Preview Review

Next Review

Target Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Target / NEW Corp Extended Warranty Complaint
By -

In 2008, purchased a floor model 37" LCD HDTV for a great price at Target. Since it was a floor model, I bought the 2 year extended warranty (serviced by NEW Corp, Inc.). After 18 months, started a nagging problem: the power button would flash for 3-4 minutes, then the TV would eventually power on. I reported the issue and filed a claim.

Soon after, I received packing materials to mail the TV to a service center. They consisted of a box, clear plastic bag, and 4 foam pieces - one for each corner of the LCD panel. Seemed flimsy to me, but figured they handle a lot of these claims. So I packed it up and took pictures of the TV, serial numbers, packing materials, etc just in case I never saw the TV again. Sent via Fedex to Lifetime Service Center in Williamsville, NY.

App. 10 days later, got the TV back via UPS on 1/18. The invoice said that the power supply was repaired, but there was a DENT in the screen - RETURN UNREPAIRED. I powered the TV up, and it is completely ruined, will not display a picture. I immediately reported it the night of 1/18 to NEW Corp. The young lady told me to contact the service center.

Morning of 1/19 I contacted the service center - they told me that they did not find any physical damage on the packaging, so they could not claim with Fedex. The assumption is that I sent the TV in with a dented screen, which I absolutely had not done.

Why did they fix the power supply if there was an obvious dent in the screen?? Did they inspect the item when it arrived? Where was the packaging? How do I know it was in good shape - I'm just supposed to take their word? Did they damage my TV in their shop? The service center stonewalled me - was told to contact NEW Corp again.

I have talked to no fewer than 6 people at NEW Corp, each one assuring me that they would make it right, telling me that I would get a call back from a supervisor within 48 hours. NOT ONCE have I received a call back within the promised time frame.

Finally I did speak to a supervisor who told me the same thing the service center did - since they can't claim with Fedex, then I'm out of luck. I escalated to a manager, who asked me to email the pictures (I did). He promised to call me back by Tuesday, 1/26. It is now 1/28 and guess what? No call back. I just left him another voice mail. I have escalated this with Target Guest Services. They acted like they would do something but that was 1 week ago, and I have not received a call back.

I am FED UP. Not only am I out the price of the extended warranty, but my TV is completely ruined. I am a reasonable and conscientious person. I would never send a piece of electronics that I had physically damaged and file a claim on it. My next steps are to continue hectoring Target and NEW Corp, file with the BBB, and contact a local TV station consumer advocate to try to force their hand. In the meantime, I am warning everyone not to purchase an extended warranty, and I no longer shop at Target.

I know someone calling themselves "supersue" defends NEW Corp on this site frequently, saying that they are a great company. Maybe she will help make this right, because right now they are really low in my book. No one cares about my problem at Target or NEW, or that I am out several hundred dollars due to the negligence of their service center.

NOTE: I know that Target and NEW do not service the electronics. However they took my money, so they are responsible. There are way too many parties and counter-parties pointing fingers at each other, and I just want it resolved.

Resolution Update 01/29/2010:

Well, what do you know? Keith from NEW Corp just called me back. Because I supplied pictures, they are going to refund the original purchase price of the TV on a Target gift card. I consider this more than fair - really all I was asking for is to send the TV back in for repair.

I am now satisfied that NEW Corp and Target have done the right thing and corrected the situation.

Replies
Advertisement
Archer Farms Barbacoa
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I bought this product thinking it would be easy to shred like it appears on the back of the box. The meat comes in very large chunks. I microwaved it per the directions. I couldn't get this beef jerky to shred with a chain saw, so I tried steaming it for a bit. That made it worse. I gave up and cut it into chunks. It was dry as a popcorn fat. If you like dry beef, go for it. If you expect it to look like it does on the back of the sleeve and taste good, keep looking. It won't stop me from buying Archer Farms stuff, because it's usually pretty good. This... not so much..

Replies
Refused to Sell Me a Cell Phone
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRANKLIN, TENNESSEE -- I walked into Target today to purchase an iPhone 6 through Verizon. No prob with Verizon, but after taking my info the sales representative placed a call and was told I was NOT ALLOWED to buy the phone. No reason was given, in fact, the sales person said there was no way for me to follow up and no one for me to call. I spoke with the Store Manager who gave me a phone number and I was told MY CASE (???) was under investigation. There were no signs posted regarding their rules. I am a senior citizen trying to get this phone for my own use. They are out of their minds. I smell law suit.

Replies
TV Power Cord
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TURLOCK, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased a Vizio LCD 42" TV in February 2013 and specifically asked the clerk (whose name was **) if the cord and everything was in the plastic bag where the manual and remote was. He told me "yes". Well we got it home (in Merced) where I live and put it in the bedroom and left it in the plastic they had wrapped it in until March 29th. DirecTV came out this day to hook it up for us. Well I naturally thought the power cord was in the bag because the clerk had said it was so I didn't think to look when we got the TV home in Merced. Well DirecTV proceeded to tell us when they were hooking it up that there was no power cord, but they could hook everything else up.

So I drove back to Turlock Target with the receipt and spoke to the same clerk that had sold us the TV and explained to him that there was no cord in the bag, well he looked at the receipt and said "well this was way back in Feb." I proceeded to tell him that the TV had not been hooked up till now because we were waiting for a tech to come hook up for us. Well he said he didn't think he had a cord for our TV, so I pointed to another Vizio 42 inch TV I seen in the box and asked him why couldn't he take the one out of that box, he said he couldn't do that because all the cords were different.

So he walked over to the computer area to look at the universal laptop cords and so I asked him if I was going to have to pay for it and he told me yes. I was livid I told him that I wasn't purchasing something I had already paid for. Well they didn't have any cords naturally so he said that he thought maybe Radio Shack had the cord I needed, and I again told him that I wasn't rebuying a cord I had already paid for, that he didn't know what to tell me.

That if I could go home and take a picture of the opening of the cord that was plugged into the TV that he might be able to find one that there was about six different cords and I told him how could that be for the same brand TV, and why couldn't he look it up on the computer then. He said he couldn't. I said, "you mean to tell me that I have to drive back all the way to Merced and then drive back?!" He said he didn't know what else to tell me. I was not happy.

I was very upset and told him thanks for nothing. He even called the dept. manager and he was not a help either. They pretty much made me feel like 'well you bought it already so we're done with you.' They didn't take responsibility for their actions and didn't seem to care. So I had to keep my fingers crossed when they came across a cord they thought might fit from a picture I took. The customer service was very aggravating and I will never buy another electronic anything in that store again. The clerk even asked me if the tech for DirecTV had an extra cord and I flipped, and told him maybe if the tech sold TVs.

Replies
Advertisement
Racial Profiling
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODINVILLE, WASHINGTON -- My wife shops in this store and has for over 2 years now, although I don't know why, with how she has been treated. She is Latina and every time she goes into the store there is at least one employee who seems to look her over, like she is thinking about stealing something. When she first brought it to my attention, I thought she was being somewhat sensitive. However about a year ago, I came into the store unbeknownst to my wife and I watched one of the Asset Protection people, a rather tall large women follow her around the store. The AP passed white shoppers, but seem to linger at other Hispanic customers in the store.

I was so appalled at the behavior I asked to speak to the manager. A woman came over and I explained I had just watched the AP follow my wife and others, but saw no suspicious behavior on their part, but for the mere fact they were Hispanic. I explained I watched a young white man dressed in an oversized coat hanging out in the electronics section and witnessed him pocket something, but the AP was too focused on the Hispanics in the store to even notice.

She said she would address the concern with the AP although I never saw her call the AP over. My wife continued shopping and after a time, that the AP did not appear to be working there anymore, but was replaced by another younger man.

In the last several months, my wife has gone on in different occasions and has been followed into the restroom by employees. The last of which was the fitting room attendant who entered the stall next to her, but never used the toilet. Upon finishing her business and washing her hands, the Target attendant came out. My wife asked her why she was following her, but the employee said she was not, and walked out of the restroom. Evidently she didn't bother to read the sign that states "Employees are required to wash their hands before returning to work."

Disturbed by this incident I tried to make a complaint by calling the guest services phone number only to be referred to another number, which only allowed me to leave a voice mail. I received an canned response of "I'm making your concerns available to the regional and district offices to ensure that Target team member training sufficiently addresses the issues you raised."

Shopping again yesterday, my wife felt as though she was being followed by the AP again. She texted me distraught, so I told her take his picture. The AP passed, she called him by the name on his tag, **. He didn't like this at all. He told her it was illegal for her to take his photo. She told him that she took it to report him for following her. He then told her that she was going to have to leave the store. She asked why, she hadn't done anything wrong.

She then called me to report what was going on. I could hear him ask who she was calling. "My husband". She told me she took the picture as I had suggested because she was tired of being profiled and followed, to which the AP says "You want I call the cops?" She asked for what reason, she didn't do anything wrong. He again asked if she wanted to call the cops. I guess he was trying to intimidate her by doing so, but she told him "go ahead! Don't worry I'll call the cops."

I told her I was already on my way to pick her up and just to meet me outside. She came outside but the AP was nowhere to be found. He obviously didn't call the cops or they had more important things to do, like fighting real crime.

I called guest services again asking to speak to a district manager, was told by corporate guest services that district managers don't take calls from customers, oh really? I've worked in retail and it's been my experience that part of their job duties are to take care of customer issues. I was told to expect a phone call from the AP "team leader" in the next 72 hours.

I received a call from a woman who then began to tell me that the employees including the AP at the store are afraid of my wife, because she has "accosted" them on the sales floor and in the bathroom. My wife is a petite woman all of 5'3" and these people are afraid of her? I said my wife confronted employees who have followed her, and it's a result of the employees continued behavior. The woman said that my wife followed the employees into the bathroom to confront them and that my wife's view of the events are distorted.

I said this has been going on over 2 years, I had witnessed the woman AP last year follow her and other Hispanics and even made a complaint to the manager. She said that they had no such woman there, but then later said she had only been there 6 months but her knowledge of the situation is that my wife has been causing the problems. I guess the problem is she is Hispanic. This "team leader" said she had the backing of the corporate office to inform us that if my wife engages with any of the employees again, that she will be "trespassed" from the store. Great Customer Service!

Replies
Target Sucks at Redeeming Coupons!
By -

CHULA VISTA EAST -- I have always liked Target stores and products and when they started coming out with Target coupons, I was really pleased because you can save a lot of money with a manufacturer's coupon and a store coupon combined. So I spent all this time organizing my mfg. and Target coupons and then spent quite a bit of time in the store looking for bargains.

For this trip I had at least $30 in mfg. coupons plus whatever in Target coupons too. The kid at the checkout scanned all my coupons and never said a word. I paid the total, which I thought was kind of high considering all my savings, and realized he hadn't given me a couple of $5 gift cards I was entitled to with my coupons. When I mentioned these to him he said the coupons must not be valid because the computer didn't automatically issue the gift cards.

So I took the coupons to customer service and after at least half an hour of several people trying to explain to me why they were not valid (which they were because I had bought the required items), I finally had to speak to a manager who issued me the gift cards immediately. However, when I got home I checked my receipt (which I ALWAYS do from any store or restaurant because there is almost invariably a mistake in the merchant's favor) I realized they had not redeemed at least $30 in coupons!!! So that was why the total had seemed so high!

I was furious of course and went back to the store the next day. They offered to buy the products back! Wow, what customer service!! I said "what about my $30 in coupons that are gone now" (they will be getting the money for them), so they gave me about $15 in store coupons good for anything. They should have offered and/or I should have demanded an entire $30 worth of store coupons! Well, that was my first experience with a lot of coupons at Target.

The next time I again had quite a few coupons and when it came time to redeem them, again several did not get redeemed! So I went to CS and after about 30 minutes or more was able to get the problem resolved through a manager.

It was the same black haired B from the last time and she told me that I had too many coupons for Glade products. So I said, "So what you're saying is, I can't buy too many Glade products in one shopping trip?" And she got all huffy and said, "Well, that's what the computer said." And then she stalked off angrily. So what I should have said was, "Well, you have a brain and the computer does not, and you can see that I'm buying the required number of products per coupons, therefore the computer is wrong!!"

The other really annoying thing on another trip was the checkout girl scrutinizing each coupon for 5 minutes each and having to call a supervisor over several times to clarify if she should scan the coupon!! So I just decided it wasn't worth the hassle and I would not be shopping at Target too much anymore.

So the other day I wanted to buy some furniture and on my way to the checkout I noticed a sign that if you buy three Always products you'll receive a $5 gift card. Well I couldn't resist because I just happened to have exactly six coupons for Always: 3 for $1 off, and 3 for $2 off. So not only would I save $9 in coupons for something I need, but I would also receive two $5 gift cards, a total of $10 off my furniture, and a grand total of $19 in savings!

So there I was trying to buy my first batch of three Always and ** who was checking me out said she could only accept one coupon!?! So I told her, "no, I had one coupon for each item," and she just insisted she could only accept one! So I asked to speak with a supervisor, and she said SHE was the supervisor!! So I asked to speak to her supervisor or the store manager. She went and talked to someone and when she came back she said that was the store policy and she could only accept one. I mean I was incredulous, I could not believe what was happening!

Well then a young man ** came along and saved the day and explained to the moron ** that it was one manufacturer's coupon per item (not shopping trip) and he then checked me out perfectly with all my coupons and $10 in gift cards. I told him and ** that HE should be the supervisor and not ** and that I was going to complain about her and recommend him! All of this took at least 45 minutes.

So since then I have tried to talk to the store manager at least three times, but he is never in and hasn't my returned my calls. When I asked who was the next one in charge, the operator said she didn't know and put me on hold to check. When she came back she told me they WEREN'T ALLOWED TO GIVE OUT NAMES (!?!). So I asked if it was the skinny black haired one and she said yes! I guess if I want to write a letter I'll have to address it to "The Skinny Black Haired B."

It is obvious that Target does not care about their customers and that is why I am posting a complaint online. I do have one last resource; my neighbor is the store manager of another nearby Target. I guess I will have to talk to him; I wonder if that will do any good?

Because I've received some remarks to the effect that I was abusing the use of my coupons and demanding that they be redeemed unjustifiably, I'd like to clarify the situation: I was buying three packages of regular Always with 3 coupons for $1 off; and three packages of Infinity Always with 3 coupons for $2 off. The coupons themselves stated that I was allowed to use up to three (3) like coupons, one for each item, in one transaction.

That is exactly what I was doing. I had to buy them separately in order to get my TWO $5 gift cards from Target, which is why I stated above, "trying to buy my first batch of three Always". I am savvy with coupons and know how to use them legitimately for maximum savings.

Replies
Very Dissatisfied with Extended Warranty
By -

I received a 16-gigabyte iPod Touch for Christmas in December of 2007. As a bonus I also received the 3 year replacement plan. When it was purchased the sales associate assured my partner that it would cover almost any type of damage even water. He even stated that I could drop it in the toilet and it would be repaired or replaced.

Well fast forward to June 2010. I still have the iPod, I use it every day. Recently I realized that I was unable to connect to wi-fi and the power button would rarely work. Remembering that I had the extended plan I tore my house apart looking for it.

I finally locate the paperwork and register the item on their website. I attempt to enter a ticket and I had issues. I call their customer care department and file a claim. The customer care experience was great on the front end. I receive my UPS label and ship the item.

A week later I am notified by email that my repair claim has been denied. The claim has been denied by Asurion because pictures taken of the unit showed corrosion on the PCB and would not tell my anything else. I have checked the water damage indicator in the headphone jack and it is still white, white means it has not been submerged in water.

I contact Asurion and I am told that the corrosion was due to water damage and would not be covered. Now let me tell you, I treat this thing like it's my baby. Sure has a few scars from being dropped but it has never been touched by water. I stated this to the representative and was told it could have entered through the headphone jack. I do not believe this is possible because the headphone jack is on the bottom and the wi-fi and power button are on the top.

So after going back and forth I ask for proof of the damage. I request that he e-mails me the pictures that were e-mailed to them. He seemed surprised and didn't really know what to say. He then states that they are for internal use and he cannot send them. Because that they cannot provide proof I believe they are lying. If I pay $40 for a warranty and the claim is denied due to damage I would like proof.

Needless to say I will not be shopping at Target anymore. I have 3 Targets within a five mile radius of me and have been a faithful customer for almost 10 years, I even worked there as a teenager. I will now go out of my way to avoid Target. I am aware that they are not Asurion, but I cannot support a company that is selling people a false sense of security. In my opinion the least that they can do is refund me the cost of the extended plan. We were sold the warranty after being assured that water damage was covered and it was not.

Replies
Service Animal
By -

CERRITOS, CALIFORNIA -- My wife is ** is 100 % disabled, suffering from an immune disorder that causes her to lose blood pressure, resulting in fainting and possible injury. My wife is accompanied by a service dog that is capable of detecting this disorder prior to it physically manifesting itself. At our service dog's response, my wife takes medication to prevent fainting, and possible injury. We are both retired professionals. We have been shopping at target for well over 15 yrs, we have had Chanel (service dog) for 11 yrs and Chanel has accompanied my wife for 9 yrs.

On December 19th at approximately 3:00 pm we had occasion to enter Target store located at Del Ammo and Bloomfield in the City of Cerritos. We had not been in the store more than a few minutes when we were accosted by your store manager Ms. ** who stated substantially as follows; that she had been approached by a customer complaining to her that there was a couple with a dog in the store. Ms. ** stated that NO pets were allowed in the store. My wife advised Ms. ** that this was not a pet but a service dog. Ms. ** insisted that all service dogs were required to wear vests or have I. D. stating that they were “service dogs”.

At this time my wife attempted to hand Ms. ** a letter from the Department of Justice which stated that this was not true or could any be demanded. Ms. ** became very aggressive in her manner and demanded that we make her life easy by putting a vest on our dog, or remove it from the premise.

Both myself and my wife attempted to reason with Ms. **, but Ms. ** refused, stating that we were threatening her, and that she was going to call the police. At this time we suggested to Ms. ** that she should call the Sheriff's department and have them explain the law to her. Ms. ** then refused to call, and walked away stating that we should remove our animal.

It was at this time that my wife began to feel ill, and at our service dog's insistence she administered to herself the medication required to prevent her from fainting. I then called the Sheriff's office for assistance. The Sheriff's officer responding informed Ms. ** what she could and could not ask in regards to service animals and that she was putting TARGET stores in risk of civil liability under the Disabled Person Act if she deviated from the law and that a log notation would be placed in the station log in regards to this incident. Due to the stress my wife suffered from this incident, she was advised that she should have bed rest for several days.

We are aware that we can pursue this matter through the courts (Disabled Persons Act) but have chosen to inform Target Stores of the LIABILITY that they have placed in the Manager's position in the form of Ms. **. We have been shopping at this Target Store for more than fifteen years, and accompanied by our service dog for the last 10 yrs.

We are appalled by the treatment we received by your store manager (Ms. **) as witnessed by several customers and hope that you will take appropriate action necessary to prevent this from occurring to others with disabilities. This letter was not only sent to TARGET but we also called. To this date, Target had yet to respond.

Replies
Advertisement
Target Will Not Sell A Product That Is In Stock
-

THE DISTRICT - TUSTIN, CALIFORNIA -- Okay everyone, with my constant defense of Target I know you never thought I would write a complaint against this company. I won't throw the term "loyal customer" in this review because we all know that loyalty is dead in the business world, unless you are dealing with a small business. Well, I've seen the light.

I've been looking for the Nintendo Wii for almost two months now and they are constantly out of stock in all stores. They are extremely popular so I understood during my search that it would take time. I did everything that every retailer that I was interested in buying this product from told me to do, including Target. Be there first thing in the morning when the store opens. This is not an easy task. Whether we work in an office or work in the home taking care of families, being there at opening time isn't easy, but okay I did the best I could.

Today I went to the Target store at the Irvine Market Place. They had no Wii's in stock but did a product locate. They showed four Wii's available in stock at the Target at The District in Tustin. Product locators are not always accurate so I called. They asked me to call back 15 minutes later. Target will not hold product for customers so I drove down there rather than wait for them to be sold out.

I get there and the clerk verifies they have the Wii's in stock. Great! But then he tells me he must ask his manager if he can sell them. He is told no, he may not sell them. I asked to speak to the manager personally and I was told the same thing. They are being held for a promotion and I may not buy one.

I understand the concept of having enough product for a promotion, but if that is the reason the Wii's were being held then I should have never been told that there were any Wii's in stock. I called the 800 guest relations number and they did their little investigation. They finally came back on the line and I was told I could not purchase the Wii today and to check for the promotions. I have been trying for nearly two months and I am done jumping through hoops. No thanks! It was a losing battle and not one I am choosing to fight with this company.

I let the supervisor in guest relations know that I would obviously not buy the Wii at Target when they are finally available and that I would also take my general merchandise needs to another store as well. This did not faze him one bit. He probably hears it so many times a day that he tunes it out. I told him to look for my post on My3Cents. He said that he would.

Update 1/12/09: I just received another call from guest relations. I was told that the district manager would not be calling me, that my last contact would be with guest relations. Upper management feels the district manager has time to only receive information from guest relations and in turn they will contact the store. In my opinion, this depersonalizes the experience as management does not want to hear directly from me or anyone else that has a complaint. I will let this go now. I will take satisfaction knowing that I will not spend my money at a Target store again.

Replies
Deceptive and Fraudulent Sales - Corporate Doesn't Care
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- I am writing to inform you about the deceptive business practices which Target employees are practicing to sell extended warranties to customers. Unfortunately I was a victim of their unscrupulous practices. Let me begin by saying that I am a single mother, raising 3 children on my own. My eldest son has Autism. I was looking to purchase an Ipad for him to help with his communication and social skills. Other than price, my main concern when purchasing an Ipad was a replacement plan. Since my son would be using this on a daily basis, it would need to be replaced quickly if something should happen to it, so as not to upset his routine.

On June 1, 2011, I had taken my son to the neurologist in Pensacola, FL and we had spoken about the benefits of Ipads with Autistic individuals, and I decided that it really would be a benefit for my son. After the doctor's appointment, I took my children to the Target that was located right down the road from the medical office. The sales associate in electronics was a young man and he seemed very pleasant and eager to help me with my purchase. I told him the reason I wanted an Ipad, what I was looking for, and asked him specifically about warranties and replacement plans.

The employee told me that for an additional fee, Target offered their replacement plan on electronics, and if something should happen to the Ipad I would call the 800 number, and then they would send me a package to return the Ipad to them, upon receipt of the Ipad they would mail me a gift card for the original amount I paid for the item and I could return to a Target store and purchase a new Ipad (I told him that I knew Best Buy had a replacement plan available where I could take a broken Ipad in and exchange it for a new one.).

I asked to see the plan, and he handed me a small packet for a 2 yr replacement plan. I opened up the packet, and read indeed that it did say 'replacement'. When the salesperson rang up my purchase, the first time he tried to scan the plan, it wouldn't take it. He tried it a couple of times and then called for assistance. Another associate came over, and told him that the plans were based on value of the product, so there was a separate card for tablets, laptops, etc. and got him the 'correct' one. This time it scanned in fine.

I was a little concerned that the price of the plan was $119.99 in addition to the $699.99 I had paid for the item itself, but the associate assured me that if anything happened it really was a good investment and I could send the broken item back, get a gift card and buy a brand new Ipad. Besides, if I was going to be investing in this for my son, I really need the assurance of quick replacement if something should happen. I paid for my purchase, put the receipt and service plan in the Ipad box and was anxious to get my son started on his Ipad.

Unfortunately last month the Ipad screen was broken. I was upset that my son's Ipad was broken but very glad that I had purchased the replacement plan at the time. So, on December 28, 2012 I went online to the internet address listed on the plan packet and filled out all of the information about the damage to send the broken Ipad back and expedite the product return and replacement. A little while later I received an email from Warranty Logistics stating that they would send me labels and packaging to ship the item back and then it would be another 4-5 days for typical repairs but they would call me if it would be longer.

I immediately called the company and told them that this was not what the employee had sold me. I definitely asked if it was a replacement plan and the Target employee assured me it was, I even checked the packet before purchasing (not remembering that he actually had to ‘switch' to the 'correct' replacement plan to scan it). The service representative at Warranty Logistics told me that they do not offer ANY replacement plans on the Ipads.

I was informed that they would repair it, they didn't know how long it would take and that was all that they would do. My problem is I NEVER would have purchased a repair plan! I do not want it repaired. I want it replaced, which is what I thought I was buying before the employee pulled the 'bait and switch' sales tactic.

I was FURIOUS, and I still am. This is NOT what I was told I was purchasing. Target employees are intentionally deceiving customers and essentially stealing from them; they are taking money and offering a product which does not exist and are substituting a repair plan for a replacement plan at a ridiculous cost. I NEVER would have purchased this item from Target. I would most certainly have purchased the Ipad and replacement plan from Best Buy (located nearly across the street) if the sales person has not deceived me!

I have made several calls to my local Target Store, to the Warranty Center and to Target Customer Service 800#. My son is very upset about his Ipad being broken and I am getting no help from anyone at Target who is willing to do the honorable thing and provide honest service.

Just this morning I have called three local Target stores and spoke to sales associates in the Electronics Department to inquire about purchasing an Ipad and a replacement plan. Two of the three associates I spoke with offered me the $119.99 Replacement plan and told me that if something happened, you just call the 800#, return the item and they send you a gift card.

I am documenting the associated names, times I called and store locations. Target employees are offering this plan which according to the Warranty Logistics does not exist, and are selling an inferior service plan under false pretenses to unsuspecting consumers! Something needs to be done about this.

I just finished speaking with **, The Supervisor of Target Guest Services in the Minneapolis headquarters who informed me that apparently there is a lack of training with their employees. However, he has no intention of doing anything to correct my situation. He does not feel Target has any obligation to correct the deception of their employees. Buyer Beware because Target does not train their associates and they can say what they want and do what they want and as long as Target has your money, too bad for you!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Target Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 60 ratings and
549 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Target
1000 Nicollet Mall - P.O. Box 1392
Minneapolis, MN 55403
888-304-4000 (ph)
612-304-6073 (fax)
www.target.com
Product/Services
Compare Superstores