Wal-Mart Oil Changes

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
25 reviews & complaints.
www.wal-mart.com

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Wal-Mart does not have reliable help doing oil changes
By -

COOKEVILLE, TENNESSEE -- My son took his car to the Wal-Mart in Cookeville, TN on 4/26/08. He got in his car, started it, and backed out of the parking space (30 feet). The check oil light came on. He looked out of the window to find the oil filter and all of the oil on the ground. They did give him another oil change AND refunded his money. But when asked if this had happened 5 miles down the road and seized the engine would they have replaced it. They refused to answer that question. Just by the other Wal-Mart service complaint today I think the answer is obvious. Warning to all, if you insist on letting them service your car be ready to check their work before you leave!

     
Replies
Wal-Mart Oil Change ruined my engine with only 20,000 miles on it.
By -

Wal-Mart put wrong oil filter on my engine. Invoice shows wrong oil filter number, proving they did this. Filter fell off on freeway at about 70 mph in the fast lane of the express lanes. Avoided potential fatal and/or injuries/damage in a car accident. Almost crossed collector lanes (impossible, due to volume of traffic). Avoided getting run over. Towed to Wal-Mart who said the filter fell off, and that it was the wrong one according to invoice.

Several days later, their insurance co. said they would pay for a junk yard engine to be installed, for my 20,000 mile 2007 Camry (3 years old, with 2 more years on warranty). Warranty is now void. Engine is toast. Toyota estimates: 25k for new engine, or 11k for my engine rebuilt (more if they find surprises when they pull it apart), or 6k for a non-Toyota engine from an after market co, or 3k for a junk yard engine install. The junk yard engine might be pretty on outside, but severely aged due to lack of use for a couple of years on the inside.

It may work, then in a couple of months(no warranty) the seals are gone, and I have to pay for my own engine rebuild out of my pocket for something that is Wal-Mart's fault. Many emails, phone calls, faxes later, I get no return call from store manager, can never get through to insurance co, always have to leave a message. Called Wal-Mart and you can never speak to the claims person, always voice mail, and they don't call back after two days, two calls, two messages.

There's no apology from them, no admission of guilt, and a 'so sue us' attitude from all of them imho. Small claims would take 3 months to two years, and IF I win, it costs me 2,000 dollars for legal fees, and up to two years of anxiety, and what do I drive in the meantime -- I don't have 25k to replace the engine, I don't have 25k for a new car, and can't afford to take on monthly car payments.

     
Replies
Bad Oil Change!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

POCOMOKE CITY, MARYLAND -- About 2 months ago, I took my 2010 HHR to Walmart in pocomoke city Maryland for an oil change and tire rotation. I have used Walmart for oil changes for years and never had a problem. I noticed that my front wheels were vibrating more so than normal, so I was in process of taking to local mechanic to get it squared away, looked under my hood and discovered that apparently their mechanics didn't put the o-ring back on the oil filter causing a large oil leak. Luckily, I caught it in time and I will never ever take my car to Walmart for anything again! Don't trust your car to Walmart, they don't know what they are doing.

     
Replies
Oil Change
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONWAY, ARKANSAS -- I brought my car to Walmart in Conway, Arkansas on Dave Ward Drive for an oil change. I dropped off the car and fifteen minutes later they called me back and said my oil pan plug was stripped. They told me they didn't do it, but I am 100% certain they did because I was the last person to change my oil.

I then took it to OReily's Auto Parts to get a new drain plug. When I told the manager what I needed and what had happened he said that WalMart always bought a large quantity of drain plugs from them because this happened so frequently. I went back to Walmart to discuss what I had found out at OReily's and they had me file a claim, and I was told by store supervisor ** that unless there were evidence to prove they didn't do it that the insurance would pay for it. NOT TRUE!!! The insurance adjuster from CMI, called me today and said he needs proof that they actually stripped the plug before they would pay. I plan on taking them to small claims court as soon as possible.

     
Replies
Oil Change and Tires Rotated and Balanced!!!!!!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GARDENDALE, ALABAMA -- I got to Walmart on July 16th at 10:00 AM to get my tires balanced and rotated which I get free for life and a Oil Change for my VW bug which I use Synthetic Oil... There were not but 2 cars ahead of me... When I was going to check out they were charging me for tires rotated/balanced, 2 oil changes, and a LABOR Charge which I did not pay... My bill was only for the Oil change but the biggest problem I felt was that I walked out of Wal-mart at 2:30PM in the afternoon!!!!

I sit there for FOUR AND ONE HALF HOURS FOR SOMETHING THAT SHOULD HAVE TAKEN IN THE LEAST MAYBE AN HOUR OR SO... I was not a very happy customer and I have used them every time for my service on my car and bought my tires at Wal-mart about a year ago... The service should be better and if you don't have enough employees you need to hire more...

     
Replies
Oil Change and Fuel Injector Clean Suppose Too Make Your Car Idle Smoother and Run Smoother
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- I took my 2001 Tahoe for a Oil change on the 6/2/2012, I noticed a billboard with a offer of Oil change and Fuel Injecter clean SPECIAL for only 40.00... the sign said that the fuel injector cleaning would make your vehicle idle smoothly and ride smooother... after the procedure my vehicle idled loudly and sounded like it was hesitating... which it did NOT do before procedure.

The very next day I returned to Walmart the staff did not know what was wrong. They called manager **. The manager was RUDE, told me to drive it fast too clean out the injector's, that this has happened too him before. I asked for that in writing in case my vehicle does not get better and I need too sue Walmart at this point he said He was no longer obligated too talk too me and didn't.

The staff Barb the cashier and ** the technician both were friendly and tried too help me. ** the technician had too take his lunch break so he could come out and scan my vehicle and told me it was not firing on all cylinder's I am going too a Mechanic today. Walmart management does not care about the customer's... My only means of transportation is damaged and no one cares... And they made sure I knew they did not care!!! If you want to avoid my stress do not go to Walmart for even an oil change... MY VEHICLE SOUND'S LIKE IT IS ABOUT TOO DIE ANY MINUTE... AND IT RAN FINE BEFORE.

     
Replies
Shoddy Service
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

ENID, OKLAHOMA -- Took my fairly new pickup in to get an oil and filter change and the character changing the oil spilled oil all over the engine. I had to take it to the car wash and clean the entire engine compartment. Didn't complain although I should have. Took my almost new Mercury Mariner in to get an oil and filter change and guess what, they did it right...... except for one thing. The mechanic had greasy feet and got it all over my carpet. A half day cleaning the carpet. They also advertise 49.99 for a fully synthetic oil change and it was $67.00. My opinion is they hire idiots in the automotive dept and I will never return.

     
Replies
Oil Change
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TOMBALL, TEXAS -- Went to this Wal-Mart on Friday 5-11-2012, just wanted a simple oil change. They gave me more than that, spent 2 hours walking around the store, checking in 2 times with the automotive to see if my car was ready. I could see my car in the garage with the hood up. WAIT WAIT WAIT WAIT and kept waiting, a total of 3 hours. When I finally asked got tired of waiting I asked about my car again. All I got was a blank stair and they did not know were my car was. Seems the bone head that was working on my car stripped my drain plug. Not only that they just rolled it into the parking lot and refused to fix it. NEVER NEVER AGAIN. TOMBALL, Texas WAl-Mart.

     
Replies
30.00 Oil Change At Walmart Cost 2,843.09
By -

CICNINNATI, OHIO -- On December 23,2010 I went to Walmart on Colerain Ave in Cincinnati, Oh to have a routine oil change done by Walmart. I have not had anyone touch my car sense then to do any oil changes on the cat I have a 2006 Chevy Malibu. about two months after receiving the oil change my breaks begin to lock up and it was very diffcult to accelerate my car when pressing on the gas.

On April 1, 2011. I had my car towed to CarX on Colerain Ave to have it looked at to see exactly what is wrong with the car. I spoke to Mike who is a certified mechanic who told me that someone had to have changed the oil incorrectly someone had to pour oil on the breaks for it to have gotten on into the system.

I contacted Walmart and spoke with William who had expressed to me that he had seen record of my receipt that the last time I'd been to Walmart for an oil change was 12/23/2010, that he was going to have one of the managers go up to CarX to have them take a look at the car to see what was going on also. then he was going to submit a claim to CMI, I have sense contacted The Channel 9 ITeam and my attorney.

I am totally disgusted with the service that I have been given to Walmart and feel it necessary to go after individuals jobs, no one should be permitted to work on anyone car(s) if they aren't knowledgeable. Good Luck to all of you who have been duped by Walmart I am NOT taking light of this situation and am in the process of getting my legal team involved if necessary...

     
Replies
Oil Change
By -

VALLEY, ALABAMA -- My husband took my 2006 Dodge durango to Wal-Mart TLE for an oil change last Wednesday, we left going out of town on a trip the next day that we had planned since May. We made it 25 miles from Valley, AL. and my truck began to skip and make terrible noises and the oil light came on, we pulled over at a truck weigh station, turned the truck off, popped the hood and my husband checked the oil. The oil level in my truck was around 1 1/2 inches above the safe level on the dip stick. We called the store and they sent a manager and a "auto tech" (which is what they call you at Walmart after you watch a video of somebody else changing oil)they checked the oil and took pictures, and after they realized my truck had been overfilled they called a tow truck and told us that my truck had to be parked at the store overnight, and the next morning the store manager would call me by 6:30am and they would have my truck towed to a local shop to be checked, meanwhile we had to rent a car to go out of town in since we had prepaid tickets for a 2 day event and prepaid hotel rooms. We had not heard from the manager by 7:30 so I contacted her. ROBIN informed me that they were not going to have my truck towed (after they had it towed to their property the night before) so we had to have it towed from Wal-mart property at our own expense!!... The manager informed me that if she had been working the night before that my truck would still be on the side of the road and she might have called us a cab. Walmarts insurance adjuster called us later Friday and told us that he had determined that Walmart was not liable because the oil pump can only pump so much oil pressure no matter how much oil was in our vehicle. The way the mechanic explained it to us was that to much oil was worse than to little!.. he said the crack shaft was working like a blender and whipping up the oil and caused the lifters to suck air and not oil. Walmarts insurance adjuster lied not only to us but the store manager about what the mechanic told him, he denied our claim without even seeing the pictures from the store or waiting until the truck could be broken down by a mechanic to determine the complete problem. After several attempts to contact the district manager of Walmart #733 (KEVIN) we have received no return phone calls. Never let WALMART tell you that they have respect for all of their customers or that they practice what they preach which is "INTEGRITY"!!!!!

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >