Preview Review

Next Review

Lowe's Installation Services Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Kitchen Counter top Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KETTERING, OHIO -- I'll start off by saying I wish I would've read reviews for Lowe's installation services prior to using them. If you choose to use them, realize that you are simply creating an unnecessary step in getting your project completed. In our case, we hired them because we needed someone who knew how to install countertops. We did not have the knowledge or the time to do the install on our own. When the contractor that Lowe's hired came out to measure for the countertops, we learned that our cabinets were not level enough. Again, having never installed countertops we didn't realize the importance. So, that resulted in us hiring a contractor to level the cabinets.

When the installing company came back to measure again, they said it was still not level enough. Luckily we had the contractor we hired there and he marked the wall ON THE LASER LINES and then leveled the cabinets to those. When they came to actually install the countertops they used a half inch of silicone on one side of the cabinets in order for a seam to be smooth... again, indicating the cabinets were not level. The contractor we hired to do the leveling does remodeling and additions on multi-million dollar old homes. He does this on a daily basis. We were frustrated because of how the additional height and silicone looked.

The real complaint comes down to lack of communication from Lowe's. They failed to set the expectation clearly on the front side that we would have work to do, or would have to hire another contractor. Then, once the job was done the lack of clear communication continued. We wanted one thing, both a representative from Lowe's and from the installing company to be present at the same time to look at our countertops so we could collectively come to a resolution.

During that attempt, Lowe's just stopped communicating. No return calls. No acknowledgment of our request. No "sorry, we can't do that." Nothing. I would not hire installations through Lowe's. They are simply making money and moving on leaving their subcontractors as your contact point. In addition, if you are not "handy"... You will end up spending more than hiring one company to do it all. They are good at saying "sorry" and "we are working on that", but not at getting resolutions or communication. Hire your own subcontractor directly and leave Lowe's out of it! You won't regret it!

Replies
Advertisement
Installation of Gutters
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALEM, VIRGINIA -- I had gutters installed in Oct 2016. The installer did not check to make sure the fascia board was tacked up correctly. They put up the gutter without checking the substrate was sound. This year the gutter has bowed and the water is running every time it rains and soaks my sidewalk. If they would have suggested new fascia or asked me to pay to attach the boards I would have done so. Called the central processing office and because it was more than a year they flat out refused to help. I just wanted the gutter taken down. Fascia nailed and gutter reinstalled. I did not ask for money. I have two major projects to do but now will go elsewhere. Do not use Lowe's.

Replies
Lowe's Kitchen From Hell
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILLIAMSVILLE, NEW YORK -- Lowe's Kitchen Remodel From Hell! Lowe's kitchen remodel drags on for 7 months and is still not complete. We signed the contract for cabinets to be installed in July 2018. Our kitchen was not completed until January 2019! From the beginning the project has been a nightmare! From incorrectly measured cabinets, damaged cabinets, and project managers who didn't call back or do any of the things promised at the time of the contract signing such as inspecting packages for damages. My husband did all the work for this project with the exception of installing the cabinets. The installation work was so bad that at the end the countertop crew was not able to complete a measurement because the cabinets were uneven and unleveled.

Other problems we encountered included: 2. John ** had to come back five times to correct problems associated with the install. 3. John ** left the site messy and with cupboards that didn't open. 4. To date we have unleveled upper cabinets and a improperly installed Lazy Suzanne Door that Lowe's is not making any efforts to rectify. So much for a new kitchen! We have to settle for unleveled cupboards and cabinet doors. This is just wrong… No project should last 7 months and cause your home to be disrupted for the summer, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and the New Year. I would not recommend Lowe's to anyone for a kitchen remodel. We did not realize how low Lowe's could go! Signed: Sad & so disappointed!!!

Replies
Terrible Kitchen Remodel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUBURN, MAINE -- This is simple, NEVER have Lowe's Installation or Remodeling Service do any work in your home. Substandard work, and Lowe's customer service is the Worst. In our case, everything that could go wrong, has, poor design by the store, shoddy work by the contractor, damage product delivered, months without a kitchen, project half finished still 2+ months after the contracted completion date... Worst of all, Lowe's Customer Service, they couldn't care less. NEVER AGAIN... And to anyone thinking about it... DON'T.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrific Quality Issues and No Response to Complaints!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MOORESVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- They sent one person to side a house and the results were horrific! I had J Channel issues and a huge leak. They sent an insurance adjuster and I have been calling and email him as well as the project person at Lowe's and literally not one person calls or emails back. This has been a horrible experience!

Replies
Do Not Purchase Carpet From Lowe's!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GOOSE CREEK, SOUTH CAROLINA -- This complaint is primarily about the Lowe's Central Production Office (CPO), i.e. the Lowe's Central Installation Office. On January 16th, Lowe's contractor started a carpet install. They finished around noon on January 18th. Upon inspection, and before signing off on the job, I noticed large white stripes running across the carpet in every single room. I also noticed that the carpet pad sounded like bubble wrap. Turns out the installer had duct taped the pad, causing the popping noise.

I contacted the CPO, who told me they would need me to have the carpet steam cleaned so they could file a warranty claim with the manufacturer. I was expected to pay for the steam cleaning out of my own pocket. I asked what happens if the manufacturer denies the warranty claim, and the CPO told me: "we will cross that bridge when we come to it". I asked why I should fork out additional funds if there is no guarantee of resolution, and was told simply that I must have the carpet steam cleaned, there is nothing further they can do.

I put in a CC dispute with my bank, which took about a month to go through. In that time, I was put in contact with the Lowe's Executive Support personnel. The Executive support personnel merely repeated what the CPO had stated about having the carpet steam cleaned. I eventually started working with the store manager, who agreed to re-order the carpet and the pad, and have the defective carpet replaced. Kudos to the store manager for actually stepping up.

The carpet is in and is sitting at the installer's office, where it has been for the past 2 weeks. The Lowe's executive support person is refusing to proceed with the replacement until I drop the CC dispute. I would trust that a retailer the size of Lowe's would know that a customer cannot drop a CC dispute once the chargeback has been initiated. I have repeatedly explained that providing a full refund or replacing the carpet will make the dispute go away, yet no resolution has occurred.

I am sitting on two houses, unable to move until the carpet is installed in the new house, unable to sell my existing property, losing money every single day. Please do not make the same mistake that I did. If you are at a Lowe's which requires you to go through the "CPO" or "installed sales office", do not purchase. You will sorely regret it.

Replies
Installer Very UNprofessional
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARROLLTON, GEORGIA -- After a month of waiting, it failed. The salesperson in the store seemed to know what he was talking about. We had an odd-sized door, with 33 1/2 in width door (standard sizes are 32 or 36 inches). The salesperson suggested to get the 32 inches door and modify the opening. He listed up the materials needed. I paid for it.

They have one contracted installer. He came for a measurement in a few days. But the earliest available day for installation was a month later. On the day of the installation, he came late. He was going to come first thing in the morning, but he came mid-afternoon. Then he said the door size was wrong. He said he needs to get a 36-inches-wide door at the store. He said he will be back with the larger door. We waited. We already had to cancel the plans we had for that afternoon. He did not come back. I called the store, and was told that he never came back to the store! It was 3 hours after he left!

There are two big problems here: first, he lied about going to the store and bring back the bigger door. Second, the bigger 36-in door would not have fit to the 33 1/2-in opening. What would he have done? What did he think of the other materials that were for filling the opening? After calling the customer service a few times, we were told to reschedule it. No way. Sure, I wanted a new door as soon as possible, to replace an old drafty door. I waited for a whole month. But I don't want any business with this dishonest and clueless installer. So I asked for refund and cancellation of everything.

The refund process took a whole week, since the installer did not bring the original materials for a whole week. This installer had a nerve to call me to reschedule the installation. Hasn't he heard from the store that he made his customer very angry, and the refund was already approved? This is the one and only door installer to this particular Lowe's location. I have located another door installation company, which specializes doors, and I have had a much better interaction.

Replies
Using Unqualified People
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SENECA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Purchased a new kitchen faucet at Lowe's and also their install service. Lowe's person arrived on time, removed disposal and under sink plumbing. Looked at the existing faucet and asked if I had special tools to remove the faucet. Told him that it was installed 16 years ago, so I did not have any tools for it. He went outside and came back about 10 minutes later and told me he talked to his supervisor and he could not remove the existing faucet as it was a weird type of installation.

He replaced the disposal and plumbing and told me to get a refund for the charges from the local store. I called a local plumber who arrived the following day, looked at the existing faucet, said it was a simple job and removed the old one and installed the new faucet in about an hour, without removing the disposal or under sink plumbing. He did a great job except it cost me about 50% more than the Lowe's install price. Why does Lowe's hire unqualified people for this type of work?

Replies
Advertisement
Washer/Dryer Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE -- My daughter recently moved to Nashville and purchased a washer and dryer at Lowe's. The day they were supposed to be delivered, Lowe's called and told her that they no longer sell that model. That was the first bad mark.

They apparently found a washer and dryer and scheduled the delivery a day later. My daughter purchased new water lines, drip pan and dryer hose. Well the installers told her that the drip pan could not be installed because they do not cut out the hole for the runoff, so they used the old bent drip pan that was there. The dryer hose was too short and used the old one. Thank goodness they used the water lines. What kind of outfit are they running? I hope she didn't tip them!!!

Replies
Terrible Fence Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- Lowe's Fence Installation. Columbus, Ohio Residents Beware of: **, Project Specialist. 1675 Georgesville Square Road. Columbus Ohio 43228.

8-11-17- ** (Project Specialist) came and measured for fence installation. He measured both fronts, the entire right neighbor fence and behind my wooden swing set. I watched him measure my existing privacy fence from my upper deck. 9-5-17- I gave ** my credit card number for fence installation. 9-11-17- $1727.12 was taken out of my checking account for fence installation. 9-25-17- Fence getting installed. 9-26-17- Fence installed completed according to REC Construction. Per drawing ** gave them. ** measured everything in front of and gave REC partial measurements.

9-26-17- I notified ** (Lowe's Store Manager) that my fence install was not completed and I was deceived my **. ** assured me that he would make it right. 9-26-17- I called the contractor, REC Construction to let them know that my fence installation was not completed. Per their drawing (I have never seen this drawing) he said the install was completed. His number is ** and he said was going to contact **.

9-29-17- I called ** at Lowe's to get the receipt for the product I paid for. Offered no remedy. 9-29-17- ** left message on my cell phone not saying anything about a remedy for my fence install. 10-2-17- I put in dispute with Ohio Atty General Office. 10-11-17-- No communication from Lowe's or REC Construction. 10-12-17-
Zack ** at Lowe's Headquarters called me and said he was going to refund my monies

Reason I disputed transaction was because no one was trying to help or remedy my situation. This fence installation has caused stress in my life, that was not needed. Yes I deserve a refund. 10-26-17- Zack ** calls me back and says I do not deserve a refund.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lowe's Installation Services Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 63 ratings and
305 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lowe's
1000 Lowes Blvd
Mooresville, NC 28117
1-800-445-6937 (ph)
336-658-4766 (fax)
www.lowes.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies