Preview Review

Next Review

Lowe's Windows & Doors Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Door Purchase
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

16066, PENNSYLVANIA -- Where to start. I ordered a door in Aug. of 2016 - it was not installed til April of 2017. Why you ask, well let's start from the beginning. My wife and I head to Lowe's to order a door because of stories I heard about Home Depot and because the pricing was better than other companies. We picked out a door, a storm door and shutters. The entry door and shutters matched. We were so excited. An installer came to our house to measure for the size we would need. Of course my luck we have a custom door size. It would cost us extra. The door gets ordered and we are told it would take several weeks. The only thing we wanted was to have the door in before winter.

The call arrives that our door is ready for installation and we schedule. Door #1. The day of the install the installer calls to tell us that the door is the wrong size... My wife starts crying, we took the day off to be home for the install. I called manager. He tells me "Mistakes happen" and it was ordered wrong in the store as a standard size. I am not happy and tell him so, he said to me, "We are clearly different people because I understand mistakes happen." I told him we took the day off and cannot get that time back.

So the new door gets order. Another 6 weeks passes (getting close to winter). The installer arrives and yes it is the correct size... Door #2. I watch as he takes out the order. Door cuts out the frame... I left for work leaving my father to stick out the install. The installer opens the door and a large chunk of paint peels right off the side of the door. Beyond repair without going back to the factory. Again angry I call the manager and he apologizes, I told him "You took my old door." He said "You will keep the current one til ANOTHER door comes in.

Door #3. Installer arrives being smart. Before he gets to work he opens the door and yet again paint peels right off the side... These doors are painted and then before they dry are closed. I am told that it was because I chose to have the whole door painted. This time I am asking for the STORE manager to call and no one but the dept. manager ever called. He told me he has notified the managers and he will handle the issue... I threatened to call a district manager and yet he tells me he would have to handle it all... He kept telling me I would be taken care of. This time he is asking me to allow him to order a door from a different company. It would be a better door.

I go up and pick out a new door. Similar color but different glass pattern. Door # 4. Finally the door and storm door are installed. After install I received half the price of the TOTAL cost back and a better door. 8 months later it was said and done. The first brand was Masonite, I give them 2 stars instead of 1 because I got a better door at the end and got a hefty credit. I should have got it all back..

Replies
Advertisement
Replacement of Exterior Door
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROCHESTER, MICHIGAN -- Ordering door was painless. They would have someone come out and measure the exterior door, would hear from someone in 48 hours. The subcontractor did call, asked which door are they coming to measure, stated not screen door, exterior door. Was home on date given to measure, no one showed. Called Lowe's next day, talked with manager, told they would check.

Subcontractor called next day and said yes they came and did a drive by measurement, asked how was that possible, waited a week. Call Lowe's again and asked about date of installation, told they had no measurements. Waiting for them, another week goes by and subcontractor calls to make second date to come out and measure the door again, they said measurements were for wrong door.

We placed this order Nov. 18 2017 in hope of getting the door on before mid winter... Ok measurements were done and we were told the door was one inch off, door needed to be custom door... a wait of 4 weeks or less. Of course the door price went up $$$. 4 weeks later Dec 30 2017 door was going to be installed. Subcontractor called and set up time between 8 and 10:00 am.

Subcontractor calls running out to Lowe's to get door and molding kit. This was 10:45 am. Second call comes 12:30 pm, subcontractor said Lowe's is back up. Ok... calls again and said they can't find door or molding kit, be there asap. Ok. 2:15 pm arrives... subcontractor seems confused, slow, doesn't have proper tools. My door has been open for hours... at 6:45 we both had enough and express this to the subcontractor. 7:00 pm he leaves and my husband took pictures and continue to finish the job on the door.

Called Lowe's many times and was put on hold, I did finally get someone in the dept. English was not good and he said he would call subcontractor. I said I didn't want to deal with him again and told hubby finish the job and has pictures... and this should be address by Lowe's. Called Jan 15, 2018... still waiting for return call, which he said would happen.

Replies
Windows and Siding
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

KENNESAW, GEORGIA -- So here is my problem(s) with Lowe's: A salesman came out to quote the job. He did his job giving me options to consider and pricing. I told him from the very first conversation that time is of the essence and I need it done as quickly as possible. He told me I could expect to have the job complete within a few weeks assuming everything was in stock. Even though the price was a little high, I agreed to it because he made it seem like they could meet my timing expectations. Only thing is I had to pay for everything up front. I didn't like this because they have my money and I am left hoping they will deliver. I decided to trust the Lowe's name to pay up. Big mistake.

Once my money was tied up I was left waiting. They did communicate with me. The problem was my timeline was out the window. They contract the work out which makes sense, but I was at the mercy of their schedule. The windows were ready to be installed in a week and a half, but the installers couldn't fit me in for another 3 weeks.

To compound the problem, the siding installers can't start until the windows are done. I got the installers scheduled to start the siding immediately after the windows were done. It rains on that day. Not their fault. Fine. Start the next business day. Put on the calendar. No show. When I called and finally got a hold of someone I'm told they had to finish another job first. This is continually pushing my timeline out.

After the windows were installed I walked around picking up nails from the old windows in my driveway. I sure hope I got them all because I really don't need a flat tire. Not only that, but they destroyed mounting hardware for the blinds in my son's bedroom.

One of their big selling points is how they stand behind their installs and we won't be dealing with "Chuck in a truck" doing shoddy work or running off with my money. From what I can see, these are the people they hire to do the installs. So it seems like you're actually better off hiring "Chuck" directly.

Replies
Impact Windows Entire House
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NAPLES, FLORIDA -- I am so aggravated at this point, I will just state the major issues. False promises, delayed installed, installation never completed after months, defective windows, no return phone calls, spoke with manufacturer and they said I must go thru Lowe's, they continue to promise resolution and don't deliver. Stayed very calm and understanding for a long time.

Finally went to store manager to see if they could be of some help. Manager could not be bothered to come out to speak with me. Told as associate to have me wait and someone from the department (where I have had zero help) would come out to discuss. No one ever arrived after waiting 15 minutes. I should have paid close attention to other reviews but didn't. As a retired builder myself, I am very understanding to issues that may arise, so I figured some of the review facts were not exactly as stated. No - all the negatives written I have just experienced. Do not go thru Lowe's at any cost - not worth it. They now have app. $20,000.00 and I have an incomplete job.

Replies
Advertisement
Adjustment to an Installed Door
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LARGO, MARYLAND -- We purchased 4 doors from Lowe's in 2016, two interior doors and two security doors. One of the security doors buckled at the bottom causing the door to not close properly. It lets the outside temperature in the house when the interior door is left open.

We have called Lowe's 6 times since October 21, 2017. They tell us that it is the contractor's fault that the door has not been repaired. Lowe's gave me the number for Precision Windows and Doors in Prince Georges County, MD to call. After three calls, a repairman called and scheduled an appointment for Monday, November 13 between the hours of 3 and 5 p.m. He never showed up and did not call to say that he would not show. I called Lowe's back and told them what happened.

Precision called me on Thursday, November 16. I was out-of-town and returned his call on Friday. I have been calling every day including Sunday afternoon hoping to be first on the call list. I called twice on Monday November 20 and left a message and the third time, the mailbox is full. As of today, 11/20/2017, this matter has not been resolved.

Replies
Worst Sales, Customer Service, and Installation Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CRANSTON, RHODE ISLAND -- Paid for a storm door on May 15th with a promised install date of 6/2. Install never called me. I called store on 6/22. No one picked up phone. Bounced all over to various departments. Asked to speak with manager, they never picked up. No one has voice mail. Repeated the same drill later in the day with same result. Called 800 number for install. They said they had nothing on my order which was paid for on 5/12!! The 800 # people called the store with me on the line. Was told that my order was "never pulled" but it would be pulled today and install would call me within 48 hours. It's now noon at 6/26 and I have not heard from anyone.

Replies
Impact Window Install
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I contracted Lowe's to install 3 impact windows in my home. The first job the subcontractor damage the rollers and track during installations. Lowe's representative said "Let's reorder and do this again the right way." The second contractor choose to sheer off 3/8" from the frames all the way around to avoid having to deal with the stucco. This voided the Factory warranty. Lowe's manager said, "Let's try this one more time." The third contractor installed the windows with the upper and side frames so bowed you could hardly open the windows. The windows have an egress requirement.

All my complaints to date with customer care kept referring me back to the same store manager, so I ask him to visit my house. His cavalier attitude and saying this is all normal and correctly installed taught me that he knows nothing about construction and may not even own a home. Picture is a subcontractor separating the side frame from the top frame and doing even more damage.

Lowe's even hired an Architect firm to write a letter saying the install was correct to present to the inspector, an Architect that had never visited the house until the inspector was there for the final failed inspection. Can you say Fraud! And yes, We called him on this and the inspector asked for a copy of the letter to be brought to the county office and a copy to be given to the homeowner. This letter has never been seen, but I have a picture of it on my kitchen counter.

So after three failed installations and three failed county inspections the regional market manager is offering a full refund if I sign a release of claims. I say "No. Lets go to Arbitration as stated on the back of your contract." because now Lowe's owes me much more than a refund. The SE Regional Marketing manager sends my case to Lowe's risk management who claims "We're not going to Arbitration. We offer you this final offer and need you to sign a release of claims."

I told them this is not enough and send them a demand for Arbitration according to paragraph 13 on the back of their own contract, where it also states Lowe's is responsible for the Arbitration fees. The Arbitration company writes back to me and Lowe's that the fee is $750 and if not paid by 1/13/16 the case will be closed for improper filing. To date I'm not aware if Lowe's paid the fees or if I will have to go to court and incur further cost just to get Lowe's to do the right thing. All I wanted was three window installed in my house. Signed: Frustrated/Abused Lowe's customer.

Replies
Windows Installation
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PANAMA CITY, FLORIDA -- Feb 18, 2017. In December, we had onsite visits from two other known companies and one local company. We learned a great deal about windows and warranties. We also searched Consumer Reports. The salesperson from the company we choose was very knowledgeable and a pleasure to work with. Our contract was signed for 8 windows and a sliding glass door. A subcontractor came out to get accurate measurements for the windows. This was not the subcontractor who installed the windows. The number of windows ordered and the sliding glass door order were not accurate. The other kitchen window was not included in the order.

The installation was to be on Friday, Feb 3rd. The Sunday before we get a phone call. They wanted to come on Tuesday. Not sure who called. My hubby took the call. The windows were to be delivered the morning of installation. When the subcontractor installer arrived there were no windows onsite. There had been no coordination with the company about the changed date.

Subcontractor made two trips offsite the morning of installation. One to pick up windows. Two to get a saw blade. A one day installation turned out to be 2 1/2 days. A black screw was used on a white frame on the sliding glass door. The sliding glass frame itself is not secure and quite smaller than the door frame. We live on the water. A hurricane wind will be test. Hope they do something about this. Subcontractor left at noon to go to another job. Debris, nails, and screws were everywhere.

Hubby filled up two red solo cups with nails and screws on the ground. Both kitchen windows were removed. The other kitchen window had not been ordered so they shoved the old window back in without sealing it. It has been cold and windy.

Called the company a couple times last week. "Where is my kitchen window?" We love the new windows. This has not been a happy experience for us. This is a good company. Their subcontractors are damaging the company's name.

Suggestions: The number of windows and sliding glass door measurements need to be compared with the salesman and the subcontractor before the order. If there is a major difference, then find out why. My husband was livid when the sliding glass door was so far off. Not sure any subcontractor can make up this difference. Guess that is why it is so unstable? Hoping my other kitchen window is installed this week, and items are fixed that need to be fixed. Would love to talk to someone about these windows.

Replies
Advertisement
Shade Installation Process Couldn't Get Passed Step 1
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BETHLEHEM, PENNSYLVANIA -- On 7/7/15, my husband and I came to Lowe's with the expectation of exploring floor blinds and shades solutions. We recently moved into a nearby quaint Colonial home and faced challenges with the multi-wood frames. That evening, we met with the store department employee who, in short, recommended that we have an installer come to the home for $35 and provide a professional consult. She advised that we would hear from him in 2 days. I advised her that this project was long past due so that it would be critical to hear from him within the week. We had 7 windows to get dressed and I was eager, having already been in the home for a month without coverings.

It took a week or more to receive our first phone call from Bob the subcontractor. Days passed until I inquired with my husband who took the call. He explained that the man was rude and very non-customer friendly. Bob told Manny that he would be in touch shortly to schedule that visit. Some length of time passed again and we made a visit to that same dept. employee at the store and she tried hard to ignore our plight for service. First pretending to be thoroughly busy and stating she would inquire and get back which didn't happen.

Even more time passed and after more inquiries with no response, I took it upon myself to call Bob Thursday, 8/28/15, and I explained that I would have 4 days off in the following week, that I would really like to schedule that paid visit. He advised that he would be away for the weekend and would call me upon his return. Having spoken to him myself, I will attest to my husband's testimony of his being aggravated, difficult and rude. Again, he did NOT call me.

I went to the store today to request a refund and purchased 2 temporary blinds. And the same dept. employee pulled up the notes, claiming that she tried to reach me on 9/3/15, which I highly doubt held any truth. I have waited well over two months to put this appointment in place. There were no signs of missed calls or voice messages.

Frankly, I felt discriminated against, and while she claimed earnestly disappointed that she would lose our business, she also stated, "Well I wish I would have known this was going on…" And I point blankly explained to her that she did know because we made a store visit to see her and she made a promise that she herself did not keep. It is in that false etiquette that I'm gravely disappointed. I also asked her to make my complaint known.

I question Lowe's as a community partner. As a small business owner and entrepreneur, I understand the value of excellent customer service all too well. We are highly disappointed with the lack of care received and though I was refunded my $35, I would have far more liked my 7 windows covered 2 MONTHS AGO. I also would have liked to rant raving reviews about the prompt and good service from Lowe's, but now I cannot. I have receipts of everything to back my story.

Replies
Do Not Use Lowe's to Install a Product.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I normally would not write on the negative. However I'm compelled to share my failed impact window installation. I purchased and contracted with Lowe's to install three impact windows in my home. After three failed install attempts by three different contractors and failing by the city inspectors for improper installation, they are trying to buy my silence with a full refund if I sign a "Release of Claims". Oh and they promise to get them to pass inspection even though they are damaged.

Windows always arrived damaged. Contractors mishandled and damaged them further, even to the point of voiding the factory warranty on one occasion. The hammer picture above separated the side frame from the top frame by more than 1/2". Windows failed city inspection as they could not be opened, egress requirement.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Lowe's Windows & Doors Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 28 ratings and
52 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Lowe's
1000 Lowes Blvd
Mooresville, NC 28117
1-800-445-6937 (ph)
336-658-4766 (fax)
www.lowes.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies