Preview Review

Next Review

Best Buy Computers Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Best Buy proved to be the Worst Buy of my entire life
By -

WEST HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT -- Do you remember the days before the big chain stores when there was customer service? I can recall going to G. Fox in Hartford, Connecticut and being waited on by a sales representative without sending out a search party. I can also recall a “no questions” asked policy of returning merchandise. About a month ago, during the crunch time of tax season, I purchased an expensive laptop on sale at a Best Buy nearby.

At the time of purchase, I knew that I would not have the time then to set the computer up, install various programs, go out and purchase additional programs (since my older computer had Windows Xp and this new laptop had Windows 7), install these new programs as well, and transfer all of my data files onto the new computer. Such a laborious process often consumes a week's time if all goes well; otherwise, it could consume an eternity.

So I left the laptop sealed and packaged in what appeared to be a flawlessly intact box, believing that it was better left protected in styrofoam, hermetically seal plastic wrap, and a thick cardboard casing than on a desk, prey to six very curious cats. Of course, I foolishly thought that if there were any problems with the laptop, that I could exchange it at Best Buy for another laptop. How dumb! Yesterday when I finally had time to set up the new laptop, I opened the box, only to discover that the monitor screen had been damaged, making the computer completely useless.

Consequently, I hopped into my car and drove down to Best Buy, expecting to exchange the computer for an undamaged one. How dumb again! When I attempted to exchange the laptop, the manager on duty regarded me with the suspicion of a Gestapo officer examining my DNA. In spite of my repeated assurances that I had not dropped the laptop - swearing up and down that I had not even removed it from the box - he was as unmoved as an IRS agent seizing the very last dollar from my bank account.

I explained to him that I had deliberately kept it in its protective styrofoam, sealed and unopened, and stored it in a safe place in my home, away from any temperature extremes, until I was prepared to set it up. My pleas of innocence were of no consequence. He refused to exchange it. He did, however, offer to send it back to the manufacturer, adding, with the look of “don't hold your breath', that it would be entirely up to the manufacturer as to whether the damaged laptop would be replaced by Toshiba. It then occurred to me that Best Buy was simply throwing me under the bus to the whim of a manufacturer located perhaps in some very far off distant land.

The young lady at the desk, who processed my service requisition to have the laptop sent back to Toshiba for possible consideration of an exchange, explained that unless customers return their damaged laptops within an hour or so after purchase, that they are often regarded with the suspicion of having damaged the laptops themselves. I then regretted not having brought a urine sample. I then looked in vain for a lie detector test behind the customer service desk. So I decided to post this blog entry to make other individuals aware of Best Buy's posture toward its customers. There's an old saying: buyer beware.

I would also caution when purchasing anything at Best Buy, be afraid…be very afraid, and be certain to bring along your attorney, a notary public, and two witnesses. Needless to say, I recommend never buying anything at Best Buy. But if you do not mind being regarded as a liar, then I suggest before you purchase a laptop from Best Buy, that you have the sales clerk remove it from the box, plug it in, and then test every possible feature and program on that laptop for hours, if not days, before removing it from the store. Best Buy proved to be the Worst Buy of my entire life.

Replies
Advertisement
Bought four HP Laptops - all four faulty hard drives
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

PORTLAND, OREGON -- I bought THREE HP Pavilion Laptops at about the same time for family members - and ALL THREE had failed Hard Drives. I actually had two of them in the tech shop at Best Buy at the same time. One of the three was irreparable, so kicking in a little money it was replaced at Best Buy and is the G6 HP Pavilion that I will now talk about. The computer that I replaced the third lap top with is a HP Pavilion G6 Series. Purchased it on August 18, 2012. HARD DRIVE Failure, in the shop March 18, 2013.

The SECOND HARD DRIVE FAILURE happened just nine months later on December 8, 2013. I took it back to Best Buy. But by now my one-year warranty for the computer is now out-of-warranty. They did say they would replace the Hard Drive as it had just been replaced in March of 2013. The diagnostic tool on HP said it was a Hard Drive Failure. The following day I got a call from BEST BUY - They inform me that the problem is not the Hard Drive, it is the motherboard. BEST BUY tells me it would not be worth the cost to fix, and just buying a new one would be the best thing to do.

I pick up the HP Laptop from Best Buy. I have to say at this point didn't really trust what was said to me about the laptop. I was told also when picking up my laptop, that the diagnostic tool in HP's are not real reliable. I get home, decide to look at the hard drive - open it to view the hard drive and lo and behold when it was replaced in March 2013 - it was replaced by a TOSHIBA hard drive. I call Toshiba.... no warranty on the nine month hard drive. Why? I believe because the TOSHIBA was put in an HP product and not a Toshiba product. Called HP - not their problem and that this has to do with where I bought it at which was BEST BUY.

BUYER BEWARE of the WARRANTY specs on your product. They can use replacement parts (where you have it purchased, i.e. Best Buy when you get warranty work done) that are not genuine parts for the computer - HP told me this. I will NEVER buy another HP product.

Replies
Return Policy Is Laughable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

METAIRIE, LOUISIANA -- Last week we bought 2 laptops, a printer and a tablet from Best Buy, over $2000 in products. The tablet was a gift for my son who only received it yesterday. After 6 hours of use at his desk the screen cracked, not dropped just cracked. Called manufacturer. Their advice was to return to Best Buy before trying to exchange through them. After 2 trips to Best Buy we still have a tablet that does not work, first time was told we purchased it 8 days ago and they only exchange products with cracked screens within the first 2 days. Talked to a manager at another store who said since it was a gift he would exchange it.

Arrived at store only to be told by same manager that they would not exchange it because it had been used and it was a condition of abuse, again never dropped and only used for 6 hours. Customer service rep and manager were rude and did not want to hear that it was a gift or what manufacturer said. Also was rude when my son mentioned that there are several reports of screen issues on the internet.

Replies
Price Match Promise Is A Lie
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

BLAINE, MINNESOTA -- I went to Best Buy, to purchase the Google Nexus 7 tablet. Walmart was having a pre-Black Friday sale price of $100 less than Best Buy. After the sales clerk told me she could match Walmart's price; she spent the next 40 minutes trying to find absolutely any reason to deny the price match. Even though, all of the specs matched, this clerk managed to find a single number discrepancy in one of the specs. She then proclaimed the devices weren't the same and she couldn't price match.

After my protest, she had the brass to tell me not to just go to Walmart because they had poor customer service! There is a reason Best Buy is so much financial trouble! Save your time, if you find a better price at a different store, just go buy it there.

Replies
Advertisement
Disappointed
By -

LYNNWOOD, WASHINGTON -- Let me start off by saying I truly do not leave reviews, ever. After my last experience with Best Buy, I want to at least notify people of the supposed "Best Buy". I purchased my first laptop this last Saturday, an Asus. I did not know too much about laptops in general, so I went through Best Buys' reviews a few days before that. I finally came in, and was helped by a very nice Samsung representative. Surprisingly, he answered all my questions about the Asus and complimented it and told me about his knowledge. It was interesting because not one of the salespeople came and offered any help.

After about an hour debating whether or not I want to spend $550 on this laptop, I decided to go ahead and buy it. Of course, then the salespeople are right there to help. Now I know they don't make commission, but I was disappointed as to feel noticed only when I would make a purchase. Not a biggie, as I went ahead and made my purchase, they convinced me I needed Geek Squad. I don't know how that service is, but I went ahead and did it knowing I am sometimes accident prone. Good program to have.

Then they started talking about paying for a service where they reboot my computer, install all the anti-virus and provide me with Windows Office so I would not have to go out and purchase it for $150. This service was $100, sounded like a great deal considering the Windows Office was $150. They made it "clear" to me that if I was to do all of these things, it would take me on about 9 hours to complete, would pay a lot extra out of my pocket, and I had only one chance to get it right or I would completely be out of luck and have to repurchase it all. This did not sound too appealing to me, so I went ahead and paid them an extra $100 to go ahead and do this.

Sounded great to me, although my bill came out to over $1000 from a $500 laptop. So they send me over to GeekSquad, assuring me that they would install everything for me. Well... the actual service ended up being about five minutes. I left, and yesterday I go to log-on to my Windows Office, only come to find that I received a Trial Offer of 60 days... To make matters worst, my anti-virus pops up to tell me it is out of date. Quite shocking and disappointing, I thought I paid them $100 to handle this all for me? So I call Lynnwood Best Buy Management, and I receive **. I told her my issue, and how I felt completely taken advantage of.

I am a college student after all, and $100 of NOTHING is a lot for me. So what ** told me was, I would need to purchase Microsoft Office for $150 and repurchase my anti-virus. I told her how I was told none of this and was told by the sales associates that this came included to me for the charge of $100. She told me there was nothing she can do. I asked her what the charge of $100 was for then, and what she told me was labor. They charged me labor for $100, FIVE minutes of labor.

I told her if there was any way she can at least take that charge off since I am going to have to go back and purchase the Microsoft Office and Anti-Virus. She said "No", that I need to be charged $100 because Geek Squad took the time out of their day to go ahead and do the service. Let me remind you... this was 5 minutes of service that I got some type of Trial Offer and an out-of-date Virus protection. I told ** I was quite surprised she showed no care, and was getting annoyed with me.

After 15 minutes on the phone, she told me "I have been on the phone with you for 15 minutes and you are not getting the answer you want, so I am going to end this conversation." and hung up on me. I was extremely hurt to know that I am out $100 dollars for the service will have to pay $200+ for Microsoft Office and Virus protection, and on top of that, **, manager of Best Buy hung up on me. Very disappointing, since my family and I had made purchases from Best Buy always. I will not be going back because their Install Service is a complete rip off, and I am out money because of their carelessness. Horrible service from a place I have spent so much money at.

Replies
Black Friday Fraud!
By -

We received inappropriate and likely illegal treatment at the Simi Valley store and by the Corporate office phone line. A group of us loyal customers, stood in line in front of the Simi Valley store on Wed. November 25, 2009, until Black Friday, November 27, 2009, in hopes of purchasing their advertised laptop for sale in the amount of $197. We were amongst the first 10 people in line who were guaranteed a laptop. We were advised the store had 40 more laptops on a first come first serve basis. On their website, it stated this was a ticketed item and only guaranteed a certain amount of customers to receive this item.

Come 3 am, when the employees were handing out tickets, we were advised that they were not handing out tickets for this item. One of the employees said the reason was because consumers have until 9 am, once receiving their ticket, to come and pick up the item. This allows them to receive their ticket at 3 am and go to another competitor store and do their shopping there before 9 am. By not ticketing this item, it prevents them from leaving the store, therefore, they will shop and spend more in the store.

We were advised that at 4:40 am, they were allowing the first 10 people in the store so they can be guaranteed their laptop, followed by increments of small groups every few minutes. Upon entering the store, we had asked the manager where could we find the $197 laptops. We were advised and directed by an employee to follow the red balloons and stand in line within the red tape. At 5 am, the cashiers would open and then we would be brought out our laptops. This way the first 10 would get their laptops guaranteed. Little by little, people were flooding in and grabbing items, while we all just watched and waited for 5 am.

At 5 am, we were called up to the register 1 by 1. I was the 3rd person who was to get a laptop and my group followed, along with the other families we got to know by spending two nights out in the cold, camping out in front of the store. When I got to the register I was told that they were all out of the laptops. Of course this caused pandemonium amongst all of us who sat out there since Wed, to be guaranteed a laptop! The management team was so unprofessional and advised us that it was our fault we did not receive the laptop and no one told us to sit out there since Wed. Of course this did not sit lightly with everyone.

The employees kept advising that they only guaranteed the first 10 people and the rest was at a first come first serve basis. We kept trying to tell them we WERE the first 10 people and had been sitting out there since Wed to guarantee our spot. The employees were not listening to us and were very rude and condescending, even one manager, **, jumped up on a stool and started yelling at us telling us to get out of the store. It even got to the point where they called the police on us. Now, while sitting outside the store since Wed. afternoon, we got to know the police in the area. They had patrolled by and kept an eye on us, for our safety.

They even would come by and have friendly conversations with us about our shopping spree, family, sports, etc. They knew we WERE the first in line. When the employees told the police of the situation, they just shook their heads at the employees and advised us that we had ourselves a civil action case and suggested we take the company to court. The police knew that some of us missed Thanksgiving dinner with our families to guarantee we got a laptop, as a Xmas gift for our children. We can not get that quality time back. Needless to say, the police were on our side and therefore, they just left the store.

A teenage boy who was standing in the line behind us for 2 days, happened to be in the area where they had the laptops and saw people who were at the end of the line outside, grabbing the laptops. He was lucky enough to grab one. He came over to where we were and heard the commotion. He knew we were outside the store for several days, he handed the laptop to a lady who was one of the first 10 people. He knew she should have received a laptop. This teenage boy knew Best Buy was wrong and that this lady should be getting this laptop, not him.

For a complete stranger, let alone a teenager, to recognize that Best Buy was in the wrong, was just very upsetting and shows how their company has lost compassion for the American consumers! When this lady went to purchase the $197 laptop she was promised was the price from Best Buy's advertisement and what was tagged right on the side of the laptop as $197, the employee tried to charge her $297. Again, we all were upset because this was not the price the advertisement announced.

The employee advised us that they had optimized ALL the laptops, which is $100 extra, and if she wanted to purchase the laptop and walk out with it that day, she would have to pay $100 extra. WHAT???!! Where in their advertisement did it say, "$197 laptop, $100 optimized - out the door $297". This is plain and simple FALSE ADVERTISEMENT!!! This was a scam by Best Buy!! Again, we were trying to argue this amount with the employees, which got us NOWHERE! We were again told several times that it was not the company's issues and if we had a problem to take it up with their corporate office.

When asked for the number, The store manager, **, rudely stated the number out loud and told us to leave. I had asked her to write the number down as well as her name. She rolled her eyes at me and wrote the number and her name on a card. She wrote her name so sloppy that we could not even read her name. She again told us she was not going to do anything and to leave the store. Of course we were very upset and appalled at the treatment we received from a well known store like Best Buy. We were treated like criminals and forced to leave the store. We sat outside the store, trying to get a hold of the corporate office and were hung up on.

We called back, and were advised it was not their issue, we had to handle it with the store. We even asked them what was the purpose of their corporate office, if they do not handle situations like this. We were even accused of being liars. After all this repetitive abuse, we decided to take matters one step further. We NEEDED someone to listen to us.

The family behind us, knew of a corporate attorney. She got on the phone with him and he advised us we had a class action case against Best Buy since there were several families involved in this matter and we had a store full of witnesses. Which by the way, these witnesses were pretty upset as well at the treatment we received and how this whole situation was handled that they provided us their contact numbers so they can be a witness if we needed them to be. The attorney advised he would take the case and file a class action suit against the company on ALL of our behalves. We wanted to try to give Best Buy a chance to settle this without going that far.

We were not looking to cause trouble, we just simply wanted to resolve this issue and receive an apology for the treatment we received. Again, we tried to call corporate. I spoke to a **. ** had called the store to try to get their side of the story. She stated the manager of the store's name was **. She stated that ** advised her that I had gone to another department to get another item, therefore I lost my place in line. ** also advised ** that they only guaranteed the first 10 in line. ** got back on the line with me and told me what she was told by **.

Now, this was very upsetting that Best Buy would hire a manager who would lie and try to turn things around like this. This not only makes her look very bad, but this is also a reflection on the company, especially with ** being the store manager. First of all, ** did not know who was calling and complaining. There was a group of us who were there, we were all upset and we all got on our cell phones to complain to corporate. There is no way she would have known who was on the phone since she never once asked our names to identify us.

The only way she would know I went to another department to get something else is if ALL 10 of us who were let in first, went to another department first together to get something else. Which of course was NOT the case! ** then advised me that it now turns into **'s story against mine. I had advised ** that I know for a fact that I was not the only one calling in and complaining and the others would have the same story as I did.

** told me that no one had called in and there are no complaints against this store. Which again was a lie because I was standing next to someone who just got off the phone with corporate with their complaint and there were several others right next to me on their cell phones with corporate as well. I advised ** it was not my story against **'s. I told her I know you guys have cameras in your store and if she wanted the truth to pull the video tapes, which will show we went up to the manager and we were directed to stand in a line within the red tape behind the cashiers.

I advised ** that we had contacted an attorney, as well as the media, and I was calling to give their company a chance to try to resolve this matter before we were to meet with the media that morning. I was then advised by ** to do what I feel like we needed to do because there was nothing she could do to help me. We met with Fox Channel 11 news, in front of the store, a half an hour later. We all expressed our concerns and complained about the customer service and treatment we were provided. We also expressed our concerns on the company's false advertisement. This was fraud, a scam!

The news interviewed the store manager, **, who stated unfortunately they did not have any more laptops to provide us, but in exchange, they would provide each of us with a $200 gift card and a discount on another item in the store. The representative from Fox news approached us and advised us of the offer from the store manager and then left. When the group (the 8 of us) approached ** to accept her offer, she then told us that she was not giving us each a gift card, she was just going to give one gift card in the amount of $200. This was ABSURD!! AGAIN, we were lied to by their employee, a manager at that!!

We, of course argued again with ** and advised her that we did not just stay 3 days and 2 nights in front of their store just for a $200 gift card for the 8 of us. We each were purchasing a laptop. All 8 of us did not stand in line just to purchase 1 laptop! After a while of complaining to **, she told us this was all she was going to do for us and we were not going to get anything more out of her. ** advised us to deal with corporate. She stated that by us complaining to corporate, they can do more for us then what she could.

** finally said she would just give two $200 gift cards to two of us and the rest could buy something else at a discount and then work it out with corporate to get something from them. I was very upset and to the point where I refused to purchase another item from Best Buy! Regardless of how good the deal was, I was NOT going to contribute another penny to a company who has NO respect for their faithful and loyal customers! Therefore, I was NOT going to purchase anything else for a discount. This whole thing has been a scam to rip off the American Consumers!!

We called corporate again and advised once more of the whole situation, and were told there was nothing they can do and it should have been handled in the store with the manager. Corporate even got ** on the other line so they can hear from ** what she wanted them to do for us. ** stated that she did not know why we were calling and she already gave us a discount and gift card. We reminded ** that she was the one who told us to work something out with corporate because she could not give us all the $200 gift card. ** denied ever telling us that.

We kept advising her of the whole conversation that took place in the store to refresh her memory and reminded her that she told us to deal directly with corporate to get this issue resolved. We have gotten nowhere with the corporate office and with the Simi Valley store management. We wrote a letter to the CEO of Best Buy and are hoping they provide us the $200 gift card and discount for another computer, that their manager had promised us on TV. We are still pending the results of this letter. I am so disappointed with Best Buy and I am hoping the CEO can restore my faith in this company. If not, I will boycott Best Buy every chance I get!

Replies
Best Buy Is The Worst!
By -

CHEVY CHASE, MARYLAND -- This past week my computer has not been working properly. The computer turns on; however, the screen only appears half the time. Seeing that I purchased this laptop from Best Buy, it seemed fitting to take it back to this very establishment to have it repaired. I called ahead to ensure that I didn't need an appointment to have it looked at and a team member of the Geek Squad assured me that I could come in and receive prompt attention. When I arrived to the store, I waited in line to see a member of the Geek Squad for about 15-20 minutes. There were about 3 to 4 people behind the counter and 1 customer was being helped at this time.

None of the employees were on the phone or assisting other customers, there were simply standing behind the counter chatting with one another. Finally, a young man asked me if I needed help. I then proceed to tell him how long I've had the computer and what is wrong with it. He doesn't even open it and he cuts me off and says, “You need a new screen. It will cost about $700.” At this point, I didn't feel that a new screen was necessary since it does display half the time. Granted, I am not a computer expert, but given that this employee didn't even looked at my computer, I was not overly confident in his suggestion.

I tried to explain my story once more and again he cut me off and said, “It is either the screen or a graphic card, both are pretty expensive. Do you have a warranty?” I tell him that I am not sure and without skipping a beat, he shoved the computer back to me (still never having opened it) and told me to take to it customer service. Still a little hesitant, I complied and went to the customer service counter. I told the employee at the customer services counter that I needed to check on the warranty and he said that he can help and that all he needs is the credit card that I purchased my laptop with.

I give him the credit card and after he looks for about 30 seconds to 1 minute he stops and just says, “Can't find it”. I look at him waiting for him to offer me another solution but nothing is said. He simply hands me back my card. I give it back to him and ask him to look again. He does and then after looking for another 30 seconds he claims that he needs to get a manager. At this point, I feel a little bit better and I think that this situation is going to get resolved. I was wrong. The manager claimed that he couldn't find it either and hands me back the card.

I ask them if there is another way to search for this and he told me no. I then asked, “what should I do?” The manager proceeded to shrug his shoulders. At that point I left the store because it was obvious that my visit was worthless and a waste of time. The employees at this store made me feel like a nuisance rather than a customer. I felt as if the employee at the Geek Squad desk was simply throwing a high estimate at me so that I would go away and it was obvious that he could not be bothered with helping me. I am also disturbed that this person seemed to have no working knowledge of the products that you sell and repair on property.

The customer service was horrendous and I plan on never returning or making any purchases from this store or brand again. Save yourself the hassle - go somewhere else where they will show you a little respect and provide genuine assistance.

Replies
WOW!! No class-action lawsuit yet?
By -

CRESTWOOD, MISSOURI -- The Best-est Best Buy Story is Below

Let me start off saying that I had a long history with Best Buy before I dealt with them this past year about my girlfriend's laptop. She had a laptop originally bought for $1900 with a 3-year extended warranty and it was year 2 on the laptop. She started getting a blue screen and after looking at the error code it was very easy to diagnose it was a memory issue. I told her that we would go to Best Buy, talk to the Geek Squad, and that she should expect to not see her laptop for at least a month. We easily duplicated the blue screens and the Geek Squad took it did some troubleshooting (nothing) and sent the laptop out.

After a week out I told my girlfriend that they are most assuredly replacing the hard drive to prepare her for having to install all of her programs again. What happened 30 days later? Ding Ding Ding! We got the laptop back from the Geek Squad, Best Buy replaced the hard drive, and we then reduplicated the blue screen issue right in front of the Geek Squad crew. I then told them the memory was bad and to please replace it. (I couldn't or I would void the warranty)

They send it out again. This time they do "extended memory tests". I even talk to the guy working in their repair center on the phone referencing the error code and website links talking about what they mean. He replaces the hard drive again. The laptop comes back to Best Buy and again we see the blue screen. I tell the Geek Squad guy how to test the memory for this issue. While I am still in the store he comes to me and says that the memory is indeed bad and the tests they were doing weren't extensive enough. They send it out again.

They call us 3 weeks later saying that the laptop issue has been resolved and to pick it up. This is 11 weeks after we first brought it in. We get to the store and Windows isn't even installed on the laptop -- memory wasn't replaced either but we never got that far. Knowing there was about a 1% chance Best Buy would fix the laptop we brought in the receipt and warranty information which states that after the 3rd time the laptop is sent to their service center and was still broken that they would replace the laptop.

We talked to several people that night and they all agreed that we had a "lemon" and that it would be replaced but there was no manager on duty and we would have to come back the next day to get the new laptop. We show up the next day and the store manager (Crestwood, MO) talks to us and says he will not give us a replacement. He is telling us that the three times the Geek Squad sent it to the service center didn't count because it was never diagnosed or fixed right. HUH? He then said that I had it sent to the service center when nothing was wrong with it. HUH?

The original Geek Squad was right next to us at the time and he confirmed we were getting blue screens and he had it sent to the service center. The manager then said that since the service center didn't fix it right the first 3 times didn't mean it was three separate send backs to the center. HUH? I am in the business and I know for sure how these things are handled. Best Buy would have to send our laptop back to Sony who would refund Best Buy for the lemon. But this time Sony would see that it was not a lemon but would see that it simply needed new memory (there are notes on all of Best Buys service orders stating that the customer said there is bad memory).

So Best Lie didn't want to give us a new laptop because they were not going to be refunded for their total stupidity. The manager finally agrees that night that we will get a replacement. He said that he would need sign-off from the general manager before doing this. HUH? You need sign-off from your GM to honor a warranty? HUH? We go back the next night and get a new manager and they act like this is the first time we walked in the store, so we had to go through everything again. They talked to us until the store closed so we had to come back again and you guessed it. We went through the whole ordeal a third time.

We went to the store 17 times. Only on the 17th time when I called the local police and to have a report taken (to use for small claims) did the manager honor the warranty. The cop was actually laughing his ** off because I had the manager boot up the laptop he said wasn't broken and they STILL didn't have Windows installed. The cop also acknowledged going through the same ordeal with Best Lie. He told me that we would stay there and do a full investigation and only after a half hour of me telling my story so everyone within earshot knew what was going on did the manager cave.

(The Best Buy management staff may be ill-equipped to handle customer issues but these guys will not break. I have a feeling their training involves electric shock and warranty information flashing on a projector) OK so now we have all agreed that the laptop will be replaced. I know it was a long time ago that I told you the price of the laptop but it was $1900. That being said we went and looked at laptops in the $1700-1800 range. We were told that we would indeed not be getting anything over $1300 because Best Lie would be going by general computer specs to give us a new laptop.

Well the laptop she had had a lot of special add-ons, including a high-end video card. Forget that. Also we would be forced onto Vista and half of the software she had wouldn't work with it. And for those of you that aren't techies, Vista requires more memory, processing power, everything, so if you are running the same specs on Vista and XP, XP will be faster. We ended up getting a Sony for around $1350 that was not anything close to what we wanted but we knew if we walked out of the store this would continue. As we were checking out they tried to sell us another EXTENDED WARRANTY. We went home - went to Sony's website.

We got a 4-year warranty $50 cheaper than Best Lie's and covers a screen replacement. Four months later we had an issue with the battery. Girlfriend did some minor troubleshooting on the phone with them and Sony had a replacement battery FedExed 2 days later. Moral of the story? I will never spend a dime at Best Buy ever again. The only reason you shop from a local store is for the customer service and warranties. Internet sites will beat Best Buy's prices and can't have worse customer service. Also buy your extended warranties from the manufacturer. They know how to fix their products the fastest.

Replies
Advertisement
Refused to replace a junk product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JOLIET, ILLINOIS -- My BBB complaint against Best Buy filed moments ago.... Don't bother buying from them. They do not stand behind their products, their customer service is a joke, and their protection programs do nothing but tick people off. Enjoy the complaint:

Filed against: Best Buy - Joliet 1500 N. Larkin Joliet IL 60435-3769 Complaint Description: On 3/2/2013 I purchased a new Toshiba Laptop, My receipt shows: ** - WIN8/14"/I5/6GB from Best Buy in Joliet, IL. I also purchased a protection and replacement plan, for one year, GSP # **. On 5/28/2013, my computer would not boot up. I called Geek Squad, and the agent stated I did not have a protection plan and there was nothing he could do for me. He directed me to call Best Buy. Called (888) 229-3770, I was transferred twice, then told again, I did not have a protection plan and there was nothing they could do.

I should contact the manufacturer, or go into Best Buy and pay for the repair. I asked to be connected to the Joliet store, and she refused. I then called the store, who again told me there was no Protection Plan in place. Asked to talk to Corporate, and was given the 888-237-8289 number. Called there, was transferred twice more, got put through to "Agent **", who finally believed me when I said I purchased the protection program and looked up my receipt. She said that there was something wrong with the number they had given me and it wasn't showing up in the computer. She directed me to take my computer into the store.

I did, they told me it was a failed hard drive, it was the third they've seen this week in a computer less than 3 months old, and it would take 1-2 days to fix. They also told me that I would lose all of my data, because my protection program did not cover that. On 5/30/2013, I checked the status of my repair, and I was shocked to see that it hadn't even been checked in yet. I called the store, who informed me that the repair was on the hard drive, there was nothing I could have done. The hard drive failed and it would be 2-3 weeks before I could get my computer back. I explained that wasn't an option.

I use this computer for work, and will be out over $50 per day in lost wages each day I did not have it. I spoke to the Manager, **. I asked for a replacement or a refund. She refused. Called the Corporate number. Spoke to Agent **. Explained my situation. She also refused. Spoke to her supervisor. I asked if I had brought in a product that I had dropped, and it shattered into a million pieces, if it would be replaced. She stated "It would." I asked why I should lose over $900 waiting on my computer for the next 3 weeks if it could be replaced. She again refused to do anything further.

I was sold a faulty product less than 3 months ago, and they are not standing behind their product or even acknowledging the lost wages this will cost me because of that faulty product. I have been treated as an inconvenience and an annoyance, hung up on, and transferred more times than I can count. Your Desired Resolution: I would like a new computer of equal or lesser value as quickly as possible. If I am unable to get a computer quickly, I would like my lost wages of $50 per day along with the new computer when they do finally fix their mistake.

Replies
Best Buy is "Worst Buy"
By -

OTTAWA -- On June 28, 2011, a Geek Squad technician came to my home and performed a diagnostic and repair at a cost of $394.37. Seven (7) weeks later in August, that desktop PC was slow to respond then did not work. More waiting for an appointment. On August 13, 2011, another Geek Squad technician said the hard drive had crashed. So, on that date, I purchased a new HP Pavilion p7-1042 desktop CPU, monitor, mouse, keypad and printer from Best Buy Coventry Road at a cost of $829.30. I actually got to pick it up on August 16, 2011. Next I had to purchase MS Word OHS 2010 software to replace MS Word 2000 at a cost of $146.89.

After the new HP was set up by a Geek Squad technician, desktop icons frequently would not appear when the PC was turned on. Often I had to open in safe mode. "No problem" said your technician "just hit F8 or, F10 or, F11 or, control-shift-ESC to bring up Task Manager." No way did this work. The PC became slower then stopped working. I returned the tower to Best Buy Coventry Road on September 25, 2011. Well, guess what? The hard drive in this piece of crud had crashed after just six (6) weeks. But then Best Buy (aka Worst Buy) had to send the tower to Toronto for repair. It would take two to three weeks. My data would be wiped from the hard drive.

So, I had to buy a flash drive at a cost of $20.33 and have my data downloaded at a cost of $100.89. Would it have killed them to take a new HP CPU out of stock and transfer my data immediately without charge? Apparently it would because on September 25, 2011, I had to buy an Acer AX3990-EB20P at a cost of $489.84 so I could continue to work on my home-based business. And what did the Geek Squad representative at Coventry Road suggest? He asked if I could borrow a friend's computer or use a library one in the interim. As of October 18, 2011, I still was without that HP Pavilion p7-1042 product.

No communication from the genius ‘service' staff either except to say “often the HP hard drives are dead right out of the box”. This whole stupid fiasco has cost me almost $2000 because the product I was sold is a piece of garbage and so is Best/Worst Buy customer service. I note their in-store signage says Best Buy is “a dynamic, customer-driven, talent-powered company” that will “ensure your experience with us is outstanding”. Well, it has been outstanding all right - outstandingly negative. And if this is their idea of a customer-driven, talented organization, I sure as hell have not experienced it.

An in-store brochure says “service you can depend on” but the only thing I can depend on from Best Buy Ottawa is low quality products that crap out after a few weeks of use and dumb employees who cannot even think through a problem and reach the simplest of solutions. Why could the data from my very new, very defective HP p7-1042 CPU not have been transferred to another in stock unit without charge? What is your problem? Would that not have been the logical, customer-driven solution?

Because of abysmal quality control at HP coupled with appalling Best/Worst Buy customer service, plus hardware and software charges, I spent time and money driving multiple times back and forth between my home and their stores returning defective product and buying replacement product while trying to run a business. My experience is that Best Buy is Worst Buy.

I want my money back. Their initial diagnostic set me up for a hard drive crash seven weeks later, their new HP desktop hard drive crashed after six weeks, they have no appreciation of fast, efficient replacement service and their only intent is to sell more shoddy product while keeping the customer waiting and waiting and waiting. Never shop at Best/Worst Buy.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Best Buy Computers Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
152 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Best Buy
7601 Penn Ave. South
Richfield, MN 55423
1-800-369-5050 (ph)
www.bestbuy.com
cr@bestbuy.com
Product/Services
Compare Superstores