Preview Review

Next Review

Wal-Mart Oil Changes Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Oil Change
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DUCLA, GEORGIA -- Wow, I didn't realize how many people have actually been screwed by Walmart on an oil change. I took my 2006 Saturn Vue into Walmart for a simple oil change. During the 3 months I noticed that there was dripping on the driveway and in the 10 years that I have owned my car, it has never done that. When I went to the regular place, Kia, to get the oil change they told me that the drain plug had been stripped and that was the reason for the leaking.

Since Kia did the oil change before Walmart and it didn't leak, and they they did it after and found it, I really believe that this was a result of Walmart employee not doing a good job. I am going to call Walmart but it does not seem like I will get anywhere from what I am seeing on these other post. Someone needs to start holding these people accountable and make them fix what they break. Really a drain plug is a very simple thing to put in.

Replies
Advertisement
Blown Motor
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DRY RIDGE, KENTUCKY -- Had my oil changed at Walmart on 4/2. On 4/11 I now have a blown motor because they put the wrong filter and the wrong kind of oil in my 2012 Hyundai sonata. I will never go to Walmart for anything again... My motor is toast and I just bought the car 2 months ago and I don't have 5 grand to replace.

Replies
Laziness
By -

APPLETON, WISCONSIN -- I have an older car. It's a '91 Olds Toronado. I know what's wrong with it, so I keep it around. But I know it's an older car... I took it to Walmart on the East side of Appleton, Wi on Saturday, March 1st. I wanted my oil changed and my tires rotated. They said it would take roughly 30-40 minutes. I said "that'll be fine" and carried on with my shopping. I never heard my name announced so I went back to the TLE to ask them about my car. They stated they could not get my hood open, so they could not do the oil change.

While knowing there's a trick to opening my hood, I suggested that I open it for them and they can carry on. He stated he already closed out the ticket and I'd have to come back another time as there's a lot of people waiting. I asked them if they looked at my tires, and they said they were fine, but they didn't bill me for anything. I said, okay at least I know my tires are okay.

I drive about 100 or so miles everyday to get to and from work, so tires are important to me. I didn't work Sunday, I worked Monday, I didn't work Tuesday, Wednesday March 5th, on my way to work I had a flat tire. I was told, and I stupidly followed people's orders because I don't know much about cars, that if I put a can of Fixaflat in it, I'd be okay enough to get to Walmart for them to fix my flat. Okay, I did that..

And once I got to Walmart they explained to me since they could not repair my tire because of the Fixaflat, they could easily sell me one for 85 dollars plus tax. I get it, my stupid mistake, but I didn't have 85 dollars on me. So they said they would put the tire back on and pump air in my tire, so I could at least get to work. I thanked them and drove off. My tire went flat again. Long story short...

Neither I, nor my mother could take the tire off and put the spare on. I called a 24 hour repair guy, he said.. Your lug nut is stripped. How could it have been stripped if the last guy to touch it was my local mechanic 3 months ago, but Walmart was easily capable of taking it off? I explained this to them and they said they'd pay for a new lug nut, but not the 30-50 dollars it's going to take to put the new lug nut on.

The lug nut they put back onto my tire didn't even look like the rest of my other lug nuts. I replaced all my lug nuts about a year ago to be the same lug nut... And now I have a different lug nut, stripped, on my flat tire. Yay for more bills due to incompetence!

Resolution Update 03/07/2008:

I was given money back for my lugnut and the installation. They weren't happy and the TLE guys denied it. Whatever, got my money back. :)

Replies
Sold Me Used Oil
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PINE CITY, MINNESOTA -- Bought 2 10-40 high mileage Castro in St Croix falls WI and one 5-20 in pine city MN. Changed oil in the two vehicles that use 10-40. Then when to change oil in my van that uses 5-20. When I opened it the cap seal was already broken and there was no open seal. When I started to pour it out it was black and smelled used.

Replies
Advertisement
Wal-Mart does not have reliable help doing oil changes
By -

COOKEVILLE, TENNESSEE -- My son took his car to the Wal-Mart in Cookeville, TN on 4/26/08. He got in his car, started it, and backed out of the parking space (30 feet). The check oil light came on. He looked out of the window to find the oil filter and all of the oil on the ground. They did give him another oil change AND refunded his money. But when asked if this had happened 5 miles down the road and seized the engine would they have replaced it. They refused to answer that question. Just by the other Wal-Mart service complaint today I think the answer is obvious. Warning to all, if you insist on letting them service your car be ready to check their work before you leave!

Replies
30.00 Oil Change At Walmart Cost 2,843.09
By -

CICNINNATI, OHIO -- On December 23,2010 I went to Walmart on Colerain Ave in Cincinnati, Oh to have a routine oil change done by Walmart. I have not had anyone touch my car sense then to do any oil changes on the cat I have a 2006 Chevy Malibu. about two months after receiving the oil change my breaks begin to lock up and it was very diffcult to accelerate my car when pressing on the gas.

On April 1, 2011. I had my car towed to CarX on Colerain Ave to have it looked at to see exactly what is wrong with the car. I spoke to Mike who is a certified mechanic who told me that someone had to have changed the oil incorrectly someone had to pour oil on the breaks for it to have gotten on into the system.

I contacted Walmart and spoke with William who had expressed to me that he had seen record of my receipt that the last time I'd been to Walmart for an oil change was 12/23/2010, that he was going to have one of the managers go up to CarX to have them take a look at the car to see what was going on also. then he was going to submit a claim to CMI, I have sense contacted The Channel 9 ITeam and my attorney.

I am totally disgusted with the service that I have been given to Walmart and feel it necessary to go after individuals jobs, no one should be permitted to work on anyone car(s) if they aren't knowledgeable. Good Luck to all of you who have been duped by Walmart I am NOT taking light of this situation and am in the process of getting my legal team involved if necessary...

Replies
Wal-Mart Oil Change ruined my engine with only 20,000 miles on it.
By -

Wal-Mart put wrong oil filter on my engine. Invoice shows wrong oil filter number, proving they did this. Filter fell off on freeway at about 70 mph in the fast lane of the express lanes. Avoided potential fatal and/or injuries/damage in a car accident. Almost crossed collector lanes (impossible, due to volume of traffic). Avoided getting run over. Towed to Wal-Mart who said the filter fell off, and that it was the wrong one according to invoice.

Several days later, their insurance co. said they would pay for a junk yard engine to be installed, for my 20,000 mile 2007 Camry (3 years old, with 2 more years on warranty). Warranty is now void. Engine is toast. Toyota estimates: 25k for new engine, or 11k for my engine rebuilt (more if they find surprises when they pull it apart), or 6k for a non-Toyota engine from an after market co, or 3k for a junk yard engine install. The junk yard engine might be pretty on outside, but severely aged due to lack of use for a couple of years on the inside.

It may work, then in a couple of months(no warranty) the seals are gone, and I have to pay for my own engine rebuild out of my pocket for something that is Wal-Mart's fault. Many emails, phone calls, faxes later, I get no return call from store manager, can never get through to insurance co, always have to leave a message. Called Wal-Mart and you can never speak to the claims person, always voice mail, and they don't call back after two days, two calls, two messages.

There's no apology from them, no admission of guilt, and a 'so sue us' attitude from all of them imho. Small claims would take 3 months to two years, and IF I win, it costs me 2,000 dollars for legal fees, and up to two years of anxiety, and what do I drive in the meantime -- I don't have 25k to replace the engine, I don't have 25k for a new car, and can't afford to take on monthly car payments.

Replies
Tire And Lube Express
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LA FAYETTE, GEORGIA -- LATE Friday evening I had oil change and tire rotation done. They were open for business, but did not want to do the tire rotation. I told them that I came for Tire Rotation and Oil Change, so they did both. Time in 06:07 P.M. Time out 06:34 P.M. I then proceeded to drive home. The Tire and Lube at Walmart had closed and 1 Mile after leaving my Right front tire blew the side out, a 4 inch gash.

The next 3 Hours I spent contacting my son and changing the blow out. I work Midnight ‘til 8:00 A.M. so I called Walmart at 8:30 A.M. and told them I thought they might have pinched the side of my tire wall when they changed stalls for oil and then tire rotation. I was told to drive back to store #02988 and speak with a Supervisor. He said no way we did this. I told him they only wanted to do the oil, but when I asked the third time they complied. I still think that my tire was damaged at Walmart.

I offered to buy a set of tires since I now had a broken set. The manager offered no discount, not even on the one bad tire. I drove to a tire store 20 miles away and purchased a set of 4 tires for $300.00 when the only price offered by Walmart was $417.68. I still think Walmart owes me the price of the one tire that came in fine but one mile after service was on roadside three hours. I have always been a loyal customer and spend $10,000.00 to $15,000.00 per year here. BUT RIGHT NOW FOOD LION AND KMART ARE MOVING TO THE TOP OF MY SPENDING LIST. Please resolve this issue so the next valued customer does not suffer as I have.

Replies
Advertisement
Oil Change
By -

VALLEY, ALABAMA -- My husband took my 2006 Dodge durango to Wal-Mart TLE for an oil change last Wednesday, we left going out of town on a trip the next day that we had planned since May. We made it 25 miles from Valley, AL. and my truck began to skip and make terrible noises and the oil light came on, we pulled over at a truck weigh station, turned the truck off, popped the hood and my husband checked the oil. The oil level in my truck was around 1 1/2 inches above the safe level on the dip stick.

We called the store and they sent a manager and a "auto tech" (which is what they call you at Walmart after you watch a video of somebody else changing oil)they checked the oil and took pictures, and after they realized my truck had been overfilled they called a tow truck and told us that my truck had to be parked at the store overnight, and the next morning the store manager would call me by 6:30am and they would have my truck towed to a local shop to be checked. Meanwhile we had to rent a car to go out of town in since we had prepaid tickets for a 2 day event and prepaid hotel rooms.

We had not heard from the manager by 7:30 so I contacted her. ** informed me that they were not going to have my truck towed (after they had it towed to their property the night before) so we had to have it towed from Wal-mart property at our own expense!! The manager informed me that if she had been working the night before that my truck would still be on the side of the road and she might have called us a cab.

Walmart's insurance adjuster called us later Friday and told us that he had determined that Walmart was not liable because the oil pump can only pump so much oil pressure no matter how much oil was in our vehicle. The way the mechanic explained it to us was that to much oil was worse than to little! He said the crack shaft was working like a blender and whipping up the oil and caused the lifters to suck air and not oil.

Walmart's insurance adjuster lied not only to us but the store manager about what the mechanic told him, he denied our claim without even seeing the pictures from the store or waiting until the truck could be broken down by a mechanic to determine the complete problem. After several attempts to contact the district manager of Walmart #733 ** we have received no return phone calls. Never let WALMART tell you that they have respect for all of their customers or that they practice what they preach which is "INTEGRITY"!!!!!

Replies
Damage to car following oil change
By -

FAYETTEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- My son took my car to Wal-Mart Tire & Lube on July 20, 2010 to have an oil change, on his way home my car stopped in the middle of the road. I went to Walmart asked for the manager and was asked to fill out a complaint. Days pasted before I heard from the claims representative. He told me I would get my rental expenses back, they'd rent me a car and fix my car. He called me a few days later and left a message on my voicemail saying he spoke to the mechanic where my car is and it seems I blew a gasket and something about my camshaft.

I went to the mechanic and asked him what happened. He informed me my car had no oil in it and my engine seized. I let him listen to what ** said and he couldn't believe the lie he told. I called the claims dept. back and asked to speak to ** the manager, he called and said there was a misunderstanding and that he was going to review the tape to see if oil was put in my car. I just received a call from ** not **, telling me my claim was once again denied because it showed them putting oil in my car.

When I asked to speak with ** I was informed he wasn't available. ** couldn't answer any question I asked him about the video. I know they are lying. I'm going to fight this with every once in my body. I have had to rent cars since July 21-present and I'm under so much stress and having panic attacks because of it. I don't have the extra money to buy another car because mine was paid off. Is there a class action suit against Wal-Mart Tire & Lube because something has to be done so they can stop messing up peoples lives. Someone please help me!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Wal-Mart Oil Changes Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
30 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Wal-Mart
702 Southwest Eighth Street
Bentonville, AR 72716-8611
1-800-925-6278 (ph)
501-273-1917 (fax)
www.wal-mart.com
Product/Services
Compare Superstores