Preview Review

Next Review

Lowe's Appliances Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lowe's Never Stops Disappointing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SARASOTA, ALASKA -- I know most people won't believe this, but it is a true story. We, unfortunately, bought a refrigerator at Lowe's on Fruitville road. The fridge has been nothing but trouble. The latest: unwanted formation of icicles in the freezer. Since the unit is under warranty, a technician, one more time, was sent to look at the problem. 2 solutions were offered to us: remove some trim pieces in the freezer section and, get ready for this, put some caulk instead!!! And, it is not all, and then, use some kind of goo and apply it around the freezer section so the seal will "stick" better. But no worries, the goo is transparent...

Talked to Service Advantage, then a sometimes manager, sometimes assistant manager Brian, The Only Brian in the Fruitville store, who said I should be thankful for caulk and goo. If I was unwilling to have the unit "fixed" like it should be, then I should call the manufacturer.

When ask if he would like to have a new refrigerator with caulk and goo, The Only Brian in the Fruitville store said if it is what it takes, then yes, he would have no problem with that. Same answer form Christine at Service Advantage: I don't see the big deal with caulk and goo. It is obvious, Lowe's DO NOT STAND BEHIND THE PRODUCTS THEY SELL. And the employees, all level: THEY DO NOT CARE. Do yourself a favor, don't shop there...

Replies
Advertisement
$1500 Stove Quit Working in Less Than a Month
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FRANKLIN, NORTH CAROLINA -- I bought a $1,500 stainless steel Whirlpool gas convection range at Lowe's at the end of July. Less than a month later the oven quit working and would only display the message "Fan speed too low, contact service". That was over 2 months ago. Both Lowe's and Whirlpool have been spectacularly incompetent since. Each has blamed the other for the problem. It took a month for them to get a repairman out to our house and then he said he couldn't fix it and walked out, explaining that he would call us in a couple days. That was 3 weeks ago... Never did hear back from him.

I've been to my local Lowe's where the Appliances manager tried to get in touch with the repairman with no success. After weeks like this, the Appliances manager told me that if I hadn't gotten help by today, they would just issue a gift card for my purchase price and I could buy a new one of my choice. You guessed it. When I called the number he gave me to get the gift card, they refused. While they acknowledged on a recorded line that I'd been promised the gift card, they claimed that the Lowe's employee who made that promise was not authorized to do so and they would not help me other than to say that Whirlpool would have to fix it.

Replies
Dishonest About Online Rebates
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT. DORA, FLORIDA -- I bought Whirlpool washer/dryer and 2 employees told me that I would receive $250 rebates back after purchase. I went online and submitted for rebate. I was mailed $100 back. I called Lowe's and the response I got was "Sorry, I guess the salesman was wrong." Now I am out $150.00 because Lowe's doesn't train their employees or they just LIE to customers to make a sale. NEVER AGAIN!!! I spend thousands of dollars at Lowe's and now I will make the extra 10 minute drive to Home Depot for my personal and business needs. Buyer beware!!!

Replies
Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPARTANBURG, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I went online to purchase a dishwasher. After finding it on their website I paid for it to be install. After giving a date for it to be installed it was never installed by their installer. All together I waited for 2 weeks. I gotten one from another store. Check for timeline on putting it in before buying.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Customer Service and Delivery Ever!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BETHLEHEM, PENNSYLVANIA -- On 8/23/14, I ordered Counter tops, a dishwasher and other items to be delivered. I got a call about 1 hour later scheduling a delivery of 8/27/14 and would be called with a time. On 8/27/14, I had not got a time for delivery so I called Lowe's and they told me my delivery date was changed to 9/8/14, WITHOUT contacting me to see if I was available, and they didn't seem to care. I wrote customer service at Lowe's and 4 days later, I got a reply saying someone from the store would contact me, she did and offered me 10% off for my trouble, which I NEVER received.

On 9/8, the day my order was switched to without my knowledge, I had still not received a time of delivery. I do work and need to know when this was coming to schedule my work day. So I called them at 6:15 am to see when it was going to be delivered. I was informed, rather rudely, that no one is called until between 8-9 am day of delivery to a time. I gave them my cell and asked them to call me on that because I had to go to work. 9:15 - still no call, so I called again.

I was told they still didn't know when but it will be an AM appointment and I would get a call soon. I asked the contact number they had and it was my HOME, I gave them my cell again and asked them to contact me on that. 10:40 am I finally get a call and they said they will be there between 11-1. Nice, 20 minutes to run home, got there before 11. 12:45 they get there and deliver everything but the DISHWASHER and cord!!! This is why they moved my order in the first place without telling me. I asked the driver where it was and he said, “Sorry, it isn't on my order.”

He called the store and they said it isn't in yet and they don't know when it will be delivered. I called in to customer service AGAIN and I forget who returned my call but she was very apologetic and said someone would contact me as soon as the dishwasher was in and it would be delivered at MY convenience. This morning, 9/9 at 8:35 I get a phone call saying my dishwasher will be delivered between 9-11.

Wow! 25 minutes to rush home this time, and he seemed annoyed I had to check my schedule to see if I can make it, I could. And at 10:53 they get there with the dishwasher but NOT THE POWER CORD. I told him to cancel the cord, and I went right to Home Depot where I will be doing ALL my home improvement from now on and got it.

Replies
Whirlpool Cabrio Is a Horrible Excuse of a Washing Machine - Thankfully Lowe's Took It Back
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

FERNANDINA BEACH, FLORIDA -- Thank goodness I purchased this machine at Lowe's. They honored my complaint, refunded my money and scheduled a pickup immediately for this horrible excuse of a washing machine. The product looked good on the showroom floor, it all sounded good as the salesperson went over the options and explained how it worked. That was as good as it got for this product. The washing machine never cleaned anything! However, it did manage to twist, mutilate, and tear up several blouses,1 pair of pants and 1 sweatshirt.

The first load was full of t-shirts, socks and underwear. These items came out OK, but as I was transferring the clothes from washer to dryer, I noticed they didn't smell fresh. I thought I made a mistake in adding the detergent, so I rewashed the load.The second load was towels, they seemed OK, but they weren't too dirty to start with; however, after I dried them I saw the soap residue that was left behind on several of the towels. So I rewashed this load as well. The third load was my last load. The clothes came out with soap stains, streaks from uneven wetness in the clothes and of course, the damages I mentioned above.

I can't get rid of this machine fast enough! Apart from not cleaning the clothes, the machine sounds as if parts about about to fly off of it at any minute. The rattle of metallic pieces is not the same sound as the sound of a washing machine in action.

I am luckier than some of the people who bought this waste of a product, because at least Lowe's was the company I had to deal with and they were wonderful regarding the return the product and refunding of my money. I am told Whirlpool has bought out Maytag, this is the only reason I tried this machine. Whirlpool, you are no Maytag! I am off to check out other manufacturers as they certainly can't be any worst!

Replies
Rebate Denied, Then Miraculously Approved 4 Weeks Later!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FORT MILL, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I will start by saying I love Lowe's and normally do not ever shop anywhere else for my home repair needs. This experience, however, has left a sour taste in my mouth. We purchased a washer/dryer set on 8/18 under the promotion that if you spend X amount of dollars, you'll get a rebate of X amount. I submitted the rebate info online on 8/20. It says it takes 4-6 weeks to get the rebate, so we've been patient.

Today, 9/13, I get a note from Lowe's saying I didn't purchase qualifying items? I called the number, they told me I had to have receipt info (well, sorry, I didn't keep it) so I had to call the local store and get them to look up info, but, they told me I could look it up myself online… grr. If the original number I had called would've told me I could do that, I would have… So I do look it up myself, call back the first number, this new lady has a deep accent... I give her the item # for the washing machine and she tells me "Okay, I have the dishwasher pulled up" - I was like, “No, WASHING MACHINE.” She said, "Oh, I'm sorry..." She proceeds to pull it up correctly.

Then I give her the item # for the dryer, "Okay, I have the washing machine pulled up." "No, you mean dryer?" "Oh, well it is wrong in our system but it doesn't matter." All I know is, I better get my rebate! Then she says "it's a $50 rebate." I said, “No, it should be way more than that. The washer/dryer were close to $1300!” She said "Oh, I'm sorry, my accounting mistake. It is actually $120."

Now we have to wait another 4-6 weeks for our $120 rebate that should have been here already. Normally, I wouldn't mind waiting, but we have been holding off painting the nursery for the first child I'm carrying because we are broke now after the washer/dryer purchase... and now we're going to have to wait 4-6 more weeks to get started.

I'm less than thrilled with Lowe's lackluster performance in this scenario. It makes me wonder if perhaps others aren't experiencing the same thing, and Lowe's needed to "push off" the rebates for a while and faked the letter, or perhaps their system had a glitch that showed them all as invalid. Whatever the case, I hate to say, in the future I will think twice before purchasing anything that falls under a rebate with Lowe's.

Replies
Measure Appliances Yourself Because Lowe's Doesn't Think They're Important
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAKE FOREST, NORTH CAROLINA -- On 12-7-13, we walked into Lowe's with the measurements for our current over-the-range microwave oven; we even had the original user manual so there would be no problems buying a new one that would fit. The salesman assured us that the new one that we had selected would fit. Two weeks later the installer arrived and could not get the new one to fit because it was an inch too tall. We have a stone backsplash and the bracket for support requires that the microwave be no more than 15.5" high. The new one was 16.5" high. We thought that we could call Lowe's and just get them to send one that would fit. Turns out, they don't sell one that will fit except for a $1,000 model!

We had to urgently call the installer to come back and put our old microwave back and hope that we could pay someone to fix it. The installer brought our microwave back; it had obviously been thrown into the back of his truck because the key pad was now broken and the hood vent was also now broken. I went to Lowe's today and told them what happened and the only thing they cared about was "Where is the new microwave?" I told them I had no idea where it was and asked them what they were going to do to fix the problem.

They said that I could contact two companies to see about fixing it (never mentioning making any restitution for busting up my microwave) and that they would give us a full credit back after they are able to locate the original microwave. They also said that it wasn't the salesman's fault because he could not have known that we have a backsplash! Seriously, they said that.

Am I the only one in America with a backsplash? I told them that it was the salesperson's fault; we had the measurements and he should have paid attention to them. The fact that a home improvement store does not train its appliance salespeople to pay attention to MEASUREMENTS speaks volumes about this company.

Replies
Advertisement
False Appliance Sale at Lowe's
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRISCO, TEXAS -- So this one time I took someone advice and decided to buy my appliance from Lowe's, big mistake. I ordered online, confirmation came that can pick up my order from store tomorrow. Drove 40 miles to pick up, they were like “Oh, that was a mistake. That item is our floor model. We can't give it to you and we don't have one. Do you want your money back?" she said!!! So I lost $65.00 service call fee from the plumber, no appliance.

I called their hotline, guy named ** said “I'll get someone to call you.” Then this guy name **, called once 9:54 pm and left a message. Called 5 times since then never replied my call. (This is at Frisco Texas store.) Spoke to other manager name ** or **, she also handed me around. Long story, I should have stayed with Home Depot. Lowe's, you are a mistake and waste of time. Soon you will be the next Blockbuster. If you go on their website still same order will go through the same way. They don't even care to fix it. I'll share my story with as many people as I can to save them from losing time and money.

Replies
Washer/Dryer Installers 3 Hrs Late, Left Install Unfinished 10PM
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEYMOUTH, MASSACHUSETTS -- We purchased a new Whirlpool washer/dryer 1 week ago at Lowe's. Delivery and install was set for Saturday Oct 5 between 4 and 6 PM - at about 2 pm. At 3 pm, the dispatcher called to move the time window to between 5:30 and 7:30. At 7:15, the delivery person called to say they will arrive at 8. At 8:30 they arrive. At 10, they told me they do not know why the dryer does not work. They told me to call Lowe's and ask them to replace the dryer. The installers left at 10:30.

Sunday morning, I called Lowe's and they suggested that I check the circuit breakers. I reset the circuit, which the installers had not thought to check. The dryer is not completely installed, so it cannot be used. Lowe's told me the installers will return on Sunday to finish, but did not provide a time.

I finally called Lowe's to get the 3PD dispatch number to ask for a time. I am told between 7 and 9 PM. At 5:30 the installers called to say they are too busy and cannot come today. I told them that the dispatcher told me they will come today to finish. It's 9 PM and I'm still waiting. An entire weekend wasted waiting. Do not buy appliances from Lowe's if you expect good service.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lowe's Appliances Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 60 ratings and
107 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lowe's
1000 Lowes Blvd
Mooresville, NC 28117
1-800-445-6937 (ph)
336-658-4766 (fax)
www.lowes.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies