Lowe's Kitchen Cabinets

Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
3.0 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
22 reviews & complaints.

Product/Service Menu >

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Think Twice Before Ordering Kitchen Cabinets - Poor Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

GURNEE, ILLINOIS -- 4/2/12 - Purchased cabinetry and granite countertops from Lowe's store in Gurnee, IL with promise that we could view and pick out our granite slab and that the install would be with XXX, their express install company, and it would be measured exactly and the install would be completed in one week.

May 2012 - after two failed attempts to pick out our granite countertops, we finally had a scheduled appointment in Chicago to view and select a Granite Slab at the end of May. These failed attempts were due to an initial misunderstanding from the Lowe's sales representative and the company providing the granite not having any in stock.

6/14/12 - Install scheduled and completed in two days - but it wasn't satisfactory. There were many issues with this install from alignment to problems with the cabinetry and dirt left by the installers. See attached excel spreadsheet for further detail in regards to the issues.

6/18/12 - Kim B. from Lowe's came out to inspect install. Said she would schedule XXX to return to correct problems and that KraftMaid would send someone to correct problems.

7/6/12 - XXX returned to correct their issues with the installation.

8/2/12 - initial appt made for furniture repair company (scheduled by KraftMaid rep). They called since they were provided the address for XXX instead of our home address and we had to reschedule. They were in St. Charles not Gurnee, IL.

8/14/12 - Furniture repair company came out to make repairs to cabinetry and they actually made the issues worse.

8/17/12 KraftMaid representative and Lowe's management came out to inspect issues and determined that they would order all new cabinet doors, panels and light rails based on the issues and that this process would take 12 weeks due to KraftMaid's quality process.

11/16/12 - KraftMaid and Lowe's representative and XXX returned to replace all the cabinet doors, panels and light rails. They were all late showing up. Upon inspection of these new items, several were found with imperfections one actually had a plastic piece sticking out from it. We were surprised these went through and strict quality process and were still delivered. Several new parts had to be re-ordered with another 12 week delay. There was also a problem when XXX exchanged the end panel that houses an electrical outlet. It wasn't installed properly and there was electric arc which could have caused a fire. We had to replace the box and outlet.

2/26/13 - we received a call that the parts had come in and would be inspected.

3/6/13 - we received a call from Dave that KraftMaid representative would bring the parts to Lowe's to inspect and they would call me on 3/7 information.

3/7/13 Called Lowe's to see what was going on and Dave informed us that Rep didn't show up and was supposed to show up on 3/8.

3/8/13 - Dave called to tell us that Rep checked the items and there was one piece still not okay and that she was going to re-order it but it should only take one week this time.

3/13/13 - Rep called us and said that the piece was re-ordered and she would have a delivery estimate by 3/19 and would call us with an eta.

3/19 - 3/20/13 - still have not heard from anyone at Lowe's or KraftMaid.

3/21/13 - Dave from Lowe's called and said Rep would bring the parts to the Lowe's location for Nick and her to look over. Doug is supposed to go to Lowe's to investigate on 3-23-13.

3/23/13 - D went to inspect the new pieces and there are some minor issues so they are going to schedule an installation company and will call us with schedule information. Doug, Brian and Nick all decided that when the installation company came out they would inspect the new pieces compared to the old and decide if they should be replaced or just attempt to correct the initial problem.

3/27/13 - received a call from Dave at Lowe's that he is waiting on Rep to get back from vacation and schedule an installer and the furniture repair company to come to the house to complete this install. He said he would follow up with us next week.

4/4/13 - Furniture repair company called and scheduled an appt. for 4/11 between 10-12. I asked if they knew exactly what needed to be done and I was assured by Tina that they did.

4/10/13 - Dave from Lowes called to confirm we had an appt. and that he would call Rep to ensure the furniture repair company picked up the material from the local Lowes store.

4/11/13 - Le from repair company called to say they would be here at 10 and I asked her if she had picked up the material from Lowes. She said "they didn't deliver it?" I said no that they needed to pick it up. She did that and arrived around 10:30 am. They finished the change out at 12:30 P.M. They also were apparently not told that the pieces were supposed to be compared prior to installation. I looked at them but was also unaware of this issue. The repair company was also supposed to correct some edge issues. This information was also not relayed to the furniture repair company. Someone from Lowes should have attended this installation. Rep had not sent the repair company the layout until they were here. Major communication error again.

4/11/13 - We inspected new work and not satisfied that the stains match. The new pieces appear lighter than the original. There are other problems. called AnDrew at local Lowes store and related all problems to him. AnDrew said he would talk to Dave, the marketing manager and district manager of the store. AnDrew said that he would leave messages and someone would get back to us on 4/12. The instructions from the visit to the store on 3/23 were not relayed or followed.

4/12/13 - Dave from Lowes called and talked with us. The only thing Dave would say was that he would have to call Melissa back and address these current issues. Dave expressed his feelings that he wants to be done with this.

In all this time we have been unable to complete our kitchen. We have been waiting to paint and install our backsplash. But we didn't want to make any changes until this was completed. We have been "On Hold" for almost a year now.

Lowes has never accepted any ownership in the problems we have encountered. They have placed the owness on KraftMaid. Yet, we purchased and paid Lowes for this install. This has taken over 1 year from purchase.

     
Replies
Never Buy From Lowe's - Kitchen Cabinets
By -

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- I will try to shorten this as much as I can. My husband and I decided to redo our kitchen. We took out a home equity loan so we could pay for this. We decided on "diamond" brand. They were rated #3 on Consumer Reports and Lowe's is the only company in Sacramento that carries them. We met with the "kitchen specialist" on 4/16/05. We went over some things and paid the $70 measuring fee and made the appointment. I took half the day off from work just to get home and have a message saying Sarah (k/s) called in sick so we would have to reschedule. I called and asked if anyone else could do the measurement because I took the time off work so I would be home. They told me no,so I rescheduled. I should have known then that that was a bad sign. On 5/14/05 we paid (in cash) $13,918.32 for our cabinets. Sarah the so called specialist (joke)told us not to tear out our kitchen until we receive a phone call about a week before the new items would be delivered.

On 6/6 I received a call from Rodvold trucking saying my items were in and they were going to deliver them the next day. I told the women that we were told we would get about a weeks notice before delivery. She said they would have a truck in my area and they would be coming and someone had to be there to receive them. We do not have a garage so they put them in the back yard. Well just my luck it rained that night and my husband and I were up at 4am trying to get as many as we could in the house. I was so upset I couldn't go to work that day I was trying to get all the cabs. out of their boxes to make sure they were OK. I called Sarah that morning to let her know. I looked over the packing slip and saw that the trucking company was located in Sacto. so they could have held on to them for a couple of days so we could be ready,also the slip said the truck was in 2 accidents. I told her all of this and she said she was sorry and gave me the contractor's phone # so that I could set an appt. with him to come and inspect them.

The contractor Ruben and 2 other men started on 6/21. He said he had to leave at 10:30 to pick up his kids. If we had known that they were only going to work for a few hours my husband wouldn't have taken a whole day off, also on the first day one of his workers cut the molding wrong so Ruben said he would let Sarah know so she could reorder. He said she was in computer training all week but would leave her a message.I called her on Sat. and she was at lunch. I left a message for her to call me and she didn't.I called her Sun. and she said she was with a customer but she got Ruben's message and place the order first thing Mon. morning. I was off work that day so I decided to go in and talk to her in person,come to find out she didn't work again until Wed. I told Richard another (k/s) all the problems that I was having with the contractor and her not returning my calls. Long story short it is now 9/30 my kitchen still is not done! I wrote a letter to the corporate office sent e-mails talked to 4 different store(shift) managers trying to get to the head person in charge. On 9/6 Sarah came over with a new contractor to see if he could fix all the mistakes that the other contractor made. They talked about patching holes and covering mistakes with skins. I told her if they were not going to replace the product that I wanted part of my money back. She told me to call her the next day and let her know how much I wanted,only after that did the store manager speak to me. So now we are waiting for new cabinets to come in.

I decided to check the new contractors license and it checked out OK. I checked on the first contractor's and found out that his license had been suspended and he received a new one under a business name that he created.The web site also let's you check on their employees but he was the only person with a license. I called and spoke to the California state board and come to find out he is the ONLY person that should have been doing work in my home. He worked the first day,the rest of the time he had a couple of other guys (I did not get there names) and Rolondo doing the work. Well according to the state board as of 9/2004 Rolondo does not have a license and Rubin has no employees listed and holds no insurance so they said that he should have no one working with him. I called Mike (store manager)at Lowe's to inform him that they are having an un-licensed contractor work for them he said he would look into it (ya right!). I also called their customer care service to let them know that they are false advertising and that I have a signed contract stating that my kitchen was supposed to be done 7/30.

I have been lied to, put of and am out over $15,000.00 (including counter tops, handles and pulls) and my kitchen is not done. I have two kids. We have no kitchen floor just the sub-floor because we can not put that in until the rest of the work is done. My advice is to NEVER shop at Lowe's. They have the worst customer service I have ever seen!!

     
Replies
Kitchen Cabinet Purchase
By -

CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- We spent $12K with Lowe’s; we wish we'd spent $15K elsewhere.

At a glance, it is white and it smells new.

The whole process is very time consuming. Multiple trips to clarify design "want and needs". Appointments are a must. They’re hard to schedule, with Lowe’s limited sales person availability. It took 3 times of taking the sales person/designer and physically pointing out, and ensuring her hand went on the same "style" sample of exactly what we wanted to get it right. With very minute changes costs varied widely. Every visit was a different price and different "style". Drawers, shelves & Lazy Susan were added to the original order as requested (pointed out by the Lowe’s salesperson in the catalog and added on the order screen), then secretly deleted to make the sale look desirable, cost wise. Now as the project nears an end, we are hit with the added costs for all the conveniently left out "needs" that we made clear.

They give you a pretty black and white print out of what the cabinets are supposed to look like, with a list of numbers, SKU codes and abbreviations you need design/sales software to decipher.

You show Lowe’s what you want. You tell Lowe’s what you want. Lowe’s quotes everything you ask for with the cheapest cabinet version, the one that was never a consideration. And you can’t tell the difference in the B&W graphic printout. When you catch the error the price changes only slightly, because that's when Lowe’s secretly delete your "needs" to close the sale. ( I guess we got lucky to notice the cabinet name not ringing any bells on the order date………………… it should have been blowing whistles and sounding alarms to get the hell out of the store.)

Lowe’s sends out a "professional installer" to measure to ensure layout and functionality. Lowe’s measures and just nods as you try to make sure they understand the layout.

From the time the cabinets were purchased, Lowe's install department calls regularly with status updates to an annoying degree.

The same Lowe’s measuring guy shows up to install the new cabinets. It looks like he's making progress daily. All day Thursday, Friday and Saturday morning until 11am, when he had enough time invested and everything that was shipped was screwed down. That's when the quick clean up is done and the even quicker caulk job. He asks how it looks.

We take him to the mudroom where the cabinet door won't open all the way because it hits the door knob leading to the garage. (There is a gap of 3&3/8" between the cabinet and the dryer plenty of room to have been installed 3" to the right and filler placed on the left.) The drawers won't slide out, and the measure guy says "all you need to do is go to Lowe’s buy a different style door knob". We ask him if he is sure he is done. He assures us he is. He quickly exits.

Well, Lowe’s annoying status phone calls abruptly stop. No call to check on how we think the install turned out. After two messages and three calls we get the Lowe’s install manager who says "no problem we'll take care of everything, just fax me a punch list". Days go by, no word.

Then the Lowe’s salesperson calls Friday afternoon to place all the change orders (additional hidden charges). She says she left out the "need" items to keep it in our budget (yeah right). The one we didn't have when we started. Who sells a 7' tall stacked pantry cabinet, next to the fridge with no shelves or drawers, save the one where the top cabinet sits on the bottom cabinet? No room for a broom.

Well don't think the cabinet door hitting the garage door knob was the only install problem. His punch list was a page long. Issues ranging from pencil marks everywhere(It just means along with going back to Lowe’s, buying a new door knob, a Magic Eraser, extra wall primer and drywall mud), to unleveled counter mounting surface(granite warranty? hmmn??), to 1/4" undercut trim pieces, cabinets screwed through the outside to the floor. Less than a quarter complete hap-hazard caulk job. The list goes on and on.

A visit is made to Lowe’s to find out what the hold up is.

Two weeks later the Lowe’s measuring guy comes back(no punch list, and no idea what he is doing back)and proceeds to spend 3.5 hours caulking his 1/4" undercuts and screw holes through the sides of our brand new cabinets. The mudroom cabinet door still hits the garage door knob...D#@*! I forgot. I haven't bought a new knob yet??? Well, anyway he leaves.

With the new smaller laid out cabinet scheme (why is it smaller??? Wasn’t there a pre order measurement visit?) The walls, and the ceiling all along the white crown have a nice tan ring, then a caulk line (where the old cabinets used to be), then bright white ceiling. (So now the ceiling needs to be scraped and re-sprayed.... I used to wonder how people were always going over budget...now I know.)

The trim...some is real wood painted white, some is synthetic particle board with just primer, then there's the trim that just missing. Fillers are tight at the top and out on the bottom a 1/4".

The Lowe’s sales person added a cookie sheet cabinet to the left of the dishwasher to balance out the corner cabinet on the right of the sink (not our “want or need”, there is a cookie sheet drawer under the wall oven). The salesperson made certain, we knew we couldn’t increase our stovetop dimension but…….. the one thing, the installer thought to mention, when he was done, was the surprising result: an opening for less than a 28” custom single sink.

It's been weeks now since the Lowe’s installation started and we've no idea when Lowe’s will be finished.

Our credit card company quickly credited our account upon dispute against Lowe’s.

Maybe if we're lucky…. a Lowe’s supervisor might come out in the next week or two.

We're feeling we'll be paying someone else to finish, and settling with our credit card company.

We're just glad we didn't write a check. Lowe's wants all their money upfront.

Don't forget the headaches from cabinet off-gassing. But it doesn't matter that the cabinets shipped before the paint was dry. Delivered in 2 weeks from order date. Maybe that's why the paint is missing from many doors.

     
Replies
Improving Home Improvement - NOT!!!
By -

CARSON CITY, NEVADA --

Lowe's "Improving Home Improvement?????" More like "Making Home Improvement a nightmare!

I am here to tell you NOT to shop at Lowe's. This is a long story, but the abridged version is it's over four months and I still do not have the proper full set of cabinets I ordered. Corporate office has not helped! I have NEVER been offered ANYTHING to make me want to return to their store! Also, calling them is a nightmare. One day I called over 6 times and was put on hold with NO ONE coming back all six times!!!

May 5th - Ordered cabinets and paid in full! Was told it would take maybe 4-5 weeks for delivery. I said I was leaving June 27th for Europe - would they be there for sure??? Assured it would be no problem - they made a note that I would be out of town for a month!

I called (they never called as assured) in mid-June and was told the delivery date was between June 22-27th. Again I would be called for sure to set up the delivery. I had to call multiple times to get this information with not ONE returned phone call.

June 23rd - still NO call about delivery date so I start calling store. Bruce, "cabinet guy" rarely returns calls. Finally I get a hold of him and his response is they called me and it's my fault I never called them back - cabinets will be delivered on the 28th cuz all delivery days are now full???

June 24-26th. I made numerous phone calls to shipping company, store managers and Bruce to no avail. Cabinets would NOT be delivered on time! Bruce's response, "it's only a day - I don't know what the problem is???" If he checked his notes he's see there is a problem when you are not in the country! Oh, he also offered to come to my house and take in the delivery. How many of you would allow a stranger to have a key to your home!

June 26th. Call store assistant manager "Ginger." She is very sorry for problem - will pay for me to have my contractor come up from the Bay area the following week for delivery. Told to go on my trip and have a wonderful time!

July 11th. Cabinets are delivered with smashed up boxes! Two cabinets with crashed in sides and various doors with scratches. Contractor attempted to contact cabinet company, "Schuller" to get replacements. They said no problem let store know. Store needs to deal with me so I have to wait till I am home in August to talk with them.

~August 8th. I am home and back up to Tahoe to inspect the cabinets myself. I call Lowe's and again get "transferred" to a number that rings and rings and rings... Instead I drive to the store (hour round trip) and bring my computer with me. There I am presented the "manager" Ed (I believe). He spends about an hour with me discussing the smashed cabinets, taking me back to show me what the "finished sides of cabinets" should look like (the photo finish is a joke)! He says I should have been offered the "real sides of cabinets" and the cabinets would be replaced that were bad. I found out after an hour he was NOT the manager, but a manager in training. He then left a message for Ginger to call me the next day along with another manager Keith!

Ginger returns my call the very next day and tells me she would make good on paying the contractor if she could get it approved by her manager. She does so and she is probably the ONLY person who did what they said through this entire experience - YOU GO GINGER!

Keith calls and tells me it is no problem with reordering my cabinets after an hour of discussion. He says I have two choices, "have my contractor fix the cabinet and get a full refund OR get a replacement!" The cabinets take two weeks on this special rush since they were damaged. He tells me Bruce will call to take all the details on which cabinets I decide to do what with!

Bruce doesn't call right away. I have to call 3 times the next day and he finally returns my call. He takes down the information. I chose to replace one cabinet, get the refund on the other and also replace 6 damaged doors. He said he would place the order immediately. It should be about two weeks!

~August 22. I call store asking for when the cabinets would be delivered. The cabinet man there says he'd leave a message for Bruce to call me when he got in.

~Aug 23 - Bruce calls my "Tahoe home" leaving a message (knowing that is not where I live) and says as if I didn't call or anything, "The Schuller representative would like to come and inspect your cabinets - how about this Friday?" He also tells me at this time they don't do refunds. I'd have to replace the cabinet I already paid to have the contractor FIX and install or just lose the money???

Immediately I have had it. The cabinets haven't even been ORDERED. I call the corporate office after talking to Bruce briefly. They won't handle complaints, instead kick it back to the store manager. This is when I am introduced to Cheryl. Cheryl finally after talking with Keith tells me they will do a "special order" on these cabinets and switch out the cabinets themselves once they come in. They would put a "rush" on this order. I am at this point called almost daily with an update! They immediately told me the cabinets would not be delivered until Sept 22. YET, they promised to contact the "representative of Schuller" to speed up the process!" Never was the representative contacted - they just let that original date slide. A month later is NOT a "rush order!" They (Steve, Keith or whoever) still call me most days with an update that they will talk to the representative! NO representative is contacted that I know, I don't get any new calls with updated "FASTER" delivery date!

September 7th - Another phone call from Steve (~7 or 8pm, message left on home phone). This time he mentions it looks like my cabinets will be delivered by the end of the month, HOPEFULLY by September 26th!

September 8th - I get a call from Lowe's (recording) some special order is in and I need to immediately pick it up. I call 6 times. I get an operator who says I have NO special order (maybe the system was just off by one number by coincidence). Six times I get put on hold and no one ever comes back!!!

September 9th (~12:45) - I call immediately to the corporate office and ask for a supervisor. She comes on and hears my story. I tell him I am ready to put an ad in the paper with this ridiculous "customer service." She says, "Please wait till I have the district manager talk to you." I tell her she has 24 hours!

Sept 9 (~2pm). Yet another manager from Lowes (Brad) calls and says he is sorry about the problem. He assures me he will call Schuller and find out what is going on. If nothing else, he will have my cabinet (without doors) delivered the next week so I can get them installed to hurry up the counter installation process! He says he'll call back AFTER he gets a hold of Schuller.

Sept 9 (~3:30 pm) Shockingly enough Brad calls back. He confirms the sink base cabinet will be coming the following week.

Sept 8 (~4:30PM) Alan Huggins calls from Lowe's District Office explaining he is a corporate manager and he is greatly sorry for all that has happened. He says it should not have ever gotten to this point and being he is "new" he will do everything he can to improve this situation. He says his first agenda is to get me my cabinets! He has the audacity to say he's like them to install my counter - RIGHT! After reiterating what Brad has already told me he promises to call back Monday to make sure things are moving along after he speaks with Brad. At that point he'd discuss with me some form or monetary compensation for my hassles!

Sept 12 (~4:45PM) I have no call from either Brad or Alan so I attempt to call Alan to get some answers. I call corporate and they tell me someone else is the District manager and give me a number to call. The operator at the second number tells me that manager has been promoted, ALAN is the manager! I ask to speak with Alan and they rudely say, "He's not here, he's left because he was here at 5 AM!" I kindly say, "please leave him a message to call Thea Silva. I never received the call he promised!"

Sept 12 (~ 8PM) There is a message from Steve. My cabinets and doors will LEAVE the Schuller factory or Thursday, Sept 15th. He will do what he can to hurry up the process of getting them delivered and call me back on Thursday to give me the shipping information!

Sept 13 Alan returns my call. His excuse is, "I had my manager from the store talk to you, I believed that would suffice!" He then says he understands my cabinets will be delivered is there anything else he could do. I said, "of course if you want my return service to your store!" He says, "the only thing I can say is sorry, this should have never happened." I said, "that is it!" He says, "yes." I say I guess I'll never visit your store again. He says goodbye!

Sept 16 I sit here and write this. Have I heard the promised call from Lowe's with the shipping information - of course not!!! I will update this and we'll see if they follow through.

Sept 16 - Cheryl finally calls and says the cabinets will probably be leaving the factory on Wednesday (meaning no sink base THIS WEEK!)

Sept 20- I get the call the cabinet/doors/etc. are finally being shipped out.

Sept 20- Another call, not everything is being shipped (one door is still on backorder). They will call my contractor and let them know when they are coming. The cabinet should be in the Lowe's store by Wednesday. I am told (and I should be impressed) that the sales rep is driving ALL the way to Sacramento to pick them up!

Sept 22 - NO call at 3:00 PM from Lowe's even though everything should be in their store. I call and they say they will call right back.

Sept 22 - Finally they call around 5PM. They are on the way, but it's NOT one backordered door, it's THREE!!! We'll see what happens when they get there!

Sept 22 - Keith a manager shows up with cabinet and doors. Still three are on backorder.

Sept 26 - NO word from Lowe's when my other cabinets will be in. No word from any manager about any threats I have made!

My advice is - NEVER SHOP AT LOWE'S if you want quality customer service! Also NEVER CALL LOWE'S unless you enjoy being put on hold and hung up on! SHOP AT HOME DEPOT or your local neighborhood hardware store!!!!

     
Replies
Cabinet Order Disaster
By -

PORTSMOUTH, VIRGINIA -- I purchased Woodgate red oak cabinets from the Lowe's of Portsmouth, VA on July 6, 2009. First, we were greeted and taken care of while we were in the cabinet department. All employees were friendly; however, when my husband and I applied for a joint Project Card, the employee only put in his name. Therefore, I cannot use the card. My husband had to call after we got the one card, with his name on it, and they are sending us a form to make the account joint.

Next, when we went to pay at the front, the employee told the cashier to ring up everything (even the items I did not have), which caused a problem. If everything was rung up as if we took it with us, how would the store know what they owed us? All of the cabinets were not in stock, which was no problem for me since my contractors still had weeks before they would begin. I was told the cabinets that they "owed" me would be in within a few weeks and they had me pay for everything and sign a "delivery/take"
slip. I had to ask for a copy of this, and I am really glad I did because problems did develop. As soon as I got home, I worried that there wasn't something right. I contacted corporate Lowe's through their website. I received an immediate response, and I was told the store manager would contact me.

The next day, a store manager did contact me. He had no idea who I was and what I was talking about. I gave him item numbers (thank God I had the delivery slip), and he put in the computer what I was owed. He told me our cabinets would be in on the 10. I called on the 14 and spoke with a customer service representative at Lowe's. She insured me my cabinets were all in-stock. My husband and father-in-law drove all of the way back to Lowe's in Portsmouth. The customer service people were very nice and pulled my order sheet and gave it to a young man to go get. He came back with one cabinet. I explained everything was supposed to come in on the 10 and they should be in the back. I stood at the front for a while, but no one said anything to me. I noticed the young man was helping someone else. So I went and asked him what was going on with my cabinets, and he told me they were not here. I went back to cabinets, where I saw no one, but two women in vacuums. I explained who I was and if anyone was working cabinets. They said they were (thanks for letting me walk around cabinets in circles!), and that my cabinets were not here and they had no idea that they owed me any. Then I explained that I had talked to the manager and one of the women told me she was the manager. Then she said that someone was back there looking (why wasn't she?), and that she didn't think they were back there because the computer did not show they owed me anything. I (thank god) had my take slip from the original purchase, which proved they owed me cabinets. She told me a customer service representative would return the items they owed me, then re-ring them as an "owe" this
way the account/corporate/district supplier would all know they owe us cabinets. I left, with one cabinet, and feeling very upset.

So I called corporate twice this time and filed a formal complaint. In my complaint, I told them about the credit disaster and the problems with the store. I also told them I was going to file with the Better Business Bureau if a REAL manager did not call me within 24 hours. Obviously I had been talking to shift or assistant or department managers. While I was on the phone with corporate, the sales person from cabinets, who sold me the cabinets, called me and told me there was a truck coming that night, the 15th, and my cabinets would be on it, but that I should call first to make sure. To this I replied, I all ready called and everyone says they either have no idea what I am talking about or my cabinets are there, so that won\'t work. Then I ended the call. Within 24 hours of filing 2 complaints, Peter, the store GM called me (while I was at an
other Lowe\'s ironically!), and told me he was tracking down my cabinets at the distribution center. I told him to call me back when he found them. He called me back a few minutes later and told me the cabinets would be on the truck scheduled for Sunday the 19th. I asked if they could be delivered on Monday because my husband and I could not drive a third time to Portsmouth. He scheduled the delivery for me and my cabinets came today, July 20 at 12:30. The men were very nice and Peter was fabulous. I am very appreciative of the delivery.

My contractors are scheduled for the 23 so there was no money or time lost, but the emotional stress was overwhelming. I'm glad that I called and emailed corporate Lowe's 4 times, and that the GM finally contacted me. Lesson is always talk to the GM, not a department manager. Also, when nothing gets done, letting them know I was all ready logged into the Better Business Bureau ready to file my complaint and seek legal action was effective. Also, I think being polite and not losing my cool was effective. My father worked for Lowe's and I know this is not how they want customers treated. My advice is careful ordering, and always talk to the GM.

     
Replies
Complain about Kitchen Cabinet Product
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO -- "...I bought last October/November Kitchen Cabinets by Lowe's, (Lowe's brand)
the Sample where I looked at in the store was pretty good,
so I ordered for approx. 4000.00$, when the Cabinets are
installed I'm not so happy with the Quality. I regret I've
not bought by IKEA because for the same price I would have a better
Quality. I would never buy this product (Potomac...!!) again, maybe later I'll replace
with a better Quality of my Choice.
The Lowe's Sales person did a great job with helping me to get all the measurements
and with some replacement where I ask to exchange...."

     
Replies
Cabinets ordered wrong three times, poor kitchen "design"
By -

My experience is very similar to the one posted by Barbara. The kitchen "designer" had no clue. Cabinets had to be re-ordered three times due to her mistakes, causing the work to be delayed about three months altogether and the end product was pieced together instead of designed (kitchen by reaction, not by design). Many mistakes were made that didn't have to be "lived with" if the designer had known what she was doing. Can't count the number of times she gave me wrong answers when she should have said she didn't know (and better yet, would find out). When I finally realized she had no idea what she was doing, I quit working with her, but then I had to deal with all the fall-out, extra time for plumbers, electricians and other tradespeople to re-do work, time taken off over and over again from my own work to deal with the issues that arose. The Lowes cabinet installer himself, who bragged over and over again about how good he was, installed the upper cabinets 1/8 inch too high and my handyman who did the moulding had to move all the doors down (I paid him four hours extra for that). (The moulding was on premises and was given to the cabinet installer so that the cabinets would be installed in the correct place.) Then, at the very end, all that we had to do was to install the dishwasher. The space the cabinet installer had left was 1/8 inch too narrow. The cabinet installer claimed we had moved a cabinet (!!!!!!!!!!!!!) and then the manager from Lowe's who came out when we complained loud enough said the door of the dishwasher was bent (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!). REALLY????????? The Lowe's manager belt-sanded our NEW cabinets down the little bit it took to get it installed. The irony is that there was a three-inch filler piece in-between two cabinets just to the right that could have been 2 7/8 inches so that we never would have had the problem. I would never, ever, ever buy any major products or services from Lowe's. In fact, because of all the problems we bought all the appliances from Home Depot and had Home Depot do a major insulation project that we decided to do when we took out the ceiling of the kitchen and we had to remove all the old insulation. The granite came from another vendor entirely. We had planned to do it all with Lowe's -- so they lost about $20,000 in business because of the kitchen designer. I could have even taken the problems with the cabinet installer if we hadn't already had so many problems with the others. Perhaps these kinds of problems could happen with any kitchen designer. I would ask serious, direct questions to the designer him/herself and find out how much experience and training they have. If you have any qualms at all, walk away. There is too much riding on the early design.

     
Replies
Shenandoah Cabinets -- Horrible Experience With Lowes
By -

FLANDERS, NEW JERSEY -- Started remodel in Jan 2011 -- ran into issues in NJ needing permits/custom order patio door off kitchen which caused months of delays (not Lowes fault).

Shenandoah cabinets came poorly assembled -- ordered a bath vanity that the front was poorly glued and not straight, doors were installed crooked, stain was inconsistent (one door lighter and the other door noticeably darker).

Lowes installer did not install scribe molding on top cabinets leaving the cabinets looking unfinished, also was in a rush and job reflected mediocre install.

Install services department so far has been less than responsive here in North NJ. Would never buy Shenandoah cabinets again with the quality issues noted between staining, crooked doors and a vanity base that wasn't straight -- these were mid line Shenandoah cabinets and very disappointed across the board with Shenandoah, Lowes and the subcontractor...

     
Replies
Do not stand by their products
By -

I recently purchased Shenandoah cabinets (made for Lowe's by American Woodmark). These cabinets are horrible. I have received several bad parts. The shelves were crooked (I had to place a cardboard spAcer between the shelf and some pins) and the cutlery drawer did not move freely (upon further inspection, pieces of the drawer were cut to the wrong size, putting pressure on the wheels). Also many of the shelves are far too narrow. I would never buy these again. Lowe's refused to stand by their product. When I mentioned these problems to Lowe's, the only thing Shenandoah offered was a $100 credit. Horrible!

     
Replies
Poor service from salespeople
By -

On several occasions, my husband and I wanted to purchase large items from Lowe's, such as kitchen cabinets, carpeting, tile, lumber, etc. In every case, the salesperson would begin to serve us courteously and helpfuly. However, when another customer entered the department or if the phone rang, the salesperson would leave us to help the other person, claiming it would only take a minute--which it never did. Recently, in the Hudson, Massachusetts store, the woman salesperson in flooring insisted on taking care of another customer whose order was actually almost the same as ours (2 rooms of carpeting) even after the customer told her she was not in a hurry and should continue to wait on us, since we had been there first and were in the middle of receiving the price estimate. Clearly, there is discrimination, however unintentional, against someone with a large order or someone who is closer to purchase. In other words, any new customer coming into the department gets priority. On one occasion, the salesperson in flooring left us for a full 20 minutes to wait on someone else. When we complained to the store manager, he claimed to be very surprised, explaining this was not store policy. However, that cannot be true. When we were ordering cabinets 4 years ago in another Lowe's, we had made 3 separate appointments with the cabinet salesperson, yet we were continually; interrupted each time. He confided to us that he would get into trouble with his supervisor if any customer was seen wandering around the department without being helped. So, he HAD to continually interrupt our meeting time. In the end, we did not buy the cabinets even though we loved them. In all of our Lowe's experiences, there was only one exception from a young man in the Hudson flooring department. Because of him, we may still buy the carpeting there when he is on duty. He never allowed himself to be distracted or take people out of turn. I wish the rules would allow me to write his name here and give him full credit..

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >