Target

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 68 ratings and
561 reviews & complaints.
www.target.com

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Target / NEW Corp Extended Warranty Complaint
By -

In 2008, purchased a floor model 37" LCD HDTV for a great price at Target. Since it was a floor model, I bought the 2 year extended warranty (serviced by NEW Corp, Inc.).

After 18 months, started a nagging problem: the power button would flash for 3-4 minutes, then the TV would eventually power on. I reported the issue and filed a claim.

Soon after, I received packing materials to mail the TV to a service center. They consisted of a box, clear plastic bag, and 4 foam pieces - one for each corner of the LCD panel. Seemed flimsy to me, but figured they handle a lot of these claims. So I packed it up and took pictures of the TV, serial numbers, packing materials, etc just in case I never saw the TV again. Sent via Fedex to Lifetime Service Center in Williamsville, NY.

App. 10 days later, got the TV back via UPS on 1/18. The invoice said that the power supply was repaired, but there was a DENT in the screen - RETURN UNREPAIRED. I powered the TV up, and it is completely ruined, will not display a picture. I immediately reported it the night of 1/18 to NEW Corp. The young lady told me to contact the service center.

Morning of 1/19 I contacted the service center - they told me that they did not find any physical damage on the packaging, so they could not claim with Fedex. The assumption is that I sent the TV in with a dented screen, which I absolutely had not done. Why did they fix the power supply if there was an obvious dent in the screen?? Did they inspect the item when it arrived? Where was the packaging? How do I know it was in good shape - I'm just supposed to take their word? Did they damage my TV in their shop? The service center stonewalled me - was told to contact NEW Corp again.

I have talked to no fewer than 6 people at NEW Corp, each one assuring me that they would make it right, telling me that I would get a call back from a supervisor within 48 hours. NOT ONCE have I received a call back within the promised time frame. Finally I did speak to a supervisor who told me the same thing the service center did - since they can't claim with Fedex, then I'm out of luck. I escalated to a manager, who asked me to email the pictures (I did). He promised to call me back by Tuesday, 1/26. It is now 1/28 and guess what? No call back. I just left him another voice mail.

I have escalated this with Target Guest Services. They acted like they would do something but that was 1 week ago, and I have not received a call back.

I am FED UP. Not only am I out the price of the extended warranty, but my TV is completely ruined. I am a reasonable and conscientious person. I would never send a piece of electronics that I had physically damaged and file a claim on it.

My next steps are to continue hectoring Target and NEW Corp, file with the BBB, and contact a local TV station consumer advocate to try to force their hand. In the meantime, I am warning everyone not to purchase an extended warranty, and I no longer shop at Target.

I know someone calling themselves "supersue" defends NEW Corp on this site frequently, saying that they are a great company. Maybe she will help make this right, because right now they are really low in my book. No one cares about my problem at Target or NEW, or that I am out several hundred dollars due to the negligence of their service center.

NOTE: I know that Target and NEW do not service the electronics. However they took my money, so they are responsible. There are way too many parties and counter-parties pointing fingers at each other, and I just want it resolved.

Resolution Update 01/29/2010:

Well, what do you know? Keith from NEW Corp just called me back. Because I supplied pictures, they are going to refund the original purchase price of the TV on a Target gift card. I consider this more than fair - really all I was asking for is to send the TV back in for repair.

I am now satisfied that NEW Corp and Target have done the right thing and corrected the situation.

     
Replies
Read Before Shopping At Target Ever Again
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

CINCINNATI, OHIO -- I bought a bike from Target on the very east side of Cincinnati, OH late night on a Friday since I was going on a bike ride the next day. I was told by the sales person that "the bike is returnable if there is anything wrong with it".

I took the bike directly home (in my car), tags still on it, never ridden. Once home, I tried to adjust the seat and make sure the bike was good to go for the next morning to go on my ride. The seat would not stay up or remain still at all. The latch or something was definitely defective.

I called the store first thing Saturday morning and was told no refunds, no exchanges, and that they could have a bike technician look at it next week to see if they could fix it. Their bike was defective and I was stuck with it...a bike that still had the tags on it. It turned out to be an all day battle back and forth with two unprofessional Managers who could have cared less about taking care of a customer. They both refused to even give me their Corporate phone number?.

They had another bike in the store and STILL refused to exchange their defective brand new bike out that I JUST bought that had not even touched the ground yet,.I found the Corporate number, talked to a Supervisor and she told me as long as the bike had not been ridden I could get a refund, exchange or repair,. SO, these 2 managers put me through heck for an entire day, I missed my bike trip, and they lied hence losing a long time customer (me)/. All they had to do was trade the bike out for me and they refused'. After this horrible incident, I have done some research about Target and it is not good'.It turns out, they do not support our military, they are very shady on returns and so many customers have been treated horribly..

I will NEVER shop at Target again and I will be sure to tell the bike story to everyone that I can:.Shame on you Target.

     
Replies
Online Order Debacle With No Resolution
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- To Whom It May Concern,
And I pray that this incident does concern someone because my experience with my Target.com order has been nothing short of a complete debacle. I have been a Target store customer for years, spending more than I need to on things I don't even need. After this experience, I feel betrayed and that Target does not care at all about its customers.

On 9/22 I placed and order online for 3 items. A bassinet, a glider, and an ottoman; items for my nursery as my baby is due 11/05. However, I wouldn't be surprised if she came sooner due to all of the stress this has caused me.

My purchase amounted to over $600 after my registry discount and an additional 5% discount for SIGNING UP FOR and using the RedCard credit card. I paid with 3 gift cards. Two $50 cards and one $500 card.

I received these gift cards for my baby shower and decided to purchase these items from Target specifically for that reason. I signed up for the RedCard during this transaction to pay for the additional $30-50 that my gift cards did not cover. To my complete surprise, I received a $531 RedCard statement because apparently something happened online and it did not apply my $500 gift card.

I have spent over FIVE hours on the phone, with at least 6 different people—going over my cell phone minute allotment for an entire month—trying to get this resolved with absolutely NO resolution. All I wanted was for them to credit my RedCard and use my gift card to apply to the purchase as was the original intent.

The incompetence of your first level "customer service" gatekeepers is jaw-dropping. One associate placed me on hold for a total of nearly 55 minutes just to tell me what I just explained. This was after I requested to speak with an "SLP2" which another associate had told me to call back and ask for.

Another supervisor actually told me that there wasn't anything he could do and I needed to enter the gift card at the time of purchase (which I did and which is why I was calling because I don't know what happened between that and cyberspace). And then he hung up on me. Yet another told me to "bring it back to the store"—a full size chair, that is an online only item.what??

There has been no resolution to that part of the problem. Yes, that PART. There is more. I received the bassinet first, damaged. Took it to the store to swap it out and it took forever because there was no packing slip on the package and they couldn't look up the order number OR my Target RedCard (which I still haven't received in the mail—although I did get the aforementioned bill!) After texting my husband and asking him to dig through garbage for the used gift card, I was able to have them look it up by that gift card number and complete the exchange.

It took a month to receive the glider and ottoman. When I did, the boxes were damaged. The ottoman came through UPS and was damaged. Then I received the glider through a delivery service who not only came outside of the window of time they gave me, but left on my apartment doorstep the glider chair half hanging out of the box which looked like it had fallen off a truck and rolled down a hill. (Please see enclosed pictures).

Hopeful, I opened the box and inspected the chair. Not so good. Glider frame is bent so chair doesn't swivel, just gets caught on itself. Its also lopsided and looks like one corner was smashed in. Under the fabric, it feels like the wooden frame is busted.

I called no less than 3 times to try to resolve this and reached a very nice supervisor named Susan Daniel. She expedited and exchange for the ottoman and chair for me and also discovered that I was charged incorrectly because the discounts I used (registry and red card) did not apply properly—yet another online issue. She said she was sending me a gift card for that difference which I appreciate. Unfortunately, our call was dropped and I was never able to get back to her.

So here I am—9 months pregnant. With damaged goods sitting in my living room, awaiting the delivery of the chair and ottoman which will most likely NOT come until after the baby is here and nowhere to rock my baby at 3am. I am also basically out $500 because my gift card is going to sit here unused while I have to pay $500 in cash that I do not have to a credit card that I did not want. If I knew I was going to spend $500 on a credit card, I would have put it on one with rewards for air miles or cash back.
I am beyond frustrated with this entire experience. From the horrible customer service, to the careless delivery, and lack of resolution. As I stated, I have spent time (that I don't have) energy (that I don't have) and money (that I don't have) and cell phone minutes (that I have gone over and will now be charged for) trying to get something fixed that was not my problem to begin with.

I really hope that someone can see what a total inconvenience (understatement) this has been for me. Having a baby is supposed to be an exciting happy time and now because of this I am not going to have a place to rock my baby to sleep until she is at least a month old. And I have been stressed out and wasting some of my last few minutes of "me time" dealing with something that should have never happened in the first place or at the very minimum should have been taken care of through one simple phone call.

I believe that I should receive some kind of compensation for all of this undue stress. All I did was place and order and try to pay for it and I, the customer, really got the shaft.
As, not only a long time customer, but a soon-to-be-mom, you should realize the value of your customers—without them you wouldn't have a job. Now, I never want to see a Target store again. Pretty sad since it was one of my favorite places to shop. I am very active on social media, as well as "mommy" forums, as well as quite a few friends throughout the US (Chicago, Texas, East Coast, California) who are pregnant and more who are planning on it soon-- all of whom I will definitely not hesitate to share my experience with if this is not resolved.

     
Replies
Deceptive and Fraudulent Sales ~ Corporate Doesn't Care
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- January 2, 2013

I am writing to inform you about the deceptive business practices which Target employees are practicing to sell extended warrantys to customers. Unfortunately I was a victim of their unscrupulous practices.

Let me begin by saying that I am a single mother, raising 3 children on my own. My eldest son has Autism. I was looking to purchase an Ipad for him to help with his communication and social skills. Other than price, my main concern when purchasing an Ipad was a replacement plan. Since my son would be using this on a daily basis, it would need to be replaced quickly if something should happen to it, so as not to upset his routine.

On June 1, 2011, I had taken my son to the neurologist in Pensacola, Fl and we had spoken about the benefits of Ipads with Autistic individuals, and I decided that it really would be a benefit for my son. After the doctor's appointment, I took my children to the Target that was located right down the road from the medical office. The sales associate in electronics was a young man and he seemed very pleasant and eager to help me with my purchase. I told him the reason I wanted an Ipad, what I was looking for, and asked him specifically about warrantys and replacement plans. The employee told me that for an additional fee, Target offered their replacement plan on electronics, and if something should happen to the Ipad I would call the 800 number, and then they would send me a package to return the Ipad to them, upon receipt of the Ipad they would mail me a gift card for the original amount I paid for the item and I could return to a Target store and purchase a new Ipad. ( I told him that I knew Best Buy had a replacement plan available where I could take a broken Ipad in and exchange it for a new one. ) I asked to see the plan, and he handed me a small packet for a 2 yr replacement plan. I opened up the packet, and read indeed that it did say replacement. When the salesperson rang up my purchase, the first time he tried to scan the plan, it wouldn't take it. He tried it a couple of times and them called for assistance. Another associate came over, and told him that the plans were based on value of the product, so there was a separate card for tablets, laptops, etc. and got him the 'correct' one. This time it scanned in fine. I was a little concerned that the price of the plan was $119.99 in addition to the $699.99 I had paid for the item itself, but the associate assured me that if anything happened, it really was a good investment and I could send the broken item back, get a gift card and buy a brand new Ipad. Besides, if I was going to be investing in this for my son, I really need the assurance of quick replacement if something should happen. I paid for my purchase, put the receipt and service plan in the Ipad box and was anxious to get my son started on his Ipad.

Unfortunately last month the Ipad screen was broken. I was upset that my son's Ipad was broken but very glad that I had purchased the replacement plan at the time. So, on December 28, 2012 I went online to the internet address listed on the plan packet and filled out all of the information abut the damage to send the broken Ipad back and expedite the product return and replacement. A little while later I received an email from Warranty Logistics stating that they would send me labels and packaging to ship the item back and then it would be another 4-5 days for typical repairs but they would call me if it would be longer.

I immediately called the company and told them that this was not what the employee had sold me. I definitely asked if it was a replacement plan and the Target employee assured me it was, I even checked the packet before purchasing (not remembering that he actually had to 'switch' to the 'correct' replacement plan to scan it). The service representative at Warranty Logistics told me that they do not offer ANY replacement plans on the Ipads. I was informed that they would repair it, they didn't know how long it would take and that was all that they would do. My problem is I NEVER would have purchased a repair plan! I do not want it repaired. I want it replaced, which is what I thought I was buying before the employee pulled the 'bait and switch' sales tactic.

I was FURIOUS, and I still am. This is NOT what I was told I was purchasing. Target employees are intentionally deceiving customers and essentially stealing from them they are taking money and offering a product which does not exist and are substituting a repair plan for a replacement plan at a ridiculous cost. I NEVER would have purchased this item from Target. I would most certainly have purchased the Ipad and replacement plan from Best Buy (located nearly across the street) if the sales person has not deceived me!
I have made several calls to my local Target Store, to the Warranty Center and to Target Customer Service 800#. My son is very upset about his Ipad being broken and I am getting no help from anyone at Target who is willing to do the honorable thing and provide honest service.

Just this morning I have called three local Target stores and spoke to sales associates in the Electronic's Department to inquire about purchasing an Ipad and a replacement plan. Two of the three associates I spoke with offered me the $119.99 Replacement plan and told me that if something happened, you just call the 800#, return the item and they send you a gift card. I am documenting the associated names, times I called and store locations. Target employees are offering this plan which according to the Warranty Logistics does not exist, and are selling an inferior service plan under false pretenses to unsuspecting consumers! Something needs to be done about this.

I just finished speaking with Derek, The Supervisor of Target Guest Services in the Minneapolis headquarters who informed me that apparently there is a lack of training with their employees. However, he has no intention of doing anything to correct my situation. He does not feel Target has any obligation to correct the deception of their employees. Buyer Beware because Target does not train their associates and they can say what they want and do what they want and as long as Target has your money, too bad for you!

     
Replies
Pricing Rip Off Like Kohl's Does
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- I recently have been purchasing T-Shirts made by Champion and Target seems to be the only store that carries them. They are light weight, labeled "TRAINING" offer UV Protection and Dry very fast. Look at the 2 labels below. The $9.99 one was purchased a couple weeks ago and the $12.99 3 days ago. SEE ANY DIFFERENCE??? YES THE PRICE!!!! Actually the only difference was the color of the shirts. Can you imagine A $3.00 INCREASE in a manner of days. Talk about MAJOR RIP-OFF!!!!! I did not notice this until this morning when removing the price tags. OH WELL SCREWED AGAIN. If you remember Sears was caught some time back advertising a sales price on an item, only to falsify the original price, which was in fact the every day price. It was on the news recently here in Calif. Kohl's was doing the same thing, but apparently Kohl's exercised their power and had this news story squelched as you heard nothing more. Learned my lesson and have told the world another story how we the people of America are getting SCREWED BIG TIME by all the Retailers.

     
Replies
Another reason not to shop at Target.
By -

ALABASTER, ALABAMA -- Got a Target gift card for Christmas and decided to buy a Sodastream. Being who I am I researched the product, check prices and decide what all accessories I would need.

Problem 1: Selection
Only had on model to choose from.

Problem 2: Accessories
Didn't have all the stuff you needed. No spare CO2 canister, only one type is spare bottle and more.

Problem 3: Price
Wanted to buy extra bottles. 2pak of 1L was priced at $24.99. Any place else I looked the item was $19.99, including buying it direct from Sodastream.

Problem 4: Attitude
Complete unwillingness to help. They say they price match, they wouldn't. There take on it was if you don't like it, shop someplace else.

Conclusion:
I will shop someplace else. I have never had good luck at Target and it continues. The only reason I went is because I had a gift card. Do yourself a favor and shop other places. You will find better selection, prices and attitudes.

Thanks,
Adam

     
Replies
TV Power Cord
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TURLOCK, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased a Vizio LCD "42" TV in February 2013 and specifically asked the clerk ( whos name was Shawn) if the cord and everything was in the plastic bag where the manual and remote was. He told me yes. Well we got it home (in Merced) where I live and put it in the bedroom and left it in the plastic they had wrapped it in until March 29th. Direct TV came out this day to hook it up for us. Well I naturally thought the power cord was in the bag because the clerk had said it was so I didn't think to look when we got the TV home in Merced. Well direct TV proceeded to tell us when they were hooking it up that there was no power cord, but they could hook everything else up. So I drove back to Turlock Target with the receipt and spoke to the same clerk that had sold us the TV and explained to him that there was no cord in the bag, well he looked at the receipt and said well this was way back in Feb. I proceeded to tell him that the TV had not been hooked up till now because we were waiting for a tech to come hook up for us. Well he said he didn't think he had a cord for our TV, so I pointed to another Vizio 42 inch TV I seen in the box and asked him why couldn't he take the one out of that box, he said he couldn't do that because all the cords were different.

So he walked over to the computer area to look at the universal laptop cords and so I asked him if I was going to have to pay for it and he told me yes. I was livid I told him that I wasn't purchasing something I had already paid for. Well they didn't have any cords naturally so he said that he thought maybe Radio Shack had the cord I needed, and I again told him that I wasn't rebuying a cord I had already paid for, that he didn't know what to tell me. That if I could go home and take a picture of the opening of the cord that was plugged into the TV that he might be able to find one that there was about six different cords and I told him how could that be for the same brand TV, and why couldn't he look it up on the computer then. He said he couldn't. I said you mean to tell me that I have to drive back all the way to Merced and then drive back he said he didn't know what else to tell me. I was not happy.

I was very upset and told him thanks for nothing. He even called the dept manager and he was not a help either. They pretty much made me feel like. well you bought it already so were done with you. They didn't take responsibility for their actions and didn't seem to care. So I had to keep my fingers crossed when they came across a cord they thought might fit from a picture I took. The customer service was very aggravating and I will never buy another electronic anything in that store again. The clerk even asked me if the tech for direct TV had an extra cord and I flipped, and told him maybe if the tech sold TVs.

     
Replies
Racial Profiling
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODINVILLE, WASHINGTON -- My wife shops in this store and has for over 2 years now, although I don't know why, with how she has been treated.

She is Latina and every time she goes into the store there is at least one employee who seems to look her over, like she is thinking about stealing something. When she first brought it to my attention, I thought she was being somewhat sensitive, However about a year ago, I came into the store unbeknownst to my wife and I watched one of the Asset Protection people, a rather tall large women follow her around the store. The AP passed white shoppers, but seem to linger at other Hispanic customers in the store. I was so appalled at the behavior I asked to speak to the manager. A woman came over and I explained I had just watched the AP follow my wife and others, but saw no suspicious behavior on their part, but for the mere fact they were Hispanic. I explained I watched a young white man dressed in an oversized coat hanging out in the electronics section and witnessed him pocket something, but the AP was too focused on the Hispanics in the store to even notice.

She said she would address the concern with the AP although I never saw her call the AP over. My wife continued shopping and after a time, that the AP did not appear to be working there anymore, but was replaced by another younger man.

In the last several months, my wife has gone on in different occasions and has been followed into the restroom by employees. The last of which was the fitting room attendant who entered the stall next to her, but never used the toilet. Upon finishing her business and washing her hands, the Target attendant came out. My wife asked her why she was following her, but the employee said she was not, and walked out of the restroom. Evidently she didn't bother to read the sign that states "Employees are required to wash their hands before returning to work"

Disturbed by this incident I tried to make a complaint by calling the guest services phone number only to be referred to another number, which only allowed me to leave a voice mail. I received an canned response of "I'm making your concerns available to the regional and district offices to ensure that Target team member training sufficiently addresses the issues you raised."

Shopping again yesterday, my wife felt as though she was being followed by the AP again. She texted me distraught, so I told her take his picture.

The AP passed, she called him by the name on his tag, Michael. He didn't like this at all. He told her it was illegal for her to take his photo. She told him that she took it to report him for following her. He then told her that she was going to have to leave the store. She asked why, she hadn't done anything wrong.

She then called me to report what was going on. I could hear him ask who she was calling. "My husband" She told me she took the picture as I had suggested because she was tired of being profiled and followed. To which the AP says "You want I call the cops?" She asked for what reason, she didn't do anything wrong. He again asked if she wanted to call the cops. I guess he was trying to intimidate her by doing so, but she told him "go ahead! Don't worry I'll call the cops."

I told her I was already on my way to pick her up and just to meet me outside. She came outside but the AP was nowhere to be found. He obviously didn't call the cops or they had more important things to do, like fighting real crime.

I called guest services again asking to speak to a district manager, was told by corporate guest services that district managers don't take calls from customers, Oh really? I've worked in retail and it's been my experience that part of their job duties are to take care of customer issues. I was told to expect a phone call from the AP "team leader" in the next 72 hours.

I received a call from a woman who then began to tell me that the employees including the AP at the store are afraid of my wife, because she has "accosted" them on the sales floor and in the bathroom. My wife is a petite woman all of 5'3" and these people are afraid of her? I said my wife confronted employees who have followed her, and it's a result of the employees continued behavior. The woman said that my wife followed the employees into the bathroom to confront them and that my wife's view of the events are distorted.

I said this has been going on over 2 years, I had witnessed the woman AP last year follow her and other Hispanics and even made a complaint to the manager. She said that they had no such woman there, but then later said she had only been there 6 months but her knowledge of the situation is that my wife has been causing the problems. I guess the problem is she is Hispanic.

This "team leader" said she had the backing of the corporate office to inform us that if my wife engages with any of the employees again, that she will be "tresspassed" from the store. Great Customer Service!

     
Replies
Target Sucks at Redeeming Coupons!
By -

CHULA VISTA EAST -- I have always liked Target stores and products and when they started coming out with Target coupons I was really pleased because you can save a lot of money with a manufacturer's coupon and a store coupon combined. So I spent all this time organizing my mfg. and Target coupons and then spent quite a bit of time in the store looking for bargains. For this trip I had at least $30 in mfg. coupons plus whatever in Target coupons too. The kid at the checkout scanned all my coupons and never said a word. I paid the total, which I thought was kind of high considering all my savings, and realized he hadn't given my a couple of $5 gift cards I was entitled to with my coupons. When I mentioned these to him he said the coupons must not be valid because the computer didn't automatically issue the gift cards. So I took the coupons to customer service and after at least half an hour of several people trying to explain to me why they were not valid (which they were because I had bought the required items), I finally had to speak to a manager who issued me the gift cards immediately. However, when I got home I checked my receipt (which I ALWAYS do from any store or restaurant because there is almost invariably a mistake in the merchant's favor) I realized they had not redeemed at least $30 in coupons!!! So that was why the total had seemed so high! I was furious of course and went back to the store the next day. They offered to buy the products back! Wow, what customer service!! I said what about my $30 in coupons that are gone now (they will be getting the money for them), so they gave me about $15 in store coupons good for anything. They should have offered and/or I should have demanded an entire $30 worth of store coupons! Well, that was my first experience with a lot of coupons at Target.

The next time I again had quite a few coupons and when it came time to redeem them, again several did not get redeemed! So I went to CS and after about 30 minutes or more was able to get the problem resolved through a manager. It was the same black haired B from the last time and she told me that I had too many coupons for Glade products. So I said, "So what you're saying is, I can't buy too many Glade products in one shopping trip?" And she got all huffy and said, "Well, that's what the computer said." And then she stalked off angrily. So what I should have said was, "Well, you have a brain and the computer does not, and you can see that I'm buying the required number of products per coupons, therefore the computer is wrong!!"

The other really annoying thing on another trip was the checkout girl scrutinizing each coupon for 5 minutes each and having to call a supervisor over several times to clarify if she should scan the coupon!! So I just decided it wasn't worth the hassle and I would not be shopping at Target too much anymore.

So the other day I wanted to buy some furniture and on my way to the checkout I noticed a sign that if you buy three Always products you'll receive a $5 gift card. Well I couldn't resist because I just happened to have exactly six coupons for Always: 3 for $1 off, and 3 for $2 off. So not only would I save $9 in coupons for something I need, but I would also receive two $5 gift cards, a total of $10 off my furniture, and a grand total of $19 in savings! So there I was trying to buy my first batch of three Always and Susy who was checking me out said she could only accept one coupon!?! So I told her, no, I had one coupon for each item, and she just insisted she could only accept one! So I asked to speak with a supervisor, and she said SHE was the supervisor!! So I asked to speak to her supervisor or the store manager. She went and talked to someone and when she came back she said that was the store policy and she could only accept one. I mean I was incredulous, I could not believe what was happening! Well then a young man Phil came along and saved the day and explained to the moron Susy that it was one manufacturer's coupon per item (not shopping trip) and he then checked me out perfectly with all my coupons and $10 in gift cards. I told him and Susy that HE should be the supervisor and not Susy and that I was going to complain about her and recommend him! All of this took at least 45 minutes.

So since then I have tried to talk to the store manager at least three times, but he is never in and hasn't my returned my calls. When I asked who was the next one in charge, the operator said she didn't know and put me on hold to check. When she came back she told me they WEREN'T ALLOWED TO GIVE OUT NAMES (!?!). So I asked if it was the skinny black haired one and she said yes! I guess if I want to write a letter I'll have to address it to "The Skinny Black Haired B." It is obvious that Target does not care about their customers and that is why I am posting a complaint online. I do have one last resource; my neighbor is the store manager of another nearby Target. I guess I will have to talk to him; I wonder if that will do any good?

Because I've received some remarks to the effect that I was abusing the use of my coupons and demanding that they be redeemed unjustifiably, I'd like to clarify the situation: I was buying three packages of regular Always with 3 coupons for $1 off; and three packages of Infinity Always with 3 coupons for $2 off. The coupons themselves stated that I was allowed to use up to three (3) like coupons, one for each item, in one transaction. That is exactly what I was doing. I had to buy them separately in order to get my TWO $5 gift cards from Target, which is why I stated above ". . . trying to buy my first batch of three Always. . ."

I am savvy with coupons and know how to use them legitimately for maximum savings.

     
Replies
Target Optical in Wylie, Texas is Myopic
By -

WYLIE, TEXAS -- On 12/30/10 in the Target Optical store located in Wylie, Texas, a salesman sold me a pair of eyeglasses.

After selecting only the frame, the salesman took a measurement of my eyes, processed the order, and told me my total out of pocket cost was $137.99.

He never informed me of what options were available concerning the type of lenses, UV coating, anti-glare, anti-scratch, etc.

When I asked the salesman why he didn't, he told me I was getting polycarbonate lenses which include all the various coatings. I then asked him how much I was being charged for the coatings and he responded that they were all included in the price of the lenses.

I then again told him that I did not want any additional coatings, and asked how much I was being charged for them. He again insisted that all the coatings were included with "the type of glasses you picked out" and that "they are included in the price of the lenses."

All I did pick out was the frame; not the lenses, or anything else because he never gave me the opportunity to do so.

Suspicious of the salesman's behavior, I asked the salesman who was in the store this evening when I arrived to pick up my glasses. He reluctantly admitted to me "you could have got the glasses without getting the coatings, but we won't sell them to you that way because then you wouldn't like the glasses. That's how all of us do it here." When I asked him if I was charged for those coatings he asked me if I had insurance. I told him I did, and he said, "then they paid for it."

The insurance I have is from EyeMed, which is owned by Luxottica, the same Italian company which also owns Target Optical. My policy only paid for a portion of the charges. I was stuck the balance of the charges even though I did not want any upgrades/additional products.

Target Optical's sales practices are deceptive, misleading, and blatantly fraudulent. I demand I be immediately refunded the additional fees I was tricked into paying which total $85.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >