Preview Review

Next Review

AAA Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Forced to Pay for Unwanted Magazine Subscription
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ARIZONA -- I have been a member since 1987 and am pleased with their road service. However, I now find out that I am being forced to pay $2 every year for a subscription to their magazine. I do not read it and it goes right into the recycle bin when I get it. If someone wants it then I am sure they would be happy to pay the $2. But why should people who do not want the magazine be forced to pay for it?

I contacted Customer Service at 800-922-8228 and was told that that was just the way their "system" is and that perhaps if more people complained about it they would change their "system." Their "system" in this regard is a bad one. If they want to use $2 of my membership dues for something, they should donate it to a charity of my choice instead and not force me to pay for something I do not want.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Customer Service - Incorrect Membership
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ILLINOIS -- I signed myself and my fiancée up for a membership online. The website even asked for her name, birthdate and email address. Needless to say, they did not add her, and when calling customer service to have her added they said there is an additional 48 hour wait time for her even though it was their error on their website. The agents Heather & Rudy (both allegedly supervisors), were rude and said I would need to pay an additional fee for the same day service (which cost more than the towing), and said I could file for reimbursement for my towing (even though it would most likely not be approved).

Replies
Refused to Tow Vehicle
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT -- My vehicle was no longer operational. I did not want to just throw it away so I decided to donate it to a local fire department so they could train their personnel on extractions. I have been a Premier member for over five years, spending over fifteen hundred dollars on membership fees. I requested my vehicle be towed and I was told by three members of the AAA company if the vehicle did not need to be fixed, they were not going to tow it.

I researched my service agreement and it does not stipulate anywhere within the agreement that AAA will not tow the vehicle if it is not going to be fixed. AAA told me in so many words, it is what it is and they are not towing it. I am still amazed at their ability to deny me a service I have paid for. I have canceled my membership and will continue to write reviews of this tragedy of service.

Replies
Horrible Service. Cancelled My Account in Error, and Then Were Rude About It.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OVERLAND PARK, KANSAS -- My membership renewed on 04/08/2017. I received an invoice for a call with a service date (per the invoice) of 04/29/2017 for my daughter for service calls in excess of 4. This was the FIRST of her allowed four calls for the plan year. There were NO calls in between 04/08/2017 and 04/29/2017. The invoice was dated 05/05/2017, and sent by snail mail. I got it on the 9th. My membership was cancelled 6 days later on the 15th. When I called, the representative (Ben in Service Review, **) was condescending and glib.

When I suggested that the turnaround between mailing this questionable and errant invoice and cancelling the account was far too brief, he stated "Well, this system works for everyone." When I pointed out that it had caused me hardship, he laughed out loud and said "Well, not for you!" I was forced to pay the invoice to get my benefits back, even though no one could explain why I owed it. AAA, you should be ashamed. I have been a member for more than 8 years. This one will likely be my last.

Replies
Advertisement
Scammers!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNESOTA -- Just got my first AAA card today. Turns out that they claim to be able to share your personal data (SSN, Credit Report, contact info, etc.) with whomever they choose to. No mention of this before joining, of course. You can restrict a couple categories but you must be able to read and understand the fine print, then send in a form without the benefit of a return envelope. I don't know - or care - whether I'll ever use their services but I will certainly refrain from ever joining again. What a bunch of greaseballs!

Replies
AAA Does Not Honor 3-Year Warranty on Their Batteries
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- On July 2, 2017 I called AAA Road Service with a dead battery. Technician informed me battery could not be recharged and he sold me an expensive one for $133 so that I could get home. My previous battery had been installed by AAA on July 8, 2014 with their three-year warranty. They refused to cover my new battery even though it was within the three-year period. Very disappointed. Do not believe that they will honor the three-year warranty.

Replies
Will Never Use Again
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE -- The 2 times that I used AAA, I was disappointed. The first time I tried using them, I accidentally locked my keys in the trunk. They told me that it would be 45 minutes before anyone would show up. 1.5 hours later, nobody showed up. I called again. This time they told me that the guy got held up and they are not sure how much longer it would be. Finally, the guy who was supposed to show up called me and said it would be another hour before he got there and he does not know why AAA told him an hour. I was at a gas station where luckily a locksmith walked in and opened my trunk for me. I waited for over 2 hours and nobody ever showed up.

The second time I tried using AAA, I had a flat tire where I worked. Once again I was told it would be about an hour and once again after 1.5 hours I called again. The guy who was supposed to be there to help me with my flat informed me that he wasn't sure why they called him to come because he was located approx. an hour away in a completely different county. I don't understand why of all the tow truck business located in my big city, they called someone in another county. After the last incident, I let my service expire. I will just take my chances next time.

Replies
Bad Experience - Tried Two Times
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALDWELL, NEW JERSEY -- I had terrible experience with AAA. First time when my car's tire got flat I called them and was told that the driver will be there in an hour. He didn't come until 2.5 hours of waiting. Luckily I was in the parking lot of my office. He finally arrived and did his job. Second experience was worst. There was an accident on a major highway and somehow the broken glass from that car got stuck in my car's tire eventually leading to a punctured tire. My car was sitting in the fast lane on a major highway with all the rush hour traffic coming in. I call AAA and told them to send someone quickly as I'm stuck in the fast lane of a highway.

They told me someone would be there in 20 mins. 40 minutes passed no one came. Finally a police officer came with a tow truck and moved me to the shoulder. The tow truck guy also changed my tire. The AAA guy never arrived. I was there for an hour and no one from the AAA company showed up. I called them again and told them that no one came and I no longer need them. Instead of being apologetic the representative told me that she cancelled my request so I don't get charged!

Unbelievable...charge for what??? I have been paying them all those years to help me when I need and they want to charge me extra? I would never ever trust AAA again. It is the worst insurance to have if you have an auto emergency.

Replies
Advertisement
FAILED TO SERVICE HANDICAP CUSTOMER IN TIMELY MANNER.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- First time in texas I ran out of fuel in a rental car and called AAA for help. The dispatcher took almost 45 min to get the info, call a service provider then call back and say that AAA could not help me. I should call a local tow company or the police for help! Bad experience. 3 hours and the police brought fuel to get off of the highway. Then AAA shows up to assist me.

Second time AAA failed me I was on the way home and my engine failed, smoke pouring out, piston slapping the cylinder head and off of the side of the highway off ramp. One hour to get AAA on the phone, 45 min for a call back to say it will be 45 min at least due to heavy traffic. Started calling at 3pm and tow driver picked me up walking home at 5:25pm. Not what I think is ok or what I pay for. Bad service, expensive and leave you hanging.

Replies
Don't Waist Your Money On AAA Membership
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA ANA -- I have been a AAA member for 25 years. What a waste of money!!! I took a family vacation to Portland, or in July 2012, for a family reunion. Upon arrival at the airport we rented a car from enterprise, knowing we will get our AAA discount on the car at the end of the trip, four days later. Upon return to the airport, we had a $580.00 total payment due on our credit card!! I hit the roof and called AAA asking why?

I was told by **, the supervisor to customer service with AAA, that they do not honor or work with enterprise anymore!!! I told him how am I to know that? He said they do not notify members on these issues!!! My feelings are that AAA does make business decisions without the member's awareness behind the scenes and the chances are members get upset but eventually drop their complaints and move on!!!

For the past several months, I have written formal complaint letters to their president/CEO Robert **, communicated with **, again followed up 15 times on the status of my complaint!!! Up to now, I have not received any resolution, get my refund, or communication back from their complaint department. The customer service complaint department is a total joke!!! They ignore letters, faxes, and you can't reach them unless you fax them. Still they don't respond!!! Wow what a great company!!! When I call to follow up, they are surprised as to how many times I have called to complain about their customer service and how they ignore customer related issues!!

** always has a excuse, or does not return calls. When he does, he blames it on the other company!!! I have been passed around from one supervisor to another, even talked to a supervisor's supervisor!!! This is not a complicated thing, just refund the damn money!!!!! How hard is that??? From California to Texas and then back again the follow-up calls go around and around!!! Still no resolution and I'm aggravated like hell with AAA!!!!

I have to thank Enterprise, because they were nice enough to give me a 20% discount equal to $40. That's more than I can say about my own membership of 25 years with AAA which did not do crap for me!!! The AAA does not deserve my money. Nor would I want membership with AAA any. I cancelled my membership on the phone and demanded to get my prorated membership refund. My money was wasted on them for so many years. I have been a loyal customer. What happened to their loyalty to me???? People.. save your money.

This AAA is not what it used to be. They are greedy, irresponsible, and so secure with their jobs that they pass you around, giving you run around until you get tired and drop your complaint. I deserve so much better than them. I feel bad, wasted my time believing in AAA!!!! Is it the company policy to ignore members???? You tell me. Shame on you AAA. You are disgusting taking advantage of good members like me.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AAA Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 45 ratings and
142 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AAA
1000 AAA Dr.
Heathrow, FL 32746
407-444-7000 (ph)
www.aaa.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Insurance Companies