Preview Review

Next Review

Best Buy Geek Squad Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Refund Process: Geek Squad
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MASSACHUSETTS -- Decided we no longer needed Geek Squad Service from Best Buy in our home and called to cancel. I called the phone number on the order invoice that was sent to me by email. I was transferred to 6 different departments before someone could help me with this simple request. Finally right? No!!! Her telephone connection was so poor I couldn't understand or hear her. Then the line went dead after 38 minutes of this nonsense. Customer satisfaction: ZERO.

Replies
Advertisement
Best Buy Stole $250.02 From Me Because They Can
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- It has been over 48 hours since my last call. I have still not received an email confirming my refund of $250.02. I would really like a response back regarding this matter. I am now paying interest on your charge. On January 9th I went into a Best Buy store with a phone (772-204-4682) that I have insured under Geek Squad protection plan. Since then the following has taken place.

1/12/16 I received a refurbished phone that was unable to be unlocked. I called Geek Squad and after multiple calls and going into a Best Buy store to have a technician assist me, the phone was still unable to be unlocked. 1/14/16, spoke with Sharon at Geek Squad who issued a gift card at 9:10 am. Confirmation number provided was **. 1/18/16 I received a second refurbished phone from Geek Squad and the same problem occurred with the second refurbished phone. Again I went into Best Buy store and worked with a technician. The SIM card was exchanged and still the phone would not unlock.

1/19/16 began working with Apple who issued me another phone since Geek Squad said the problem was not on their end and that they could no longer help me. Apple and Sprint were able to help me unlock the new phone that Apple sent me. I returned the initial broken phone to Geek Squad. I returned the 1st locked refurbished phone that Geek Squad sent me to Geek Squad.

1/26/16 spoke with Rachel for 27 minutes and case was escalated. This was due to emails that I was receiving that the phones I returned to Geek Squad were locked. Rachel assured me that the case would be resolved and I would not be charged. 2/6/16 called again after receiving another email demanding that I unlock the phone or be charged. I was dispatched to the department that handles charges.

3/1/16 called again after my credit card was charged $250.02. Spoke with Jennifer for 39 minutes and then was transferred to supervisor Cher for a total of 50 minutes and 23 seconds. At that time, I was told the case would be resolved and that the charges would be refunded. I was told "We are so sorry for the inconvenience but there is nothing we can do except refund the charges and to escalate the case for someone in Best Buy or Geek Squad to call you back from corporate". I was provided with 2 emails to contact customer service.

3/23/16 charge of $250.02 has still not been refunded. I called again today. This charge is on a credit card that I am being charged interest on. This is the worst customer service and communication I have ever experienced. I have used Geek Squad for 10 years. After this experience I have nothing good to say about the company or your service.

3/29/16 I called again and spoke with Anyuri in the renewal and cancellations department. Then Shannon in the customer relations department. Then Danielle in mobile department. At the end of that call I was finally transferred to Edgar in the mobile service department. He explained to me that we could walk through the unlock your iPhone again to assure that the phone was not locked. Due to not having the sign in email/password I had to call once my son got home from school.

I did so again on 3/29/16, calling 1/888/Best-Buy and spoke with Wally. Wally went through the case with me again and walked through assuring that the iPhone was not locked. Wally then escalated the case to a GSER (Geek Squad Emergency Response) with Jovan and told me that I would hear back via email the results. 4/5/16 filed a complaint to dispute the charges with the credit company that the charge was charged to.

4/5/16 - no response, I called 1-888-Best-Buy again. Spoke with Ryan who said the case is still open. Ryan asked me if Best Buy sent me the phone back since it was no longer useful to them. I explained to him that I was told it was in a bin with hundreds of other phones. Ryan then transferred me to Diana in the Mobile Services Department. Diana again told me my phone is locked and it is my responsibility to respond to the emails that were sent out and because I did not so within the 30 days that the charge is valid and there is nothing that they can do for me.

I explained to her that I have called multiple times through February to assure that I was not charged. She said there is nothing further that she can do for me. I asked who I could speak to and she said her supervisor and then said it will be awhile. I explained to her that I spent 3 hours on the phone on 3/29/16 and I would gladly wait to speak to a supervisor so that I could get someone high in Best Buy to hear my complaint. She stated "It's going to be a long day". Conveniently at 59 minutes into the call and after keeping me on hold for 30 plus minutes for a supervisor the phone disconnected.

4/5/16 Jennifer (supervisor) called me back after the disconnection. She was very polite on the phone and listened as I again explained the story from January 9th until today. Jennifer then ran the IMIE numbers on the cell phones to assure that the one that I have been charged for is the one that is in fact locked. Upon return of running the IMEI numbers Jennifer stated that both phones show as unlocked but that there is no date listed as to when they were unlocked. Jennifer escalated the case again to corporate to see if they will refund the monies.

It was explained to me that the problem with corporate will be that the phone was not unlocked within their 30 required days. I asked her if it will make any difference that I have called in response to every email referencing the “locked phone” that Best Buy/Geek Squad has sent in February. Still waiting for it to be determined… Here's to waiting for 4/12/16. Best Buy Corporate Customer Care PO Box 9312, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55440.

Replies
Awful, Keeps Getting Worse and Worse
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- I brought my laptop in to Geek Squad and left it with them. They fixed the problem I had, but left me with a new one. The keyboard backlight wouldn't turn off. I took it back in and left it with them to fix. I just got it back and the light turns off now, but what did I find? They deleted my browser and all my bookmarks with it! Everything I've saved to it this year is gone! Everything. Not to mention that the scroll and all multi-fingered gestures aren't working now either.

(By the way, the online remote services aren't much better. Many times I've been telling an agent what the problem is only to find that they skipped out, never to be heard from again. Then I have to wait in line again for another agent and hope they don't skip out either.)

Replies
11-9-15, Told Motherboard Crashed, Tried to Sell Me on New Laptop With Their Financing. Small Local Store Fixed It That Very After
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GAINESVILLE, GA, GEORGIA -- (11-9-15 @ 1:15 pm, Gainesville, GA store) Tech spent about 5 minutes trying to figure out why it would not power on and told me it was probably the motherboard. He could not be sure because it would not power on. When I asked him things like how much the motherboard would cost, he said "You don't want to know." It seemed like he just wanted to talk about buying a new one and their great financing.

I decided to leave and come back and see a different tech later. I passed a small repair shop on the way home and he said it was the loose fitting where the power cord plugged in. I paid 700 dollars for this laptop less than 3 years ago and resent what that tech tried to pull over on me. I paid 99 dollars for their support deal just to find out they were trying to scam me. Very disappointed!

Replies
Advertisement
No Working Washer - 3 Weeks and Counting
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- Our call for warranted service was ignored. After follow up, Geek Squad finally got random subcontractor out. He said it was un-repairable. Not hearing anything for a week, I called Geek Squad. No information. Subcontractor said he couldn't get a hold of a real person to submit his report so he sat on it. 20 calls and 10 hours on the phone trying to get help, still no help. In the end, we finally learned no report was submitted, so no fix or replacement. Still waiting. I would rather pay for a new washer than deal with these people ever again. Awful support.

Replies
Horrid Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORENCE, SOUTH CAROLINA -- We took our PC to BB to have a repair and they never called or (e)mailed. And when we would call they say one thing or another. Never that they had sold or destroyed it, that is until I sent a complaint to the Better Business Bureau. Now they are only offering $300 for my pretty new $800 computer. They are now saying we abandoned it which is not true. We called numerous times and even went to store only to be given the run around. Even corporate lied to us and the BBB. They gave us 6 days to accept $300 and we aren't even in town. This is UNACCEPTABLE!

Replies
Try to Make an Asus Outta Me, Will You?!
By -

AVON, INDIANA -- In September of 2010 I set out to purchase my first laptop, and against my own gut - and the warnings of most of my friends - I went to Best Buy. Money was a big deciding factor, I was looking in the $700 range but I need fast with lots of virtual memory to coddle my adult A. D.D., so I settled upon the new kid on the block, an Asus for around $800.

I will bypass all the hoop-jumping that came with the actual purchase, the explaining to my bank on the way home when they phoned frantic that someone had stolen my card, no, that was just the inept boy at the register who ran it a DOZEN times trying to get the buttons pushed correctly, after the other boy took three times to enter my info properly to set up an account, blah, blah, blah, all so I could find out they were going to keep my brand new machine to do 'stuff' to it???

By this time I was exhausted and was pretty much just like - whatever, just get it back to me quickly! I had walked out of Price Club a decade ago with my first computer and never looked back! This, however, was only the beginning of my hell with this laptop.

First they put on a different free security program than what I had specified, but I don't think it really made a difference, you get what you pay for. Within two weeks or so I was hacked and lost years of e-mails collected in folders and untold numbers of my over 400 contacts. Fortunately I went through my account with a fine-tooth comb and removed the intruder. But I digress, the real issues were the touch-pad and its attitude, and the cursor in general. Other things that showed their ugly face could be tended to in time.

When I took the laptop back to Best Buy, first I was told the touch pad complaint was a common one with Asus laptops - but somewhere in the shuffle of Christmas Eve confusion for some reason mine was not going to be covered by one thing, but it would be covered some other way. But it was going to take FOUR TO SIX WEEKS to get my computer back?!?! Are you freaking kidding me??? To install a new touch pad???

Then the Geek Squad representative runs an "MRI" and tells me "Oh, you have a virus, and it's a bad one! That's $130 min. to fix..." All I heard after that was Charlie Brown's teacher until he said $249 or something - then it all went fuzzy again... Well, I have spent two days with the folks at F-Secure, my security of choice, and they have helped me run every kind of diagnostics imaginable and there is no virus on my laptop according to them!

So where does that leave me? Best Buy lied? To get money from an old broad who lives on less than $1000 a month Social Security??? Those are pretty stiff allegations... But, the proof's in the pudding, as they say. I have the logs my security guy ran right here. Oh, the log Best Buy ran is saved on here, too - but no one can read it. Imagine that!

As for the touch pad - I will go straight to the manufacturer and ask for help! I'm not shy! I have a sneaking suspicion that will correct a couple other issues I'm having as well. As for Best Buy... Shame on them. And we are all going to be held accountable one day for every decision we make. I don't have to answer for their business practices, I only have to answer for how I handle them. Hopefully doing this won't come back to bite me too bad! ;o) But I'll never spend another dime of my puny little stipend in their stores.

Replies
Won't Honor $500 Service Plan
By -

MERCED, CALIFORNIA -- I've just returned from a BEST BUY store/service center in Merced, California where I have been a loyal and consistent customer for the better part of my life but this is the end to all that. What happened this last time is too much for any customer to bear hence why I feel compelled to take even more time out of my life to inform you and everyone else out there how I got ripped off from BEST BUY so that they will all think twice about ever doing business with you or suffer the fate I have here below....

First, Some History - On October 22, 2004 - I Purchased a Toshiba Laptop P35-S609/P4 for $1799.99 (Serial Number **) along with a Platinum Service Plan (**) for $499.99. I wasn't going to purchases this extended service contract but the assistant manager on duty assured me that if anything were to go wrong with this laptop in the next 3 years all I would have to do is to return it to a service center and I would have it repaired at no cost and returned back to me within 7 days.

Jump Forward to 2 weeks Ago - August 21, 2007 - I turn on my laptop and notice that it has two distinct vertical lines in the LCD display. I decided to turn it in to BEST BUY Geek Squad and have the LCD and a few other items fixed at the same time. No one likes to be without their computer for very long, right?

August 22, 2007 - I drive the 35 miles to Merced California to return my laptop to the Service Department at BEST BUY. I explain that my LCD display is not functioning properly, the 1394 Firewire port no longer works, the dvd burner/player doesn't recognise blank DVDs (making it very hard to burn DVDs) and the PCI slot has a hard time working because the eject button seems to be twisted and not pop in and out the wireless cards I've used in the past.

The Tech takes my Laptop and informs me that it will be at least 2 - 6 weeks before I will hear anything and that they will be in touch with me then. Surprised at his response, I told him that I had purchased a $500 Platinum Plan and he said yeah we sold those once a while back but that my turnaround time would be the same.

Only when I pulled out my paperwork with my plan details on it did he admit that it did say 7 day turnaround and that if it didn't come back in that time span I could "ask" for the cost of my plan be returned to me since BEST BUY could not return my laptop in that time frame..... All this even before I LEFT the store... I was not feeling at all good about leaving it there but what choice did I have? BEST BUY had my $500 for the service plan so I had to leave it or pay someone else to look at it.

August 29, 2007 - (exactly 7 days later) - I drove 35 miles to the BEST BUY Store in Merced California and asked about the status of my laptop. The technician behind the counter told me that the service center had tried to contact me that day at my work (where I was ALL day) and that they needed an approval to complete the work that needed to be done.

Of course I NEVER received a call asking me about this so I was SHOCKED to hear that in order to return my laptop to me in working order that I would have to pay $954.97 in repairs to the motherboard. I asked why I would have to pay an additional $954.97 since I had purchased a service agreement for $500 and he told me that the service center had determined that the laptop had been "abused" and this was not normal wear and tear or daily use issues. They acted like I drove over my laptop and handed to them and said fix this. This obviously was not the case since the laptop still to this day functions but with the above issues broken.

Completely irritated at this point I told him that I would contact the service center and discuss the matter with them since there was nothing that the technician could do about it at store level. Several days had passed and I received a phone call from ** at BEST BUY in Merced.

September 6th, 2007 - I receive a call from ** telling me that my laptop was available for pick-up at Merced BEST BUY and to return a call if I had any questions. I returned his call and spoke to the head technician **. When I asked about the status of my laptop she seemed puzzled at first but went and pulled the work order and told me on the phone that my laptop was in the store and that she wasn't sure if the work had been completed or not.

After 15 minutes or so on the phone with her I asked that she call me back once she had determined if the laptop had been fixed or not. She agreed and I hung up the phone still puzzled about why they would tell me they wanted almost $1,000 to fix my laptop but then ship it back to the store fixed?

September 8th, 2007 - (TODAY) After not receiving any calls back from ** that my laptop was completed or still broken I decided to drive 35 miles once more to the Merced BEST BUY store and inquire about my laptop. When I asked the technician about the status of my laptop I was referred to ** who told me that the laptop was in the store and ready to be picked-up. I asked why she never called me back to tell me and she said that someone else was supposed to do it. Still I got no call. She then told me that the laptop was returned with the LCD repaired ($35 labor bill - no parts needed) and that labor was covered under my service agreement.

The rest of the items that I had listed were not repaired because they were not covered under the $500 Agreement that I paid for because the service department deemed them to be "abuse" or not daily wear and tear. Again, it was not like I hit it with a baseball bat or let my 2 year old jump up and down on it. I paid a lot of money for this laptop. I have taken good care of it. I was honestly offended and shocked that I was being taken advantage of like this. I asked that she get her store manager involved and she quickly called for an associate named **.

I asked ** if he was the store manager since I didn't want to waist anymore of my time dealing with this than I had already and he told me that he was the Service Department Manager and wanted to help me. After reviewing all the paperwork and listening to my story as told here above he went to the back of the store and pulled the technicians'€™ notes. When he returned he read back to me exactly what ** had told me earlier and that I should write a letter to BESTBUY.COM to explain my displeasure with this decision on the part of the service center and that there was nothing he could do to help me any further.

I told him that I was extremely upset with the service that I had received at that point and that he did not want me to leave his store angry about this experience and he again told me there was nothing that he could do. Poor ability at store level to help make me a happy customer.. This could have all been avoided if he had but it didn'€™t. He handed me my laptop I left the store and now I am writing this letter.

The Problem is..... I still have a Laptop that is broken. I still paid $500 for a service plan that BEST BUY now refuses to honor. I'm still upset and angry that the consumer (ME) who rightfully and honestly pays for everything gets ripped off by the Corporation (BEST BUY) because it is not financially feasible to fix the $1,000 part for the price of the $500 plan......

I really hope that is not the case but I am beginning to believe that it is not about what someone thinks is "abuse" or not but simply a numbers game of gains and loses to repair my laptop. It would have been better and easier to just fix it or give me a new one since the cost of repair is more than the cost of a newer one.

So here I am taking up your time and mine over a broken $1,000 laptop and a $500 service plan that I paid for and BEST BUY won't honor. I have decided that I will post this letter to several Blogs in the hopes those others who at contemplating doing business with BEST BUY will read this and think otherwise. I feel it is my duty to warn them about my treatment here and guide them towards other retailers with better morals, ethics and customer service.

I would appreciate a response to my efforts here to inform you of my situation but if BEST BUYs' history with calling me back is an indication of what I can expect then I will just forward this letter on to the Better Business Bureau and my State Attorney Generals Office for filing a claim next. I appreciate your time and effort in helping me makes things right here.

Replies
Advertisement
Discrimination
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARY, NORTH CAROLINA -- I went into a Best Buy store tonight to pick up a computer and a phone that I left with Geek Squad last week, as well as, to get a replacement phone for an HTC phone on my account. My arrival time was about 5:10 pm. Upon arriving in the store after waiting in line I was helped by **. From the start he seemed unable to help me successfully€.

He took a long time getting my phone transferred over to the replacement phone and he tried to get me to sign the contract stating that I received the phone back even though the service wasn'™t on or transferred over so my phone was not complete serviced as yet and I explained that I would sign the paperwork after my phone is complete in working order.

So as that was still incomplete he started to work on my computer issue and he told me that I will not be getting a fixed computer and that I would have to get a gift card for the replacement value of the computer. He went on to tell me that the computer would cost more to repair than the computer was purchased for and that it's now junk. I told him I need to see that in the contract and he showed me some statements none of which stated that when the computer is 85% or more than the cost of the item it is then deemed junk and no portion of the insurance would be given back to me.

I then stated that I did not want to accept that offer of the gift card for the cost of the computer. I let him and ** know that because by this time I asked to see a store manager. I then let ** know that I wanted to start the process of getting a replacement for another phone ordered that I have insurance on. He started typing on the terminal walked to the back and back to the terminal seemingly lost and not knowing what he was doing.

He finally tells me that he's going to have to give me the balance of my insurance back because the phone isn'€™t worth anything and I couldn'€™t get a new phone because the plan is going to expire next month. I then asked him to repeat the date of the insurance plan then he reads it to me and says "oh it expires December 1, 2014". I then state to him, "You see you are so quick to disregard insurance and junk everything out based on how you feel at the moment." He then slams his hand on the table and tells me that he is tapping out and then he walks away.

Before he walks away maybe about 10 minutes before he tells me he's "€œTapping out!"€ While at the terminal ** starts talking to someone else in Geek Squad and he tells the person that ** wants him to get someone else to help me. So I just listen and take notes as to what is transpiring because at this time I a€™m already in the store now for one hour and thirty minutes without a resolution to any issue that I had before I first walked into the store.

Back to the tap out situation when this happened I went over to ** told him what happened and he said he would be over to me when he was done with his customers. I then stated to him I'm a customer as well. He ignored me. I went back over to where I was standing, waited a few minutes and then went to the front door where security was and asked about the stores general manager. He got a card and handed it to me and at the same time I asked him who the store manager was. And as I did that he, the store manager, was walking nearby and he pointed me to **.

I proceed to address my issues with ** and he was short and curt with me and seemed to know a bit about what was going on because he asked me what ** was going to do about my computer. I then went on to tell him that wasn'€™t my main concern. My main concern was the way I was being treated with the lack of true customer service.

How is it that a clerk can walk away from a customer mid transaction and it's OK? He is still curt and short with me until he sees me talking to another customer who was standing next to me who approached me and asked me what was happening because she noticed that I was taking notes and she said to herself "€œthey must be giving me a hard time"€. She then goes ahead and gives me detailed information that she overheard ** stating to someone else that he was tapping out.

Before she leaves she gave me her name and number because she was just that sympathetic to me about the situation. So when ** sees this he is willing to help me because the woman was white. This is what I believe changed my whole experience around. This is so disheartening that this was the catalyst to getting some customer service that took a total of three hours to accomplish.

He sent over a young lady that provided me with exceptional customer service and couldn'€™t understand what was going on because she stated to me that I was so nice on the phone when she helped me with getting an appointment. So I let her know I didn'€™t understand either and I felt because I'€™m a black customer, as well as a woman, the white men there don'€™t respect me because I questioned them and pointed out that they were wrong for their behavior. She then went on to connect my iPhone, and get the service transferred over, she also swapped out the HTC phone, as well as, processed the paperwork for the computer all within one hour.

I'€™m a long time customer of Best Buy. I shop online on BestBuy.com. I've shopped at Best Buy's in NY, MN, FL, GA, CA, MI, I spend a lot of money in Best Buy because I mistakenly thought that all customers would be treated with respect regardless of the color of their skin. I was completely brought back to reality tonight although I have experienced some levels of discrimination before in some of the stores that I frequented before. However, I would talk myself out of believing it was race based. But when it's blatant there is no way to deny it.

I now know that if you're black and go into a Best Buy store your time and money is disregarded and disrespected because of the color or your skin. It should never have taken three hours to accomplish what I needed done and it also should not have taken a white woman who I do not know at all to come to my defense in order for customer service to take place. I am completely appalled at the situation and I'€™m not satisfied with what took place tonight.

I was finally given a laptop and insurance for the computer and after getting home I plugged it up and immediately realized that it was not a new computer as ** stated. The screen doesn't stay on all the time and the packaging wasn't the same as a new computer although it was in the box that it should have been in. I did not open the box in the store because I was assured it was a new computer.

So I was misled and deceived by ** that the computer was new. I will have to take my time again to go into the store to get a new laptop once again after spending three hours in the store tonight. My kids ended up missing the basketball practice they were scheduled to attend tonight, all because of Best Buy employees with discriminating behavior.

I feel very strongly about the situation. I feel that ** and ** need to be fired because of the situation. ** clearly set the precedent that it is OK for his subordinate to clearly and willfully disrespect me by telling him to get someone else to help me, as that someone else was a black Best Buy employee. He gave permission to ** to walk away from a customer. I know for a fact if I were a white woman with the same issues and concerns and same questions that I had the treatment would be markedly different. I'€™m saddened that in 2013 I have to write a letter about discrimination that I faced.

** along with the rest of the store, as well as all Best Buy€™s needs to be made aware that treating black customers differently than white customers is unacceptable and intolerable. Because of the vague way that the insurance policy is worded it gives the employees of Best Buy the discretion to totally void an insurance contract based on a case-by-case basis, ignoring any biases the employee may have.

I hope this letter isn'€™t in vain and that some true changes start from the top down. Training on race relations; treating customers fairly, and without racial and gender biases must take place immediately. These occurrences happened at the Best Buy location in Cary, NC. I went back to the store today 9/19/2013 to get the replacement for the faulty computer and was appalled that ** was still employed there!

Replies
Sales People, Managers and Geek Squad Are Admitted Liars!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTHGLENN, COLORADO -- On 05/04/13 I purchased a new HD TV from Best Buy. I am completely lost when it comes to electronics, but I did the research and knew what I wanted/needed. I had already purchased an HD DVD player and surround sound from another store. The salesman at Best Buy told me that the DVD player I had at home was not compatible with the TV.

He said if I did not purchase a Blu-Ray player, all of the movies would be distorted and difficult to view on the new TV. Based on his statements, I spent $250 on a Blu-Ray player and returned the DVD player. 34 days after I purchased and set up the Blu-Ray player... it stopped working. I kept my receipt, but the box accidentally got thrown away.

I called Best Buy and the first guy on the phone told me they could not help me because it was beyond the 15-day return date and I did not purchase the extended warranty. He told me the store would likely not honor the manufacturer's warranty because I no longer had the box. He added that the Blu-Ray player was not working because my daily workout video (used all 34 days, once a day) was "over use" of the player. Seriously!? 34 uses is apparently the maximum for a Blu-Ray player. I hung up with him and called Samsung.

They confirmed that I had a 1 year manufacturer's warranty. Told me to take it to the store, with or without the box and Best Buy would exchange or refund the system. I packed it all up and took it into the store, where the Geek Squad guy told me immediately that he was unable to help me because it was beyond the 15-day return policy. I explained that the unit was not working.

I told him what the Best Buy person told me on the phone the day before and what the Samsung person told me on the phone, and he told me "those people that answer the phone, will say anything to get you off the phone." I confirmed this was something Best Buy employees were told to do, and he nodded. I told him his customer service sucked! I eventually had to talk him into checking on the manufacturer's warranty. He agreed it was under manufacturer's warranty, so they would send it to Samsung to be repaired.

While I was waiting for him to complete the paperwork, their computer crashed. He had to fill everything out by hand because they couldn't figure out what to do to make it work (This did not boost my confidence in their abilities!). He asked me how I liked the unit when it was working (Again, really!? It worked for 34 days, how do you think I liked it!).

I explained that the salesman told me the one I had was not compatible. His response, "Sales people that lie to customers don't usually last here long." He then informed me my salesperson did indeed lie to me about the ability of my previously purchased DVD player as it would have worked just fine, as long as it had an HDMI cable (It did and I told **, the salesman that). They ended up taking my Blu-Ray player and I was told it would be shipped to Samsung for repair.

Today, 6 days later, I received the first update regarding my unit. It advised that the unit was at the Geek Squad service center awaiting parts. I called to confirm that they were fixing it, rather than Samsung (since the other two Best Buy employees told me Best Buy could not assist me because I did not purchase their extended service plan). The guy on the phone this time, told me that the Best Buy employees "lied" (his word) and Samsung would only get involved if the repair could not be made in 15 days, at which time they would send me another unit.

All said and done, the customer service at Best Buy sucks. They have lied to me on numerous occasions and if I weren't already $250 in the hole (a lot of money for me!) I'd leave the unit and go buy something else.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Best Buy Geek Squad Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 29 ratings and
80 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Best Buy
7601 Penn Ave. South
Richfield, MN 55423
1-800-369-5050 (ph)
www.bestbuy.com
cr@bestbuy.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Superstores