Frigidaire Refrigerators

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
43 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Beware - Frigidaire Gallery Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Purchased this fridge on March 15, 2012...took delivery a week or two later. It is a beautiful fridge which does not leave fingerprints on the front except on the handles. The counter depth is nice. However, the fridge stopped cooling properly on Septmber 5th, not quite to the 6 months mark. The thermostat and possibly the compressor both failed. Fortunately, still under warranty. Unfortunately, Frigidaire does not contract with the larger easier to get appointments and faster repair companies. I live in a large metro area and had 4 choices. Two of which are several counties away from me. So now 11 days after the repairman was finally able to come to diagnose, they are waiting on parts and I am now 13 days into no fridge and taking my family out for all meals. First visit they diagnosed a problem with the fan and thermostat?. Took them 7 days to get those parts!. They arrived to install them, then realized there is also an issue with the door closing sensor.. Now waiting on parts to fix that,. I also bought the matching dishwasher, hopefully not the same issues?. I would recommend you purchase an extended warranty, which I will, but through a third party sufficiently able to provide proper service in your area?. Most annoyed that my Kenmore/Whirlpool fridge this replaced never once had an issue in the 11 years I used it;. It was just no longer a good fit in the remodeled kitchen/. Also, funniest thing...when I tried to put this same review on the Frigidaire website, it sent me a link by email to click to confirm my review for posting...only the link is invalid. Too funny! You got to wonder if I tried again and this time rated it 5 stars instead of 1, if it would magically work.

     
Replies
Sold A Used Model
By -

WEST HAVEN, CONNECTICUT -- February 26, 2008

Electrolux Major Appliances
P.O. Box 212378
Agusta, GA 30917

Attn: Keith McLoughlin, President

Dear Mr. McLoughlin,

I am writing this letter due to the extreme amount of stress that your company has put me and my family through. First, let me state that I have purchased other Frigidaire products and was usually satisfied.

I purchased a brand new refrigerator and stove approx. 3 years ago. On February 3rd our family noticed that our refrigerator was no longer working, I placed a phone call to Hallocks (the dealer that I purchased it from) and they promptly gave me the phone number to your company where I was given a phone number to the repair service co. named A & E, I spoke with a representative on February 4th and was given a repair date of February 6th.

On February 6th a repair serviceman came to my house and evaluated the refrigerator. He proceeded to ask when and why there was a previous repair to our model. When I explained that I purchased it brand new and had never had any repair service done, he showed us that there were no manufacturer bolts and also showed where the back of appliance had previously soldered. He ordered the parts that would be needed to make the repairs and I immediately called Hallocks to voice my complaint, and was told that they do not sell refurbished Frigidaire products. Which was confirmed by 3 other repair service companies.

Meanwhile the parts came in on Thursday February 7th I did not receive another service appointment until Monday February 11th, the gentleman came and informed me that not all of the parts were ordered and that he would have to order more parts. This is when I started my first of many calls to your company. At this point I had no refrigerator for over a week, I was under the belief that you stand by your product and I was told that patience is a virtue by one of your employees. I was then transferred to Vanessa who offered me $25.00 as a good well gesture, (my food loss totaled a least $300.00) at some point of this very frustrating conversation I was given a few options.
rent a refrigerator and I would be reimbursed $30.00 per week
Buy a dorm size and I would be reimbursed $50.00
These are not options to me because I purchased my appliance new and that is what I expected to still have. I am a family of 5 with small children and no extra money to spare on equipment that I do not want. I also do not believe that I should have to bring an appliance into my home that I have no idea of its origin. I have heard horror stories of insect infestation on rental appliances.
Meanwhile the other part came to my house, I called to request an appointment and was given the date February 13th. I was told (on February 12th) that the service man would arrive at my house between 8am and 12 pm, then they called back to confirm again and the young lady told me that I would not get a phone call because I was the first stop of the day.
By 11:00 on February 13th no one showed, when I made the phone call to inquire on the status. I was told that the repair man called out sick, No one bothered to call and inform us. And then we were given another date for the repairs February 15th. I called your company and voiced my frustration with the whole situation. I spoke with many people on February 14th starting with Vanessa I was then transferred to Lori who called A&E they gave another date to come which I did not agree with I had waited long enough and I was running out of money. Lori called other repair services to request they come and make the repairs. Donnelly’s was the first to reply and proceeded to inform me that no other repair company would come and even look at the appliance because A&E was already there and there are liability issues. I then spoke with Laquinta who promised me that she would get me some help and try to resolve the issue. I was then told that I would get another check for $100, but I still had no refrigerator and no definite date on when it would be repaired. I explained that on February 15th my family was due to go on a family vacation, which I had to cancel because that I could not get anyone to watch my house because I had no way for anyone to eat or cook. And I was running out of money.
I was given another date of February 17th for the repair to take place.
On February 17th A & E called and cancelled stating that they did not have anyone to make the repair. I again called your company and spoke with Laquinta and she then stated that she was requesting that there be a replacement. I asked for a phone call back and did not get it.
I called on February 18th and was told that her request for a new appliance was denied. I was then told that I have a couple of choices.
1. I could buy a new refrigerator and be reimbursed 100% if it was a Frigidaire product.
2. If I have my original receipt I can be reimbursed for the original appliance. (which I do)
Unfortunately I am out of money and can not afford to buy a new appliance and given your track record did not want to wait and see if I actually get reimbursed and the fact is that I still have no refrigerator.
At this point Lori stated that she would request that it be reviewed again and that she promised that someone would call me back. I received no such call. When I called back to again (February 20th) voice my displeasure
I was then told that they were going to grant my request and that the service department would be in contact with me within 24-48 hours to let me know of the dealer and an approximation of when I would receive a new appliance. I again never received a phone call.
February 24th I called numerous times to speak with Laquinta, I was transferred to many people (on my request to speak with managers) I ended up speaking with Calvin.
At some point I was told that they were not able to reach the dealer, they had the wrong dealer information, I did give them the correct dealer information and I was told that again someone would call me back and again I received no phone call. February 25th I finally heard from the dealer and they explained that they did receive a phone call from your company and that I will not have to wait 3-4 days before the dealer receives it then it will come to me. I again made phone calls to your company to voice my extreme displeasure.
I am a family of 5 with a 5 year old that has not been able to have a proper meal in 24 days. I have spent every dime that we have to try to provide some sort of nourishment for my family. We are now out of money and patience. I have never made a complaint against any company until now, nor have I ever asked for anything that I do not deserve. But I feel that we should be compensated for 24 days of the aggravation and stress that this has placed on my family. My son has gone to school and told his teachers that he did not eat and that we have no refrigerator and I had to explain the situation to the school and thank goodness that they did not call the Department of children and families on us. Myself and my husband for the past few days have had to go without so that I could provide for the children. I am seriously considering contacting a state agency to help with proceeding with this matter further. I will also send a copy of this letter to the Better Business Bureau, Goodhouskeeping seal of approval and my local news consumer report. At this point receiving a new refrigerator is no longer good enough. I am EXTREMELY disappointed with your company and the results that have been handed to me. It is now February 24th and I have no Idea when I will have an appliance or any way to fill it. It will now take a lot to recoup all of the money that we have put out. I at least expect a phone call to confirm that you have received this and what your company at this point can do to assist me. I would like to know when I expect to have a refrigerator in my home.

Sincerely,

Lisa

     
Replies
Frigidaire hold on the market is a crime
By -

Just wanted to let everyone at Frigidaire know that they should feel ashamed that they produce and sell such faulty products as my Frigidaire refrigerator Model # FRS6HR5JWO. It comes as no surprise that it barely lasted beyond it’s one year warranty for parts. Keeping things cold is not the problem. Yet the ice box continuously slides away from the contacts making only crushed ice. Then the deli drawer guides cracked out so the drawer falls to the floor when pulled more than a third of the way out. Then the other day, one of the adjustable door shelf clips broke off.

My wife was so proud to finally have a brand new refrigerator after 18 years of marriage. We had two hand-me-downs prior to this one that gave us far superior service before being retired. I feel cheated that I listened to the hype over your products. It’s a mistake I will never make again. This poor excuse for a refrigerator is proof that Frigidaire cares more about making a quick buck than well engineered products and happy customers. Don’t even get me started on the Frigidaire ATF7000 series washer and dryer set that didn’t even make it two years before I took those money pits to the landfill. I can only hope that someone who cares about their hard earned money will read this and buy from someone else… anyone else.

Their response:

Thank you for contacting Frigidaire.

We regret that you are unhappy with your appliances. Frigidaire uses some of the finest quality materials available and sophisticated assembly processes to assure manufacturing accuracy.

Although we place a great deal of emphasis on quality control, there are occasions when even the best products may malfunction.

Quality tests are continually conducted to provide the consumer with the best appliance possible in the industry. Each consumer may choose from a wide variety of appliances, each built to provide a quality product and various features to best suit their needs.

While we cannot implement all suggestions, all the information that we receive from our consumers is given to our design engineers. Only through feedback can we improve the quality, service and dependability of our product.

We appreciate the time you took to write in regarding your appliance and we will continue to use your comments to improve the look, performance, and quality of our appliances in the future.

Regards, Ms. ******

Which is Figidaire's way of saying:

From all of us at Frigidaire, We are too busy cranking out inferior products, that occasional really crappy products make it through our detectors. We have decided that in no way would we actually try and keep you as a valued customer (we are doing just fine tricking the masses into buying our products). We at Frigidaire have decided that your replacements parts will cost just over $100 dollars with shipping.

Note that's just for the deli drawer guides, and a removable door tray alone that are now worth 21% the value of the original price???????

Are they insane? It’s not like I'm replacing the outer shell, or the compressor, or even something as sophisticated as the ice maker. No we are talking about maybe $2.00 of injected molded plastic. An incredibly brittle plastic that apparently is the best that their engineers can come up with. I’m guessing there was a huge backslide in technology at Frigidaire. Polymers of this nature are found all over the world in much higher quality.

It is obvious that the appliances of our parents generation are no longer the focus of Frigidaire. It is the mass produced landfill fodder of poor quality products that every few years you’ll need to replace that is their focus. And to top it off they want the consumer to swallow that they care about the environment with energy star stickers.

If just one person reads this and changes their mind in buying a Frigidaire appliance then it was worth my time to write this out. If by some strange alignment of the cosmos, ten or twenty potential customers read this, and are detoured. Then I will feel as if I have done to Frigidaire what they have done to me. Taken good money away and thrown it out the window.

     
Replies
Door Handle Is Trash
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Frigidaire refrigerator model FFHT1826LW4. Bought this fridge new for an apartment. The lower (fresh food) door handle broke after 8 months. replaced it with a new handle which broke in the same place after 7 months.

This is an obvious design deficiency. The place where the handle breaks is thin plastic less than 3/8 thick. New handles cost almost $38.00. Frigidaire/Electrolux needs to redesign these handles and go back to metal instead of cheap plastic.

The elderly lady in the apartment lost her balance when the last handle broke and could have suffered a bad fall. I intend to report this to Consumer Safety Commission.

     
Replies
Never Buy A Frigidaire product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- Since we purchased this refrigerator in Dec. 2010, it has been problematic. The produce in the drawers would freeze solid. The temperature in the freezer would fluctuate on its own. We have had service call after service call. Each time they fix the freezing issue in one area, the freezing starts in another. My vegetables look like ice pops. Finally, after about 6 interventions with the drawers, the freezing stopped there and now the top area where I keep my milk is freezing. When I call the company, or repair service, the issue always seems to be my fault. Well, you went on vacation and weren't opening the door, so your milk froze. Your vegetables are in plastic bags, so they froze. I am not a physicist, but the temperature has to be below 32 degrees for something to freeze whether in a plastic bag or whether I am home. They will not replace the item since they consider each area of freezing a different problem. If the drawer freezes and they fix it, it's considered resolved even if the freezing moves to another area. I have written the CEO and e-mailed to no avail.

     
Replies
Noisy Refrigerator
By -

I have exactly the same problem. My Frigidaire refrigerator is so noisy that I have to turn the TV up to hear it when the fridge is running, which is often. I hear it in every room of the house and my nerves are shot. I can't relax in the kitchen where I like to sit and drink my coffee or eat meals. I called the Frigidaire dealer to have it checked it and was told it was normal and working properly. I have never had a fridge that was this noisy.

It has been the same loudness since the day I got it. I've put up with a it a long time and it is driving me crazy.

     
Replies
Never, Ever Buy a Frigidaire Product!
By -

If I had only known that Frigidaire does not care about their customers, I would have never bought one of their inferior products.

My journey began when I bought a refrigerator from BrandSmart in August. From the moment I bought it, there was a loud humming noise that continued to get louder. A service technician came out in November and said that the compressor was bad and ordered a new one. After three weeks, he came back out to install the compressor. Two days later, the refrigerator started defrosting my food and spoiled over $300 worth of food (Frigidaire's customer service people informed me that their contract stated that they would not replace spoiled food). The service technician came out and repaired the compressor problem the next day. Nine days later, the food was not freezing properly and the repairman was out again. A month later, the repairman is back out to take care of clicking noise and food is defrosting again. The repairman put freon in and it again cooled. The next week, the food defrosted again. The repair company deemed it unrepairable and sent Frigidaire an invoice stating that needed to be replaced. When I called to find out where I stood, customer service said that they didn't have the appropriate information from the repair company. After numerous conversations with the repair company and after they faxed the information that was needed, I was told by the repair company to call customer service and they would rush approval through so that I could get a new refrigerator. When I called customer no-service, I was told that I would have to have a second opinion before they would consider replacing it. One repair service would not come on my side of town and the other one couldn't get here for a week!

As of today, I have been without a refrigerator for 4 days, and I have an idea that they will want to replace the compressor (again) once they finally get out here. I will never feel comfortable putting food in the refrigerator, even after the repair. Frigidaire's customer service is terrible and I, like others have noted, was given the runaround constantly when trying to go above the customer service representative.

I will never buy another Frigidaire. Bad customer service and cheaply made appliances are not worth the price that I paid. I hope that by posting this review that others will read it and think before purchasing these really, really bad appliances.

     
Replies
Piece of Junk!
By -

ALEXANDRIA, LOUISIANA -- Our refrigerator was not staying cool. After about 2-3 days of troubleshooting according to the manual we decided to call the Customer Service line for Frigidaire. First of all, I was at work, not at home and after not having a refrigerator for three days, was not in a good mood. The man kept telling me, in his broken accent, that he could help me fix it, "if you will step in front of your refrigerator ma'am". I told him that I was at work and not in front of my refrigerator. He said "if you will ask someone else to step in front of your refrigerator, I will give you the directions". HELLO? I told him 3 times that I was no where near my refrigerator and was at work, that I had already done the troubleshooting in the book and that I did not want to troubleshoot it over the phone, to please send someone out.

He told me that he was trained and could help me fix it. I told him that if he had some magical formula to help me fix it, then why was it not published in my user manual? After being on hold for fourteen minutes (yes, I kept track) he came back and finally gave me the name of an authorized service provider in our area. Well after 6 attempted repairs from September 7, 2007 to October 17, 2007, my refrigerator is still not fixed.

It has been 48 days!!!! They will not replace it and told me to get a second opinion! I have not eaten fresh food in 48 days!! My child has not had food for school or milk. I thought I was being very patient letting the tech try to find the problem. He replaced the defrost timer and compressor. Yesterday he told me that it must have an internal freon leak and my ice machine does not work. I am not dealing with this company's customer service anymore!

I actually filed a claim in small claims court to get a refund of my monies back, plus aggravation, mental anguish, inconvenience -- you name it! Please review products before buying them and NEVER purchase a Frigidaire/Electrolux product.

10-23-07 Updating my post. I went to Lowes to buy a new refrigerator. I was going to buy a new one and just file a small claim to get my money back from Frigidaire. When I told me woeful story to the salesperson, he put me in touch with his manager. I just got off of the phone with her. Not only is Lowes refunding the full purchase price of this refrigerator, they are also going to pick up the old one free. I could not believe it! Normally, Lowes does not do this kind of thing, you have to bring the product back within 30 days. I also learned, from the manager, that Lowes quit selling this model refrigerator because of the enormous problems it has had and the consumer complaints about it. So, thank you Lowes for your wonderful customer service, you have my business!

     
Replies
Refrigerator Nightmare!
By -

ALBANY, GEORGIA -- On 4/16/04, I purchased a top-mount Frigidaire refrigerator from Lowe's. In July of that same year, it was in need of service. Like many other complaints posted, the refrigerator section was not working. Unfortunately, I got to wait a FULL WEEK for repair service. On July 12, 2004, the date of the scheduled repair, the refrigerator started working and the service person indicated that there was nothing he could do since the refrigerator was again working. It didn't last long. On August 12, 2004, the refrigerator was once again not working. On that date, a different repair person was consulted and arrived that same day. That person indicated that he has seen more problems with this refrigerator, not only in terms of the refrigerator section not working, but with the entire unit needing to be serviced and/or replaced soon after purchase. How disappointing! He further indicated that the Energy Star models, meant to be more efficient, are worse. The refrigerator that I bought was in fact an Energy Start model. I guess I can anticipate future problems. I have contacted Lowe's in an effort to return this refrigerator and purchase a new one. I simply can't stomach spending over $600 for a brand new appliance that refuses to work so soon after it is purchased. Lowe's is supposed to be contacting Frigidaire, who must authorize the return of the refrigerator. In the event that the company refuses to authorized its return, I then must convince Lowe's to take it back without authorization from Frigidaire. Either way, the whole ordeal has been a major inconvenience, and I am liable to end up stuck with a refrigerator that is more problematic than it is worth. Frigidaire should be ashamed that such a worthless product is attached to their name, which I always associated with quality.

     
Replies
Frigidaire 2-Year Old, $2,800.00 Refrigerator dies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DEPTFORD, NEW JERSEY -- I always owned Frigidaire refrigerators so it came as no surprise when I remodeled my kitchen, I would purchase a modern Frigidaire to replace a perfectly good (albeit outdated) Frigidaire. The Model 253FGHF2378ME was a side my side refrigerator with a freezer at the bottom and an automatic water/ice/crushed-ice dispenser on the front door.

Within 2 years the crushed ice dispenser started to expel Styrofoam along with crushed ice, and shortly thereafter, a large chunk of plastic after which it no longer produced crushed ice at all.

Also within the same 2 years, the ice dispenser would just strain sometimes. One day after filling three glasses with cube ice, the refrigerator simply stopped and there was a code "SY-CF" flashing on the display at the front door. I looked that up and it stands for System Communications Failure. It seemed that the straining ice motor blew out the mother board.

So I called for service and here's the killer, NO ONE - and I mean NO ONE was available for several days. All the food in the refrigerator went bad and neither Frigidaire nor Sears puts any priority on a refrigerator failure. That means that the 2-YEAR OLD, $2,800.00 refrigerator not only spoiled about $400.00 worth of food, but is going to cost a minimum of $400.00 to fix. Look, things break but not a $2,800.00 refrigerator after 2 years of service. And who is the engineer who forgot to put overload protection between a computer module and a high torque electric motor?

I'm not some angry soul that will tell anyone not to ever buy a Frigidaire appliance, or to buy anything from Sears, that is up to you to decide. I sure won't though.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >