Preview Review

Next Review

Chase Bank Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Chase
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NYC, NEW YORK -- JP Morgan Chase is the most horrific heartless bank out there. They closed my mother's account without notice and reason. She is close to 90 and a holocaust survivor. Her social security and German pension checks were returned to their respective sources causing a great deal of effort to retrieve them. All of her auto pays were bounced and it was only because she had some spare cash at home that she did not go hungry. This was done with 2 days warning and additionally her accounts were frozen. She is also legally blind.

Nazi Germany behaved much the same way. Chase is ruthless and will stay away from them for the rest of my life. Mind you my mother was an account holder with them for close to gift years. A lot of good that did. They are despicable!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Overdraft Fee and Changes
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA -- Chase Bank in Pompano Beach in Citi center is no good. No help customer service. No good supervisor. Same overdraft fee. I don't have a problem paying if I'm responsible but when the rules change they don't advise the clients of the change. And when you call to get help, they just same. The rules change and they can't do anything about it. Like I said they don't advise the clients. I been with them over 6 years and they wouldn't help at all. Please read the reviews before you open an account. Thank you. I hope this help you.

Replies
Stupid Rules About Their Credit Cards
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- They have stupid rules about their credit cards. In 2006 I filed for bankruptcy. I had a Chase credit card and had paid it off prior to the BK listing so I left it off my list of creditors hoping to keep the card open. I did the same with my personal bank credit card. The reason for the BK was due to a predatory loan and high HOA fees from my condo that basically sank me.

The day I filed the BK Chase cancelled my card, even though they were not listed on the BK. I asked why and they said they troll public records and if someone files BK their cards are automatically cancelled. My personal bank did not do this and to this day I still have the credit card through them with a 26 year history on my credit.

It's been 9 1/2 years since that stupid bankruptcy. Since then I have applied for and received store credit, American Express and Discover (zero interest), Best Buy (zero interest), and more. My credit score stands in the high 700's. I recently applied for an Amazon Visa card and they use Chase. It was automatically declined and their reason? A bankruptcy! 9 1/2 years ago! LOSERS! How dumb are you guys? You are losing out on a huge segment of the consumer market.

I will never apply for another Chase card, even after the full 10 years are up for my bankruptcy. I'd rather deal with a bank or credit company that wants to help people recover from a bad situation, not continue to punish them for 10 years!

Replies
Bank Here if You Want Your Money Stolen
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BROOKLYN, NEW YORK -- Chase stole my money... I deposited funds into a Chase ATM and the machine malfunctioned. Upon filing a claim with their claims department, they denied my claim stating that they were not able to locate the funds... even with providing video footage from their ATM and CCTV from me depositing funds into the ATM they are finding me responsible for their machine malfunction and their teams incapability of locating my funds... I will never be banking with chase again and recommend that you do not as well.

Replies
Advertisement
I Informed Chase Bank That I'm Closing My Account.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STUART FL, FLORIDA -- I informed Chase bank that I'm closing my account. They put my paycheck to the fraud department to keep me from obtaining the fund. I deposited a check and it was over 4 days and it had not cleared. I went in to find out why and was told that it would be a few.

Replies
Closed Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- I was told today with no warning and no notice that Chase closed my account. They would not give me a ran as to why either. I have been with them for over 7 years and out of the blue I'm no longer a customer of theirs. How does this bank do this people. They told me it would take 7 to 10 days to write a check for what's in my account. WARNING. If you're thinking about going to Chase don't.

Replies
System Mistakes, Humans No Able to Any Solution
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- 03/24/2016. I deposited my paycheck as usually. ATM recognized 950.00, but my check was 1950.00. Two days after I Call the customer services. After 25 minutes in hold they transfer to claims department. They promised solution in 12 hours. March 29 I went to the bank on Doral. The lady said my solution is bring the screenshot from my job, my job said is restricted information. I went back to the bank, the same lady said me I has to wait April 5 to get my money.

I asked for the manager, answer was she left early. Tuesday 2 pm and supervisor promised put the note in the system. My big question. WHO WILL PAY ALL THE FEES I WILL RECEIVE FOR NONPAYMENT IN TIME
Chase Bank ATM Chase or help you customer services?

Replies
In the Business of Lies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I applied for a Chase Auto Loan with a credit score of 760. I was approved at a very aggressive rate (3.93%), and I called Chase to give them the vehicle information before I went and purchased it - VIN number, mileage, the whole nine yards. I purchased the vehicle and was elated. Dream car, great loan rate, low monthly payments. I faxed my purchase order to Chase the following day and was DECLINED.

I inquired how I could be declined when I was already approved, and got a bogus answer about their perceived value of the vehicle being different from the price they already approved and their hands were tied. Now I have to go back to the dealer and accept a rate twice what Chase offered. Chase - do not GUARANTEE to lend if you are not going to lend. Everyone, be careful about their conditional approvals, they are liars.

Replies
Advertisement
Victim of Circumstances
By -

421 N DOUTY HANFORD, CALIFORNIA -- I have been battling identity theft more less since before July 2011. I told Chase Bank about it and said I would give them a folder with all information in it so that they be aware of my circumstances. They said OK. Then they said if I opened a new account with them and get new bank numbers, that would benefit me for less problems with past disputes I have been battling since 2006!

After I opened with new numbers on my account, I was also instructed to always report any disputes I may still be having and to always order a new Visa debit card with fresh number every time I may still be having the problems in my account. After having this newest account for only two to three months, I had in the last month or October 2011 only three disputes documented on my account and it totaled to an amount of seven dollars only. I also received conformation number on the disputes that everything had been straightened out in my account with Chase confirming this.

Then a couple of days after they cleared up these unauthorized debits, they told me their Chase Bank took an unanimous vote among the Chase representatives and they decided to kick me out of their bank in regards to three disputes that totaled up to seven dollars only and were proven to be unauthorized, and I have a statement letter saying that too.

I received this letter on October 26, 2011(?). I was told over the telephone by Claims department on October 24, 2011 that my account had been blocked because it is being closed. I asked why, they said it will tell you in a letter you will be receiving and they wouldn't tell me anything at all. Two days later I received that letter, I have called five times asking what happened because this letter does not tell me what happened exactly. Then when I call Social Security Death Benefits Department to tell them to mail the Benefits Check to my residence Social Security Administration, said I was too late in the month to be making any mailing changes because there's a deadline date then no changes can be made.

So needless to say, the Benefits were electronically deposited one minute after midnight on November 09, 2011. So I called Chase Bank again to let them know and they said they have received nothing. I happen to know that when Chase Bank receives any electronic deposits of any kind, that it is immediately documented on their system, and it isn't a debit withdrawal so it doesn't need to be held for two business days before posting to an account.

So tell me where is the Social Security Administration Treasury funds that Chase Bank received on November 09, 2011??? I then had the Social Security Treasury call the Chase bank confirming that the Benefits had been electronically transferred from the Social Security Treasury Department and had been received by JP Morgan
Chase Bank, NA, FDIC Establishment Bank location received in located at: Chase Bank - 421 N Douty, Hanford, CA 93239.

I drove to the Chase Bank to pick up the Benefits and Chase Bank would not give to me. I said, "Then give me my twelve dollars, you blocked in my account sixteen days ago. Your letter stated you were going to mail me the rest of my account funds in five business days. After the closing of my account, you kicked me out of without a reason. And I also want my monthly Benefits you received. I have bills due today that you are keeping from paying due to your circumstances of as why you closed my account. And now that its been closed for sixteen days already and you are still messing with my and now holding my monthly Benefits. I do not owe you any money and you also haven't given me my funds that were left in the account."

So they gave me my twelve dollars so I could have enough gas to get home on and said at 10 A.M. November 10, 2011 they would call me and tell me if I could pick up my Benefits funds or not yet. OK first - Chase Bank closed my account without telling why. Second - Chase Bank said they would refund my fund that were left in the account in five days. They did not.

Third - Chase bank accepted the electronic deposit that was sent from the Treasury Office of Social Security Benefits. Why did they except that Benefits Check sent to me at their bank when it was block for everything else? Fourth - do you think Chase bank is going to release my account funds that I asked for while I was at their Bank on November 09, 2011 if I had any pending balances? No I don't think so!

At least that is what they said in the closing letter and it's been sixteen days and they said in the letter ten business days, everything would be completed and released of the closure of my account they voted to close without telling me why or what the reason being in detail. Also I need that reason so that I may file a report on it with the rest of information I have put together for my police report on the identity theft that has been exposed on my behalf!!

This was instructed by the Federal Trade Commission on the list of instructions they gave me to go by to complete my Identity Theft Reporting it to the police to file. And then I receive a Case number to provide everybody, including Chase bank that I had told I was going to provide for them on my account problems. Look what they finished me with not only closing my account that I need, but by turning me into ChexSystem and maybe the Credit Bureau too. I didn't need that, I was barely trying to establish some good credit for once and now I won't be able to ever have a checking account again thanks to Chase Bank.

And I'm also one of the victims that Chase bank borrowed 200.00 from last year and I kept calling Chase Bank asking them why are you not finding the 200.00 that disappeared out of my account for three to four days. Then after that it reappeared, I asked Chase Bank where did you find it? They said 'we didn't, we don't know what happened'.

Now I'm going to sue Chase bank. I feel like I'm too stressed out and my blood pressure feels high and I also can't pay bills now. And they have been jacked us in dollars so I owe more and now I don't have enough money to ever catch up on being behind on my bills. And I sinking fast; and my name is on the blacklist of ever having another account of any kind or credit.

Replies
Home Modification a Joke
By -

I, like many others, have been going back and forth with this bank. I started this whole process in Nov. '09. Not as long as some, but same story. I initially received one letter saying I did not send them something (which I did), so I went ahead and sent it again, called back, they said they received it. I waited a few weeks, called again (Dec. 28th), was told my case was closed that very day! They said I was missing paperwork (again) - she said if I faxed it, they could re-open my case, so I did. Called back again in 48 hours to make sure they received it, yes they received it, it's "complete" and in underwriting.

Every time I call, they say call back in a few weeks to check the status, so I called again, was told it was closed on Dec. 28th. I said yes it was and was also re-opened that same day and was supposed to be in underwriting. She couldn't see that so I asked for someone else. This lady told me she didn't know why she told me that. Yes it's open and being reviewed, she'll contact the gentleman who is handling it, make sure everything is in order and call me back - never got a call. I call several more times - everything seems OK - "under review". I think OK, we're getting somewhere now!

Nope - I call again, DENIED (Mar. 8). No phone calls, no letters - just read an article (**) where Chase said they have increased attempts to contact customers to complete paperwork. Call 36 times, reach out by mail 15 times and make at least 2 home visits! I received one letter the whole time after my initial application, and I've been closed and denied and told over and over I am missing paperwork! NO CONTACT! So again I re-sent things and was told to call back to make sure they received it.

Of course this time I had to re-send current bank statements, pay stubs and everything else...I did this, called, was told, yes, but why am I not showing rental income? Ummm, because I don't own a rental! I have given them several documents which I explained to them what they mean - I haven't owned that home in years and they have all the proof in front of them! I was then told OK, it's "complete" & under review AGAIN. I stewed for a few days and thought, 'this is a government program, there has to be somewhere to complain or get help'.

So I hit the net and found the MHA Help line 888-995-HOPE. A gentleman actually 3-wayed a call to Chase and they were a little more helpful and straightforward...said it's taking 4-9 months and sometimes 12 to get an answer after I've been told constantly 60 days. I said OK, except I've been closed and denied in a lot less than that a few times for "missing paperwork" and never received anything telling me that. She said well we TRY to send everyone a letter. No way! If I wasn't constantly calling these people and being proactive, I'd have no clue.

Peoplekeep calling!!! Who knows what will happen now? The MHA Help guy said to call them if I start getting the runaround again, which I will I'm sure. The more I read on the net, the more I believe Chase doesn't want to help people. I've even heard from people at work where the same thing with the paperwork is happening to them and then they get denied, etc. It's a mighty big coincidence!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Chase Bank Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 28 ratings and
383 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Chase Bank
270 Park Ave FL 12
New York, NY 10017-2014
212-270-6000 (ph)
212-270-6522 (fax)
www.chase.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks