Preview Review

Next Review

Best Buy Computers Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Refused to replace a junk product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JOLIET, ILLINOIS -- My BBB complaint against Best Buy filed moments ago.... Don't bother buying from them. They do not stand behind their products, their customer service is a joke, and their protection programs do nothing but tick people off. Enjoy the complaint:

Filed against: Best Buy - Joliet 1500 N. Larkin Joliet IL 60435-3769 Complaint Description: On 3/2/2013 I purchased a new Toshiba Laptop, My receipt shows: ** - WIN8/14"/I5/6GB from Best Buy in Joliet, IL. I also purchased a protection and replacement plan, for one year, GSP # **. On 5/28/2013, my computer would not boot up. I called Geek Squad, and the agent stated I did not have a protection plan and there was nothing he could do for me. He directed me to call Best Buy. Called (888) 229-3770, I was transferred twice, then told again, I did not have a protection plan and there was nothing they could do.

I should contact the manufacturer, or go into Best Buy and pay for the repair. I asked to be connected to the Joliet store, and she refused. I then called the store, who again told me there was no Protection Plan in place. Asked to talk to Corporate, and was given the 888-237-8289 number. Called there, was transferred twice more, got put through to "Agent **", who finally believed me when I said I purchased the protection program and looked up my receipt. She said that there was something wrong with the number they had given me and it wasn't showing up in the computer. She directed me to take my computer into the store.

I did, they told me it was a failed hard drive, it was the third they've seen this week in a computer less than 3 months old, and it would take 1-2 days to fix. They also told me that I would lose all of my data, because my protection program did not cover that. On 5/30/2013, I checked the status of my repair, and I was shocked to see that it hadn't even been checked in yet. I called the store, who informed me that the repair was on the hard drive, there was nothing I could have done. The hard drive failed and it would be 2-3 weeks before I could get my computer back. I explained that wasn't an option.

I use this computer for work, and will be out over $50 per day in lost wages each day I did not have it. I spoke to the Manager, **. I asked for a replacement or a refund. She refused. Called the Corporate number. Spoke to Agent **. Explained my situation. She also refused. Spoke to her supervisor. I asked if I had brought in a product that I had dropped, and it shattered into a million pieces, if it would be replaced. She stated "It would." I asked why I should lose over $900 waiting on my computer for the next 3 weeks if it could be replaced. She again refused to do anything further.

I was sold a faulty product less than 3 months ago, and they are not standing behind their product or even acknowledging the lost wages this will cost me because of that faulty product. I have been treated as an inconvenience and an annoyance, hung up on, and transferred more times than I can count. Your Desired Resolution: I would like a new computer of equal or lesser value as quickly as possible. If I am unable to get a computer quickly, I would like my lost wages of $50 per day along with the new computer when they do finally fix their mistake.

Replies
Advertisement
Best Buy is "Worst Buy"
By -

OTTAWA -- On June 28, 2011, a Geek Squad technician came to my home and performed a diagnostic and repair at a cost of $394.37. Seven (7) weeks later in August, that desktop PC was slow to respond then did not work. More waiting for an appointment. On August 13, 2011, another Geek Squad technician said the hard drive had crashed. So, on that date, I purchased a new HP Pavilion p7-1042 desktop CPU, monitor, mouse, keypad and printer from Best Buy Coventry Road at a cost of $829.30. I actually got to pick it up on August 16, 2011. Next I had to purchase MS Word OHS 2010 software to replace MS Word 2000 at a cost of $146.89.

After the new HP was set up by a Geek Squad technician, desktop icons frequently would not appear when the PC was turned on. Often I had to open in safe mode. "No problem" said your technician "just hit F8 or, F10 or, F11 or, control-shift-ESC to bring up Task Manager." No way did this work. The PC became slower then stopped working. I returned the tower to Best Buy Coventry Road on September 25, 2011. Well, guess what? The hard drive in this piece of crud had crashed after just six (6) weeks. But then Best Buy (aka Worst Buy) had to send the tower to Toronto for repair. It would take two to three weeks. My data would be wiped from the hard drive.

So, I had to buy a flash drive at a cost of $20.33 and have my data downloaded at a cost of $100.89. Would it have killed them to take a new HP CPU out of stock and transfer my data immediately without charge? Apparently it would because on September 25, 2011, I had to buy an Acer AX3990-EB20P at a cost of $489.84 so I could continue to work on my home-based business. And what did the Geek Squad representative at Coventry Road suggest? He asked if I could borrow a friend's computer or use a library one in the interim. As of October 18, 2011, I still was without that HP Pavilion p7-1042 product.

No communication from the genius ‘service' staff either except to say “often the HP hard drives are dead right out of the box”. This whole stupid fiasco has cost me almost $2000 because the product I was sold is a piece of garbage and so is Best/Worst Buy customer service. I note their in-store signage says Best Buy is “a dynamic, customer-driven, talent-powered company” that will “ensure your experience with us is outstanding”. Well, it has been outstanding all right - outstandingly negative. And if this is their idea of a customer-driven, talented organization, I sure as hell have not experienced it.

An in-store brochure says “service you can depend on” but the only thing I can depend on from Best Buy Ottawa is low quality products that crap out after a few weeks of use and dumb employees who cannot even think through a problem and reach the simplest of solutions. Why could the data from my very new, very defective HP p7-1042 CPU not have been transferred to another in stock unit without charge? What is your problem? Would that not have been the logical, customer-driven solution?

Because of abysmal quality control at HP coupled with appalling Best/Worst Buy customer service, plus hardware and software charges, I spent time and money driving multiple times back and forth between my home and their stores returning defective product and buying replacement product while trying to run a business. My experience is that Best Buy is Worst Buy.

I want my money back. Their initial diagnostic set me up for a hard drive crash seven weeks later, their new HP desktop hard drive crashed after six weeks, they have no appreciation of fast, efficient replacement service and their only intent is to sell more shoddy product while keeping the customer waiting and waiting and waiting. Never shop at Best/Worst Buy.

Replies
Terrible service
By -

Geek Squad is a real sham. When I bought my laptop early 2009 I also purchased a 3-yr Black Tie Premium warranty. This was complete hardware and software support, in home service, guaranteed a spot in repair dept ahead of any other plans. For the first 1 1/2 years the phone support was great. Since that time it has gone downhill. Every time you call you get a different answer on what your warranty covers and when it expires. It is like all of a sudden they have hired a bunch of idiots. I called 9/23 for service and they scheduled a tech to come to my home on 9/28 between 8 and 12.

I patiently waited 4 hours and when it got to be 12:30 I got quite upset. I called and was told that the person who was to come here called in sick. Nobody even bothered to call me to let me know so I could get on with my life for that day I finally got to speak with a supervisor in dispatch who due to my inconvenience scheduled it for Sun Oct 2 at 8 am. I told him that would be OK with me as I would be home until 9:15. On Sun I again waited but when it was 8:25 I called to see where he was as I was supposedly his first appointment. I waited on phone for 20 minutes before talking to anyone who would even check on this for me.

She comes back on the line and says "He has been trying to call you to come over and your phone was busy". Well, DUH, why didn't he just come here. He knew I was here if he got a busy signal. I asked her "When did he try?" She says "8:15" and I knew someone was lying as I was not on phone until 8:25. I asked her how soon he could get here and she said that I should call him as he was on another call at that time. I told her I was leaving in 30 minutes and asked if he could come after 5 when I would be back. She said he could come later that afternoon or evening and I should call him to arrange this.

When I called him he told me he could not do that as he didn't work that late. (Then why was I told different???) When I told him my computer is a laptop he says they do not come to home that I have to take it into shop. I tried to tell him that I had the in home warranty but he argued that he worked there 18 years and he knows that is not so. I call dispatch again and told them what he just said and they said he is wrong since I do have that coverage for my laptop. So again no repair for 2nd time in a row. Dispatch then says that the soonest they could send someone was Tuesday. I demanded to know the time and not a 4-hour window.

She said she would have someone call me Mon evening to give me the time. Didn't hear from anyone on Mon so I called dispatch and find out they have no record of a service call for me for Tues. :( Now they have me scheduled for Thur (tomorrow) but refuse to give me a definite time - Said that the previous supervisor should not have guaranteed the Sun 8 am appointment. I do not appreciate this type of service as when I have something scheduled for an unknown time in the morning I do not sleep the night before. Already lost 2 nights sleep and am in for it again tonight.

I did call dispatch this evening and told them they need to let the repairman know I will only be here until 12 so they need to be here early enough so I can leave for my appointment. I have spent a lot of money at Best Buy for two 55-inch TV's, top of the line steam laundry set, and a range besides many other small things. They have seen the last of me and my money due to the terrible service. I also had a problem with one of their stores in 1996 and never went back until 2005 and advised everyone to stay away from this store. That store actually closed and is no longer in business.

I have called on other issues to be told that I do not have remote access and they can't help me. This, I tell them, is not true as they have accessed my computer remotely numerous times over the past 2 years. I just have to keep calling back until I get someone who has a brain and knows that I paid a lot for this type of coverage. Why can't businesses hire people who know what they are doing? Never had problems with businesses 25 years ago like now. Or is it that most people are getting more stupid and can't function in their jobs? Another time was having problems with computer crashing. It would take too long for home service so I ran it down to the store.

When I went in I told them I had Black Tie protection which according to my salesman put me at the head of the line which I needed as I was using the computer for my business. At the store they told me everyone had the same. I do not buy into that as there are lesser priced plans and not everyone who takes a computer in has any plan. Told me I had to leave it but would get back to me in a few hours. I had to call next day as they never called me. They told me it would take altogether 3-4 days to work on it. Told me they needed to replace hard drive.

I brought it home and couldn't use it as they had removed all my software and would not put it back the way it was.. After I got it back I had to take it to another tech who charged me. He checked the old drive and there was nothing wrong with it. He explained that he had worked at Geek Squad and their policy was if they could not find a solution to the problem within 30 minutes then just replace the hard drive. They did not want to spend the time trying to figure it out.

If I had run my business the way this company does I would have lost all my clients.

Replies
Best Buy Are Crooks and I'm No Thief.
By -

Here's a story I hope most people cannot relate to. My son went to the Rancho Cucamonga Best Buy this morning to buy a computer. He bought a desktop computer and walked out the door, only to get home, open the box and find it damaged. I witnessed this. I told my son to package it up and return it to the store. He returned to the store and was told the computer he was trying to return was not the computer that they had sold him, not 20 minutes ago. That the computer being returned has the wrong packaging labels and he is trying to return an old computer.

This is fraud by Best Buy. They sold a computer to him and now will not accept any responsibility for what was in the package. My son bought the computer in good faith and Best Buy clearly is trying to pull a fast one. The General Manager stated there is nothing he can do for my son and asked him to leave the store. He did offer his name and said he would get back to him. This is unacceptable. The General Manager basically said my son is a thief. I immediately called the store to complain and was told by the General Manager not to come down to the store or I would be arrested and removed.

Needless to say I went right down. I wanted to return the monitor which was still in the box. I didn't want to open that box and be stuck with a bogus monitor. I asked to speak to the General Manager and told him right away to "never tell me not to come down to his store." I advised him I was bringing back the monitor that was still boxed and didn't want to open it being afraid I may be duped again. He was less than concerned. I asked for the name of his boss and the corporate office. After holding for 26 minutes a customer service person advised me that “This happens all the time at Best Buy” and it's up to the General Manager of the store to decide how to handle.

Basically “Buyer Beware”. Best Buy doesn't care and it's up to you as the consumer to prove you're not a crook. My son is out the money for the computer and with no options. We can only hope the General Manager will make this wrong a right. If not, it will be my pleasure to let everyone I come in contact with to know this story. I believe the hard working people of Rancho Cucamonga would like to know the policies of Best Buy. Followed up on next day with the General Manager. He explained that he is standing behind his employees and policies, he will do nothing to compensate us.

Called Best Buy Corporate office. The Customer Relations representative stated they stand behind the General Manager and nothing will be done. Have a nice day. I will be going down to file with Small Claims on Monday. I will do everything in my power to get justice. Whatever it takes, it's the principle. We are not thieves. Best Buy may be a billion dollar company, but I'm one consumer that won't be scared off by a Goliath.

Replies
Advertisement
Squad of Morons
By -

ERIE, PENNSYLVANIA -- We were interested in purchasing a laptop because we were going out of town indefinitely, and wanted to keep in touch with family and our finances. After an exhausting search, we chose to go to Best Buy. We are both middle-aged and somewhat computer-challenged, but figured that with all Best Buy advertises for expertise, why not put our trust in them? WRONG ANSWER!!! We spent over 600.00 dollars for laptop and all accessories they told us we needed, and then made an appointment for the Geek Squad to come to install our wi-fi and show us how to use it.

They came late, stayed for all of 10 minutes, showed me the on-off button, never even gave me my personal code for my in home for wi-fi and abruptly left. I left numerous messages for the person that entered my home with no callback whatsoever. While out of town, I experienced problems and went to a nearby Best Buy only to be told that the problem was easily fixable and he promptly disabled what was appearing to be the problem.

I then acquired a virus, returned to the store and they "fixed my laptop" in a matter of a day and returned it to me to the tune of 199.99 dollars for 24/7 Geeksquad services by phone, while laptop is still under warranty, only being 4 months old. Less than ONE week later, I called 24/7 Geeks because I couldn't get on Internet, (new service I had to pay 199.99 for) only to be told I had to take it back to Erie store since it was their problem originally and that I would be charged for their help. I was livid.

Upon arrival, they agreed they must not have gotten all the virus, but they wouldn't charge me any additional. Two days later, they wanted to know if I had backup CDs for my system that I was supposed to make. I told them their geek was supposed to make those when he was here, and if he didn't, I would have to pay for them too. To today's date, My laptop isn't running at the proper capacity, isn't capable of doing what I told the Salesperson that I wanted it for, and basically, as far as we are concerned, is a money pit of uselessness. Giving them one last chance, We called to see if we could upgrade this and they said certainly, bring it in.

Again, we go there only to be told we had to find what we needed online and order it ourselves, they didn't carry it in their store, after I called to see if they could do it, and that they had it to be purchased. At this point, my husband had enough and began to raise his voice. As he exited the store, the person ask him if he found what he needed and he basically said "a squad of ABSOLUTE MORONS." We hope that anyone considering shopping at Best Buy/Geek Squad, RETHINK IT!!!

Replies
Buyer Beware, not all is refundable
By -

MESQUITE, TEXAS -- In my case, I believe that Best Buy has profited from the mistakes of their sales personnel and Geek Squad personnel at my expense. For a bit of background: I am self-employed, working from my home. I use AutoCAD and Adobe Reader every day. I had a computer crash and decided it was time to replace my old computer rather than having it fixed again. I went to Best Buy in Mesquite, TX for three reasons: I would get terrific customer service, I would get direction on what would work for me and I've always been happy with Best Buy in the past.

I told the sales person it has been over 10 years since I bought a computer from a store, I needed my computer for work, I used AutoCAD 2006 and Adobe Reader Professional, I had been warned that Windows 7 had compatibility issues with older software, and I couldn't afford to replace those two programs. I repeated this several times as I wanted to be clear on the issue. I also told the sales person my budget for a new computer package which included a new monitor ($1200.00). In addition, I needed to transfer specific files and settings from my old hard drive to the new computer.

To make a long story short, a computer was recommended, I went to the checkout. The bill was about $200 over my budget, but I went with it. I left the newly purchased computer, the old computer, and a sheet where I specified what I wanted transferred from the old computer with the Geek Squad section of Best Buy. My husband was to pick it up next day after work. Next day my husband picked up the computer (another 120 mile round trip). When I got the computer home and tried installing my software, I found that neither AutoCAD 2006 nor Adobe Reader Professional worked on the computer. I did research on the Internet.

I found that if I had been sold Windows 7 Professional instead of Windows 7 Home Premium, I would at least be able to install Virtual Machine to allow my older software to work. The older software was NOT compatible with Windows 7 Home Premium. This was not conveyed to me at the time of the sale. I had specified what I needed so that I could go home, set up, install and get to work.

In addition to that, I had requested that three folders from my old computer be transferred to the new computer. That didn't happen. (Best Buy at least made that part right with me. They redid the transferral of the folders I wanted, even though this transferral was done in a manner that caused many lost files.) I took the computer back to Best Buy. First it seemed like they were not going to take the computer back. Then when they agreed to take it back, I was told they wouldn't take back the software I'd purchased extra on their advice (Microsoft Office and Kaspersky Anti-virus). They wouldn't refund the cost of making a restore disk (for the computer I was returning).

I don't understand this last bit because I didn't keep the computer and the restore CD would work with the computer when they sold it again. I guess I was naive. I was charged $.99 and $19.99 respectively for: "** ask an agen ask an agent product" "** ask an agen ask a agent 6 month". Both of the items in quote marks are directly from the receipt I have. I requested neither item and was not told I was charged for them or what they were. These charges were not refunded. When I wasn't satisfied with the situation a manager got involved and he told me, as an excuse, that they don't load Windows 7 Professional. Windows Home Premium is their standard.

My response was, okay, so I needed an upgrade. Why wasn't I told this so I didn't waste three days trying to make a computer work that didn't work? The manager acknowledged that I should have been told this. However, he didn't offer to refund any part of the service I couldn't use. To me it doesn't seem right that they profit from their own mistakes! In the end, my refund was short $444.69 of what I'd paid them. I feel I was used, that I wasn't given the correct information, and that their customer service was a lot less cooperative than they could have or should have been.

Okay, if they can't resell the Microsoft Office, which I can't use now that I didn't buy that computer, then refund me back their profit at least. As stated above, it doesn't seem fair that Best Buy profits from their own mistakes. In the case of Microsoft Office, they sold me something that was for working with the new computer. I neither needed it or wanted it for my old computer. It was an expensive lesson. I will not go back to Best Buy ever again. To me it seems that since Comp USA and Circuit City went out of business Best Buy is much more arrogant and a lot less customer service friendly.

I was really, really disappointed with their customer service and their sales representative. I was even more disappointed with their manager. Buyer, beware, Best Buy is not what it used to be. Then again, maybe it is the Mesquite store versus the store I used to go to in Peabody, Massachusetts when I lived there. Whatever it is, I am done with Best Buy.

Replies
Tricked
By -

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I went to Best Buy in February of 2010 while they were having a 12-month no interest promotion. I told the sales person that I needed a computer and laptop that was on sale. I also stated to the sales person that I wanted the 12-month no interest and he said that I could get the no interest for 12 months while my female friend was standing right there to witness the whole situation. I gave him my Best Buy card not realizing that it was not their store card but a Best Buy Mastercard in which does not offer the 12-month no interest promotion which was not stated to me.

I had been paying my bill every month thinking that everything was alright and that I was not being charged any interest. I got my statement a little over a week ago and happen to actually look at the statement and seen that they were charging me interest so I called the number that was on the statement and the man in whom I spoke to told me that the store must have made a mistake because we do not offer that promotion and I stated to the man that I didn't know that there was any difference in the cards because the sales person had told me that my purchase would be interest free for 12 months.

I went on and asked the man if Best Buy had just tricked me into making a purchase because I told them that I wouldn't purchase the items if I couldn't get the 12 months no interest. He then stated,"no, just take your statement back to the store in which you made the purchase and they will fix the problem for you", so I said, "thank you sir goodbye". I then get my friend who went with me initially to get the items that I purchased and went back to the Best Buy.

I explained to one of the workers and to the manager the whole situation and the manager was very smart mouth and nasty and told me that there was nothing they could do to help me because it was my fault that I allowed the sales clerk to swipe the wrong card. Me and my female friend tried to tell the manager that the sales clerk in whom helped me told me that it would be no interest for 12 months and the manager disregarded everything we said and showed no compassion and had no intentions on helping me with the situation.

I then told the manager that I would have not even purchased the computer if I couldn't get the 12 months no interest, that was the only reason that I came to your store on that particular day. I asked him if I could just return the items I had purchased and he told me "No, we have a 14-day return policy." So I then told him, "You guys tricked me into purchasing these items with a card that you guys knew did not offer the promotion that I was seeking."

Replies
Three Strikes and you're out Best Buy and Geek Squad
By -

I can't tell if it is me, I am just unlucky or is my Geek Squad experience representative of what many others seem to find. The service from both a technical and customer service perspective is just awful! I know I am not an unlucky or bad person but my frustration has never been higher. Here is my experience using the Geek Squad. My chronology goes from present backward.

  1. My Acer laptop is back in the shop. I have a full extended warranty and accidental damage plan. Took the computer in on 4/28 with a return date of 5/13. This is my son's laptop he uses at college. The store promised they would expedite as they do not offer a loaner program. So today, 5/24, I go into the Montclair, CA store and inquire about the status of the laptop. The Geek Squad member looked up the order and said it looks like they are working on getting parts but no return date can be quoted (my son's final exams are fast approaching).

I called the 800-433-5778 number at the suggestion of the store employee, given it is way past the due date, to see if they could help. I got to a technician who was very unhelpful and when I asked to talk to a supervisor he refused saying the supervisor could not do anything more for me and he was busy with other customers (Poor customer service). He said he would put me through to the customer service line so I could file a complaint but (not) surprisingly he cut me off. Called back and talked to a person that seemed to be actually trying to help.

When she came back on after trying to get through to the store ("no one answered at the store at 6 pm" she indicated) and she began to arrange a callback to me tomorrow but the phone line went dead (Overall this was good service). I called back and was transferred to the reward zone credit card extension(???). I called back again and was able to be reconnected to the person I started with; It took 20+ minutes for me to renavigate the system twice (Not great service). We will see what happens (I think they should replace the computer but am not sure it is actually should be the technicians).

  1. I have an RCA large screen rear-projection TV which I did not buy at Best Buy. When I called to get service, they somehow referred me to the Geek Squad. I spent some time on the phone arranging for the service and providing all of the product information. I confirmed that they serviced such TVs and they said yes.

The technician arrives and we had to go over the same information I had already provided. He said "I have not worked on these units before." He had to call the service center and get instructions on how to disassemble the unit. After a lot of talk, he quoted me something like $800 for the repairs which I promptly refused. The repair was done at a local TV shop for about $300.

  1. The Acer laptop (same one as above) was sent for repairs due to a faulty screen. Repairs took quite a number of weeks. When I came in to finally pick up the unit, I asked the Geek Squad person to turn on the computer and answer another question I had. The unit could not be turned on and it appeared the same problem (screen back light) and others had emerged. A number of weeks elapsed for the continuing service and the unit came back again. I picked it up and took it home. I tried to start the computer but it did not work again so I returned it to the store the same day.

The laptop finally came back a third time and it has been working fine until now. I can't tell if this is 3 or 5 strikes against the service. Unfortunately, Best Buy only counts it as three times so my replacement coverage does not go into effect. They will probably figure out a way to keep the unit until the end of June when the replacement warranty runs out. WOW!! I have never written such an email except when I complained about the service I described in #3 above. Can't tell if the problem is the Acer laptop or the technical service. I know the customer service has not been great (although I am hopeful with the current person I talked to this evening).

Solution for me: Refund the money I spent for the laptop ($1912.43) or repair and extend the warranty with accidental damage protection for 2 more years. This latter option does not give me much confidence however. Result: Best Buy has lost me as a customer (I say that reluctantly) and as I have spoken to store employees it seems that they really don't care (except the person I am currently working with). I clearly steer people away from the Geek Squad when asked.

My daughter is going to college in the Fall and a new laptop is one of the purchases we will make but as we have shopped Best Buy is not one of the options. I realize that my one purchase will not change the fortunes of Best Buy and I am reminded about that as I speak with a number of their employees.

Replies
Advertisement
Ripped Off at Best Buy
By -

BROOKLYN, NEW YORK -- On 2/24/2010 at 9:05 PM, I have purchased a Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution, top of the line, keyboard & mouse set for $169.99 plus sales tax at Best Buy store # 599 located at: 8923 Bay Parkway, Brooklyn, NY 11224. It was a 25th birthday gift for my wife. When she opened a box the next day, it was the whole bunch of different items, none of which belong to the item purchased. We brought this back to the store the following day at 1:00 PM, in less than 24 hours. While waiting in line to exchange the product, person in front of us has returned 2 products back to Best Buy.

Store employee failed to even look at the boxes that were returned back to them. I have asked them a question how they are taking the item back without inspecting them. The answer was "The box looks Okay", after which I followed with my situation. At first she said to go, and get another set and called the manager. As soon as we came back to the counter with the replacement item we were met by the Geek Squad employees. As soon as we approached the counter one of the guys said that they can not take it back, and we should contact the manufacturer of the product. I made a phone call to Logitech right there in the store.

Person on the other end listened to what I had to say, and going over the items in that box, suggested that the mix-up happened at the store, because none of the items in that box belonged to that set. It looked like someone shoved old used display products in that box. In about 20 minutes waiting for the store manager ** (Refused to provide his Last Name) has arrived. After explaining to him what have happened, he advised us that there is nothing that he can do for us, and said that this is a Small Claim, and nicely asked us to leave the store. At that time I felt like breaking that old keyboard over his head.

It was a 25th Birthday Gift for my wife, and here I felt so bad and low, it was not even a matter of $185.00 money loss. I came outside, and called Best Buy Customer Relations. They said that this situation can only be resolved by the store manager. My wife went inside the store to talk to him again. After the phone conversation with Best Buy I have decided to call my bank to dispute the charge. Charge was not even processed at that time. It was still in authorization process, and they advised me to call them back next business day.

While my wife was inside the store talking to manager **, he asked her to leave a phone number and he will call her back with his decision within a couple of days. We left the store feeling like **. I have lost $185.08. It was the worst birthday gift ever I could give to my wife, but the Best Buy will lose more than that in the long run. There must be someone in the Corporate Office that can understand what their employees are doing to their reputation. This is very unfair that Best Buy Corporation will allow their store manager ** (Refuse to give his last name - like he was hiding something), treat their customers like that.

I wonder if top Management at Best Buy will agree with his decision at that time. How about good old Business Law: Customer is always right!!!€ And if Best Buy thinks otherwise, Shame On You!!! You will not last too long by doing business like this. In past 10 years I spent at least $10,000.00 at BB. 3/4 of my home electronics were purchased from Best Buy. For $185.08 your company will not see a single penny out of me.

Replies
Stuck With a Broken Laptop
By -

My sister-in-law waited in line for 20 hours for a laptop for me during black Friday. She gave it to me and it crashed within 5 minutes of me having it open. The laptop I purchased was only made for Black Friday so Best Buy doesn't carry it in their stores. Since then I have spent over 30 hours trying to get it fixed. Best Buy customer service is terrible. You call their customer service number and you have to wait on hold for 5 minutes before being transferred to an operator who will then transfer you to someone else. On several of my calls the operator would transfer me to the department of their choice while I was still mid-sentence trying to explain my situation.

I then have to wait for 15 minutes to be transferred to the department they chose. About 50% of the time they would transfer me to the wrong department so I am transferred again and have to wait another 15 minutes. (We are up to about 40 minutes at this point and I still haven't been helped.) I have literally talked to probably 50 people total through this whole ordeal and there has only been one guy with Best Buy's 1-800 number that was able to help me. Of course I can't get back in touch with him b/c they don't have extensions. So far, I have spent over a month trying to get my laptop fixed.

It has been serviced at two branch locations as well as the "official service location" for the area and nobody can fix it. They told me it has viruses and spyware and that is why its shutting down. That's funny, b/c it began randomly shutting down before I ever got on the internet. So, if it was shutting down before there were any viruses/spyware the problem must be something other than those, right? That's seems logical to me. I spoke with the store manager at the Grapevine location and he ever so kindly offered to waive the restocking fee and give me my money back for the laptop. Gee thanks, you are so kind.

So your idea of customer service is: my sister-in-law wasting 20 hours of her time, me wasting 30 hours of my time plus gas and wear and tear on my vehicle, and my father-in-law wasting 3 hours of his time all to be back at square one as if the laptop had never been purchased. The manager of the Grapevine store literally told me "I won't switch your laptop out with a comparable one because that would just be a bad business decision on my part. I would lose money." and I responded by saying "So you care more about a smart business decision (saving $200) on your part than customer service and doing what's right?"

He responded by saying something like "Well, I wouldn't say it like that". Heaven forbid that Best Buy take a $200 hit to take care of me by giving me the next comparable laptop. Oh wait, it gets better. Not only will they not replace it but I didn't buy a service plan so they are wanting to charge me $114 to fix it. So, you sell me a defective product and then want to charge me to fix it. That makes sense.

At this point I am very tempted to just light the laptop on fire. I think that would result in better progress than dealing with Best Buy customer service. NOTE TO PEOPLE BUYING LAPTOPS FROM BEST BUY: _____Don't!!!!_____ They won't take care of you if something goes wrong!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Best Buy Computers Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
152 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Best Buy
7601 Penn Ave. South
Richfield, MN 55423
1-800-369-5050 (ph)
www.bestbuy.com
cr@bestbuy.com
Product/Services
Compare Superstores