Preview Review

Next Review

Sears Windows Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOWIE, MARYLAND -- First, the seller lied and said that all of his installers were employees of Sears. Sears installers came out to install my windows in August 2017. While they were courteous, and did a good job installing the windows, they tore up the rest of my home. As they were cleaning up to leave, we noticed that an expensive statue we had in our home was broken. So, we told the installer that we would like to report this and file a claim. We did.

But, after they left, and two days later our drapes fell down from the window, leaving a big hole in both sides of our wall. Instead of them removing the drapes before the window installation, they tried to remove the drapery rod all together. We heard a crack, but could not tell what it was. The installers looked like they were covering up something. We contacted everyone at Sears - the project manager, and about 4 other personnel associated with the window install.

The project manager kept lying to me each time that I called and explained what happened. He would say, “I am texting the installer as we speak, and you should hear from him or I in a couple of days”. I contacted these folks from August to November 2017, and the Sears management and other associated group members continued to lie to us. After about 10-12 calls, I never heard back from anyone, and the big hole is still left in my wall.

My draperies cannot be hang until the holes can be repaired. The customer service is a nightmare. They are liars, and once you have committed to the contract and the install is complete, they are done with you. Worst customer service in the world. Hopefully, they will go out of business like the rest of the Sears departments.

Replies
Advertisement
Vinyl Glass Window Replacement
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

EL PASO, TEXAS -- I bought 10 vinyl windows from Sears after expressing the drafts I had from my old metal windows. The Sales Rep presented me the solution to my worries. However, after the installation and $10,000 I still dealing with drafts passing around the new windows. In which I contacted project manager "Mike" to explain my issue and he forward me to a planner "Darren" to schedule a sub-contractor to examined my windows.

The sub-contractor came with some chalk and said they will re-chalk and hope for the best. I am still out $10000 and with drafty windows. I will remove the trim and properly do the installation around my windows. If a window has no cracks in the chalking and drafts remain then it's either cheap chalk or a bad installation job.

Replies
Terrible Windows and Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- We purchased windows from Sears for the entire house. One window leaks water when it rains and 3 windows have a draft. I have been calling customer service since August. It's now the end of December and nobody has been out to look at the window. They don't tell you that the warranty calls for you to pay 100.00 for them to inspect the windows. Extra charges will come when Sears repairs the windows. Make sure you understand the warranty for the windows. I thought I could trust Sears. Stay away from Sears because they do not back the product. Once it is installed, they are done with you.

Replies
Windows Frosting in the Corners
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EAGAN, MINNESOTA -- I contacted Sears on the 20th of December regarding the issue of my windows frosting in the corners and in between the sliders, and being drafty. Left one message on their voice mail at Customer Service but never received a call. When I did finally get through and got a hold of a rep, they said they were having phone issues. No problem, then I told my issue with the windows and the representative said they will put a work order in.

One week later, NO CALL OR CONTACT from Sears so I had to call them. It was probably 2-3 calls before I received a call from their project manager Todd **. He said they would send pictures of my window to the manufacturer and contact the original installers to take a look. No contact again from Sears.

I called on 1/6/2017 and Customer Service told me that according to Todd's notes that it is normal for my window to frost over and be drafty due to our cold weather. REALLY? My old windows never frosted over like an old freezer or was never this drafty before. I had to move my couch about 1 foot away from these windows since there was such a draft. These were their best window, the Max or something. Spent nearly $20,000 on these window and only one phone call from Sears since this issue.

I left a message for Todd on 1/6/2017 but I highly doubt I will receive a phone call any time soon. Very disappointed with Sears. I hope I never have to report a broken window or get a replacement if Customer Service is this horrible. Don't buy Sears if this service is quality of their best products!!!

Update 05/26/2017:

5/26/17 Today Sears finally sent a rep out to take a look at my windows since the last date of my first review. The rep was sent out because I had called about tabs not being installed correctly on 2 of the windows which should have prevented the windows from opening all the up when the tabs are released. At first, customer service could not put in my request for new tabs or a service person because the frosted window issue had not been resolved yet. The customer service personnel was kindly enough to send an e-mail to the project manager concerning the unresolved work order and she explained to me that it would take about 2-3 days to hear from them. Luckily, I received a phone call the next day and an appointment was made for 5/26/17. According to the rep that showed up, he will send a work order to replace the windows and it will take approximately 6-8 weeks to get the new windows. OMG 6-8 weeks? If a window breaks in the winter, I am screwed! Oh well, at least the rep was honest. I will update when the new windows arrive.

FYI- Sears offers discounts on window when you first sign the contract for installations. First you could get an instant savings off your total bill if you signed that day, or you could get a bigger savings if you signed up for ShopYourRewards. I opted for the ShopYourRewards because I was told by both sales rep that after I paid the windows off, I would receive a gift certificate from Sears that would never expire and that I could use towards future projects through Sears. I was hoping to use the certificate for future remodeling like a roof or kitchen remodeling, but it was a big Lie!!!! The truth is, you do get a bigger savings, BUT it is not a gift certificate from Sears. You get points from ShopYourRewards that EXPIRE one year from your first payment and that you can ONLY use on items sold by Sears or K-Mart. You CANNOT use these points on market seller (stores that sell items through Sears) items even though they are sold on the Sears's website. I only found this out because I was waiting for my gift card, but did not receive it. I noticed the points in my ShopYourReqards that equaled the savings I was promised to receive a month before my points expired. I would have lost thousands of dollars if not used by 6/30/17. I contacted ShopYourRewards to try to change it to a gift card but they could not do anything. I was told to call the Sears sales team but they never returned my phone call. So now I am forced to buy more junk form Sears or lose that money. So BEWARE!!

Replies
Advertisement
Shoddy Work, Wouldn't Use Again
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BASTROP, TEXAS -- Had Sears install windows on two separate occasions. First time window was up and I asked about the trim..."Oh we don't do that". So I called the project manager who instructed employees to install vinyl trim as it was in the contract. I was under the impression they do this for all windows. Anyway, had Sears return to install 5 windows (4800) and they didn't replace rotten or chip wood or install vinyl trim. Always referred back to the contract. Shoddy work and they don't seem to take pride in their work. Sears doesn't use employees for installation, but rather sub the work out. In a tough economy like the current, I suspect Sears will fall by the wayside.

Replies
Very Expensive and Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OHIO -- I had to take out a second mortgage on my home to have replacement windows installed. Seriously, over 20,000 dollars in windows. I used Sears because I knew they have been around for many years and assumed they were good. I have had to call them back twice. They left one window with no sill. They came back and made one with 1X4. It was plain wood. I am fine with that.

The next winter, my windows would not lock. I called them. They came back to lock my windows but didn't replace, change or fix anything. Apparently I am not strong enough to close them tight enough to lock. Well here it is, many winters later and my windows still won't lock. Plus I am in debt still paying on my 2nd mortgage. I'm not happy and everyone that I talk to about replacement windows will know that Sears can't be trusted.

Replies
Sears window installation troubles and the metal frames on the outside are ugly
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

LAWRENCE, KANSAS -- The installers could not understand any of my requests because they only spoke Spanish. When I did get to see a supervisor, he listened to me but did not take any action to correct things. The caulking was done poorly and in the wrong color. I could not get the double hung windows to close at the top so that I could lock them.

One of the screens was torn. One of the metal sill covers was split and would allow water damage if I had not caulked it over. The metal window frame covers are cheap and ugly. They have sharp edges and when I needed to have siding replaced, they had to be removed, which negates any warranty. The color choices for the metal were poor and few. And they can't be painted. The installers left metal trimmings on the ground all around my house. I had to clean it up.

Replies
Windows Great, Sliding Screen Door A Cheap Nightmare!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TRACY, CALIFORNIA -- I had all windows and sliding patio door replaced on my home this last spring. Sears was polite to deal with throughout the process. We also had vinyl siding put on our home by Sears this spring as well. We spent a lot of money for high quality materials. However the quality has not lived up to their claims especially with the screen door.

From the moment it was installed, I called to complain about the poor quality only to be told this is the only screen door they sell. The screen constantly falls off and when I have called for a repair person to come out and fix it I have had to wait for 3 months, and was told how busy they are. I cannot believe how poor their customer service has been nor the quality of the screen. This makes me worry about the durability of everything else we paid for. I seriously doubt they will replace or repair anything at this point. I truly wish I would have considered another company.

Replies
Advertisement
Sears Customer Service Is a Nightmare.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI -- November 9th 2016 I signed a contract for window installation and was told that somebody would be by in 2 weeks to measure the windows. No show. Got a hold of the project manager finally and was told somebody would be out to measure the windows. This is 2 more weeks. At which time the windows were suppose to be getting put in. Again no show. The project manager comes out and measures the windows the following week. So, 2 more weeks and the windows are finally here. Guess what? They are the wrong size and have to be reordered. Now 2 more weeks have passed and no windows. I start calling the project manager. They won't take or return my calls.

Finally the sales representative steps up and tries to help. Now it's the end of January and the windows are in but the outside wrap is not on. Another 2 weeks has gone and the installer starts calling me about putting a lien on my property because he has not gotten paid yet. The middle of February finally done. Still have to pay the full price even after taking days off work for people to not show up. Now only a week has gone by and I had some personal problem to take care of - already want to send me to collections. I hope this helps some of you to make a decision on not to use Sears. They won't be doing the other half of my duplex when the time comes that much is for sure.

Replies
Sears Does Not Honor Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RHODE ISLAND -- Windows have warped, pieces have broken, etc. Just get the runaround, send faxes with information requested and still have no satisfaction?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sears Windows Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 21 ratings and
31 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sears
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192-3322
847-286-2500 (ph)
www.sears.com
smadvisor@searshc.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores