Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Cell Phones Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Verizon Stole, Will Not Put Back Money, Fraudsters, Id Theft, Will Not Help, Don't Care - Left Me 2 & Children Anguished
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FALSOM, CALIFORNIA -- I cannot believe I come across this site. I too hate Verizon wireless and think personally that they are mega rich billionaires' conglomerates, huge big bullies that will step on anyone they can. With all the huge amount of money they got, why they picking on us? I may end up having severe medical issues due to their billing practices. How so very rude and uncaring they are. Accused me of getting phone online and have it sent here to my home like in May or April and we just moved here in August so nope, sorry fellas, not this time. They get by with it over and over. I have read literally thousands of bad stuff and sites on Verizon.

At this point I will join, absolutely. I have already reported them to so many different organizations and agencies, even nationally, every website and protector I can, each I find and come across even the federal government ones. I am single mom and 2 kids and we live off a tiny, mere 643.00 a month. I swear to you and I supposedly opened a bogus Verizon account. Here where we live don't get any reception from anyone at all and there is not even a home phone as no company as we live in the boonies!!!

With 643.00 to pay bills and get by, raising 2 kids alone, sorry but damn, are you stupid Verizon? Why or how logical are you. With that little income I sure going to go out and buy a damn 500 buck iPhone and oh yea don't forget the 160 a month service and all the Apple iPhone things I supposed to have added.

Please!!! I have told them how bad our lives are right now, without a dime at all and my kids and I about to be homeless and without a dime, no food and even hungry. For weeks I have begged them and cried literally and still they accuse me of opening account. No, I don't think so and meantime I am anguished as I have mental illness and super worried about our futures. My poor 2 kids did not and was not able to get not even one solitary pencil to return to school. I hate Verizon!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Customer Service!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALISBURY, NORTH CAROLINA -- We pay our bill with our debit card, we have done this since we got our phones 4 months ago. The first two payments went through with no trouble but the last two payments have not been processed by them. We have been using the same card at other places and have no trouble, pay all our bills and everything with it. I have called Verizon 4 times in less than a week. Once to make a payment, a payment which I was told by two different people went through. Now we are being told it hasn't gone through and that I never gave them a card number, we had tried a different card this time, one that I again pay bills with and have been using with NO TROUBLE!!

I talked to two different supervisors today, one of which called me a liar and said that neither of the confirmation conversations happened. They do have proof I made arraignments but conveniently they lost the card information! I was told by the first supervisor if I paid yet another $100.00 today (which I don't have) that my service will not be interrupted. I told him I didn't have the money but let me talk to my husband to see what he has to say, who by the way is traveling for work but did this company care? Not at all!!

My husband asked me to call them again and see if we could pay the balance in full Friday (this coming Friday) if we could not have service interruption. I was then quoted by the second supervisor that they can't do anything for me unless I pay $127.00 today, what??!! I was just quoted a $100.00 just a few hours earlier. I explained that it wasn't our fault because they had the card information and begged her to work with me because my husband uses this as a work phone. I was pretty much told they don't care.

At my wit's end I asked if there was a recording of the conversation where I paid the $100.00 and gave my card information, her attitude changed and she told me that it wasn't their problem and they can't help me without a payment. I already made a payment!! I was called a liar, told I just wanted free services and quoted two different prices all in one day by this company. Needless to say Verizon has lost a couple customers! I would not recommend this company to anyone. If you are thinking of getting a phone through them don't!

Replies
Verizon Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

APPLETON, WISCONSIN -- Been having multiple problems with defective Verizon HTC device. It has been replaced three different times since Nov. 2012. Last replacement was 4/2013 and in July 2013 (last month) the same exact problem has happened again with the same device. This is the third time this has happened with this particular phone.
8/17/2013: Called customer service about the problems yet again. Was told by customer service at 3:00 p.m. on 8/17 that I was eligible for an upgrade. Rather than deal with a fourth defective replacement device from Verizon, I opted to upgrade.

8/17: 6 p.m. - At the store, was told that I was not eligible to upgrade until 1/2014 and was told that this was a "computer error" due to an email that was sent to Verizon customers in April 2013 and that my account had been missed. Called corporate while at the store, spoke to a manager (Sophia) who told me there was nothing more she could do. An error is an error and that for $300.00 she would override the upgrade and would send me a Samsung 4 if I paid the $300.00.

After I told her that this was not an option for me, she told me that there was no comparable phone to mine that Verizon was selling that she could offer me and then said she would send me a free flip phone. A flip phone? I have a smart phone and Verizon offered me a flip phone.

Told them that I did not want a flip phone and then customer service decided that they would offer me a "great" option. I could add a line for $9.99/ month and then get new phone number. So, with that option, I am now paying an extra $9.99/month and getting a new phone number. I don't want a new phone number! I want a decent replacement!

Spent 3 hours, 21 minutes and 22 seconds arguing with them and GOT NO resolution, other than the flip phone option. Have been with Verizon since they bought out Alltel and they have been a thorn in my ass ever since. Happy to say that I broke my contract with them today. Happy to pay the buyout fee instead of being stuck with them jerks any longer!

Replies
Verizon Is Regret
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- We are with Verizon for about 6 months now after US Cellular has moved out of Illinois. One of our cell phone stopped working. I went to local store for help. They can't, and the worst is VERIZON DON'T GIVE LOANER PHONES, and VERIZON will mail you replacement phone and you will be lucky if you get replacement within a week.

I talked to customer services representative (I have her name and ID #) and asked for replacement and I understood that my phone will reach me in 5 days by regular mail or I can expedite it by paying $7. And for sure I opted and agreed to pay $7. Two days after received an email that I will receive my phone in next 5 days. I got upset and called customer service again. Of course, got connected to new person. And after describing the whole situation, she said “VERIZON DON'T EXPEDITE LOANER PHONES”. I couldn't figure out who was lying, and she kept asking me “is there anything else I could do" to help me.

If you are with Verizon and something happen to your phone, you are in mess. You will be out of phone for whole week if you are lucky. And if it is your work phone just imagine like mine, I started looking for other options already. Verizon is Regret.

Replies
Advertisement
iPhone 5S & Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHBORO, PENNSYLVANIA -- Horrible service. When I arrived I was told all 5S had been sold out. I opted for an iPhone 5. While waiting to pay, the sales representative kept saying "Excuse me a minute. My buddy keeps texting to find out how to get here. I saved him a 5S." Meanwhile, a father and 2 sons entered and the sales representative proceeded to play w/the kid's 5C. Father asked "Any 5S available?" Rep said "Well...maybe 1 left if you want it. I have 1 for my buddy, 1 for me & 1 in the back."

After 20 minutes of their banter I asked "Thought you didn't have any left?" Rep says "Oh I was just kidding him." It took 1 full HOUR to get outta that store. When I got home, I decided I didn't want the iPhone 5 & would wait to purchase a 5S. I drove back to the store and was told it would cost me 70.00 to return the phone I purchased 45 minutes prior. So, I was FORCED to keep the phone. I asked for data to be transferred to my new phone and the reps were unable to do so due to faulty PCs and connector wires.

I was told to come back Monday (this was Friday - yesterday). Horrible service, rude reps, faulty equipment and reps who hog all the phones for themselves & friends FIRST. Shame on Verizon. I will never visit this store again & I urge everyone reading this to do the same. Verizon charging 70.00 right AFTER I purchased the phone to return it?? I was never informed of this fee - was only told "You have up to 2 weeks to return it if you don't want it."

Replies
Incompetence and Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY -- I have been a Verizon customer about 10 years. My payment was automatic debit from my account. Six months ago some idiot in their accounts department screwed up and they disconnected my service, and charged me all types of fees. I gave them a new credit card for automatic deduction. To my surprise I just got a letter from them threatening to cancel my service for non payment. So I went online and saw they had my acc info but failed to debit my now past due bill. Is it just gross incompetence or just a bunch of jerks working there? I am going to make sure all the members of my family and friends find another company. To every one out there, get away from these people.

Replies
Over 2 Weeks And Phone Still Not Fixed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- Verizon has the worst customer service ever. My landline has not been working since 7/11/13 and the repair department cannot seem to figure out what the ETA is for fixing it. I have been bounced around from person to person, have spoken to 2 different "supervisors" who promised calls back that day and never received any calls back. The normal wait time to speak to a live person is 30-60 minutes only to be told that they have no info and they will call me back (and of course never do).

Since there is not another company I can get a local landline from, I'm stuck with horrible service that my only option is to not have a landline. Does anyone know who at Verizon or at Public Utilities Commission I can make a formal complaint to? This is just ridiculous and any other business would be crucified for this type of service.

Replies
Rural Area Gets Poor Signal-Phone and Hot Spot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I live in a rural community although we are not out in the boonies! I have called customer no service because I continually get dropped calls. I have to go outside to talk on my phone. The hot spot gets little to no service. It takes HOURS to do a simple search because the service is so poor. They said, "Some people are in a place with poor service, sorry. Nothing we can do". URGHHHHH. And we pay almost $300 a month for this. One more year on my contract. We have been with them for years. I'm looking for something else.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Customer Service In Any Industry
By -

I'm not sure where to start. I bought a Droid Incredible and broke it in the first month. I tried to add the insurance through Verizon Customer Service. They told me they would process a claim and call me back within 7 days. So after about 10 days, and not hearing from them, I called back and the new customer representative said in the notes of my account it says they would call me back within 30 days. And I said they told me 7 days and she was very rude and said "It's 30 days". So I hung up and waited another 20+ days and, not to my surprise, they never called.

So I assumed my claim wasn't accepted and I continued to use my phone (very little) as it still worked; just the screen was shattered (which is another story on the lack of durability of that phone). But after about 3 months, I decided it wasn't worth it to keep it as I couldn't really travel with it or take it anywhere. So I decided to cancel my service. This is about 5 months after signing the contract. So I cancelled and told the customer representative that I tried to work with Verizon, but no one seemed to care what my problem was, so now I'm cancelling and will get the new iPhone from AT&T.

So after about a week, someone from the "win you back" team called me and THEY CALLED ME to Win me back. She said "What if I can get you a new Droid Incredible for free, a free month of service and waive the early termination fee (ETF), would you be interested in coming back to Verizon?" And I said, "Well for that offer, sure I would consider it". So she put me on hold for a while then came back to the phone and said "I'm sorry, but I can't do that"... ARE YOU KIDDING ME! She called me and offered me a deal and then TOOK IT BACK!

I was speechless and she revised the offer based on the fact that it had been less than 6 months on my contract (which she should have known when SHE CALLED ME), and I said "NO, THANK YOU". To have someone working in your Win You Back team who makes an offer they can't give is ridiculous and terrible service in my opinion. But based on my Verizon experience, this was really no surprise. So a month later, I get the $349 early termination fee ($49 of the total was taxes), and I went on Verizon's website once again to see what I can do and saw that Verizon now has the iPad, which I wanted.

So I called and finally this girl was incredibly helpful (they're always helpful when you're buying something) and she signed me up for a MIFI contract for 2 years and waived the ETF and it's only $20/month. So in the long run a much better deal than the $349 ETF for nothing and I can actually use the MIFI. So then she gave me another number to call to order the iPad which was a bundle offer with the MIFI and a free case. So the next morning I called Verizon to order the iPad through the telephone sales department.

And I wait anxiously for my new iPad and MIFI (which by the way isn't really the optimum way to get 3G, but worked for me because of the ETF I owed). So my iPad and MIFI come in the mail, but no case. So I called Verizon only to get the run around ONCE AGAIN. The customer representative and I spent another hour on the phone arguing about whether or not I had bought the "bundle" and whether or not I deserved the $20 iPad case and the $4 MIFI case. I mean $4 case and that's retail.... So once again I'M SPEECHLESS.

He called in the telephone sales department in Pittsburgh as that is where he can see I purchased the iPad from and she said "No, that was ordered from West Coast" and gave him another number to call. So he called that number and he said "No, that was Midwest". And so I said (as I'm conferenced in the call) that "This is unbelievable. We just called the Midwest and they sent us to you", and he got mad and asked my representative to put me on hold and he refused to speak to me. Oh, and by the way, I asked several times to speak to a supervisor and he refused to let me speak to a supervisor.... SOME CUSTOMER SERVICE.

So after over an hour of the run around, I had to get off the phone and this customer representative was supposed to keep working the issue and call me back. AND GUESS WHAT..... HE NEVER CALLED BACK. So I went online and bought myself a case (not from Verizon). And I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH VERIZON AGAIN.

How many customer service departments does Verizon have? Why can't you call Verizon and talk to someone who can sell you a MIFI and an iPad (and the case)? Why can't you talk to one person who has the authority to "win you back"? Very complicated customer service organization. When their own employees can't navigate their organization, it's over complicated.

Replies
Technical Support Fiasco
By -

We live in a rural area and have had cellphone service since our local phone company put up cell towers, over 10 years ago. All the towers around us were owned by Midwest Wireless, who sold out to Alltel, who sold out to Verizon last year. We had great coverage in our area even though it is quite hilly. Before Verizon took over, if we had any problems we would call customer service and everything would be fixed within hours. We were happy consumers. Not anymore!

In April of this year, we went from having 3 to 5 bars of service at home to 0 to 2 bars. Calls were garbled, dropped, or unable to be made or received. Conversations were impossible for more than 10 seconds. We conduct some of our business from our home, and using our cellphones became impossible. I called Verizon's technical support and was directed to try reprogramming our phones.

When that didn't change anything, I was told that we might be needing a network extender, which they would supply for free and that the "Can you hear me now" person would be coming to our home within 72 hours to check our signal. This was assuming that they found nothing wrong with the towers in the area.

Things did improve slightly. Some cell conversations were not too garbled, but we still had no service (my husband's phone keeps telling him that he's leaving the service area, while he's sitting in the house!) and had 0-2 bars of coverage. We were very busy, so I waited until the beginning of June before calling again since I knew that it would be another hour plus phone call. I have now called a total of 7 times, with no call being under an hour.

We still have no service most of the time. We cannot receive nor make calls reliably. We have tried calling each other at home and some of the calls never even register as missed calls...nothing! I have talked to at least 14 people at Verizon, since you never get connected to tech support first, even if you punch the correct buttons in the phone maze. You always end up talking to customer service, who, when pushed, will eventually connect you to tech support.

I have been told that the field tech "could not find the address" multiple times, even though I supplied, not only the address, but the GPS coordinates, the nearest major intersection, and the driving directions from a major city. My tickets have been escalated at least twice and closed out without my being contacted multiple times. I was told that I didn't have enough dropped calls for anyone to bother checking our service (well, when you have NO SERVICE you won't have many dropped calls!).

The latest ticket has supposedly not been resolved and was opened more than 2 weeks ago. I was told that I would get a call back a week ago Wednesday. Instead, a text message was sent to my husband, saying that the issue was still open and to expect the call a week ago Friday. When no one had called by last Friday, I called again. I was told that the ticket was still open and nothing could be done until it was closed. The representative could not tell when that would be.

I asked to speak to a supervisor. I was told that there were none available, but that I would be contacted by the supervisor within 48 hours. I left my cell phone number, my home telephone number, and my email address. Guess what? That deadline came and went a few hours ago with no call or email.

I have now been told that I need a network extender. But they won't send me one until they verify my signal. But they can't verify my signal if they don't come out to my house. But they won't come out to my house since they don't know where I live since they obviously don't know how to use directions, maps, or GPSs.

I could understand all of this if we had never had cell phone service at this location, but we had great coverage for years. The only difference that I can see is that we now have a company that can't seem to fix cell tower problems or really cares about customer service.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Cell Phones Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 22 ratings and
106 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
800-621-9900 (ph)
www.verizon.com
billingservices@verizon.net
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services