Preview Review

Next Review

Staples Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unethical Refund Policy and They Sell Products They Don't Have
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAKELAND, FLORIDA -- On December 13, 2014, I paid Staples $1028 CASH deposit they required to purchase a new laptop. They promised delivery in 3 business days. The sales persons name was **. His manager was also involved in this transaction. I received an e-mail informing me that the order had been canceled on 12/22/2014. So, I made a special trip to the store where I purchased the laptop on South Fla Ave in Lakeland, Florida and ** assured me that the order had not been canceled and that it would in fact be delivered on 12/26/2014 and he promised he would call me on that day.

I received a phone call on 12/29/2014 from ** informing me that the order had in fact been canceled and that I needed to come in and look at the available options. December 30, 2014, I went to the store to get back my CASH deposit and was informed that their corporate office would mail me a check within 2 weeks maybe, by their team supervisor, **. At this time, I was also told by another employee that they had personally told ** several times that he should call me and inform me of the cancellation. This person was present when ** promised the 12/26 delivery and that he would also call me on that day.

The team supervisor gave me a phone number to call for the Staples office of the president and called and spoke to a person named ** at extension 31515 in customer service at length. She asked for my number promised to call me back the following day. I repeated the number to her twice. I have yet to hear from her and I have left several messages.

I am a local business man and have dealt with all kinds of businesses in the last 32 years and I have got to say that these are the shadiest bunch I have dealt with in a long time. They will have use of my money for a month or longer because they could not deliver a product THEY sold me. I didn't even go in there to buy a computer but they sure painted a pretty picture so I bought it. What a bill of goods huh? I need to purchase a computer but they have my money so I can't.

Replies
Advertisement
Coverage Plan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I purchased a printer on 10/28/2011 and when the sales person asked me if I wanted to purchase the coverage plan for 2 years, I asked if the 2 years started after the 1 year warranty that printer was under, sales person told me yes it was, so I would have a total of three years.

Fast forward to the present, I brought the printer into the Staples store on Alafaya Trail, Waterford Lakes and went over to the Easy Tech support desk. I showed the tech the printer and told him that I was receiving a message error that implied something was stuck in the printer and I couldn't find it. The tech asked me for my receipt, called someone because the date was 2011, came back and told me the printer was still under warranty. The tech couldn't figure what was wrong with the printer, so he told me to call the 1-800 number for Customer Service and they would assist me.

I called Customer Service all ready to receive my postage free box to send out the printer for the support people to fix and was told that my warranty had expired. I went over the whole conversation that I had when I brought the printer into the store and all Customer Service could say to me was, “I'm sorry, but your coverage started the day you purchased your printer, not a year later.”

I went on to tell her the story again, where the tech called and asked if the printer was under warranty (which he said it was), so I said, “the sales person sold me a protection plan under false pretenses and the tech person wasn't truthful when he told me the printer was still under warranty – you're Customer Service, what are you going to do to correct the situation?” A sorry was all I received!

I called the store, talked with the manager and told him that I never shop at Staples, I was in another store nearby and decided to go in and look around. He told me I was under the old coverage plan… And that matters how? This incident confirms why I don't shop at Staples and never will again! I'll shop where I always shop – Best Buy – where the sales people are honest with the customers, because they want you to come back.

Replies
Bad Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MATAMORAS, PENNSYLVANIA -- OK 1st off a couple weeks ago they had a office chair on sale for 89.99 online ad. It was Saturday night and almost closing time so I called the store. They had 1 left in stock and I asked they hold it till the morning for me. They took my name and held it. Everything good so far. I go to the store at opening time, go to pay for the chair and it comes up as 160+. I said "wait this is 89.99" and was informed the sale was over and it is full price now. I said I reserved it last night but they said I should have reserved it online to get sale price. When I told them that it said it was a clearance and low stock and would not let me do it online.

I called the 1 800 number when I got home from store and the person I spoke with said they should honor the sale price because I called them while the sale was on. I went back to store, explained what the person said and they stated they would call corporate and get back to me. Never heard a word from them. I stopped into the store a week later and spoke with the manager and was told "we called you" which I showed her my phone log and there was nothing on it. Oh well I leave.

They have the chair on sale again for 99.00 so I said heck with it I'll go get it. When I arrive they have no more in stock but the floor display one. OK then they tell me it will be another 10 bucks because of assembly charge. I looked at the girl like she was nuts, I said "um every other store I have ever bought from sells the display model less than the currant price, not more." She said it's a assembly charge. I said "well I have to take it apart to get it in my car so I don't need it assembled." She says "sorry if you want the last one the display, it's an extra 10 buck." So I said "you know what, I will never buy from Staples again." And walked out. This is just sad.

Replies
Why I Don't Shop at Staples Anymore
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA -- I am small business consultant and used to shop at Staples to pick up laptop, desktop, printers & accessories etc for my clients. I used to shop there so often (1 to 2 times a week) that most of the staff personally knew me. Then a "new" manager was assigned to the store and that's when the problems begin. I was at the Staples store at Potomac Yard, Alexandria VA and they had a system on Clearance on the floor and I picked it up at proceeded to pay for it. As usual I was harassed for Extended warranty of $200 for $400 system. Common sense would dictate that it would absolutely make no sense to buy an extended warranty for the system at 50% of the cost.

I just played along as I was used to the game and in the end refused to buy the warranty. I gave my rewards card number and the Asst Manager pulled out my company name and noticed that I had the word "Computer" in the company name. At that point she informed me that since I was a reseller she would not sell me the computer. I though she was joking as I had bought from her 100 times before. But she called the "new" manager and he agreed with her and gave me the number of the President Office at Staples (which is also the same BS customer service to placate irritated customer, no action is ever taken) to file a complaint but refused to sell me the system.

I informed him that the store was in Crystal City, Virginia where more than 80% businesses are computer consultants selling to Federal Government. If he had these policies he would have no sales but the "new" manager would NOT budge. I walked out of the store empty handed and my purchases of $25K to 30K per year with Staples are now zero and I constantly encourage all my clients NOT to shop at Staples and buy their toners and supplies online from Amazon at much cheaper prices and better customer service.

After reading the New York Times article dated Sep 9, 2012 about these same Staples practices, I felt vindicated and hopefully the Staples management will soon realize that it makes NO sense to walk a "paying" customer in order to sell an overpriced warranty BUT who can understand the logic of the "SMART" marketing heads at corporate office.

Replies
Advertisement
Great, Informative Help Selecting Proper Printer for Small Business
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WYOMISSING, PENNSYLVANIA -- I have been in the market for a new printer for our small business for about a year and a half. I have compared printers online and still was not sure which I should buy. I have always bought HP products so I was inclined to stick with them. I did not seek help when I went to Staples because my past experiences when I've needed help have not been good at all. They seemed to be cashiers roaming the store hoping no one asks them any questions, and when they do, they were not knowledgeable about any of the products. So this morning when I went in to buy cartridges for the printer that needs replacing, I browsed the new printers yet again.

A sales clerk saw me looking a particular printer and came over and told me that they have had returns on almost all of that particular printer sold and asked what exactly I needed in a printer. I told him and he directed me to an Epson printer. It was one of the cheaper printers so I inquired what made the next one ($100 more) worth the extra money. He explained the differences between the two and instead of steering me towards the one that was $100 more, he told me that for what I would be using it for, the cheaper one was actually a better fit for me.

That salesman's name was **, Tech Sales Supervisor at the Wyomissing, PA store. He was the most courteous, helpful, informative salesperson I have ever encountered. They were out of stock of that particular printer in the store and he offered to order it online for me and ship it to us. I however, came home and ordered it myself. I felt relieved to finally have made an informative decision about which printer to buy after trying for so long to figure it out myself.

Thank you **! I hope the right people at the Staples Home Offices read these reviews and reward employees for their superior service. I hope you move up in this company. You certainly have the knowledge and the people skills to go far in life!

Replies
Irresponsible Operations Manager and Salesman
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CUPPERTINO, CALIFORNIA -- Very bad experience! I came here because we had a gather with my friends in this area. I went to buy 3 gift cards to give to my friends. After I paid and signed, they started to activate them. But they could not activate the 3rd one. Without asking my permission, the cashier canceled my 3rd gift card, and then his manager came out and void the cancellation. At last, they charged me all 3 gift cards' price, but only 2 are activated. Then they told me that they could not do anything.

They could not active another gift card to me, so I was angry and said that I wanted my money back. (I don't want to buy the gift cards here.) They said that I could not return the gift cards unless I came another time when their manager and their banker was at work. I lived very far, so I refused to come another time. I wanted it settle down this time. To me, you either give my money back or give me a 3rd gift card. The cashier and his supervisor said that their operation manager had more power than them, and they called the operations manager (named Carrie **) many times. The operations manager refused to come out to meet me to settle this down.

I am pissed off by their behaviors. They even let me call my credit card company to cancel the transaction, but the bank didn't have the right, but Staples should do that; or after the transaction posted, I disputed. I understand the banker's explanation. But Staples people said that their system could not void my transaction, so I could not even dispute the transaction later they have my signature. I must come back once and that's the operational manager's decision. Till here, it's already one hour passed.

Finally, their operations manager told them that they could void my 3rd gift card's charge. They wasted my time, and they could not give me an satisfying solution. Later I called Staples Customer Service to complain this and they told me that they could not do anything. In other retail stores or online store, they could easily solve this kind of problem. Why does Staples use this suck system, stupid policy, irresponsible salesman and operations manager? I am sorry for this tedious and not logical review, because I way too angry. I will never ever come back to any Staples!

Replies
Price Match Guarantee? Not So Easy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RIVERDALE, NEW JERSEY -- Visited Riverdale NJ Staples: Found a camera (Samsung ST150s) in store. Found the same color/model on Best Buy website for $20 less, so the clerk asked manager if they could price match. Manager said no, because this was an in store item, there was no way to verify if Best Buy had it in the store. So I hit the check out button on my phone, and amazingly, the Best Buy website stated the store at the next traffic light indeed had it in stock, and I could pick it up "now" for the lower price.

We showed the manager, who said (in the rudest, most condescending tone of voice) that I would need to go to Best Buy, get a circular, and bring it back. Only then could they match an in store items price. I asked what if item was not listed in circular? Manager shrugged, "that's our policy, can't be helped". I said, "it would be easier to purchase from Best Buy", and I walked out. (Bought camera in the color I wanted at Best Buy 5 minutes later.)

After reviewing the Staples posted policy, it does not clearly state what you would need to price match in store price, circular or otherwise. But I know that competing stores accept each others coupons on my smartphone and Best Buy's own site lets you save the URL or print out from competitor. Why did the manager say "no way to verify in store at that price", and then when confronted with evidence of in store/in stock lower price, demand a circular? For a camera Staples wasn't supposed to have!

Why is it my job to bring a competitor circular to management! A price listed on website for an item VERIFIED to be in stock, in store, should be more than enough!

Replies
Incompetence Combined With Indifference
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This is not about a specific Staples store, but about their online service. I purchased a bookcase from them to be delivered Thursday, 5/24/13. Staples at one time had daily delivery, but now apparently that's limited only to businesses while us peasants must make do with weekly deliveries. Even so, had they delivered it as promised and as I instructed them to do there would have been no problem. However, I had asked them to ring my neighbor's bell since I would not be home at the time of delivery. Instead, they rang my bell, said "oh well, see you next Thursday" and left.

I am 74 and unable to put together a bookcase. My son-in-law was visiting that week and he likes putting things together. Had they delivered as promised there would have been no problem. When I called Staples that night I was told it would be delivered the next day, but when I called on Friday, was told, "oh no, you need to wait until next Thursday". I explained the situation and was met with indifference so requested they cancel the order. It had been their screw-up in the first place, they could have corrected it in the second place, but the same indifference I saw in the incompetent delivery I also experienced on the phone.

So instead of at least paying attention when I requested cancellation, they delivered it - to my neighbor - the following Thursday. At this point, I would have to pay someone to put it together for me. I had to wait on the phone 20 minutes to speak to another indifferent voice so that I could, for a 2nd time, cancel this order. Now I have to ask my neighbor to let them in to pick up their stupid bookcase. I will purchase one the next time my son-in-law is in town, but it won't be from Staples.

Replies
Advertisement
DON'T BUY Staples Warranty Unless You Read the Fine Print and Understand All of It
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SIREN, WI, MINNESOTA -- We bought an HP laptop with the warranty from Staples. The salesman (assistant manager) recommended the warranty we purchased and thinking he was selling us the warranty we needed for this specific computer. Key print on laptop started wearing off within 6 months, took back to Staples, said warranty does not cover "key print missing"; that is a cosmetic problem and you can still use computer without printed letters on keyboard. Honestly, who can, for memory, recite each row of keys? OK, accepted that, kind of, but then screen cracked just sitting on a table; had shut laptop down and unplugged for pending severe thunderstorm that never happened.

Next morn plug in laptop and started up and "ink blotch" on screen. I can honestly say it had not been hit, no animals or kids around, just husband and myself. When we bought warranty we were told it covered screen breakage. Took to Woodbury Staples and were told the warranty we purchased does not cover screen breakage only phone support. Our salesman had recommended this warranty and we weren't aware Staples warranty would be different from doing an extended HP warranty. Did not read the fine print. We should have been advised to buy the "accidental warranty" or HP 3 year extended warranty.

Why does Staples sell warranties if they don't honor them other than for extra $$$. Folks at Woodbury Staples have always been great when shopping in the store. BUT Staples warranties are the worst for any kind of coverage. One of the tech staff told me Staples needs to do some work on their warranties but nothing has been done each time warranty is reviewed.

Frustrating when you buy an $869 laptop and another $300 for the warranty to have this happen and no coverage with warranty. Staples did say they will prorate our warranty and they will help me select a new computer and apply the prorated $$ to my new warranty. This is NOT GOING TO HAPPEN and we will let others know how Staples does not cover the warranties they sell.

Replies
Nightmare Shopping Experience at Staples, Eastbrunswick, NJ Store
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EAST BRUNSWICK, NEW JERSEY -- I am writing this in regards to an unpleasant shopping experience I had at the East brunswick, New Jersey Store. On March 14 I was at the store to buy some items and saw an advertisement for a sale on a 64gb Sandisk USB drive. I was told by the sales guy to take the label to the register and someone would get the item. The USB drive was priced 129.99 and with instant rebates came up to 59.99. I went home, opened the package and gave the USB drive to my son and told him it was big enough to hold 10 movies. My son looked at the capacity and said it's only 16gb and not 64gb. I immediately looked at the wrapper and it clearly stated 64gb.

Next day evening I went to the store and explained them that I was sold a misrepresented item. The sales guy contacted his supervisor who at that time wasn't at the store. To my dismay I was told that there is nothing Staples could do and I have to raise this issue with the manufacturer. He wasn't even willing to take the item back. The manager's name is **. He was arrogant, disrespectful during his conversation, had no interest in listening to my complaint and spoke without any responsibility.

What is shocking and unacceptable is the store manager telling me that once the item is opened nothing can be done. Does he expect customers to open their items inside the store and verify, validate then and there itself. Or maybe I wasn't a white to be served better. Is this how Staples treat their customers? Does Staples leave all the dirty work of following up with the manufacturers on faulty issues to the customers? Customers like me shop with some trust and faith at Staples hoping that they are sold items that are genuine.

It would have taken 5 minutes for me to call Sandisk and hopefully have the issue resolved. But this is not my problem and not my business. I wanted Staples to address this problem. And also have the store manager apologize for his nonsensical talk. I complained about the incident to the Staples customer relation dept. They seem to be worse than the store manager. They came back with a standard answer, "It's Staples policy and they cannot make an exception". Obviously suckers cannot fix a policy that is flawed and that's why they still have a job at Staples. Shame...

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Staples Rating:
Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.7 out of 5, based on 141 ratings and
268 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Staples
500 Staples Drive
Framingham, MA 01702
508-253-5000 (ph)
508-253-8989 (fax)
www.staples.com
Product/Services
Compare Office Supply Stores