Preview Review

Next Review

AAA Auto Insurance Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Billing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST LOUIS, MISSOURI -- I have been a customer with AAA for 40 years. Just in recent years, I have started having issues with AAA and having major problems for months getting my bills. Also, as a side note, when I was mailing my checks to St. Louis, it would take weeks for them to process my payment. I would even get calls that my insurance was up for cancellation and that same day it was already processed through my bank. It was apparent on several occasions my check was sitting on someone's desk for weeks before processing. Because of the trouble I was having, I had my policy transferred to the Southaven, Mississippi office so I could deal with someone in person.

As a side note, I also have my homeowner's policy with AAA as well. There have been issues with receiving the bills for this policy as well. In June, I didn't receive a bill. I went to the local office, paid the monthly premium and was told by the agent at the office that it probably will take a few weeks to get on track getting the bills because of the transfer. In July, still no bill. I went to local office once again and paid the monthly premium. In August, still no bill.

For additional information, on August 25, 2016 at around 1:00 p.m. I had a minor fender bender which the police officer at the scene did not issue fault but The Hartford Insurance Company (insurance provider for the other party) assessed fault at 50%. The Hartford paid me for the damage to my vehicle. I did not file a claim with AAA as the damage was so minor, I fixed it myself for less than $200 and 15 minutes of my time. On August 26, I went to the local office to pay the monthly premium as in the last few months and was told my policy had been cancelled at 12:01 a.m. August 25.

The office computer (which I have a copy of the screen information) shows the “due date” as August 25. I debated the point that if the due date is August 25, I could not be cancelled on the due date until 12:01 a.m. on August 26. To no avail, I was told, after spending over 2 hours in the office that a new policy would have to be written. At this time, I told the local AAA representative of the minor accident. Because of this rewrite, my premium doubled and was told this was because of the “1 day” lapse. Local representative stated that after the first 6 months of the “new” policy my premium should go back down to what it was with the “old” policy.

I signed up for automatic draft with the first premium paid in the office of $385.75 on that day and the electronic draft did not come through my account until August 30, 2016. On August 29, I tried to contact Jim McGrath, President of AAA and was basically told I couldn't speak with him but could talk to Steve Schone, the Vice-President of the Company. Mr. Schone told me he would research the issue and contact me. On September 1, I called Mr. Schone as he had not called me back and he stated that their “computer program” said they bills were mailed each month. I was just not receiving them and assured me it was not AAA's fault.

However, this seems really strange as all my other bills come to my home address and all are paid on time. On August 30, 2016, I called local AAA representative to cancel my automatic draft as I was extremely upset that my premium was doubled and would be looking into obtaining insurance elsewhere and was in hopes of obtaining the new insurance prior to the next billing date of September 26, 2016.

When I returned from vacation on September 12, oddly I had 9 pieces of mail from AAA. A recap of what was received: Renewal Questionnaire for Verified Mileage Discount; Confirmation of cancellation due to non-payment of premium; Collection Notice; Payment Notice; Declarations and Policy showing AMENDMENT at top of page (showing total premium $2024.00); Letter, Declarations and Policy showing NEW at top of page (showing total premium $2304.00).

Auto Policy Change stating the “policy change” had reduced my premium by $280 for the remainder of the policy period date; Payment Notice stating current balance was $1,639.25 and the next electronic funds transfer would be 9/26/16 for $291.53 date; and Policy Change notification, including payment notice.

On September 15, I received another “collection notice” from AAA saying I owed $84 on the cancelled policy. On September 16, I called local AAA office and asked what this was about. Rep stated this was the “earned premium pro-rated from the previous month to time policy was actually cancelled.” We also talked about the $280 “credit” and she stated once underwriting got the actual information that for some reason they reduced it (reason unknown). We also talked about the next premium(s) and local representative stated that NO payment was due for September.

The next payment would be due October 9, 2016 for $379.00 and from November through the end of the six (6) month period would be $426.00 per month. At that time, I told local agent to add my fiancée to the policy as both of our names are on the loans for the 2015 Dodge Ram 2500 and 2011 Nissan Altima. Rep stated that by adding my fiancée and raising the deductibles to $500 the premium would now be $1680 with monthly payments for 5 months of $336.

On September 23, I received 4 pieces of mail from AAA: Auto Policy Change stating my policy had increased by $200 for the remainder of the policy period (Total premium now $2,250.00). (Remember above, on September 16, I was told the premium would be $1680. This is a far cry from just a $200 increase); Payment Notice stating this policy has been cancelled.

Collection Notice in the amount of $324.25 stating the amount is for the premium due for coverage provided (stating this policy has been cancelled – remember earlier I stated I paid $385.75 on August 26 and was told NO payment would be due until October 9); and Letter of Cancellation of Auto Policy effective 10/25/16 at 12:01 a.m. because I was “not eligible for auto insurance” with AAA due to non-payment of earned premium ($84) and not receiving an estimate of damages for the 2015 Dodge Ram to confirm that the deductible exceeds the existing damage to the vehicle.

On September 26, I spoke with local AAA representative regarding the notices I received over the weekend. She told me she would talk to her underwriter and return my call. Upon returning my call, she stated that with the $84 being paid that she would have to get a copy of the estimate ($1120.18) and increase the deductible to $1,000 or more (depending on what underwriting says) to cover the estimated damages. Local AAA representative stated from the pictures she could see no damage.
  On September 30, 2016, I spoke with local AAA and stated that we wanted to raise our deductible to $1,000 on each of our vehicles as we are having so many issues with AAA and in an effort to lower our outrageous premium. I was told that the billing department/underwriting department says we cannot change our deductible until our current monthly premium is paid (which is due – supposedly – on October 9, 2016). Local representative also stated that she would call her home office and tell them we wanted it changed BEFORE we made our next payment.

On Monday, October 3, 2016, I called local AAA representative to check the status and she stated that once again she was told that the current premium would have to be paid before they increase our deductible. She also stated the billing department told her we owe $324.25 as “collection” of earned insurance premium and that our policy cancelled on September 19, 2016, which we received no notice of cancellation (AGAIN) other than the notice stating that our insurance would be cancelled on October 25, 2016 due to being “ineligible” for coverage.

The billing department also stated to local AAA representative that our total insurance premium (including the “earned premium in collection”) is $409.56 which is due immediately to “bring us current” which the premium due date is supposedly October 9, 2016. The billing department representative further stated that once this amount is paid, we would owe NO monthly premium until January 2017. (We are on a “5 pay” instalment plan wherein we pay 5 months then 1 month no payment until the semi-annual renewal the next month).

The billing representative also told local AAA representative that there would be no way to tell us what our premium would be for at least a couple of weeks (not even a rough figure) until all payments and credits have been applied and “considered.” Local representative then called me back to state that upon calling her underwriter that our policy will not be up for cancellation until October 25, 2016 at 12:01 a.m. (which we received notice of “ineligibility” for insurance coverage which stated cancellation would not occur until October 25).

The underwriter also stated to local AAA representative that they “have to give us 30 days cancellation notice in order for us to procure another insurance policy.” This is directly opposite of what was told to us on August 26 and the cancellation of our automobile insurance on August 25, 2016 when we were cancelled with NO notice of cancellation.

I have spoke to local AAA reps up to the VP (they would not let me talk to the President) and each one had a lame excuse and of course, nothing that has happened is their fault - it is all ours. I am spreading my issue with every social media outlet, complaint website, BBB, State Insurance Commissioner and even the Federal Insurance Regulatory Department. Don't use AAA - it is nothing with problems.

Replies
AAA Failure to Houston Flash Flood Claims from January 10, 2012
By -

KATY, TEXAS -- AAA has been my insurance provider for two vehicles and our primary residence going on three years. Prior to switching to AAA, I was insured by Nationwide and had claims settled satisfactorily through real catastrophes including northeast ice storms, and hurricanes Rita and Ike over the years.

Last week in Houston we experienced heavy flash flooding which caused some minor water damage to one of our AAA insured vehicles. We took the vehicle into our dealership last Wednesday for what was to be a two hour service to the engine but was put on hold pending AAA inspection. What we experienced with the auto claim with AAA since that day has been nothing short of unbelievable.

AAA deemed the flash flooding a catastrophe and assigned all claims to a catastrophe team. From that moment on, I could no longer call the AAA main number I had on record because all claims were being handled by that team. The catastrophe team was either a third party or actual AAA staff, but that varied on who at AAA we talked to. Regardless of their affiliation, no matter when we called that "new" number, we either received a voice recording or was put on hold until we ended up hanging up. When we did finally get connected to someone later in the week, they had no idea what the status of our claim and had no system availability to tell us anything.

By close of business Friday, January 13th, the dealership reported to me that the AAA inspector had indeed come to look at our vehicle but had left without authorizing the repair. So I called the catastrophe number once again at 5:15pm Friday and received a recording stating they were closed outside of "normal" operating hours! Then we waited, WAITED, AND WAITED without a work truck I desperately rely on.

It turns out that the "catastrophe" team decided to take off not only the weekend but also Monday to observe the holiday. WOW!!! In the core turnaround time for all your customers impacted in the greater Houston area, you conveniently decided that the "catastrophe" didn't warrant staffing or response through a three day period? God forbid the next "catastrophe" doesn't strike right before a long holiday weekend or your customers will just have to wait even longer. So I waited until Tuesday of this week (today) to go ahead and authorize the two hour repair and subsequently pay for it out of my pocket. Never did hear from AAA.

Our relationship is 99% me paying you on time every month for both auto and home insurance. The 1% time I need my insurance to come through for is during times of need. You miserably failed as an insurance company to act even remotely prepared or responsive in the time of need. I have already lined up alternative quotes and will never pay AAA another dime for auto insurance. By mid-year I plan to find an alternative for my home insurance as well. Of course at that point your bread-and-butter membership and roadside assistance will no longer be needed.

Maybe you have strayed too far from your core business of Auto Clubs when venturing into the insurance business? Not sure but to be so complacent and non-responsive to claims seems to indicate so. I sent this note to the CEO in hopes he has some insight when he's reviewing quarterly insurance income results later this year and asks his executive team why AAA is losing customers in Texas. I'm sure I'm one of MANY customers that had the same experience with AAA during this event.

Replies
Renewal
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NJ -- My membership was up for renewal on March 1, 2020. I called customer service 2 days later and was told that they do not cancel subscriptions past the renewal date and I have to pay the $200+ fee for the year. They do NOT cancel and pro-rate the fee as many other businesses will do. Buyer beware!

Replies
Cancellation Without Notice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- On November 25, 2013, I realized I haven't received our auto billing statement for December, so I check online. According to our account online, we do not have anything outstanding balance. So, I called the AAA main phone number, the staff told me that our auto policy had been cancelled. I was shock because we didn't receive any notice of cancellation.

I placed a call to my agent named Nicolas and left a voice message. Then I called his manager, Ms. **, and she told me that the company had implemented a new policy effective 9/15 even though our agreement was witnessed on 9/11. She apologized and said a notice was sent out on October 31. I told her we never received the notice. All we received around that time was the billing statement for November. She said our policy was cancelled effective Nov 16 but if you check our records, the cancellation date is Nov 10.

Basically we have been without auto insurance for approximately 2 weeks! Based on our history, we never have a lapse of insurance. Because of AAA error, we now have to pay a higher premium with any standard insurance company due to the lapse of insurance due to no fault of our own. My agent Nicolas called me back. He didn't know about our cancellation on our auto policy either. He doesn't have anything in his system that states our policy was cancelled.

We had to get auto insurance immediately with another insurance company for a 6 month policy.We refuse to drive without insurance. Our premium is $60 more per month due to the lapse insurance. I would like for AAA Texas County Mutual Insurance to refund our money due to the policy cancellation and to pay for the amount we are being charged for having lapse insurance due to no fault of our own.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Car Insurance Company Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT. LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- AAA MidAtlantic offered me the best price for insuring myself and my new 16 year old driver and 2 cars. 3 months joining AAA my car was stolen from my train station parking lot. AAA was nonresponsive to my phone calls for 3 days (including making it impossible for me to rent a car although I purchased rental coverage). I took a day off from work to make all of the phone calls, but no one ever responded to the more than 11 calls I placed to try to contact my "adjustor." The person who eventually picked up the phone said, "Would you stop calling me??" in a very rude voice.

After I called a manager in another state, my adjustor finally called me the next day at work, spoke to me rudely, and was unable to instruct me on how to proceed other than telling me wait 30 days to see if my car was found. Never having had a car stolen before, I don't know if this is typical, but this woman basically told me "tough," and got off the phone. With no assistance from the insurance company, the city police notified me several weeks later that my car had been found and towed to a distant lot.

The insurance woman told me that if I didn't retrieve my car within 24 hrs (thus requiring another day off from work), I would be liable for both the towing and impound lot storage costs incurred because someone stole my car. Car was retrieved with relatively minor damage. A detective was then sent to my home where he grilled me for several hours because.. well, I don't know why. I had to travel for a while, and when I returned, I had received two checks, cut on different days, for the same amount of money and dedicated to the same repairs.

I also learned that while I was away the same detective tried to talk to some of my neighbors--they told me he was a bully and that they had nothing to say to him because they had no idea why he was even wasting their time--and costing AAA money! Worst service in my 40 years of driving--you get what you pay for in car insurance, just like anything else.

Replies
Home and Auto Insurance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- We have been AAA customers for 20 plus years for home and auto insurance needs. We had been dealing with an assigned agent, who had been with us for at least five years of this policy time. He would look after any changes, updates, annual reviews, etc. Then all of a sudden, we would call and we were informed that our agent was not available and would we like to leave a message or go into his voicemail. Messages were left and never returned. This took place over a year and half time period.

Then out of the blue about a year ago, we received a phone call from AAA. It was our new AAA agent, calling to introduce herself and go over our policies, since they had been in limbo for a year and a half. WHAT A SHOCK! She did the review, and discovered we were under insured, and suggested an umbrella policy should be part of the coverage.

One week ago, we called because, again, there was no policy review and no sign of our AAA agent. We took our policies to another insurance company and had a review done. It turned out there were errors in our policies that would cost us financially had there been an accident. There were also errors that cost us financially over, at least the last year, unknown to us, until the review by another insurance company. Again, when we tried to get a hold of our insurance agent, and we were told that she was no longer with AAA and we did not have a new assigned agent.

We had to make the corrections on our policy with the call center and the corrections that were made, would arrive in the mail to us in a couple of days. Well, the corrections were sent out to us and there were still errors not corrected, that should have been corrected. So, our questions to AAA are: is this the way they treat all of their clients? If so, are these new cost cutting measures? If so, then maybe we should be shopping for a new agent that will provide at least the very basic service of a once a year review. After all, AAA claims they value the relationships they build with their clients. Well, we are not feeling the love in this relationship.

Replies
Auto Insurance Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DUBLIN, CALIFORNIA -- I was never charged the way AAA did. I was in a rush to change my insurance as I moved to CA and was traveling out of country. I go in person to the AAA office and sign up. The Asian agent did not explain what he was charging me for. I thought I was paying for two months. But I was charged the first month and apparently some form of advance payment for the last month. I was unable to move to another insurer due to this hassle and decided to keep it for a year.

After a year of rip off I was clearly informed of my last payment and informed of my last month that was already paid off. A month and half after my policy expired I get another bill for $50 change and was told that it is "Earned Premium". I gave them a call reference ID that they say they do not have anymore. This is very unprofessional and seems like a bad business practice. I appreciate any feedback so I can pursue this legally. Thank you. Please stay away from AAA.

Replies
Car Insurance Increased So Much for 1 Turn Signal Ticket
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ST LOUIS, MISSOURI -- Just got my new renewal forms and see where AAA jacked my car insurance up from $63 to $90 a month. All because I got a no turn signal ticket. That is a $26 a month increase for more than 3 years, which means it will be over $1000 for the 3 years. I can see if I got a DUI, ran a red light, speeding, or even caused an accident. But to hit me for this much for just a no turn signal ticket? Ok, they got me on this one FOR NOW. Guess I gotta pay for your CEO's new boat. Since both my cars and homeowners insurance renews in September, you can be FOR SURE that in August, I will be looking for new insurance for both.

Replies
Advertisement
Trip Interruption Coverage Is a Joke!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT MYERS, FLORIDA -- We were on our way from Tenn to Columbus Ga and then to Atlanta for a Dr.'s appt. that had been set up for weeks. The transmission started leaking. We got on into Columbus to the repair shop and had to rent a car to go on to Atlanta. Because we reached one of our "destinations" (Columbus) AAA will not pay for the car rental to go on to Atlanta. Even though our purpose in being in GA at the time was to go to the doctor's appt. in Atlanta! I even called before we rented the car to ensure it would be covered. WHAT A JOKE!! I guess I should have lied to them and told them it didn't start leaking until we were in Columbus.

I wouldn't have done that, I don't believe in it, but I guess it's the only way you can get the coverage you pay for. I think I'll call back and tell them I want a copy of the 'policy' in writing. I may even contact my attorney just on principle.

Replies
Caught Stealing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

POWAY, CALIFORNIA -- Someone broke into my truck. Call claims and she suggest that replacing the window will not reach the deductible. I explain that there is more than just the window. Appraiser comes out. We agree and he is very nice. Adjuster calls and sends a check for just under $700. When I go to repair, the parts are a lot more than I expected.

I then ask the adjuster to send a copy of the appraisal. She sends the appraisal with a price closer to a thousand dollars. Without explanation the adjuster sends the almost $300 balance. There is no explanation of how the math error occurred. How is it possible that the adjuster cannot read the appraisal and copy that amount onto a check? I say this: If I walk into a store and steal a candy bar, they will charge you with petty theft. Do it again and it is a felony. But if AAA gets caught stealing $300 it is an error. I really wish someone could give me some other explanation.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AAA Auto Insurance Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
48 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AAA
1000 AAA Dr.
Heathrow, FL 32746
407-444-7000 (ph)
www.aaa.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Insurance Companies