Hewlett-Packard Company Other Printers

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
55 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Hewlett-Packard Tech Support worthless
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
SOUTHLAKE, TEXAS -- Several months ago HP Tech support was called, because our printing was of poor quality, and varied greatly. Tech support phone number 1-800-474-6836 was called and the "technician" quickly told me that my printer was out-of-date, had a part deep inside that couldn't be repaired, and our printer would have to be replaced. Offered me a new printer at a "very good discount" and seemed disappointed and reluctant when I decided to confer with my spouse before making a purchase. A friend visited later, we replaced the ink cartridge and the printer has been working well ever since!

Today I attempted to "scan" a document which I needed to email quickly, and the printer window said the USB was not connected. Since we had been printing computer documents with no problems, we called the above phone number for Tech service again, and this man (maybe the same one) said the same thing, almost word for word. My printer was out of date, couldn't work with my computer, and he could sell me another one. No help at all to find out why my printer and computer have been working together just fine, but nevertheless when asked to scan, the printer reports that they are not connected.

Finding a phone number for Hewlett-Packard online, I called, explained my problem to a pleasant young woman, and she apologized for the situation, said she couldn't help me but would connect me with a tech support managerial level, and that I should inform them why she went directly to them. The "manager" seemed not to understand my plea for a tech support person that would not try to sell me a new printer, but help to solve the problem. She said she had no control of whom I would be connected with, and I might need a new printer! The conversation went downhill from there. Needless to say, we don't plan to buy another Hewlett Packard product!
     
Replies
Is there a lemon law for printers?
Posted by on
MCHENRY, ILLINOIS -- I purchased a Designjet 130 from Hewlett Packard in mid 2005.

A LEMON!

Before purchasing the printer, I did some research with Hewlett Packard themselves and with one of their dealers, IT Supplies in Rolling Meadows, IL, my HP ink and paper supplier.

Their printer had been recommended by an article about Joel Meyerowitz, a world famous photographer with Life magazine who had been using the printer and loving it, he does black and white photography.

My own prerequisites were that the black ink had to be pigment because of the needs of my process and that the printer print in black mode only for good black and white prints which are the mainstay of my work.

If you need my reasons for needing pigmented black ink, half of my work consists of printing black and white photographs on watercolor paper and then painting them with watercolors, dye inks bleed when I apply paint to the paper, pigmented inks do not.

HP assured me that both needs would be met by this printer, it used pigmented black ink and printed black only.

Because it is an expensive printer, and before spending $ 1,299.99, I asked IT Supplies, if they would make a black and white sample print for me comparing the DJ 130 to the Epson 7600 with a file that I would provide to them to make sure of the comparative qualities of the printers before making my purchase.

The prints they made from both the Epson and the HP were superb black and white prints, perfectly neutral, sharp and detailed.

That helped me decide to choose the HP Designjet 130 Printer, it obviously was capable of the black and white quality I needed.

The printer was delivered and from the start, I was unable to print a neutral black and white print, it was both green and magenta which is an impossible combination to correct for.

Green is the complement of Magenta, which means that if you color correct for green, the entire print goes magenta and if you color correct for magenta, it goes green, an impossible situation to correct and one that ALL of HPs tech support people seem to ignore. Roughly translated: it prints Green in the 25% to 50% gray area, and Magenta in the 50% to 80% gray or black range.

Upon calling and speaking to a Hewlett Packard tech support person, I was told that my information about the Designjet 130 was incorrect, it did NOT use pigmented black ink, all it’s inks are dye based, and it does NOT print black only, but prints cyan and magenta under the black to supposedly make it richer.

Information which is in total opposition to what I was told pre-sale
So, I asked HP to replace the printer with a suitable model, they refused and told me that it could achieve neutral blacks by "tweaking".

This person also told me that if my test print had been good and if “this guy Meyerowitz” was satisfied with the printer, it could be made to give me what I wanted! (?)

Having no choice, I then tried to follow HP tech support's suggestions, to no avail, the printer prints magenta in the dark gray leading to black and prints greenish in the lighter gray.

I’ve updated the driver several times and on my last phone call, I asked that they find me someone who knows the machine and can tell me how to fix it before I pay an additional $39.00 a week for nothing, still waiting.

Subsequent calls to HP resulted in a long series of attempts to make it work, the tech support people kept insisting that since the diagnostics were normal, there must be a bad ink cartridge or a bad printhead.

Since the diagnostic pages were indeed in the normal mode, I had no recourse other than to go along with them assuming all along that I must be doing something wrong, even though I had had no problem printing good black and white prints with my old Epson 2200 printer.

We started replacing the cartridges and print heads one by one, testing them, only to find that it did not solve the issue, by the time I had replaced and tested all 7 inks and heads, about 6 months had elapsed.

I was then hospitalized for 6 weeks, had surgery at Mayo which put me out of commission for about 4 1/2 months and effectively shortened my warranty and sure enough, when I resumed my work, the warranty had expired.

Now, HP wants me to pay for continued support to the tune of $ 39.00 a week without the assurance that this issue will ever be resolved, not only can I not afford this, they are continuing to affect my productivity and costing me money in that manner.
I continued trying to use the printer to do my black and white work, now the diagnostics were telling me that various printheads were either "non genuine" (which is impossible since they are HP and as far as I know, only HP makes them), and occasionally faulty.

I updated the driver again.
I HAVE NOW REPLACED PRINTHEADS AT LEAST 12 TIMES – THESE PRINTHEADS COST ME $ 32.99 EACH, PLUS $8.00 SHIPPING OR $40.99 EACH, WHICH HAS MEANT OVER $490.00 SINCE THE PRINTER WAS DELIVERED, ALL FOR NOTHING SINCE THEY DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM AND THE OLD PRINTHEADS WERE ALL WITHIN WARRANTY AND WITHIN CONSUMABLES LIMITS. I STILL CANNOT PRINT BLACK AND WHITE PROPERLY AND NOW, HP WANTS TO CHARGE ME $39.00 A WEEK FOR ADDITIONAL TECH SUPPORT AND REFUSES TO ASSURE ME THAT THEY CAN MAKE THE PRINTER WORK.

One HP person told me to take it to a repair service station, which would cost me $75.00 just to have them look at it.

I called them anyway to ask if they had any ideas as to what my problem might be, over the phone, they said NO, of course, but did admit that they really could no nothing other than replace parts if the diagnostics said there was no problem, which, frankly, is understandable.

They did say they could rebuild it at a cost of over $350.00, which is ridiculous if they don't know what and why they are rebuilding.

Now, there is a new twist to this, with the warranty being over, it seems that HP has no records of all my phone calls, the only record they admit to is a call in December 2006, which was for a different issue and my calls to them last week.

I think this is a shallow ploy to avoid giving me satisfaction, I'm not sure what the solution is, but the entire transaction now seems a bit fishy to me, since I was assured of one thing presale and received another and they can't admit it or they would have to make good on it?

I HAVE WASTED MORE THAN ENOUGH TIME AND MONEY.

THIS MACHINE WAS NEVER CAPABLE OF GIVING ME WHAT I ASKED FOR, IT WAS SOLD TO ME UNDER FALSE PRETENSES THROUGH THE INCOMPETENCE AND GREED OF HEWLETT PACKARD WHICH ALSO PREVENTED THEM FROM REPLACING IT THE FIRST WEEK WITH ANOTHER MODEL WHICH WOULD HAVE SOLVED BOTH MY AND THEIR PROBLEM.

I WANT THIS PRINTER REPLACED WITH ONE THAT DOES WHAT I ASKED HP TO PROVIDE ME WITHIN THE FIRST PLACE, I NEED A PRINTER THAT WILL PRINT BLACK AND WHITE WITHOUT A COLOR TINGE, THAT WILL PRINT BLACK OR ALL THE COLORS WITH PIGMENTED INK, NOT DYES.

THIS THING IS A LEMON.

I spoke to a customer service person again last Thursday, April 19, 2007 and told them that I would not waste any more time doing diagnostics over the phone with them, or wait the interminable time for them to decide who is the right person to speak to.

I told them to find the correct, competent person who knows how this printer works and can fix it for me and to call me back or I would start filing complaints.

This is now Tuesday, April 24, I have heard nothing as expected.



     
Replies
HP OfficeJet Pro 8500A All-In-One Printer Issues
Posted by on
I purchased a HP OfficeJet Pro 8500A All-In-One Printer on March 12, 2011. The deal at the time is they would give you $50 for your old printer if you purchase a new HP printer like the one that I bought. The initial price at the time was on sale for $179.98 minus the $50 they gave you for the trade to bring the price down to $129.98. Seemed like a great deal…. NOT.

Since I purchased this item I have had nothing but problems. The major issue is that it goes into sleep mode and it will not wake up unless you unplug the power from it and plug it back in. It is a wireless printer on a network and I can’t be unplugging and replugging it in all the time to get it going. Once you do that it also takes several minutes while it goes through a system test mode. In addition the fax system would not work properly and it would try to send in a page that was not there and then the fax would fail because it thought there was a paper jam when there wasn’t. Even when you scan it wants to send in a page that you do not have, which causes and extra blank page to come up on your screen.

I contacted their customer service center and they had me download software but it did not correct the problem. On 4/14/2011 I emailed their CEO, and gave them all the issues I had with my printer. They then put me in contact with John D a service representative John D. had me download new firmware that seemed to correct the fax issue but not the other issues. They then informed me that there is a firmware issue with some of these machines but it has not been resolved. He said he will send me a refurbished machine to replace my new machine. I was not happy about this. Regardless, I did the exchange and spent more of my valuable time getting this machine set up.

Again I had the same exact issues as the old printer. I contacted John D, HP customer service and he had me push buttons on the screens to get it to open up to a special screen that consumers can’t get to unless they know the secret sequence, to reset some parameters. No matter what I did, my machine would not go to those screens. Therefore, John said they had no choice but to buy back my printer. On 5/26/2011 I faxed them a copy of my receipt so that they could refund my $179.98 + $7.80 tax for a total of $187.78.

On 6/5/2011 I send John D. the customer service representative I was dealing with and letter asking what they are going to do since I never heard back. On 6/8/2011, I wrote to their CEO again and wanted to know about my issue with Case #7501925397. They called me and left a message to call them at 1-800-756-0708 option 7 and assigned me a Case #8049441207. I contacted them and they put me back with John D. John informed me he would only pay me $129.98 and not the $50 for the Printer they bought and recycled, because he said my printer is being treated like a coupon. Staple’s sends them back to HP. Therefore, I feel I am not getting a good deal. If they buy back the printer they will only send me back $129.98 of my money and now I am out my old printer which I can’t get back. It is like trading in your old car for a new car that turns out to be a lemon, and then the company buys back your lemon car but they don’t pay you for your trade. They are treating my old printer like a coupon and it is not. How would you like it if your trade in was treated like a coupon?

After talking with John D, he said he wants to send me a $75 gift card for their HP store in exchange for my Printer. Sounds like a good deal but the same printer is now $199.99. Therefore, if I use the $122.98 plus the $75.00 can only buy the same printer which has firmware problems or a less expensive printer which doesn’t have the same options that I want. To be truthful, I don’t want another HP printer ever again. If I repurchase the same printer and it doesn’t work they will only give me a gift card for HP. I am now stuck with HP for a long time dealing with their issues.

All I am asking is for my $187.78 which includes tax, which is what I paid for it. I really would like a class action lawsuit filed against HP because they should not be selling Printers in PA or the USA that have defective firmware. I am not talking software, I am talking firmware. This is so unfair to consumers and a total rip off. Trading in old equipment is not a good deal in this instance. I could have sold it at a flea market and made some money on it.
     
Replies
Lousy Ink Cartridges, Poor Customer Service
Posted by on
I've owned this HP printer for almost a year now, and have changed ink cartridges about five times. I have never had an ink cartridge print as many copies as the package claims it will print, but the last cartridge I purchased takes the cake. The package promised to print 200 pages. Well, I managed to print two documents totaling a whopping 26 pages before the ink cartridge ran dry.

I contacted HP by email to request either a refund of my purchase price (14.99 + tax), or a replacement cartridge. This is the initial reply I received:

----------------------------
Dear *****,

Thank you for contacting HP Total Care and its a great pleasure for me to assist you.

This is ******* R from HP All-in-One Technical Support Team. This reply is regards to your mail about HP OfficeJet J4680 All-in-one .

I truly regret for the inconvenience I caused. I realize from your issue that you experience less page yield from your all-in-one when using HP cartirdges.

Additionally, I see that you need a replacement of the Cartridge for free of cost. *****, though, I cannot promise you the replacement at this moment, let us check the page count of the Cartridge used by you and proceed further. However, I assure you my complete support.

I am giving the average page yield of the cartridges.

NOTE : Page Yield is the average number of pages that an HP Cartridge should print. Please make sure that you are not using Refilled or Remanufactured cartridges.

http://h10060.www1.hp.com/pageyield/us/en/

Note: Printouts should be normal text documents.

Please compare the page count of the HP Cartridge used by you with the Average Page Yield. If there is lot of difference we can move to further.

To know the Page Count of the HP cartridge, please print an Extended Self-test page by performing the steps that appear below.

Extended self test:
------------------

Press Setup menu on the All-in-One then scroll using the arrow key and select Print Report then select extended Self Test Report.

An extended self-test report prints.

Now, let me know the Page count printed in the Extended Self-test page.

*****, in future, to increase the productivity of your Cartridges, please follow the below steps:

Steps to increase productivity:
-----------------------------

click on solution center
click on settings
click on print settings
click on printer settings
click on paper/quality
In paper quality option select fast draft.

*****, please get back to us if there is lot of difference between page yield and page count.

We are always available round the clock to assist you technically regarding the problems you may experience with All-in-One units.

It is our responsibility to serve our esteemed customer's like you in the best possible way. We appreciate your support and cooperation.

I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for being one of our most valued customers.

Have a great day.

Sincerely,

******* R
HP Total Care
--------------------------------
Well, first off--I already knew the "yield" of this cartridge--it was printed on the packaging material. I did not need someone to send me an internet link so I could read the same damn thing again.

Secondly, I can't run a "self-test report" without a tri-color cartridge installed along with the defective black cartridge. And believe me, I'm in no mood to run out and purchase one after my experience with their cartridges up to this point.

I will NEVER buy another HP product as long as I live. I don't have money to just flush down the drain like this.



     
Replies
In Case Of Problems - Hp Won't Be There!
Posted by on
I just purchased an Officejet 8500 PRO All in One Printer, and warn anyone considering a similar purchase to think long and hard. I have always used HP printers, and in fact have two others right now - and never really had an issue. But that is the point. I never really had an issue. Until now that is. I can tell you that if you have an issue - you are on your own!

I installed this new printer Sunday, and all seemed fine. Then I received a message that an update to the software was available and that I should download it to solve a number of known issues with my version. I did this, and all of a sudden the Solution Center software that controls all the features of the printer would not work. I immediately called Tech Support, and for the next 6 hours had two different techs taking over my computer to solve the problem. The techs uninstalled and reinstalled the printer and software, went into the register to fix issues, and I don't really know what else. In the end they could not fix it - and to add insult to injury - my networked Laserjet 3600 was no longer networked and could not be accessed. So with their fine help, I was down two printers. They said they would escalate the case to higher level tech who would call me within 48 hours.

I waited two days, and after not receiving a call I again called tech support to check on my status, and was told the request for a higher level tech was again made and that I should expect a call either that day or the next.

When I did not receive a call back, I called Corporate Headquarters for help. In my experience, headquarter people are generally more consumer friendly and want to do what they can to assist their consumers - but NOT HP!

I spoke with a Support person in the executive office, who did immediately connect me with a Case Manager from the Mexico Call Center. After reading my file, he told me that the Solution Center Software that runs the printer is a "bonus feature" shipped with the product - and HP did not support it. The fact that there is an issue with the Register is not their fault because I granted them permission to get into my system and work on it. So this is my fault. The fact that after their techs finished monkeying with my Register and now my networked Laserjet no longer worked would necessitate my calling back tech support to have this out of warranty printer trouble shot - at my expense - because they have no responsibility there. Hugo refused to even attempt to do anything for me, just advising me to call DELL (my computer is a Dell thank God) and have them assist me with a full system restore -after which I could try and reinstall the printer and hopefully not start the process all over again. When I was less than pleased with this solution, I was told he was closing my case and hung up on me.

So HP's customer service has me overpaying for an HP Printer because of the name, Paying Dell to repair what they messed up, and then paying HP to get my Laserjet up and running - all the while praying that this will all work! What service!

I did not give up yet, however. After all, this is a really large American Company. I called back the Corporate office and spoke to the Customer Service person I spoke with originally. Her first suggestion was that I replace my computer with a new one - preferably an HP (yea, right -in your dreams). She then said she would have another Case Manager call me back - and I said fine.

Guess what. My Good Buddy from yesterday called me back - and asked me if I had called DELL yet! He smugly advised that he was my case manager and I could speak with no one else. He kept saying that if I "would not work with him" there was nothing he could do. By that he meant paying Dell and then paying HP to fix the problems they caused. I was still not satisfied, much to my case managers surprise, and asked if he could at least see if there was simple problem in the Network setup of my Laserjet that he could spot. He refused. I asked if he would assist me in removing all traces of the Printer and software from my system - and he refused. I asked to speak with a supervisor, and he said "supervisor's don't take calls" - and refused. He just continued to admonish me for refusing to work with him - said he was closing my case - and hung up on me.

So remember - if you purchase an HP peripheral, you jeopardize your entire system and should anything go wrong - you are on your own. BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
Replies
Horrible Horrible Customer Service
Posted by on
PALO ALTO, CALIFORNIA -- I am a newbie to this printer and about a week ago I put my SD card from my camera in the front of the printer. It was the first time I had done that and on the computer popped up all the pictures, I was able to choose the ones I wanted to save and then email. Yesterday HP said they had some necessary updates for my printer so I updated. Today I tried putting my SD Card in and nothing popped up on the computer as last time so I called HP to find out what I had done wrong or if those updates had changed something.
First I had to stay on hold for about 10 minutes then I was connected to someone I guess in India I couldn't even understand him his accent was so thick, I asked to be connected to someone in the US. He transferred me to someone with an equally thick accent in the Philippines so again I asked to be transferred to the US, she transferred me to someone else in India. Still I was unable to understand them but after about 15 minutes I got it that they were telling me to hang up and call again and that I would be given an option to push to get someone in the US, totally untrue but I tried again.
It has now been over an hour and I still hadn't found anyone that had any technical ability to answer my question that I could even understand.
So I tried again to make this call and got another woman in India in Calcutta that I could barely understand but I realized that I was never going to be able to speak to someone in the United States although that was where I bought my printer, so I tried to ask this woman Suzy my question. She was unable to help me until I gave her my phone number, email address, name first & last, type of printer, serial number and various other information that had no bearing on my question. She kept saying without your number I can't help you. What does my phone number have to do with this question???? I gave her the type of printer and then called in my neighbors yard men to help me move all this furniture to get to the backside of the printer for the serial number.
We couldn't find any number on the back of the machine that started with the letters she required so she told me how to print out a self test diagnostic page. Why did she wasted all my time with moving all the furniture, she knew it was very hard for me to get to the back of the printer I told her.
Even after all that it has now been over one and a half hours she put me on hold again for 10 minutes and did Lord knows what. She comes back on the line and I again ask her how to get the pictures to show up on the computer screen. She again asks me for an email address which I refuse to give her because I don't ever want to hear from her or this company or get there spam. so she says I will be unable to help you without an email address.
I refuse and again she puts me on hold. After holding for another ten minutes she comes back and says that there must be something wrong with the hard drive on my printer and to put something on the glass and print it. What that has to do with anything I don't know but I am a newbie so I do that and it prints correctly. Then she says to put the SD Card back in my camera to see if it is working.
Too make an end to this horrible experience I asked if she had any idea what I needed and if she was going to be able to answer my question. Nothing just total silence again. All in all every time I asked a question I got total silence from her and still after 2 hours I didn't have an answer to my question.
I called a friend and in 2 minutes she had answered my question. I could kick myself in the bottom for not just waiting till my friend got to work and calling her but I never dreamed I would get such terrible service from HP.
I suggest that no one ever buy equipment from them unless you have a friend that can help when you get into trouble. I know I will never buy another HP product
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Hewlett Packard Digs Its Own Grave Selling Junk
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PALO ALTO, CALIFORNIA -- I was given this printer so this isn't so much a complaint as a sigh of relief. Also, even though it is quite evident that HP couldn't give a rat's bum about customer satisfaction I'd like to let them know how satisfying it was to smash their piece of junk into a pile of pieces and leave the HP logo to rot where it belongs in the local landfill. If you're reading this because you're considering buying a HP printer, in my experience the printer worked okay until the first ink cartridge was empty and never printed another page. Once the cartridge was replaced the indicator read that the cartridge was damaged.

Of course, their customer service forums are not currently operating. That's when I looked to see if anyone else had the same problem. It seems that HP makes bogus printers to boost their ink sales. Bunch of jokers. No matter - compared to the other complaints I've read I got off easy. Never again Hewlett Packard.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
No USB Cable
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
My laptop is HP so I choose to buy an HP printer. I assembled everything then downloaded the software. When it was time to connect the USB cable I could not find it! In the small print it said USB was not included. Well makes my printer useless. I can't believe a big company would lose customers over 39cent item. Never will buy an HP product again.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Office jet all in one
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
PALO ALTO, CALIFORNIA -- I have a 4500 all in one office jet and the ink cartridge goes empty in no time. # 901 black bought 5/8/2012 may have made 10 copies went on 2 week vacation had may be 9 faxes come in, was working for may be 3 more copies and than blank. It appears that I might have gotten an old or half empty cartridge.
The 1. Customer Serv. Person told me that my nothing is wrong with the ink but that my HP copier has to be replaced as it uses to much ink. He referred me to another # 1 800474 6836 here I spoke to James today and he made me push all kinds of buttons to clean it but no ink came out and told me someone must have used the printer while I was on vacation. I am the only person in the office and the only one with a key. Than he told me to up grade my copier which I will not do as it is barely 1 year old well that is old he said and than he said I should buy another black ink cartridge. Very unhelpful. The color was working fine all this time. I use HP for the last 15 years plus at home and in the office but this is my last printer no more to many cartridges and the scan function never worked either I even called in about it but no really helps.
     
Replies
Was satisfied with the HP brand until today.
Posted on
Back in 2004 I purchased a top of the time HP all-in-one printer. I don't remember exactly how much I paid for it, but it was quite a bit at the time. I had it and it worked great up to today.

I got a message that I ran out of black ink. Okay....I go to the drawer and pull out a new black cartridge, I always keep one as a backup. I put it in, and shut the little door as I have always done, maybe half a dozen times or more.

I then get an error message "please check cartridge on the right" which is the black ink. I again open it up, take it out and try to reinsert it and nothing. Thinking it was a bad cartridge, I stuck the old one back in and got the same exact message to check the cartridge on the right.

Confused, I cleaned everything on the inside, and decided to check on the internet. I found an article regarding this model having a problem with the flex circuit behind the printer cartridge being torn instantly killing these printers. Its a design flaw because theres a spring with a pointed edge that pokes a hole in this delicate circuit. Many people have called HP and gotten replacements.

I decided to call HP. I reached an indian who must be in India. I explained to her the situation, and the problems with these, and all she could do was tell me how much life I got out of the printer. regardless of how old it is, it was damaged because of a DESIGN FLAW. I could understand if the heads burned up, or the motor went dead, or any other common occurrence with an old printer, but this was a FAULY DESIGN that was caused my HP and should be at reast fixed! No no, she said the only thing she could do was give me a discount on a new HP. So the phonecall turned from a customer service related call into a sales call. She gave me a few model numbers and prices. I told her I would have to think about it and call back. After researching the models of the printers she was trying to sell me, there was NO DISCOUNT at all. That ticked me off.

I gave up on this mess, and HP pretty much let me down. As I said. If the thing would have just blown up, or the motor died, or any other common problem, I would have probably bought another HP. But this damage was caused by a flaw by HP when they designed it.

I decided to go out today and purchase myself a Canon, which got great reviews. All I have to say to HP is Goodbye!
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >