Preview Review

Next Review

Frigidaire Refrigerators Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Extended Warranty on Refrigerator Means You Spend Hours on the Phone Trying to Get Resolution.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT WALTON BEACH, FLORIDA -- Beyond furious with the customer service received at extended service agreement department. We currently have no working refrigerator for over a week now because the third Frigidaire certified technician that was sent to our house (under contract with extended service agreement department) for a leak in our refrigerator, actually broke the refrigerator. He admits to "pulling a piece of ice off of the coil and letting out all of the Freon." Although he didn't tell us he did this. He just closed the fridge and left our house, saying that someone would call us.

It wasn't until we went to make breakfast for our kids the next day that we noticed the fridge was HOT inside and all the food had to be thrown away. We have been fighting with Electrolux for 3 weeks to get this repaired and one of their certified repair companies actually broke the refrigerator beyond repair. For the first 2 weeks, at least we had a fridge, it just leaked. Now we do not have a usable refrigerator at all and are living out of coolers.

Since there are no service technicians in our area that are able to perform the repair, as evidenced by 3 coming out and then informing Electrolux that they cannot perform repairs on a "sealed system," supervisor, Stacy (extension **) at Electrolux said that she was going to put in for a replacement for us. This was a week ago. She assured me that she would call me as soon as she received the fax from the technician that broke our refrigerator. I never received a call so I called her and after being on hold for over 20 minutes, I got a representative that took my name and number and assured me that Stacy would call me back.

She never did. I called again every day for 5 days and was on hold for over 20 minutes again and same result. Messages were taken but no calls were returned. Today I called and have been on hold for 53 minutes. Someone is trying to reach another supervisor for me to speak with since Stacy isn't interested in returning my calls. The representative that is currently trying to find me someone in charge to speak with, said that my refrigerator cannot be replaced because the technician that broke it claims that it CAN be fixed but that his company CANNOT perform the repair.

She also told me that Stacy never put in for the replacement so we've been sitting here with no refrigerator, expecting that a replacement has been ordered, but in reality, nothing has been done and nobody has informed us that Electrolux has done NOTHING. Bottom line, I have 2 toddlers at home and I have NO REFRIGERATOR FOR MILK OR FOOD AT ALL. I told the representative that if someone CAN fix it, I need it fixed immediately. If nobody can fix it (which seems to be what everyone says AFTER we wait a week for each new company to come look at it) then I would like it replaced IMMEDIATELY.

This is absolutely ludicrous that NOBODY will speak with me or correct the problem. I am FURIOUS. I have been on hold for over 1 hour and 9 minutes, as I type this message... still no resolution and I am not hopeful there will be one any time soon. After 1 hour and 17 minutes, the representative trying to find me a supervisor finally decided that she would process the replacement herself and that someone from their "back office" will be in touch with me in 7-10 business days to let me know what the next step will be. I will NEVER EVER, EVER purchase a Frigidaire or Electrolux appliance again and I will ALWAYS warn others against it by sharing my story.

Replies
Advertisement
Frigidaire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a Frigidaire Refrigerator from Lowe's and paid a little over $2,000 for what was supposed to be a good, reliable product. After 1 year, the compressor went out and started making an extremely loud noise which could be heard from the opposite side of a 1800 square foot house. I contacted Frigidaire and they informed me they could not do anything because I was 10 days over my annual purchase date. I was then informed I would have to purchase an extended warranty plan as their plan only covers out to one year.

I had to purchase an extended warranty for them to take care of the loud noise. Then they informed me the earliest they could have someone come out to come fix the issue was 5 days out. I asked the customer service tech if there was any way I could get an earlier date and he said no. He informed me my situation was not an emergency situation so it does not require expedited service.

Needless to say, I will never buy another Frigidaire product as long as I live just because of their poor customer service and lack of professionalism/courtesy!!! Very disappointed, especially when paying over $2000 for their product. You are definitely not paying for their customer service. Social media here I come!!!!

Replies
Bought a Side by Side Refrigerator a Piece of Junk Two Compressors Went Out on It.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY -- A piece of junk. Bought refrigerator four years ago. Two compressors went out on it and they will not do anything.

Replies
Door Rusting Less Than 2 Years Old
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have a model FTR1817LW Frigidaire fridge. We have this at our cottage and noticed this May that there is paint bubbling that would appear from rust under it. We went out to the cottage for July long weekend and now the paint is flaking off. To add to the problem I broke the door handle.

I phoned Electrolux who owns Frigidaire and they said I only have 1-year warranty and it is expired. I asked the woman who I could barely understand what kind of poor quality workmanship this thing is made with when it rusts from the inside out? She told me she could give me a number for a repair place, but I feel it's not worth it, as the repair would be to replace the door and is probably worth half the cost of the fridge. I have read on this site and others about these fridges rusting and I am disappointed in Frigidaire's product and their customer service. I will never buy an Electrolux/Frigidaire product again.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrifying
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KEMAH, TEXAS -- Last night I was standing in my kitchen making dinner preparations. My back was to the Frigidaire side by side refrigerator model FFHS2622MB3. I heard a strange sound and said out loud what is that noise? Then I smelled a burning smell like an electrical fire. I thought someone was outside doing something associated with the noise and smell. The refrigerator is by the back door and when I reached to open the back door I saw smoke boiling out the back of the refrigerator! I called for help, unplugged the appliance, and put the fire out by blowing on it.

My husband then saw water dripping on electrical components in the back of the refrigerator. The water line is not connected since my cabinets were recently replaced and the refrigerator is new I have not had time to drill the holes to run the water lines. When I called Frigidaire they told me the product was manufactured Jan. 15, 2013, today is Jan. 20, 2014 and the product is no longer under warranty so they did nothing. I am just thankful that I was standing next to the appliance when it caught fire and not sound asleep with a house full of people! No help from Frigidaire!

I had a technician come to my home. He found a faulty relay capacitor and replaced it. The technician said this model was originally built with this obsolete relay capacitor (Frigidaire was aware of this) and after many problems started building the units with the updated version of this relay. I spoke to Frigidaire concerning this matter and all they had to say was sorry for the inconvenience. They re-checked their records and found no evidence of the faulty obsolete relay capacitor. This is seriously dangerous and I would warn anyone who owns one of these units to make certain they have the correct relay installed in their refrigerator!

Replies
Faulty Product, No Customer Care
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MISSISSAUGA -- We are very disappointed with how our situation was dealt with. We had purchased the Frigidaire professional line (fridge, stove and dishwasher). Spending a little more for the better line we were made to feel we were buying quality.

Our fridge shelves that weren't lined with the rubber cracked within the first 6 months and subsequently completely broke within a year. Then last month just prior to our thanksgiving (Canadian) our fridge completely stopped working. We ended up losing over $250 dollars' worth of food! Then the kicker was that no one could see us for 1 WEEK! We had to go out and purchase a small fridge to get us by for the next week $150. When the service man came to fix the problem it ended up being a loose wire behind a panel in the freezer. We were also informed that this made the fridge work hard for the last few years... translation raising our energy costs. This cost us $100.

When we went to notify customer service of our experience they could not of cared less. It was just a rude "nothing we can do... it's off warranty". This makes us wonder why even have this service. When my husband asked to speak to someone else she replied "no one will speak to you about this matter". Wow! We called head office to let them know of how their customers are being handled and no one has even bothered to call us back. Both my husband and I are in marketing and advertising and know what just one dissatisfied customer can mean to a company.

Obviously this is a company that is willing to take that gamble. In the future I will better research how companies take care of their customers, with social media being such a part of our every day you think a company would take an opportunity to make a customer happy. Instead we will certainly let our circle of 300+ people to stay away from this line. Definite fail on your part Frigidaire. Could have just apologized or sent us a little product like a shelf with liner and kept a customer that spent $6000 on your products happy.

Replies
Frigidaire Professional Series Refrigerator and Freezer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We remodeled our kitchen and upgraded to stainless steel appliances. After research we settled on the Frigidaire Professional Series full size freezer with the full size refrigerator creating a stunning side by side look. The delivery date for both was February 18, 2013. The refrigerator stopped working the week prior to Easter, March 20, 2013... with all the Easter dinner food ready to go. It took several weeks with Frigidaire and Lowe's, through whom we purchased the appliance, to figure out what to do about it. A replacement refrigerator was delivered on April 5, 2013.

Then over the July 4th weekend the freezer went out. It was picked up by Lowe's on July 13, 2013 and a new one was delivered on July 29, 13. Yes, it took 25 days to get that problem resolved. NOW, while on vacation over the New Year Holiday, I returned to a smelly refrigerator that was not working. Today is February 3, 2014 and it has been a month. We have had two repairmen with differing opinions. In Frigidaire's initial report, they told us they would repair it, but it would stick out approximately 4 inches. People DO NOT purchase built in units to stick out 3 inches... there has to be a reason for this to happen so often.

Now Frigidaire is saying they will work with Lowe's to replace it... not sure if that is really as satisfactory response now that I have lost confidence in their product. Our luck is just not that bad. I have lost confidence in Frigidaire, but at this point, I really have no other option. I just wanted to get this out there so if more people are having the same issues we can get them to admit the recurring problem and FIX IT!!! I would love for one of their executives to go without a refrigerator for a month at a time.

We are currently using my daughter's small dorm room refrigerator for milk, eggs, and a few other items. Please let me know if you are having any similar problems: The first time the refrigerator went out it was freezer at the bottom and warm at the top. The freezer just stopped working as did the refrigerator the second time.

Replies
Frigidaire 2-Year Old, $2,800.00 Refrigerator Dies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DEPTFORD, NEW JERSEY -- I always owned Frigidaire refrigerators so it came as no surprise when I remodeled my kitchen, I would purchase a modern Frigidaire to replace a perfectly good (albeit outdated) Frigidaire. The Model 253FGHF2378ME was a side by side refrigerator with a freezer at the bottom and an automatic water/ice/crushed ice dispenser on the front door. Within 2 years the crushed ice dispenser started to expel Styrofoam along with crushed ice, and shortly thereafter, a large chunk of plastic after which it no longer produced crushed ice at all.

Also within the same 2 years, the ice dispenser would just strain sometimes. One day after filling three glasses with cube ice, the refrigerator simply stopped and there was a code "SY-CF" flashing on the display at the front door. I looked that up and it stands for System Communications Failure. It seemed that the straining ice motor blew out the motherboard. So I called for service and here's the killer, NO ONE - and I mean NO ONE was available for several days. All the food in the refrigerator went bad and neither Frigidaire nor Sears puts any priority on a refrigerator failure.

That means that the 2-YEAR OLD, $2,800.00 refrigerator not only spoiled about $400.00 worth of food, but is going to cost a minimum of $400.00 to fix. Look, things break but not a $2,800.00 refrigerator after 2 years of service. And who is the engineer who forgot to put overload protection between a computer module and a high torque electric motor? I'm not some angry soul that will tell anyone not to ever buy a Frigidaire appliance, or to buy anything from Sears, that is up to you to decide. I sure won't though.

Replies
Advertisement
Does Not Cool After Only 3.5 Years, No Warranty on Cooling System
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- Purchased a Frigidaire all-refrigerator, Model FPRH19D7LF from Large Appliance Store in Pleasant Hill, CA, in April 2011 and it quit cooling a couple of weeks ago, after only 3.5 years. I had two appliance repair shops, one a diamond certified shop and the other one suggested by the appliance store inspect the refrigerator. Both said that the sealed coolant system was leaking and that it was not repairable (first shop) and would cost about $700 to 1000 (second shop).

Considering the initial refrigerator price of $1400, neither option was possible. As suggested by Appliance store, I called the Electrolux/Frigidaire service line. They said this refrigerator had a I year warranty and that the sealed system had no warranty and there was nothing more they could do. Wow, is that what you would expect from a company that has produced appliances for so many years? Well, to say the least, my wife and I are very disappointed in Frigidaire and the large appliance store from which we purchased this product.

Replies
Worst Fridge I Have Ever Owned
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- 13 months after I purchased Frigidaire Gallery fridge the main circuit board went out and since it was over a year old I ended up paying 150.00 for part of service to have circuit board replaced. Now only 3 years old and a plastic fan in the back of fridge makes a horrible noise every time the fridge turns on. Never again will I buy another Frigidaire product. Also every time ice is made in ice maker one of the cubes sticks and won't pop out so fridge makes a clicking noise and I have to go in and pry out cube so the cycle will start over. So sorry I ever bought it!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Frigidaire Refrigerators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
56 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Frigidaire
Electrolux Home Products
P.O. Box 212378
Martinez, GA 30917
1-800-374-4432 (ph)
www.frigidaire.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies