Preview Review

Next Review

Best Buy Geek Squad Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
11-9-15, Told Motherboard Crashed, Tried to Sell Me on New Laptop With Their Financing. Small Local Store Fixed It That Very After
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GAINESVILLE, GA, GEORGIA -- (11-9-15 @ 1:15 pm, Gainesville, GA store) Tech spent about 5 minutes trying to figure out why it would not power on and told me it was probably the motherboard. He could not be sure because it would not power on. When I asked him things like how much the motherboard would cost, he said "You don't want to know." It seemed like he just wanted to talk about buying a new one and their great financing.

I decided to leave and come back and see a different tech later. I passed a small repair shop on the way home and he said it was the loose fitting where the power cord plugged in. I paid 700 dollars for this laptop less than 3 years ago and resent what that tech tried to pull over on me. I paid 99 dollars for their support deal just to find out they were trying to scam me. Very disappointed!

Replies
Advertisement
Excellent Service By Johny ** Of The Geek Squad
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

SALEM, OREGON -- He answered all our questions, cleaned everything up, and was thorough.

Replies
Discrimination
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARY, NORTH CAROLINA -- I went into a Best Buy store tonight to pick up a computer and a phone that I left with Geek Squad last week, as well as, to get a replacement phone for an HTC phone on my account. My arrival time was about 5:10 pm. Upon arriving in the store after waiting in line I was helped by **. From the start he seemed unable to help me successfully€.

He took a long time getting my phone transferred over to the replacement phone and he tried to get me to sign the contract stating that I received the phone back even though the service wasn'™t on or transferred over so my phone was not complete serviced as yet and I explained that I would sign the paperwork after my phone is complete in working order.

So as that was still incomplete he started to work on my computer issue and he told me that I will not be getting a fixed computer and that I would have to get a gift card for the replacement value of the computer. He went on to tell me that the computer would cost more to repair than the computer was purchased for and that it's now junk. I told him I need to see that in the contract and he showed me some statements none of which stated that when the computer is 85% or more than the cost of the item it is then deemed junk and no portion of the insurance would be given back to me.

I then stated that I did not want to accept that offer of the gift card for the cost of the computer. I let him and ** know that because by this time I asked to see a store manager. I then let ** know that I wanted to start the process of getting a replacement for another phone ordered that I have insurance on. He started typing on the terminal walked to the back and back to the terminal seemingly lost and not knowing what he was doing.

He finally tells me that he's going to have to give me the balance of my insurance back because the phone isn'€™t worth anything and I couldn'€™t get a new phone because the plan is going to expire next month. I then asked him to repeat the date of the insurance plan then he reads it to me and says "oh it expires December 1, 2014". I then state to him, "You see you are so quick to disregard insurance and junk everything out based on how you feel at the moment." He then slams his hand on the table and tells me that he is tapping out and then he walks away.

Before he walks away maybe about 10 minutes before he tells me he's "€œTapping out!"€ While at the terminal ** starts talking to someone else in Geek Squad and he tells the person that ** wants him to get someone else to help me. So I just listen and take notes as to what is transpiring because at this time I a€™m already in the store now for one hour and thirty minutes without a resolution to any issue that I had before I first walked into the store.

Back to the tap out situation when this happened I went over to ** told him what happened and he said he would be over to me when he was done with his customers. I then stated to him I'm a customer as well. He ignored me. I went back over to where I was standing, waited a few minutes and then went to the front door where security was and asked about the stores general manager. He got a card and handed it to me and at the same time I asked him who the store manager was. And as I did that he, the store manager, was walking nearby and he pointed me to **.

I proceed to address my issues with ** and he was short and curt with me and seemed to know a bit about what was going on because he asked me what ** was going to do about my computer. I then went on to tell him that wasn'€™t my main concern. My main concern was the way I was being treated with the lack of true customer service.

How is it that a clerk can walk away from a customer mid transaction and it's OK? He is still curt and short with me until he sees me talking to another customer who was standing next to me who approached me and asked me what was happening because she noticed that I was taking notes and she said to herself "€œthey must be giving me a hard time"€. She then goes ahead and gives me detailed information that she overheard ** stating to someone else that he was tapping out.

Before she leaves she gave me her name and number because she was just that sympathetic to me about the situation. So when ** sees this he is willing to help me because the woman was white. This is what I believe changed my whole experience around. This is so disheartening that this was the catalyst to getting some customer service that took a total of three hours to accomplish.

He sent over a young lady that provided me with exceptional customer service and couldn'€™t understand what was going on because she stated to me that I was so nice on the phone when she helped me with getting an appointment. So I let her know I didn'€™t understand either and I felt because I'€™m a black customer, as well as a woman, the white men there don'€™t respect me because I questioned them and pointed out that they were wrong for their behavior. She then went on to connect my iPhone, and get the service transferred over, she also swapped out the HTC phone, as well as, processed the paperwork for the computer all within one hour.

I'€™m a long time customer of Best Buy. I shop online on BestBuy.com. I've shopped at Best Buy's in NY, MN, FL, GA, CA, MI, I spend a lot of money in Best Buy because I mistakenly thought that all customers would be treated with respect regardless of the color of their skin. I was completely brought back to reality tonight although I have experienced some levels of discrimination before in some of the stores that I frequented before. However, I would talk myself out of believing it was race based. But when it's blatant there is no way to deny it.

I now know that if you're black and go into a Best Buy store your time and money is disregarded and disrespected because of the color or your skin. It should never have taken three hours to accomplish what I needed done and it also should not have taken a white woman who I do not know at all to come to my defense in order for customer service to take place. I am completely appalled at the situation and I'€™m not satisfied with what took place tonight.

I was finally given a laptop and insurance for the computer and after getting home I plugged it up and immediately realized that it was not a new computer as ** stated. The screen doesn't stay on all the time and the packaging wasn't the same as a new computer although it was in the box that it should have been in. I did not open the box in the store because I was assured it was a new computer.

So I was misled and deceived by ** that the computer was new. I will have to take my time again to go into the store to get a new laptop once again after spending three hours in the store tonight. My kids ended up missing the basketball practice they were scheduled to attend tonight, all because of Best Buy employees with discriminating behavior.

I feel very strongly about the situation. I feel that ** and ** need to be fired because of the situation. ** clearly set the precedent that it is OK for his subordinate to clearly and willfully disrespect me by telling him to get someone else to help me, as that someone else was a black Best Buy employee. He gave permission to ** to walk away from a customer. I know for a fact if I were a white woman with the same issues and concerns and same questions that I had the treatment would be markedly different. I'€™m saddened that in 2013 I have to write a letter about discrimination that I faced.

** along with the rest of the store, as well as all Best Buy€™s needs to be made aware that treating black customers differently than white customers is unacceptable and intolerable. Because of the vague way that the insurance policy is worded it gives the employees of Best Buy the discretion to totally void an insurance contract based on a case-by-case basis, ignoring any biases the employee may have.

I hope this letter isn'€™t in vain and that some true changes start from the top down. Training on race relations; treating customers fairly, and without racial and gender biases must take place immediately. These occurrences happened at the Best Buy location in Cary, NC. I went back to the store today 9/19/2013 to get the replacement for the faulty computer and was appalled that ** was still employed there!

Replies
Sales People, Managers and Geek Squad Are Admitted Liars!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTHGLENN, COLORADO -- On 05/04/13 I purchased a new HD TV from Best Buy. I am completely lost when it comes to electronics, but I did the research and knew what I wanted/needed. I had already purchased an HD DVD player and surround sound from another store. The salesman at Best Buy told me that the DVD player I had at home was not compatible with the TV.

He said if I did not purchase a Blu-Ray player, all of the movies would be distorted and difficult to view on the new TV. Based on his statements, I spent $250 on a Blu-Ray player and returned the DVD player. 34 days after I purchased and set up the Blu-Ray player... it stopped working. I kept my receipt, but the box accidentally got thrown away.

I called Best Buy and the first guy on the phone told me they could not help me because it was beyond the 15-day return date and I did not purchase the extended warranty. He told me the store would likely not honor the manufacturer's warranty because I no longer had the box. He added that the Blu-Ray player was not working because my daily workout video (used all 34 days, once a day) was "over use" of the player. Seriously!? 34 uses is apparently the maximum for a Blu-Ray player. I hung up with him and called Samsung.

They confirmed that I had a 1 year manufacturer's warranty. Told me to take it to the store, with or without the box and Best Buy would exchange or refund the system. I packed it all up and took it into the store, where the Geek Squad guy told me immediately that he was unable to help me because it was beyond the 15-day return policy. I explained that the unit was not working.

I told him what the Best Buy person told me on the phone the day before and what the Samsung person told me on the phone, and he told me "those people that answer the phone, will say anything to get you off the phone." I confirmed this was something Best Buy employees were told to do, and he nodded. I told him his customer service sucked! I eventually had to talk him into checking on the manufacturer's warranty. He agreed it was under manufacturer's warranty, so they would send it to Samsung to be repaired.

While I was waiting for him to complete the paperwork, their computer crashed. He had to fill everything out by hand because they couldn't figure out what to do to make it work (This did not boost my confidence in their abilities!). He asked me how I liked the unit when it was working (Again, really!? It worked for 34 days, how do you think I liked it!).

I explained that the salesman told me the one I had was not compatible. His response, "Sales people that lie to customers don't usually last here long." He then informed me my salesperson did indeed lie to me about the ability of my previously purchased DVD player as it would have worked just fine, as long as it had an HDMI cable (It did and I told **, the salesman that). They ended up taking my Blu-Ray player and I was told it would be shipped to Samsung for repair.

Today, 6 days later, I received the first update regarding my unit. It advised that the unit was at the Geek Squad service center awaiting parts. I called to confirm that they were fixing it, rather than Samsung (since the other two Best Buy employees told me Best Buy could not assist me because I did not purchase their extended service plan). The guy on the phone this time, told me that the Best Buy employees "lied" (his word) and Samsung would only get involved if the repair could not be made in 15 days, at which time they would send me another unit.

All said and done, the customer service at Best Buy sucks. They have lied to me on numerous occasions and if I weren't already $250 in the hole (a lot of money for me!) I'd leave the unit and go buy something else.

Replies
Advertisement
Geek Squad Cannot Get Parts for Pc They Sell
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HUNTSVILLE, ALABAMA -- I took my Dell PC to the Geek Squad to have repaired. They made me sign a piece of paper and Then told me it had to be shipped to be repaired. Did not tell me the cost or that I was paying for shipping. It took 11 days before someone called me to tell me that they could not get parts to fix it. I asked them why do you sell Dell PCs, He could not answer. He told me that it would cost more to fix it than what I paid for it. I asked him how he knew what I paid for the PC. Again, he could not answer. I did not buy this Dell from them. Okay send it back...

It took only 2 days before they called me back to say I could pick it up where I had dropped it off. Why only 2 days to return. Was it ever shipped in the first place? So I went to pick it up. Took 20 minutes for them to bring it out. I asked to speak to a Manager and when he finally showed up; I asked him why they take Dell PCs to fix if they cannot get the parts. He stuttered and said they had no way knowing if it can be fixed or not. "Um excuse me but then why are you taking PCs to be fixed if you don't know that you can?". He stuttered again, said he did not know.

I asked why I had to pay shipping fees when I was not told that I had to pay for shipping? He stated I had signed the paper.. I asked him why I was not told before I signed and he said they were not required to tell me... I asked him why there was no proof of shipping on the paper and he said, "I had to look up the confir. number on the paper". I asked, "How did I know if that was MY PC being shipped" and again he had no answer.

I knew I was going to lose my $40.00 to these people for their incompetence, so in a last ditch effort I asked if they would waiver the shipping fees towards a new PC purchase from them. I flashed the hard earned cash I had on me to buy a new computer and he laughed at me. So all in all, my experience with the Geek Squad was horrible. I took my Dell PC to a local repairman and he fixed it within 3 days and it cost a $100.00 dollars. So why can he get parts but Best Buy cannot? BTW, I bought another PC for my son at HH Gregg the same day. Nice people!

Replies
Poor Service - Inaccurate Communication
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BEAVERCREEK, OHIO -- September 2012 I purchased a "new" store model computer from Best Buy in Beavercreek. Downloaded files and did not use until January 2013 when old computer died. Three weeks later new computer not functioning. Geek Squad at Best Buy said hard drive failed and it would be sent to Louisville, Kentucky under factory warranty. Staff mentioned several times if I had purchased store warranty from Best Buy, there would have been more they could do.

Three weeks later after weekend trip, returned home to two messages on answering machine and later one actual phone call that my computer was ready for pick-up. At store staff said computer was not ready and seemed to not believe that I had received 3 calls. Four days later Best Buy called that computer was ready. When I got to store and tried to start up computer, it did not work. Staff said now keyboard not working and back to Louisville, Kentucky. Due to my part-time consulting job, I paid $100 for data to be saved before computer shipped off again.

I purchased second new computer from another store and asked Best Buy put on my data I had paid to be saved so I could work. I asked Best Buy to try to quickly put the data on my second new computer, but several trips to the store and days before files placed on computer.

After 9 days I called Best Buy to check progress on first computer's second trip to Louisville, Kentucky. I was told computer had just arrived in Louisville after 8 days. Since Louisville is 160 miles away from store, something delayed shipment? Three days later Best Buy called that computer was ready in the Beavercreek store. At the store I asked for Microsoft Office which I had purchased from Best Busy to be put on computer along with data I had paid them to save. Told it would be ready after 2 days.

When I arrived at store, it was not ready. Several days later back at store, it was still not ready and the person told me that it took a lot of time to put Microsoft Office on a computer (It took me less than 2 hours to download Microsoft Office on my second new computer). Finally on a third trip the computer was ready.

It was a disappointing experience, misinformation caused me to make a number of unnecessary trips to the store. I also learned to avoid purchasing "out of box computers" as it was apparent these must suffer a lot of abuse when they are on display.

Replies
No Working Washer - 3 Weeks and Counting
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- Our call for warranted service was ignored. After follow up, Geek Squad finally got random subcontractor out. He said it was un-repairable. Not hearing anything for a week, I called Geek Squad. No information. Subcontractor said he couldn't get a hold of a real person to submit his report so he sat on it. 20 calls and 10 hours on the phone trying to get help, still no help. In the end, we finally learned no report was submitted, so no fix or replacement. Still waiting. I would rather pay for a new washer than deal with these people ever again. Awful support.

Replies
Horrid Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORENCE, SOUTH CAROLINA -- We took our PC to BB to have a repair and they never called or (e)mailed. And when we would call they say one thing or another. Never that they had sold or destroyed it, that is until I sent a complaint to the Better Business Bureau. Now they are only offering $300 for my pretty new $800 computer. They are now saying we abandoned it which is not true. We called numerous times and even went to store only to be given the run around. Even corporate lied to us and the BBB. They gave us 6 days to accept $300 and we aren't even in town. This is UNACCEPTABLE!

Replies
Advertisement
Continued Charging Although Requested to Cancel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

After carrying the protection plan for a few months, I had called to request canceling the monthly renewal back in Jan. 2013 and was verbally told it would be cancelled. Despite that - my card has continued to be charged for the last 18 months!!! I called again in June, 2014, to again insist on canceling and to insist this time getting confirmation in writing. They gave me a reference number (since they cannot send out an email confirmation) - it should be cancelled now. However, they deny there was any previous request received and refuse to refund prior payments.

Replies
Geek Squad - the Easy Made to Look Difficult
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- I visited my local Best Buy to cancel the insurance I have on my iPhone. The person helping me attempted to call the 866 number to help with my request, however, the wait time was going to be over 20 minutes. Since I had other appointments I informed the mobile representative that I would prefer to make the call myself when I had more time to wait. By all accounts, this individual was very polite and helpful.

This morning I call the 866 number and was connected to a Geek Squad Protection agent after approximately 20 minutes. Unfortunately, the agent had a difficult time comprehending my request and instead kept asking questions about other phone numbers included on my account. After several minutes getting nowhere, I asked to speak to another agent. At this point, I was transferred and subsequently disconnected.

After yet another 30 minute wait, I was reconnected to another agent. This individual was able to complete my request but was not very customer friendly in the process. I suggest Best Buy take a close look at their Geek Squad Protection agents to assess both their technical and customer service skills.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Best Buy Geek Squad Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
71 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Best Buy
7601 Penn Ave. South
Richfield, MN 55423
1-800-369-5050 (ph)
www.bestbuy.com
cr@bestbuy.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Superstores