Sears Mattresses

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
22 reviews & complaints.
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Buyer Beware!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROANOKE, VIRGINIA -- After years of trouble with TempurPedic mattresses we went to Sears and purchased a top of the line Simmons Beautyrest Black pillow top mattress and box springs, spending almost $3K, thinking it would hold up and appreciating the 60 day Comfort guarantee should we not like it as much once we got it home. The mattress delivery went well, and we enjoyed the mattress but by 2 months the sagging had begun and in the 7th month we completed jumping through the hoops to satisfy the warranty, demonstrating a clean mattress, strong foundation, and a 1.5" sag.

We were told to pick out whatever mattress we wanted - no refund if we selected something less expensive and if it was more we would pay the difference. Furthermore, no more comfort guarantee- so if you pick something different and don't like it, too bad. Not wanting to make another mistake I read all I could find...which led me to realize that most all mattresses sag, the manufacturers consider this to be "normal". The more plush (more foam inside) the more it will sag, so pillow top mattresses are the worst. I learned that air beds and latex mattresses have the fewest issues so I went back to Sears to see if they carried either of these - No, no they don't.

I continued to research and in doing so learned that all beds contain fire retardant chemicals but some retailers will sell you a bed w/o the chemicals if you have a physician prescription. Not so with Sears - Serta, Simmons and Stearns and Foster all insist on giving you the chemicals and their customer's health is not a concern for Sears. My daughter and husband have both suffered health issues that have reportedly come from these dangerous chemicals.

I contacted Sears explaining my dilemma - obtaining another mattress that will eventually sag and make my family sick was not what I wanted. I asked for a pro-rated store credit. While I had offers of both store credit and a refund - in the end the people offering them were misinformed. I took it all the way to the executive offices, thinking surely they would be empowered to keep a customer but no - they just don't feel they can do anything about it. They told me their only recourse, and thus mine, was to take the manufacturer's warranty. I contacted the manufacturer and they tell me I must deal with Sears-what a hot potato! No one stands behind these expensive mattresses with short lives.

After buying from Sears for 30 years, I will never again purchase anything from them. Instead I purchased a mattress from Sleep Essentials in Roanoke - chemical free latex that won't sag.

See www.mattresseducation.net and www.sleeplikethedead.com for mattress education. I wish I had done this before buying from Sears!

Replies
Mattress Warranty
By -

RED ROCK, TEXAS -- My husband purchased our mattress and the store warranty from Sears in May 09 and to our dismay it started to sag about four months after we bought it. (Even though we routinely turn it each month) So here were are in Feb 2010 and I call the number listed on the back of my Sears warranty. They tell me to call the store I purchased it from so I do. The store tells me I need to fax them some information and I notify them I do not have a fax and direct me to the store where they will fax it for me. No such luck. Am rudely told by the store employee "we don't do that...we have never done that unless this is something new I don't know about. You have to call the number on your warranty. So again I call the number listed on the warranty and finally get some help." Am then transferred to the Delivery Solutions department who take my claim. About 15 min later Sears Exchange Department calls me regarding my claim. The Rep didn't give me his name just old me I could either measure the bed and take pictures myself or have the mattress company come out and do it for me. So I figure I have two small children at home what the hey will have them come do it. Well the representative gave me the wrong number, which I repeated back to him, so I call Sears again. This time am given the right number and am told I can measure the mattress with string to show the sagging. Call Integrated Bedding, who is not Sealy as I thought, and am told it will cost me $45 to have them come out. So again I call Sears and tell them I wasn't told there was a fee, which they so kindly apologized for. Then I ask how to measure the mattress and take the photos and where to send them. Am told to use a broom and ruler to show the sagging. I proceed to take pictures with the broom and string since I am not sure which way to do it and tired of jumping through hoops. I get them done and with the email sent in call Sears back. I am NOW informed that because my mattress does not sag more than an inch and a half I do not qualify for the warranty. So am angry and ask to speak to a manager to whom I explain the entire situation to and let her know it feels as though I am sleeping in a ditch, and her response is I am sorry but you do not qualify because it is not more than an inch and a half and it sounds more like a comfort issue. So I tell her do the pictures show sagging and she says yes they do but not the inch and a half. So I tell her then how is it a comfort issue and not a sagging issue. Her reply it's not an inch and a half try again in a few months.

Replies
Sears Will Not Haul Away Old Mattresses After Sale
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PEMBROKE PINES, FLORIDA -- On November 30th, 2013 we went to Sears looking for a new mattress set (mattress + box spring). The product is the same price everywhere and but we chose Sears as they offered to haul away our old mattress set. We are loyal Sears customers for over 12 years in an age where many customers have moved on to other retailers such as Best Buy, HH Gregg, Home Depot, JC Penny, etc. for home bedding, appliance and other needs.

On December 6, Sears delivered the new mattresses but categorically refused to haul away the old mattresses despite the fact that it is on the receipt to have them hauled away and despite the fact that this was the reason that I purchased from Sears. I called the store manager on the same day (December 6) and she apologized and arranged for Sears to once again attempt to do the haul away on December 11.

On December 11, the Sears employee arrived to take disposed of the old mattresses and then told me that they would not haul away the mattresses because they were "stained"! These are old mattresses and that is precisely the reason we wanted to get new ones so of course they are "stained". Nonetheless, the Sears representative categorically refused to dispose of the old mattresses and left. He said that a "manager from the warehouse" would call me to explain their "policy". When I purchased the new mattresses there were no conditions stated regarding the haul away and the sales person went ahead with the sale knowing that this was a condition for us in buying from Sears.

After many years as a loyal Sears customer (and many investments in many purchases) I feel cheated. Sears has not and appears will not do anything to resolve this matter or to keep a loyal customer.

I am posting this here so that other potential customers are aware and will make a better decision than the one I made in selecting Sears.

BUYER BEWARE!!

Sad, that a good long lasting customer relationship has to end like this but I guess that is Sears' way of doing business.

Thanks,
Charlie

Resolution Update 12/24/2013:

Sears contacted me (finally). They arranged for picking up the mattress on 21-Dec. The Sears employees arrived, inspected the old mattresses (to be hauled away as garbage) and again stated that they were too stained and wanted me to talk to their warehouse manager. The explained the same old story that they cannot haul away the mattreses in that "condition" that they were "stained", etc. etc.

SO I TOLD THEM A WHITE LIE. I said that I had spoken to a VP at Sears executive office (I really only had spoken to the Sears Social Media Support Escalations as you can see above). They seemed to believe me because then the Sears person told their manager over the phone the manager told him to just get it done.

It is too bad that I had to lie to get this done but they took it away finally (third attempt). Will this make me buy again from Sears? I don't know - what would you do?

Company Response :

Dear Charlie, My name is Susan with Sears Social Media Support Escalations team. We are a single point of contact for escalated issues which means that we handle issues start to finish with one dedicated Case Manager. We're sorry that our delivery team would not haul away your old mattresses. We'd like to offer the assistance of a dedicated Case Manager who can discuss possible options to resolve this situation. We value your business very much and want to make sure that everything that can be done to help you is being done. At your convenience please contact our office via email at SMAdvisor@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the mattresses were purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (Charlie) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon. Thank you, Susan R. Social Media Moderator Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Sears Sucks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- I purchased a Sealy box spring and mattress set from Sears which cost, on sale, over $ 850.00. After less than 18 months it began to sag in the middle, making a V. I called about the warranty. WHAT A JOKE!!!!. They sent out an adjuster who spent the total of 1 minute checking it over. Next day I get a call telling me they will not cover the warranty because there is a small stain on the mattress, which I might add is no where near where it sags and was caused by the delivery men when they set the mattress set up. So I will never never never step foot into a Sears store again to purchase so much as a toothbrush.

Company Response :

Datune,
We apologize for failing to meet your expectations with your mattress. We can understand the inconvenience this causes with your time and money. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. I saw your post and wanted to offer our assistance. If you would allow us the opportunity, we would very much like to connect you with a dedicated case manager to further discuss options and see what can be done to make things right. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the mattress was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (datune) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Replies
Mattress
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CERRITOS, CALIFORNIA -- Bought a queen size bed from Sears 1 years ago. Since then I have returned two because they sagged in the area in which my wife and I sleep in only a 4 month time. Now Sears is running me around through a third party to see if I can now get my money back.

This mattress I was told carried a 10 year warranty. When calling in this third party inspection, I received two different stories from Sears Customer support personal. One said I could just go in to Sears and pick out a replacement. They would deliver the new selected mattress and pick up the damaged mattress and return it to the manufacture.

The second person said I had to go through this third party which requires me to call it in and wait from what I can tell a this point 3 days for them to set up the appointment to look at the bed. Who knows how long before the decision is made whether I get my refund.

Replies
Will NEVER do business with Sears again!!!
By -

JACKSON, TENNESSEE -- We bought a Serta mattress from the Sears store here in Jackson, TN on Oct 19th 2011. We were told it would be delivered to our home on Thursday Oct 27th and that we would get a phone call telling us what time. My husband received the call stating it would be between 2:30-4:30 that afternoon. He made arrangements to be home an hour and a half before the earliest delivery time. Our daughter who is 22 called her father at 12:45 telling him they were already there. She gave her phone to the delivery man and my husband asked they wait 10 minutes for him to get there. They refused. They came in on my daughter who was home alone, trying to go to work and had to call and tell her employer she would be late. They did not bring the bed frame but told my husband they would bring it tomorrow. He told them no and to wait because he didn't want anyone to sign something he didn't see in case it stated they did deliver the frame and we didn't get it. That's exactly what happened. We didn't even get a copy of it but Sears (although they have been nice about this) states the frame was on the truck and shows it was delivered. My husband who NEVER gets mad is so angry he doesn't know what to do. I am angry because these men walked in on my daughter without permission, scared her, would not listen to instruction and then they lied on top of everything else. We still don't have our bed frame today and was told it would now be tomorrow. We were told we would be compenstated by being given free shipping. We were supposed to have free shipping anyway. You can't compensate for scaring my daughter. I understand these delivery guys are sub contractors and not employed by Sears but I can tell you one thing...I work in commercial insurance. They are supposed to have some liability insurance as a sub contractor and should be background checked before they are allowed to visit peoples homes. SHAME on Sears. This is so unacceptable!!!

Replies
Sears Home Delivery is Frightening For Women
By -

PALMDALE, CALIFORNIA -- We purchased a mattress and box spring set at Sears in Palmdale, CA. The store itself was alright, but the delivery and customer "after care" was horrific.

The guys they sent to my home to deliver the products did not speak any English and showed up with hands covered in some sort of black substance. I asked then to wash their hands and even went so far as to provide them a sink, soap and a fresh towel (which had to be trashed after). They put in the box springs and as they were lowering the mattress I saw greasy hand prints all over the bottom and sides of my new $3K bed. I said "stop...look at that grease and dirt on my purchase, that is disgusting and will invalidate my warranty". The guys, who did not 'speak English' said "oh no, only piss or blood on the top will invalidate warranty, its no problem". I said it was a problem and I'd like to see the delivery manifest. I asked them to step outside my home, wrote comments on the manifest and took a photocopy, refused to sigh for the delivery and called Sears.

Sears said "yes that does invalidate your warranty, we will replace both box springs and the mattress". A week later another truck shows up, with one box spring.

We are waiting on two new box springs and a new mattress tomorrow, God help us!

This is the very last time I spend my heard earned money at this establishment.

Note: Sears will not provide the name of the delivery company. Sears will not provide the name or ID of the delivery people. How safe do you really feel shopping with a store and having your wife alone at home accepting products in your home from strangers, a group of unidentified men in this day and age?

Sears does not care about its customers. Sears does not care about the safety of its female customers in their homes, and they will never receive our business again.

Note 2: The (800) Sears service call center provide incorrect phone numbers when asked for a complaints department. They claim to be running some sort of contest on their sales receipts and they provide you with a web site to give feedback. The only way to actually get the right number is to put "Extremely Dissatisfied" as your survey responses. The number listed is the "Sears National Customer Relations Center", but the guy I talked to tonight (Solomon) Unit #49028 said that this department name has not been used for over three (3) years.

Sears...you really do suck!

Company Response 4/1/2011:

Dear 147657:

My name is Susan and I'm part of the Sears Cares Team. I found your post here and wanted to reach out to you and offer assistance. I am very sorry about the problems you are having getting your mattress and box springs delivered. I can definitely understand the frustration you must be feeling over this situation. We are a single point of contact for escalated concerns which means we step into a situation and handle it start to finish with one Case Manager. At your convenience, please send us an email to our office at smsupport@searshc.com. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and we will call you directly. Also, in your email please provide the screen name (147657) for reference to your issue and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,

Susan R.
Sears Cares Team

Replies
Mattress Sagged Within Six Months After Purchase
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Purchased Sears mattress and box spring in late February 2014. Win a few months, the mattress sagged in several places which also has caused back pain. Initiated mattress claim in June 2014. Sears would not consider any refund because the sagging had not occurred or was reported within the first 30 days after purchase. I did not expect any sagging for years. After going back and forth with Sears, I had to accept a different style mattress which is larger than the original box spring. ( I could not tryout the replacement mattress because it was not available in local stores). This is because Sears would only replace the mattress-not the boxspring. THE REPLACEMENT MATTRESS has sagged!

Sears is no longer the customer-oriented store it used to be. After being a longtime Sears customer, I would no longer consider purchasing another mattress or Sears product from Sears.

Replies
Bad Service! No Help!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BREA, CALIFORNIA -- I will never again buy so much as a sock from this company!!! This store by far is the most dreadful of this low end chain I have yet had the displeasure to deal with!!!!!

I purchased a $1500 mattress set on 5/31 and was promised delivery on 6/3. The actual delivery was on 6/13. They promised the box springs were free with the purchase of the mattress... Actual cost of king box spring set $400. The display mattress was ideal, but the actual bed was the most dreadful piece of crap! It felt like I was sleeping on a cement block. I slept one night on it and called to try to fix the situation the next morning. Customer service gets an f- as well. Nobody at this store claims they know a thing about mattresses and the store manager himself claimed he had no authority and asked me to drive all the way back so he could

Replies
I can't get no satisfaction
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- I purchased a queen mattress set and a full mattress set from Sears the Delivery date was February 19, 2013 and paid for them to haul away the old mattresses. When they arrived I informed the driver that they were to haul away the old mattresses, he informed me that it wasn't on the sheet and that they don't haul away old mattresses I informed him that oh yes it is, I paid for this service, if there wasn't any haul away service then I would have gone some place else and purchased my mattresses. He then stated I will look on the sheet when I go back down stairs. He bought the sheet upstairs and stated that it was on the sheet to haul away the old mattresses. He then started to tell me that the reason that he couldn't haul the mattresses away was because there was a man who worked at the warehouse and broke all out and that it was discovered that he had been bitten by bed bugs and that this was a insurance matter. I informed the driver what am I supposed to do with the old mattresses? He then stated that we will take them to the alley. I informed him that wasn't what I paid for. He then came back upstairs and called his supervisor so he said and told her a outright lie he stated the reason that they didn't take the mattresses was because he [editor note: submitted review ended here]

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >