Preview Review

Next Review

Best Buy Geek Squad Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Best Buy Stole $250.02 From Me Because They Can
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- It has been over 48 hours since my last call. I have still not received an email confirming my refund of $250.02. I would really like a response back regarding this matter. I am now paying interest on your charge. On January 9th I went into a Best Buy store with a phone (772-204-4682) that I have insured under Geek Squad protection plan. Since then the following has taken place.

1/12/16 I received a refurbished phone that was unable to be unlocked. I called Geek Squad and after multiple calls and going into a Best Buy store to have a technician assist me, the phone was still unable to be unlocked. 1/14/16, spoke with Sharon at Geek Squad who issued a gift card at 9:10 am. Confirmation number provided was **. 1/18/16 I received a second refurbished phone from Geek Squad and the same problem occurred with the second refurbished phone. Again I went into Best Buy store and worked with a technician. The SIM card was exchanged and still the phone would not unlock.

1/19/16 began working with Apple who issued me another phone since Geek Squad said the problem was not on their end and that they could no longer help me. Apple and Sprint were able to help me unlock the new phone that Apple sent me. I returned the initial broken phone to Geek Squad. I returned the 1st locked refurbished phone that Geek Squad sent me to Geek Squad.

1/26/16 spoke with Rachel for 27 minutes and case was escalated. This was due to emails that I was receiving that the phones I returned to Geek Squad were locked. Rachel assured me that the case would be resolved and I would not be charged. 2/6/16 called again after receiving another email demanding that I unlock the phone or be charged. I was dispatched to the department that handles charges.

3/1/16 called again after my credit card was charged $250.02. Spoke with Jennifer for 39 minutes and then was transferred to supervisor Cher for a total of 50 minutes and 23 seconds. At that time, I was told the case would be resolved and that the charges would be refunded. I was told "We are so sorry for the inconvenience but there is nothing we can do except refund the charges and to escalate the case for someone in Best Buy or Geek Squad to call you back from corporate". I was provided with 2 emails to contact customer service.

3/23/16 charge of $250.02 has still not been refunded. I called again today. This charge is on a credit card that I am being charged interest on. This is the worst customer service and communication I have ever experienced. I have used Geek Squad for 10 years. After this experience I have nothing good to say about the company or your service.

3/29/16 I called again and spoke with Anyuri in the renewal and cancellations department. Then Shannon in the customer relations department. Then Danielle in mobile department. At the end of that call I was finally transferred to Edgar in the mobile service department. He explained to me that we could walk through the unlock your iPhone again to assure that the phone was not locked. Due to not having the sign in email/password I had to call once my son got home from school.

I did so again on 3/29/16, calling 1/888/Best-Buy and spoke with Wally. Wally went through the case with me again and walked through assuring that the iPhone was not locked. Wally then escalated the case to a GSER (Geek Squad Emergency Response) with Jovan and told me that I would hear back via email the results. 4/5/16 filed a complaint to dispute the charges with the credit company that the charge was charged to.

4/5/16 - no response, I called 1-888-Best-Buy again. Spoke with Ryan who said the case is still open. Ryan asked me if Best Buy sent me the phone back since it was no longer useful to them. I explained to him that I was told it was in a bin with hundreds of other phones. Ryan then transferred me to Diana in the Mobile Services Department. Diana again told me my phone is locked and it is my responsibility to respond to the emails that were sent out and because I did not so within the 30 days that the charge is valid and there is nothing that they can do for me.

I explained to her that I have called multiple times through February to assure that I was not charged. She said there is nothing further that she can do for me. I asked who I could speak to and she said her supervisor and then said it will be awhile. I explained to her that I spent 3 hours on the phone on 3/29/16 and I would gladly wait to speak to a supervisor so that I could get someone high in Best Buy to hear my complaint. She stated "It's going to be a long day". Conveniently at 59 minutes into the call and after keeping me on hold for 30 plus minutes for a supervisor the phone disconnected.

4/5/16 Jennifer (supervisor) called me back after the disconnection. She was very polite on the phone and listened as I again explained the story from January 9th until today. Jennifer then ran the IMIE numbers on the cell phones to assure that the one that I have been charged for is the one that is in fact locked. Upon return of running the IMEI numbers Jennifer stated that both phones show as unlocked but that there is no date listed as to when they were unlocked. Jennifer escalated the case again to corporate to see if they will refund the monies.

It was explained to me that the problem with corporate will be that the phone was not unlocked within their 30 required days. I asked her if it will make any difference that I have called in response to every email referencing the “locked phone” that Best Buy/Geek Squad has sent in February. Still waiting for it to be determined… Here's to waiting for 4/12/16. Best Buy Corporate Customer Care PO Box 9312, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55440.

Replies
Advertisement
Awful, Keeps Getting Worse and Worse
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- I brought my laptop in to Geek Squad and left it with them. They fixed the problem I had, but left me with a new one. The keyboard backlight wouldn't turn off. I took it back in and left it with them to fix. I just got it back and the light turns off now, but what did I find? They deleted my browser and all my bookmarks with it! Everything I've saved to it this year is gone! Everything. Not to mention that the scroll and all multi-fingered gestures aren't working now either.

(By the way, the online remote services aren't much better. Many times I've been telling an agent what the problem is only to find that they skipped out, never to be heard from again. Then I have to wait in line again for another agent and hope they don't skip out either.)

Replies
11-9-15, Told Motherboard Crashed, Tried to Sell Me on New Laptop With Their Financing. Small Local Store Fixed It That Very After
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GAINESVILLE, GA, GEORGIA -- (11-9-15 @ 1:15 pm, Gainesville, GA store) Tech spent about 5 minutes trying to figure out why it would not power on and told me it was probably the motherboard. He could not be sure because it would not power on. When I asked him things like how much the motherboard would cost, he said "You don't want to know." It seemed like he just wanted to talk about buying a new one and their great financing.

I decided to leave and come back and see a different tech later. I passed a small repair shop on the way home and he said it was the loose fitting where the power cord plugged in. I paid 700 dollars for this laptop less than 3 years ago and resent what that tech tried to pull over on me. I paid 99 dollars for their support deal just to find out they were trying to scam me. Very disappointed!

Replies
Excellent Service By Johny ** Of The Geek Squad
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

SALEM, OREGON -- He answered all our questions, cleaned everything up, and was thorough.

Replies
Advertisement
Discrimination
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARY, NORTH CAROLINA -- I went into a Best Buy store tonight to pick up a computer and a phone that I left with Geek Squad last week, as well as, to get a replacement phone for an HTC phone on my account. My arrival time was about 5:10 pm. Upon arriving in the store after waiting in line I was helped by **. From the start he seemed unable to help me successfully€.

He took a long time getting my phone transferred over to the replacement phone and he tried to get me to sign the contract stating that I received the phone back even though the service wasn'™t on or transferred over so my phone was not complete serviced as yet and I explained that I would sign the paperwork after my phone is complete in working order.

So as that was still incomplete he started to work on my computer issue and he told me that I will not be getting a fixed computer and that I would have to get a gift card for the replacement value of the computer. He went on to tell me that the computer would cost more to repair than the computer was purchased for and that it's now junk. I told him I need to see that in the contract and he showed me some statements none of which stated that when the computer is 85% or more than the cost of the item it is then deemed junk and no portion of the insurance would be given back to me.

I then stated that I did not want to accept that offer of the gift card for the cost of the computer. I let him and ** know that because by this time I asked to see a store manager. I then let ** know that I wanted to start the process of getting a replacement for another phone ordered that I have insurance on. He started typing on the terminal walked to the back and back to the terminal seemingly lost and not knowing what he was doing.

He finally tells me that he's going to have to give me the balance of my insurance back because the phone isn'€™t worth anything and I couldn'€™t get a new phone because the plan is going to expire next month. I then asked him to repeat the date of the insurance plan then he reads it to me and says "oh it expires December 1, 2014". I then state to him, "You see you are so quick to disregard insurance and junk everything out based on how you feel at the moment." He then slams his hand on the table and tells me that he is tapping out and then he walks away.

Before he walks away maybe about 10 minutes before he tells me he's "€œTapping out!"€ While at the terminal ** starts talking to someone else in Geek Squad and he tells the person that ** wants him to get someone else to help me. So I just listen and take notes as to what is transpiring because at this time I a€™m already in the store now for one hour and thirty minutes without a resolution to any issue that I had before I first walked into the store.

Back to the tap out situation when this happened I went over to ** told him what happened and he said he would be over to me when he was done with his customers. I then stated to him I'm a customer as well. He ignored me. I went back over to where I was standing, waited a few minutes and then went to the front door where security was and asked about the stores general manager. He got a card and handed it to me and at the same time I asked him who the store manager was. And as I did that he, the store manager, was walking nearby and he pointed me to **.

I proceed to address my issues with ** and he was short and curt with me and seemed to know a bit about what was going on because he asked me what ** was going to do about my computer. I then went on to tell him that wasn'€™t my main concern. My main concern was the way I was being treated with the lack of true customer service.

How is it that a clerk can walk away from a customer mid transaction and it's OK? He is still curt and short with me until he sees me talking to another customer who was standing next to me who approached me and asked me what was happening because she noticed that I was taking notes and she said to herself "€œthey must be giving me a hard time"€. She then goes ahead and gives me detailed information that she overheard ** stating to someone else that he was tapping out.

Before she leaves she gave me her name and number because she was just that sympathetic to me about the situation. So when ** sees this he is willing to help me because the woman was white. This is what I believe changed my whole experience around. This is so disheartening that this was the catalyst to getting some customer service that took a total of three hours to accomplish.

He sent over a young lady that provided me with exceptional customer service and couldn'€™t understand what was going on because she stated to me that I was so nice on the phone when she helped me with getting an appointment. So I let her know I didn'€™t understand either and I felt because I'€™m a black customer, as well as a woman, the white men there don'€™t respect me because I questioned them and pointed out that they were wrong for their behavior. She then went on to connect my iPhone, and get the service transferred over, she also swapped out the HTC phone, as well as, processed the paperwork for the computer all within one hour.

I'€™m a long time customer of Best Buy. I shop online on BestBuy.com. I've shopped at Best Buy's in NY, MN, FL, GA, CA, MI, I spend a lot of money in Best Buy because I mistakenly thought that all customers would be treated with respect regardless of the color of their skin. I was completely brought back to reality tonight although I have experienced some levels of discrimination before in some of the stores that I frequented before. However, I would talk myself out of believing it was race based. But when it's blatant there is no way to deny it.

I now know that if you're black and go into a Best Buy store your time and money is disregarded and disrespected because of the color or your skin. It should never have taken three hours to accomplish what I needed done and it also should not have taken a white woman who I do not know at all to come to my defense in order for customer service to take place. I am completely appalled at the situation and I'€™m not satisfied with what took place tonight.

I was finally given a laptop and insurance for the computer and after getting home I plugged it up and immediately realized that it was not a new computer as ** stated. The screen doesn't stay on all the time and the packaging wasn't the same as a new computer although it was in the box that it should have been in. I did not open the box in the store because I was assured it was a new computer.

So I was misled and deceived by ** that the computer was new. I will have to take my time again to go into the store to get a new laptop once again after spending three hours in the store tonight. My kids ended up missing the basketball practice they were scheduled to attend tonight, all because of Best Buy employees with discriminating behavior.

I feel very strongly about the situation. I feel that ** and ** need to be fired because of the situation. ** clearly set the precedent that it is OK for his subordinate to clearly and willfully disrespect me by telling him to get someone else to help me, as that someone else was a black Best Buy employee. He gave permission to ** to walk away from a customer. I know for a fact if I were a white woman with the same issues and concerns and same questions that I had the treatment would be markedly different. I'€™m saddened that in 2013 I have to write a letter about discrimination that I faced.

** along with the rest of the store, as well as all Best Buy€™s needs to be made aware that treating black customers differently than white customers is unacceptable and intolerable. Because of the vague way that the insurance policy is worded it gives the employees of Best Buy the discretion to totally void an insurance contract based on a case-by-case basis, ignoring any biases the employee may have.

I hope this letter isn'€™t in vain and that some true changes start from the top down. Training on race relations; treating customers fairly, and without racial and gender biases must take place immediately. These occurrences happened at the Best Buy location in Cary, NC. I went back to the store today 9/19/2013 to get the replacement for the faulty computer and was appalled that ** was still employed there!

Replies
No Working Washer - 3 Weeks and Counting
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- Our call for warranted service was ignored. After follow up, Geek Squad finally got random subcontractor out. He said it was un-repairable. Not hearing anything for a week, I called Geek Squad. No information. Subcontractor said he couldn't get a hold of a real person to submit his report so he sat on it. 20 calls and 10 hours on the phone trying to get help, still no help. In the end, we finally learned no report was submitted, so no fix or replacement. Still waiting. I would rather pay for a new washer than deal with these people ever again. Awful support.

Replies
Horrid Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORENCE, SOUTH CAROLINA -- We took our PC to BB to have a repair and they never called or (e)mailed. And when we would call they say one thing or another. Never that they had sold or destroyed it, that is until I sent a complaint to the Better Business Bureau. Now they are only offering $300 for my pretty new $800 computer. They are now saying we abandoned it which is not true. We called numerous times and even went to store only to be given the run around. Even corporate lied to us and the BBB. They gave us 6 days to accept $300 and we aren't even in town. This is UNACCEPTABLE!

Replies
Continued Charging Although Requested to Cancel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

After carrying the protection plan for a few months, I had called to request canceling the monthly renewal back in Jan. 2013 and was verbally told it would be cancelled. Despite that - my card has continued to be charged for the last 18 months!!! I called again in June, 2014, to again insist on canceling and to insist this time getting confirmation in writing. They gave me a reference number (since they cannot send out an email confirmation) - it should be cancelled now. However, they deny there was any previous request received and refuse to refund prior payments.

Replies
Advertisement
Geek Squad - the Easy Made to Look Difficult
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- I visited my local Best Buy to cancel the insurance I have on my iPhone. The person helping me attempted to call the 866 number to help with my request, however, the wait time was going to be over 20 minutes. Since I had other appointments I informed the mobile representative that I would prefer to make the call myself when I had more time to wait. By all accounts, this individual was very polite and helpful.

This morning I call the 866 number and was connected to a Geek Squad Protection agent after approximately 20 minutes. Unfortunately, the agent had a difficult time comprehending my request and instead kept asking questions about other phone numbers included on my account. After several minutes getting nowhere, I asked to speak to another agent. At this point, I was transferred and subsequently disconnected.

After yet another 30 minute wait, I was reconnected to another agent. This individual was able to complete my request but was not very customer friendly in the process. I suggest Best Buy take a close look at their Geek Squad Protection agents to assess both their technical and customer service skills.

Replies
The Geek Squad in Medford Lies. That's for a Start.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MEDFORD, OREGON -- My computer first started failing in early November, '13. It would not start consistently and after a while, it wouldn't start up at all. I took it in around mid-November, along with a pile of installation/software disks that went with it. My husband gathered them up and he was in failing health at the time. (He died 11/26/13). What neither of us had the foresight to do was write our name on all the disks.

After two trips to try to get it fixed (hard drive; motherboard) I received this online message from MS Office 2010, saying my license had expired because of dis-connection problems. That's when I looked for my disks to get the product key and could not find them. I called Geek Squad. One guy said he remembered me bringing them in but they didn't have them anymore and I must have them somewhere.

I called MS. They said I needed to call Dell since the Office program came on the computer. Called Dell. They said, no, all that info came with the computer. After about four phone calls back to Geek Squad, I talked to "Caleb", the head of GS at the Medford store. He talked to the boys in the backroom. They told him I had never brought any disks in.

As of this moment, once again, my computer is not starting up. Even though it's still under contract with them, I WILL NOT GO BACK THERE EVER AGAIN. They simply cannot be trusted. They're either outright liars, or totally inept. Right now, I can't even turn my computer on to do a backup for a new one. I cannot tell you how much I hate them for using this little old lady. Do. Not. Trust. Them.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Best Buy Geek Squad Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 28 ratings and
79 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Best Buy
7601 Penn Ave. South
Richfield, MN 55423
1-800-369-5050 (ph)
www.bestbuy.com
cr@bestbuy.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Superstores