Preview Review

Next Review

Staples Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Very Bad Customer Service At Store. Good Service At Presidents Office
By -

NORTH BABYLON, NEW YORK -- Today is 8/6/10. This is regarding the store on DPA North Babylon, NY. In June I went to Staples to buy a stapler. When I was looking at them on the wall a sales clerk asked if he could help. I said yea, I want a stapler that I won't throw away in a month. He was dumbfounded and didn't know what to say. I told him forget it. I picked out a Staples brand one touch stapler and bought two. For a month it worked great, I loved it. Then it started to get jammed up and the staples were coming out wrong (short sides going out instead of going in). I brought it back to the store and some chick was trying to tell me that it was supposed to do that.

I started to argue with her and decided, without proof I have no legs to stand on. I went to my office to bring both the good and bad staplers to them to show them the difference. I went back and got a different girl at the register. I explained that the stapler didn't work anymore and I wanted to exchange it for another. She called someone over (it was the same girl) she said "Oh I had one of these this morning," I said "no it is the same one." She said "well that's the way its supposed to be." I said: "Really? Then why is this one bending in?" (referring to the not broken one) then I stapled both and showed them the difference.

They still were arguing with me saying it's the way it supposed to be. I said "what is wrong with you people, can't you see the difference?" They said it's the way it's supposed to be (I think they were from the Stepford wives). What do they think, that I am blind and an idiot?? I was furious with them. Then the store manager came over and said they would exchange it today but in the future I would need the packaging. I said "it's a stapler, not a TV. I would not have kept the plastic "cage" that you need a razor to open." She repeated herself. I figured what the hell, I am getting a new stapler, I'll not argue any more.

The cashier started the return but because I used a Staples reward coupon to pay for it and the coupon expired on 6/30/2010 (even though I used it back on 6/1/10) their system would not return the item for the amount I paid for it, I was only going to get $3 for it. I said I don't want a refund, I only want the stapler. They said they can't do anything about it, I would just have to buy a new one. I said to her "you know you are right. There is nothing you are capable of doing, I will take it up with corporate." I get back to the office and immediately call the "President's office" where first I apologize for being rude then explained my extreme frustration.

The man on the phone didn't really sound too interested but sent me via email coupons to purchase a new stapler. OK so I got what I wanted except there was no justice done. I explained to the guy that I really didn't want this to just sit. I wanted someone to call the store and tell them it was wrong to treat a customer like that (like I was stupid) because this was not the first instance of trouble at this store. Two years ago I purchased something, brought it back two days later unopened and they refused to take it back (because some company they get approvals for returns from was closed due to wild fires in CA).

He said he understood and would forward the message on. I really doubt anyone will do anything about it so I figured I would vent here. In the future, I will either go somewhere else or shop at Staples online. I really don't want to ever go back into that store. They are morons there. I mean really, they had to argue about what a used staple to supposed to look like. And if indeed it was supposed to look like that, then why did it not look like that for the first month and 1/2? OMG.

Replies
Advertisement
Store Manager customer relations
By -

RIVERSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- At approximately 9:30 AM, on June 24, 2010, I stopped in Staples in Riverside, Ca. The Staples store is located on Magnolia Ave. I was completing a color copy of my birth certificate and an error in copying was brought to the store manager attention. He "stated he would take care of it and the lady in printing would take care of it." When I went to the back area, she became rude in front of the store customers. I was unable to talk to her, due to her stating "printing color copies are forbidden by law of official documents." I had made copies of my own and had no problem.

The store associate was embarrassed and did not make the copy as was directed by the store manager. I said "that is OK, I will copy at another store". The manager became unprofessional and immediately gave me $1.00 out of his wallet and said "here is the money and I had only spent 53 cent for the color copy." He was rude and I was very embarrassed by him and the customers in the store. I said "you don't want to go there" and he played it off. If the in store camera captured the incident you would see him giving me a dollar out of his wallet as to say, "get the hell out of my store."

I am a retired Probation Juvenile Supervisor. Both the sales associate were surprised of his behavior to me as a customer. He appeared to show no concern for any customer concern and was rude. I wanted to go back in the store and really give him a piece of my mind, because I felt humiliated in front of the store associates and customers in the store. I doubt that anything will be done about this complaint with Staples, in Riverside, Ca. Most stores and companies, just overlook any complaint by any customer. All we do as customers, are to just decide not to go to that particular store of where the poor treatment by sales associates and store manager.

Most complaints are usually ignored by the corporation. I drove down the street to CVS Pharmacy store to price vitamins and briefly vented to the sales associate, who appeared to be the store manager, dressed in a white shirt and tie. I would be shocked of any response, about the store manager, who was rude and to gave me a dollar out of his billfold.

He made me feel, "like some dog, to kick and for me to get the hell out of his face." I did tell him "Everyone should be treated the same and don't go there", which meant, "the race issue." He did not say a word and just looked off. I never thought that this behavior really exists. I have been to this store many times and I truly believe, that I will not return.

I am still upset of this behavior and how the two young associated, witness this behavior, by the store manager. Of course, he may deny his actions and have a different recall of what happened. Just check the in store camera and speak to the two young sale associates. Everyone is not stupid of color and ignore mistreatment, when you spend your money and ask questions to staff in this particular store. By the way, my stomach has been upset all day, because of this incident.

Replies
Return Problem
By -

ALHAMBRA, CALIFORNIA -- Just want to tell you they are typical sales people working in there. When they are trying to sell you something, everything is no problem. But when problem exists, nobody takes care of it. I experience two problems with them within one day.

1st, I purchase a PC through their call in purchase phone number. I asked about the return policy. I was told I would have 14 days upon receipt. 9 days after I received the item, I wanted to return it. Since it's quite hassle to wait for pick up, I called the customer service line and ask them if I can return this item in store. The representative answered the phone, reviewed my order and said yes.

After I hanged up, I wanted to make sure what is the last day I can return because I couldn't make it that day. I called again and asked the representative to count which is my last day to return. I was told the coming Saturday. That was on Tuesday night. On Thursday, I drove to their store with the PC. The PC tech called Steven checked my shipping list, checked the PC top to bottom and bottom to up, and told me to wait.

After 10 minutes, he came back from their behind the scene room and told me their GM said I can't return it to them simply because it has passed 14 days - based on the shipping date. So I had to call the call center in their store and this time, the representative told me they were making an exception for me. They the other reps told me I would be able to return it by Saturday!

Come on! I have never asked for exception! I asked the same question since I placed the original order! The representative told me she can email me the return policy which is 14 days from the time of shipping. I didn't have Internet access when I was in the store. What can I do?! Had to drive all the way back home with the heavy box again. When I got online, guess what, their return policy on technology on website is 14 days from receipt!

2nd, I dropped off the old pc I have for their tune up service since it slows down lately. The technician called after a week and told me my computer got virus. I told him I have McAFee, but he told me sometimes some virus is hiding from this kind of software. It made sense to me. So I paid the $129.99 and have the virus removal service.

But after that, the computer doesn't run any faster. When I called them again, another technician answered the phone, and asked me to take it back again. Don't know what they are trying to sell me this time. Luckily I was able to get hold of their contracted PC engineer who performed the removal for me. He told me this is an old computer, the virus removal doesn't necessarily help to fix the problem. I should just get a new computer or buy more RAM! So they sold me something useless to my case.

Replies
Staples Uses Rebates to SCAM Consumers Into Buying
By -

I made an online purchase on Staples.com -- when going through their site I came across what I thought was a good deal. They were offering HammerMill Copy paper if you purchased at least a qty of 2 for $35.00 a case. This is still higher than Sam's and Costco, but for 1 week they were offering a $15.00 rebate per case (up to 2 cases). This brought it down to $23.00 per case. This made it a good deal. Once I received my statement I went back in online to complete my rebate for which needed my invoice number to complete it.

After 3 days I received a standard email from Staples stating I was not eligible for the rebate offer. I emailed them back to find out why, because I had done everything as instructed online. Another 2 days and I received an email stating because I made my purchases on their website (which I might remind you is where I found the offer in the first place) that I was not eligible for the rebate. So, I immediately called staples.com to find out what was going on.

I told the lady what the email stated and what the ad came up and stated on the website when I purchased. She said "Hang on and let me check on this for you." She came back after less than a minute and said "The email is correct, you are not eligible because you purchased on Staples.com and not from the actual store." I told her it did not say this anywhere on the website that it was not eligible for the rebates. She said it is there it is just in fine print and you probably just did not see it. I told her if it was in fine print, it was so small it would not even blow up to be visible because I had looked for any clauses before making the purchase.

She said "Well I am glad we got that cleared up, is there anything else I can help you with?" Of course they were no help and I felt like they were happy that another sucker fell for their rebate scams. I told her that was not right, to advertise one thing and then not back it up. I told her I wanted the courier who had made the delivery to my home (free delivery with over $50.00 purchase) to come and pick up my paper because I did not want it. It is higher than Walmart, Sams and Costco. She was baffled that I would expect them to come and pick it up.

I told her it was not right and I was shocked that a store as big as Staples would stoop so low as to use rebate SCAMS to draw in consumers. I told her they were not getting my business. She very reluctantly said she would send a courier to pick it up within 5 business days and a credit would appear on my account. I am currently waiting on the courier -- he had better pick it up or I will file a chargeback for items not being as advertised.

Replies
Advertisement
Staples - That Was Not Easy
By -

FRAMINGHAM, MASSACHUSETTS -- I do a lot of business with Staples especially the Copy and Print Center and have all of my printing needs, office supplies, technology purchases through them. I had placed an order with StaplesCustomPrinting.com. I am very upset and wanted to send my complaint to upper management.

I had made a purchase of 200 business cards back on July 3 which wasn't received by me until July 15. The online upload system is not helpful and useful when lining up a finished design to be uploaded and fitted on the card size. I carefully placed it, liking the way the proof looked and placed my order.

When I received the order, the logo was small and the text was too as well as the text was spaced out too much, not the way I had seen it. There were also lines through the text which was a printing error, so I had them re-printed and received my new business card order of only 100 since the promotion was not running, he would not offer me the same deal but would refund 100 cards. I received my order (quicker than the last one) to find the text at the top of the card was cut off. Everything else on the business card was fine.

I would like your attention to this matter because this is my 6th order and the order has still not been resolved. I called Friday, July 31 after receiving my 4th order to complain that the text was too close to the cut which I was told it would be fine as someone placed the design for me.

I spoke with ** (redacted) and he assisted me. Kerry in C. S. did a reorder of 200 business cards for me but she promised I would receive it by Tuesday, August 4th, no later than Wednesday. ** (redacted) assured me of having it by then too as notes were put on the order to ship it out next day air with UPS. But, no the shipping department shipped it ground and I will not have it until August 7th.

I was told one thing but a different thing happened. I am upset with the amount of trouble and time I have spent on this to get 200 business cards. I did not get these cards until Friday the 7th and wanted to know if anything can be done about my order. I received the order, still disappointed with the quality, it was refunded - the paper stock was not what I had experienced from the samples.

I placed another order for a different business card design, this one arrived with a white hairline, grainy image, looked sharpened, pixelated and lines running through the card. It was not my fault, I had done a proof and it looked fine so I went ahead and placed the order. I was told by ** (redacted) that nothing could be done but only if I wanted to upgrade to the heavy stock which would prevent the lines.

Also, I got a sample portfolio and compared the business cards, the one I received and the one that was claimed to be the same standard weight online, the paper quality, thickness, paper type is much different. The business card I ordered was a little thicker but only had a semi-gloss, the sample business card had a very smooth, gloss other than the card I ordered and they are both the same paper type I selected online.

Here is a part of my e-mail to ** (redacted): "It is much easier to go through the in-store copy and print center but I would like to have this process be much simpler and easy. I don't understand why there would be streaking in the card because of the paper stock. I should not have to upgrade to a higher priced paper stock to get good business cards. Also the standard paper stock is much different in the sample and then the one I received from my order. I should be able to expect the same quality from the sample vs the order. The sample standard card was a nice glossy UV coating and the one from my order was a very bland dull matte. Why is that?"

I sent both of the card types in the mail to let them compare and show the difference. It is disappointing how much time and waste has been put into this. Staples' slogan is "that was easy". The orders from Staples Custom Printing certainly was not.

Replies
Unreliable Inventory Count Online and In Store
By -

Staples.com is a very unreliable website when it comes to in-stock or out-of-stock products. I went online to their website yesterday and found this HP laptop that I really liked and I checked their in-store availability because they were out of stock on the website. I remember seeing that the product was still available at some of the locations around me, so I went to one of the stores to buy it.

After I got to the store, I spoke with an employee there and asked for the product. He looked up the product in their system and told me that this store is actually low on stock. That employee then went to check if they have the laptop in the back and returned to me with a "no". He also suggested that I try a different location that was nearby (about a 25 minute drive from where I was). But before I drove there, I decided to call to make sure they have something there, which was a very wise choice because as expected, they were out of stock too.

Apparently I double checked this time online and saw the check store availability list and both stores were still listed as they were in stock for the laptop. Fortunately I didn'€™t give up that easily, so I continued refreshing the webpage that I was on for another couple of times. After refreshing the page, I noticed that the Staples website was updated and I could actually place an order online. This time I placed an order and was a little confused as to why the delivery date changed from 1 day to 4 business days in between the time I added the item to my shopping cart and the time I was about checked out.

But that was not a big deal for me so I placed the order as it is. The problem came when I was called by a customer representative today. I did not know my order was put on hold from yesterday until I made a second order today for another item. The representative told me that my order for today did not go through because the phone number I gave them on my card was my personal contact number not the primary cardholder'™s number. I wasn't aware that the number I provided was a different number but I was able to give them the correct number within seconds to fix it and allow them to put through the orders.

Now the second problem came. I asked them "If my order from today was put on hold, how did the order from yesterday go through?" The lady looked at all my orders and answered me that the order from yesterday was actually on hold as well. She then said the laptop I wanted is no longer in stock so my order from yesterday for that laptop cannot be fulfilled. How great is that? To find how all my time spent trying to buy this laptop has gone to waste? It wasn'€™t a great feeling for me and I probably would never have found out that my laptop order wasn'€™t put through had I not asked about it.

After this experience, I can only say that I'€™m very disappointed about the unreliability of the quantities listed as in-stock on the website and even in the stores. I'm also extremely unhappy that after spending all this time, I still don't have a laptop and that customer support is very inefficient. They could'€™ve called me earlier and I would've supplied them with the correct number. Then I wouldn'€™t lose the chance of getting the laptop I really wanted while they were still available. I probably will never place another order online with staples ever again with this kind of bad experience and service.

Replies
Scammed Out of Money When Buying Ink Cartridges
By -

ALBANY, NEW YORK -- I made a trip to Staples to purchase some printer ink cartridges for both personal and office use. I made my way to the aisle containing the ink cartridges and reviewed the different products and prices and searched for ones compatible with my printers. Not once during this time was I approached and offered assistance by one of Staples' employees.

Although their selection on this day was far from adequate, I finally discovered a rack containing ink for my manufacturer. I noticed a couple of areas on the rack were completely devoid of any cartridges whatsoever but found some black ink cartridges for what I considered to be a very high price of 17.99. Towards the very back I noticed 2 packages which were called "twin packs" and apparently contained two ink cartridges. I quickly grabbed both twin packs because I considered this to be a much better deal and recognized it as an excellent bargain opportunity.

Before leaving the ink cartridge aisle I reviewed the empty space on the rack next to where I picked up the twin packs. I removed the price tag from the empty space on the rack to see if the price indicated on it was for my cartridges. Unfortunately, I couldn't make heads or tails of the mumbo jumbo it contained so I disposed of it on the floor of another aisle as I continued shopping. Quite frankly, I didn't care and didn't believe it to be a problem because I knew I was entitled to these items at the price where I located them.

Once I was through with my other purchases I made my way to the checkout. Everything was going smoothly until the ditzy blood teen cashier scanned my twin packs. They rang up at twice the price! I politely told the cashier that the correct price was 17.99 and she asked me if I was certain it was 17.99 for a twin pack. At this point my patience was wearing thin so I sighed and told her "Of course I'm sure since I found them on a 17.99 rack". She informed me a price check by anther associate would have to be performed.

It was at this moment that one of the customers in line behind me had the gall to let out a groan and shake their head and otherwise act like an impatient baby. Luckily, I was able to ignore him and pass the time endlessly waiting for some new buffoon to perform a price check by calling my brother. Finally, the price checker returned with a manager who assured me 17.99 was an incorrect price, but was willing to reduce one of the twin packs to this price because they were misplaced.

Putting my brother on hold, I informed the manager that this was unacceptable. His reply was that there was nothing else he could do and gave me an empty apology. I cashed out with one of the twin packs for 17.99 as the manager had to perform the price reduction. I walked away leaving the rest of my purchases and the other twin pack sitting at the register. I guess there was something else he could do for me and that is put away all the purchases he lost due to his treatment of me. Or maybe he should make the immature customer behind me put some away. Never again, Staples. I'm shopping at another retailer from now on.

Replies
Online Order Confirmation
By -

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- The core of my issue was not receiving what I ordered after I was promised the item. I believe you should receive and order that you place and verbally verify, especially if the customer service rep tells you it is on its way. Unfortunately this is not the way with Staples. According to Jenifer, even their own staff do not have access to their warehouse inventory and it's only when they actually go pack your order they will really know whether it is available.

So I am not sure I would actually be able to shop on a website that might just contain virtual merchandise. I am writing to describe a unacceptable buying experience at Staples.com. Yesterday (6/14/07) I ordered an IBM Thinkpad T60m off your website. The item was available at the time and I got a message to call Staples at 1-800-839-3067 to confirm the order.

I called in and spoke a very polite person who confirmed and processed my order. They told me the machine would arrive today (6/15/07). At this point I requested that the machine be delivered only Monday (6/17/07) to ensure that I would be at home to receive the order. The person made these arrangements and told me to expect the machine on Monday. I also commented on what a pleasant experience shopping at Staples was.

This morning (6/15/07) I went to the website since I was curious to see if the special was sold out. It was still available. However today at 3:10 pm I got an email stating that the machine I ordered was no longer available and would not be shipped. I was horrified.

I am an avid web shopper and I have never had an experience where after purchasing an item, called in for verbal verification, told it was on its way – was now not available. I also find this business process flawed since I had called a person who obviously has access to all the enterprise systems and should have been able to tell me that the order was not available. Not to mention that the site still showed this item as available this morning. I called the number indicated in the email and was unable to resolve the issue. I was told that my order is not guaranteed until it ships.

I find this completely unacceptable as there is nothing on your entire site that indicates this to be the case. I think it is implicit in your order confirmation process that I will receive the item I bought. Unless your intention is for me to now shop for something else which, since this is illegal, I doubt is the case. It would also be disconcerting for any shopper to not know that he had made a successful order until he actually received the item. For web shoppers, receiving an order confirmation should alone be confirmation that he will receive the order.

I am a software architect by trade and I would be surprised that Staples would be unable to confirm product availability prior to reviewing customer credit or doing manual verification. My preferred outcome would be to receive the item I had ordered over the web and verbally confirmed, or an equivalent IBM Thinkpad. I would appreciate you urgently looking into this matter and bringing it to a satisfactory conclusion.

Replies
Advertisement
Can't Complain
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

SOUTH ELGIN, ILLINOIS -- Thankfully we have Associates like Michael ** who made our shopping experience very pleasant. We are not very computer savvy and the Associate took the time and effort to answer all the questions we had. The Toshiba Laptop Satellite was on sale. The Laptop was not in stock but was delivered the next day from a different store. We declined the Extended Warranty Plan, no problem and got all the rebates. We could not be happier.

Replies
Staples Easy Rewards
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND -- I have been issued three “easy” Reward Cards whose values (total: $58) have unaccountably fallen to zero. Ride “Chats” and telephone but got nowhere. I have run out of time and patience, and conclude there is no point to trying to redeem any value. Staples support has been circular, unhelpful, and a waste of time. I have concluded that these reward cards are basically a scam. Office Depot recently came across as reliable and trustworthy. Big difference.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Staples Rating:
Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.7 out of 5, based on 139 ratings and
267 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Staples
500 Staples Drive
Framingham, MA 01702
508-253-5000 (ph)
508-253-8989 (fax)
www.staples.com
Product/Services
Compare Office Supply Stores