Preview Review

Next Review

Best Buy Computers Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Refused to replace a junk product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JOLIET, ILLINOIS -- My BBB complaint against Best Buy filed moments ago.... Don't bother buying from them. They do not stand behind their products, their customer service is a joke, and their protection programs do nothing but tick people off. Enjoy the complaint:

Filed against: Best Buy - Joliet 1500 N. Larkin Joliet IL 60435-3769 Complaint Description: On 3/2/2013 I purchased a new Toshiba Laptop, My receipt shows: ** - WIN8/14"/I5/6GB from Best Buy in Joliet, IL. I also purchased a protection and replacement plan, for one year, GSP # **. On 5/28/2013, my computer would not boot up. I called Geek Squad, and the agent stated I did not have a protection plan and there was nothing he could do for me. He directed me to call Best Buy. Called (888) 229-3770, I was transferred twice, then told again, I did not have a protection plan and there was nothing they could do.

I should contact the manufacturer, or go into Best Buy and pay for the repair. I asked to be connected to the Joliet store, and she refused. I then called the store, who again told me there was no Protection Plan in place. Asked to talk to Corporate, and was given the 888-237-8289 number. Called there, was transferred twice more, got put through to "Agent **", who finally believed me when I said I purchased the protection program and looked up my receipt. She said that there was something wrong with the number they had given me and it wasn't showing up in the computer. She directed me to take my computer into the store.

I did, they told me it was a failed hard drive, it was the third they've seen this week in a computer less than 3 months old, and it would take 1-2 days to fix. They also told me that I would lose all of my data, because my protection program did not cover that. On 5/30/2013, I checked the status of my repair, and I was shocked to see that it hadn't even been checked in yet. I called the store, who informed me that the repair was on the hard drive, there was nothing I could have done. The hard drive failed and it would be 2-3 weeks before I could get my computer back. I explained that wasn't an option.

I use this computer for work, and will be out over $50 per day in lost wages each day I did not have it. I spoke to the Manager, **. I asked for a replacement or a refund. She refused. Called the Corporate number. Spoke to Agent **. Explained my situation. She also refused. Spoke to her supervisor. I asked if I had brought in a product that I had dropped, and it shattered into a million pieces, if it would be replaced. She stated "It would." I asked why I should lose over $900 waiting on my computer for the next 3 weeks if it could be replaced. She again refused to do anything further.

I was sold a faulty product less than 3 months ago, and they are not standing behind their product or even acknowledging the lost wages this will cost me because of that faulty product. I have been treated as an inconvenience and an annoyance, hung up on, and transferred more times than I can count. Your Desired Resolution: I would like a new computer of equal or lesser value as quickly as possible. If I am unable to get a computer quickly, I would like my lost wages of $50 per day along with the new computer when they do finally fix their mistake.

Replies
Advertisement
Best Buy proved to be the Worst Buy of my entire life
By -

WEST HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT -- Do you remember the days before the big chain stores when there was customer service? I can recall going to G. Fox in Hartford, Connecticut and being waited on by a sales representative without sending out a search party. I can also recall a “no questions” asked policy of returning merchandise. About a month ago, during the crunch time of tax season, I purchased an expensive laptop on sale at a Best Buy nearby.

At the time of purchase, I knew that I would not have the time then to set the computer up, install various programs, go out and purchase additional programs (since my older computer had Windows Xp and this new laptop had Windows 7), install these new programs as well, and transfer all of my data files onto the new computer. Such a laborious process often consumes a week's time if all goes well; otherwise, it could consume an eternity.

So I left the laptop sealed and packaged in what appeared to be a flawlessly intact box, believing that it was better left protected in styrofoam, hermetically seal plastic wrap, and a thick cardboard casing than on a desk, prey to six very curious cats. Of course, I foolishly thought that if there were any problems with the laptop, that I could exchange it at Best Buy for another laptop. How dumb! Yesterday when I finally had time to set up the new laptop, I opened the box, only to discover that the monitor screen had been damaged, making the computer completely useless.

Consequently, I hopped into my car and drove down to Best Buy, expecting to exchange the computer for an undamaged one. How dumb again! When I attempted to exchange the laptop, the manager on duty regarded me with the suspicion of a Gestapo officer examining my DNA. In spite of my repeated assurances that I had not dropped the laptop - swearing up and down that I had not even removed it from the box - he was as unmoved as an IRS agent seizing the very last dollar from my bank account.

I explained to him that I had deliberately kept it in its protective styrofoam, sealed and unopened, and stored it in a safe place in my home, away from any temperature extremes, until I was prepared to set it up. My pleas of innocence were of no consequence. He refused to exchange it. He did, however, offer to send it back to the manufacturer, adding, with the look of “don't hold your breath', that it would be entirely up to the manufacturer as to whether the damaged laptop would be replaced by Toshiba. It then occurred to me that Best Buy was simply throwing me under the bus to the whim of a manufacturer located perhaps in some very far off distant land.

The young lady at the desk, who processed my service requisition to have the laptop sent back to Toshiba for possible consideration of an exchange, explained that unless customers return their damaged laptops within an hour or so after purchase, that they are often regarded with the suspicion of having damaged the laptops themselves. I then regretted not having brought a urine sample. I then looked in vain for a lie detector test behind the customer service desk. So I decided to post this blog entry to make other individuals aware of Best Buy's posture toward its customers. There's an old saying: buyer beware.

I would also caution when purchasing anything at Best Buy, be afraid…be very afraid, and be certain to bring along your attorney, a notary public, and two witnesses. Needless to say, I recommend never buying anything at Best Buy. But if you do not mind being regarded as a liar, then I suggest before you purchase a laptop from Best Buy, that you have the sales clerk remove it from the box, plug it in, and then test every possible feature and program on that laptop for hours, if not days, before removing it from the store. Best Buy proved to be the Worst Buy of my entire life.

Replies
Bought four HP Laptops - all four faulty hard drives
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

PORTLAND, OREGON -- I bought THREE HP Pavilion Laptops at about the same time for family members - and ALL THREE had failed Hard Drives. I actually had two of them in the tech shop at Best Buy at the same time. One of the three was irreparable, so kicking in a little money it was replaced at Best Buy and is the G6 HP Pavilion that I will now talk about. The computer that I replaced the third lap top with is a HP Pavilion G6 Series. Purchased it on August 18, 2012. HARD DRIVE Failure, in the shop March 18, 2013.

The SECOND HARD DRIVE FAILURE happened just nine months later on December 8, 2013. I took it back to Best Buy. But by now my one-year warranty for the computer is now out-of-warranty. They did say they would replace the Hard Drive as it had just been replaced in March of 2013. The diagnostic tool on HP said it was a Hard Drive Failure. The following day I got a call from BEST BUY - They inform me that the problem is not the Hard Drive, it is the motherboard. BEST BUY tells me it would not be worth the cost to fix, and just buying a new one would be the best thing to do.

I pick up the HP Laptop from Best Buy. I have to say at this point didn't really trust what was said to me about the laptop. I was told also when picking up my laptop, that the diagnostic tool in HP's are not real reliable. I get home, decide to look at the hard drive - open it to view the hard drive and lo and behold when it was replaced in March 2013 - it was replaced by a TOSHIBA hard drive. I call Toshiba.... no warranty on the nine month hard drive. Why? I believe because the TOSHIBA was put in an HP product and not a Toshiba product. Called HP - not their problem and that this has to do with where I bought it at which was BEST BUY.

BUYER BEWARE of the WARRANTY specs on your product. They can use replacement parts (where you have it purchased, i.e. Best Buy when you get warranty work done) that are not genuine parts for the computer - HP told me this. I will NEVER buy another HP product.

Replies
Poor Repair Service and Unhelpful Staff
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODLAND PARK, NEW JERSEY -- In August 2012 I purchased an Asus G75VW laptop from the Best Buy in Woodland Park, New Jersey. I was wary about purchasing such an expensive item but ended up even opening a credit line with them in order to file this purchase. I have lived in the area all my life and have always gone to Best Buy for my electronics and gaming needs. Two weeks ago the hard drive on the laptop went bad and it would not boot up. After speaking with several customer service reps I found out that I could bring it into the store and they would send it out for repairs for free because it is still under manufacturer's warranty.

I took it in and dropped it off. The technician removed the battery and gave it back to me and told me they did not need the charger. Yesterday, April 4, 2013, I went to pick up my laptop at the same Best Buy location. Having no battery or charger the tech was able to plug it in and turn it on. Upon turning it on the screen immediately showed a. exe error which means a program did not work correctly. The technician had already had me sign the paperwork for the "repair" before he turned it on. Before I could ask him about this new issue he turned away and began helping another customer. I had several questions about the repair that went unanswered.

After arriving home and rebooting the laptop the error message came up again. After trying to open several programs that come pre-installed with this laptop I received more exe errors and some did not open at all. I took my laptop back to the store today, April 5, 2013, and since I did not need the battery or charger the first time I did not bring the charger but did leave the battery in. I was instructed to return home to bring back the charger because they no longer have the charger they had yesterday. I was told that if I did not bring back the charger they would not do the repair and if I did not pick up the laptop it would be recycled.

As I was waiting for a technician another customer brought in a stand alone PC tower with no cords or cables and a technician was promptly able to accommodate him with the proper power supply. This is a laptop and a company that Best Buy frequently sells and repairs on site. After speaking to an Asus representative I also found out that Best Buy strips the laptops and does not include all the appropriate accessories for this model.

Replies
Advertisement
Deceptive business practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- I recently had an experience at Best Buy that suggested some highly unethical and predatory practices. I purchased a Nook that was defective, stopped working after using twice. Best Buy refused to allow me to return it though it was within the guidelines of their written return policy. I was able to work directly with Barnes and Noble for the return of an item I bought at Best Buy.

I wanted to share some of my research on the current unethical practices engaged in by Best Buy that corroborate my recent interactions with them that reflect their malevolent intents and attitudes toward their customers, as written in Forbes Magazine, as quoted here:

"Employees, I learned, are strongly conditioned to see every customer who walks in the store as a potential target, one who needs to be coerced into buying something other than what they came looking for. But you can't treat the customer as an adversary in a battle of wills. You can't provide superior service when you've been drilled to view each person who walks into your store as prey. You can't be a trusted source of expertise on consumer electronics when, as many former employees told me, failure to follow the company script means getting your hours cut or simply being fired."

"Best Buy employees are trained to focus on customers. But not so much to serve them as to overpower them. It is not being "customer-centric" when your laser-beam focus is on sizing the customer up and looking for weaknesses in their resistance to buying products and service they didn't come looking for." **

As described above, my own experience above reflects to a tee what Mr. Downes has identified. While everyone knows a defective item is returnable according to written policy, Best Buy staff "sized me up" and determined I could be conquered, and they were determined to do so for the simple reason of their vulnerability to job insecurity, including the possibility of being terminated and certainly being excluded from promotional rights and privileges as well being judged as weak by their peers.

In conclusion, I could have taken to task Best Buy staff and probably would have won but the more humane interaction with the online company Barnes and Noble, was less time consuming and stressful. More simple to do, as millions of other consumers of electronics in today's world have done, walk away from Best Buy... Forever. I take solace in the knowledge that as Best Buy appears to continue its tailspin with the continuation of predatory practices, soon to be unemployed.

Replies
Return Policy Is Laughable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

METAIRIE, LOUISIANA -- Last week we bought 2 laptops, a printer and a tablet from Best Buy, over $2000 in products. The tablet was a gift for my son who only received it yesterday. After 6 hours of use at his desk the screen cracked, not dropped just cracked. Called manufacturer. Their advice was to return to Best Buy before trying to exchange through them. After 2 trips to Best Buy we still have a tablet that does not work, first time was told we purchased it 8 days ago and they only exchange products with cracked screens within the first 2 days. Talked to a manager at another store who said since it was a gift he would exchange it.

Arrived at store only to be told by same manager that they would not exchange it because it had been used and it was a condition of abuse, again never dropped and only used for 6 hours. Customer service rep and manager were rude and did not want to hear that it was a gift or what manufacturer said. Also was rude when my son mentioned that there are several reports of screen issues on the internet.

Replies
Price Match Promise Is A Lie
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

BLAINE, MINNESOTA -- I went to Best Buy, to purchase the Google Nexus 7 tablet. Walmart was having a pre-Black Friday sale price of $100 less than Best Buy. After the sales clerk told me she could match Walmart's price; she spent the next 40 minutes trying to find absolutely any reason to deny the price match. Even though, all of the specs matched, this clerk managed to find a single number discrepancy in one of the specs. She then proclaimed the devices weren't the same and she couldn't price match.

After my protest, she had the brass to tell me not to just go to Walmart because they had poor customer service! There is a reason Best Buy is so much financial trouble! Save your time, if you find a better price at a different store, just go buy it there.

Replies
Irritating, Tiresome, Time Consuming,
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- My computer was freezing, disconnecting, shutting down. 1St trip to Best Buy they hooked it to diagnostics said it was fine took it home. Not. 2Nd trip they kept it. Called days later said its fixed. Not. 3Rd trip sent it to manufacturer replaced hard drive said fixed. Not. 4Th trip sent it to manufacturer said fixed. Not. 5Th trip. By the way was 8 months old at start now 11 months old. Take it back after having a fit - gave me store credit got a different computer. Now 3 weeks old computer won' t hook up to internet. Replaced modem - 3 cords says no network driver then install driver says no network adapter. Explored updates.

There are updates for February and June of 2013. I got this computer August of 2013.. In the past 2 yrs I have returned 2 phones 1 month apart a ps3 and an mp3. Do they sell anything that works???? It is a shame they ran other electronics stores out of business then jack up prices and sell 2nd hand junk! After this I will travel distances not to buy a damn thing from any Best Buy.

Replies
Advertisement
What Customer Service?? - NonExistent - Rude
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, TEXAS -- Best Buy customer service at Grand Parkway continues to decline. The store is outdated and the bad experiences I have there never cease to amaze me. I just took a student there interested in buying a laptop. They had 15 people there to help the iPhone customers while we waited for more than 20 minutes and never did get help. Even after asking at the front of the store and them radioing someone, a customer just walking into the department not waiting at all was greeted by a blue shirt. Went back to the front again and the manager greeted me with excuses. Seems that Best Buy is about the same as WalMart when it comes to customer service these days!!!

Replies
Buying New Computer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MEDFORD, OREGON -- July 11, 2013. I went to Best Buy looking to purchase a NEW computer. When I took it to my computer guy to have him put my programs from my old computer on it he found that the new computer that I had just purchased NEW had someone else assigned to it. He showed me the couple's picture and email address. He asked me if I knew these people. I said no. When I took the computer back the person asked me why I returning the computer. I told him "because you sold me a used computer". He said "oh".

Then I could not receive my money back right there. They had to snail mail a check because it was more than $500.00. How many other people have purchased a new computer and paid a new computer price only to maybe get a refurbished one and not being told it is refurbished. I am very disappointed in this store.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Best Buy Computers Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 24 ratings and
155 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Best Buy
7601 Penn Ave. South
Richfield, MN 55423
1-800-369-5050 (ph)
www.bestbuy.com
cr@bestbuy.com
Product/Services
Compare Superstores