Preview Review

Next Review

Verizon Cell Phones Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Technical Support Fiasco
By -

We live in a rural area and have had cellphone service since our local phone company put up cell towers, over 10 years ago. All the towers around us were owned by Midwest Wireless, who sold out to Alltel, who sold out to Verizon last year. We had great coverage in our area even though it is quite hilly. Before Verizon took over, if we had any problems we would call customer service and everything would be fixed within hours. We were happy consumers. Not anymore!

In April of this year, we went from having 3 to 5 bars of service at home to 0 to 2 bars. Calls were garbled, dropped, or unable to be made or received. Conversations were impossible for more than 10 seconds. We conduct some of our business from our home, and using our cellphones became impossible. I called Verizon's technical support and was directed to try reprogramming our phones.

When that didn't change anything, I was told that we might be needing a network extender, which they would supply for free and that the "Can you hear me now" person would be coming to our home within 72 hours to check our signal. This was assuming that they found nothing wrong with the towers in the area.

Things did improve slightly. Some cell conversations were not too garbled, but we still had no service (my husband's phone keeps telling him that he's leaving the service area, while he's sitting in the house!) and had 0-2 bars of coverage. We were very busy, so I waited until the beginning of June before calling again since I knew that it would be another hour plus phone call. I have now called a total of 7 times, with no call being under an hour.

We still have no service most of the time. We cannot receive nor make calls reliably. We have tried calling each other at home and some of the calls never even register as missed calls...nothing! I have talked to at least 14 people at Verizon, since you never get connected to tech support first, even if you punch the correct buttons in the phone maze. You always end up talking to customer service, who, when pushed, will eventually connect you to tech support.

I have been told that the field tech "could not find the address" multiple times, even though I supplied, not only the address, but the GPS coordinates, the nearest major intersection, and the driving directions from a major city. My tickets have been escalated at least twice and closed out without my being contacted multiple times. I was told that I didn't have enough dropped calls for anyone to bother checking our service (well, when you have NO SERVICE you won't have many dropped calls!).

The latest ticket has supposedly not been resolved and was opened more than 2 weeks ago. I was told that I would get a call back a week ago Wednesday. Instead, a text message was sent to my husband, saying that the issue was still open and to expect the call a week ago Friday. When no one had called by last Friday, I called again. I was told that the ticket was still open and nothing could be done until it was closed. The representative could not tell when that would be.

I asked to speak to a supervisor. I was told that there were none available, but that I would be contacted by the supervisor within 48 hours. I left my cell phone number, my home telephone number, and my email address. Guess what? That deadline came and went a few hours ago with no call or email.

I have now been told that I need a network extender. But they won't send me one until they verify my signal. But they can't verify my signal if they don't come out to my house. But they won't come out to my house since they don't know where I live since they obviously don't know how to use directions, maps, or GPSs.

I could understand all of this if we had never had cell phone service at this location, but we had great coverage for years. The only difference that I can see is that we now have a company that can't seem to fix cell tower problems or really cares about customer service.

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon Fraudulent Billing Practices
By -

CRANBERRY TWP, PENNSYLVANIA -- Verizon Wireless is using fraudulent billing methods on cell phones. Once my phone bill went form $160.82 to $342.46 in one month. I called Verizon Wireless and asked for the details of the cell phone bill. I had already gone over the Verizon Wireless bill line by line. In the Verizon cell phone bill for the cell service for my family was a data charge of $183.64 for my service period from April 14 to May 13, 2010. I have no data service, and all my phones of my family we asked Verizon to be data blocked when we got phones that can do data.

On May 2 one of our cell phones ran up thirteen hours of data usage. It belongs to my daughter, she is 26, and she knows what she did on the day in question May 2, 2010. She knows she ran no data on her phone. She is a college graduate, and an M.D. My daughter says other than calling me and my other daughter, her phone log then shows this thirteen hour hook up for data she didn't ask for, nor approve any hook up to anything for data on her phone on the day the phone company Verizon bill rang up the fraudulent charges.

The phone hooked up after one of her phone calls is all we can figure and ran for thirteen hours. Her phone, and all our phones that can do data were requested when we got them from Verizon to be data blocked. Her phone is over a year old and was purchase pre the Verizon Wireless new contract data plan requirements for PDA or smart phones. Yet here is her phone hooking up and running for thirteen hours to who knows what while it lay on her kitchen counter.

The Verizon representatives said they did not know what the phone did but the charge was valid and we owed $183.64 in total for data, of which 181.66 was charged to my daughter's phone when she thought the phone was off. The other 1.99 of the Verizon fraudulent billing for data was charged to my wife's phone which is so old it can not do any data. They removed that their mistake, you think. My daughter's phone was off and laying on a kitchen counter and also blocked from the internet on May 2, 2010 we thought. Verizon was contacted over and over. Verizon lowered the charge to half of the $181.66 data charge.

Verizon said they issued something they call a Diamond ticket to see what the phone did. Watch out for representative ** at Verizon. She is a crook in on this fraudulent billing scheme. They, Verizon Wireless, never got back to me to tell me what the phone did. I guess Diamond ticket means buying representative ** a Diamond ring. Get this - the very first Verizon representative I called said my $181.66 data charge was nothing. The representative from Verizon said she had just got off the phone with a customer that their cell phone ran up over a seven hundred dollar data charge in the same Verizon billing period.

Oh by the way they say the fee is 1/2 cent per kilobyte downloaded or used. Ha Ha on us dumb sucker Verizon customers is the way the representative sounded with their attitudes. Well I called them Verizon again the day before the Verizon bill was due. The IP address (75.246.69.224) given to me for the data hook up shows up only as a Verizon IP address. Oh the Diamond ticket never did give me anything. Verizon never said what they found. Right from **'s mouth "it is a valid charge" with no answer to the Diamond ticket she issued weeks earlier, and "basically you owe what ever the phone rang up". Too bad.

So after like calling for three weeks we were held up and robbed by Verizon Wireless for a service charge of data for something that was supposed to be blocked in the first place. Verizon now assures me the cell phones are blocked for data. Again liars. I don't trust them one bit. If someone is out there suing Verizon for fraud count me in and call me ** or **. We paid our fraudulent Verizon Wireless phone bill. We have superior credit and want to keep it that way. Please any lawyers out there starting a class action lawsuit on Verizon Wireless call me, or email me **.

Replies
VIP Customer
By -

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- This is mostly to vent. I was treated so badly by Verizon Wireless that I wanted to discontinue my account but I have family members on this network so I need to stay on it. I upgraded to a new cell phone since I'm a "VIP" customer. I admit that I didn't activate it in a timely fashion, & I didn't read the fine print on my contract which states that you only have 30 days to do so or you're charged for the full cost of the new phone. It's not an excuse but my husband suffered a stroke on 10-1-08 so I really put this activation aside for a brighter day (or month).

Around mid-November I received my statement with the charges for the new phone. I immediately called Verizon to see if I could rectify the situation & have the charges credited. The representative was kind of rude but he did say that he would have to send me a manual paper contract in the US mail & I would then sign it & go into any Verizon store & they would process the contract. Once that step was done, the charges would be credited.

The representative took a long time & at the end of the call I had to remind him that I still needed to activate my new phone to avoid further problems. He admitted he had forgotten that part but he did help me activate my phone right then. I was told it would take up to 10 days to receive the contract. Well about 3 weeks went by & I received no contract so I called back. The representative said all she could do for me was sent a message to the original representative so he could rectify the problem (?).

I never heard back so I called back & I had to start all over again with another representative who said the same thing he would have to send me a paper contract by US mail & I could take it to any Verizon store bla bla bla. He set a follow up for 10 days to call me to see if I received it.

This 3rd representative never called me back nor did I receive the contract in the mail. By this time, I had gone to the Verizon store with my daughter regarding her phone & a battery situation. Her line is also on my account. Before they could help her the representative questioned me about my bill because I had an unpaid balance. I explained the entire situation & the representative never offered another alternative. He said just to wait to receive the contract by mail & bring it back bla bla bla. My daughter was helped with her phone & we left.

I called again & spoke to representative #4 & explained the story all over again & she did reinforce that she would send a new contract by US mail & she would set another follow up to make sure I received it. If not, she would talk with her supervisor as to how to proceed next, since now the December & January 09 bills had come out, still showing the unpaid balance. I also received numerous collection calls on my cell phone & collection letters in the mail.

One tiny question: how is it that Verizon can send me collection letters with no problems but cannot manage to send me my contract whatsoever? A couple of days later, my daughter called me frantically that her cell phone was turned off for non-payment. I was able to call my follow up representative because I had begged her for her number & she had given it to me. I explained my service was cut off for non-payment & she did help me restore it in a couple of hours. However, I again stated that I'd never received the contract by mail & she said she would talk with her supervisor & would call me the next day.

I asked if she could FedEx the contract & I would pay for it but she said "no, the contract can only be mailed". This representative did call me the next day & she very nonchalantly & casually said "why don't you just go to any Verizon store & sign the contract there?" WHAT? You mean all this trial & tribulation for something this simple? (And I did go the very next day & signed the contract electronically).

You mean on call #1 I could have been directed to any Verizon store, I would have gone the next day, & all of this struggle & strife would have been avoided? Not to mention 3 months worth of late fees to boot? I cannot believe it. Finally I received the new bill this week, again with the unpaid charges owing (did I forget to mention that I paid my bill in full every month minus the equipment charges since I was told they would be credited?).

So I received another collection call this week but they transferred me to customer service. There I spoke with a wonderful representative who read the notes & FINALLY did credit my account & I hope & pray that this fiasco never happens again. I feel I was treated badly. While Verizon sent me a VIP card which entitles me to more frequent phone upgrades, but, after this experience, I'm afraid to use them. Whew! What a ride from such a large corporation! The reps aren't properly trained & I don't really blame them, it's a corporate issue. Thank you for listening.

Replies
Simple Upgrade... Yeah, Right
By -

NEW JERSEY -- Very simple. I got a job that required that I have email access on my phone that allowed me to open pdf files. It was time for an upgrade anyway so I went to my Verizon Wireless store and picked out a Blackberry. Turns out that the rollerball (or whatever you call it) was faulty so I brought it back. The salesperson told me that all the Blackberries were like that, meaning the rollerballs would stick, and that I should upgrade to the Palm Treo. Okay. Fine.

Got the Treo and it worked fine for a couple of weeks. Then I noticed that the screen would freeze occasionally and it would take time to start up. I let it go for a while thinking that the phone just wasn't charged enough. By the time I realized there was a real problem, my 30 days were up so I couldn't break the contract. I brought it back to the store and the tech people saw the problem and ordered me a new phone from Palm which they said would arrive in 2 days. Phone arrived but they sent me the older model. Brought it back to the store where the manager gave me a new phone off the shelf.

Phone worked fine for a couple of weeks and then the same problem happened. Brought the phone back. After the tech tried to "fix" it, the phone ended up in a continuous loop where it kept trying to reboot and never actually turned on. New phone was ordered and I was told that it would arrive in 2 days (Wednesday) but possibly Tuesday.

I happened to be off on Tuesday and took off Wednesday. No phone. I worked on Thursday and didn't get back to the store until Friday. Told them the story. They were able to see the order in their computer system but there was no tracking number associated with it. They called to find out what was happening but was told that they couldn't give any information because only my husband's name was on the account and it was for "his security" that no info was given out. Huh? They had no problem ordering a $350 phone without him being there (TWICE!!!) but yet security wouldn't allow them to tell me where it was? Fine.

I called my husband (who was away on business) and he gave the store manager the authorization to add my name to the account. Now my name is entered so the tech calls back and was now told that even though my name is showing up at the store, it would take 24 hours for their system to show the update. By this time I was fuming. So much so that the security guard was tailing me around the store (FYI I'm a 41 year old soccer mom. Completely harmless, but I do have a loud voice). So I leave, not very happy.

Husband comes homes from business trip that afternoon and we meet at the store. Now we're told that due to a "mishap" the phone was never ordered, but they can guarantee the phone will be delivered the next day (Saturday). No good. We're not home Saturday. I already stayed home Tuesday and Wednesday waiting for it and am not about to waste any more time. Just give me a phone off the shelf. They can't do that. They're out of stock. "Don't we have a neighbor that the phone can be delivered to?" "No, I'm not going to inconvenience my neighbors".

After some more back and forth between my husband and the manager, a new phone miraculously appears out of thin air. The manager tells me, with a very snotty attitude, that this is a "one-time deal" and the next time I'll have to wait for the phone to be mailed, as if the whole thing was my fault. Actually, if there's a problem with this phone I can break the contract since it will be my third issue.

BTW, I can't stand the phone. Everyone else I know who has the Blackberry has absolutely no problems with it. Apparently I just seem to attract faulty phones. And I'm not even going to go into the fact that I've been paying for email service for the last couple of months that I haven't been able to use since I've been using my "backup" phone. I did get a credit for that though. Just needed to vent.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Customer Service, Rip Off On Bills, Over Priced
By -

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- I have been with Verizon Wireless for only 3 months and have had nothing but problems. Now I am being sent to collections. My first month's bill was over $300 for one person, one phone. I called the company the girl who answered gave me attitude telling me it was the service I had requested. It was a low package plan. (I Clearly stated when I purchased my phone I was expecting on my plan unlimited text, night and weekend minutes, free calls and texts to all Verizon customers, 700 minutes, unlimited navigation and internet.

They said yes that is what I would be getting.) I told this to the representative and she said, "No ma'am, you are clearly mistaken look at your bill, ma'am it tells you your plan. You have chosen the basic package plan. Is there anything else I can help you with?" I was furious. I know exactly what I had signed up for! I told her I wanted my plan the way it was supposed to be and my bill to be lowered.

She apologized and said, "Look we cannot fix your mistake from the last bill but I can change it for next month." I just blew it off because I was tired of arguing. She changed the plan. A couple of weeks after I added two people onto my plan. My bill was $400 dollars same thing I was reassured I signed up for one thing and the representative I called to explain the bill said another. This time He changed the bill. I didn't argue just paid it and decided one more time I am done.

This past month one of my other lines was put on hold because his phone was stolen. I called and talked to someone they said OK the phone is now on hold you don't have to pay until it is turned on. Last bill came almost $700! I was absolutely furious! I called again this time a girl answered she was very nice the only person I had talked to that was actually respectful. She told me she was surprised to see the way my plan was and she changed it so it would be cheaper each month. She also added 500 extra minutes to go on each phone so we wouldn't go over minutes. She also really turned off the stolen phone. She was very helpful.

Well I looked over my bill that night and saw I was being overcharged for text messages and calls made to other Verizon users. I called back and luckily got the same girl. She looked over the bill with me and realized I was indeed over charged a little over $150! She corrected it. I recently got a letter stating I owe them over $600. Over $400 past due and 200 for the upcoming month. They shut my phone off the same day with no warning.

I called to reason things with them and the person I talked to talked to me like I was a complete idiot. She was very rude! She also basically told me I have to pay money to get the phones turned back on plus the money I owe from the bills they've screwed up on since day one and I also have to pay the $175 deactivation fee! This is absolutely ridiculous!!!

Replies
Disconnecting Service / Overbilled
By -

I received a letter from Verizon stating I could receive a new phone since my 2-year plan was ready to expire. I have just a basic plan through our Human Resources department at a large organization. I called inquiring about a new razor phone, and was told that the price would be double what I was now paying, and that I would have to sign a new 2-year contract. I shopped around, and since I was moving shortly, I found out that AT&T would bundle my home line with my cell line at a price considerably lower that what I was being priced at Verizon.

I called Verizon back and spoke to a customer service rep who stated that although I received a letter stating my plan was ready to expire, I still had 2 months left on my contract. I asked if I could just pay the remaining 2 months which are billed to my American Express card, and would she note on my account that I would not be renewing with Verizon after 12-15-2007. She stated she could do that, and then I asked her if I could transfer my number to AT&T, she stated yes as Verizon did not own the number. I proceeded to go ahead with my move to a new location, and started my services with AT&T.

My October bill $37.37 was correct and paid. On 11-15-2007 I checked my American Express bill, and it showed a charge of $188.92. I immediately called the customer service department of Verizon to inquire why I was charged this amount instead of the $37.37. I told her exactly what I had been told when I called the first of October, and she stated that indeed it showed on my account that I had indeed called. She advised me that because I had AT&T use my cell phone number, Verizon took this as me voiding my contract (2 months remained), and that I was being charged $175.00 plus tax and federal excise tax on that amount.

After going through the information I was originally given one more time, she stated she understood what I was saying, and understood that I was not a stupid person. (Why would I pay $188.00 vs. &75.00?) When I called the information line, a recording stated that the call could be monitored, she indicated to me that the person I first spoke to was an employee who had been with the company for a while, and since she couldn't tell me what actually had been said, her supervisor decided I needed to pay the amount due. When I stated the recording part, she kind of laughed and said it was just something they stated, but the lines were not actually recorded.

I asked for a phone number of someone higher up, and she stated that they were not allowed to give out that number! I waited on line for 22 minutes while she spoke to her supervisor, and spent another 20 minutes speaking to her. She stated her supervisor stated that they were not allowed to refund money. I stated I wasn't asking for a check to be mailed to me, just that she issue a credit to American Express for the difference between the $75.00 and the $188.00. She then stated she could not issue credits, they only sent checks, but I was not going to get a refund per her supervisor.

I have to say that during the 22 minutes she had me on hold, I listened repeatedly to a recorded message stating "Thank you for calling Verizon, our number one goal is customer service", how they want to meet each customers' needs. I think they need to review what they are recording to customers while on hold. It is visibly not Verizon's desire to help customers. I advised her I would be disputing the charge with American Express, and contacting the Ohio Attorney General's Office.

Having found this website I can see Verizon has had numerous civil action suits against them. I am going to pursue this if necessary to the end. I am willing to pay the 2 months left on the contract, but am unwilling to be taken for an additional $110.00. If anyone else has had such dealing with Verizon I would love to hear from them.

Replies
Bogus Roaming Charges and Termination Fee
By -

DEMOREST, GEORGIA -- My wife and I had Verizon cellular service for several years with no problem. Looking back I'm now sure that that was only because we had never had a reason to call them. We would upgrade our phones regularly and of course that would extend or renew our contract. We had no problem with that. We were told that if we changed our plan while under contract our contract would be renewed but when our contract expired we could change the plan without re-entering the contract unless we wanted to upgrade our phones. I was injured in an accident and to save money, I told my wife to cancel my phone and drop the minutes plan on hers.

She called Verizon to confirm that we were not under contract at the time before dropping my phone and changing her plan. The next month our bill (for one phone) was over double what it had been being for two phones. They said it was because of roaming. My wife hadn't been anywhere that she didn't use the phone for the several years we'd been with Verizon so this made no sense to us. After talking to about a dozen people or so, one of them finally messed up and told us what had happened, "oh, when they changed your minutes plan, they moved you to Tennessee service, which made you roam in Georgia".

The lady said she would take care of that and my wife promptly told her to cancel the phone service as well. You can guess what happened next. They charged us an early termination fee. We called to dispute it but what good does that do? Every time we've ever renewed a contract we have received a notice which had to be signed and returned. So we asked for this paperwork. Of course they didn't have it. They have since turned us over to collection agencies. Each agency will call constantly for a while then when we get them to explain why we owe the charges and ask for proof they usually stop calling and another agency will call later on.

Each agency is calling for a different reason though. One was because of outstanding roaming fees, another was a contract started in 2005, another was a contract started in 2002. I've asked them to take me to court. A lawyer told me that I have a great case because I have ALL paperwork ever received including their letters that contradict each other, but it will really do nothing and cost a lot. He said to just hope that they sue me and then file a counter-claim. I have spoken to many customer service reps and several supervisors. The supervisors usually have a gangster mentality that really quite funny, and their workers are not much better.

They are full of empty threats and do not have the intelligence to debate their own positions with any kind of conviction. I'll never, never, never do business with Verizon or any company that they acquire or that acquires them. What they do is no less than theft IMO and many people actually pay their fraudulent charges. That is why they keep doing it. STOP PAYING WHAT YOU DON'T OWE! Don't let them prosper from their bully tactics. Thank you.

Replies
Verizon Steals Your Money
By -

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- I have been a Verizon cell phone customer for ten years. Last year I went in to get a new cell phone, and was told it came with a "free month of V Cast." I said I didn't need it, but they said "it's free" and comes with the phone. I have automatic payments deducted from my bank account, and assumed that the extra bit of money was for roaming time or extra minutes used. I occasionally go over the calls I've made, but it never occurred to me that Verizon would charge me for something I didn't want and hadn't signed up for.

When I went in this year to upgrade my calling plan, I was told I have been signed up for V Cast since last year. I asked how that happened, since I didn't sign up for it. The man shrugged it off and said, "Oh it just happened." I told him I didn't want it. When they printed out the new bill for me to sign (and initial in six different places), I looked, and sure enough, they had added it to my bill - after I stated I didn't want it. I asked them to take it off. They said, "We can't take it off, you need to sign this one, and then we'll issue a refund slip that you can sign." I signed the one they had printed out, and wrote on it "I do not want V CAST."

They issued another slip saying they had taken it off. However, they hadn't taken it off. I looked online, and there was my "new" calling plan, with V Cast on it again. I called them on the phone, and they said, "Well you signed it didn't you?" The customer service rep went into LEGAL MODE and told me I signed the receipt and it had V Cast on it. She said, "Don't you look at your receipts?"

After I raised a big stink and got the supervisor on the phone, they said they couldn't refund all the months I've been charged for it, because "it's been too long." If I had noticed it last year and called, they could have cancelled it, they said. After half an hour of haggling with Verizon on the phone, they finally agreed to refund several months of the V Cast, but not the entire year. I said I wanted to speak to another supervisor. The first supervisor told me that if I did that, then they wouldn't refund "any" of it if I continued to complain about the partial refund.

I didn't realize that I have to carefully scrutinize everything from Verizon to make sure they aren't charging me for things I don't want and didn't sign up for. I never signed up for V Cast, and they told me it was a promotion that was free for the one month. They didn't tell me I would have to make plans to cancel it so that I wouldn't have to pay for it after that. And the second time around, they put it on my bill, after I had told them I didn't want it. They issued a slip saying it wouldn't be on my account, but then there it was on my account again. In other words, they tricked me - twice.

Verizon can't be trusted. The V Cast promotion is a con. I wonder what measures other people have taken to get reimbursed and to let others know what Verizon is doing? Is there any further recourse? Has anyone else had the same problem? Can anyone recommend whom to send a letter to about it?

Replies
Advertisement
Verizon Rip off $25 refer a friend
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Hi Everyone. On(1-24-06) I called Verizon to see how their "Refer a Friend" works and then the lady said "oh when you go to the Verizon Wireless store just tell the sales rep and then that you refer your friend and then you will sign a form and then you will get $25 service credit and then your friend will have FREE activation". I said OK and then I hang up. So 1-25-06 I went to Verizon Wireless store and then I said to the sales person "I am refer my friend to Verizon because you have good service", etc. and then I said "he will get FREE activation too right" and he said "let me see what I can do" and I said OK.

Then after my friend sign to Verizon Wireless he said "I am sorry he cannot have FREE activation because it is very high for FREE activation". I said to him WHAT? He said "yes we cannot waive the activation fee" and I said "I called your Verizon customer service and they said my friend can get FREE activation" and he said "no I cannot waive it". I said then "will I get my $25 service credit" and he said yes. Well let's see will I get my $25 service credit or not. My friend join a Family Plan and when I called Customer Service I said my friend will get a Family plan and will they waive the FREE activation and the lady said yes they will waive it.

Then I spoke to the manager and he said no also. WHAT A RIP OFF. I am so pissed now my friend does not have FREE activation whatsoever and I referred him. Verizon reps are MONKEYS and they are untrained and they do not have accurate information what so ever. I will update if I get the $25 service credit or not.

Update: For 2 months I haven't received my $25 credit on my phone bill. I called ** Verizon and they said "oh you have to ask the person who helped you when you refer your friend" and she say "did you fill out a form" and I said no because the person told me that I didn't have to fill out a form. Then I had to call back the Verizon store and then he said "oh you have to see that person" and so I went to see that person and that person said "oh no you can't get the $25 credit because you did not fill out a form". So I said to the person "you told me not fill it out". I said "yes I asked you do I have to fill a form and you said no".

So now I am so pissed that I can't have my $25 credit refer a friend. Instead of Verizon refer a friend they should be rename to REFER A ** and get NOTHING BACK. I HATE THE COMPANY and the people work there are all MORONS. I am sooo pissed now. I do not know why people Verizon so much and what so ** good about it. I am sorry I had to put curses but I am too mad now. The thing is Verizon doesn't want to give their what they call "Refer a friend" $25. If they go out of business I will be sooo happy. They shouldn't be business or stay in business for what they are doing to their customers. THEY ARE BIG RIP OFF WHATSOEVER.

Replies
Poor Service, Dropped Calls, No Calls, No Signal
By -

GRANITE CITY, ILLINOIS -- I am tied to Verizon on a two year contract, I am one year into it. When we first got the phones, with the exception of a dropped call here and there, it was doable (not great, but doable). Three months in, we were dropping probably 80% of our calls. Now we drop about 95% of our calls, and that doesn't count the calls that never come through at all, just a voicemail three hours after the call. I have tried without success to get a log of the dropped calls (because I would just dearly LOVE to take it to the attorney general).

Just this morning I was told they do not have that kind of data. They have enough data to tell us we are "within the allowable dropped call rate", and enough data to tell me that my wife's phone drops more calls than mine. They told me all this during the first go around with them. This time this is what they tell me: "We are unable to provide a log of each of the dropped calls. We do have the ability to provide the call details; however, the details will not indicate which of the calls were dropped. I apologize for this inconvenience."

They gave us new phones three months into the contract, insisting it was the phones, not their fabulous service, new phones, no different. For a while, I gave up and shut up. Then the other night my thirteen year old son was stranded and needed a ride and couldn't get a hold of us. He walked home three miles in the dark by himself. Two hours after he made it home, we had three voice mails roll in from him. If he hadn't left three voice mails we would have never been aware he called at all, because he actually tried six to eight times. The phones never even rang.

I can't even get a signal outside in the middle of the street. And if I do manage to get some signal, the calls drop. Since they cannot honor their own contract I told them they should terminate it. Not only will they not terminate the contract, they want 350.00 in termination fees if I terminate it (175.00 x 2 phones).

I'm back to another complaint to the BBB and now I added a complaint to the FCC. We are not talking a dropped call here and there. If I make ten calls, I will drop nine of them. I have started complaining again because their lack of service impacted my son's safety, but I am still getting NOTHING but a big song and dance routine. This is a quote from this morning's email: "I have reviewed your area and found that there are several towers that should provide adequate service. Additionally, there are no known issues in the area." This is the exact same response I got the first time around too.

This time, the first C.S rep told me the dropped calls are on my monthly statement (which they are not) and for 6.00 per statement she would be happy to reprint them. The second lady told me she was "sorry I was misinformed" by the first lady, and the above quote is from the THIRD C.S rep I've emailed within the last two days. This one tells me: "I understand that you have contacted us several times regarding the issues you are experiencing. However, in order for us to better assist you, I strongly recommend that you contact us in order to file a Trouble Ticket as Cynthia explained in the previous e-mail."

WHY? It didn't resolve anything the first several times regarding the issues I am experiencing. What a joke Verizon Wireless is, except I'm not laughing. My child had a problem and couldn't contact me because of this company's non service. NOW I'm upset.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Verizon Cell Phones Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 29 ratings and
119 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Verizon
1095 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
800-621-9900 (ph)
www.verizon.com
billingservices@verizon.net
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services