Best Buy - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 102 ratings and
459 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Best Buy
7601 Penn Ave. South
Richfield, MN 55423
1-800-369-5050 (ph)
Compare Superstores
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
"No Exceptions" Refund / Exchange Policy Bad Business!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LYNNWOOD, WASHINGTON -- My mother fell and broke her hip and was unable to return within 30 days the Kindle Fire case that didn't fit her Kindle properly. She wasn't worried about a refund because there was another, costlier item that she wanted, so she would have been happy with a store credit. But when I tried to return it this morning for her, I was shocked when told that she couldn't even get a store credit (By the way, the item is in original packaging and is still stocked on shelves, so the store would not be losing anything by accepting it back.).

I just got off the phone with the corporate office. The person I spoke with said, "Your mother should have asked someone to return it for her within the 30 day time period." At first I was speechless, then incredulous. An 87 year old woman breaks her hip, lies on the floor for 5 hours, is finally taken by ambulance to the hospital, has surgery, is released to a nursing home where she will be spending the next 2-3 months, and she should be thinking, "Oh, I need to find someone who can return that Kindle case for me." What kind of human being is so lacking in empathy to think that this should even be a top priority for a very scared 87-year old woman who just had a life changing accident?

What kind of nutty, morally bankrupt business would operate like this? I can understand that some people lie, so I offered to bring in medical records to prove that she was unable to return it due to a traumatic, debilitating accident, but the man just kept repeating, "I am sorry. We value your business, but we have a 'no exceptions' return policy." Value my business? What a joke. I have never posted a complaint online before, not have I so vehemently wished a company out of business before. But I find Best Buy's "No Exceptions" policy inhumane and unethical. Legal, apparently, but unethical.

Best Buy Reward Zone Personal Information Given to Thieves
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have never had problems with purchases at Best Buy, I have made a lot of large purchase and HAD a shared card with my husband a Silver Premier Reward Zone card in his name but the emails come to me. In January I started to receive receipts from a store in SC and NC. I live in New England. I called the store and said I am getting receipts for purchases I did not make, what is going on.

They give me to someone else and I was told this person is writing bad checks and returning items and getting cash back. Someone will call me back. Of course not one calls back. I call customer service explain what is happening, and told someone will call you back 7-10 days. NO one calls back. I call the corporate number to be told that this card is not in your name and you are not authorized to cancel the card.

I went around and around with this issue, calling multiple number trying to figure out why our information is on another person's purchases. I told them "We do not want our credit compromised and do not want this to somehow come back on us." NO ONE CARES at this BEST Buy corporation!

I think it was Mar 4, someone from SC store calls me asking for my husband about some purchase, and I said "don't you have this in your system that our information is on someone else's purchases?" She apologized and said she would look into it. That started me calling again starting at 11:00 am being transferred 7 times, the 7th time explaining everything again to talk to the most nastiest representative. She told me everyone information is can be compromised here. Even hers, she kept talking about herself and talking over me and so nasty and rude.

I hung up and called the Reward Zone dept. This woman was nice and understanding and understood where my concerns are, gave me a case number and guess what, I was never called back again. All the points accumulated in my Silver Reward Zone account are gone. I was going to buy appliances.

Too bad they do not want my business. I have given my business to a local business, discovered that in the end its the small business that will take care of you. I will file a complaint with the FTC since Best Buy does not take consumer personal information seriously.

Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHANLDER, ARIZONA -- Best Buy's/Geek Squad 5 Point Pledge #4: Do what it takes to make it right. Boy has Best Buy failed this miserably. 1/30: Take my Galaxy Note 2 in for repair (GPS doesn't work at all, everything else is fine). Worked at Best Buy in Chandler, AZ, was told and I quote "Normally these phones come back within 48 hours, but the policy is 3-5 days". I made it very clear this is used for my job and that 5 days is the max I can wait as that would fall on a Sunday/Monday and I could use my phone again for my job. 1/31: I called Best Buy to check on the status of my phone, the lady said "nothing yet".

2/1: I called Best Buy to check on the status of my phone. Same lady answered and said "sorry still not in". 2/2: I called Best Buy to check on the status of my phone, same lady yet again and the answer "sorry still not here, this could take up to 5 days". I explain that It's for work and I'm just making sure it comes in on time as promised. 2/3: I called Best Buy to check on the status of my phone, same lady again and she already checked for me and told me it'€™s still not in.

2/4: I called Best Buy to check on the status of my phone, someone transferred me to the Mobile Dept. The guy takes my phone number down and tells me he is checking the status now. He said that it still isn't in and how long has it been. I say "this is day 5 and I was promised my phone back". The Best Buy representative tells me, in a very rude voice "you are just going to have to wait as it'€™s not in yet and we have no control over this€. I hang up out of frustration. 2/5: I called Best Buy again to check on the status of my phone. Today they tell me "I'm sorry it's on back order, anywhere up to 2-3 weeks for that to come in."

I've called every day for 6 days and on day 6 all the sudden my phone has a 2-3 week delay now! I spoke to the Manager ** at Chandler Best Buy. He tells me there is nothing the store can do as they don't have the power to make the call on a replacement phone. I work with ** for about 1hr and get nothing but "call Geek Squad as they can make the decision".

I call the Geek Squad, 35 minutes of being transferred around and telling my story to 4 different people I finally get a Manager who says they can help me. They put me on old and tell me "we are trying to find you a loaner phone now". I explain that I have a loaner phone (HTC Desire 4g) and it's not powerful enough for my business needs.

I spend 1/½ hours on the phone with Geek Squad for them to tell me the following: they do not see any back orders in their system (yet the local Best Buy says they see a 2-3 week back order); they do not have the power to ship me a new phone ASAP and that'€™s done by the store; they are unsure to why ** at Best Buy had me call them, he should have called them; they gave ** instructions on how to get me a new phone through the "Bridge" within 24hours. I was instructed to work with ** at Best Buy.

I call ** while having Geek Squad on the other phone, they both agree I need to work with ** as he will be contacting the Bridge for me to get me a phone within 24 hours. ** hangs up with me and calls me back after talking to the Bridge. He tells me "5 days for them to respond to this escalation". 5 days!!! I ask to speak to a store manager, he's out at lunch.

It's now 7:30pm, I'™ve been on the phone since 4:30pm trying to get a straight answer from Best Buy to find out when my phone will be as now my job is affected due to this. I talk to the store manager ** and he tells me if I don't get a replacement phone in 5 MORE days that he will write one off in store for me.

This is nice and all however I was promised 5 days to begin with, I made it very clear this is a work phone and my job depends on it, and still nothing. ** was absolutely useless and wasted more of my time. He gave me the Regional Manger's number ** which I called, left a VM and never heard anything back. I have a feeling this is the wrong number as its a girl's voicemail but I left a message anyway.

The thing I find comical about this is after my 3 hours of fighting with Best buy I get an email from Geek Squad saying my phone was ready to ship out. Did I really have to spend 3 hours fighting with Best buy when you promise "Do what it takes to make it right"? I still don't have a phone and now I'm forced to buy one at full price due to Best Buy's horrible customer service. I'm done with Best Buy as a company and will never shop there again or use their online store either. The customer service is horrible and I now understand why this company is on the verge of going under.

INSANE Employees!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

FORT WORTH (HULEN STORE 176), TEXAS -- So my parents placed an order (and paid) for a vacuum online and said they would add my name on the order to pick up at my local store. When I got there, the CSR told me she would not let me have it because I didn't have the credit card.

She offered no apologies or help and told me to call I had to call my parents, who called the website, who called the store and told them to let me take it. I went back in and a different employee told me, "yes corp office called" and said for me to have it. But again the CSR said no. She said, "just because corp office tells us doesn't mean we can do that." She told me to call them back.

I told her she needed to call them because they said I could pick it up. After another 40 minutes, she told to redo the entire order and add my name again. After all that, she said they messed up the pickup date, and I still couldn't have it. They needed to fix it again.

I told her I would need to come back, I had been there for 1 HOUR and I had to pick up my 3 yr old son from day school. She told me, "NO you need to wait here in case they need to ask you questions." I said "no I'm going to get my kid so give me my drivers license back" and left. LOL WTF?!

My parents were furious, they called the store manager, who then accused them of fraud because they wanted to add my name to their order after the fact. My mother explained all this was done before they even took her credit card. put me as a recipient on the order before she paid.

The store manager refused to give her his name when she asked. He finally admitted his first name. He told them he would call back or corp office. Neither one ever did. My parents are having to dispute the charge with their credit card company and went to Newegg instead. These people are INSANE!

Resolution Update 01/10/2013:

So the VP of customer service had someone contact my Mom today and apologized left and right. He admitted I WAS on the order as a recipient and it was uncalled for. I should have been given the vacuum.

He gave her a $100 gift card and said they are investigating the employee and manager. Since the store manager now claims he didn't know what cust svc employee it was. What a mess!

Still, my mom and I have stayed away from Best Buy since the incident.

Broken appliances - NO customer service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KENNESAW, GEORGIA -- We bought a washer, dryer and dishwasher from Best Buy about a month ago. They sent me an e-mail the following Wednesday saying they would call between 7-9 PM Friday to set up a delivery time. Then they sent me the same e-mail on Thursday and again on Friday. I waited, they never called.

When I called the store on Saturday asking when they were going to deliver they said it would be between noon and 4PM that day (Saturday). I asked what happened to the call on Friday and they said that they had left a message at noon that day. The idea of this tactic is that when they tell you the time you will have no input into if you are going to be able to be there or not. It is that simple, you are either there or you don't get it.

When they showed up to deliver and install the appliances the installer was in a bad mood and swore the entire time. During the installation they managed to crack in half the drain pan that the washing machine was sitting in, scratch the face of the dishwasher, crack the pipe from the drain to the sewer for the dishwasher connection, they did not install the venting from the dryer to the outside of the house correctly (I am afraid to use the dryer for fear it will catch the house on fire) and the dishwasher dryer cycles does not work.

We have called the store several times to complain and to get this issue resolved and they keep saying that the manager will call me back and he never has (it has been 3 weeks). They keep putting me in touch with the salesman who does not have the authority to do anything. I finally found out about a division they have called the Public Defender who I was told has the authority to do all kinds of magical things (another lie).

When I called he apologized (as they all do) and then he set the wheels in motion (as he put it) to get the issue resolved. The problem is now that he is off for the next 2 days (I hope it was 2 days and not 2 weeks) and that nobody else is allowed to continue on with resolving my problem on getting a delivery time set up till he gets back on Wednesday.

I can only guess that because he is off, they are going to close all of the stores and offices till he gets back. He must be the only one with any authority to do anything. The entire company must be waiting on him for everything. When he does get back on Wednesday and tries to set up a delivery they will already be booked solid and they will schedule me for the end of the day. Also, they give you a 4 hour time window and expect you to be there waiting on them the entire time! We have done this for 3 weekends now and still have not had any results. I can only imagine how bad a shape Best Buy must be in when he goes on vacation!

The second mistake I made was putting this on a Best Buy's charge (the first was buying it from Best Buy). You have no rights to dispute this with the credit company if it is on a Best Buy card. Normally I would just tell VISA (or whoever) that I am disputing the charge and Best Buy would not get a penny till the issue was resolved. It is not worth a 10% discount when they destroy your home. Anything that I saved and more will be spent fixing all the problems they have caused and trying to get the bad appliances they supplied replaced.

If you look at the Investors Report you will see that their number one goal is to expanding into China, not to improve customer service. This is because they have ruined their reputation in this country and are hoping that the people in China will be stupid enough to accept their policies and not question their authority.

I have no idea what I can do to resolve this issue promptly since the guy handling my case is off for the next couple of days. The store manager refuses to call anybody back at any time, they will not assign my case to somebody else to resolve and they will not get a General Manager or District Manager involved or allow me to contact them.

I am guessing they want me to pursue this as a legal matter. I can while Best Buy is having financial difficulties and will soon be following the same path as Circuit City. It is my fault for not buying the appliances at Lowe's or someplace else to begin with.

Stay clear of Best Buy
By -

FOLSOM, CALIFORNIA -- My husband and I bought two Samsung phones through Best Buy in Feb. 2010. Our phones would not hold a charge more than ½ day so I called Folsom Best Buy on 12/10/10 and asked them if I could order some batteries for our cell phones they told me I would have to come to the store to initiate the order.

So on 12/13/10 we went to order the Samsung batteries at the Folsom Best Buy on Iron Point Way. We were in the store over two hours because the clerk tried to order them on the Geek squad computer (help desk) which they found they couldn't do. The computer in the cell phone area and where the Geek Squad are not compatible. So then they took me back to the cell phone area and called Best Buy customer service. I don't think the clerk that was helping me was from that dept because it did not seem like he knew what he was doing but he was trying. After two hours in the store we were ready to leave.

The clerk told me they were ordered and I should receive them within 7-14 working days at this time I received no paperwork but just glad the order was done and we could leave. 1/4/2011 around 2pm we went to Best Buy in Folsom to inquire about what the status of our batteries for our Samsung cell phones that we ordered over two weeks ago(12/13/10). ** helped as best she could. My complaint is not with her but with you.

What good is it to have insurance when something goes wrong if what is wrong is not available to the consumer? Meaning we ordered two batteries for these phones like I said two weeks ago (at that time it took over two hours for the Best Buy clerk to get through to customer service and get the order right) and now we were told today that there is no ETA on this either because Best Buy does not have them in stock nor do they manufacture them so they have to be ordered and Best Buy is waiting on the order to come in? My order #'s are= **. This is what the clerk gave me on 12/13/10 as reference #'s.

** said that it is unusual for batteries to go bad? Does it matter what part of this phone goes bad? If I need batteries they should be at my disposal or tell me what the heck good is it to have your insurance we could have bought the batteries for as much as I have invested into this insurance this year! Now I have always bought products from you and have been quite satisfied till now. In fact we were thinking of buying a television but I have my doubts that I would want to buy one through you when I cant even get a couple of simple batteries to keep my phone charged more than a day! You tell me what I should do? Then again you tell me what you would do?

I thought this would be such a simple request that has turned into a nightmare of waiting, complaining and frustration. We pay $6.99 per phone for insurance that is $13.98 a month for what you tell me? No telling how much longer we have to wait to get these. I am so dissatisfied it is unbelievable. Why can't I just get the battery from the store when I go in? Why do they have to be sent to me? This is such bad customer service?

I called 1-888 237 8289 today and talked to ** a representative for Best Buy after explaining my problem to him he told me that it doesn'€™t look like the order was completed that is why I have not received the batteries I requested? I asked ** how that could be when I had the order #s of **. These were given to me the SECOND time I had gone to Folsom Best Buy and asked them what had happened to my battery order?

I asked to speak to a Sup I was given **, I told him I was so tired of explaining this dilemma. What I needed is a resolution to this request. He told me that he sees that there are quite a few people who have dropped the ball and he said he would get me the batteries I needed plus a $20 gift certificate. ** told me I should receive the batteries by Jan 24th. At this time ** did not ask for any S/N on these phones he just reviewed what had been done for me which was basically nothing. He apologized and ordered them.

1/20/11 We received only 1 battery from UPS today at about 2:30pm that is why called Best Buy customer service and I got on ** on the phone at 3:10pm asking her where my other battery was? I tried to tell ** how upset I was about all the mishaps that had happened and all the time I had invested in this and ** told me, "lets move forward and not sit in the past!" I told her "you have to learn from the past before you can move on otherwise we are going to make the same mistakes and I am sick of the mistakes being made!" She told me she had to call parts and I told her I would hold.

She said ** ordered these phones and I told her no I got them and pay for the insurance. She asked if he was there and I said yes. She asked if we could get the s/n off the phone. I asked her where it could be found. We finally found it behind the battery and was too hard to read. We finally gave her the s/n and she said she would call us back. ** finally called back and told us in a rude manner "You gave me the wrong number." I told her "let me look at it again." I told her that give us a minute we will get the magnifying glass to read the numbers better. She said, "that is your problem you are giving people the wrong s/n#s."

I told her "wait a minute ** my husband is 72 years old and I am 62 years old and our eyes are not the same as they used to be." That was mighty rude. We had made a mistake one of the numbers was actually a letter but the s/n is so small. Anyway there was no excuse for her to be so rude she will be where we are some day and I hope no one treats her like she treated us. I also told her that if we would have known she was going to ask for that we could have had it ready but ** never asked for the s/n. She then said she would call me back when she got the battery ordered.

1/20 ** calls back. 4:45pm just called back and told me that she has ordered the battery and it should arrive within 7-14 working days. She told me she could give me a $25 gift certificate and I told her no way I want $40 and the $20 that ** promised me also. She said then she is through with my call. I told her, "No you are not through with my call till you follow through and make sure I receive my battery and the gift certificates then you are through." I also told her that my anger and disappointment is not directly at you as though it might seem that way but there have been so many people that have dropped the ball including your co-worker **.

I told him I needed two batteries for the two phones and he ordered 1 battery. I had told him I pay 13.99 a month for two phones and I needed two batteries (1 for each phone what part of that did he not understand?). ** told me "who's to say that you didn't get two batteries?" I told her "I resent that comment. I hope you aren't trying to insinuate that I am being dishonest?" I told her "I have a slip that shows only 1 battery was ordered. You cannot hold me responsible for everyone's inefficiency. I am not satisfied with the insurance or the customer service I have received. I respect efficiency and effective service I have received neither."

I told ** I could have gone down into Sacramento to Batteries Plus and bought the batteries I needed right away instead of waiting and still waiting on a service that was supposed to be reliable and dependable. Well that is what they told me when I signed up??? I have spent $167.76 this year on insurance for these phones and all I wanted was a couple of Samsung batteries? What is your take on all of this!!! What would you do if you were me?

2/3/2011 (4:05 pm) Called Best Buy contact was ** I gave him my case # and order#. I asked him to look at the notes and help me out. He said he had no access to the parts dept so he was going to have to turn me over to them. ** after looking at the notes he apologized to me and said that the bad customer service that I received might have been due to the seasonal help they hire during that time. ** did give me confirmation order #'s for the new battery is: ** and the order # for the return is: **. He was very cordial and was sorry he couldn't have done more to help me. Now that is good customer service compared to what I have experienced so far.

I have been turned over to ** in the Geek Squad I gave him the information he asked for and he told me that my order had been cancelled because it was sent in as a duplicate order. So no one contacted me I would have never known what happened! I told him I wanted a refund for the insurance I have been paying on for over a year. He told me "I understand your frustration and I would be upset too." He told me he was going to talk to Corporate Office and let them know what is happening so please hold for a few minutes.

I told him my husband is 72 years old and has diabetes and high blood pressure I use these phones all the time it is imperative that I have these working. He said he would relay my concerns and put me on hold. ** from Corporate office is on the phone now I told him what I wanted and he told me he couldn't do any of what I asked. So why did he waste my time? He told me he was going to turn me over to Customer Care? It is now 5:10pm and I have been disconnected "please hang up and dial the toll-free # again."

5:15pm I call back and get a hold of ** in Geek Squad and she tries to put me over to Monthly billing which is closed and she said that is probably why I was disconnected. Well thank you for that great exceptional customer service where your call counts. She told me to call back tomorrow!!! 2/4/11: Called back 12:10pm Rep did not give me a name she forwarded me to the Mobile Unit while music played for 10 min. 12:30pm Elise said she cannot help me and forwarded me to her supervisor and then I am disconnected.

12:31pm Call back Cust Rep no name I told her I had been disconnected and would like to talk to **. She told me she did not know anyone by that name but forwarded me to Corporate Office. 12:45pm ** said "I will more than happy to cancel your plan but I cannot give you a refund." He said "I am awfully sorry for what has taken place here but I do not have the power to issue a refund."

I said "I have waited this long to someone like yourself to get a resolution to this matter and all I get is an apology. I have had those since this all started and you know they don't mean much to me anymore what a want is a resolution to this problem. Every time I call they tell me that I am going to receive exceptional customer service that is a guarantee." I told ** I need to talk to someone above you. 1:00pm I have been turned over to ** (Customer Relations) tells me there is nothing she can do for me. No refund.

I guess I am writing this is so no one like me is tricked into getting their fabulous cell phone insurance. Buyer beware. It is not all what it is cracked up to be. Don't be a fool like I was, stay clear if it is too good to be true it usually is.

Nightmare Purchase
By -

LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- I originally purchased a Sony Bravia Television model KDL46W5100 on 12/3/09 at the Lancaster, PA Best Buy. The TV came as package with a Playstation 3 and a game and movie. The purchase just by itself was a nightmare, I called into the store earlier that day and was told they would put everything on hold for me, so I could pick everything up after work. When I arrived I went to the customer service desk and told them I had a TV package waiting for me, they looked at me like I was a ghost and said they had no idea what I was talking about.

Over an hour later of getting pushed to different employees and departments, I was told they did not have any more in stock, but then after complaining about the situation they "magically found one" and I was finally able to purchase the package. I received no apology from anyone for the delay, mix up or the complete waste of my time.

The TV worked great for a little more than two weeks and then started turning itself on and off every few minutes. So I called the Lancaster Best Buy after waiting through ten minutes of just listening to a phone ring waiting for someone to pick it up. The employee that answered (who I later realized completely lied to me just to get me off the phone) told me that my model TV was not in now, but that it would be in the next few days and I could exchange it then. So I waited for two days without being able to enjoy my recent purchase.

In the meantime I called the Black Tie protection plan I purchased with the TV and the representative I spoke with informed me this was very rare and he thought I was given a floor model. Which makes perfect sense due to them telling they were out and then magically finding one in the back. When I attempted to call back into Lancaster I again waited for over ten minutes before anyone decided they wanted to answer the phone, I informed the employee of the situation and he said they are back ordered on my model TV and have no idea when they would get more in.

Starting to get upset I asked to speak to a manager about the situation and I was transferred to the home theater section, which of course came with another very long wait!! When someone finally answered I asked again for a manager only to get put back on hold again. My timer on my phone was at almost thirty minutes by now!! I finally got a customer service manager named ** {removed per forum guidelines}. I say his name because his service and complete lack of help or respect for me or the situation have completely turned me off from ever going back to the Lancaster Best Buy again.

I admit I was upset when I finally got to him, but rightfully so, there is no reason someone should get the runaround trying to exchange a two-week old defective product. I told him the customer service in his store is horrible, and no one should have to wait that long to speak to someone and that I have been on the phone for almost half an hour now. ** gave no apology and simply said they are just too busy right now (It makes me wonder what kind of company he is hoping to run and model to his fellow employees when you have no time for customers, who kind of are the reason a retail store is even able to be in business).

I told ** my situation and he said that because there are no more TV's left I would have to wait for more to come in or just return it and there is nothing he can do right now. I told him that it's unacceptable to have a broken TV after two weeks and for you guys to not help is ridiculous, I should be receiving a comparable model to fix the situation. We went back and forth over the matter only for ** to tell me I was being "hostile" and to complain to 1-888-Best-Buy. I never once swore or threatened him so calling me hostile is a joke.

At this point I asked to speak the GM, however ** refused to transfer me or give me the full name of his GM only telling me he goes by **. I asked ** "what is your last name because I'm calling back in for your GM to tell him how you have treated me," he refused of course again and said that I needed to take my complaints to 1-888-Best-Buy and that the call was over.

I called 1-888-Best-Buy and lodged a complaint with the customer relations department. The representative called the store back (which must have taken her awhile to get someone to answer the phone there, because it was a very long wait until she got back to me). Once she finally got a hold of ** we were on a three way call where he offered me a lower model TV (** offered me a V-series and have the W-series) BUT he wanted me to pay $100 for the exchange.

I become very upset for two reasons. First off I told him that the TV he is offering me is lower end model than what I originally purchased. ** however, tried to lie and say it wasn't, before I told I'm on the Best Buy website right now and it says so right here. ** still being the non-helpful "manager" he is would not offer anything else or even a simple apology for the his actions towards me, trying to lie to me, or situation I was in. I told him I'm not looking to take advantage of the situation and get a higher model TV for free but I want something comparable.

He finally offered another series TV but wanted $300 for the difference stating he was giving me a deal. I told him "this was ridiculous, I didn't break the TV and I was given a defective product. Since you don't have any more of the same TV you should be taking care me of and fixing the situation instead trying to get me to pay even more money to fix your problem." ** didn't budge and basically said it was either buy the other TV, wait till a new one comes in, or just return it. ** said he would try to check stock with other stores to see what he could find and call me back in a couple minutes.

He called back and found nothing but would not replace the TV unless I put out more money. I realize there are differences in prices with different TV's however a customer should not be told you have to wait until who knows when to get a new replacement or shell out more money to fix the defective product we gave you and apparently don't even stand by. At this point any credibility ** had with me was completely out the window now, after him trying to lie to me and basically saying either return everything or wait for however long to get a new one.

I tried to call ** the next day only to again wait for someone to pick it up. After about ten minutes of just ringing I decided to call another location. I called the York, PA Best Buy and guess what, they picked right up right away. The associate was very helpful and transferred me to a manager right away. The manager I spoke to this time was ** {removed per forum guidelines} and he was one of the most helpful and friendliest managers I have ever met. After explaining the situation to him, he apologized repeatedly (something ** never once did, he just refused to help) and told me he would do whatever he could to fix the situation and take care of me.

** informed me the only model TV he had left in stock in the Bravia 5100 series was a Z-series the highest model they in that series. Instead of telling me I needed to pay a couple hundred dollars for the difference to exchange their defective product he instead said he would do everything for only $50. I was shocked at first because the customer care I received with ** had turned me had all but completely turned me off from Best Buy altogether. ** however just said he wanted to take care of me as a customer and fix the situation.

So long story short I was able to exchange the defective TV for a new one, and I was sure this one was not a floor model! The associates ** in customer service were extremely helpful and did the exchange with no problem. One of the other associates who I won't name asked me about the TV and what had happened, after telling him about ** {removed per forum guidelines}, he informed there have been a lot of complaints about him from other customers and fellow associates. This was a relief to me to know that I was not the only one, but also sad that more customers have been treated so poorly by **.

I live in Lancaster if you didn't guess, however I will only go to the York location which is out of the way, but at least I will be treated fairly and taken care of, I will never step foot in the Lancaster location again. The GM can thank him for losing my business as well as hurting their reputation. A company's best form of advertising is word of mouth and let me just say I have and will continue to tell everyone I know about how bad the service was at the Lancaster location and how rude and disrespectful ** {removed per forum guidelines} was.

The service I received in York however was amazing, especially the service from ** {removed per forum guidelines} and he kept from returning everything and never shopping at a Best Buy again. ** went above and beyond and for that I am extremely thankful.

Worst Customer Service Ever!
By -

I am having a problem with Best Buy as well. I submitted a claim at the end of July because the HDMI port on my Panasonic DLP failed and the bulb is starting to flicker. First, I called in to get my TV inspected and they did not have an appointment until 8/18. I told them that was too far out and they said they could send out a 3rd party vendor and they would call back to set it up. I called them back 2 days later because I never got a call. They said, "sorry" and that they would call back with someone.

3 days later they still had not called so I called them and they said "sorry" again and that they would call back with someone. 2 days later I get a call from a vendor that advised me that they do not work on Panasonic's! I called them back and demanded that the Geek Squad come out to my house. Now it was after 8/18 anyway! They said that they would. 3 days later I get a call from another 3rd party vendor who says that they were dispatched to repair my TV! At that point I just wanted it done.

I told them the problem and they only had the HDMI issue listed, not the bulb, but they said that they would take care of it anyway. They called Best Buy back and started to search for the part. They called and told the Repair Lady that the part did not exist because Panasonic did not make them anymore. Now, the main issue was because Best Buy did not keep track of what they were doing, Best Buy had to search for the part 3 times because they never documented that they already did it.

Finally, last week the repair person got an e-mail from Best Buy confirming that they could not get the part and they were going to send the request to the review dept (this was after the 3rd attempt to order the part) to replace my TV. I would probably end up with a voucher to replace the TV. She advised me that the process would take 3-5 business days. I was fine with that because that would mean that I would get the voucher before the labor day sales and I started to look for a new TV. But, of course, Best Buy didn't document it again!

So this week, we find out that they have to reorder the part again! I called and ask why they have to do it a fourth time when we have an e-mail confirming that they have already done it and they say that they just have to. They won't accept the e-mail from their own company as documentation. They advised that they will have to go through the process again, and that once they verify the part is not in, the review will take 3-5 days.

I raise hell and get a supervisor, **, on the phone. He tells me that he will just get it over to the review dept, but it will still take 3-5 days. I still raise hell and says he will get it reviewed in 4 hours. That was today at 8am. I waited until 3pm and there was no callback. I called and left a voice mail for him and still did not get a callback. I called on my way home from work and got another supervisor, ** on the phone. All he would tell me was that there was no such thing as a 4-hour turn around and that the first sup told me "misinformation".

He continued to quote me 3-5 days and said that the department that handled the review of the replacement did not take incoming calls. I asked him to call them and he refused. I asked him to e-mail them to assist me and he refused. The most he would do was e-mail them to get them to call me, which I doubt they will do. I asked for a customer complaint line and he refused to give me one. He also refused to give me his manager and refused to transfer me to another sup. I advised him that it seemed like they were looking out for their own interests more than mine as their customer and reminded him that we had a contract together.

He refused to do anything that would assist me in any way shape or form other than quote me 3-5 business days for the turn around on the review of my claim. I ended up calling back and got the corporate complaint line and spoke to **. I told her the issue and advised her that I was going to be out the sales on labor day because of their mistakes. I asked her to assist and advised that I just wanted this to be resolved. I advised that I wanted assistance to expedite the process on the review. She started to argue with me! Talk about customer service!

The only time I was hearing anything about good customer service from Best Buy was on their recordings when I was on hold! ** went on to advise me that the 3-5 days was the expedited time frame! I said that this was not as everyone before her said that this was the standard time. She said that it was not and that there was nothing that she or anyone else could do. I asked for the name of the CEO and at first she said that she could not release it as it was confidential. I had to remind her that it was public info and she finally advised me in an extremely rude fashion and we disconnected.

This entire experience has been one of the worst customer service experiences of my life! Every action has been prompted by me, I will be losing out monetarily because of their inaction and poor handling. All I want is my TV and my time back!

Best Buy Return Policy
By -

FAIRLESS HILLS PA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I'm sorry to say that Best Buy, a company I considered an excellent place to get affordable quality electronics, will no longer be getting my business. I have read some interesting reviews about disgruntled customers and their frustrations relating to returns over the 30-day limit. So I would like to share my experience also.

I had received a car stereo head unit as a gift valued at $100, and unfortunately it wasn't able be installed because my car was totaled in an accident before I had the install done. Obviously time has passed since I had to wait to find a new car. Fortunately, my new car was a great upgrade over my first car and I figured I would go to the store, return the head unit, and do a MAJOR upgrade to accommodate the newer better car.

I was absolutely shocked when I found out that they refused to return my unopened head unit, which was about ten days past the 30-day return period. I did not want any cash, nor store credit as a gift card. I merely just wanted to apply the cost of the returned 100 dollar head unit towards the newer purchase. After spending about an hour putting together a top of the line system with a car audio rep totaling ~$600 dollars, I walked up to customer service to do the exchange.

Not only were the customer service reps extremely rude about my complaint, but after asking to speak to a manager, a person saying he was an acting member of management did not even look me in the eye, and brashly shunned me away saying, policy is policy and returned to helping other customers. And that was that. Stuck with a 100 dollar head unit. And they lost a $600 sale. Now is this STRONG unwillingness to try to keep a loyal customer satisfied who is willing to spend hundreds of dollars more on a majorly higher priced purchase a great managerial decision? I think not.

Furthermore, when I have a question or complaint about a policy at a store, I politely ask for reasons why their policies are the way they are. I don't want to hear "it's because it's company policy". I AM SO SICK OF HEARING THAT AS AN ANSWER!!! It literally makes me sick to my stomach. I consider it a lame response and completely dodging the question. What I'd rather hear is WHY it is company policy, you know, the actual REASONS they implement this policy.

I figured the reasons why is that a person using the item over 30 days significantly depreciates the value of the item and therefore they will lose a small portion of the already high-profit margins they get on their products. I also figured it was because new products come out all the time, and for a company to take back an item past thirty days is a risk because they would have to sell the item as a discount price since there are newer models being introduced into the market. In my case, the model head unit I had was clearly still on the shelves and it was completely unopened. It could have easily been returned to the shelves and sold again.

So in conclusion here is what Best Buy accomplished with my situation. They refused to take back a $100 unopened perfect 100% percent condition head unit, in order to stick to their "policy". What they turned down in result of that was a significantly larger sale ($600 more) because of their unwillingness to try to make some exceptions to keep customers satisfied. When I read fellow customers issues with their return policy, I was appalled to see so many negative responses, such as "policy is policy" and "the loss of you as a customer is nothing to Best Buy" and they will continue to dominate the electronic superstore chain.

Fortunately I was smart enough to take a few economics courses in college, and business management also, even though I work as a music teacher for a living. What I learned is that "the customer is always right" is a dead on concept, and the dollar vote of the customer will always decide the fate of corporations such as Best Buy etc. no matter how large they are. I've read many people on here say that "you are not the powerful consumer you think you are and Best Buy will suffer no effects from your dissatisfaction". I couldn't disagree more, because the dollar vote is always the deciding factor in business.

What Best Buy did by turning me down, rudely and far from customer service the right way, was lose a customer forever. It doesn't seem like much, but my dollar votes will now go to other outlets, increasing the profits of their competitors, and every person I run into looking to buying at Best Buy, I will deter and lead them to other businesses. Word of mouth has extreme power in business. I am a piano teacher and word of mouth is my number one method of gaining new clients. I treat them all with respect and they are happy to pay for my services even when there is a time where they may be dissatisfied with something.

I used to work at Wal-mart when I was paying my dues working through high school. There was a very good manager in my store, and I can remember countless times where a frustrated customer returning a product that technically couldn't be returned, be treated fairly, and with some compromise would ultimately leave the store satisfied.

Best Buy lost me as a customer, and I will speak negatively about them from here on. It's a shame I was a big supporter of the company, and I even own a bit of their stock. I'll be selling that away now of course. And lastly, I feel for all of you who have been through these similar situations. Truly do your part in your dollar vote and don't listen to the idiots who bash you for being ignorant to company policies! When more and more people band together, things can change. Good riddance to Best Buy.

Best Buy Will Not Honor Their Policies Or Otherwise
By -

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased an eMachines M5312 laptop on 10/2003 with Best Buy's basic extended warranty. I purchased this at the Almaden Expressway store in San Jose, California. Since the purchase, the laptop continues to overheat and simply shuts down. I do not feel that this is a Windows issue, because normally, before sending the unit in, I've formatted the hard drive with a new installation of software (eMachines support has every time, recommended reformatting the hard drive and reinstalling everything from their install disks for shut downs). The laptop has now been in for repair five times now to Best Buy.

Best Buy is denying replacement of the laptop. It is also my opinion that the Best Buy Repair Center in Camarillo, California is lying about what they've done for repairs. There have been a series of so-called repairs from 11/2004 to about 2/2005.

Before having the damaged unit repaired, the Repair DEPT clerk explained to me that with my extended warranty, the unit had to be sent out, and that it would take several weeks, and that the unit had to be in for repair three times before being granted a replacement. Not happy with this, I spoke with the store manager and told him I wanted a refund for the extended warranty that I felt was useless. He refused of course, so I gave in and agreed to have the unit sent out for repair.

First Time (late 2004). The laptop came returned back to me in worse condition. The first time I turned in the laptop for repair was late 2004. The repair report claimed that they replaced the motherboard. As I had tested the unit at the store, the laptop would shut down immediately after power up.

Second Time. Best Buy shipped the unit back to the repair center in Camarillo. A few days later, I got a call from the customer rep in Camarillo. She was actually cordial and said she would expedite the "overheating" repair and have the unit shipped back to my home address. I also told her that the rubber feet had fallen off of the laptop. I had assured her that I wouldn't intentionally rip the things off the bottom, so she agreed to have it done.

Several days later, I received the repaired unit. The unit worked for a whole day, then started to shut down once during doing some work, but powered the unit up again. It was okay for a while. Also, the repair people only installed 2 of the 3 feet missing.

I called the girl back in Camarillo to send me the other rubber foot. She agreed to ship it out to me It was sent out UPS Red or Blue but UPS would simply not drop off the package on the doorstep, because the package required a signature. They tried to drop off the package several times, during business hours. Eventually, package was shipped back to Camarillo, and I never received the additional rubber foot.

I contacted her again, and she agreed to ship it out without requiring a signature this time. I never received any package, I have since left her 1 or 2 voicemail messages, and she has not contacted me since. I kept her name and the Camarillo telephone number on my cellphone, just in case I am ever asked of her name.

Third Time. Several weeks after the Second Time repair, the unit started to overheat again. I turned the unit into the store. It was probably again, shipped out to Camarillo. It was shipped back to me, with this time on the report, "Cleaned CPU Fan." Also, one of the rubber feet they installed from the Second Time was missing. After a few days, the laptop failed again, overheating, and this time all the way to failure so that I could no longer power up the unit so I could back up the data on the hard drive.

Fourth Time. Turned in the unit once again. I wanted a new laptop. The Geek Squad guy at the Best Buy counter in San Jose said that repair center in Camarillo had to determine the machine not repairable before granting me another laptop. The clerk also entered that the rubber feet were missing. I finally received the unit back. This time, the report said that some heat sink had been replaced and the CPU Fan was cleaned. Once again, this did not work. Several weeks later, the unit started to shut down. The repair center did attach rubber feet this time but with a weak glue job. The feet were falling off, right out of the box.

Fifth Time. Turned the unit into Best Buy San Jose yet another time. This time, I attached a note with details on room temperature, the fact that it has been turned in several times and that this unit should be considered for granting a replacement. This time I left the hard drive in the laptop, with a recorded TV program file on it to prove the laptop was failing just buy playing video files, ETC. This time they shipped the unit back their written report. "Replaced CPU." I turned the machine on, I thought it ran a little slower, but it ran again for a few weeks this time before yes, overheating once again. Please see other details below.

Best Buy's Repair Center disrespectful this time. When I shipped the machine out for the fifth time, I sent this thing out with all rubber feet attached. Also on the Fifth Time report, the documentation said that the rubber feet were missing. There was no attempt, nor was there any hardware in the shipping box for me to at least reattach anything myself. Privacy Issue. As I had thought that I removed all of my contacts in Outlook, it seems that the repair people made a point to display my archive branches in Outlook, to prove a point that some of my deleted info are still intact.

3/17/2005: On the plane, on a business trip to San Diego, the laptop shut down about 1 minute after viewing a PDF document. 3/27/2005: The laptop shuts down more often, and can no longer keep it powered up after just being in idle for a few minutes. At this point, I am sending last attempts at contact Best Buy Corporate for assistance, and I am looking for options to take legal action against Best Buy. I also have all documentation of the Best Buy repairs on hand.

To anyone making a purchase at Best Buy, I recommended buying nothing more than mere accessories at their store. Hopefully, you'll be able to make sure that those accessories are operational BEFORE you make your way to the cashier counter. Otherwise, beware.

Top of Page | Next Page >