Kenmore

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
45 reviews & complaints.
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Elite Kenmore Refrigerator
By -

Please wait while we find an agent to assist you...
You have been connected to Saul Morrison.
Saul Morrison: Thank you for choosing Sears. My name is Saul. How may I assist you?
Customer: HI I HAVE AN ELITE WHITE REFRIGIRATOR FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS
Customer: THIS FRIGE IS NOTHING BUT TRUBBLE THE VEG FRUIT COMPARTMENT BROKE DOWN I HAVE TO GLUE IT ALL THE TIME THIS IS HOW A FRIGE HAS TO BE
Saul Morrison: Hi there. I'm sorry to hear that your refrigerator has a problem.
Saul Morrison: I will be happy to help you schedule a repair service appointment to fix that.
Customer: ALSO THE 2 COMPARTMENTS KEEP BREAKIBG THIS IS A INFERIOR PRODUCT AND I AM NOT READY TO TAKE IT ANYMORE
Customer: THANK YOU
Saul Morrison: To help you with the repair appointment, may I please have your phone number with the area code and your email address?
Customer:
Saul Morrison: Thank you. May I also have your full name and service address, including city, state and zip code?
Customer:
Customer:
Saul Morrison: Thank you for the details.
Saul Morrison: Is this in reference to your Kenmore refrigerator purchased on 04/27/2007?
Customer: YES I GUESS IF YOU SEE THE RECORD WE HAVE PURE PROBLEMS WITH IT FROM DAY ONE
Saul Morrison: Yes, I see that you have had scheduled repair appointment before. I'm really sorry that the appliance is give you so much problems. I will quickly check on the available date and schedule the appointment.
Saul Morrison: Will the service address remain the same as you provided me for the appointment?
Customer: YES, THANKS
Saul Morrison: The first available date we have for service is on Thursday, November 5th 2009, between the hours of 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM.
Saul Morrison: Will that work for you?
Customer: OK NO PROBLEM
Saul Morrison: Okay. The technician will call you to confirm service and give you an estimated time of arrival.
Saul Morrison: If the technician is not able to reach you, he will assume that you are not home and the appointment will need to be rescheduled.
Saul Morrison: Do you have an alternate phone number where you can be reached?
Customer: CAN YOU GIVE ME A PHONE NUMBER TO CALL
Customer: YES MY NUMBER IS
Customer: WILL HE BRING WITH HIM THE REPLACMENT PARTS THE DRAWERS AND SHELF
Saul Morrison: Thank you. Yes, they will have most of the basic parts needed for the repair, however, if there are any special parts needed they will order it for you.
Customer: THANK YOU VERY MUCH
Saul Morrison: Let me explain you about the payment options.
Saul Morrison: We offer you two options for service.
Saul Morrison: Our technician will examine your product and provide you a detailed estimate for your approval. If you choose to decline the estimate, you will be responsible for a fee of $65.00.
Saul Morrison: Our second offer is our Service Smart Agreement which is $267.11 with tax.
Saul Morrison: The Service Smart agreement covers the entire cost of repair including parts, plus you get an extended warranty on your entire product for one year.
Customer: WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY FOR YOUR DEFECTIVE PRODUCT I WANT THE REPLACMENT PARTS FOR FREE AND I WILL INSTALL THEM
Saul Morrison: I'm sorry, we do not have replacement parts for free and it would be best if a certified technician takes care of the problem.
Customer: you leave me no choise but to advertise the quality of you product on the internet such as my 3 cents etc, I demand a new shelf and new compartment or else
Saul Morrison: We will replace the shelves with a new one, however, the charges will apply.
Customer: why do I need to pay for your faults
Saul Morrison: I'm really sorry that you refrigerator is not as you had expected it to be, however, I see that as the appliance is not covered under warranty or any protection agreement, I can only schedule a regular repair service appointment.
Customer: here is a sample of criticism on your product I wish I read it before I made the mistake
Customer: My Kenmore elite frig, only 2 years old, stopped working, completely dead. I was told I would have to wait 5 days for a repairman! I have a warranty, I ask if I called my own reppairman would they cover the cost of the repair..they said no. I would have to wait for their repairman!! Never ever again will I buy their junk and horrible service!
Customer: this is only one sample if you go to my3cents.com you will be surprise
Saul Morrison: I'm really sorry, you can write a complaint about the problem with your refrigerator our Complaint Department also at 3333 Beverly Road, Hoffman Estates, IL-60179.
Customer: can you give me a phone number to call pr can you have one of your supervisors call me now
Saul Morrison: You can call us at 1-800-4MY-HOME (1-800-469-4663) for that.
Saul Morrison: Would you like me to schedule this appointment for you?
Saul Morrison: I'll remain available for another moment if you need further assistance.
Customer: not for charge here is one more complain looks like I did a big mistake and you want to charge me more for that
Customer: Lots of Frigidaire complaints, mine is a Sears Elite (aka Frigidaire). Had it 6 months, ice buildup in freezer. 1st tech?, used laptop to ask what to do, ordered a 6 hr defrost timer. 2nd. tech?, said it was not the timer but air infiltraton, reversed gasket, took parts 1st tech? ordered. 3rd tech?, said it was also air infiltration but in the freezer itself, caulked the walls.

4th tech? was 2nd tech? back again, said he had to order the parts h
Saul Morrison: I understand your frustration about this and I apologize for the inconvenience caused. I really wish I could help you further, however, I'm here only to schedule the appointment.
Saul Morrison: You can call us at the toll free number I provided and talk with a supervisor and see if they can help you further.
Saul Morrison: You can also write a complaint at the address I provided.
Saul Morrison: Is there anything else I can help you with

Replies
Control Board Defective on Freezer, Only Replace if Customer Pays
By -

I bought a Kenmore/Elite Trio from Sears. I found out afterwards it was made by LG. It was installed at Christmas, 2005. Shortly thereafter I noticed ice on the meat drawer in freezer. Sears tech came out about another problem and did not seem concerned about the ice. For the next year, the ice would build up, I would clean it off. In 2010 it became unbearable since water was pouring in the floor, 2 in. of ice on freezer bottom each week, all food covered in ice.

Called Sears - was told I would have to commit to $250 up front and they would be out in 2 weeks. Day of appt. arrived and they called to cancel - said they would have to come another day. I could not commit since my husband has alzheimers, parkinson, one leg, and heart disease. He was going through many tests and I am his sole caregiver, making an appt. for anything requires a lot of prep in advance.

I called a local company that came that day but the tech said there was a problem with the evap. fan motor, but he could not get info from Sears on how to fix it. Paid $95 for that. The water continued pouring and the ice had to be cleaned out every week - by lying on the floor and cracking the ice with a pancake flipper and sliding it out on a tray to be dumped. Not great for a 65 year old. After Christmas, I contacted a tech that has been in business over 50 years and he confirmed it was something to do with the evap. fan motor but Sears would not divulge how to fix it and only Sears techs had that info.

He also said there was a service flash that many of the same appliances had the same prob. Paid him $75 and then called Sears. Said there was a service flash but I would have to pay $70 for a tech to confirm that I had a problem. He did but then told me the company said I would have to pay $376 for parts and labor.

I refused and began calling. I was switched from Sears Resolutions, to Sears Customer Service, to LG, to a company that recalls parts, to Kenmore Elite, to Sears Resolutions. Said they could offer me $65 or 10% off a new fridge after I had just said I was not spending any more money with them. Again was told to call back next morning after tech's report had gotten in the system.

Kenmore Elite agreed that I should not pay, said LG should. Sears said that LG should but that my warranty expired in Dec. 2010. NO ONE and I mean NO ONE had told me before that LG had a warranty on the parts until Christmas 2010. Sears broke their contract with me by not showing the year before on the service call and just casually said they would have to reschedule.

I have been told to give up, pay the money, and move on because either the $65 or 10% off a new appliance is the best offer I will get. I spent a little over $2000 for this appliance and Sears, Kenmore Elite and LG have all passed the buck, ignored the hundreds of people that have the same complaint, delay appt. times until people give up and their warranties run out.

I have only hit the highlights of what I have been through. This has taken a lot from my health as I suffer from high blood pressure, has really interfered in the care of my husband, have to watch for water pouring on the floor to keep from falling and then to be insulted by being passed off to person after person and made to feel like a complete idiot when I said they should pay for a defective part. If the part was worn out, then I would certainly agree to pay, but this has been a problem since the beginning of 2006. Nobody listens and nobody cares, but Sears will lose far more business than this would have cost them to resolve the problem.

Replies
Master Protection Plan - Shipment of Defective Parts, Inability to Repair Appliances
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAWTON, OKLAHOMA -- My husband and I have a Master Protection Plan for all of our Sears appliances since 1983. Recently we decided to request service for some of the appliances that we were having problems with. The A & E repairman arrived in Nov 2013 and did not fix any of the problems nor did he attempt to fix the problems. He stated that I should fix my appliances. His name was **. I told him that we were having problems with the buttons on the washer and dryer i.e. would remain depressed or stuck. He stated that I should clean it with alcohol. Then I told him that the same thing happened on the refrigerator and he stated that I should use alcohol. So I tried the alcohol.

So the refrigerator started dispensing water and would not stop so my kitchen floor was flooded. I called back so another repairman arrived a week later. Let's say his name was **. ** was unsuccessful in repairing the refrigerator and unbeknownst to my husband and I, ** closed the service log and stated that it was repaired. ** stated that the part was not the correct color and that he would check on it.

He also gave my husband his personal number to call him because he ordered a part that he thought would fix the water problem. So when the part arrived, ** did not answer his phone nor did he return messages left on his voice mail. Finally we called Sears and scheduled another service. We explained to Sears that the part that was ordered - was the wrong part according to **.

So Sears ordered a new part. Another technician came named **. ** arrived without a part. ** has no idea of the service history. So his supervisor asked him to leave our residence. Then ** came out and referred to this part as "cosmetic." After talking with Sears my husband and I were instructed to pay something for this part and we may be reimbursed for this "cosmetic" part. We never wanted a part for cosmetic purposes. I just wanted the repair to stop the defective water leak and ice dispenser leakage.

My husband and I have missed a total of 4 days of work to try to resolve this issue. And to date there is no repair. So what do we do: (1) Continue to call Sears for hours on end; (2) Slip and fall and receive a fracture or worse; (3) Continue on the same path; (4) Pray that Sears will maintain their end of the service agreement.

Replies
Do NOT Buy a Kenmore!
By -

Two years ago, when we began our mostly DIY kitchen remodel, we bought a Kenmore Dishwasher and a Kenmore Range, spending about $1,000 total. We do not have a lot of money, so this was a huge expense for us. First, right after the one-year warranty passed, our range began malfunctioning in a disturbing and dangerous way. The burner would heat to blazing hot, no matter what temperature it was set at, and would refuse to turn off when we turned it off.

I spent several days fighting with Kenmore on the phone, and they finally sent someone to fix the malfunctioning burner. Not long after, the other burners started doing the same thing. Not long after, I saw that some Kenmore flat-top ranges had been recalled for doing *exactly what mine was doing*.

I called Kenmore to tell them that mine was obviously a lemon and should be recalled, and that the recall says that doing what my range was doing constitutes "a fire and a burn hazard to consumers." The guy basically said, "sorry too bad" and was very cocky and told me that if mine specifically wasn't part of the recall, they would do nothing, regardless of if I "feel" it's a fire and burn hazard. I couldn't believe his attitude.

Second, the dishwasher. A few months ago, it stopped cleaning the top rack and stopped getting the soap out of the dispenser. It was diagnosed as needing a new pump, which costs almost as much as buying a new dishwasher, at less than two years old. Now Sears wants $200 to fix it.

Hmmm, do I give this company $200 more of my money and reward them for making crappy appliances that crap out right after their year warranty is up? Or do I put my defective Kenmore on the curb and buy a dishwasher from a real company? We just now finished our remodel and the "new" appliances we bought, after just barely two years, have both crapped out and are worse than the old ones we got rid of. Learn from my mistake - DO NOT BUY A KENMORE!!!

Replies
Kenmore Elite Series Products Are Junk
By -

My wife and I purchased all new Kenmore elite kitchen appliances two years ago. Since day one we have had nothing but trouble with the appliances. This includes refrigerator, range top, range vent, microwave, and dishwasher. the dishwasher was the first thing to go bad. from the second it was plugged in, it did not work. it appeared Sears had sold us a demo dishwasher as a new one. The motherboard was defective and it was delivered with the power cord attached. The problem with this is the fact new ones do not come with a power cord, and are intended to be hard wired. When confronted, they quickly replaced it.

After being replaced, it wasn't long before, you guessed it, this one broke down and again I was running the gauntlet with Sears to get it repaired. Not long after this the refrigerator stopped functioning properly. Luckily, it was under warranty and I did not have to pay the 800.00 dollar bill. Soon after this, the main heating element in the oven simply burned into two pieces. It was like pulling teeth to get this fixed.

After extensive calling, Sears came around to getting it fixed. Again, this was under warranty. It doesn't stop here. Now my appliances are out of warranty and everything is falling apart. The oven door hinge has fallen off and the oven is displaying an F10 code. The company will do nothing to help and this problem will require a 2-4 hundred dollar fix. It gets better, the range vent is electronic and submerges and emerges from behind the range once turned on. When one pushes the button to turn it on, it comes on and goes up and down continuously, and not working at all of course.

In case you are wondering or considering buying Kenmore elite products, consider this. My wife and I are older, we do not have children at home, are seldom home to use the appliances and are particular about caring for our belongings. To cap this situation off, Kenmore corporation as well as Sears will do nothing to help in this, and couldn't care less. Beware, Kenmore is junk and is the worst of the worst in appliances. Sears is the distributor, who seems to accept and emulate Kenmore's shyster like business practice.

Replies
Kenmore Ice Maker Won't Work... Again!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BERLIN, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- Bought a Sears Kenmore model 253.7031* February 2013. Three months after purchasing it the main circuit board fried and they sent us a replacement. Ten months after having the replacement the ice maker quit working. Had it fixed and here it is 11 months later, ice maker quit working again!

Called Sears to tell them it's the second time the "replacement" fridge has a problem and the first one was so defective they took it back. Since it was out of warranty (repairs are warranty covered for 90 days) and we had no extended service they want me to pay $95 for a service call, the cost of the part when he comes back plus his hourly rate! NO WAY!

Replies
Kenmore Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- I bought a Kenmore Ultra Dishwasher Model # 665.13843K601 Serial # FW1712755 on 05/02/2008 from Sears. It stopped working in 2012 and I replaced the control panel on 08/18/2012. Again on 01/20/2014 it stopped working. I replaced the thermal fuse. Still it doesn't work. I have to replace the control panel again. I have already spent $160 on a $500 appliance. I am wondering if I should spend another $130 for a new control panel or go for a new brand of dishwasher! I used to have another brand of dishwasher for 16 years without any problem... I regret buying Kenmore product. I will never buy or recommend Kenmore products.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

THORNTON, COLORADO -- We purchased a Kenmore elite water heater from Sears 3 years ago. Everything was until it stopped working. It turned out that the Sears installer had installed it with a small leak in the supply line connection, which dripped into the heater and rusted out the tank. Kenmore charged us $75 to send someone out. He said "talk to the store", they said "call the national service line", they transferred us to another service line, they sent us to the "Water Heater Hotline". They told us there was nothing they would do. We just bought a new GE water heater from Home Depot. I understand now why Sears is going to go bankrupt.

Replies
Non-Functioning Water & Ice Dispensor
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOWIE, MARYLAND -- We bought a Kenmore Elite bottom freezer refrigerator in July 2011. In March of 2012 the problem started. The water and ice dispenser stopped working. It works for a few days or weeks and stops. I usually find water on my kitchen floor as an indicator. Sears Repair has been to our home 8 times as of today. The tech spent 3 hours at my house last week, still not fixed.

They know that there is an electrical shortage, but they can't find it. It is not working now, they have ordered another part. Sears has REFUSED to replace the refrigerator, they just will continue to "fix" it. We do have warranty protection. I'm so tired of this. When you pay this much for a product you expect it to last longer. I will not buy another product from Sears.

Replies
Kenmore Chest Freezer 19502 Failed in 2.5 Years.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PITTSFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS -- I bought a Kenmore Chest Freezer, Model # 19502 in Feb 2011. Today (July 16, 2013) I find that it was "on" but everything inside had thawed. There was no power surge, no power outage, it was plugged in, the light was still on. After turning the switch to off and back on, it didn't work so I hit the light. Magically the compressor turned back on.

So I've thrown out a freezer full of food to the tune of at least a $200. This freezer is also the subject of a rebate because it does NOT meet the energy standards that it was advertised as meeting. The result from that was a check for something like $12 that I have to reapply for each year for 3 years.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >