Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon DSL Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Verizon DSL Is Overpriced and Under Whelming
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BONHAM, TEXAS -- Verizon DSL has recently hiked their prices 10% and halved their speed. Connection speeds drop to a few bytes per second regularly at peak hours. That was not a typo, I said BYTES! You get a lost connection every other week or two that requires you to turn off the modem for three hours. Ridiculous. You might as well go dial up. It's almost the same peak speed, and MUCH more reliable, and a hell of a lot cheaper.

Replies
Advertisement
Spam Blocker Does Not Work
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

NEW JERSEY -- My Verizon email Inbox Has been jammed with SPAM for several weeks. I have contacted Verizon several times. Either they do not care or they are unable to fix this. For an international corporation they are useless.

Replies
Nonexistent Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We have had difficulties with our internet for more than a year (we live in a large city so one would think we would have good service simply b/c of the density of population). First Verizon gave us a new modem--that didn't really solve the problem but we dealt with it. Then last week, we noticed that our internet was so slow we couldn't download etc.

This week we have spent hours on the phone with Verizon. Hours. They have refused to answer our questions and seem totally clueless about how to resolve this (TOTALLY CLUELESS!); they have repeatedly promised to call us back (never happens). The only thing they did do was push a change in our long distance service on us (we didn't care about our phone line and that was not what we were calling about). We do get callbacks, however, which are automated and which say things like "we are canceling your order." WTF?

Today they told us a tech would come between 8 and 12. We are at home waiting. Suddenly we get one of their usual automated calls "we are canceling your order." When we tried to call Verizon to ask where the tech is and why our order is being canceled, we get customer service reps who just says "we are very sorry." Apparently, the customer service representative has no idea what is happening, can't resolve the problem, can't answer our questions and can't call the tech to figure out where he is and whether he will, indeed, come to our house between 8 and 12 as they promised (they claim they don't have a number for himreally?! Give me a break!).

Over the last week, we have been repeatedly lied to by clueless customer reps. When we ask to speak to a supervisor, the tech support people cut us off (this has happened three times which makes me think it is a tactic they use--not an accident). We can't speak to anyone who can answer our questions. We just have people saying "we are very sorry." And the final kicker… we have been paying for internet service for two years which we have not received (they admit that we have been paying for a very high-speed service which we have not been receiving). So on top of everything else, they are thieves. Flat out.

I wish this were a unique story but when I spoke to a neighbor yesterday, he told us that it took 4 visits from a Verizon tech (and two missed visits--when Verizon claimed they were sending someone out and they did not do so) before Verizon finally resolved their problem. I cannot believe any company with a track record like that can stay in business but apparently they are too big to fail (how much do they get in govt subsidies? and yes, they have moved their tech support out of the US to India--gotta love these idiots).

Replies
Lousy Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

ERIE, PENNSYLVANIA -- We tried to get internet service through Verizon because we were going to bundle with our new Verizon landline. Well after 8 weeks of trying to deal with this lousy company they said we don't exist on the map so no internet. Meanwhile my neighbors beside me, and across the road from me have it. But we don't exist for internet. Meanwhile while this was going on they installed a landline phone at our home... but we don't exist. What a laugh (not really).

Everyone I spoke to gave me to another person who didn't know anything about anything. Meanwhile they sent us the internet equipment but we don't exist! So when we finally got told we can't give you internet because we don't exist, they said they would send a return label so we could send their lousy crap back that we didn't need. Well that took 3 months to get and many phone calls from us to ask where the label is. They said, "Don't worry we will hold the bill till we get the equipment back." Well I personally took the equipment to ups. They delivered it and lo and behold Verizon sent my bill to a collections agency.

Much to my surprise (not) I was on the phone with ups. They tracked and found that Verizon received the equipment someone signed for it and now it was a dispute. The collections agency called Verizon and 2 days later Verizon called me to say, "Oops, we got it. It was our mistake." Well their mistakes cause people such grief. The company is way too big to care about the people that make their paychecks. Shame on you Verizon you don't deserve the business of hard working people!

Also I know for a fact that they have big expensive parties for their employees reward them for coming to work when there are super bowl games with expensive gifts. They are wasting their customers money. Let me also say most of Verizon's employees are smart mouths. They speak very rudely when you aren't going along with what they tell you. Go AT&T! Now that's a good company. VERIZON... YOU SUCK!

Replies
Advertisement
Misrepresentation of 14 Day Free Internet Trial
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

CHAPEL HILL, NORTH CAROLINA -- Phone representative with Verizon's partner business, CenturyLink, said internet service with Verizon was a 14 day free trial period. The representative said after that the monthly service fee was 50.00 dollars for the service. She said it was free for a 14 day trial period. The representative never said anything about data usage, plus, she said after 14 days, if we called to cancel and turned in the equipment to a local store, we would not owe anything.

After about 10 days we received an email saying we had data overage. I called Verizon immediately to find out what this was about, and they said we owed over 300.00 dollars already. I canceled the service. We received a bill for over 500.00 for service data usage, and early termination fee. Since CenturyLink is selling Verizon Internet services, Verizon is still responsible for their partner's misrepresentation, but they refuse to stop billing us. This is fraudulent business practices, and we are filing with the North Carolina Attorney General's office.

Replies
Poor Service, Terrible Customer Service, Highly Discourage
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST BOLYSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- I highly discourage anyone from using Verizon Internet. We have had continual issues with our service over the past few years and spent countless hours on the phone with technical support often with the same issue occurring days later. On two occasions we had to have a technician come to our home to service the line. They ask that you be home for an entire day, with no regard for people working, as they tell you they will arrive between 8 am and 5 pm. To top it off they frequently allege having no record of our previous calls and have no respect for the customer.

Today they accused me of lying about a credit to my account that was promised last Wednesday when I spoke to technical support. They actually claimed my line was working despite the fact that a new modem was sent to us on Thursday.

Replies
Verizon worst DSL phone internet & support in zip 02301 BOSTON MA
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- (FOR DSL ONLY) Had this service as long as I can take it '18 months' the very worst possible service and nightmare company you could imagine in the service area zip code 02301 MA BOSTON. If you live in this area do not get Verizon anything their service, phone and internet DSL is the very worst. They have been to my location over 20 times in the last 4 months and the problem is always outside their support is the worst I ever experienced in my life. I just can put up with it any longer it's not worth health issues over this company.

It's too bad our local government only offers basic internet and phone to only a few companies, this is the reason why so many have problems because we are stuck with either paying high prices for cable or satellite or have to suffer because there is not enough service companies to make the few get their act together to correct the problems that exists in these problem areas. No matter I had enough 'so be warned' sat as far away from Verizon DSL & phone as you possibly can. You have been warned in advance.

Good luck finding a good affordable internet and phone service in this area zip code 02301. If you live in this zip code area you should start complaining to your local town governing body to make them get you better service in this area.

Replies
My Complaints about Verizon
-

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I have been a customer since I moved to New York City in 1972, and I have never felt so horrible about your company, your policies, and your customer service. If I could afford to, I would switch in a New York minute, but unfortunately all the alternatives are more expensive than what I've got with you: DSL and a Basic Budget line. In the last year, I have had numerous problems with my phone service. Over Christmas, I had no service. I missed many calls before I realized the problem: people getting cut off after one ring or a fraction of a ring. The problem was fixed.

Lately I've had extraordinarily slow DSL service. I reported the problem about two weeks into it—during your employees' strike. On August 29, a repair man called, didn't seem to know where the correct box was, asked me, and I told him "I didn't know." A little while later, he called again and said he would have to cut off my service, the problem was with the central office, and everything would be restored within two hours. When I asked if he'd call me back to verify when my service was restored and that everything was working, he complained that it was too hard to stand in an alley way (where the box was), and he couldn't, and he was sure the fix would work.

Nobody ever called me back that day, but service was restored. The next day, I received a call from Verizon checking my service. I said it was restored. However later in the day, I discovered the problem with the DSL slowness remained. To make a long story short, I have spent hours on the phone with your representatives. I was given an appointment for Sept. 7, then offered an earlier one, and when I tried to accept it—another half hour on the phone resulting in nothing—I was unable to. I was told I'd be called back and never was.

Concurrent with all this, I received a bill with a new charge for a “change in long distance service.” Last month an online customer service person removed a new charge for long distance service at my request as a “courtesy.” I never asked for long distance service. In fact, when I lost my job and downsized to Basic Budget, I specifically requested an incoming-call-only plan and was told you didn't have one. (I make all outgoing called via MagicJack.)

This month I received a bill with a charge for $2.75 to remove the service that you decided to charge me for that I had never asked for. When I called to complain and try to have that charge removed, an unhelpful customer service person, who verged on belligerence, told me that according to your records, I had been informed about long distance service when I signed up. Since I specifically had requested NOT to have it, I'm quite sure that this is incorrect.

In fact, when I changed to Basic Budget, I interrupted the Verizon representative and said I did NOT want any outgoing service. Your representative told me "that's not what your records show" and “We will not/cannot remove the charge.” The End.

I am beyond disgusted with this kind of nickel and diming to charge fees for services that are either not provided or not required. The fact that all this has escalated about a charge of $2.75 is almost funny. As I researched alternatives to Verizon, I heard from friends on Facebook that “they all suck!” Why don't you try to be better than the pack? How about trying to be polite, fair, and stopping this ridiculousness the alienates your customers? How about trying to help people who are literally counting nickels and dimes to survive? How about having some kind of awareness of the environment you are operating in?

Other complaints during my history of Verizon service: Once I was not sent an e-bill, then I was charged a fee for not paying it and told that I was responsible for paying bills whether I received them or not. The penalty was removed as a “courtesy.” I subsequently opted for paper bills. I have recently (January 2012) been told that I've automatically been switched to e-bills, because I pay online. I hope I actually receive them. Although I no longer trust Verizon to ever follow through, so if I don't, I'll check.

For years I've had intermittent problems with static or electronic noise on the line. Technicians have not been able to fix it. But the noise will disappear for stretches of time. The last time I complained after months of it, I was told there was no problem on the outside line and I'd have to pay for a technician to come to my home. I knew the problem was not my line when it miraculously disappeared, again, in January 2012.

Recently (it's now 1/15/12) I spent about two hours on the phone with techs in India after my Internet service disappeared, although the DSL line on my new modem was lit. The first time it went down, following the tech's directions restored it, but he kept me on the phone to try to get me to download web service which would be useless if I cannot get on the Internet. I finally said thanks, but we've solved the problem. I was paying for this call on my cell phone.

About an hour later the Internet service disappeared again. I spent another hour on my cell to India. The tech couldn't fix it, said a supervisor would call me back in 24 hours. Later that afternoon, Internet was restored, and shortly after that, I received a robot call from Verizon telling me there was an outage in my area that both Indian techs had assured me was not the case. I wasted hours trying to fix an unfixable problem and getting the runaround.

A couple of days after my Internet service was restored, I got a call from a Verizon survey taker to find out how I felt about the service and the company. When I responded “unreliable, uninterested in helping customers, only interested in making money any which way they can,” and gave them a score of zero for how likely I'd be to recommend them to others, I was asked if I'd be open to someone calling me to investigate my feelings more. “Yes,” I answered. … So far, no call.

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon DSL: Lack of Customer service and Knowledge
By -

Around May 19th I began having problems with my Verizon DSL internet service. It was going out frequently, and I would only have a connection for brief times during the day. I tried to call their 1800 number for tech support only to begin a journey with no visible end in sight.

I attempted to call I think, about 6 times during that first week. Only I could never get a representative on the phone. I fought for HOURS trying to navigate through the insanity that is their automated service. Pushing buttons and being placed on hold, and the ever dreaded DISCONNECTED!!! At one point, the service actually asked me to verify my bank account number so it could send me a check...????

My Husband managed to get through at one point and speak with a representative who went through the whole, "shut it off, wait a few min, turn it back on, reboot, reload" then told him to download some application and hung up on him. Only we couldn't download anything because we had no service. I spent another week fiddling around, shutting off and turning on and unplugging and reconnecting and reloading and booting and reloading and so forth. Periodically trying to get a hold of a representative to no avail.

After the second week with no improvement in service, I finally got a representative on the phone. I immediately asked for a supervisor. I was placed on hold 3 times and eventually told "no supervisor was available" and that they would transfer me to 'escalation.' I finally get ** on the phone in escalation and tell him the situation and that I needed a tech to come to the house. I can hear him typing away and he assures me he can help, no problem. Oh, wait. "Sorry, I can't help you. This is the wrong department."

I think I may have had a small heart attack at that moment. He transfers me BACK to where I had been previously to someone who did not speak English, who kept telling me to "calm down and have a cup of coffee" and insisting we go through the whole shut down restart unplug non sense again. Finally, I said "NO!"

I'm not touching anything. I've been doing all this for 2 weeks. I need a tech to come to the house. He refused to send one. This went back and forth and again I asked for a supervisor. AGAIN I had to explain the situation, and asked for a tech. The supervisor told me it was too late to get one there. (By this time it was 7:30 pm) I informed him that wasn't my fault since I had already been on the phone for 3 hours with them and if they would have sent me a tech 3 hours ago like I had asked time wouldn't be an issue. He continued to refuse. Saying they would send one out on Tuesday. (It was Friday.)

I gave him a simple choice. Send me one now, or my next call was to the Better Business Bureau. Needless to say, when I hung up, I got in touch with the BBB. Then, they called me back. (How stupid) I AGAIN explained the situation and my ultimatum. They again refused to send me a tech any earlier then Tuesday. And when I hung up I contacted the Attorney General. No one ever showed up or called on Tuesday.

It took about 2 more weeks for anyone to get back to me after I filed the complaints with the BBB and the Attorney General. By this time I was out of state. My Grandmother had gone for Bypass surgery and I was taking care of her. I got a call from -someone, I don't recall who at this point-who told me a tech would be out the next day. I gave them my husband's number, (I believe it was a female) who was home. They called him and set up a time. The next day came and went. No one showed up no one called.

The following day, someone called to see if the internet was working. (** in Executive Appeals) I told them the tech never showed up. ** tells me they are going to credit my account for 60 days. And another Tech (** the Tech guy) calls and we get him set up for another day. Eventually, ** the Tech guy gets to the house. I believe the date to be June 17th. A month now since the issues started. A month that I have been being charged for services that I don't have.

So, ** the Tech guy comes over and tinkers around with this and that and the other thing, and tells my husband all fixed. He says if we have any problems in the future to just save his number and call him back. Well, I get home on the 20th and guess what? Not fixed. Not fixed, and not working. I call ** the tech guy back. ** says there really isn't anything he can do on his end so he'll call his dispatcher and get someone else to come out. (OK) He calls me back about an hour or so later and says someone will be out the following day.

Next day, no one calls, no one shows up. So I call ** back and tell him what's going on. And somewhere this other ** from some higher Verizon Office gets involved and I call him back too. (But he never returns my calls) THE FOLLOWING DAY ** calls me. We get it set up for a tech to come out on the 27th.

Unfortunately, I got mandated at work the night before. (I'm a nurse), got home fell asleep and slept right through the 3 calls from Verizon to verify the Tech guy. (My bad!) When I got up I called ** back immediately and explained the situation. He rescheduled the apt for the upcoming Monday. (This was a Friday) OK, fine, no problem. it was my fault.

Monday rolls around. My phone rings at like 8:05 in the morning, I'm pretty sure I was changing my toddler's poopy diaper at the time and didn't make it to the phone in time. I checked the voice mail when it came through and sure enough it was Verizon calling about the apt and to call back the generic 800 number. Like Hell I'm calling that number back! That is how this whole mess started in the first place! So, I figured, OK. Well they called me three times on Friday, I'm sure they will call back. It's only 8 am. Nope. No call back. No one showed up.

THE NEXT DAY I call ** back, leave him a message! OH! I Almost forgot! ** In EXECUTIVE APPEALS HAS A MALFUNCTIONING VOICEMAIL!!!!!! This was the REAL Kicker! His voicemail only works about 1/2 the time. So whenever I call him, usually, I have to call him 2 or 3 times before I can leave him a message since his voicemail is broken. I TOLD him, twice that it was not functioning properly. It is STILL broken. (a month now, doesn't bode well for me, if they can't even fix the executive's voicemail!) So, the broken voicemail was enough to send me right over the edge!

It always takes him a day or so to call me back (If he calls me back at all, ** the Important Verizon guy from IDK what department never returns my calls, so I don't call him anymore.) Eventually ** calls and tells me that they fixed my internet from outside. They slowed down my speed and did this this and this (I never saw anyone out there, but OK) And now it should be working. This is around July 1st. Nope. July 2nd the internet is out.

That same day, I get a email from the BBB saying that Verizon has submitted something to them. I go in and look. Entertaining. I was good and annoyed now. It read as follows: According to company records, Verizon has reduced the DSL speed provisionally to 1.5M. The line is currently testing good, and it is stable. Verizon Tech support is monitoring this line. There is no need of a tech to be dispatched due to the circuit already testing good. The customer has already missed two dispatches. The customer has a direct contact number if any future troubles.

Nowhere in there does it mention the 62 tech guys that WERE SUPPOSED to come out and never called or showed up. How convenient. Direct number? To who? ** the tech guy? THe guy who couldn't help me and told me someone would be out the next day and never called or showed Up?

So, Of course, I didn't except that. Sent my rebuttal. It's a Saturday, but I leave a voicemail for ** anyway (I had to call him twice before It would work.) Tuesday, he calls me back and sets up for a Tech guy to come out on Wed. ** called me at some point too, and leaves me a voicemail. I try to call him back, get his voicemail....I'm still waiting for him to call me back. I think he is the one who is dealing with the BBB because I got a response back that day saying he had tried to reach me that morning, and AGAIN I responded that I CALLED him back and was still awaiting his return call.. hours later....

Anyway, ** the Tech guy came on Wed the 6th. A MONTH AND A HALF (7 weeks) since all this trouble began. He spent about a half an hour outside at the pole. He said it was a MESS up there and he did a TON of stuff... and would still do MORE if this didn't fix the problem. I have had an internet connection with no breaks in service since then. However, I logged on to view my bill, and my Credit. No Credit. In fact, now my bill is overdue and there are late fees.

Got a call from ** at Executive Claims about two weeks ago on a Saturday.. (Not **) I jokingly said at one point, "Boy they are working you hard on a weekend." He responded, "No ma'am we work 7 days a week." Oh really? Why doesn't ** ever return my calls on the weekends? And why doesn't ** EVER call me back. Interesting. So, anyway, he asked how the DSL was working. And I told him I did't want to jinx anything, but at the moment I had no complaints.

I did tell him that while ** credited me the 60 days of service a month ago, it still has yet to reflect on my bill and now I am being charged late fees. He said he'll have ** call me on Monday or Tuesday.... Well, **, thanks for calling, and all the nothing you just did for me!!!! I can't even tell you off the top of my head how long this has all been dragging on now. Over 2 months. I'll have to look at a calendar.

I waited around for another week and a half before any one called to address my bill. It was ** again. It went to my voicemail and I didn't call him back because he never returns my calls. I'll just wait for the response from the BBB. He claims that my account HAS been credited, but it won't reflect until my July and August bills. Tell me? What sense does that make? My problems were the months of May and June! Those are the bills I haven't paid. And now they have the nerve to charge me a late fee. I don't care if I have to open ANOTHER complaint with The BBB I will be refunded that late fee!

Replies
A Letter to Verizon
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- In order to save money, I decided in July to transfer my account from Cablevision to a DirecTV/Verizon package. A decision that I since regretted. -The Start of Service- I received, as promised, a wireless modem and a CD install disk complete with instructions. I followed the directions and completed the installation successfully. I noticed that my internet was stalling quite severally. The light on the modem, labeled internet was out. This led to the first phone call with the trouble shooting desk. They ran a line diagnosis and sent a signal to the modem. Presto, the light was on and once again I had the internet.

I got off the phone with the help desk and resumed my internet activity. Ten minutes later, the light went out and I again called customer service/help desk. Mind you, this is not an easy task. I am passed from department to department and left on hold for several minutes without a representative coming on the line to check on me. At times I felt I was forgotten and I will waste my time on hold forever. After working a full day and only wanting to relax, this ordeal is quite frustrating.

Again, a representative made me go through the same steps as before, which included notifying how many lights are on the modem, turning it off, unplugging it, plugging it in, restarting the computer. This of course made the 'internet' light appear and the internet working once again. I again resumed my internet activity and again, 10 minutes later, I was unable to proceed to the next page of a website. The light labeled 'internet' was out again. At this time it was late and upset and too tired to deal with someone that only listens to half of the issues. I turned off the modem and went to bed.

The next day, I woke up and I turned on the modem and my computer hoping that I will be able to check my email and to read the news when I got out of the shower. I jumped in the shower and about 45 minutes later, I looked at the modem and the light was on. I was happy and sat at my computer to check my email and read the news. Within 10 minutes, the light was off again.

I made several phone calls to Verizon within several weeks, I was even credited a portion of my bill. I spoke to several customer service representatives, who tried to be helpful and some that are downright rude. I have been hung up on, told that my cord or my computer are the issues. I have gotten so many stories and promises, that I stopped paying attention. Finally, I had a representative inform me that the issue maybe a line problem or a 'hub issue' and schedule someone to come out to have it tested. After making an arrangement for someone to be present at my apartment during the 6-8 hour window, as requested. The outcome; no one ever showed up.

I was told that someone was able to gain entrance to the area where the internet cable was and there was no need for someone to be home. That was a wasted day! I am not convinced that anyone came to check the lines, because nothing changed. At this time, I would use my neighbor's internet or use my phone. Finally, I realized that all I had to do was restart my modem every time the internet went out. Fine, this was my only option. I was sick of calling customer service. I learned to make due without the internet for personal use mostly.

My neighbor's internet connection was rarely reliable because of how far it was from me. I pay for a service from DirecTV for demand movies and T.V. that has never used, I was unable to play video games on my Wii online, I was unable to update my daily podcasts on Itunes and stopped returning most personal emails. Now my mother calls me instead of emailing me. Not good!

Please note, my DirecTV guy (the person who installed my service) stated that I should cancel service with Verizon and go back to Cablevision because of the issues I was having. He said that he experienced the same issues and could not take it anymore. He said he had better luck with a a data plan with his cell phone carrier.

Finally, the best thing ever happened for me and cured my internet issues at last. A tornado went through my backyard. Yes, a tornado in Brooklyn, NY. This led to the wires from the building to be pulled off my building. I was 100% without internet for several days, I believe about 10 days. I had to wait for a technician to come to my building and repair the damage. This was after several phone calls. I was hung up on twice, transferred all over the place and at one point was told I was responsible for the repair costs. Finally, I got someone on the phone who wasn't a complete moron or at least cared enough to give the right info.

I again set up a time, again I had to arrange someone to be available for a 6-8 hour time window, so the Technician would have access to my apartment. I was told it was mandatory because if no one was here, my internet would not be repaired. I knew from before that I had little chance of someone needing someone home. I did not want to risk it, so my brother was home. No one showed up, but when I got home the internet worked!

I no longer had to restart the modem several times an hour, it was still slow, but it was more manageable. The date of the tornado was September 16, 2010, I believe the internet was back up and running around September 27, 2010. I am not 100% sure of these dates, because unfortunately, I did not think I had to take such detail notes when speaking with customer service.

October 24, 2010- I was happy with the service. The internet was working correctly enough (it is slower, but why complain) and I was looking into adding a house line. While online, I realized that I am being charged too much for my bill because someone has failed to bundle my service with DirecTV. We will go over that shortly. I placed an order to upgrade my internet to a higher speed, because with the home line it was the same price. I also ordered a land-line.

November 4, 2010- I no longer had internet. I made several phone calls, I was hung up on. I was told that a technician removed my DSL as per a work order, I was told that there was an outage in my area, I was told that there are no issues on Verizon's end, it was because of the cords inside my house. (Nothing was moved since everything was first installed.) I had to make several calls, complaining, threatening, begging and pleading for these issues to be fixed. I sent an email through Verizon, did the chat option on the internet. I was left on on hold for 20 minutes at a time. Finally, it was confirmed that the technician did remove the DSL.

I am not even sure if that is true, because I was fed so many stories. I was promised a technician visit, which I believe was made but no one knocked on my door, the internet was still out. I was told to leave my box on at all times. I had to make phone calls at work, while on lunch and in the evenings after working a 12 hour day. Finally, I was told that I need special filters, so I ordered filters and waited for them. I installed the filters and the internet still didn't work. I had another appointment which no one showed up for. I was told that I was contacted to confirm this appointment and because I did not respond to this phone call my appointment was canceled.

The only phone call I received from Verizon was a prerecorded message thanking me for choosing Verizon. After several more phone calls and restarting the modem and checking the cords, replacing all the cords, buying new splitters my internet was still not working. Again, I made another appointment. They said it was supposed to be for last Friday. No one showed up AGAIN! I was told that there was no need for an appointment because the issue was again at the HUB, but will be contacted later to make an appointment for someone to take a look at the modem.

November 23, 2010.- I received a phone call stating that a technician was on its way to my apartment. I never made the appointment! The caller had no record of me making this appointment! I told them that no one was home and there was no way for me to leave work for a technician that may or may not show up in the next few hours. Everyone I know was working or unable to go to Brooklyn and wait for a technician. I asked to speak to a manager, the representative placed me on hold for about 10 minutes then they hung up on me. I then called the "€œExecutive office"€ to make a formal complaint.

I spoke with a rude gentleman that was in a call center in the Midwest, despite the fact I called a 212 number and my office is about 3 miles from the Verizon building. He listened to me for a few minutes as I recount my issues and he asked me I would hold. For the next 15 minutes, I was on a silent hold. Please note, it was about 12:30 pm and I am in the middle of my work day. It is the week of a long weekend and I am slammed. Finally, he came back and said he found someone for me. He then transferred me to a Customer Service Representative, he just transferred to the people I was calling to complain about. Not even a manager.

At that moment my boss came into my office for a meeting. Also, the same guy who informed me of the visiting technician called my brother who also informed him that no one will be home. When I came home, there was a tag on my door stating, "Sorry we missed you."€ That tag is probably the most upsetting. Where were they last Friday when they just didn't show up. I am charged $50.00 if I don't show up for a doctor's appointment and I get a late charge if I send out a payment late.

Billing Issues- I signed up with DirecTV and Verizon at the same time. I was supposed to get a my services (both DirecTV and Verizon) at a low price plus a $100.00 gift card from Verizon to be given after 60 days of service. Several calls to the billing department later, I was told I must have been lied to and there is nothing that can be done. My service was never bundled for the July, August and September bill. I didn't realize this until very recently. Now I am supposed to be on the $84.99 plan.

This was Verizon's responsibility to bundle my package as per the most recent Billing Representative I spoke to. On top of that my internet was supposed to be $20 but I was billed $36.00 dollars. Which I was unable to pay because when I went online- it said it was a zero balance and I am never available to call during the day because of my work schedule.

Other People's Issues- Several years, my mother decided to switch from Road Runner to Verizon. She had similar issues. She is again with Roadrunner and vows to never use Verizon high speed ever again. A few years ago, I had a neighbor in my former building that came over begging to have access to my internet because his was down and he had to email something that was due. He told me how many issues he had with the service. I recall it being Verizon. These issues made me remember that.

I told my friend about Verizon's cheap internet. She decided to sign up with Verizon. She is located in the Soho neighborhood in Manhattan and was having many of the same issue as me. She was almost crying over the frustration she was having with the support and the ongoing issues. We have not talked about it lately, because she has been in California for the last 45 days. I am sure you will get an email from her sooner or later. Maybe she will do a write up about her issues. She is P. R. Manager for Tech companies.

How this has affected me- This morning I left the house at 8:30 am. I have to ride a crowded Subway to a my office and ride a crowded elevator to my cramped office. I work non stop until about 8:30. I then climb back on the Subway and head home. I sometimes don't get home until well past 9pm. All I want is to be able to use my computer, download my podcasts, email relatives and follow up with work emails. Instead, I am dealing with Verizon until it is time for me to retire for the evening.

This internet is not just for play, often I am stuck doing last minute weekend and evening projects. My roommate has to work from home two days a week, my brother is studying for his final exams and his wife is unable to call home to her country without being able to plug into the internet. She has not spoken to her relatives via phone for weeks.

Several months ago I had a emergency and an contract needed an additional addendum and needed to be completed right away. Once I completed the contract, I attached it to my email and it would not send. My internet stopped working. I restarted the modem several times to no avail, this is being done as my boss was yelling at me for having such awful internet service. He stated that he needs me to be available and reliable for these kind of situations and I was not convincing him of either because of my internet problems.

I had to knock on my neighbor's doors, to try to gain access to their internet, but none of my neighbor's were home. I had to go outside with my laptop to locate an open and unsecured internet access, just so I can send out that contact. My boss was displeased with how long it took, and using the excuse of "€œVerizon sucks"€ is like saying, "€œMy dog ate my homework."€ My boss also suggested that I cancel my contact with you and find a more reliable service.

Over the last several months, this has been a huge inconvenience for me and my brother and his wife. My brother told me not to go with Verizon, now every time it goes down and I am on the phone with Customer Service, he always says, "I told you so."€ I have wasted hours on these ridiculous issues that could have been taken care of months ago or within one phone call. I have been on the phone with your employees for hours, I have been lied to, ignored and laughed at. I have been so frustrated at times, that I actually cried to a representative because I was just tired. I am still tired. I am tired of being taken advantage of and lied to.

I am a customer of Verizon that has been lost in automated systems and lost internet connections. I have been treated like Verizon is doing me the favor. I pay for a service and I deserve to have that service work. Since the recession, I have made a fraction on what I used to make. Every penny and every minute is important to me because I have less of both. I am the one that is working for twice as hard for half as much.

I am writing this letter in hopes (almost begging for resolution of all these issues.) I want an apology and not a canned response that I am so used to getting from your team. I deserve the same service as everyone else and I deserve to be respected. I entered into a contract with Verizon and I do not feel that Verizon has taken our contractual agreement seriously. I can't believe that this issue has come to this, but I am going to see this through. I want my small consumer voice to be heard and I demand to be acknowledged. I feel that my paying for such service since July is unjust, especially with the time I have put into these issues.

Please note. I will do all that I can do resolve these issues. Please note, this letter will be mailed certified to your office. Sincerely,

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon DSL Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 15 ratings and
147 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
800-621-9900 (ph)
www.verizon.com
billingservices@verizon.net
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services