Preview Review

Next Review

Hewlett-Packard Company Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
HP Nightmare - It has happened to us TWICE
By -

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- We are now trying to reach resolution for the 2nd defective computer received from HP after our first one was sent in for repair twice without being fixed. Now, the refurbished replacement computer's motherboard is bad, and HP Customer Care is stating that since the warranty period began in February 2008 (9 months before we received it), the computer is now out of warranty and they won't repair it for free. Even though the company's website states that the computer's warranty will be extended for 24 months after the original warranty began, which in our case, apparently happened BEFORE we even received it.

My husband is in the military and has deployed twice while all of this is going on, which has complicated the situation further. I JUST WANT A RESOLUTION AND A COMPUTER THAT WORKS. Here is a list of events during the entire process:

  1. Purchased first HP computer in 2005; 2. First 2 years of ownership-Defective HP Computer: Sent the computer in 2 times for repairs, never fixed properly- they would not agree to replace the computer, simply kept insisting we send it in again; 3. Sept-Oct 10, 2007: Defective HP Computer falls out of warranty. We are finally connected to a Case Manager, who made a decision based on the history that HP would finally send us a replacement;

  2. October 31, 2007: HP Replacement Computer still has not arrived. Case Manager cannot give me a tracking number, and never returns phone calls. As far we we know, my husband is scheduled to leave AT ANY MOMENT. He decides to purchase a new computer because he needs to have one while he is deployed; 5. November 3, 2007: I speak with Case Manager, who assures me the HP Replacement Computer will arrive soon. I talk my husband into returning Best Buy Computer # 1. We incur a 15% Restocking Fee of $90.00;

  3. November 16, 2007: No update from Case Manager. My husband has not yet left, but he still does not have a working computer. I write an email to the EVP of HP's Personal Systems Group, and speak with his assistant. She assures me someone will contact me regarding the situation; 7. November 21, 2007. Still, no update from Case Manager. My husband receives word that he will leave within 3 days. He decides to purchase ANOTHER computer, because at this point we don't think Case Manager will follow through on his promises.

  4. November 23, 3007: My husband ships the defective HP Computer to me before he leaves the states. Cost: $20.25; 9. November 27, 2007: Case Manager calls and is very polite and responsive all of the sudden. He informs me that the HP replacement Computer is on its way. At this point, my husband has already left. I will have to ship the HP replacement Computer to him overseas, and he will have to ship the new computer to me so I may return it and incur another restocking fee;

  5. November 29, 2007: A man from HP's Customer Advocate Dept. calls me. He has received the email I sent to EVP of Personal System's Group, and offers to compensate us for the restocking fees we have incurred, along with the postage to send the HP Replacement Computer to my husband; 11. November 30, 2007: The HP Replacement Computer arrives; I send the computer to my husband;

  6. August 2008: The replacement computer has started malfunctioning; the wireless internet and the DVD player have stopped working. According to HP's website, the model has a defective motherboard and is eligible for a 24 month extended warranty and free repair; 13. January 2009: My husband deploys again. We decide to send the computer in once he returns.

  7. September 2009: We send the computer in for repair and are informed that the extended warranty has expired because it is only good from the beginning of the warranty period on HP's system, which is February 2007. We did not even receive the computer until November 2007, and were told we had a 90 day warranty good until February 2008. Which should have given us until November 2009 to be able to send the computer back.

How can they say our computer is out of warranty when we didn't even OWN IT during 9 months of the supposed warranty period? How can they get away with this? Now we are faced with the situation of either paying HP $281 for a motherboard replacement or just selling the computer for parts and buying another one.

Resolution Update 09/10/2009:

Resolved-I finally had a phone conversation with the gentleman from HP's Customer Advocate center; he is handling the problem for me and our computer will be fixed. If you can get in touch with these people, it is the ONLY way your problem will be resolved. I am still very disappointed with the way we were treated by several customer service rep's in the service department, who were like robots and would not deviate from script to help us. If you have a serious problem that can't be resolved, I suggest you try calling the EVP of HP's Personal System's Group (you can find him on the corporate website); if you can get through to his secretary, she is the one who forwarded my email and information to the HP Customer Advocate who helped me. GOOD LUCK.

Beware of Spanfish
By -

PALO ALTO, CALIFORNIA -- Almost 4 years ago I purchased the HP printer scanner 1610v All-in-one. I had expected to be able to enjoy printing & scanning as I had been able to do with my previous units. Never, ever did I expect that my scans would be hijacked & held for ransom by Snapfish, a subsidiary of HP. [this according to the e-mail received from Snapfish]. The recipients of my e-mail received, instead of my scans, an e-mail from Spanfish [spf] saying that they had to register with spf before seeing my scans. They were then told that they could see my scans a specified # of times after which they would be charged for them. If they cared to, they could purchase copies.

I wrote to HP, furious. I received calls from 2 execs, each hedging on the connection between the 2 companies saying that they could get me to techs [from India, naturally, which I hate because I have difficulty in understanding their lilting English] but they couldn't guarantee that the techs could do any good. Well, after speaking to techs & supervisors I was finally able to have the connection to my computer system disconnected from spf. I received a message from Snapfish that it was taken care of. After more than 3 years of peace spf invaded again.

In March my granddaughter e-mailed me from Israel that she could not see my scan because she needed a registered name to give to spf. I told her I do not have one, either. I have never registered with spf. I have never agreed to have them poke their noses into my scanner, I have never given them permission to steal my scans. HP had never warned me, as customer, that Snapfish would be invasive when I sent a scan. Once again I went through more than a day of calls to HP who gave me more Indian techs who gave me more supervisors, all denying anything could be done to get spf out of my system.

Finally 1 supervisor admitted there was a phone # for them & gave it to me. I called and got threats that if I disconnected from spf, I would not be able to send scans. I raged! Finally there was a supervisor who agreed to disconnect me without disconnecting my scanning ability. Mission accomplished! Until a couple of days ago. When I got an e-mail from spf asking for my registration to see my own scan, I blew!

There was no longer an e-mail address for HP execs that I could find, no e-mail at all. I went to Google to get an e-mail address for spf. [I had been unable to find the phone # I had received last March.] Lo and behold, there was an option to click into for a phone # to call spf. I went to it. The entire site is that there is no phone # to call! What a sense of humor!!

I cleared all the paper from my desk & found the # I had been given in March. I called, after 2 techs, I was told they could not make the disconnect, I had to call HP. They gave me a #. I called. The tech denied that he knew anything about spf, that I had to call India. He transferred me. I was told that there is no spf, that Snapfish is a virus. They bounced me back & forth from the U.S. to India. Finally, someone told me that since I had no warranty or guarantee [I haven't since the 1st year expired] they could not help me. Suddenly, they know how to get rid of Snapfish but since I have no warranty or guarantee, it will cost me.

I screamed that since spf came into my computer without a w. or g., they can go out the same way. I finally hung up on somebody and still have spf in my computer. I have complained to the FTC. They took the complaint but will not act on only 1 claim. I cannot believe that there have been no other complaints on this piracy. Have people fallen prey to HP and accepted this theft of one's own property without a fight? I will try to pursue other avenues. I do not want them to get away with this garbage! Any ideas, anybody? Has anyone else had this problem? Can anyone help me?

Hp Slimline Hard Drive Crash And Cd Rom Problems
By -

On March 5, 2009 I ordered my HP Pavilion Slimline s3750t PC, monitor and wireless printer along with a two year extended onsite support warranty. The machine was delivered later in March and has been working fine until this past Sunday, May17, 2009. I had the following message on my monitor: Samsung HD642JJ Hard disc failure is imminent please back up and have the hard drive replaced.

I called HP immediately and spoke with ** - in India. After doing a few tests as he instructed he agreed that there was a serious problem and my hard drive needed to be replaced on my two month old HP PC. He asked if I had the system recovery discs and did not, so he would also send that out to me with the hard drive. He transferred me to another department and they were to set up the delivery etc. It was at that time I was told that I would have to remove the old hard drive and install the new one.

No matter what I said, the technician (who was very difficult to understand) kept arguing with me that it was my responsibility to install the new hard drive and even when I said I had the in-home warranty and that it was only two months old; it would not change that I had to install the hard drive.

When I said I wanted to speak to a supervisor or his manager, it took about five minutes for him to come to the phone. He was very rude also. When I said it was unacceptable to have to do all this for a two month old pc and that I wanted a new tower shipped out to me, he told me that would take at least 48 for me to hear back from the case manager and they usually do not ship out a new tower when something like this happens. I am so disappointed in every aspect of HP. Never once was I even told that HP is sorry and they stand behind their product. I was instead belittled and bullied for an hour and a half because their product crashed after two months.

So an hour and a half later I am off the phone, I was told the hard drive would be shipped by Fed Ex and the technician would come on Thur. between 8 and 12. On Monday night, the in home technician called me and gave me his cell number to call when the hard drive was delivered.

The technician came this morning, installed the new hard drive and he was unable to load anything on my machine because now the cd rom reader is not working! He just left and said he would call HP and let them know. They will order the new piece and he will come back after it is shipped. He was very apologetic for the situation, but really was nothing he could do. This has been such a disappointment and totally unacceptable. Would never recommend HP to anyone!

HP Charges for things that are not broken
By -

COLUMBIA, MISSOURI -- I bought a Compaq/HP laptop back in April 2007 from Staples. Since I bought it, the battery quit in less than 6 months, the motherboard went down and had to be repaired in 5 months after getting it, there was a recall on this same motherboard and it had to be fixed free last year. Now, there is another motherboard recall that I did not know about until I called to report the same issues I had going on the last time they recalled the thing (wireless stops working, computer shuts down on its own, video does not work right, and more). I was told I qualified for the recall and they sent me a box to ship it back free of charge on March 23.

My order online stated it was under recall and no charge would be made. Now I look online and see that they are not sending back my laptop and want proof I purchased it and to pay $320.50! I called and demanded my laptop be returned NOW! I told them I was not paying for anything as I was told it was being recalled. They said they could not do anything about it until tomorrow because their systems were upgrading! I asked why I could view my own info online if everything was upgrading!

I told them I was not paying for anything and that I better get my laptop back or I am calling the Missouri Attorney General and then calling whomever they tell me to call to get my laptop back. At this point I am treating this as stealing! I was told to call back Sunday to fix the issue. I am sooooo pissed off! I am a student and need my laptop that I PAID for! I should not have to use my kids computer when I bought my own.

Part 2: Called HP back today as told to do. The man looked up my info and saw that I was covered under the warranty program (recalled motherboard). The recall extended the warranty 24 months from the first day of the start of my original warranty. So, April 2007-March 2009 is 23 months. The agent said I was not passed the 24 months and it would be free to fix the recalled motherboard. Side note: aren't recalls a free fix anyway??? This must be why they worded it "extended service warranty" HA.

Anyway, the agent said the repair center is supposed to call before they charge anything. I told them I never got a call or email either way. He made sure they had my phone number entered correct; they did. I was then given the number to the repair center and was told they were open today. I called and they are only open Mon-Friday... lets see what this place says tomorrow. HP said it was free. I either want my laptop back in the condition it came in or fixed for free as promised! EERRR

Part 3: I called Hp repair department today and was told that they were fixing the motherboard for free and that the charge was got the power cord and optical drive. They claim that the repair guys could not get one of their disks to read. I told them that my power cord is brand new and that I was playing movies and cds on that drive no problem before they got their hands on it. I told them that they are only authorized to fix my motherboard as told to in the first place from the recall of it.

They agreed and said there was not charge and they would send it back when fixed in 7 days. I then called the Computer Center I got my power cord from. They told me that they have this issue from HP a lot and hear horror stories from HP customers on the V6000 series all the time. Right now, HP is losing so much money that they are trying to charge peope for things that are not wrong with the laptops in that series and a few others he named off from them.

But, ** from Computer Center said to bring my cord back in and they will test it in front of me and, if needed, give me another one. I asked ** what brand laptop to get that was reliable. HE said no laptop these days are 100% reliable, but HP was the worst of them. He told me the Toshiba I found at Bestbuy was probably one of the better ones and to go with that.

I will give this one to my oldest until I can afford to get her a more reliable one. It will at least work for her until I get my next refund from school loans to get her one like my new one. Again, HP laptops suck... maybe their desktops are better. I heard their servers are great! Their repair center and customer service in India is VERY bad. The repair center talks to you like crap. Wow, if you want me to spend money... why not treat me like a customer? Let's see if they give it back or now in the 7 days promised.

Throw-Away Peripherals

My wife pestered me for an inexpensive scanner/printer so she could archive old pictures and print out copies for family members. In the 80's, my old HP PC was virtually indestructible and I have six HP 1200 B&W printers (about $290 each) that have shown great reliability even with heavy office use.

In early August 2008, I bought her an HP 5250 for around $90. Not surprisingly, the ink cartridges were almost as expensive as the printer ($60). But, I knew most manufacturers of low-cost printers sell them a loss leaders and then make up their profits on supplies. Still, the item was for home use and would be, essentially, a throw-away item. I realized, and accepted the negative aspects of the purchase. I did not realize I would be throwing it away so soon.

In mid-September, the photo paper feed began to malfunction. It would no longer autofeed the paper properly. Often, it would attempt to feed two pieces or none at all. She was slightly disappointed, but the printer/scanner still 'worked'. Besides, she printed only a few photos a month and the scanner seemed reliable.

In November and December, we began seeing 'previously owned' HP All-in-One printers stacked at Sam's Club. This was not a good sign. My wife commented that 'I must be lucky' because there was always a supply of these 'used' $50 printers on the 'bargain' 'as-is' table. In late January, the letterhead feed began to make an 'odd noise'. The paper would feed, but it would sounded like a kid's bicycle with a playing card in the spokes. I checked the printer for her. There were no paper jams or slivers of torn paper. Tearing the printer down, only as far as the owner's guide recommended, revealed no obvious broken parts or foreign material.

"It will either live or die", I pronounced. "Keep using it and we'll see what happens." I was planning a trip to Office Depot, so I checked my wife's HP supplies at the house. She had used about 25 sheets of the 4x6 photo paper, and her original ream of letterhead was down about 100 sheets (50 in the printer). I fired up her Mac and checked the ink levels using the HP maintenance utility. They were almost empty.

The printer was plugged into a live outlet at all times, so the ink should not evaporate that quickly. And, the printer had only seen light use. I deferred buying more ink, as she still had the sealed 'starter' cartridges. Given that the printer was acting up, I was not excited to buy more $60 ink. Smart move. Last Thursday, she called me from home and told me 'the scanner died'. When I got home, I looked at it. The internal diagnostics reported 'scanner failure' and the scanner would not journey more than 1/2 way across the platen (glass copy plate). I called HP customer service.

**, the HP CSR, spoke excellent North American English with a trace of South Asian accent. He helpfully told me, "This is a software problem. You will need to shut down your computer, re-boot, and restart the printer." It didn't work. "You need to uninstall the device driver and re-install it, then reboot, and retry." It didn't work either. "You now need to remove the operating system and re-format your hard drive." "That isn't going to happen", I told **. The symptoms were consistent with a mechanical failure. "How do I return the device for warranty service."

"You must ship it to (gave address) prepaid (both ways) and insure the item. If the device is not covered by warranty, you may be charged for labor, parts, and diagnosis. If the problem is not with the printer, you may be charged a diagnostic fee (varies). And, you must ship it in the original box (I still had it.). I boxed the item up and took it to the post office. Postage and insurance would be $22 each way. So, it would cost $44 and 'maybe' a diagnostic charge, and 'maybe' a repair charge... and CERTAINLY new ink cartridges for $60. Potentially, well over the cost of a new printer/scanner.

I took the HP5250 home. I took it out of the box. I opened the sliding door onto the small balcony outside my study. I heaved the printer onto the concrete patio below. It made a delightful crunch and exploded into 5,000,001 pieces. The HP5250 is truly a 'throw-away' peripheral device. I never had so much fun throwing an item away. I highly recommend my method of disposal (always check the target area first).

But, I do not recommend the HP5250 unless the buyer realizes the device is truly a throw-away. It would be a shame for a kid to save up his/her money, for 'grandma' to buy one, or for a minimum-wage worker to spend $150 (a little over two days of work) to buy one of these devices; and then have it fail within a few months.

Bad Service and Worse Service at HP
By -

I bought a Pavilion dv 9502 two years ago with a 2 extended warranty. Within 6 months 1 failed with a bad keyboard and the second with a bad hard drive. Both issues were resolved at the place of purchase, no questions asked. Then last month I started having problems with slow start-up, screen going blank, programs starting and stopping seemingly on their own. I called the Extended Warranty help line and after several diagnoses, was told that I would have to get a recovery disc from HP and send the computer off to be repaired.

I called HP to order the disc and was told that for these problems even though my HP warranty was expired, they could help me on a 1 time basis at no charge. At that point a HP tech took over the computer and preformed several functions which seemed to help but not completely correct all issues. But within 2 days the problems returned. I called the extended warranty company and made shipping arrangements then called HP to order the recovery disc. HP offered a for a 1 time fee to run the recovery over the phone when the disc arrived which I accepted.

While I waited for the disc, an unsolicited e-mail arrived from HP on 5 steps to improve performance. I ran these and it seemed to make things worse. When the disc arrived I called HP and was instructed on how to run the program and once it started it would take 6 to 8 hours and to call back at that time. 20 minutes later the computer shut down completely leaving a message on a black screen saying BootMngr Missing I called HP and they said this was another problem and now I would have to pay for service.

I called the Extended warranty company and told them I was sending them the computer but while speaking to them was informed that my computer was under recall for these problems. I called HP and after sometime was told that indeed this was the case. I then called a case manager and said I was not going to pay the service fee and he credited my account and made shipping arrangements.

When I got the computer back some of my programs Spysweeper. Microsoft Office etc. would not load up. The message was that they were incompatible. I called HP and was told that again I would have to pay a fee just to ask why after 2 years this now was the case. After some rather heated discussion, I finally got to a supervisor who did try to help. I got Office installed but had to go to Webroot support that were more than happy to asset.

That was two days ago and this morning went to use Word and got a message that the installation been improperly installed and to repair reinstall the program. And now at start-up a large yellow band appears Seems that issues might be returning. After numerous hours on the phone with HP TechSupport And no less than seven promises of call backs, none ever came, dose this type of atrocious customer service ring a bell with anyone ?

The Biggest Runaround With Trying To Buy Something
By -

Recently I just purchased a new Lenovo Ideapad S10 laptop and I needed a carrying case to carry it around. After doing some research I determined that the HP 2133 MiniMate Always-On Case made by InfoCase would fit my needs, as my computer is the same size as the one the case is designed for. Since InfoCase did not have an online order system, I went to the HP website and found the product (item number A696646, part number FM-2133) for $55.79, and the accessory pouch (item A531788, part number AA-P) for $6.76.

On Monday, January 26, I added these items to my cart and clicked the checkout link. Immediately I got an error generated by my web browser that the website's security certificate was invalid. Knowing the potential risks involved when something like this happens, I chose to wait on it. On the afternoon of Tuesday, January 27, I tried again and the same thing occurred. This time I called HP's number, and pressed 1 for home user sales. The first representative immediately put me on hold and then the line was disconnected from their end.

I called back, and I told the second representative that I wanted those products. He put me on hold to retrieve the item information. When he came back, I was surprised when he told me he could not find the item in the system. Then I checked, and then I could not find it either. We kept trying to find the item for about 30 minutes before I realized that my cart was in the Small and Medium Business part of the website. The representative recommended that I call the Business Sales department. I did so to find that they were closed.

On Wednesday, January 28, I called the Business Sales department. I told the third representative that I was a home user and that I wanted the products and that the representative from the home user department could not find the items in his system. I was put on hold and the line was disconnected, again from their end. I called back, and I told the forth representative the same thing. He put me on hold. After 5 minutes he came back and told me that yes, they sold the product, but it would take 3-4 weeks because they would have to special order it. I thanked him and then hung up, feeling that this is an unreasonable time period to receive an item.

After that I called InfoCase, the product's manufacturer. I left a message on the machine of somebody in their sales department. On the morning of Thursday, January 29, I got a call back from the InfoCase sales department. The man I spoke to was very friendly and helpful and understood my situation very well. He gave me a phone number and a long extension for somebody who would be able to sell me the item. Unknowingly I did not expect what happened next - when I called the number, it was HP. I dialed the extension and left a message for this person, Representative 5.

After waiting all day with no response, I finally placed the order through the website, with security certificate warnings often along the registration process. I finally got to the checkout screen and checked the shipping rates. The shipping calculator indicated $5.00 for UPS 2 day shipping and I selected that. The final checkout screen indicated $62.55 for both products, plus $5.00 for shipping and $4.38 for taxes for a total of $71.93. I selected to put it on a credit card, and I submitted the order.

Immediately I got a confirmation email. On the morning of Friday, January 30th, I got a return call from Representative 5. We discussed what happened, and we confirmed that the order was placed and everything was all set for shipping in a few days.

For the entire next week, nothing had changed with the order. On the evening of Thursday, February 5th, I called HP's Business Sales department to check the status of the order. After being put on hold, the sixth representative informed me that both items was backordered (despite being told the week before that everything was all set). She said that she would remove the shipping cost for the inconvenience and call me the next morning, Friday, February 6th. This would take the order total down to $66.93.

On Friday, February 6th, nobody called. Then I tried to call and they were closed for the weekend. On Monday, February 9th, I checked my credit card statement, and I discovered that on February 6th that a hold was placed on the card for $72.29 - not the original total of $71.93, or the price with the removed shipping charge of $66.93.

I called HP and Representative 7 told me that Representative 6 didn't call back yet because she did not receive any information from the warehouse and at the moment there was no estimate when I would get my product. She said that she would change the hold to the correct amount of $66.93 immediately (this didn't happen) and that Representative 6 would call me back when she had more information. I called the salesperson at InfoCase again. He told me that the main issue is that HP is only placing one order for the product from InfoCase each day, thus only one product is shipped out each day.

So apparently, InfoCase has plenty in stock and HP is intentionally creating this backlog! The InfoCase salesperson decided to make an exception and let me place an order directly with him and I cancelled the order with HP. I got a confirmation of the cancellation. On Tuesday, February 10th, I got shipping confirmation from InfoCase. On today, February 12th the pending charge from HP for $72.29 was finally removed. The product from InfoCase arrived today, as promised, and it fits the laptop perfectly.

Worst. Customer. Service. Ever.
By -

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- The past month I have been on and off the phone with HP customer service due to problems with my notebook pavilion. I've only had the computer for three months and I has already crashed on my twice. The first time I was able to recover my PC, but the second time was much more complicated.

One morning I booted up my notebook and it said "no hard drive found". I call HP and they said that they would agree to send me a new hard drive to fix the problem. I told them I would also need the recovery CDs to reload the operating system onto my computer. They sent the hard rive to my college address, where I was living, and the recovery CDs to Chicago, my hometown. I called them complaining and they agreed to send additional CDs to me, which took another three days. After receiving the CDs, the computer still would not run, as I consistently got an error saying the recovery process could not be fixed.

I called HP and said I want my computer fixed, and they said I didn't have the pick up and return service on my insurance plan. I argued with them and eventually had to pull out my insurance certificate that proved I did, which took almost an hour, and they finally agreed to have the laptop repaired. They told me it would only take 3-5 days, and that I should be getting it back no longer than a week (which is also stated in my insurance plan when I bought the thing initially).

This is where things really started to go downhill. 3-5 days turned into 6, where I then called HP and they said I wouldn't be getting it back until the 5th of October (I sent in the notebook September 26th). I said that's ridiculous but there wasn't much I could do. Come the 8th, there was no notebook, and the tracking number I had said that FedEx hasn't even picked it up from the HP repair station yet. I called them and they assured me it was on the way, despite contrasting evidence that it hasn't been shipped. They told me to call on the 9th if it didn't show up.

I called the day after and spoke on the phone for about 3 hours straight, to 6-7 different people. I was told four separate stories:

  1. The product hasn't been received into the repair shop yet and that repairs should start soon.
  2. The repairs have started but they needed to order additional pieces to finish repairs.
  3. Repairs have started and are on their way and should be done very soon.
  4. Repairs are finished and the notebook will be sent out very soon.

At this point I lost it. I hung up the phone to catch my breath, and no sooner did I get a call from HP themselves. A woman told me that my computer was facing "complications" and that I should have a new estimated delivery date BY the 22nd, almost a month after I sent it in.

I called them back and told them "I've had it. I don't want the computer back. Keep it. The last thing I want in my life is an HP product and GOD FORBID it breaks again and I have to go through this sick game all over again." I told them I would be canceling my credit card and getting a refund. And that I do not want the laptop fixed and sent back to me. I called three different times on the 9th to confirm that they had canceled the shipping and repairs, and that they were going to keep the laptop. I was assured each time that the cancellation has gone through and that I should be OK.

Guess what I received in the mail today? (Oct 10th) the original, broken laptop that had not been touched, nor opened. The same tape that I closed it with is still on it. HP never even opened the box, 16 days after they received it.

HP - The anti-customer company
By -

PHOENIXVILLE, PENNSYLVANIA -- We bought a Compaq Presario V6000Z laptop for our daughter for college a little over 1 year ago. She came home for the summer and used it a little bit each night after work. One night it just wouldn't boot up. The next day she brought it to the local computer store who checked it out and said that there was a problem with the power supply, but that this was a recall item and HP would fix it. So they sent it to HP.

After a while, we get notified by HP as they claimed to have fixed the power supply problem but found that the monitor didn't work and there were burn marks on the cable to the monitor. Neither of these things was a problem before we brought it to the store and the store will back us on this. So I called HP to talk about it.

I get technical support and after going through the endless computer prompts, talk to someone, but was told that this was a customer service issue. So I get transferred to customer service but web customer service who obviously tells me it isn't their problem. So they transfer me to someone else in customer service who informs me that it isn't their issue, but belongs in technical support. Despite my informing them that technical support already told me it wasn't their problem, they transfer me anyway. However, I got a busy signal during the transfer and then dropped.

So I call again, and after going through the endless computer prompts got someone else in tech support. I explained the phone chain thus far, and told him that before he transfers me to someone who will transfer me to someone else, and so on, that he should just transfer me to the final person who will actually help. He wants to transfer me to someone else in customer service. I blew up at this point and called him and HP a bunch of idiots and he called me an idiot, but transferred me to a nice lady in customer service. As I expected, after listening to my story, she transferred me to technical support.

This time, the person took responsibility and said he would review our case. We talked about it and I explained that since the problem with the monitor and cable didn't happen before we brought it to the store. He explained that the monitor was ruined by something leaking from the power supply, the bad part that they worked on for the recall issue. I asked him if it didn't seem obvious that they caused the problem when working on the power supply. He gave me a case number and told me someone would call back the next day.

The next day, someone calls my wife and accuses us of trying to rip HP off. She again explained that the store would back us about the monitor and cable being good before they sent it to HP, but he didn't want to hear it. They finally sent it back to the store with the bad monitor and cable. We still haven't picked it up yet, but it is now basically useless as a laptop. We probably could hook up a desktop monitor to it, but this is where we stand. I have never bought a HP computer before, always Dell (and I have bought many for myself and other kids of mine). My wife bought this HP because it was on sale. I will never by anything from HP again.

Their products are defective and their customer service and technical support are mostly inept. Worst of all they treat us with contempt. I work for a large computer company and will spread the word about HP so hopefully, no one else makes this mistake. Thank you Dell for never doing this to me. Thank you Kodak, who when I reported a camera problem, sent me a new camera (an upgrade, batteries, and multiple rolls of film for my troubles). Thank you Dell who, when I had a problem with a monitor, 1 day before the warranty ran out, gave me no hassle, and said a new one was on its way.

3rd Repair Issue Still Not Fixed & Poor Customer Service
By -

I had to call tech support 4/8 due to repair issue still not fixed after sending in my laptop. Was advised that case manager would call in 48 hrs. I received no call so on 4/11 I called back and was transferred to my case mgr. I advised her that I still have issues with my laptop and she said "What do you want me to do?" I advised her to fix the problem in which you failed to do the past 2 times. She said she is not replacing my notebook with a new one. I advised I never asked for that. She told me that is what is noted on my account.

Believe me, I would never ask for a new laptop because I see how much of a hassle it is just to get mine repaired. This was obviously a language barrier with your tech support in India. I called back in today to report another issue and my call in the case manager group was answered by Rebecca. She said "have you spoken with you case Mgr about this?" I said yes but had another issue this weekend. She said I did not ask for any explanation that I need to answer yes or no. I was blown away by this and she said anything she asks needs to be answered by yes or no, as she does not need an explanation.

I asked her for her name and she says "I gave that to you at the beginning of the call." I advised I did not write it down and she said she is not giving it again. She continued on with telling me about the issue and I was trying to ask questions but she refused to stop speaking. I asked again for her name and she said again, "I gave it to you at the beginning of the call". She then says I am trying to be professional on the call, and I asked if she was professional then why was she refusing to give me her name again? She says normally she laughs and enjoys her calls but I must have had a bad morning. After asking 6 times for her name, she finally gave it to me.

I was NEVER rude to this person, but the way she treated me was the worst customer service I have ever experienced with any company. I asked for a supervisor and she said they didn't have supervisors that she was the only one I could speak with. She then asked if there was a phone # my case mgr could reach me and I gave my work # and advised only available until noon.

She said "is there another # after that?" I said I have a cell phone but do not want to give it because I have already wasted many minutes dealing with HP. She said "you told me you have another # to reach but now you don't want to give me the number then why did you even say you had another phone number to reach you." I do not know what the problem is here. I was pleasant and nice on the phone simply trying to get my issue fixed for the 3rd time and to be treated like this has just made the problem explode. Do you think this was OK for her to provide this type of customer support to me?

Top of Page | Next Page >

Hewlett-Packard Company Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
170 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Hewlett-Packard Company
P O Box 10301
Palo Alto, CA 94303-0890
650-857-1501 (ph)
650-813-3254 (fax)
Compare Computer Companies