Preview Review

Next Review

Kenmore Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Expensive Kenmore Elite Washing Machine Broke After 3 Years
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

An absolute waste of time and money. We have been waiting for 5 weeks to have our expensive Kenmore Elite washing machine repaired after owning only 3 years. First repair technician comes out, charges $89 to say he will have to replace the part (here for a total of 10 minutes). We agree to order the part out of pocket since the washer is no longer under warranty.

Had the part overnighted (additional out of pocket) and it takes over a week to get the repair technician back out to install. He is then unable to remove a nut to remove the old part and tells us that he can't put the new part in because he's not authorized to cut the nut off for fear of damaging the drum (here for 15 minutes this time). If we can cut it off ourselves, he said he would come back out and install the new part.

My husband was able to cut if off and we scheduled another service, with the soonest date being a week later, specifically reminding them that this nut had to be cut off, and that it would have to be replaced. I was informed by customer service that they have no way of knowing which parts the repair technicians have in stock and that I cannot request that they have a certain part before they come out.

Next scheduled service date, no one showed up. We called customer service and the technician called in sick. Rescheduled for today, again, the soonest date available that was a week after the last one, no one showed up again. Called customer service again, technician will not come out because now they will have to order the nut that has been cut off. Meanwhile we have spent 5 weeks without a washing machine, and the part that needs to be replaced sitting on the floor of the laundry room.

At this point, I just want my $89 refunded and I will hire someone else to fix my washing machine rather than deal with this crappy service any longer. Additionally, I've spent 3 hours being passed back and forth between Kenmore (the brand) and LG (the manufacturer) and no one wants to take ownership of this washer because for the price of it originally, we should not even be in this position 3 years later having to fix it.

Replies
Advertisement
6 mos old and broke down 5 days before Christmas
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OHIO -- Kenmore Elite model 74025 is 6 mos old and broke down. Called Sears repair Dec. 20 they said fan froze up. Sending parts - can't be here till Dec. 30 to fix. Stuffed as much into mini fridge as possible threw everything else out. Dec. 30 after waiting 3 hours Sears called repairman ill - can't be here till Jan 4 to fix. Sorry already took a day off I'm not available till Jan 7. Now I guess I'll wait to see if it gets fix then.

I emailed Kenmore 1 1/2 weeks ago haven't heard from them either. I spent $6,000 in all new appliances guess it wasn't enough to expect better customer service. Consumers should expect to have a more timely repair on refrigerators. If you're that backed up maybe there's a problem with your quality.

Replies
Kenmore Ultra Wash model 665
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- I have purchased 2 of these dishwashers (bought one for me and one as a gift :/, bought at the same time). BOTH of them are ABSOLUTELY INFERIOR QUALITY to anything I have ever bought!! BOTH dishwashers have had wheel pins (things wheels snap on to) that have literally fallen apart twice!!! ALL the wheel pins have failed on the top and lower racks of BOTH dishwashers twice!! We have a water softener and are reasonably gentle with our appliances. Simply trash!! I will NEVER buy another KENMORE product.

I had an online chat with Sears/Kenmore, at the end I asked for an address to elevate this complaint to. They told me to contact Whirlpool for such. I called Whirlpool and they told me to contact Kenmore, because even though Whirlpool manufactures it, they make it to Sears/Kenmore's specifications!! UNBELIEVABLE!!

Replies
Master Protection Plan - Shipment of Defective Parts, Inability to Repair Appliances
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAWTON, OKLAHOMA -- My husband and I have a Master Protection Plan for all of our Sears appliances since 1983. Recently we decided to request service for some of the appliances that we were having problems with. The A & E repairman arrived in Nov 2013 and did not fix any of the problems nor did he attempt to fix the problems. He stated that I should fix my appliances. His name was **. I told him that we were having problems with the buttons on the washer and dryer i.e. would remain depressed or stuck. He stated that I should clean it with alcohol. Then I told him that the same thing happened on the refrigerator and he stated that I should use alcohol. So I tried the alcohol.

So the refrigerator started dispensing water and would not stop so my kitchen floor was flooded. I called back so another repairman arrived a week later. Let's say his name was **. ** was unsuccessful in repairing the refrigerator and unbeknownst to my husband and I, ** closed the service log and stated that it was repaired. ** stated that the part was not the correct color and that he would check on it.

He also gave my husband his personal number to call him because he ordered a part that he thought would fix the water problem. So when the part arrived, ** did not answer his phone nor did he return messages left on his voice mail. Finally we called Sears and scheduled another service. We explained to Sears that the part that was ordered - was the wrong part according to **.

So Sears ordered a new part. Another technician came named **. ** arrived without a part. ** has no idea of the service history. So his supervisor asked him to leave our residence. Then ** came out and referred to this part as "cosmetic." After talking with Sears my husband and I were instructed to pay something for this part and we may be reimbursed for this "cosmetic" part. We never wanted a part for cosmetic purposes. I just wanted the repair to stop the defective water leak and ice dispenser leakage.

My husband and I have missed a total of 4 days of work to try to resolve this issue. And to date there is no repair. So what do we do:
1. Continue to call Sears for hours on end
2. Slip and fall and receive a fracture or worse
3. Continue on the same path.
4. Pray that Sears will maintain their end of the service agreement

Replies
Advertisement
Kenmore Ice Maker Won't Work... Again!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BERLIN, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- Bought a Sears Kenmore model 253.7031* February 2013. Three months after purchasing it the main circuit board fried and they sent us a replacement. Ten months after having the replacement the ice maker quit working. Had it fixed and here it is 11 months later, ice maker quit working again!

Called Sears to tell them it's the second time the "replacement" fridge has a problem and the first one was so defective they took it back. Since it was out of warranty (repairs are warranty covered for 90 days) and we had no extended service they want me to pay $95 for a service call, the cost of the part when he comes back plus his hourly rate! NO WAY!

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

THORNTON, COLORADO -- We purchased a Kenmore elite water heater from Sears 3 years ago. Everything was until it stopped working. It turned out that the Sears installer had installed it with a small leak in the supply line connection, which dripped into the heater and rusted out the tank. Kenmore charged us $75 to send someone out. He said "talk to the store", they said "call the national service line", they transferred us to another service line, they sent us to the "Water Heater Hotline". They told us there was nothing they would do. We just bought a new GE water heater from Home Depot. I understand now why Sears is going to go bankrupt.

Replies
Non-Functioning Water & Ice Dispenser
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOWIE, MARYLAND -- We bought a Kenmore Elite bottom freezer refrigerator in July 2011. In March of 2012 the problem started. The water and ice dispenser stopped working. It works for a few days or weeks and stops. I usually find water on my kitchen floor as an indicator. Sears Repair has been to our home 8 times as of today. The tech spent 3 hours at my house last week, still not fixed.

They know that there is an electrical shortage, but they can't find it. It is not working now, they have ordered another part. Sears has REFUSED to replace the refrigerator, they just will continue to "fix" it. We do have warranty protection. I'm so tired of this. When you pay this much for a product you expect it to last longer. I will not buy another product from Sears.

Replies
Kenmore Chest Freezer 19502 Failed in 2.5 Years.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PITTSFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS -- I bought a Kenmore Chest Freezer, Model # 19502 in Feb 2011. Today (July 16, 2013) I find that it was "on" but everything inside had thawed. There was no power surge, no power outage, it was plugged in, the light was still on. After turning the switch to off and back on, it didn't work so I hit the light. Magically the compressor turned back on.

So I've thrown out a freezer full of food to the tune of at least a $200. This freezer is also the subject of a rebate because it does NOT meet the energy standards that it was advertised as meeting. The result from that was a check for something like $12 that I have to reapply for each year for 3 years.

Replies
Advertisement
Control Board Defective on Freezer, Only Replace if Customer Pays
By -

I bought a Kenmore/Elite Trio from Sears. I found out afterwards it was made by LG. It was installed at Christmas, 2005. Shortly thereafter I noticed ice on the meat drawer in freezer. Sears tech came out about another problem and did not seem concerned about the ice. For the next year, the ice would build up, I would clean it off. In 2010 it became unbearable since water was pouring in the floor, 2 in. of ice on freezer bottom each week, all food covered in ice.

Called Sears - was told I would have to commit to $250 up front and they would be out in 2 weeks. Day of appt. arrived and they called to cancel - said they would have to come another day. I could not commit since my husband has alzheimers, parkinson, one leg, and heart disease. He was going through many tests and I am his sole caregiver, making an appt. for anything requires a lot of prep in advance.

I called a local company that came that day but the tech said there was a problem with the evap. fan motor, but he could not get info from Sears on how to fix it. Paid $95 for that. The water continued pouring and the ice had to be cleaned out every week - by lying on the floor and cracking the ice with a pancake flipper and sliding it out on a tray to be dumped. Not great for a 65 year old. After Christmas, I contacted a tech that has been in business over 50 years and he confirmed it was something to do with the evap. fan motor but Sears would not divulge how to fix it and only Sears techs had that info.

He also said there was a service flash that many of the same appliances had the same prob. Paid him $75 and then called Sears. Said there was a service flash but I would have to pay $70 for a tech to confirm that I had a problem. He did but then told me the company said I would have to pay $376 for parts and labor.

I refused and began calling. I was switched from Sears Resolutions, to Sears Customer Service, to LG, to a company that recalls parts, to Kenmore Elite, to Sears Resolutions. Said they could offer me $65 or 10% off a new fridge after I had just said I was not spending any more money with them. Again was told to call back next morning after tech's report had gotten in the system.

Kenmore Elite agreed that I should not pay, said LG should. Sears said that LG should but that my warranty expired in Dec. 2010. NO ONE and I mean NO ONE had told me before that LG had a warranty on the parts until Christmas 2010. Sears broke their contract with me by not showing the year before on the service call and just casually said they would have to reschedule.

I have been told to give up, pay the money, and move on because either the $65 or 10% off a new appliance is the best offer I will get. I spent a little over $2000 for this appliance and Sears, Kenmore Elite and LG have all passed the buck, ignored the hundreds of people that have the same complaint, delay appt. times until people give up and their warranties run out.

I have only hit the highlights of what I have been through. This has taken a lot from my health as I suffer from high blood pressure, has really interfered in the care of my husband, have to watch for water pouring on the floor to keep from falling and then to be insulted by being passed off to person after person and made to feel like a complete idiot when I said they should pay for a defective part. If the part was worn out, then I would certainly agree to pay, but this has been a problem since the beginning of 2006. Nobody listens and nobody cares, but Sears will lose far more business than this would have cost them to resolve the problem.

Replies
Elite Kenmore Refrigerator
By -

Please wait while we find an agent to assist you...
You have been connected to Saul Morrison.
Saul Morrison: Thank you for choosing Sears. My name is Saul. How may I assist you?
Customer: HI I HAVE AN ELITE WHITE REFRIGIRATOR FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS
Customer: THIS FRIGE IS NOTHING BUT TRUBBLE THE VEG FRUIT COMPARTMENT BROKE DOWN I HAVE TO GLUE IT ALL THE TIME THIS IS HOW A FRIGE HAS TO BE
Saul Morrison: Hi there. I'm sorry to hear that your refrigerator has a problem.
Saul Morrison: I will be happy to help you schedule a repair service appointment to fix that.
Customer: ALSO THE 2 COMPARTMENTS KEEP BREAKIBG THIS IS A INFERIOR PRODUCT AND I AM NOT READY TO TAKE IT ANYMORE
Customer: THANK YOU
Saul Morrison: To help you with the repair appointment, may I please have your phone number with the area code and your email address?
Customer:
Saul Morrison: Thank you. May I also have your full name and service address, including city, state and zip code?
Customer:
Customer:
Saul Morrison: Thank you for the details.
Saul Morrison: Is this in reference to your Kenmore refrigerator purchased on 04/27/2007?
Customer: YES I GUESS IF YOU SEE THE RECORD WE HAVE PURE PROBLEMS WITH IT FROM DAY ONE
Saul Morrison: Yes, I see that you have had scheduled repair appointment before. I'm really sorry that the appliance is give you so much problems. I will quickly check on the available date and schedule the appointment.
Saul Morrison: Will the service address remain the same as you provided me for the appointment?
Customer: YES, THANKS
Saul Morrison: The first available date we have for service is on Thursday, November 5th 2009, between the hours of 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM.
Saul Morrison: Will that work for you?
Customer: OK NO PROBLEM
Saul Morrison: Okay. The technician will call you to confirm service and give you an estimated time of arrival.
Saul Morrison: If the technician is not able to reach you, he will assume that you are not home and the appointment will need to be rescheduled.
Saul Morrison: Do you have an alternate phone number where you can be reached?
Customer: CAN YOU GIVE ME A PHONE NUMBER TO CALL
Customer: YES MY NUMBER IS
Customer: WILL HE BRING WITH HIM THE REPLACMENT PARTS THE DRAWERS AND SHELF
Saul Morrison: Thank you. Yes, they will have most of the basic parts needed for the repair, however, if there are any special parts needed they will order it for you.
Customer: THANK YOU VERY MUCH
Saul Morrison: Let me explain you about the payment options.
Saul Morrison: We offer you two options for service.
Saul Morrison: Our technician will examine your product and provide you a detailed estimate for your approval. If you choose to decline the estimate, you will be responsible for a fee of $65.00.
Saul Morrison: Our second offer is our Service Smart Agreement which is $267.11 with tax.
Saul Morrison: The Service Smart agreement covers the entire cost of repair including parts, plus you get an extended warranty on your entire product for one year.
Customer: WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY FOR YOUR DEFECTIVE PRODUCT I WANT THE REPLACMENT PARTS FOR FREE AND I WILL INSTALL THEM
Saul Morrison: I'm sorry, we do not have replacement parts for free and it would be best if a certified technician takes care of the problem.
Customer: you leave me no choise but to advertise the quality of you product on the internet such as my 3 cents etc, I demand a new shelf and new compartment or else
Saul Morrison: We will replace the shelves with a new one, however, the charges will apply.
Customer: why do I need to pay for your faults
Saul Morrison: I'm really sorry that you refrigerator is not as you had expected it to be, however, I see that as the appliance is not covered under warranty or any protection agreement, I can only schedule a regular repair service appointment.
Customer: here is a sample of criticism on your product I wish I read it before I made the mistake
Customer: My Kenmore elite frig, only 2 years old, stopped working, completely dead. I was told I would have to wait 5 days for a repairman! I have a warranty, I ask if I called my own reppairman would they cover the cost of the repair..they said no. I would have to wait for their repairman!! Never ever again will I buy their junk and horrible service!
Customer: this is only one sample if you go to my3cents.com you will be surprise
Saul Morrison: I'm really sorry, you can write a complaint about the problem with your refrigerator our Complaint Department also at 3333 Beverly Road, Hoffman Estates, IL-60179.
Customer: can you give me a phone number to call pr can you have one of your supervisors call me now
Saul Morrison: You can call us at 1-800-4MY-HOME (1-800-469-4663) for that.
Saul Morrison: Would you like me to schedule this appointment for you?
Saul Morrison: I'll remain available for another moment if you need further assistance.
Customer: not for charge here is one more complain looks like I did a big mistake and you want to charge me more for that
Customer: Lots of Frigidaire complaints, mine is a Sears Elite (aka Frigidaire). Had it 6 months, ice buildup in freezer. 1st tech?, used laptop to ask what to do, ordered a 6 hr defrost timer. 2nd. tech?, said it was not the timer but air infiltraton, reversed gasket, took parts 1st tech? ordered. 3rd tech?, said it was also air infiltration but in the freezer itself, caulked the walls.

4th tech? was 2nd tech? back again, said he had to order the parts h
Saul Morrison: I understand your frustration about this and I apologize for the inconvenience caused. I really wish I could help you further, however, I'm here only to schedule the appointment.
Saul Morrison: You can call us at the toll free number I provided and talk with a supervisor and see if they can help you further.
Saul Morrison: You can also write a complaint at the address I provided.
Saul Morrison: Is there anything else I can help you with

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Kenmore Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
46 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Kenmore
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60179
1-888-536-6673 (ph)
www.kenmore.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies