Preview Review

Next Review

Lowe's Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Att. Returns Dept
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW CITY, NEW YORK -- Do not use Lowe's as a contractor! On June 23, 2015, my life and my son's life was turned upside down causing not only unnecessary stress to us but, causing me to incur thousands of additional dollars in costs due to the construction of the bathroom. On June 23, 2015 I initiated an agreement with Lowe's to remodel a 5X7 bathroom. I paid in full $14,913.00. My son and his wife were supposed to move in to this condominium at the end of August as the bathroom was to be completed in 15 days of actual work or by the agreed upon date of August 15th.

The events of the last 5 1/2 months were perpetuated by the poor and ineffective project scheduling and by the contractor hired by Lowe's. However, it always seemed that Lowe's had the back of the contractor and not us the customer who had paid in full the entire cost of the bathroom renovation prior to the start of the construction. The guarantee of satisfaction we signed with Lowe's on June 23rd 2015 had no effect on the construction. Therefore, after deliberate consideration and consultation it is obvious that the bathroom renovation was not completed to expected and reasonable standards of satisfaction.

5 1/2 months later the bathroom was never completed to expected and reasonable standards of satisfaction. Examples of the extremely sloppy workmanship include: The door and door frame should have been replaced with a quality door as agreed to in initial contract. Door is damaged, poorly spray painted so its surface is like sandpaper and the frame is damaged too so that the correct hardware could not be installed. Old rusted hinges were reused with caked on paint of years of use. The threshold is not the marble one we selected and it is the wrong color. The bathroom is beiges and browns and the threshold is an orange composite material.

The wall and the tile molding was never completed behind the vanity. The grout is coming out from between the tiles in the shower. Instead of regrouting the tiles caulking was used on the surface only. The ceiling has gouges in it from when the bathroom was demolished and the light fixture was removed. The vent fan does not sit flush against the wall due to a wall that is not vertical. The light switch was poorly installed and now it cannot be aligned. Due to the inexpensive door when the towel bars were connected to the door the door was hollow so they could not be anchored correctly.

Other expenses we incurred were my son's 2 months' rent in his Manhattan apartment since the timeline for the renovation changed from the end of August to the end of November. And you can't move into an apartment that has no toilet. (Expense of $3,358.00) Also… ** You have to see the photos of the mess in the apt. Nothing was covered. Everything is covered by a layer of dust. Floors, walls, windows, all the furniture, television, bedding, couches, all appliances and more. In the middle of the living room is a 4-foot pile of bathroom debris (tile, floor, wall board, ceiling, plumbing and probably asbestos & lead too).

The floors were left in such a damaged condition due to the contractor's dumping the demolition refuse into the living room that we needed to scrape the damaged floors for $2,126.00. And finally the couches were discarded because the debris that covered them and it was not worth the risk to use them. Their replacement value was about $1800.00 In all. We are requesting compensation in the amount of $ 22,197.00 without the cost of painting the entire apartment that is covered with dust that probably contains asbestos and lead.

Replies
Advertisement
Three Months to Install 100 Feet of Fence
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEEKONK, RHODE ISLAND -- I contracted Lowe's to install 100 feet of cedar fencing and a pergola add-on. Work began in the beginning of July. When the installer told me he had no experience installing cedar and was familiar with installing vinyl, I should have known this wouldn't go smoothly.

I originally ordered a four foot gate for the backyard. Shortly thereafter I changed my mind and phoned the project manager, Kevin **. I asked how much it would cost to have 2 three foot gates instead. He said it was a 50 dollar difference. I said ok. He said he didn't feel like driving out to Portsmouth from his store in Seekonk so I could sign a change order. He said he'd just go ahead and change the order and not charge the 50 dollars.

When the installers came we discovered that he hadn't changed the order. Lowe's shipped me 2 four foot gates one for the back and one for the front. They also didn't send the posts and lattice for the pergola. Mr. ** tried to convince me to accept the gates I'd originally ordered. I refused, telling him that I would gladly pay the 50 dollars, and if he'd done the change order like he was supposed to, this wouldn't have happened. So... he had the installers use the 2 four foot gates that were on hand to create the back gate and order an additional gate for the front.

By then, my existing chain link fence had been removed. Originally I'd had someone lined up to remove the fence for me, but that fell through. I asked Mr. ** how much more it would cost to add removal and disposal. $450 more. I had no choice but to agree, as the installation date was already here. Instead of removing the posts, the installers cut them at ground level. My husband could have done that himself! I was then left with metal-lined holes in the ground, along with the remaining underground concrete. How can I plant grass and shrubs over that? I paid for removal, and I expected the fence to be removed.

Since all the parts weren't available, they had to halt work and special order the additional gate and pergola parts. They blocked the gap where the front gate should have been with a section of fence. After they left I noticed multiple gaps in the fencing because I heard the familiar bark of my dog. From the street. I'd let her out and she immediately escaped. She weighs 2 pounds. She never escaped when I had my old chain link fence. So... my husband inspected the yard and used old boards and bricks to block the spots where she could possibly escape.

The installers didn't leave my yard in good shape. I have a 4 year old and a dog. They left a saw blade in the yard. They left a red bull can in the sink of my daughter's playhouse. They left packaging from the fence components in the yard. They left the dirt and rocks. They dug up when installing the fence posts behind. The dirt in the front of the house is heavy with slate. They spread that dirt instead of removing it.

How is my grass going to regrow through slate? The pieces aren't big enough to pick up, but they're big enough to ruin my lawn. The yard on the longest side of the fence is higher because they spread the dirt instead of removing it. They also left behind large rocks that they dug up during installation.

Then... I noticed that one of the fence posts in the front of the house was cracked. From top to bottom. Why would someone even install something like that? When I called, the Lowe's manager tried to convince me that it was "a natural variation in the wood." Even after I emailed the photos. How insulting. $5,500 for a fence and you try to convince me to accept a damaged product!

Anyway, I was promised that the missing fence parts would arrive in 2 weeks and the installers were scheduled to return then. 2 weeks came and went with no delivery. The installer called to cancel. Meanwhile, the manager never called to inform me of what was going on. Why the delay? I called. I was promised the gate would arrive on September 12. Nope. No gate, no update from Lowe's. At this point I was promised a call from Dave **, the Market Director. He had someone call on his behalf on September 15. I listed all my concerns and was promised installation the following Friday.

The next week the installer called to schedule. I told them that I was promised installation on Sept 23. They said no, they couldn't. It'd have to be the next Friday. I'm a teacher, and purposely scheduled this work for the summer, when I'd be home. At this point, the work needed to be done on a Friday because I'm back to work and that's the only day my husband would be home to answer any questions the installers had.

On Monday I spoke to a woman at the fence company and gave her a list if everything that needed to be resolved. So... now it's Friday, September 30. I've had no front gate for approximately 3 months. The new gate and pergola parts arrived yesterday.

The installers came today. They installed the front gate and pergola. But... when I spoke to the Market Director's representative and the fence company I asked them not to install the hardware they'd shipped on the front gate. It's the same kind that's on the back gate - a flat lever that you push down. That's fine for the back utility gate, but not for the entrance. They installed it anyway. Now it needs to be changed and there will be additional holes in my new front gate.

They botched up the repair of the gaps under the fence. They lowered a section of the fence so the dog can't crawl under. Now the top of one panel is 3 inches lower than the adjacent panel and the rails facing my yard aren't lined up. There's still gaps at the bottom where the dog can get out. In fact, the front gate is approximately 4-5 inches off the ground. My dog will easily escape. These installers knew when they were here in July that they couldn't leave gaps like that. They saw my dog.

The installers replaced the cracked fence post. But... it came right out. They hadn't cemented it in. In fact, there were tons of leftover bags of cement. They didn't cement the pergola posts in. Those posts are going to rot, just stuck in the ground like that. I need them to come back and cement every post into the ground.

Also, am I getting credit for the unused cement, panels, and posts? The project manager is supposed to know how much to order. I shouldn't have to pay when he doesn't know how to estimate a job. The installers also installed the drop bar on the back gate today. When they left the last time they used a piece of rebar as a substitute. But... the back gate is still not even. That was on the list of things to fix and it's still not done right.

Oh! And... at the time of the contract signing I was promised a 200 Lowes gift card. Mr. ** gave me the rebate form and receipt. Said to mail it in. Several weeks later I got a letter from Lowe's. They denied my submission. Said I didn't make a qualifying fence purchase.

So... I now have an expensive fence that is uneven, has posts that are going to rot, and doesn't keep the dog in the yard. All this after several months of headaches. I wish I could just have you take your fence back. I am beyond angry and discouraged.

My husband and I bought this house knowing we'd be making improvements. This is the first of many projects. We need windows, gutters, kitchen counters and cabinets and several other jobs done. We won't be hiring Lowe's.

Replies
Kitchen Counter Redo
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SCOTTSDALE -- BE AWARE OF LOWE'S AND STONE- SYSTEMS of ARIZONA!
Do yourself a favor, use other companies than those 2, there is other alternative………..
I feel I have to share my story, so you don't end up in the same situation.

I went to Lowes and planned to redo my counter top and install a farmer sink. I have an extremely small condo kitchen. It shouldn't have taken so much time and be so bad! I have been disappointed, frustrated, mad, discouraged, fed up!!!!!

*The day before Thanksgiving, my husband and I had chosen the new counter top and sink., still, we wanted to order a sample of the counter to bring it home. After 2 weeks of waiting for the sample, we called to find out the product was discontinued. We also had chosen a stainless steel farmer sink but had to return to Lowes to look at other possibilities since they did make it in the size fitting the counter. I took 4 weeks before the sink arrived, and go figure no one called us to let us know it was in store. So we called, went to pick it up.

During the waiting time we went to Stone-Systems of Arizona (counter top) manufacturer to choose a new counter top.
*From Lowes we had a plumber come to our place for measurement and estimate to install the new sink. The first person did not call did not show! The 2nd person came took measurement and 2 weeks later Lowes and us are still waiting for the estimate…..the company (plumber) associate with Lowes never turned in an estimate and dropped us. Another week passes and we are sent another plumber also through Lowes and again never came….really! Another appointment was made and this time again the estimate was not turned in.

Our project kitchen representative came to do the work himself, because so far he felt bad about all the service challenges we encountered. He returned to our place 4 individual times to work on it. Finally the support for our new sink was built (we thought). But, by the time the counter technician came to take the measurement he informed us that the sink was too low and we had to raise it. So at this point I asked a family friend to fix this and paid him $150. For something I already was charged to by Lowes.
At last we are finally ready for the counter top but it will take an additional 3 weeks “Without Plumbing” in the kitchen.

When the counter top people from STONE SYSTEMS of Arizona are due to come, I got a phone call 2 hours prior to the install time to let me know that the counter top is defective, bowed and they could not install. How can this be, after waiting for 3 weeks.

I called Lowes and Stone Systems of Arizona back and they tell me they are trying to find out what happened and they will get back to me in the next 24 hours. The next day I received a phone call from the Stone Systems of Arizona Mgr. which tells me that they are working on a new counter for me and I should have it in the next 5 days. I was a little suspicious as it took 3 weeks to work on the first one and now they could turn around and do it so fast. On the day of the install. I'm at work but my husband is home. I get home after work very excited to see my new counters.

I cannot tell you how many things were wrong about it. It had so many defects on it, it was a joke. I immediately took pictures and called the Stone- Systems of Arizona and invited them to come over and see for themselves what kind of product they gave me, and that is without mentioning that one side of one counter was cut reversed and did not fit!.

Two days later, a representative from the Stone Systems of Arizona came home to take pictures and see the product. She returned and showed it to the GM who agreed it was unacceptable (the least to say). I received a phone call the next day to let me know they would redo the work and suggested that I stopped At Lowes to see a different product stone that look the same, and is the same color apparently and is superior. So I did and went with their suggestion. Again we have to have the plumbing reconnect and disconnect.

I inquired from the manager the date of the new installation, she texted me that it will be the March 15th at 3pm. At 4pm that day, I texted her to let her know no one was at my place and I was worried…..to find out …she says oh no it's not today, it's the March17th. I responded, look at your text and see the time and date you gave me, I can't believe you guys Disappointed me AGAIN. Now I have to again call the plumber schedule to come and reconnect everything that he can't, and we need to reschedule. So Again another no show!!!

Unfortunately, the timing with the reconnect had to be another five days after we received the new counter because I or my husband could not miss more time from work for people that don't come or show!
The final product is nice but was it worth the headache, the aggravation from the day before Thanksgiving to March 22nd?.................NO WAY!!!

I addressed both Lowes and Stone –Systems of Arizona, demanding compensation and on a product of one sink and counter top of a value of more than $4000.00,for a kitchen counter the size of 25 inches deep x 77 inches long and for 2 stove sides of approx.. 25 inches x 16 inches. They agree to pay for the plumber ONLY!!!!!!!$ 400.00

It does not pay for all the time we took off from work when no one showed up. The aggravation, the headache and they think they were fair!

I wish someone at Lowes would have told me that Stone-Systems of Arizona has mediocre products that should not be on the market as well as better one. I would have taken the best one…money was not an issue!!! All we wanted is a great kitchen and great experience.
That is far from what we got!!!!! I hope my testimony will make you go elsewhere!
For your own sake!

Replies
Do Not Purchase a Wooden Privacy Fence From Lowes
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BURLINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- They hire subcontractors who do not call to let you know when they will be scheduling your installation. It took multiple calls to my "project manager" to even get it scheduled (over a 2 week period). When it was finally installed they left the white tags at the bottom of each board. They did not refill the holes with the dirt they removed when they set the new posts in concrete. They left coffee cups and used my water hose, which I had unhooked from the spigot due to the weather getting colder. One of the rails across the top of the fence is not straight and two of the posts on section of fence are not the same height.

There were also several boards that right away had golf ball size holes through them. Even though I am supposed to have a 1 year warranty, it again took me sending pictures and multiple phone calls to get them to come out. After a week, I called and asked my project manager why I hadn't been contacted. He told me the installer came out and replaced the holes in the boards, noted that my gate was locked but everything else was fine. I questioned how he was able to see that being that the problem was on the inside of the fence, of course it would be locked and that why he would need to contact me first in order to come out when I would be available to be there.

He then told me that my rail was not straight because my yard was sloped and it needed to be that way. My yard is completely flat. The fence that was there before had all the posts the same height and all the rails were straight on every section. There is no reason for that rail not be straight. I also wanted to know why they continued to come on my property without notifying me first.

Finally the installer called me the next morning and set up an appointment to come out to meet me the following Monday. He didn't give me an exact time but said he would call when he was on his way. I told him I would arrange to be at home that day. Monday comes, nobody shows, nobody calls.

Replies
Advertisement
Delivery Issues - No More Purchases From Lowe's
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SHELBYVILLE, KENTUCKY -- I purchased a range, along with the whole kitchen package (refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave), from the Shelbyville, Kentucky location and was promised delivery of the range and refrigerator on Friday. I stressed to the sales associate, Daniel, that I was hesitant to buy from Lowe's due to their delivery reputation but he assured me that I would be taken care of. When Friday rolled around, the delivery guys showed up with the refrigerator only. No range. When I called and talked to Pat in appliances, I asked why my range was not on the truck.

He explained that is was an error and that all humans make mistakes. No apologies. I then talked to Chris who explained that the manufacturer was at fault because the range arrived to them marked incorrectly. No apologies. He felt that getting it delivered sometime today was apology enough. I had a full day planned and had to rearrange everything to accommodate Lowe's delivery and, you guessed it, "No Apologies!" I will never purchase anything from Lowe's due to their customer service. Never have I been made to feel like my time is so valueless.

Replies
Bad Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HUNTERSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- We went to Lowe's and pick out the flooring we liked. Scheduled a time to be deliver at our home which they said that on May 1, 2016 was open that day. Then we set a time between 4-8 pm. Needless to say no one showed up. On Monday my husband called around 10 am and spoke to someone and they said they would call him back, no call!! Around 12:30-1:00 pm he called them back still no one would give him a answer about delivery, said again someone would call us back.

Around 3:30 pm my husband called them again and still nothing! So if this is the way do business no Thank you!! We cancelled our order. I guess they don't need our hardworking money! And we also are gutting our master bathroom and they won't have my business there either.

Replies
Great Experience with Dave **, Sales Specialist
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

DANBURY, CONNECTICUT -- Is not often that I feel empowered to write about a sales representative but I was so impressed about the assistance I received from Dave ** at the Danbury Lowe's. He not only was extremely knowledgeable about the products in the flooring department but went out of his way to also assist me in other departments. I was in the process of opening a preschool so I required different items like appliances, blinds, vinyl flooring and carpet.

He advised me on the best products but also watched my spending and the best deals for the money. I was so taken by the fact that even though he went out of his way to walk me to other departments and counsel me at the products, per my request, he allowed the sales representatives in those departments to take on the sales.

Replies
Their Service Is Excellent
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ONEONTA, NEW YORK -- 8 months ago, we purchased a $1500 refrigerator, and it stopped working. We called LG (the refrigerator manufacturer) to get a repair technician. We called 14 times, and they finally said they would send a repair man (in four weeks), and that we needed the receipt. We had bought the refrigerator from Lowe's, so we went there to see if they could reprint the receipt (we had lost it) and when we asked the lady at the counter, she called one of the executives, and he sent one of their best technicians free of cost, and told us if anything goes wrong again, it's on them.

There are many other times where the Lowe's staff have helped us tremendously. They know their stuff, and they drop everything they're doing to help you. I had to lift a table saw I was going to buy onto the cart, and one of their employees came running 3 aisles away when they saw I was having trouble. I have never had a problem with Lowe's, and on top of all this, they supported our local church, selling them last year's dishwashers and washers and dryers for $50 so the church can give them to those who are struggling. God bless these people.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Experience of My Life
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRAMINGHAM, MASSACHUSETTS -- I contracted with Lowe's in June 2015 for a full kitchen remodel. Everything from the studs out. Their installers started work on 8/5/15. As of this date 3/18/16 it is still not finished correctly. The quality of their work is sub-standard at best. I even found they had been drinking on the job as they left a couple of beer cans in the cabinet one day. The job the tile guy did was horrible. Uneven floor and backsplash tile with no grout spacers used and uneven grouting throughout. The tile guy came back once to fix but all he did was re-grout the floor which did not come out very good.

I have contacted the store and subcontractor many times only to be told it would be a certain day. They have just blown me off almost every time. I am filing a complaint with corporate and have filed a complaint with the attorney general's office. Bottom line is steer clear of Lowe's. The thousands of complaints I have found online blow my mind. This was the biggest mistake I have made in my life.

Replies
Do Not Honor Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT SMITH, ARKANSAS -- Had mower less than 5 months and had to have repaired twice. They charged for repair, even though it has 2 year warranty.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lowe's Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 115 ratings and
354 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lowe's
1000 Lowes Blvd
Mooresville, NC 28117
1-800-445-6937 (ph)
336-658-4766 (fax)
www.lowes.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies