Preview Review

Next Review

AAA Battery Replacement Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Scammed by AAA
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LARGO, FLORIDA -- On May 26, 2014, I purchased a battery from AAA after calling for roadside assistance to jump-start my wife's Mercedes 2010 S550. The battery worked fine until this past Monday, Nov 23, 2015. Call AAA and an hour and a half later, an employee came to our house. He jump-started the vehicle and tested the battery which he claimed passed with a .73A.

Car was driven about ten miles with one stop and back home. Two hours later battery was dead. Called several times and dispatchers and supervisors said there was something wrong with the as the battery passed. About 6 pm on the 23rd, another employee came out and jump started the car. He instructed me to drive car for 15 to 20 minutes and if the car started the next morning, to bring it in to their repair/battery facility. On Tues, Nov 24th, the car started and I brought it in to the AAA station.

I spoke with the owner and he explained that his hands were tied because AAA provides the testers which are set to pass batteries that should be replaced. He also told me that although most batteries fail within the warranty period, AAA Michigan warned him that he has to keep his replacement rate below 11% or he'll lose his franchise. It is noted on AAA battery test strip that "The Average Battery Life in this Region is 23-26 Months." Why would AAA provide a full replacement warranty for 36 month if they know the average battery won't last that long? It is because there is an intent to deny 90% of the claims.

After being denied the replacement battery, the car was brought to our Mercedes-certified mechanic. The battery was tested properly and it failed the load test for that car. The battery had to be replaced. Also noteworthy is that although the AAA battery was the proper size, it was a lead acid battery, but not an AGM battery used by Mercedes Benz.

It is unbelievable that AAA hasn't had a class action suit brought against for this false and deceptive practice. All you have to do is read the negative reviews to know AAA is scamming the public. What about the Attorney Generals office? If enough letters are written, perhaps that office will take action.

Replies
Advertisement
AAA Battery Service - Useless Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALISO VIEJO, CALIFORNIA -- This is the first negative review I have ever had to write, and hate to do it. But this is deserved. I have been a AAA member for decades, and have a gold membership card with my daughter as co-member. My daughter, who is a college student purchased a new battery from AAA Battery Service because she was stranded and needed a new battery. The batteries came with a 6-year warranty, and a three-year free replacement so she thought it was a good deal. Only one problem, they don't honor the free replacement.

After two years the battery would not hold a charge. I jump started the battery with my car and drove it into my garage to do a brake job. I checked that the alternator was charging the battery correctly and it was putting out 14.25 volts. I had the battery on a charger all morning. It would not hold a charge for more than two hours. There was nothing drawing current from the battery but for about 50 to 70 milliamps when I checked. Totally normal.

I called AAA Roadside Assistance and told them I had a bad battery that my daughter purchased from AAA Battery Service two years ago. I told them it needed to be replaced because it would not hold a charge. They said they would send someone with a replacement battery. Thirty minutes later a tow truck shows up and wants to jump start the car. They totally botched the call. The nice tow truck operator called their HQ to have a battery delivered and said they would be over in 20 minutes. Four hours later and still nobody had shown up. I called again and finally 30 minutes later someone came by and "tested" the battery.

Even though the battery had been charging all day, he said I needed to charge the battery. Hmmm... You think maybe it's bad? He said to drive it for about 30 to 60 minutes to let it charge. Then to take it to an "official" free charging location to have the battery charged before they would even consider replacing it for free. Really? Ludicrous!

Fine, I needed to road test the car after replacing all the brakes anyway. Drove for an hour on the highway and parked the car. Next day, dead again. I shouldn't have to jump through all these hoops to get a "free" replacement battery for a junk battery. I have never had a battery last only two years in my life.

The next day I took the car to Autozone. They even tested it and the alternator and clearly stated it was a bad battery. I bought a new battery and it has been fine for two weeks. Guess what? No more battery problems! I'm cancelling my membership at the end of this year. Auto Club of Southern California.

Replies
AAA CAR BATTERIES SUCK!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHERRY HILL, NEW JERSEY -- AAA Member for decades. Ecstatic about their new battery truck that comes to your house and replaces your car battery for about the same price as a Sears DieHard, which I've also used for decades. Battery dies within one year. AAA tech comes to house, tells me there's something wrong with my car. Dealer charges $90 for diagnostics to tell me the battery is dead as a doornail. AAA goes to dealer to replace battery. Car runs fine. When this battery dies - I'm going back to DieHard at Sears. I hope it's not this year, but I bet it will be. I love AAA - will not buy their batteries again. Absolute crap. I don't buy crap.

Replies
AAA Battery Replacement Consumer Reviews
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA -- 1/21/2016. Bad idea to purchase AAA battery, because not AAA. Read the warranty:

  • Club Assist has no affiliation to AAA!
  • Free replacement inside warranty period, BUT you have to pay (more $) for removal and reinstallation, (what- a service call, guy, truck, tools, labor?).
  • you must take car to authorized service provider for test/replace! (tow?)
  • Removing battery voids warranty (makes no sense as it has a serial #).
  • New battery is guaranteed only for the remainder from the original purchase date! (w/ only 5 months left?)

I am 2 1/2 years into my 36 month battery for $110, now dead, and they need more money, I may put AAA through the hassle of coming out etc., but am sure to be headed to car parts store to put in a real battery and avoid any grief or time wasted, or good money after bad, as documented here by others.

Replies
Advertisement
Second AAA Battery in Two Months
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEAL BEACH, CALIFORNIA -- October, my car wouldn't start. I called AAA (I have been a happy member for 31 years). They tested the battery and alternator, even gave me the print out. I got a new battery from them on the spot and on my way in 20 minutes. December, my car wouldn't start, called AAA. I showed them the paperwork that my battery was only 2 months old. They jumped it, it started and he said all was well. I asked them to run the test and it came back replace battery. The driver looked shocked, he had one in his truck, lucky, not really.

My battery light is on again and my auto repair guy said this morning the battery needs to be replaced. I am not happy. I agree with all the other reviews, DO NOT BUY A BATTERY FROM AAA! I will not be buying an AAA battery again and I have two friends that had the same issue.

Replies
Cancelled AAA After 22 Years! Battery Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORANGE COUNTY, CALIFORNIA -- I have had AAA Plus for 22 years for 4 family members. In May of 2011 I had a AAA battery installed in one of my cars. In May of 2013, it failed and AAA came out and replaced it. I was so impressed that I have had AAA batteries installed in my daughter's car and our RV since then. On 11/22/15, the same battery needed to be jumped by AAA at the grocery store.

My wife drove the car home and on 11/25/15 it was dead in our garage (3 days later). I called for service and they told me over the phone that it was under warranty. The AAA driver arrived, jumped the battery and run tests, the charging system showed no problems. The driver then told me that the battery was too low to be tested, so while he got it running he said that it needed to be driven to a AAA approved auto repair facility to be charged for 8 hours and then tested. What!

The charging system was fine as my receipt says, I can't take the time right now (while the car is running) to drive it to a AAA repair ship. I removed the battery myself, drove it to Pep Boys, they tested it, it was bad, bought a new battery installed it. Called AAA and asked for a supervisor. I asked Aldo if the battery policy has changed, he said no, policy was followed.

Now I feel real foolish with AAA batteries in my two other cars. Called AAA and canceled service. After reviewing so many complaint sites for AAA and being so surprised, I didn't know of so many of these battery issues concerning AAA.

Replies
Inferior Battery Life Replacement and Financial Charges Associated With a Two Year Battery Replacement Program
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VIRGINIA -- I have been a longtime loyal AAA member. I replaced my 2007 SAAB battery which died in 2011 with a battery provided by AAA. It died in 2013 and then again in 2015. I called AAA and spoke to the call center. The call center said I would get a new battery and it would not cost me. I said I wanted to get a better battery for my car so my complaint was filed with customer service. I was promised a call back by Thursday or Friday which was about 2-3 days later so I waited and borrowed a friend's car.

By Friday evening customer service had still not called me back so I called back to the service center to see if I could speak to anyone. I was told that they would call me. Now, I had been without my car for a few days so I had a new battery installed by AAA under reservation of rights that I would request a refund and a new battery of my choice. Again I was assured that was the best option since AAA customer service had not called.

Finally, customer service called and would not replace the battery with a credit so I could buy a new battery. I am dissatisfied with AAA. I am looking for other folks who have been involved with AAA battery replacement program within the last 5 years and feel that their battery replacement service and AAA consumer service was not satisfactory.

Replies
False Advertising and RIP OFF Mobile Battery Replacement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MID ATLANTIC, NEW JERSEY -- BUNCH OF CROOKS! FALSE ADVERTISING. Absolutely appalled at the lack of service and relentless up-selling I just received. My car battery died on Thursday, and I knew I needed a new one. My insurance is wonderful and provides free jumps, towing, lockout service, etc. All the things that come in a basic AAA membership service, which is why I don't need a membership w/AAA. I was planning on calling my insurance for a free jump, then driving my car to a local auto shop for a battery replacement.

My dad suggested I look into a mobile battery replacement service, and after a quick online search, AAA mobile battery replacement was the first I found, claiming $135 for non members. Seems good enough, slightly more expensive than my auto shop, but way more convenient.. so I called yesterday to see if I could set up an appointment for today, explained I'm not a member and did not want to become one, etc. The representative with whom I spoke told me to call back today and they would be happy to dispatch someone to my location today.

Called today (on hold forever), to be told the service is only for members, at which point I explained to the representative that the person with whom I spoke yesterday said it's not a problem if I'm not a member. Today's representative said that yesterday's representative must have been mistaken, but “If you purchase a membership with me I'd be happy to set up a battery replacement.” ARE YOU KIDDING?

I told her, “I'm literally LOOKING at the AAA website which clearly states on more than one page that the cost is $135 for non-members, and $110 for members. I want the $135 price, since I'm not paying $72 for the privilege of a battery replacement when my insurance covers all of the other supposed roadside benefits that AAA offers!” She again told me I am mistaken, so I said, “Perhaps you can transfer me to someone else.” She said, “Please hold and I'll try to get a supervisor.” (on hold again for forever)

She comes back saying that they can get a mobile battery replacement sent to me, but that it would cost way more than $135, maybe even over $200, and wouldn't I like to sign up for a membership for a discount on the battery service and she would even take $10 off the yearly membership cost!

I once again reiterated that my (non-thief) insurance company has all the roadside perks of AA (sans battery replacement) for free. This conversations dragged on entirely too long. So apparently now someone is supposed to come to my house in the next 90 minutes but are first supposed to call me to confirm a price since AAA was unable to do it since I wasn't a member.

At this point, I am so fed up that I am quite close to scrapping it and getting a jump and driving to my local auto shop, but I'm interested to hear what this “non member cost” now will be. I AM SO FRUSTRATED at the poor service given to me as a non-member – honestly, should you be trying to get customers??? With how poorly I was just treated without yet giving you my money, I'd hate to see how you treat those poor souls who have already committed to a year of your nonsense!

Not to mention the ridiculous false advertising ALL OVER YOUR WEBSITE. For a company that supposedly prides itself on its longstanding, fabulous reputation, you should be ashamed. I am proud to say I never have been, nor ever will be, a member of your elite club. UPDATE -- Service has been cancelled due to it costing a MINIMUM OF $190!!!!! MINIMUM!!! They could POSSIBLY charge me more upon arrival!!! Why even both posting a price on your site???

Replies
Advertisement
AAA Battery Service Did Reverse Polarity Damage Car CPU
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- On 9/1/2013 I drove to Flagstaff, AZ to visit my son that goes to NAU. I drove to his work at the Courtyard Marriott and talk to my son. When I went to leave I started the car and went to back up, and the car stopped. Tried to start again, and would not start. I call AAA roadside assistance and they sent out a AAA Flagstaff Battery, because I have a AAA battery. The serviceman ** want to jump car to get out of drive. Asked for me to open hood, advised battery in trunk. Said has connections under hood also, so he hook battery cables to connections under hood.

When he told me to start the car, my door locks when up & down and my dashboard start flashing and making sounds/alarms when it started, but when I put in drive it stopped again. He then hooked battery charger to battery itself in trunk. Did test said alternator was bad. So had towed to Seven Day Auto to get alternator replace.

They inform me before work started that I had a engine light on, and key not on, and should not be there. They replaced the alternator and advised me that my computer to car was damaged and that they suspected that when car was jump he had cables wrong and did a reversed polarity on my battery that damaged the CPU on my car.

Put in new alternator, but could not get any reading on CPU. I could drive the car, but there was no reading on transmissions or anything else, would drive in 2nd gear, but no speedometer, air, etc. I drove back to Phoenix and put in complaint with AAA complaint ref # ** Chevy Cobalt, had a ** working with me, would not give me a rental because battery company sub contracted and was denying they were at fault. Had AAA recommend Kelly Clark East to take car to for an cost for repairs on car, they recommended Courtesy Chevrolet, because dealership would have to reprogram CPU.

I took to Courtesy on 9/7/2013 they verified computer damaged, and also agreed that there had been a reversed polarity done on battery. Have submitted all paper work, Seven Day Auto & Courtesy Chevrolet have submitted their paper work to AAA. I had to get a rental car on 9/7/2013 and returned it on 9/14/2013 because could not afford it.

On 9/12/13 was told I would be contacted by 9/13/2013 with answer. Have had no response, called on 9/16/2013 and was told ** was in charge of it now, have left multiple messages and have no response still since 9/12/2013. This is causing a lot of stress on me, I have anxiety problems and also afraid of losing my job, because I have no transportation and medical issues causing me to miss work.

Replies
AAA Battery Replacement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST CHESTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- AAA battery sucks. AAA replaced with a new battery on 1/9/2014 and then series of problems started. Daily when I park the car and take in the next morning the battery is dead. Called multiple times for inspecting the battery and always they were specifying there is some issue with car which is draining the battery overnight. I had to take to several service centers and spent more bucks for diagnosis but keep ending there was no issue with car.

Finally took to an auto electric shop. They diagnosed and concluded it was the battery issue. After that as well AAA came, ran some test on the battery and said battery is good. My auto electric service person explained what was the issue but the AAA person came said the battery can't be replaced. To prove the theory of diagnosis done by auto electric shop they gave a temporary battery. Next day there wasn't an issue with car and Car started as usual. Then called AAA and explained what I did. AAA said first of all the battery installed by them shouldn't be removed and that voids the warranty.

Warranty is always for the battery and not for the installation. I kept explaining them but AAA wasn't able to listen to me and said they can't do anything with this. I will never opt battery service from AAA. It is a waste of time and money. Warranty is just a piece of information on paper and they just try to find fault to see how they shouldn't replace the battery.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AAA Battery Replacement Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
25 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AAA
1000 AAA Dr.
Heathrow, FL 32746
407-444-7000 (ph)
www.aaa.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Insurance Companies