacturer warranty. To me, what they do is a fraud and I hope they close all their stores so they don't keep making money by lying to honest people.

Sears Won't Honor Warranty and Craftsman Is Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FAYETTEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- My name is ** and this is my story, as well as my review of my Craftsman model number 358.341950 serial number 12208N200682 chainsaw, and Sears in general. After returning from a combat tour in Afghanistan my property was a mess to say the least. The grass was as tall as my truck and the bushes had grown out of control, as well as the many trees. After struggling to get it under control with my handed down, 20+ year old equipment, I decided to treat myself with the money I had earned overseas and buy myself some new equipment, all of which ended up being great investments; all but one.

From the start the one piece of equipment that I had bought from Sears, also being the only Craftsman brand equipment, proved to be more trouble than it was worth. I purchased the chainsaw brand new, as well as some Craftsman brand pre-mixed fuel and Craftsman chain oil, both of which the sales associate recommended I used to avoid warranty complications down the line.

Through the short lived life of the chainsaw, I had the nonstop issue of the chain loosening, as well as the engine being difficult to start and dying constantly during use. I was very disappointed in the chainsaw which had so many good reviews on the Sears website, which I later noticed was very shady..

After going outside the website, and doing a broad search of reviews, I noticed that there were very many negative reviews coming up in my search results that were posted on the website, but when I would click them, would lead me to a Sears error page saying the page no longer existed. This leads me to believe that Sears goes through the reviews of its products and removes negative reviews to boost the appeal of the product. That possibly incorrect assumption aside though, I'll continue on with my story...

After less than a year and maybe around 5 to 10 uses of the chainsaw, it seized up while cutting down a tree on my property. I immediately walked over to its carrying case, placed it neatly inside, along with its unopened extra bar and all other parts and pieces that it came with, and headed to Sears.

Once at Sears the associates working at the repair desk were very polite as they had me talk them through what had happened. They informed me that the Craftsman engines are notorious for overheating and seizing, especially in the hot summer months, but it was still under warranty and it would be fixed for no charge and I would have it back in a couple weeks. I headed home very pleased. That is the last moment I would be pleased with the customer service of Sears.

A couple weeks after dropping off my chainsaw, I receive a call from a Sears associate asking me how I would like to pay for the repair, which was higher than the price of the chainsaw when I bought it new. I informed the woman that I was told the chainsaw was still under warranty and it would be a no-charge repair. She told me that the chainsaw was damaged because an improper fuel/oil mixture was used, leading to an overheated engine, and that I should have used the right fuel and oil.

I informed her that was not possibly the case because the only fuel used in the chainsaw was the Craftsman brand pre-mixed fuel designed for their 2-cycle yard equipment, and that the chainsaw had been purchased right after my deployment and barely used. She replied stating that, even if that was the case, she can'€™t change the remarks from the repair technicians, and she was not there to hear my "soldier stories" or argue, and told me that I could either pay the bill or not. I asked for her name and extension, and to speak to a manager.

She refused to give me her name or extension, and claimed that there was no managers working there at the time, but she would have one call me in a day or two. After a week, I still had no call from Sears. I called again, getting a very similar conversation, and again, at the end of it told that I would be receiving a call from a manager, a call that yet again, I never received.

After another week or so, I decided to attempt to call Sears again. This time speaking to a woman that ended up being very polite, unlike the others. I told her I understood that at her level she probably couldn'™t get my bill waved or give me store credit to buy a new chainsaw or anything of that nature, but I did request the damaged parts of my chainsaw sent to me, along with a written memo stating why Sears refused to honor my warranty so that I could provide it to my attorney here at the military post.

She said that would not be a problem, and she also apologized for a manager not contacted me in a timely manner and claimed that nowhere in the system was a "œmanager call-back"€ placed for me, or any notes at all, but that she would place one and a manager would be calling me within 24 hours.

After 2 or 3 days, a manager finally calls me back. I start to explain the whole situation, which I can tell she already knows. I ask if she already knows what is going on with my situation and she replies saying yes, and that Sears is not legally obligated to give me any proof of the damage of the chainsaw that they claimed, any documentation showing why they aren'€™t going to cover my item with the claimed warranty, or any other documentation for that matter, and that the only thing she would provide me was a bill, so I could either take it or walk away.

I asked for her name and extension, which she would only give me the first name **, which I'm sure there are many working for the Sears corporation. I'€™ve devoted my entire adult life to serving the citizens of the United States, as well as all of my friends, multiple who have lost limbs in the course of battle and still to this day not complained once. It disappoints me very much that with the money I made doing it I chose to spend on what turned out to be junk equipment, with a warranty that some of those same citizens refuse to help me with, and instead give me rude remarks and claims.

Even aside from the failure to honor the warranty, the attitude in some of the associates that I talked to was enough to turn me away from Sears for good, especially with the remarks regarding opinions toward the military. Sears is just another company that when Veterans or Independence Day comes around boasts their support to the armed forces, but then turns around and treats them poorly, as well as all their other customers.

So my recommendation will stand from now on to anybody considering buying anything from Sears, specifically a Craftsman product. Don'™t do it. Give your money to some other company, one that is going to stand behind you, and buy a product that builds its reputation off of quality, not flashy commercials. I bought the chainsaw thinking I was going to save a few bucks and in the end lost a couple hundred and have spent more time being stressed out and trying to get the chainsaw replaced than I did actually using the chainsaw.

Lawn Mower and Blower Parts
By -

MICHIGAN -- Let me start by saying I was always a true believer in Craftsman products. I have recently a change of heart. I purchased 3 years ago what I thought was a great lawnmower model 917-378950 from the first couple of weeks I have had problems. It started with the design of the rear skirt to the main housing leaving trails of grass clipping in trails across my lawn which I had to cut the plastic on the right side to stop it. After that there was so much grass accumulated in the drive cover it was affecting the pulley and the belt. I now have it off to eliminate build up and ease of cleaning.

This spring (Only the third season) the right hand side drive wheel is frozen an will not turn or engage the wheel. Instead of taking the mower in for service I looked up online the schematic and parts needed. I was also in contact with Sears parts direct. I could not get anyone that could help me with my simple repair and was diverted to which is no help. Not to mention the standard answer was "Bring it in" being an Engineer I was able to finally disassemble the good side to then repeat it and attempt to remove the seized parts on the left.

I gave up after multiple negative and useless emails back from Sears parts direct. I now know what parts I need and ask for a simple instruction to assemble, still no help. I see all the single parts I need and attempt to order but can't as stated from a representative. He tells me I need to order an assembly (Pinion Assy) which is 3 times the cost of single parts and includes a part I do not need.

Upon ordering I was asked if I would like the assemble instruction sheet with the order, I stated yes. Come to find out they sent me an entire manual and charged me $18.95 for it. I was told it was a sheet and no cost was mentioned. Now I have to return it because she could not stop the order. What happen to customer service? Same mower, same week. I go to Sears to purchase a front wheel because the steel gear stripped the plastic teeth on the inside of the wheel.

Think about it, Steel and plastic don't go together. I ask for a wheel and they do not have it in stock in the parts section. I ask if they can order one, Now all of sudden I have to pay for shipping of a part Sears should stock. It cost more for the shipping than the wheel. What is Sears trying to do? I bought a blower the same time I got the mower.

Two months later it won't start. Could not figure it out so I was forced to take it in. $50 bench fee plus parts cost me $62 dollars. I only paid like $100 for the whole unit new. I would like to know how many emails or letters others have sent and what is being done about it if anything? I am not looking for any freebies but this is a huge disappointment. There are many other products out there but I thought Sears was the place for tools. Growing up that is all we had and it lasted forever. In fact I still have and old edger that was my fathers some 25 years old and runs great. Go figure.

Poor customer service
By -

FRESNO, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased a Gt5000 Lawn Tractor From the Sears store in Madera, Cailfornia March 2005. Last Fall the Tractor became harder and harder to start. I put it away for the season. Three weeks ago I pulled oil fouled plugs. The tractor has less than 50 hour of use. I called the Madera Sears store only to get their voice mail. I left a message that I needed warranty repair on my tractor. They never returned my call. I called and left another message a few days later.

A week later I called and got a message that their voice mail box was full. Guess they were not picking up their messages. I went by the store ,It was closed with a note on the door stating that the building had been damaged by fire and for warranty service please call the Fresno service center. I tried calling the Fresno service several times over a two day period. No one answered the phone, and no voice mail. I called the Fresno Sears store only to be told that I had to call the Service Center for warranty repair. Seemed as If Sears burned a store and was checking their caller ID just so the wouldn't have to fix my tractor under warranty. (LOL)

I got up two hours before work and called customer service. After 10 minutes of fighting with their automated phone system I was able to talk to a person that explained that a thunderstorm had affected the computers and I would have to call back later. I called back half an hour later only to be put on hold then disconnected. After a third phone call it was explained to me that my tractor was now three day's out of warranty and that I would have to call another number for further assistance. I called the other number. I was then told that they would have to have proof that I actually tried to contact Sears before my warranty expired.

I suggested that most retailers would take care of a warranty claim that was a day or a week out of warranty. He said “Warranties are like car insurance, nothing ever seems to happen until your coverage expires. and once the coverage expires you can't expect the insurance to cover you if you have an accident.” By the time the conversation was over I got the feeling that the customer service rep. was suggesting that I was trying to scam them and that letting my Sears warranty expire was somehow as irresponsible as driving without car insurance. Sears has a very strict warranty policy. Once the warranty expires ,you got nothing coming as far as Sears is concerned.

From what I have googled, Sears has extremely poor customer satisfaction. I have heard of a few privately owned stores that provide good service, but at the corporate level it's a disaster. I was shocked to read all the horror stories of problems with customer service, incompetent sub-contractors and poor service work.. Even if I could get Sears to agree to repair the tractor, I might be relying on a poorly trained technician, resulting in even more engine damage. I have wasted many hours with phone calls and dealing with poorly trained customer service people .It took me less time than I spent on the phone to pull the heads and replace the rings and the defective intake gasket.

The 25 hp Kohler V-Twin is a poorly designed engine. Kohler took manufacturing shortcuts that resulted in an intake manifold that will not seal properly to the cylinder heads. The intake flange surfaces are cast, not machined and the plastic intake manifold o-ringed flanges are a poor match to ports in the heads. The intake leak that this caused allowed dirt into the cylinders and wore the rings out in a very short time.

Another problem is the carburetor; the fuel shutoff solenoid is located in the bottom of the carburetor. Any small debris in the carburetor will settle in the solenoid causing the pintle it to stick. Depending on what position it sticks in the tractor will either not run or it will backfire when shut off.

I really believe Sears is surviving on name recognition and that they will soon destroy a once fine company that I was loyal to from many years. Quality and service have degraded to the point that Sears = Kmart and Craftsmen = Ronco? I don't need anything Sears sells and I can certainly by better products with better warranties and service most anywhere else.

Sears service
By -

I purchased a Sears 42" Garden tractor 10/23/09, along with this we purchased the repair agreement for $300+. When the tractor was delivered it took the person approx. 45 minutes to get it going. When I went back to use it a few days later the battery was dead. I went to the Sears store and got a new battery. That worked. At this point it was pretty much the end of the season for mowing, etc. The tractor was stored in a warm garage. This spring I went out to start it. Surprise!!!! It was dead again. I called and had Sears repair come out. The tech said the battery I had would not hold a charge, but that the alternator etc. was good.

So again a new battery was installed, the tech said to let the tractor run for an hour to ensure that the battery was charged. This was done. I went out a couple of days later and guess what! Battery was dead again. Again called Sears and scheduled a repair appointment. They were to come to my home today between 8 am and noon. I got a call about 11am; he has 15 service calls and can't come until at least 8PM. Unfortunately I have to work, my job has this thing about when you are scheduled at a certain time you are expected to be there. Again try to reschedule.

I spoke to a Sears representative she said they couldn't be out here until next week, again between 8am and noon. When I asked to speak to a manager I was put on hold for 15 minutes, finally I hung up when it was obvious no one was coming to the phone. I tried to call the store manager where I bought the tractor, after 4 calls and time on hold I finally spoke to the manager. He stated that at this time of year they are "experiencing an unusually high call volume." What an overused excuse that is. I mentioned that if this couldn't be resolved I would be trying to return this tractor.

He then stated that I could do this but that a restocking fee would be charged. He gave me a number for customer service complaints. I spoke to them, and was told that service was a completely separate group and they have no control over them. She did check and make another appointment between 8 and noon appointment next week. No guarantee on time.

As I told them there was a time when the name Sears and Craftsmen meant something. I t used to be that if you bought a Sears or Craftsmen product it would be good and dependable for many years, Unfortunately I feel that this is no longer the case, I will not buy anything else made by Sears or Craftsman and will make my dissatisfaction known, whenever and where ever possible. I am sure that Sears doesn't really care what I think or feel and what's one more dissatisfied individual. Somehow this seems to be a sad commentary on most of what we call service today.

Terrible Customer (dis)Service
By -

I took a Craftsman lawn mower in for warranty sevicing (it would not start) and was told that it would be ready in one week or less. After two weeks without a peep from Sears, I thought I'd call to see what was up. After 40 minutes of Voice Mail Hell I gave up. Three weeks later after receiving a call from Sears I drove the 20 miles into town to pick it up. No one could find the mower.

A call to the 1-800 number eventually determined that the mower was across town at the service depot and there was a note attached that the mower's carburator had to be replaced because it was "water damaged" and the $120 repair was not covered under the warranty. Suspecting that this was a scam (the mower had never been put in a situation where it would be exposed to "water damage") I told them to simply send the mower back to the store where I dropped it off.

So as to not waste a trip into town, I went upstairs to the store to purchase a new mower. I selected a cordless from the floor but the sales clerk said that it would have to be ordered but there were none available to be ordered. I then asked if I could buy the one I was holding in my hands. He could sell it to me but the key was missing and no one knew where it was. So I selected another, cheaper cordless. It too would have to be ordered but there was some other glitch that prevented me from purchasing it. So I selected a gas mower which was in-stock and half an hour later I was finally on my way home, fuming from the whole experience.

I was so PO'd that I decided that I'd had it with Sears and powered mowers in general so I stopped in at Lee Valley Tools on my way home and purchased a human-powered reel mower, which BTW I am delighted with. I mow about half an acre of grass on a 2 acre property and the reel mower is fine. Two weeks later, still no call to pick it up my gas mower and another call to the Sears 1-800 number revealed that the mower was still in the service shop and was not scheduled to be touched for yet another 2 weeks.

At that point I told the clerk to tell the service depot to not do anything and I would make the 30 mile drive to the depot to pick it up myself. I took the mower home, took apart the carburetor, inspected it for "water damage" (there was none) blew everything out with compressed air and reassembled/reinstalled it. No new parts were needed and took maybe all of half an hour. The mower started up on the first pull. I had not taken the new intended replacement mower out of the box so I returned it to Sears for a full refund.

Sears wasted several hours of my time with needless run-arounds and tried to nickel & dime me with unnecessary service charges for what should have been simple warranty service. After having been a Sears customer since the mid 1970's back when their power tools were pretty good quality, this latest episode has soured me enough that I doubt I'll ever set foot in another Sears store ever again.

Sears Home Repair Service Is Much Worse Than You Can Even Imagine
By -

CANAL WINCHESTER, OHIO -- I purchased a Craftsman Lawn Tractor at Sears about 4 years ago. I only bought it at Sears because it's difficult to find someone to come to your home to provide the service. It has been a nightmare since the beginning. In general, each and every time, they schedule you weeks out, provide you with a 4 hour time slot, and sometimes an 8-5 period when they may show. I schedule maintenance each year at the start of mowing season.

1st year: Showed up for maintenance, but informed me they don't carry the mower blades for my zero-turn tractor yet. So after I took a 1/2 day off of work to be there, they refused to do any maintenance, ordered the parts to be delivered to my home and scheduled me for 2 weeks later, at which time they did the maintenance.

2nd year: When scheduling my maintenance appointment, I specifically asked that they be sure the blades, which are included in their 'so-called' special maintenance package, would be on the truck or to order them, so that they would be here for the appointment scheduled 3 weeks out. They showed up with no blades, and I had to go through the same thing again, ordering the blades and being here yet another 4 hour time slot for the 2nd appointment.

3rd year: OK, I think I've gotten smart by this time, when actually I should have found another service company. I ordered the 3 blades online to be here for the maintenance appointment that I also scheduled online 4 weeks in advance. The package arrived within a few days. The day of my appointment I called because I never received the recorded call the night before reminding me of my appointment. I was told they had no techs working that day and I would have to reschedule for their first opening 2 weeks away. I demanded they bump someone else back and show up the following week, and finally they agreed.

The service tech arrived and told me he would have to reschedule since he didn't carry the blades on his truck... still. At that point I pulled out the box of my blades and he told me they are included in the cost of the service and I would still have the pay the full price, in addition to the cost of the blades I ordered online. When I told him I didn't care, because I was so frustrated at this point, he opened the box to find that they had shorted me one blade anyway, so again I had to reschedule my appointment for 1 week later.

1 day later my mower breaks down, so I wait nearly a week for the maintenance appointment on a Saturday, in which he does the maintenance and then determines that I need 2 parts which he would have to order to be delivered to my home. He also scheduled the repair visit for the following Saturday between 1-5.

Thursday evening I get a call from Sears, prior to my arriving home, to see if I had received the parts yet. 'I don't know, I haven't been home, but shouldn't you know if they've been delivered... don't you track your packages?' I arrive home and no package, so I call the parts service who tells me that the information isn't in the computer. They have to email someone to ask them to call me.

Friday morning I get a call from Parts telling me they haven't shipped yet and it would be another 1 1/2 weeks before they could be sure they would arrive and would have to reschedule my appointment for 2 weeks later... mind you my grass is growing much taller each day. 2 hours later UPS delivers my parts, the ones they told me hadn't shipped. I immediately call the service number telling them they screwed up. I have the parts and I expect to see the service man between 1-5 on Saturday afternoon for the appointment I had scheduled.

Oh, but they don't have an appointment scheduled for me and I'll have to wait another week. Wait, I had an appointment, but they cancelled it telling me my parts had not shipped, so it was their error right? After I blew a gasket they told me they would get someone out between 8-5 on Saturday, but I referred back to the reason I scheduled between 1-5 is because I have someplace I have to be between 8-10 that day.

I was assured that I would receive a call that evening, the night before the appointment to discuss where I am on the order list, but I only received a recorded call to remind me of my 8-5 scheduled appointment, and that if a tech arrives and I'm not there, they would call me cell number. Well I left the house, with my cell number and a note posted on the door, also with the receipt from the previous week noting that my appointment was scheduled for between 1-5pm and to call me. They showed up at 8:05am. I was not there and they did not call. Screwed again.

Now I get multiple recorded calls each and every day for 3 days asking me to call to reschedule my service appointment. Finally, after I don't return the calls, because I've finally gotten smart and gone elsewhere, a live person calls me. I tell her I am not interested in ever doing business with Sears again. She says "OK" and she hangs up. I receive another recorded message each of the next two days asking me to call to reschedule my service appointment.

Again, I don't call and again on the third day a live person calls me to reschedule my appointment. I tell her the same thing. I am not interested in ever doing business with Sears again, as I told the other person who called me. I'm thinking it's a manager calling to follow-up to see why I'm dissatisfied, but it wasn't. She, too, said OK, and hung up.

I've had it with this place. They do not believe in customer service. I have spent more hours arguing with their customer service people, waiting and stressing over trying to get my mower repaired... it's just not worth it. Don't make the same mistake I did, and please, take all of your business elsewhere. If Sears allows their customers to complain over and over again and never takes any steps to try to correct the problem, they don't need our business. They need put out of business.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Lawn Mowers Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 24 ratings and
102 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
Compare Department Stores