Frigidaire

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 34 ratings and
62 reviews & complaints.

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The Glass Door of My 2-Year Old Oven Exploded
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- This oven was new in July 2012. On August 31, 2014, we baked a pizza and then turned off the oven. A short time later, I heard a loud noise -- which was the center pane of glass exploding inside the oven door. The exterior and interior panes of glass were intact; but I don't understand how only the center panel could shatter like that. I didn't know it at the time, but tiny shards of glass were leaking out from the bottom of the door -- which I only realized after I had dug out a few glass shards from the bottom of my feet the next day.

When I contacted customer service and spoke to a "corporate manager," all she did was reiterate (like a parrot) that the oven was out of the one-year warranty period. When I pointed out to her that a quick check shows that this manufacturing defect has happened to Frigidaire ovens before, she repeated her script that the "item has not been recalled." Her lack of concern for the seriousness of exploding glass-- and the possibility of future victims-- was underwhelming.

     
Replies
Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PEABODY, MASSACHUSETTS -- Purchased this french door fridge in July 2011. November week before Thanksgiving was without a fridge for a week. Stockpile of food for the holiday's gone. Called company spoke to a rude lady got nowhere with that. Now February 2012 again service in my home 3 times in one week. Replaced circuit board, blower, another $2.00 part, 3 days later NOT working again. Lost all the food once again. So two weeks and still waiting.

We are a family of 5 and it is the worst thing to go through. Customer service stinks... Lowe's is giving us a new one (not the same brand) cause Lowe's is standing behind us. A Big thank-you to Lowe's. Don't get me wrong it was a beautiful looking fridge but that's about it. I just want everyone to know that Frigidaire/Electrolux don't stand behind their products. Their motto is if it's repairable they will keep on fixing it no matter if it's new or not. Buyer Beware!!!

     
Replies
Door Rusting Less Than 2 Years Old
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have a model FTR1817LW Frigidaire fridge. We have this at our cottage and noticed this May that there is paint bubbling that would appear from rust under it. We went out to the cottage for July long weekend and now the paint is flaking off. To add to the problem I broke the door handle.

I phoned Electrolux who owns Frigidaire and they said I only have 1-year warranty and it is expired. I asked the woman who I could barely understand what kind of poor quality workmanship this thing is made with when it rusts from the inside out? She told me she could give me a number for a repair place, but I feel it's not worth it, as the repair would be to replace the door and is probably worth half the cost of the fridge. I have read on this site and others about these fridges rusting and I am disappointed in Frigidaire's product and their customer service. I will never buy an Electrolux/Frigidaire product again.

     
Replies
If You No Longer Stock the Item, Don't Bill Me for It!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I ordered some replacement filters for the water dispenser in my refrigerator, and a wrench to go with them because the housing is impossible to get off by hand (and I didn't want to destroy it with a regular wrench). The shipping was fairly quick - within a week - and the ordering was OK though there was absolutely zero information about which filter my 'fridge uses (some Google searching later, I found it). I got an email with the billing information, items, the usual stuff. But when I got my package, two things were missing: a paper statement of the transaction (usually standard in online orders), and the wrench!

So I called customer service. After a couple of minutes trying to identify my order without a statement, and no order number in the email, the representative (who was lukewarm at best, but not rude) finally told me that they have not carried these wrenches in a good while. So I asked, why is it still on the website, and why was I charged for this item? No idea, of course. I'm not sure how much I will ever trust a company who charges for items they cannot give me. Now I'm waiting for a refund, which "will come in a couple days." I'll be keeping an eye for it, even if it was "just" $3.99.

     
Replies
A Very Disappointing Manufacturer Lacking in Quality and Dependability
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FLORRISANT, MISSOURI -- I shan't be long. Probably I should just reserve my comment and contain it to myself, but a revelation couldn't be read or known. I have had a major and consistent problem with the oven in my residence. In December of 2012 the oven was installed and within month had to be repaired, as the result of a faulty thermostat. Several months later, the problem surfaces again. This time an additional part was connected to the oven (note this part was never with the oven initially). Long story shorten, the repairman has been to my residence four (4) times for the same problem.

My first encounter with a Frigidaire representative telephonic enlighten me to the fact that the serviceman sent by the company from which the oven came wasn't an authorized repairman. Strange, I purchased the oven from a company (middleman) and not from Frigidaire. I incurred cost for the repair the third time. This last and fourth time brought the same problem (note the problem, when you want to self-clean the oven or attempt to bake or broil, the thermostat malfunctions). I learned of a 'service flash kit' being issued on this particular oven. So my questions were 'Should this range be recalled or are faulty parts being manufactured?'

Giving into consideration, the company only guarantees the oven for one (1) year has caused me to really consider any additional purchases of products by the manufacturer. I initiated a second telephonic audience with a Frigidaire representative Some 'hopefulness' was generated from that audience. The representative was very apologetic. I had a thought, maybe she felt my concerns. Now parts were order and to be shipped and I would be made whole. The parts never materialized at my door, and at this writing still haven't.

A contact with the oven's seller revealed a redirection to the manufacturer, as the parts come from them (note, the repair company also indicated this too). Now when contacted the manufacturer redirects to the repair company. Sounds like the runaround. Now with authorization and control numbers, I learn of a backlog for my particular parts, further those parts won't be available or shipped until January 30, 2014. So here I am. Can't prepare any form of a Christmas or New Year's dinner nor can my family and immediate relatives celebrate Kwanzaa which we have for the past twenty years.

Be it as it may, I spent over a thousand dollars in catering to ensure that our family tradition would happen. There are only so many limited meals one can prepare without the utilization of an oven if you're not into simplicity. One mainly, you can't bake nor broil. From December 18, 2013 through January 31, 2014 will be forty-four (44) days with limited practices with my oven.

I can't understand how and why I have to wait for parts from a multi-million dollar company. Could it be me acknowledging lodging a complaint with the BBB and FTC (Federal Trade Commission)? Maybe, maybe not. Secondly are parts manufactured in the USA or are my necessities the result of outsourcing. In closing, I thought you needed to hear from a quiet storm.

     
Replies
Horrifying
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KEMAH, TEXAS -- Last night I was standing in my kitchen making dinner preparations. My back was to the Frigidaire side by side refrigerator model FFHS2622MB3. I heard a strange sound and said out loud what is that noise? Then I smelled a burning smell like an electrical fire. I thought someone was outside doing something associated with the noise and smell. The refrigerator is by the back door and when I reached to open the back door I saw smoke boiling out the back of the refrigerator! I called for help, unplugged the appliance, and put the fire out by blowing on it.

My husband then saw water dripping on electrical components in the back of the refrigerator. The water line is not connected since my cabinets were recently replaced and the refrigerator is new I have not had time to drill the holes to run the water lines. When I called Frigidaire they told me the product was manufactured Jan. 15, 2013, today is Jan. 20, 2014 and the product is no longer under warranty so they did nothing. I am just thankful that I was standing next to the appliance when it caught fire and not sound asleep with a house full of people! No help from Frigidaire!

I had a technician come to my home. He found a faulty relay capacitor and replaced it. The technician said this model was originally built with this obsolete relay capacitor (Frigidaire was aware of this) and after many problems started building the units with the updated version of this relay. I spoke to Frigidaire concerning this matter and all they had to say was sorry for the inconvenience. They re-checked their records and found no evidence of the faulty obsolete relay capacitor. This is seriously dangerous and I would warn anyone who owns one of these units to make certain they have the correct relay installed in their refrigerator!

     
Replies
Faulty Product, No Customer Care
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MISSISSAUGA -- We are very disappointed with how our situation was dealt with. We had purchased the Frigidaire professional line (fridge, stove and dishwasher). Spending a little more for the better line we were made to feel we were buying quality.

Our fridge shelves that weren't lined with the rubber cracked within the first 6 months and subsequently completely broke within a year. Then last month just prior to our thanksgiving (Canadian) our fridge completely stopped working. We ended up losing over $250 dollars' worth of food! Then the kicker was that no one could see us for 1 WEEK! We had to go out and purchase a small fridge to get us by for the next week $150. When the service man came to fix the problem it ended up being a loose wire behind a panel in the freezer. We were also informed that this made the fridge work hard for the last few years... translation raising our energy costs. This cost us $100.

When we went to notify customer service of our experience they could not of cared less. It was just a rude "nothing we can do... it's off warranty". This makes us wonder why even have this service. When my husband asked to speak to someone else she replied "no one will speak to you about this matter". Wow! We called head office to let them know of how their customers are being handled and no one has even bothered to call us back. Both my husband and I are in marketing and advertising and know what just one dissatisfied customer can mean to a company.

Obviously this is a company that is willing to take that gamble. In the future I will better research how companies take care of their customers, with social media being such a part of our every day you think a company would take an opportunity to make a customer happy. Instead we will certainly let our circle of 300+ people to stay away from this line. Definite fail on your part Frigidaire. Could have just apologized or sent us a little product like a shelf with liner and kept a customer that spent $6000 on your products happy.

     
Replies
Frigidaire Appliances Falling Apart
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased my Frigidaire appliances 4 years ago, and didn't install them in the home for another 6 months. I purchased a kitchen package that included the fridge, oven/range, B/I microwave, and dishwasher. As of today I know have all 4 piece broke.. The try for the outside ice maker broken off just months after purchase, and the shelves in the freezer side don't actually fit and sometimes the slip and the rack falls and so does all the items on it.

The Dishwasher was next the "control box/ panel" went out 18 months after purchase, the part and labor would of ran about 200 dollars, I said no thanks and to this day I have to reset the circuit every time I need to run it. The handle on the microwave just cracked off and to replace it 100 dollars and now the over went out. Worked yesterday and now nothing. I have not every been so disappointed in a product let alone a brand. This was my first appliance purchase ever and I was putting these items into my first home.

I thought these items would of lasted at least 10 years. I know the appliances in my mom's home have lasted for years. I again cannot express how much these items suck. I will never purchase the Frigidaire brand or any other brand associated to them. Please take my advice and DON'T purchase this brand!!

     
Replies
Purchased Four Professional Model Frigidaire Appliances. Upon Delivery, Two of the Four Appliances Were Faulty, and the Dish Wash
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased four Professional Model Frigidaire appliances in November of 2011, with a delivery date on January 13, 2012. The gas range and side by side refrigerator did not work correctly from the beginning. The range gave off a gas smell when not in use. This was very evident in the summer when the air conditioner was running. I had my gas line checked, had local repair technicians here, and called Frigidaire so they could inform me of service providers in the area. The service providers they gave me were one to two hours away from where I live.

The provider I chose to call never returned my call. It took forever for the burners to heat the food and bring things to a boil. The oven would also shut off on its own in the middle of baking. I ended up getting rid of the gas range and buying a Whirlpool electric range from a local dealer who provides their own service. Unfortunately I was not aware of this local dealership when I moved here.

The ice maker shut off bar never worked on the refrigerator. I would have ice all over the place, and a frost build up in the ice chute, which resulted in the freezer door freezing shut. Needless to say, I had a big mess. My refrigerator also freezes the vegetables. It's always a surprise as to when it will happen. Within one year, my dishwasher rack rusted. Some of the prongs on the rack are so rusted that they're ready to break off. Frigidaire will be happy to sell me another lower rack for $118.13. On a positive note, the microwave works fine so far.

This will be my first and last experience buying Frigidaire appliance. All Frigidaire will say now is, I didn't purchase the extended warranty. Nothing was fixed correctly under the one-year warranty. Unfortunately, this has been extremely frustrating, consuming of my time, costly, as well as a very negative experience. It is very costly to buy six new appliances at one time. Thank goodness, two of them were not Frigidaire!

I will go back to purchasing the same appliance brand that I had always purchased prior to the purchase of these Frigidaire appliances. I will never buy anything Frigidaire again! As for customer service, you can spend lots of time on hold, and pushing buttons, but you will not get any satisfaction.

     
Replies
Rusting On Inside Wall
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA -- I have had my Frigidaire for just under 5 years and already the inside back wall has rusted. The rust has gone almost all the way through. After buying 7 brand new Frigidaire professional series appliances - washing machine, dryer, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher and stove-oven, within 5 years we have had to replace the washing machine and matching dryer, and now the refrigerator.

Since the freezer is a matching paired unit, with the build in bezel, I will need to replace the matching freezer as well. This is the worst reliability I've had with ANY appliance manufacturer to date. We have built 7 homes in the last 19 years and have replaced all the appliances with every move. We are to be building again soon and will never purchase Frigidaire/Electrolux appliances again. I'm writing this to hopefully alert other potential purchasers so that they may use this information in their buying decisions.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >